Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology DI 8R

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # UEWA

Definitive Technology DI 8R

Definitive Technology DI 8R

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # UEWA

11 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology DI 8R

Crutchfield customer from N Myrtle Bch, SC on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in a 4 season room. Great sound that fills the room. Nice balance with bass and midrange

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology DI 8R

Chris from Boonsboro, MD on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these as replacements for two pairs of generic 6.5 in 2-way speakers in a living room and a kitchen. The Definitive Technology DI8R speakers give a significant improvement in sound quality compared to my older Aton speakers, much better bass performance and much better midrange definition. The older cutouts were 8.75 in, so I needed no enlargement to the ceiling holes; the fit was perfect. The total speaker depth is less than 4 inches, less than the former speakers, and the speakers installed easily with a Phillips screwdriver. The grille design is very low-profile with no bezel and attaches with magnets. The speaker surround is also very low-profile, so the speaker appearance is nearly flush with the ceiling surface. I am driving both pairs easily with a Sonos Amp which at 125WPC has ample power. The DI8Rs have an easy-to-drive 8 Ohm impedance which makes for a manageable demand on the amplifier in a parallel stereo setup.

Pros: -Excellent midrange and bass performance for a ceiling speaker. -Relatively small form factor, an 8-inch woofer unit that fits a cutout typical for smaller 6.5 inch driver units -Low depth requirements for tight ceiling spaces -Switchable bass output for corner installations -Low-profile grille, magnetic mount, paintable to match decor -Adjustable tweeter aiming for desired listening location -8 ohm impedance and good power handling -Works nicely with Sonos

Cons: -Not the cheapest speaker

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology DI 8R

Crutchfield customer from Bryan, TX on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. I'm a loyal Crutchfield customer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, excellent complement for a 7.1 home home theater.

Armando from Frisco, TX on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, it really brought to life the experience of watching a movie at home. A must have if you are serious about having a Dolby Atmos system.

Pros: Great sound, bought to drive the additional ceiling channels for Atmos, however even when when listening to music they are capable of a beautiful sound for a great variety of genres.

Cons: None that I could think of.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Greg

Greg from Little Rock, AR on 11/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Great sound. Better low end then expected for 8" speaker

Pros: Great sound.... works well with my existing DT system

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Precise sound, excellent customer service

Greg from Spokane, WA on 9/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are of excellent build quality, and the sound they produce is second to none. I have owned a number of different in-ceiling speakers in the various houses we've owned through the years, and these are the best I've owned yet. I purchased (6) of the DI 8R's for my theater room. During a recent repainting of the room, I had my painter match the ceiling color to the grilles. He didn't pay attention to my instructions, or those provided by DT and ended up ruining the grilles. I called DT support and they were incredibly helpful, and worked to get me new grilles right away. It's a rarity to see this level of customer service today. Thank you Definitive Technology. You've earned my loyalty not only for a great sounding speaker, but for OUTSTANDING customer service. TJ, thank you.

Pros: Build Quality, Sound Detail, Customer Service

Cons: None. While not the cheapest out there, you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Perfect

KevinP from Colorado on 5/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received speakers as advertised. Followed directions in each box for install and had these bad boys up and running in a couple of hours. Great sounding speakers for being in ceiling. Really fills up my living room space as needed. Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Easy install, flush mount, great looking and even better sounding

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology DI 8R

Edward from indian land sc on 4/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

Definitive Technology DI 8R

Will from Folsom, CA on 2/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound! Easy to install and allows you to feel the music!

Pros: Good sound Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Stunning sound

rich_p from Boston, MA on 1/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these for our kitchen toward the end of our renovation project. With the overall cost of the project I was a bit price sensitive and hesitant to shell out this much money for a product without much name recognition (at least not for me). I have some fairly high-end Paradigms in our bar and wanted the kitchen speakers to compete. These are incredibly solid speakers with a big heavy magnet. The design is terrific. Virtually a flush mount and borderline trivial installation (well, I'd already run the wires during the renovation so I"m sure that helped). The sound is simply stunning. Very full and crystal clear with detailed highs and mids and the bass comes through like a champ when it's called upon. The sound reproduction is better than I ever expected for ceiling speakers. I would also recommend the enclosures mentioned by the other reviewer. I have not built any for them yet and there is a sense of being inside of a large speaker when you are in the bathroom directly above the kitchen (the speakers are in my kitchen ceiling directly below the bathroom floor). Not a real problem but may affect the sound a bit. I am thrilled that I spent the money on these, and I will buy another pair for other rooms as well (dining room, maybe to replace the Paradigm bookshelf speakers in the bar).

Pros: fantastic sound, easy installation, almost invisible appearance

Cons: cost is high (but worth it for me), you will want to buy more

Crutchfield response on

27 of 27 found this helpful

Wow

Phil from Maryland on 1/2/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Despite their intimidating price, I bought a pair for our kitchen in Oct 2010, with the goal of obviating the need for a subwoofer. Installation was a breeze. Low profile is amazing...protrudes just 1/8 inch! We listen to them for hours each day. Awesome, crystal-clear sound powered by zone 3 of our Denon AVR-4311 receiver. Their bass is tight and sounds great; but I can't tell if they truly reach the 26 Hz cited in the manufacturer's specs. Of course, they could never really substitute for a subwoofer, but they definitely hold their own. They're rated at 225 watts, so I tried max-ing out the 140 watt receiver's volume; had to stop well short of max because it was just way too loud to stand and the bass caused our ceiling's drywall (not the speakers, mind you) to vibrate too much! Our ceiling adjoins an unfinished attic, so I made an enclosure (to protect our investment from insulation, dust, etc,) by running 2X6's perpendicular to the joists and covering the "box" with 3/4-inch plywood. I'd like to believe this also enhanced sound quality by minimizing its dissipation into the attic. Tremendous speakers produce big sound from their small package. In one word, "Wow."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

56 of 60 found this helpful

TOP