Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Single compact satellite speaker (Black)

MFR # NDHA

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Single compact satellite speaker (Black)

MFR # NDHA

67 reviews
View this product

Great satellite speakers

Crutchfield customer from Saint Peters, MO on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My two front Kilipsh HD Theater 500 speakers fried at some point before getting a new receiver that refused to push them. So I saw these, read the reviews, and figured I couldn't go wrong with purchasing them from Crutchfield. I am completely pleased with the purchase. It is hard to compare them to the speakers I replaced, since they are connected to an upgraded receiver and, well, they are not blown. What I can say is I now want to replace the remaining two rear Klipsh speakers with these in my 5.1 system. They seem to have a much more dynamic range than the speakers they replace, they do handle more power, they're plenty efficient, and they look good too. You can't complain about the price either. DefTech for the win.

Pros: Great range when combined with a sub. Perfect size - not too big and not too small

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

albert from Ledyard, CT on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers 3 years ago as surrounds. I am very satisfied, they do what they are supposed to do very well.

Pros: Very clear sounding speakers

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Gus from Cleveland, OH on 3/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound, amazing looks, just awesome. Of course you would need a sub for complete frequency sound, using 3 pairs for height, surround and surround back channels. Tried them for stereo with a sub, still amazing.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Crutchfield customer from Wyoming, MI on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adding 2 to my current home theatre system. Great sound at reasonable cost.

Pros: Great value, sound at reasonable cost

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far so good

Tom from Centerton, AR on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't had a chance to give these little guys a good workout yet but so far so good.

Pros: Great sound from a VERY small footprint.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speakers for the price. Bought two pair-one for the basement and one that I run through the sub-woofer for the kitchen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A lot of bang for the buck

John from Flushing, MI on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from such little speakers. Bought them to match the Deftechs on the other three channels of my receiver, music has never sounded so good! Wonder what they will sound like after being broken in....

Pros: Great deep bass, clear mids and highs.

Cons: None whatsoever

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New Speakers

Crutchfield customer from White Bear Lake, MN on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound as I bought the whole Pro Cinema 800 but needed additional speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Crutchfield customer from Monroe Township, NJ on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding back surrounds.

Pros: Look great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Crutchfield customer from Island Park, NY on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Greate sound

Robert from Arlington, TX on 7/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and a good upgrade.

Pros: Great Sound.

Cons: Speaker connections/posts are difficult to use when using speaker wire pins and banana plugs---bare wire connections worked. More/better instructions are needed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Add On Speakers

Eric from Bronx, NY on 3/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ProMonitor 800 I purchased will be used for the front height speakers of my surround sound setup. I owned a pair of ProMonitor 800 already that I use for my surround back speaker setup and they sound great that is why I purchased this pair for the front height setup that I'm running through my Marantz SR7010. I would highly recommend these speakers because they perform great and are affordable for those that want to setup their system for the Atmos or in my case the Auro 3D effect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Sound, Nice Size, Nice Price

Anonymous from Norfolk, VA on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound at a great price. Already had a ProCenter 1000 and my main goal was to downsize from larger bookshelf front speakers for home theater in a small room, without giving up too much in sound quality. The ProMonitor 800s definitely came through. I debated between these and the 1000s for some time, but after seeing the 1000s in person, it was an easy decision. The 800s are a nice size to use either freestanding or as satellites, but the 1000s definitely would be quite large as satellites. Also considered the B&W M1... but at nearly twice the price, again, it was an easy choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great overall sound

Crutchfield customer from Friendswood, TX on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I worked with Hailey to match the speakers with my current set up and equipment. I believe she did an excellent job! The speakers work very well with my system and sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for main speakers.

James from Austin, TX on 7/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for main speakers. paired with Def. Tech ProCinema 600 system, upgraded to ProCenter 1000, added a ProSub 800, & there is my 7.2 surround system. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

Alan from Boca Raton, FL on 3/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was hoping for in looks and sound. Only issue was that when installing on a wall, the wire connectors can be difficult to access. Also, ordered white and it's easy to get dirt on the grill.

