Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Single compact satellite speaker (Black)

MFR # NDKA

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Single compact satellite speaker (Black)

MFR # NDKA

98 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Rock, MO on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these speakers on a recommendation from the Crutchfield rep. I was limited on installation space. BIG BASS. Would recommend them to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Curt from St Michaels, MD on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these Definitive Technology speakers in order to produce the Dolby Atmos upward sound and they have added another dimension to my listening pleasure especially for movies which utilize the Atmos technology. As usual, Crutchfield provided a lot of good information so that I was able to make an informed decision. I don't know how Crutchfield is able to maintain such a superior customer service staff but it is the reason I have continued to make purchases from them. You can buy most of the gear from a multiplicity of vendors but similar to buying a car, in the end, it is the customer service that retains the relationship from my point of view. Well done Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wonderful sound

Ross from Loveland on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. Just wow. When setup according to the manual along with the procenter, promonitor 800s and the prosub as a set, such a beautiful sound. It blends so well together, where the sub isn't overmatched, the crossover is accurate, and music and movies sound as they should: full of detail, not overpowering, and pleasant to hear. It took me a long time to figure this out, trying to get other def techs to blend well together I just couldn't be satisfied. As a package, each individual speaker shines and compliments the rest. If you need a great surround sound for a good price, look no further. The PM 1000s start it off so well as your fronts when matched with a good def tech sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Cidra, PR on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing, need rubber feet to isolate vibrations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Jeffrey from Golden, CO on 4/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using these as rear surround speakers in my 5.1 system and they are big improvement over the smaller, cheaper speakers I had earlier. The sound is quite clear, and they perform perfectly for my application. I calibrated them using the automatic calibration system built into my receiver. I'm quite happy I purchased these and the integrated speaker stands. I considered the DT SR-9080's but I needed to have the speakers on a stand, and there didn't seem to be any great stand options for the SR-9080's.

Pros: Fits well on the separately purchased integrated speaker stands Great sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 4/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely beautiful speaker great bass I have the 800 and it's more high but the 1000 is a lot busier greater some tea from Marrero

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers sound great. Replaced ~20 year old Bose Accoustimas set and I'm not disappointed. Clear sound from all speakers used in a 5.1 system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology Delivers

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fantastic surround speaker!

Pros: A flat realistic uncolored speaker

Cons: It weighs about 7lbs so you must have an adequate wall mount. I recommend the Definitive Tech mount made for this speaker

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

gary from Spring, TX on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sounding speakers. These are replacing some 15+ year old energy encore 2 satellite (front and rear) speakers. The speakers are mounted in my living room using omni mount 10lb mounts on my walls. The sound difference is amazing - so much richer and full. There's a lot more bass in these as well - enough for my setup to leave the sub-woofer off when i'm just watching TV and don't really want the significant bass. Plus, in my case, because they're mounted high up on my walls, they appear to have a design that will not become dangerous over time - i.e. the speaker back separating from the speaker box and the speaker falling on something or someone. That nearly happened on my last set that I thought were well-made speakers. Mounting-wise, if i was to start from scratch (i already had the 10 lb mounts in place, so I wanted to re-use them), i'd go with the 15 lb ceiling mounts. I think these ~7 lb speakers are getting really close to the limit of the 10 lb wall mounts. As a safety precaution, I used metal hanger strap attached between the speaker post mount and the omni mount bolt as a backup in case the omni mount ball joint fails for any reason. Another thought: use banana plugs. My old speakers didn't have the banana plug adapters, but these do, and it makes connecting the wires to the speakers in these awkward locations high up super simple - and the connections seem even better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Tom from Culpeper, VA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile. Normal guy. Normal house. Nothing special set up, 7.1 system. The ProMonitor 1000's replace older Athena speakers. They sound great. They set up the same as my old speakers. The difference in sound is night and day. S

Pros: Great sound. Small size.

Cons: Price, but you get what you pay for. Heavy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic Sound

George from Houston, TX on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is awesome! We upgraded from an old Bose system. This knocks it out of the park in comparison.

Pros: Quality, sound and looks.

Cons: Larger than I thought, but work fine.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great dynamic range in a small footprint.

Doug from Round Rock, TX on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers, have them set up in a home office / music room. Great price for this level of quality.

