Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Center channel speaker

MFR # NDLA

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Center channel speaker

MFR # NDLA

61 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought the ProCenter 2000 for my Denon 7.2 Surround sound to complete my front speakers. The Pro 2000 sounds excellent playing blue ray DVD's, I'm a satisfied customer ??. Russ

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, KY on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is very nice. It's heavy and is a little difficult to mount, but once there it isn't going anywhere. Clean, crisp, immediately noticeable improvement in sound over my previous system. Would highly recommend.

Pros: Clean, crisp, well modulated sound in an attractive package.

Cons: A bit heavy and difficult to mount, but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well built center speaker.

Jim from Sarasota, FL on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great middle speaker. Really brings out the dialogue on tv and movies. Fits in my cabinet. Compliments my definitive Technology 9060 speakers.

Pros: Good size Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

gary from Spring, TX on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding center channel. I matched it with 4 ProMonitor 1000 satellite speakers (front and rear).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Westford, MA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much improvement over my former center channel device... more solid bass and clearer dialog.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Setauket, NY on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker is great and it's a huge improvement over the speaker it's replacing. The reason for the lack of a star is because Definitive should include the wall mounting hardware instead of charging $50 for a couple of bolts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Tom from Culpeper, VA on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000 sounds great. Really makes the dialogue in movies clear. I have been running a 5.1 system for years with older Athena speakers and have enjoyed it. But using new Definitive Tech speakers in the 7.1 configuration has really improved the quality of my home theatre and helped me enjoy the programs and music so much more. I don't have a perfect room for a home theatre. I have an older Yamaha receiver. But the results have been great with the DTs. Good purchase.

Pros: Sound very good and helps my system make movie dialogue much more clear and easier to heat during other loud action sequences. Music sounds great too.

Cons: Heavy, but not more so than others. Price. But worth it for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiophile sound quality at a budget price

Artie from East Northport, NY on 9/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have now completed "building out" my new 5.1 home theater system, using Definitive Technology pro series home theater speakers including the procenter 2000, promonitor 1000's for the fronts, promonitor 800's for the surrounds and a prosub 1000. The system is exceptional, and I would highly recommend these speakers. I am running these with a Marantz 110 watt/channel receiver and the sound is awesome. Of course, I buy all my stuff from Crutchfield and they make the experience great every time!

Pros: Deep rich base, excellent highs. Balances well with other Definitive Technology pro series home theater components.

Cons: None. Some may say it is pricey, but not really if you compare to other high end brands.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pro 2000

Shawn from Grove City, OH on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really brings the movies alive

Pros: Great Center channel

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

DefTech Pro Center 2000 Review

Al from Riverview, FL on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give this Pro Center 3 stars because it does not have the mid range depth of the older DefTech CLR center channel speaker it replaced. I read many reviews and many reviewers made comments about the depth of the mid range being excellent. Well, I guess this may be true in comparison to whatever they are comparing it to but, in comparison to DefTechs older CLR speakers the mid range depth is weak. The upper frequency ranges are clear and render voices very naturally but, even with the pressure coupled side speakers this speaker adds very little depth to the mids in comparison to the older CLR. I would have given it 2 stars but for one thing, the price got it a 3. I bought this because Crutchfield had it on sale. Had I paid MSRP I would have given it 1 star. This is indeed a case of I got what I paid for. I regret this purchase.

Pros: Price. Upper frequency ranges.

Cons: Weak mid range depth.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Willaim from Cresskill, NJ on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was better than I expected, I guess that is where I will start. I thought this was going to enhance the voice on movies and DVDs and it did that and more. It really made the whole system seem better. Clarity is great. It looks good, not too big and styled nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect upgrade from ProCinema 600 set. Fuller, richer sound, and non-obtrusive setup in small family room, which is how I like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Loma Linda, CA on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound for the price. Perfect for my 13x13 space

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 1/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very high definition for voice; a great improvement to my home theatre in a tight space. The size of the enclosure ( depth) out of the box was a bit surprising , but any concerns were alleviated upon listening.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is replace/upgrade for a Pro Center 1000 and the difference is notable. Great sound, clear dialogue even still on break in process.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great things come in small packages

Clarence from Millville, NJ on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once out of the box I could tell the difference in my old center channel speaker and this one. The sound is so dynamically live and clear. Listening in the many music moads it sounds like your in a concert hall

Pros: Great sound and quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Chapel HIll, NC on 10/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 10/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprisingly good sound from the center channel speaker. I purchased this with the intent of using it with my new Def. Tech Studio Monitor 65's but I decided to use it as the center channel in my home office with my Bower and Wilkins 600 series speakers in front and back. I know there is a lot of talk about timbre matching but I can't discern much difference from the center channel speaker I replaced which was also a Def. Tech but a much more massive model than this is. Since I recently moved, I am still in the process of tweaking the various setting in the set-up for the new room where my home office is located but this new center channel speaker sounds bigger than its dimensions would lead you to expect. I mostly use my surround system in my home office to catch the news but I do occasionally play music too. This new Def Tech ProCenter 2000 sounds great so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great centre for the price!