Pros: Looks, sound

Cons: White grills easily get dirty when handling. Wire connectors are difficult to access when installing on wall.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Jerrold from Pensacola, FL on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Money well spent on these speakers. They have excellent sound! I am happy I made this pictures. I nowhave them paired with the marantz sr 5011 Receiver. I had the denon 720 and the 920 and the system sound ok with the denon But there is no comperson to th marantz a little more money but money well spent.

Pros: Very good sound with the tv and music

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid bang for the buck!

Aaron from Lynchburg, VA on 2/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My review is pretty fresh into my usage but so far, so good! I used them to replace my blown rear channel speakers. I was in a hurry because my old ones blew a couple of days before the Rolex24 race, which I stream in full surround sound. They were recommended by Crutchfield expert via chat and I've been very pleased so far. They sounded great! I have a Denon receiver and it's rated at 90w per channel I think so these speakers will be fine. I read in other uses where people were using them as low profile bookshelf speakers for non-home theater applications. I could definitely see that!

Pros: low profile, good value, great power handling especially for rear channel speakers.

Cons: not a big fan of the glossy finish (yet). being so small, I can't imagine using them as anything other than peripheral speakers (rear or middle channel)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for the bucks. Excellent for Surround.

Crutchfield customer from Northport, NY on 1/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound right out of the box. Since I have been breaking them in as per instruction, they have gotten better (more smooth). Excellent surround speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, NY on 12/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another great product from Definitive . These where purchased for front and rear imagine speakers . Great loot and sound . Pairs up beautiful with my other definitive speakers

Pros:

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound for the TV

Don from Berlin, CT on 12/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent sound for the size and price point. Bought these for my brother's TV room for front and rear speakers. I roll with three center channel 2000's for my front L,C,R channels and two 1000's for the surround/rear. Overall, I am pleased and so is he.

Pros: price point, size, sound quality

Cons: not much

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Eric from Palm Desert, CA on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought four ProMonitor 800's for surrounds in a 7.1 system. Front/center channels are some older high end B&W's. The 800's work extremely well and seem to merge fine with the B&W's. They pack plenty of sound; very smooth response when I tested them alone in stereo. Bought these after listening to a couple of friend's systems with DT's. I'm very impressed with the whole line. When it comes time to replace the front channels, I'll go with DT's.

Pros: Very good quality speakers; definitely great "bang for the buck".

Cons: None that I can hear.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small Package, Great Sound...

Rick from Johnston, RI on 11/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed small speakers for an enclosed sunroom area. Have Boston Acoustics speakers for the rest of the house but after a lot of research found these to be the best option for what I was looking for (small size, lightweight, good sound range operating without an accompanying sub-woofer. Very happy with these and after "breaking them in" over a weekend, the sound is outstanding. Very glad I purchased them and for the price/performance, they're a great value. The set-up mounting on the wall was pretty easy (used the Pro-Mount 90s). I did wind up using my own Allen wrench (with a handle) for the final tightening which gave me better leverage.

Pros: Outstanding sound

Cons: Be careful with the white speakers- the front face can get dirty easily during the wall install. I kept the protective foam around them while handling to keep them clean and looking perfect......

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Packs a Wollup for such a Small Speaker

Lou from Encino, CA on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very good speaker and pack a lot of punch for their size. The sound on some songs is a bit tinny, but ever so slight. For movies, theses speaker are awesome! I use them as my main front right and left channels and they deliver big time. I'd give 5 stars but for that slight tinny sound on certain songs. I would buy these again as they really excellent speakers and they look great and fit into small spaces with ease. Highly recommended!

Pros: Excellent Sound, very small footprint. Extremely good sound for movies and easily serve as main left and right front speakers

Cons: A bit tinny on some songs but very slight, also very difficult to attach speaker wire to terminals, took me almost an hour . . . but once secured a solid connection.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome for Dolby Atmos

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, CT on 11/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All four fits perfectly on my ceiling for Dolby Atmos, and they blend in well soundwise with my center channel, left, and right main speakers. Huge upgrade, and improvement in sound coming from Mirage Omnipolar speakers.