Pros: Dynamic range, impressive bass response for a speaker this size.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice little home theater speakers

Jason from Phoenix, AZ on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 are good overall speakers for their size. They do fit nicely in smaller entertainment systems, or mounted on the wall by your TV. Sounds is pretty good, easy to listen to but you need a subwoofer for sure. Smaller rooms or apartments you would be more than happy. They do play surprising loud for their size, but there is one problem... The speakers don't weigh enough and vibrate around when you turn up the volume high. It's to bad because the speakers themselves seam like they can take the power, but the distortion caused by all the vibration kills the sound. Now I had them on a wood entertainment center, so maybe another martial, or with some rubber padding underneath may help. Just something to know. I was very happy with these until I got some Kef Q100 on sale and the deference in clarity is substantial. So if you have a small space and don't need to go too loud these are great. If you have the room and tend to crank you system then there are better options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Oldsmar, FL on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to replace an older pair of Jamo speakers that came with our house. The Def Techs were recommended as a good upgrade, but when I hooked them up I couldn't tell much of a difference. I ended up with the Polk OWM 5s. That was a noticeable improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Ronkonkoma, NY on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great sounds

Pros: Couldn't be happier

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

sound great, look great

Patrick from Sanborn, NY on 7/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a little heavier than i was expecting, but the sound quality is amazing, and they were easy to hang. they look great as well.

Pros: awesome sound, look classy

Cons: a little heavy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, MN on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously had a Definitive Technologies Pro 100 surround system so the Pro 1000's were very familiar with similar excellent quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

LAWRENCE from Wake Forest, NC on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely surprised by the wide range audio with great clarity in our 17'x16' family room. High level audio required for us to hear clearly across the room was powerful without any detectable distortion. Significant upgrade from Polk TL2's that performed well for many years, but failed both of us (early 70's) as we needed higher audio, not just loudness, but good clear vibrant audio that we used to hear when our hearing was better. I believe the larger metal tweeter is boosting the upper audio range where our hearing has significantly diminished, and the medium sized woofer with its equal-sized port filled the room with miss and lows down to where the sub-woofer crossover does its job. The small triangular footprint with shallow depth allowed us to place each speaker easily, quite small footprint, and then able to turn them for best angle of projection. Haven't actually understood voices and enjoyed watching TV and movies like this for a long time.

Pros: Small triangular footprint with shallow depth makes placement a dream. Clear wide range audio.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro 1000

Shawn from Grove City, OH on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros: Great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Pittsford, NY on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can not get over the quality and clarity of these book shelf speakers. We should have made the switch sooner!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect upgrade from ProCinema 600 set. Fuller, richer sound, and non-obstrusive setup in small family room, which is how I like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Ryan Christophe from Mooresville, NC on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Brought my theatre room back to life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound from a little case.

Caleb from Juncos, PR on 12/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This ones replaced 2 old ProMonitor 200. PM1000 are not as big as the PM200 but they sound good. So that is a win win for me.

Pros: Big sound from a little speaker.

Cons: No cons found yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

happy with this purchase

Sohu from Louisville, KY on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitive Technology is not new to me.I own Definitive Technology SM45 Bookshelf Speaker and they're great.There is not much difference except they have less bass comparing to sm45,less but enough for me.Using them as surround in 5.1 setup.These speakers sounds great, solidly built and nice looking.A very happy with this purchase thanks to crutchfield site.This site has good products and they're well described.Delivery was fast,only down side to delivery is that item wasn't double packed.Overall, good product and I'm very pleased.Thanks

Pros: clarity and detail

Cons: a little to big for mounting to the wall ,but not big deal to me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Dave from Kissimmee, FL on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We brought Two Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 Bookshelf Speaker to replaced two old Infinity Tower Speaker and we love the new speakers sound so clear and more powerful sound that we did not hear from the Tower Speaker Wonderfull

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Gary from Aston, PA on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, fills the room, wish I had purchased these years ago. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and my wife is happy bc it blends into our white cabinet. Also small speaker that pumps out quality sounds...very happy!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Hermosa Beach, CA on 11/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

have these as front L & R surround with Pioneer Elite SC-07 (bit older receiver) - these are very good clarity and sound. I had ORB Mod 2 that blew out after 6 years and these are a solid replacement. Crutchfield customer service is second to none. they are the benchmark.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Sterling Hts, MI on 11/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I was looking in a compact speaker. These DefTechs sound great right out the box, cant wait to hear what they sound like after break in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding Bookshelf Speaker

