Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology DI 6.5R

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # UEUA

Definitive Technology DI 6.5R

Definitive Technology DI 6.5R

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # UEUA

16 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology DI 6.5R

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ceiling mounted these speakers to expand my home theater system audio from 7.2 to 7.2.4 to enjoy the full Atmos and dtsX listening experience. We are still in the break-in phase, but these speakers already sound great. Aside from cutting holes (a template is supplied) and running wire, in which I am experienced, these well designed speakers are a snap to install. The magnetically attached grills are the perfect finishing touch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology DI 6.5R

Zachary from Warren, MI on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought and compared to monitor audio c165. Not as clear and sounded very "tinny".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Movie theater sound

Jack from Auburn, ME on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, super sound. With 4 of these in the ceiling (and a decent center and subwoofer), sounds pretty much like we are sitting in a theater. I returned a set that didn't fit to get these and appreciate that Crutchfield made the return with no hassle whatsoever. The difference from the speakers we replaced is night and day. I'm quite happy with them.

Pros: Super sound, great bass but admittedly we use a decent subwoofer (klipsch) and center (klipsch). Very shallow mounting depth.

Cons: Price is high, but there aren't many quality bargains that mount in a 3 1/2 inch space.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound!

Steve from Richmond, VA on 9/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 4 of these speakers to install in my family room for my new home. Having had stand-alone speakers for most of my life in a dedicated home theater, I've been spoiled with large immersive surround sound. Boy was I surprised how these speakers were able to fill the open space of my family room with really good sound. Paired with a Mythos 7 as my center channel and an M&K sub-woofer I had from previous theater, these speakers easily fit in to give me sound that is pretty darn acceptable without having all the free-standing stuff!

Pros: Very good sound for the size - room filling Easy to install Aim-able tweeters

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitively great

AK from DC on 2/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in the middle ceiling section of a small HT room (16 x 15 x 8 with an open back) for the Atmos component of a 5.1.2 system. They sound great with the other DT speakers (5.5 LCR, ProCenter 2000, ProSub 1000, and 5.5S for side surround). Went through the usual dilemma of "should I just spend more and get the next size up" - but a very knowledgeable Crutchfield rep assured me this would work great - and he was right. The sub addresses any concerns of a smaller woofer size (which might be different if these were being used for stand-alone in a kitchen or other area) and having a great receiver (Marantz SR6010) certainly helps making it all sound great. When not using the speakers for Atmos specific content (streaming audio and sending it to all speakers) - the quality, as expected, is crisp and clear. I'm no audiophile - but if I had the same budget and had to do it all over again - I would still get these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Customer review

Mikej1 from Tennessee on 12/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great. Wish they could handle more bass as the frequency range suggest.

Pros: Easy to install. Sound is very Natural.

Cons: Would sound great with a sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Big sound from a in celing speaker

Ken from kingman Arizona on 11/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are very well made, cant wait untill there broke in, right out of the box sound quality is amazing. Being able to point the tweeter & adjust the crossover is great. Would buy again in a heart beat. Sound better & produce more bass than my 8 inch. Crutchfield is my go to far audio gear, fast shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product if you get the right one

Raj from St.louis on 9/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great? They're well made and complement the other def tech pro enter speakers I have as back speakers in a 7.1 home theater. However, the purchase left me less than pleased. Though I ordered these products, what I got were Polk r60i speakers - ones that were obviously removed from a previous installation. I was very disappointed and called Crutchfiield customer service. After a review, they reported that the two companies have merged and are probably sharing facilities, etc. I have never had this experience with anyone else. Ever. Crutchfield did ultimately send me the right product and I returned the Polk speakers. The fact they were not expedited despite the earlier mixup left a bad taste in the mouth about the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 64 found this helpful

Definitive Sound Quality

Rox from Land O Lakes,Fl on 6/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my latest purchase of Definitive Technology DI 6.5R speakers. They are the perfect size and they produce unbelievable fidelity for both medium to semi large areas. I now have a total of ten DI 6.5's in various locations throughout the house. The speakers are used as: surrounds in my home theater, ceiling speakers in the Den, Bedroom, Living room, and now Bonus room to distribute music to each of these areas.

Pros: Easy to install in tight locations

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

DT ceiling speakers

Jon from Spokane, WA on 1/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased these for a new house for my 9.1 set-up. The vaulted ceilings in the house didn't allow the use of my old Bose 161s. The installation was almost too easy and with the flush grills you almost don't see them. The sound they produced was amazing! I can't wait for them to break in and buy another pair for my rear surrounds.

Pros: Easy install, flush grills, great sound.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good surround speaker

JeffN from Van Buren, AR on 1/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought to be rear surrounds in a mid-priced system in my family room. They work well for this application.

Pros: Well made, clean install, surround sounds good.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology DI 6.5R

Rick from Garner, NC on 1/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for in-wall or ceiling. I use them for rear surround-sound. Easy install, solid and adjustable tweeter for direct sound.

Pros: Quality, design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

DefTech DI 6.5R speakers

JerricR from River Forest, IL on 12/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set-up. Robust sound. Perfect match for my 8060 front speakers.

Pros: Warm sound, perfect surround speakers for my DefTech 8060 towers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just awesome !!!

Nic from San Jose, California on 8/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted floor speakers but lost the battle. Installed four of these along with a XTR 50 center and a SC 4000 driven with a Yamaha RX 673. Got help from tech advisor on optimizing ceiling speakers placement for music. The result was just awesome!!!! CLEAR music across the whole spectrum. Have not tried it yet as full home theater but have no doubt on my satisfaction. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Replaced crappy Bose home theater...lousy for music !!

Pros: Clear full spectrum music.

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clarity Full Range of Sound

BillM from Cudjoe Key, FL on 1/12/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed four of these speakers for a home theater. I was worried that because of the speaker size and fact that they were ceiling speakers they wouldn't perform as well as floor standing speakers, but the room was small and didn't have room for floor speakers. Boy was I wrong, they sound terrific. These speakers were pared with a Mythos XTR 50 Center channel, and a Super Cube 2000. What most impressed me about these speakers was the clarity and full range of sound they produce at low volume. The first night my wife and I used the speakers we set them to a low volume so we could chat. She turned to me and said "Now I know what the lyrics are for that song". We had guests over and again the volume was set low so we could each speak to each other. It was interesting that when a really good song came on everyone just stopped talking so that they could enjoy the music.

Pros: Great Sound even at low volume.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Awesome

John N from Austin, Texas on 3/26/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We put these in our living room ceiling for music, and they sound awesome. They produce a decent amount of bass, so we usually don't even use our subwoofer with them. We had been worried they might rattle in the ceiling because of the fairly low frequencies they can produce, but we have not had any such problems even when we crank them up. Worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

TOP