Pros: Very detailed, focused powerful sound.

Cons: I wish I knew about the price drop before I bought my two Pro Monitor 1000s, and four Pro Monitor 800s in black.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ProMonitor 800

jmath from Reedsburg, WI on 10/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced 28 year old Polk S4's with the ProMonitor system, 2 - 1000 front speakers, 1 ProCenter 1000, & 2 - ProMonitor 800's. I use the ProMonitor 800 speakers as the satellite speakers in the rear of a small living room setup. The speakers are wall mounted on a screw and have a small profile. Sound is full and impressive. I was able to turn down settings on the surround system when I did the setup for the new speakers. I have noticed the frequency range is wider and leaves a fuller sound the the almost 30 year old technology these replaced. The Crutchfield customer assistance spent about 30 minutes narrowing the selection to speakers that would fit my needs, very helpful.

Pros: Sound response is full and sound is clear.

Cons: Wire lugs are recessed in a narrow depression and somewhat hard to get to. I did not have banana jacks on the wire and had difficulty getting the bare wire into the hole to tighten the lug on to. Plastic cabinets do scratch easily

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Theater Speakers

Capt D from San Diego, CA on 4/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 Speakers. These speakers are the backbone of my 5.1 system and carry the weight of the surround theater. Full, rich and clean sound throughout the spectrum. Every time I light these speakers up, I get a big smile on my face.

Pros: Easy wiring & removeable bookshelf stand

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Biff from Maryland on 1/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound from tiny speaker! Use in den (9 by 20 feet) and the sound and imaging are amazing and they have no problem filling the room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Desktop Computer Audio Speakers

J. Yamashita from Burbank, California on 11/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers for a computer desktop audio system. The speakers are the right size and don't take up a lot of space with the 24" display and input devices. The modern sleek curved styling would compliment almost any office or home computer setup. The Pro Monitor 800s have excellent stereo imaging and sound field; I was very impressed when I first started listening to them. Overall accuracy, sonic characteristics, and fidelity are surprisingly good for the price paid. Midrange and vocals sounded very accurate and present. Highs were smooth and not edgy. Due to their small size, the bass response is less than a speaker with a larger driver. Keep in mind that the bass response would be much less without the passive bass radiator element which are employed in these speakers. I'm driving the Pro Mon 800s with a Denon PMA-50, a great pairing to complete the audio system (read my separate review on the PMA-50). There is a sub out for LFE, so I intend to experiment with a powered subwoofer in this setup. If you need speakers where there is more physical space available, I would recommend the Pro Monitor 1000 which has a deeper low end response with the same great sound.

Pros: Right size, nice design, and good overall fidelity.

Cons: Bass response lacking though expected due to their small size.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not so great for music

Bob D from Medfield, MA on 11/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I find these are decent for watching movies but they sound somewhat dead when listening to music. Much prefer my Klipsch rb-51ii's for music.

Pros: Small, good sound for movies.

Cons: Not great for listening to music.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Speakers

KarlD from Illinois on 9/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Speakers are well made and sound great! I have them in a 17X17 room and couldn't ask for more.

Pros: Small yet big enough

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds hollow to me

PaulB from California on 9/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these into a 5.1 system with the Procenter 1000, and I was hoping it would work for music as well as movies. Unfortunately, I didn't like the sound for music. It sounded noticeably hollow, not as rich as my old Sony bookshelfs. I listened to mostly jazz and some rock. They are being returned, and I am still looking for an alternative.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive speakers

Joel from California on 8/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are outstanding

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love these satellites

JustinC from Redwood City CA on 7/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speakers. I have them set up as my rear surrounds, have bookshelf and a center speaker next to TV. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend nor purchase a second set (to complete my 7.1). Be careful with the white speaker cover, dirties very easily.