Brian from Schaumburg, IL on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are fantastic speakers. I purchased a pair of these to replace the left/right part of a 5.1 set of Mirage OM3s. For their size I would say they are quite amazing. Compared to the OM3s, the mid range and low frequencies are fuller, richer and more powerful. For high end treble I would say the OM3s may have a slight advantage, but the Definitives are still quite excellent. In my opinion you still need a good subwoofer to really get the most out of music and movies. However, I'm hearing things in my music (primarily classical) that I haven't heard before, especially in the mid range. Strings in an orchestra are now beautifully rich and present - they sound like they are right in my living room. Percussion and brass instruments sound great, with just the right amount of "punch". Also, they are better than the OM3s for spoken dialog, and I plan on purchasing the ProCenter 2000 to round out the pair (I will keep the OM3s for the rear channels). These are also really great looking with a high gloss finish; they don't look cheap. I mounted mine to the wall with the optional ProMount 90 which works well and looks great. I am so glad I purchased these and would recommend them without reservation to anyone looking for a high quality, great looking and excellent sounding speaker that doesn't take up a lot of space.

Pros: Excellent sound, especially in the mid and low range; Great looking; High quality; Doesn't take up a lot of space, especially if you mount to the wall; Great value

Cons: They are heavy, so if you are planning on mounting them to the wall, you will need to purchase the ProMount 90 system (the keyhole mounting hole on the back is inadequate).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Ronald from Schenectady, NY on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my front three speakers with two of these and the ProCenter 2000. What a big difference between these and the Infinity's they replaced. Now I have to replace my rear surrounds because these blow them away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive tech. Speakers

El from Westwood, NJ on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply, an excellent product which is a requisite for a home entertainment system.

Pros: Excellent speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new speakers. The sound is fabulous and as an extra bonus they look great too! I can always count on the Crutchfield team to make the best recommendations and provide support, when needed, like the pros they are; why shop anywhere else?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Portable "Height" Speakers

Russ from Green Valley, AZ on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good surround speaker. Using it as a "Height" speaker in an ATMOS system. It (and the 800 (and 600?)) have camera mount screws in their bottoms (and on their backs). We got some cheap portable light stands on Amazon, some camera ball joint swivels (which go between the speakers and the stand mounts) and we're up and running with an easily portable good sounding height speaker system.

Pros: Light, good sounding, convenient mounts

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sounding and versatile speakers

Stephen from Omaha, NE on 2/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 speakers sound great whether listening to music or movie content. These are currently my main speakers in a 2.1 setup being pushed by an Onkyo TX-NR656 receiver. These speakers are tight yet very smooth sounding with a low end that is surprisingly good for enclosures this small. Mid range and higher sound sublime to my ears. I support their low end with a Klipsch RPW-10 sub. In a smaller room the sub could be optional depending on your listening preferences. They can handle the power...really playing quite loud without sounding strained at all. As I build this system I can easily see another pair of DT 1000's (or DT800's) used as surrounds or rears. You couldn't go wrong getting these speakers...well made and look as good as they sound.

Pros: Great looking, great sounding, and size makes placement easy plus there are some really nice unobtrusive wall/ceiling mounts available for them.

Cons: None really...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers give Good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Surround Speakers

Peter from Estes Park, CO on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using a pair of these speakers, mounted on DF pro stands, as surround speakers in a 5.1 set-up in my living room. The seating area is an "L" of two couches that are away from the walls. The surround speakers are at the outer ends of the two couches, and face toward the back walls, so that the sound is reflected off those walls and back to the listening area. These speakers work great in this arrangement. The passive bass reflector on the top of the speaker provides broad coverage, and the active speaker, aimed to the walls, works perfectly to give a good surround effect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Germanotn, NC on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super sounding box! Really happy with the definitive stuff!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound at a value price

Robert from Geneva, NY on 12/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for a good bookshelf speaker. These were in the low to mid price range but the Crutchfield sales advisor told me not to be fooled by their price or size. Boy was he right. These were so good I bought another set a few days later. Can't say enough about the clarity, crispness and surprising base from something not much bigger than a roll of paper towels.

Pros: Crisp Clear with surprising bass response Compact Very nice design Can be used as bookshelf or array speakers.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

OK for a small speaker

Russell from Monroe Township, NJ on 11/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It seems to do the job, but wish it had just a bit more sound out of it. Perhaps I'm expecting too much from a relatively small bookshelf speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

John from California on 11/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced some previous rear surround speakers. I very impressed with the details these speaker produce. I'm hearing sound that was nonexistent with previous speakers. Sound is clean with attention to detail. Could be happier, they complement my existing Deftechs 8060's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality sound from a quality brand.