Amrit from Austin,TX on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Clarity of dialogues on movies. I got this as a packaged deal with the rest PRO 1000 speakers. Its also great if you also listening to multi-channel stereo. If you drive the system with a decent amp, this is one of the best system available for this price.

Pros: Great clarity; fits well with rest of the Definitive PRO family.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great center speaker

Steve from Englewood, FL on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a great upgrade coming from the 600 series to this 2000 series it blended in quite nicely. Brad from Crutchfield was quite helpful to help make my decision

Pros: Deeper sounding voice

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro Center 2000

Chuck from La Marque, TX on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought on sale... Arrived quickly and in perfect condition... Sounds great right out of the box...I expect it will sound better once broken in and mounted in it's permanent position...Difinitive Technology Products have never disappointed me.

Pros: Excellent sound Sturdy construction

Cons: None at this point in time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice center speaker

Crutchfield customer from Minnesota on 1/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking / sounds great

Pros: Sound & looks nice

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Falls Church, VA on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't be more pleased with this upgrade to my existing ProCenter 1000 system. The 2000 exhibits a full rich sound in a relatively compact space. Most important to me is the ability to hear voices clearly and crisply, especially from foreign media having a english dialog. The 2000 does all this quite well at a very reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Anthony from Albuquerque, NM on 11/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bookended with the Definitive Technology Pro Monitor 1000 bookshelf speakers this center channel speaker performs well. It is well balanced and "warm" & Natural feel that reproduces home theater and music signals well and I've been very happy with it.

Pros: Clarity and clear sound

Cons: May stand a little high for some enclosure installations if wanted.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another great product from Definitive Technology

John from Columbia, SC on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

much clearer voices with this speaker.I have been impressed with Def-Tech for years!

Pros: Great center channel speaker,voices sound clear ,blends perfectly with my older def-tec speakers

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding Sound!!!!!!!

Louie. from Placerville, CA on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used a Definitive Tech. Pro Center 800 for years in my large T.V. room and really enjoyed the nice sound. I decided to upgrade to the Pro Center 2000 and I had no idea what I was missing. The Pro Center 2000 increased the voice clarity and now fills the room with excellent sound. I'm very happy that I did the upgrade.

Pros: Great sound. Voices are now crisp and the sound is theater quality. Small compact speaker.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Center channel surround sound speaker

BillP from Chico, CA on 5/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitive Technology center channel speaker was very good, but not much better the the Mordant Short center channel speaker I had. My problem is my hearing ability; I'm still looking for something that will accommodate my hearing problem.

Pros: Looks great, good sound, adjustable angle.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Fit with my big screen TV

Steve from Hixson, TN on 5/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was worried about how this speaker would fit under my 65" screen but I sat it behind the screen and with the 3 inchs under the screen there is MORE than enough great sound that comes from the center. This speaker has such great Bass response that a person could almost do without a subwoofer .

Pros: Voice clarity and bass if you want to crank it up

Cons: so far - none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great system

Mike from Florida on 12/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this along with Definitive Technology BP-8040ST towers to replace an 11 year old Phase Tech system (bookcase speakers, subwoofer and center speaker). This system is a notch up in clarify especially when it comes to voices. I am very pleased.

Pros: Great voice sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Def tech pro center 2000

Paul from California on 12/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new def tech 2000! Crisp and clear. Huge improvement over my old infinity speaker. Just order some 1000 surround speakers to go with it!

Pros: Crisp dialogue, nice bass, nice design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Front and Center

John s from Virginia on 8/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deserves to be front and center. Superior to typical set units. Produces clear, clean, crisp sound. Note however that it is big -- about the size of full-featured receiver. (I had to buy a riser for my TV to be able to place the speaker in front of it.)

Pros: Great sound, at a reasonable price.