Pros: Small, Easy to Mount, Sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great small white speakers

the nimrod from California on 7/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent small home theater speakers

Pros: half the size of my previous speakers with twice the sound and they look great. hard to find white speakers and matching white stands

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

just installed them

gary r from California on 7/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i read there was a break in period,for speakers so I didn't push them. I just installed tl3's white,for my back surrounds.I used single post to mount them on both corner's of my living room close to the ceiling .I played dts movie at first 5.1,but then I thought I'll try 5.1 str. channel on my old Denon 3802 110 watts per,and go to u-tube and play David Gilmore,Wow! I'm glad I did the sound blended in perfect with my old monitor series 2-12 Polk front speakers.I was glad to hear they won my wife's approval ,but anyway the sound was just perfect I just sat there for two hours and enjoyed every aspect of the new blended sound coming from these new speakers.I was like a little kid smiling the whole time.I can't wait to crank them up a bit to hear what they sound like . I'm very pleased with my purchase and like I said before i'm still smiling!.Thank you Crutchfield for the information and you just won a new customer.

Pros: it's all good

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Speakers!!

DavidM from Georgia on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers pack plenty of punch for their compact size. I have paired them with the Denon AVR - 2100 and Definitive Technology ProSub 800 which together give a nice full sound in my living room, plus they look great! I was torn between these, the ProMonitor 1000's and more expensive Martin Logans. I am glad I went with these as they provide a nice clean full sound and a much more budget friendly price and they go more than loud enough.

Pros: Sounds, size, design, power, and price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

DT Promonitor 800

RB from Washington on 5/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't believe the sound clarity that come from these little things !! Not as much oomph as I remember from my old floor speakers, but I paired it with a Infinity Primus PS 38 and the system sounds great !! These were recommended by the Crutchfield rep because I had space constraints...I didn't compare with any other speakers...but it sounds good enough to be a keeper...

Pros: very clear sound for in such a small package..

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 Speakers

Tom B from Rochester, New York on 4/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. I replaced 6 of the Klipsch Quintent bookshelf speakers with these and I think these are more powerful. I am still using the Klipsch subwoofer and they sound good together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rich, full sound from a small package

AVdad from Apple Valley, MN on 4/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice sound in a small and attractive package. Using them with a sub for music listening in living room and they provide a great overall experience. Wife likes the small profile. DefTech did a nice job on these.

Pros: Small size, full sound

Cons: Little bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Speakers

PKA from Tennessee on 3/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality speakers for their size and with the color white available it was a perfect match for our requirement.

Pros: Quality, size and price was outstanding.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surprise, surprise

Sean from California on 1/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to use them as rear speakers in a 7.1 rig, but temporarily hooked them up as right and left fronts with just a sub woofer while I waited for some other speakers to come in. They sounded so good that I started second guessing weather I really needed all those other speakers. Obviously the sub woofer is picking up all the lows, but these little gems did a more than adequate job with the rest of spectrum. I'm going to make these my go to speakers for satellite applications.

Pros: Sound bigger than their size, size makes them placeable or mountable just about anywhere

Cons: Can't brag to your friends how big your speakers are or how much they cost

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Speakers

MelvinD from Houston,TX on 1/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers!

Pros: Great sounding and look nice as well

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Sound

Richard L. from Michigan on 12/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The advisor was great in helping me select this . The problem I had was two fold. I had a bad speaker to replace. He helped to match the speaker. He explained the technology in his selection and the reasons it should solve the problem. He was correct in his Anasylis. The other issue was to pick a speaker that was white to match the other. Ii am just amazed at the sound this little speaker puts out and the way the sound matches a much older speaker that is larger . .