Smith from Plano, TX on 11/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have wanted to add some depth and tone quality to the front left and right spots in my Def Tech ProMonitor 800 surround system for some time, particularly to compliment the ProMonitor 1000 center speaker which was an original component of the 800 system. An excellent addition as I was already a fan of the Definitive Technology products. I moved the two 800 speakers to the rear for a 7.1 system and the added fill is a nice bonus. The Def Tech specific stands are a worthy compliment to the entire system. Stable, unobtrusive. Excellent depth and balance of sound; clear, full. More that adequate for a small to medium sized media room. Very pleased with both the product and the outstanding service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Ayad from Clarkston, MI on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good sounds very clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgraded sound!

Jason from Prosper, TX on 10/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced bose acoustimas 10 speakers with 4 1000 and SM 65 as Center channel. Sounds so good now wife didn't mind cutting the check! Every sound, musical note, and clear dialogue that was missing before is evident. Thanks for the recommendation!!

Pros: Sound, looks, impressed wife

Cons: Size(maxed out mounts)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great service, Great Product

mtj from Huntley, IL on 10/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First - Crutchfield sales and support are among the best. They are quick to respond and no hassles with returns or issues. I will continue buying everything from them. These speakers are quality. The style, the build - all solid. The gloss white is perfect for my set up. As big as they are they blend in to the center very well. They work well to fill a 20'x20'x18' room as front L/R speakers. They do not however make very good surround. They're big. I would suggest the 600 for BS/SR.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound & value.

Crutchfield customer from Placerville, CA on 10/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro Monitor 1000 speaker set I purchased from Crutchfields are used for my front speakers. The sound is excellent with a full range of outstanding crystal clear sound quality. I would highly recommend these speakers to enhance a home theater system. Beautiful high gloss black finish.

Pros: Outstanding sound quality, value, and beautiful high gloss finish.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ProMonitor 1000

jmath from Reedsburg, WI on 10/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced 28 year old Polk S4 with the ProMonitor system, 2 - 1000 front speakers, 1 ProCenter 1000, & 2 - ProMonitor 800's. The cases are a black plastic but sturdy. I would add that they do scratch easily. I mounted mine on a wall and in finding the centering nail, I moved the speakers along the wall and scratched the back. Installing the wires was easy to follow but difficult to get the wire to fit into the recessed hole in the wire lugs. Those were the negatives I encountered. Now to what matters to most, the sound. Compared to the almost 30 year old technology, the sound is impressive. The actual footprint of the speaker is small, but the sound is full and fills the room. Our living room is small and these are more than adequate. I did a re-balance of the system and was able to turn down most of the volumes due to increased output with the Definitive speaker set. The sound response is lower in frequency response than the set I had and the high end is a little crisper in sound. I have had the set for 2 weeks as of this writing and am satisfied with my purchase. The decision for selection took about 30 minutes as the customer assistant walked me through questions and narrowed the search.

Pros: Sound is full, a little more on the lower end than my last set and fuller

Cons: Plastic cabinet scratches easily, wire lugs in narrow recessed chamber

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

just perfect

gary r from Martinez, CA on 9/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my tl3 polk's with the def tech 1000 for the back surround speakers.What a sound just perfect for movie's and music .My system is complete!.Marantz 7010,two fronts 8060 def tech with atmos, 2000 def dec center and the 1000's surround it blows me away !!!.just awesome.

Pros: full range of sound

Cons: they are pretty heavy so watch how you hang them

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply the Best!

Rogues from Dunmore, PA on 8/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife and I bought 2-Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 speakers and were blown away. After 3-weeks, we realized that another pair would only make the sound even better. These speakers are, by far, the best speakers we have ever owned. Do yourself a favor and invest in a pair. Trust me, your ears will thank you.

Pros: Excellent sound and beautiful enclosure

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 Surround 5.1 system

SteveB from Milton, FL on 7/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great for small satellite type system. Powered with a Denon AVR S920W, 90 watts per channel and it works just fine. The speakers could benefit from more power.

Pros: Just what the Dr. ordered for family room and great sounding movies/music.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive 1000

Pepsi from Logan. on 5/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you couldn't see these speakers while you listened to them you would think they were much much bigger. Well rounded solid sound. I'm a passive radiator fan. Love the sound.