Cons: Bigger than you might expect.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

great bass response

gary from California on 8/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bass response was so well defined that I had to move my sub to it's new a location.My old boston center speaker had to turn it up many times from 5db's to ten db's to keep up with my system , but now I can leave everything up front on my 5.1 surround system on 4db's and crossover sounds blend in perfect.My new tl3 polks surround sound speakers that I just received from Crutchfield are the perfect speakers to go along with 2000's because they have good high response I turn them up a little more to 8db's and my job is complete.It's just awesome to watch movie's and to be proud of the sound.My wife and I are very happy we bought these speakers .Thank you Crutchfield for your top notch assistance ,you guy's the best. P.S.I have an old Denon 3802 110 watts per. and with these new additions we can lay back and enjoy.

Pros: great volume, great bass. Just the right speaker for right now! and a long time to come!

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

D.Reese from Missouri on 6/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So happy with the Procenter 2000. Has so much more dynamic sound than the procenter 1000. Now I can hear voices so much clearer now without having to turn the receiver volume way up. I should have bought it sooner.

Pros: Clear voices and more dynamic sound with my blu-rays.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro Center 2000

JE from Charlotte NC on 5/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stylish and well constructed, the Definitive Technology Pro Center 2000 deliverers crisp clear vocals and sound effects. Not overly priced it is perfect for entry level home theatre systems. The company makes great high end products and I'm pleased with my choice. Had the best frequency response of center speakers costing twice as much!

Pros: Lightweight. Stylish. Gold plated 5 way binding post.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Strong center channel with great bass!!

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 4/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was stuck between the Pro Center 1000 and 2000 and went with this because of my 8060bp towers. Im so glad I went with this because this thing rocks! Its loud, clear, deep sounding/natural voices, not tinny or raspy. Very natural sounding center with lots of power. I had to actually tone it down a little so the 8060's could keep up. If you are between the 1000 and 2000 and space isn't an issue, then get this hands down! Its not too big and looks beautiful on the mantle. Voices sound so real.

Pros: Small, powerful, loud, natural, no distortion, lots of bass and punch, elegant look.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

So far..GREAT!!!!

ARod from Puerto Rico on 3/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I changed only the center speaker of my Energy system running with Denon AVR-1912 receiver, just to sence the effect and measure the diference of a better center speaker. Started watching a NBA game, and everything sound so real and in the court that I can remember my old days as a basketball player. This small change was a big improvement on the system. The sound align perfectly with the rest of the system even the brand diference, but I may end up changing it all to ensure a perfect balance. Tried one HD movie from the DVR and the sound is really great. Dialogue are much clear to understand even on scenes with high combination of sound effects. Now tried a baseball game and the result is really amazing.I went to the 2000 serie instead of the 1000 based on other customers comments and it thanks them for the feedback.

Pros: Clarity on mid sound. Perfect size and weight. And off course, Crutchfield delivery and customer service.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Joe from Indiana on 2/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ProCenter 2000 is a replacement for my older ProCenter 100. There is no comparison between the two. The 2000 has a good full sound and clear definition. Makes the entire system sound better than ever.

Pros: A good quality speaker and definitely worth the money.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Better than the 1000

Crutchfield customer from 17331 on 2/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the pro cin 1000 and upgraded to this. Sounds great but make sure you have the room in your entertainment center mine just barely squeezed in. Great investment love Def Tech and improved my 7.2 system! And crutchfield made it painless to order

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Nothing major just make sure you have the space

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Bob S from Texas on 2/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this center channel speaker as a gift for my son to replace an old Yamaha center channel speaker. When I arrived at his home in Houston last weekend, he had installed the ProCenter 2000 and we watched a blu-ray of Star Trek Into Darkness. Wow! The dialogue was crystal clear, but without being harsh or unnatural. I was also impressed with the bass that came out of the radiators at either end of the speaker cabinet. The sound is simply amazing for a speaker of modest size. I'm very pleased with my choice of the ProCenter 2000 and so is my son.

Pros: Attractive cabinet, not too physically large to fit into most home theater systems, excellent sound quality over a huge range of pitch.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Obvious Upgrade from Procenter 1000

pohlevj from Little Falls, NY on 12/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been piecing together a whole Def Tech surround sound system for my living room for the past couple of years now, which has ultimately led me to having my current setup: A Procenter 2000, Promonitor 1000s in the front, a pair of SR8040BPs in the back (and yes they do go very well with the other speakers, even though they are meant for the floor-standing models), and a Klipsch 10 inch subwoofer. I originally had the Procenter 1000 and it definitely sounded great, but from what I kept reading online I became extremely anxious to see how much better the 2000 would be, so I broke down and purchased it. What this upgrade does is create a much more even soundstage with the other promonitor speakers. The overall sound and output of the procenter 2000 goes perfect with the promonitor 1000s, and the overall synergy of the procenter 1000 goes perfect with the promonitor 800s, just in case anyone doesn't want to spend quite as much on their setup. The actual difference in sound between the Procenter 1000 and 2000 is pretty obvious. While the overall sound is very similar, as they should be, the 2000 just has more oomph!! The voices in dialog especially is much deeper and when paired with the Promonitor 1000s creates a completely seamless soundstage where you can't detect any space in sound between the speakers (of course make sure you set up your receiver properly). Def Tech speakers are fantastic, and if you can swing paying the price they are very worth it!