Pros: Quality and the range of the sound

Cons: None thus far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Mike H from Pooler, GA on 10/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was exactly what I was looking for. Good quality sound. Compact shelf speakers in white. They blend in perfectly with my white cabinets. You don't even know they are there.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ProMonitor 800

AlanI from Houston Tx on 7/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great! A compact speaker that performs well - I love them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Scott from Wseton, FL on 6/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small speaker, very crisp highs and mids. Still need a sub for the lows to provide the deep bass, but do a good job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Extremely satisfied

Giuseppe from Michigan on 5/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've purchased these speakers to add on to my 5.1 Pro600. My a/v receiver allows for a 7.1 set up. I've placed them on 2 stands on the left and right of the tv and they are the best purchase that I made to kick my home theater up a notch. The ProMonitor800 + Pro1000 central speaker + Pro600 4 satellites and 1 sub turned my living room in to a movie theater!

Pros: Quality of sound, design, color choice (white or black)

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Value! Don't let their little size fool you!

Alock from Gloucester, MA. on 5/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for a 2.1 computer set-up. It's paired with a NAD D3020 hybrid digital amp & a Boston Acoustics PV-350 subwoofer (only 50 watts) I'm using the internal DAC (via USB) from the NAD & they sound amazing for the money! I bought these because of their high praise from so many people online. They won't disappoint!

Pros: Very small footprint. Sound great after 30+ hours of usage. The aesthetics are wonderful! You really can't do better for their price tag. I used Audio Engine's DS1 for the elevated stands. The DS1 makes a difference @ a computer desktop. The DT Pro Monitors comes with a stand, but you need an upward angle to make them even better.

Cons: None! Buy them!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surround me, please!

Peavey B. from Houston, TX on 3/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was needing a small set of speakers to complete my media room. I had a 5.1 system and wanted to expand to a 7.1 setup. After talking with the Crutchfield team and letting them know all that I currently owned (model and manufacturer) they recommended Definitive Technology. I was amazed at the clarity these speakers brought to my system. The room is now sounding exactly as it should. After installing the speakers on their new stands (which are fantastic as well) I ran the Denon room setup program. The speakers have added so much to my media experience. I highly recommend this speaker. Paired with Boston Acoustic VR960s on the front, B&W FPM2s on the rear, M&K Sub, Definitive Mythos 7 center and a Denon AVR-2312CI Receiver.

Pros: Great frequency response and tremendous sound quality from a small packatge

Cons: No cons to report.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great little speakers

rob d from grand rapids , mi on 2/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

full sound for a smaller speaker . paired with a polk sub for a great sound for tv or music

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound

GR from San Juan, PR on 12/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, I bought these as satellite surround speakers, they are a major upgrade from what I had before. Clear sound and very accurate. Easy to install with wall mounts.

Pros: Great sound Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great compact speakers!

Michael from Fairborn, OH on 11/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact bookshelf speakers that sound very good. The detail and sound quality is great and what you would expect from Definitive Technology speakers. These sound great next to my TV and with music. They have very good mid-bass, but lack bass in the bottom end. For their size, they do have a good amount of bass extension, but I would recommend adding the matching Definitive Technology ProSub 800.

Pros: Compact, sound quality.

Cons: Lacking lower bass.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrific sound

J D'Ambrosia from Fort LeeNew Jersey on 9/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I heard these speakers over a friends home and asked him what brand they were,Definitive he said,I was blown away by their clarity. So I bought a pair including a center speaker. . . WOW! Now I 'm going to purchase a subwoofer of the same brand. Cannot wait to hear that ! Incredible!

Pros: Buy them!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Speakers

ProMonitor 800 from Green Brook, NJ on 8/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buy these :) The sound is great, they look great and the setup was so easy. I purchased the AudioQuest Type 4 speaker cable and the were so easy to install.

Pros: They look and sound amazing.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Speakers

Featherhead from Houston, TX on 8/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought two DT Pro Monitor 800's to complete my Definitive ProCinema 600 BK Home Theater System. They produce great sound for a compact system.