Pros: Great sound. Very well built. Solid speaker from bottom to top.

Cons: Wish they were cheaper but well worth the money.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Chris U. from Oshkosh, WI on 4/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound from a small speaker. These speakers along with the ProCenter 1000 and ProSub 1000 is a great setup.

Pros: all around great speakers

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Pro Monitor

Mlyles from Columbia, SC on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great in Home theatre system

Pros: Nice sound compact size.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

JimK from hull, MA on 3/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent addition to my surround sound system. I use these as my satellite speakers and I didn't realize what I was missing without them.

Pros: Appearance and quality

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Buy

Matt from Providence, RI on 1/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solidly built, incredible sound. Higher price point gets you higher quality -what else do you want?! Purchased as part of the DT ProCinema 1000/2000. Fills my large living room with rich, high quality sound for both movies and music. Needed to run the fine-tuning function on my Marantz AVR for them to really shine, but I couldn't be happier with the investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Def Tech BookShelf PM 1000

RealRell from New York on 12/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent clear stylish speakers. I purchased 4 and don't have any regrets. A sub is definitely needed. Speakers don't necessarily fill the room but projects sound loud and clear. I recommend

Pros: Stylish, clarity, versatile

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice as main speakers

Ken from San Jose, CA on 11/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got two of these as my main left and right for my small home theater system. Really good for music and movies alike. Really nice dynamic range and frequency response. Paired it with Procenter 2000 since I read somewhere that the Procenter 1000 is under powered when paired with Promonitor 1000. And paired with the 800 for the rear channels simply to save some money.

Pros: Really good dynamic range and sound

Cons: The triangle shape does take up some space

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing

Jay P from Illinois on 11/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

surprised

H. Burton from California on 10/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great sound from such a small speaker. I have them feeding off a 400 WATT SUB M-K and there handling the power easy. I was really blown away. great.

Pros: Size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing speakers - worth the investment

Jeff C. from Connecticut on 10/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a pair of these speakers in May of 2015 to replace my old Polk Bookshelf speakers. Granted, I did not replace them because they broke, but because our room just didn't have the space for speaker stands anymore. I needed a wall-mountable option and figured this was a good time to upgrade. As I started my foray into Definitive Technology with these, my system all of a sudden had a huge emphasis on the surround channels (which is where the first pair went). I had to adjust my settings on my receiver to these because they sounded that much more amazing than the old fronts (also Polk speakers w/ an old Yamaha Sub). Then for my birthday, my wife said "Spend what you want, but make these other (black) speakers like the new white ones you just bought. So I decided time to replace the rest. I bought two more of these and use them as front speakers - also wall-mounted. My system has never sounded so good. These speakers work so well with each other. Crisp highs, thumpin mids, and with the Prosub, amazing bass. Granted I don't get to really crank it altogether with my wife and two daughters in the house frequently, it is nice to know when I do get that rare time alone, this system can go as loud as I want with little to no drop in quality. Not to mention these speakers also look good in pretty much any room. I am extremely happy with four of these speakers as part of my 5.1 system. They are worth the investment. Thanks Definitive!

Pros: - Looks great in any room - Great on their own, but better with a subwoofer. - Great as surrounds or as fronts. - Flexible positioning if used on a wall - keyhole or threaded options are available.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good Choice

John s from Virginia on 8/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As front and rear speakers with a ProCenter 2000 and a SuperCube 2000 (5.1 setup), these are great speakers at a great price. They are clear, crisp, and full. They look good and work well on ProStand 1000s, although there is no cover for the speaker wires (which are rather obtrusive especially when using banana plugs).

Pros: Compact, clean, clear, crisp sound.

Cons: No cover for speaker wires (not an issue if placed on a bookshelf, but so if used with a ProStand 1000).

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

RichD from Oregon on 6/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having a hearing handicap, I was unable to discern the voices very well on built-in tv speakers. These speakers have solved that problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect size, great sound

AbiRodri from Puerto Rico on 6/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They really rock. Upgrading my Energy Classic 5.1 one item at a time, this is the second Definitive item (1st the center Procinema 2000). Mounting was very simple and the profile is perfect for my 12'x19' living room and 70" 4K TV. I''m running a Dennon AVR-1912 on 5.1 and this is the best option for my environment. I watch more movies and HD programs that listen to music on my living room and this Definitive line is an excellent choice. I did a lot of search and without breaking the 401k, this may be the best or one of the best options on speakers.

