Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
803 935 222 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
803 935 222 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology SuperCube® 6000

Ultra-compact powered subwoofer

MFR # LAYA

Definitive Technology SuperCube® 6000

Definitive Technology SuperCube® 6000

Ultra-compact powered subwoofer

MFR # LAYA

27 reviews
View this product

Perfect Form Factor

James from Peoria, AZ on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased a DefTech SC4000 subwoofer, but ended up swapping it out for the SC6000 after it went on sale for the same price as the SC4000. For anyone who says that this subwoofer's bass is weak or simply not that good either must be using it in a gymnasium or their doing something wrong with their setup, because this sub has PLENTY of low extension with bass you can feel in your gut! I recommend to anyone testing this speaker to play the train wreck scene from "Super 8" to see what this sub is capable of doing: it's simply phenomenal. The product is well made, plays forceful, and I love the convenience of having a remote to optimize the setup without having to leave my listening spot. The biggest selling point for me is the fact that it has a small form factor. My listening area only measures 10x11, so that eliminates a lot of other subwoofers. Fortunately, this one fits the bill for me perfectly. Highly recommended!

Pros: Impactful bass Perfect size Convenient remote for setup Solidly built

Cons: Lack of dedicated power button Not much else!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 6000

robert from Palm Coast, FL on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds like some of the people writing these glowing reports have never heard a subwoofer before. I don't care how many watts they say the amp has, this is not a powerful subwoofer. If you are looking for big bass look elsewhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

Wow!

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup Super easy to dial in Meets my needs perfectly

Pros: Crutchfield got it to me in 2 days Integrates well with my Definitive Technology system and Denon receiver

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Versatile, Powerful, Compact and Attractive

David from Roanoke, VA on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Massive and clean power are engineered into a compact, attractive form factor. I paired this SC6000 with ProCinema 1000's for a 7.1 system. The sub digs deep providing exciting, palpable bass. It's more than capable of rattling doors and windows while also being highly musical if you take the time to dial in settings, placement etc for your room. Excellent with movies, rock, hip-hop, classical. An ultra high powered class D amp and passive radiator driver design give the SC6000 an edge with sustained bass notes such as synths and pipe organs. Crutchfield was, as always, amazing to deal with.

Pros: Clean power Versatile

Cons: Included battery in the remote was dead, but, easy fix!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 6000

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product best subwoofer I have ever purchased by far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product! Really

Gustavo S from San juan PR on 5/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well... It's a good product, solid construction, it's heavy for the size of it. The sound of this sc6000 is very deep and tight, is a 9" active sub with 2 10" passive radiators, for me it sounds better than a 10 inch sub, in my opinion it sounds very beautiful but it's not a sub that will shake all your entire house but if you pare it with another sub will be a bomb, but trust me that the sound of this sc6000 will amazed you and will sound great compared with a lot of 10 inch sub in Crutchfield

Pros: Tight sound, goes really deep.

Cons: The only thing i didn't like so much was the upper cabinet that when you took it up seems like kind of cheap and the remote seems cheap too. But other than that it's okay to me.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom!

Joel from Grand Rapids, MI on 4/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the super cube I had to buy a second one. I highly recommend these bad boys.

Pros: Small and convenient. Very nice clean bass.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Size isn't everything

G from Thumb of MI on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic clean low transparent bass, blends in with my other definitives flawlessly and can't pinpoint where it's coming from even with it mounted behind my seating, however that may be in part I connected it to my full range preamp output of the receiver and set the crossover to 60 hz, the reason I did that is I run tower 8080 mains, cs8080 center, tower 8060 surrounds and a cs8060 for a single surround back all set to large in the receiver, 4 - 5 1/4 ceiling speaker making it a 6.0.4 system, I thought with all 6 of my main speakers having self powered bass sections that are very respectable I shouldn't need a subwoofer but always wanted to try one of these super cubes and chose this model 6000 to ensure I wouldn't be underpowered, wow what a difference, it extended the bottom end movie effects seamlessly for that really hard low crunch. If you want huge amounts of bass go bigger model or look elsewhere, very impressive unit but if you overdrive it it will distort and pock badly and be very disappointed, my volume is set to 26 out of 40, it is pricey but bought mine on sale and got an additional money off for scratch and dent but can't see anything wrong with it other than the box was beat bad. Very happy, another great Crutchfield purchase.

Pros: Clean good low end extension lots of setup options small

Cons: None of you listen at reasonable volume, if you are a bass monger that wants to shake the whole house it may not be for you

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 6000

Crutchfield customer from Muskego, WI on 5/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, it packs a big punch in a small size in my oversized media room. Replacing two Klipsh 350W sub's. Only wish they still made the remote unit for the wireless module.Hate having the cord running across the floor. Was well worth the investment, pairing with a pair of Mythos's 9's. and a Denon AVR6200.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound

Kelvin G. from Atmore, AL on 4/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub is AWESOME with movies and tv even music at lower volumes it's fed by a Onkyo 656 along with 4 Polk Audio monitor 70's and a Polk Audio cs10 center the 6000 is nice but completely disappears at high volume can't even tell it's on

Pros: Shakes the walls at lower volumes

Cons: Disappears at high volumes

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube® 6000

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, AZ on 3/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Definitive Technology Powerfield 1500 purchased in 1998. It severed me well for a long time. It recently went bad. I was well pleased with he Definitive Technology Powerfield 1500 so I purchased the Definitive Technology SuperCube® 6000. It did not seem to have the same punch as the old subwoofer. I returned it. Borrowing a tern form the hot rod world, "There is no replacement for displacement.