Pros: Great soundstage, especially when paired with promonitor 1000s; deeper dialog and better overall sound than any other procenter; has nice weight to it (I like my electronics with a little weight to them, it proves quality to me); slick and modern design; big sound without taking up a whole lot of space.

Cons: The Procenter 2000 can sometimes be tough to place, especially if you want to set it up in front of your television (it will block some of the screen because of its height); Is also a tad bit on the expensive side considering you can get something like a Polk audio Center with similar components and size for like a third or less of the price, but IMHO it is the signature sound AND easy "mix and match" ability of Def Tech speakers that is so worth the extra money... U get what U pay for ;)

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Great Center Channel Speaker!!!

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 11/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent a long time searching for a great center channel speaker to replace the Bose center channel speaker that sounded like a tin can where I had to have closed captioning turned on as I could never hear the dialogue in movies in particular. When I connected this Definitive Technology speaker to my system, it was amazing. I could hear all of the voices with great clarity and without having to constantly change the volume or using closed captioning. You do not have to spend a lot of money to get a good quality speaker and this is it. I highly recommend this speaker and received the recommendation from a very helpful Crutchfield advisor. I highly recommend this speaker!!!!!

Pros: Excellent sound quality, clear vocals.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Thumbs UP!

Arnold from Midlothian, VA on 6/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can see and hear the quality. Being this good and small, I wish I'd had more room for a larger model. Oh well, I'm really happy as it is.

Pros: Great quality and sound.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great center speaker for it's size

Mike from Arlington TX on 2/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you need a great center speaker to fit into a entertainment center this is it. Most are to large it fit.

Pros: Great sound Great small size.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ProCenter 2000

BenjaminW. from Naselle, WA on 2/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This center channel will blow you away. After installing this center channel I immediately began to notice just how much I had been missing before having the ProCenter 2000.

Pros: Easy installation and setup.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great center.

WilV from Riverview, FL on 1/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with sound. Had bose 5.1 and I didn't know what I was missing until now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Center Channel Speaker

Miguel Fernandez from Miami, Fl on 12/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provide great dialogue and match perfectly for BP-2080ST, I love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect

Brad from WI on 11/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides great dialogue. great match for pro monitor 1000

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing Speaker

CJA from Connecticut on 10/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I say amazing because this rather small piece of electronics does so much for its size. I've tried many different brands of center channel speakers, but returners them all for lack of prescience and clarity. This cc speaker by Definitive Technology handles dialog with clarity, anchoring the voices to center of the screen. At the same time, I was able to effectively change the low frequency cross-over so I now gave can increase in bass. 7.1 and 5.1 audio tracks fill my listening room with better clarity because of this amazing, medium-sized cc speaker. It blends in sound-wise, as well as in appearance. Buy one and start enjoying Definitive Technology craftsmanship.

Pros: Sound clarity; appearance; price (bought a scratch & dent, but found no marks)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

pro center 2000

ronq from phoenix, az on 8/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is very tough to find a quality center speaker that is relatively small. I chose this one mainly because of its combination of size and quality. I am mounting it on a fireplace mantle, below a tv. In my opinion it delivers very good sound as a center speaker and I am pleased with the purchase. Price was average. Delivered very quickly and packaged very well. Appreciate Crutchfield's web site.

Pros: size and sound quality

Cons: wish it was even shorter

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, Texas on 7/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed with some 1000 and 800s as part of a surrond system on the wall. So far so go, this center ends up doing alot of work hooked up to my Denon 3313. Its Def Tech so top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Speaker

JC from Middletown on 7/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Great price. Nicely Built.

Pros: Sound and price.

Cons: Some consumers may have mounting issues. This speaker is odd shaped.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great sound

drjfjr from louisville, ky on 5/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a small speaker it puts out great sound.Pairs well the the Sterling full size speakers i already had

Pros: great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

Mike from Houston, TX on 4/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 4 PM 1000's, a PC 2000, and a SC 4000 to upgrade from an Onkyo box theater system. I was a little hesitant to spend the money but I am glad I did, there is no comparison this is the best speaker set up I have ever owned. Before I purchased I contacted both Def Tech and Crutchfield with a few questions I had and the customer service I received was excellent. I am now a Def Tech and Crutchfield enthusiast and would recommend this set up to anyone looking for a great value for what you get.