Pros: Detail high frequencies that were not present on the Energy 5.1. The profile is perfect: they are there but not in your face and for a typical living room, they seems to fit naturally. Construction is nice although not wood. but sound it getting better and more crispy and detail every day. Bass is nice although I have a sub woofer, which I always prefer. The AVR 1912 may be falling short of power but enough for movies and music.

Cons: none so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good Speakers

Nate from Milwaukee on 6/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for good bookshelf speakers that were small and these sure fit the bill!

Pros: Nice for there size

Cons: Little pricy Not much low end but for the size should be expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

hoss from California on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought these for my daughters room they sound great

Pros: great sounding for the size

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive pro 1000

Crutchfield customer from Gaithersburg MD on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are perfect for my room. Sound is awsome.

Pros: Sound and size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Def Tech ProMonitor 1000

Ryan from Va on 11/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I honestly could not believe how good the speakers sound. I have always been a fan of big speakers, due to the big/full sound they produce, but when my wife purchased a massive entertainment center, for our living room, I know longer had room for my JBL stadium series towers. I purchased these lil babies due to there size, wattage, and the frequency response. I also have two Klipsch down firing woofers so the lowes were not a big concern, I just needed some nice mids and highs. These lil speakers far exceeded my expectations. I was expecting to loose some sound quality by loosing my towers but honestly, after some slight adjustments, it sounded clearer and more crisp than ever. The ProMonitors are a lil pricey but honestly they are so worth it. I mainly use these for movies but even music sounds outstanding. When I first bought these I hooked two of them up, to try them out, with one 10" woofer and I was rocking with just the 3 pieces. Even at high Db levels these speakers are clean and crisp with no distortion. I can't say enough good about these speakers; if your on the fence, by them and you'll see what I mean.

Pros: Frequency response, wattage, crisp sound, and small size

Cons: Lil pricey but worth every penny

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent sound

clarehills from San Diego CA on 10/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound from these speakers is crisp and clear. I mounted 4 in my living room as part of a surround sound system and am very pleased with the sound. They are pretty heavy which give the impression of a quality product. So far so good.

Pros: Excellent sound, look really good

Cons: Nothing so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Full range sound

Arnold from Midlothian, VA on 9/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really pretty but the sound is exceptionally good.

Pros: Fairly small for such big sound.

Cons: Always like less expensive but these are really good sounding.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Very Disappointed

ejd1 from 13601 on 4/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All noisy midrange sound. When you turn them up they get even noisier. No mid-bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound.

HumboldtRick from Eureka, CA on 4/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got the ProCinema 1000 system and it sounds really good. I just got the system set up, and they sound pretty good already. I'm running a Pioneer SC-1222-K digital amp (120W per channel @ 8 ohms). There's a lot to learn with this system, and there's still some adjusting to do, but I'm really satisfied with the sonic reproduction so far. For the record, I've been completely hooked on the sound of my Denon PMA-777 and KEF 104/2 with Kube for 30 years and have never found anything that sounds as sweet, and that includes this system. That being said, this is one of the best sounding 5.1 speaker systems I've heard.

Pros: Sound great Look good

Cons: Inset wire posts make it hard to use bare wires, banana plugs are a must Shiny black finish collects dust (OK, that's more because I live in a rural setting, and everything's dusty!)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Thrilled with ProCinema

JC from Philadelphia, PA on 3/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the Definitive Technology speakers. The sounds quality is crisp. The speakers are very easy to install. I am using them with a 7.2 surround sound home theater system. The speakers are great for playing both movies and music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Too Bass-Heavy for Me

ogret from Idaho on 3/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is no question these are quality speakers--they provide a clean, distortion-free presentation. They are incredibly bass-rich. Speakers more than any component are a matter of personal preference, and my impression of this speaker (and the 2000 center channel) is they would be ideal for a very large room and for movie watchers who most want immersive, foundation-moving bass effects. For me, dialogue and musical highs were way too buried in a sea of bass to be satisfying. I even preferred the 800s, but ultimately went for the more balanced Klipsch Reference speakers.

Pros: Lots of clean bass.