Pros: Compact size, easy to mount using the Pro-Mount 90 articulating wall mount brackets. Great music & movie sound!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Phillip H. from Pleasant Hill on 8/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speakers. They sound good with more base than some other speakers

Pros: Small design. Have wall mounts. Have more base without a sub-woofer

Cons: lacks high end sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

These speakers sound excellenr

Pete W from Snohomish, WA on 8/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using these as rear surround speakers that are mounted on the wall. Using with the Sony STR DN1040 receiver. They look and sound great

Pros: Sleek Look Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good speakers, but not outstanding

Charlie from Texas on 6/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have a good overall sound to them. The bass portion will not knock your socks off, but a good solid speaker nonetheless. I have these in my home theater system as the back surround speakers and they are perfect for that use. I must say I am impressed with the sound that comes our of a smaller footprint.

Pros: small size, good overall tones

Cons: Less bass than you might expect with a Definitive speaker.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great surround speakers

johnM from columbus,ohio on 5/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic sound for such small speakers. using speakers with my jbl speakers 7.1 surround.

Pros: built very well. perfect size to hang on wall.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs....

DeanM from Ontario, CA on 5/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these speakers for my rear surrounds with Polk Audio towers and sub for the fronts. I needed to do this because I have built-in cabinet enclosures for the rear speakers, Polk bookshelf speakers did not fit the enclosures, and I had no other acceptable options. The speakers fit the enclosures very well and work perfectly for my needs. While the bass is not exceptionally strong, the mid-range is excellent, and the speakers fill the sound field very well when watching movies or listening to SACD or 5.1 audio applications. Plus, they look beautiful in my cabinet.

Pros: Very good mid-range, very attractive appearance.

Cons: Bass is not exceptionally strong, but this is not a drawback for my needs and uses.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great satellite speakers

MichaelB from Pleasant View, UT on 5/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using these as satellites in a 7.2 setup with Pro 1000 fronts. Did ceiling mounts using the Pinpoint AM20 brackets. Sound great, look sharp.

Pros: Keyhole mount, perfect satellite size, looks, packaging, construction

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

def tech pro 800 sats

mr. ed from puerto rico on 4/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

purchased pro 800 system with sub from crutchfield and picked up 2 of these to go 7.1 with my denon 1913. works puuurfectly. if I had to do it again, I would have purchased 2 pro 1000's with matching stands and used them for front l/r, and put the 4 pro 800 sats for rear surround/back surround. but I have no complaints.

Pros: everything. great quality construction and sound.

Cons: nothing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

For a small speaker they pack a punch

Crutchfield customer from Zanesville, Ohio on 2/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a home theater speaker they are a small powerful replacement for my old three way Sony floor standing speakers. Very satisfied overall.

Pros: Small, built in bass radiator.

Cons: Mounting could be better if it was built in. The universal kits make them hang way to far out for a smooth look next to my tv.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Used as small mains in 2-channel background music setup

Chris from Georgia on 12/22/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recommended this to a friend to fit her requirements - "small as possible, good sound, white color." I hooked them up for her today, and we were both very pleased with the sound. They won't rattle the walls or anything like that by themselves, but they are great for room-filling background music and they have enough bass to sound fine. Really sounded great and filled the room with no problem, and according to her, they sound better than any speakers she's ever had in her house. I think that had a lot to do with me flatlining the EQ from its previous "smiley face" setting and the fact that she hated the old, huge, brown, Sansui SP-2000 speakers they replaced.

Pros: Small size, white, good extension into hi and low for a small speaker.

Cons: Nothing yet.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

SPandey from Delaware on 5/22/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it is rocking my 28x16 media room ( theater) in basement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800

Mark S from Margate, FL on 1/20/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Onkyo TX-NR808 along with Definitive speakers and it sounds great. I have a wall unit with my 50" Samsung flat screen. My couch backs right up to a wall and it prevented me from installing speakers behind it and my wife did not think it would look good to have satellite speakers on the wall behind left and right of the couch. In fact, she refused to let me install the satellites no matter how small and she said the only way I could do it is to install them in the ceiling so no body could see them. "Light Bulb" went off, great Idea. I purchased Definitive ProMonitor 800s for each side of the TV, ProCenter 1000, ProSub1000, and 3 DI 4.5 ceiling speakers to create 6.1 sound. The speakers are mounted approx 12' above the couch and I could not ask for better sound. The perfect setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

TOP