Pros: Crisp, clear, warm sound. Even being pushed hard they maintain great quality sound. Great value (even though I thought the cost was a little much, after setup it was without a doubt worth every penny) Customer Service from Def Tech and Crutchfield, 10 out of 10.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Full Sound

Jtonkin3 from Portsmouth, Va on 9/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from the Pro 1000 and WHAT A DIFFERENCE! The guys @ Crutchfield gave me the right info and I received it in 2 days.

Pros: Full sound and I actually hear sounds in music that I didn't before

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great little performer

TNcountryboy from Newport,TN on 6/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a Sony center channel speaker with DT Pro Center 2000. I heard a major differance as soon as I fired my system up. This is my second day and the bass has increased as well as mid and highs. There is a break in period. I don't have matched speakers. I am running Bose for my 4 surroud speakers and Pioneer front. This thing blends in better than I expected. I get good smooth movement across the front as well as front to rear and accross the room. The 2000 delivers solid dialoge as well as sound effects with no distortion at all. I have tried it at moderate volume and high movie and music volume and it is a solid performer.

Pros: Great price,fantastic sound, great appearance.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great value

JB from Houston, TX on 3/29/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased three of these for for front left, right, and center channel to replace my lovingly used NHT VS-2's. Room size is 16 x 20 with 9 ft ceiling. Speakers delivered great clarity, sound range and separation. Shipment arrived on time with no problems. Very satisfied with the speakers.

Pros: Build quality, sound range, price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

A Lot of Speaker for its Size and Price

Tom from Rochester NY on 12/9/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this for the bedroom, a much better match with wall-mounted DefTech ProMonitor 800s than an old Polk CSi5 "beast" which was biding its time in there till the basement was ready for HT. This is another really good product by DefTech -- very solid sound, especially clear voices in movies, and very efficient. I have a wide range of their speakers all over the house, and haven't been disappointed yet. Obviously, picking a center speaker depends a lot on the size of your room, the other speakers in your setup, and obviously how much you want to pay -- for the relatively small price & size difference, you do get a lot more bang for the buck and flexibility with this model compared to the ProCenter 1000. On the other hand, its price point is getting pretty close to more "full-bodied" centers, if space allows for them. So, bottom line, I'd rate this as an outstanding choice if you need a small center, but if space not a big deal, might check out options just a bit up the food chain. BTW, kudos to Crutchfield, this order came a day earlier than the delivery estimate, even with all the "cyber shopping" going on!

Pros: Clarity and depth, yet a good size for small rooms

Cons: Price just a bit high, but good marketing strategy by DefTech!

Crutchfield response on

19 of 21 found this helpful

Just what I expected...perfection!

LCDR Rich from Moore, OK on 9/3/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great delivery service by the Crutchfield team, as always. Speaker arrived within 3 days. This was a replacement for my old ProCenter 1000 center speaker, which stopped working after 16 years of hard and faithful service...and when I say "hard", I mean it. I built speakers for Klipsch & Assoc. before joining the Navy, and I can honestly say these Definitive Technology speakers sound as good...if not better than some of the loudspeakers I used to build which cost over $5k a set. You will not be disappointed with the performance of these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Loose Binding Post

GTS from Silver Spring, MD on 7/18/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My DT ProCenter 2000 arrived with a loose binding post. I'm hopeful the next one is in better condition. The exchange/return process is not as quick as the initial purchase/delivery. The designated carrier has held it for approximately 5 days now (weekend included). When I ordered the speaker it arrived within 24 hours. I think the exchange process should be as expeditious as the purchasing process, particularly because I'm out $$$ and I don't have the item I purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 49 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCenter 2000

curt from miami on 2/4/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great center speaker, awesome sound, love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

For Those Who Are Not Familiar w/Definitive Technology

Nick from Atlanta, GA on 7/31/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Make this speaker the anchor of your home theater system! Speaker enthusiasts know Definitive Technology and I'm so glad to see Crutchfield carrying their line of speakers. Do the research yourself, look up the professional reviews. For the money, you won't find better speaker. Definitive Technology utilizes passive radiators in all of their speakers to boost mid-range and bass frequencies. Now you see Polk and other companies following their designs. Good job Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 32 found this helpful

TOP