Cons: Way too much bass.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 2/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers replaced my Polk RTi6 speakers which I have had for quite a while, but wanted to replace with something with a smaller footprint. After doing some research I finally settled on a pair of the ProMonitor 1000's and I have been very happy with the sound. I have since added a pair of the ProMonitor 800's for my rear speakers and a ProCenter 2000. Overall I am very impressed with the sound quality of the Definitive Technology speakers and feel the sound quality is an improvement over my previous speakers. As usual Crutchfield service is top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good quality

Geronimo from New York on 12/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love how its sounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology Pro Monitor 1000

Rick H from Apollo Beach,Fl on 12/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers can compete with much larger, pricier speakers. My "man cave" is a fairly small area and I'm using a 100 watt Yamaha receiver to power them. You just need to plan to purchase a subwoofer with these speakers. I also bought an inexpensive Polk sub a few days later and it made a huge difference. So, for the total, I've got some great sound and I really dont think my ears could have heard a difference if I had paid over $1000.

Pros: great sound from a small package

Cons: ya gotta buy a sub,trust me, but the most basic Polk sub will do the trick

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome

Brad from Wisconsin on 11/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well balanced with very big sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wall Mount speakers

Bob from New Hampshire on 10/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound for a relatively small speaker. Fits nicely into corners.

Pros: good sound good bass for small speaker sounds good at low and high volume

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Really Great Speakers

killerjimbo from Reading, Pa. on 9/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm one of those guys who is hard to satisfy. I try many different products until I am satisfied that I have found the very best that my budget will buy. Well, after trying probably seven different sound bars including a $2000 job I decided to go back to a receiver and separate speakers. This is the third set of separates I am trying and these will be my last. My previous set was the Polk Blackstone TL3's and they were very good. Nothing bad at all to say about them but I thought I could do better. These Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000's along with the ProCenter 1000, I believe are the best that I could get for the money and much more. The size is perfect for my set-up. For my ears these speakers WOW me whether it's music, movies or TV. I am so pleased and happy that I gave these speakers a try.

Pros: Great all around sound, voice/dialog clarity.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yes and No

HenryS from Rancho Santa Margarita CA on 9/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers for use with my computer and not for surround sound.. I hate to say it but these speakers are terrible and I knew they would be without a sub, so I use a sub and now there pretty good. My computer is powered by a H/K receiver of 80 watts rms and a Fiio E7 dac. The music is Apple lossless files. I probably would buy these again, they look great and are very well built.but if you are not going to use a sub keep looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice product

Scott from Cypress Texas on 7/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got 2 up on the wall and so far so good. Have good sound for their size.Matched with 2 800s, a 2000 Center and 6000 sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 great litle speaker

nonoise from Texas on 7/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice small speakers. Big sound and still fit on a small shelf.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fronts

MichaelB from Pleasant View, UT on 5/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are perfect for wall-mounted fronts for my 7.2 home theater. Paired them with 800s for the satellites, and the 1000 sub and center. Very satisfied.

Pros: size, construction, look, packaging, sound, keyhole

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Crutchfield customer from Louisiana on 4/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Mike from Houston, Tx on 4/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 4 PM 1000's, a PC 2000, and a SC 4000 to upgrade from an Onkyo box theater system. I was a little hesitant to spend the money but I am glad I did, there is no comparison this is the best speaker set up I have ever owned. Before I purchased I contacted both Def Tech and Crutchfield with a few questions I had and the customer service I received was excellent. I am now a Def Tech and Crutchfield enthusiast and would recommend this set up to anyone looking for a great value for what you get.

Pros: Sleak, small design allows for mounting on wall or ceiling. I have 2 on the wall and 2 on the ceiling. Crisp, clear, warm sound. Even being pushed hard they maintain great quality sound. Great value (even though I thought the cost was a little much, after setup it was without a doubt worth every penny) Customer Service from Def Tech and Crutchfield, 10 out of 10.

Cons: Have not found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Very good

wsrb from Kennesaw, GA on 1/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with these speakers. Crutchfield was timely as usual and the sound quality is good. Using them as from left and right speakers with a ProCenter 1000 center speaker.

Pros: Nice design and great sound for a small case.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

DefTech 1000s

Chad from Saint Joseph, IL on 12/26/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great small speakers, look as goo a they sound. I have a denon avr1912 and it pushes them very well with no distortion. Never had a speaker and receiver that was too loud, this is! Not as big of bass output as a big box bookshelf but enough to sound realistic. Really like them a lot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Expensive, and worth every penny.

Interstitialist from Orange County, California on 12/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These ProMonitor 1000 speakers are spectacular performers. Especially when you consider they're small enough to serve as computer speakers. I don't have a room-sized stereo system anymore, so I wanted to create a near-audiophile set of computer speakers. These are the speakers I ended up with, and I could not be more pleased. For the record, here's my setup. 1. A NuForce Icon uDAC2 Digital Audio Converter. 2. A Qinpu A-3 stereo amplifier. 3. This pair of Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 Bookshelf Speakers. This makes for a pricy computer speaker system, but the sound is spectacular. And if you want to push the envelope, I recommend the miniAmbio ambiophonic processor. If this topic is new to you, start by Googling "ambiophonics." PS - One of these speakers failed mechanically (the diaphragm started flapping) a few weeks after I received it and Crutchfield replaced it immediately. We do love doing business with Crutchfield.

Pros: Amazing sound quality. Small enough to use on the desk as computer speakers. Bass better than one could hope for in speakers this small. (Despite what some other reviewer said, I can't imagine needing a sub woofer with these.)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

STEVIE S from SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS on 7/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LISTEN TO VERY LOUD ROCK AND ROLL AND THESE SPEAKERS ARE STILL VERY CLEAR AT LOUD LISTENING LEVELS

Pros: VERY NICE FINISH

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

ddm from Peabody, Ma on 3/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased as part of the Pro-Cinema 1000 speaker set. Great sound! Rocks the room and house. The walls rumble especially in the Pearl Harbor plane scenes.

Pros: Quality, sound, appearance.

Cons: costs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding

Mike T from Richmond, Va on 12/29/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I first purchased the Pro Monitor 1000 sub and, seeing as how they are a matching set, I decided to try these as well. The difference was amazing. My old setup worked good for movies, or so I thought, even though music sounded lacking. What a difference these speakers made! For a set of bookshelfs, they do a great job on sound imagining and I'm looking forward to getting reacquainted with my music.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Impressive

ChuckM from Biloxi, MS on 6/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers as part of the ProCinema 1000 package. I replaced some very old Bose AcoustiMass Cube speakers. Wow! I forgot how good the music and movies are supposed to sound. TV and Movie dialog and sound is crystal clear. Music sounds very good! I compared these to the Pro800 series. I think it is worth the extra money to go for the 1000 series. I have them connected to the Denon AVR-1911. Thanks Crutchfield for answering all of my questions!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Stereo music

Crutchfield customer from Oregon on 6/11/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these to accompany a set of low -end wall speakers. We enjoy listing to music and wanted a more full -sound experience and defined base. We had a small space for the speakers where needed, therefore choices were limited. These speakers do a fine job of filling our needs and are very plesent for music and provide a full range of sound. Not quite as clear on voice as instruments, but very acceptable. Actually, they look more expensive than they were and a great fit for limited spaces. For the money, a very good choice. We would recommed these speakers to others who were looking for value and small music- listening speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

great speakers for music

Ray M. from pittsburgh,Pa on 3/24/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a pair of speakers to replace a pair of older Polk speakers that didnt sound very good for music.I've had Def Tech speakers before so I knew of the quality.I have def tech promon 800 for surrounds a promon 1000 for center & Polk psw 111 subwoofer.I'm using a Pioneer 125 watt per channel a/v receiver.At first these speakers sounded good but not great for music,After a week of breaking in they really opened up.I put on a cd by Martin Taylor a remarkable jazz guitarist & Wow - I couldnt believe the clarity.it sounded like there were sounds comming from all over the room from just the front l/r (very impressive).these speakers work great with music and movies.You cant get a better compact speaker at this price - Highly Recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Paulie from Lindenhurst,LI on 1/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great little speaker. Nice clear sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

Andre from York, PA on 11/29/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased a ProCinema 1000 system and love them. I've had them for 2 years and think they are great. Highly recommended for people that love detailed music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000

John from Oscoda, MI on 2/19/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are compact, beautiful, solidly constructed, speakers with a warm sound. For certain music types that don't require a lot of bass, they'll do very well on their own. However, for serious home theater or deep bass, you will want to pair these up with a subwoofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Speaker!!!

Nick from Atlanta, GA on 10/20/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome speaker and looks sharp too. I always see the rave reviews for Definitive Technology speakers in Home A/V magazines so I knew I was getting a great speaker. You won't find a better speaker in this price range. I have it paired with the ProCenter 2000 and I couldn't be happier. My receiver is only rated at 90 watts RMS and this speaker flat-out performs. Highly recommended!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

40 of 46 found this helpful

TOP