Pros: Nice subwoofer.

Cons: Lacked the punch I was hoping for,.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 6000

Ross from Midland, MI on 12/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had it for a short time, however seems to work really good. The set up was pretty easy and the I notice a completely different "tone" to the bass effects of movies. Seems much more real and less noticeable, yet very much there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Great Subwoofer

Curt from St. Michaels, MD on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fabulous subwoofer! Probably more power than I needed but with the sale price and my Crutchfield points, I couldn't resist the opportunity to upgrade from my SuperCube 2000. This as close to theatre sound and sensation as I should ever need. I couldn't be happier with my Definitive Technology set-up!

Pros: Quality of sound; clear distinct reproduction out of a relatively small enclosure.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Clean room filling bass

John from Hilton Head Island, SC on 8/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

movies sound better music sounds awesome! What more can be said ,I replaced a old DEF-TEC sub 100 with this unit .the old one was good but this one is fantastic! the remote is a great feature for fine tuning from the couch!LOVE DEF-TEC!!

Pros: size,remote,SOUND!!

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

DT SuperCube 6000

Andrew from ft wayne, IN on 3/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had Definitive Technologies BP20s w/ a center channel and small rear surround BP2s for maybe 20 years now and they've been excellent. We finally have a receiver that has a sub out (Denon) so when it came time for a sub my only consideration was DT. Officially, with my research, the 4000 would have been a 'perfect fit' for our room but through a lot of reading and thinking about a possibly larger room someday I opted for the 6000. In short, it lives up to all of the positive reviews. I've got nothing bad to say about this box. My business is designing and installing commercial AV systems and doing live production .so I am knowledgeable about subwoofers and crossovers and HPFs and LPFs...

Pros: Small in stature, shakes the whole house (and it's on a slab). Great upgrade to our already great DT speaker system. When Bilbo dropped the Ring on the floor yesterday, it was quite impressive and that's a subtle scene.

Cons: Really, nothing. Works as billed and well engineered. I do understand that there may be users asking for more than this box is designed to deliver but it's really great for the movies we've put through it.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Amazing Sound

DanC from California on 9/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to upgrade our home theatre subs to two Supercube 6000s and replace our two Supercube IIIs. I've been somewhat disappointed with the SC IIIs. I've replaced 3 boards but have to say, Definitive was very nice and responsive and never charged me for the boards even at the end of their warranty. It's a major reason I stuck with Def Tech for new subs. I have three Mythos Ten speakers surrounding a 70" TV along with rear ceiling mounted Def Tech UIW RCS II speakers for a 5.2 system. My receiver is a Denon AVR-3312CI. We primarily watch movies in the home theatre but there are times I get to crank it up (like when no one is home!) with some music. Our home theatre is 20' x 15' and open on one 20' side. The two units have absolutely no problem filling this space. In fact there is plenty of bass with one sub operating. Wow, what a difference. I'm not sure how the 6000s do it but they actually make the entire system from the musical lows to highs sound better! I've had them working for 24 hours and they sound great. Even my Wife stated how great they looked and sounded last night. Expensive yes, but so far I feel worth the price. I thought the remote control would be gimmicky. However I now feel this should be standard on all subs and love this feature. For those buying two, you can use one remote control for both. The broadcast range is narrow enough that I can control each individually by pointing right at the subwoofer.

Pros: Attractive Remote control Great sound Compact size Crutchfield/UPS free delivery in three days to California

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Sounds great!

Crutchfield customer from Virginia on 8/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My previous sub was taken out by lightening during a bad storm and had heard many good things about the DT subs so I decided to try this one. I was not disappointed. I love the remote, it makes it nice to sit in my listening position and hear the settings in real time. It really sounds good with my collection of SACD's.

Pros: Remote, solid bottom end.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice little unit, but not quite what I expected

pohlevj from New York on 8/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to like this sub! Now don't get me wrong, this is a nice little subwoofer. Its really nice looking, has a remote to make adjustments on the spot which is great, and it can certainly get loud. But I just expected more. I noticed after setting it up that it seemed like some of the mid-bass was weak. I also suspected that the claimed 14 hz frequency response was a little off as well. So I put on an audio clip of a 200-10 hz sweep. I noticed that there is a point in the middle of the sweep where the bass just drops right off. I also noticed that while it did play decently low, in no way did it play down to 14 hz. I have since tried moving it to other spots of the living room, running Audyssey setup about twenty times, messing with the crossover settings of both amp and sub, but its just not doing it for me. For spending a grand on a subwoofer I thought it would have given me more. I think this one is meant to look pretty and have a high WAF (wife acceptance factor) along with the neat feature of the remote, but the sound itself produced by this sub is just not what I was hoping for. Kind of disappointing as I really like Deftech speakers. I was considering returning this and getting the supercube 8000 instead, but its an extra 500 bucks. I KNOW I can find something better for the same price if not cheaper. I also know that when it comes to high end audio gear you can't expect TOO much for a grand, but I would think it should be more than this.

Pros: Great looking product; neat little remote to fine tune the sub on demand; high WAF; it CAN sound good when it wants to if put in the right place and tuned the right way

Cons: WAY too expensive for what you get; does not play down as low as it claims, I noticed missing mid-bass when doing a 200-10 hz sweep;

Crutchfield response on

28 of 41 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 6000

Dave from Alabama on 6/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am simple amazed that some much performance is possible in such a small package. This unit, if you want the best that can offer is not a set and forget affair. The remote is very handy and provides all the contrpls to optimise performance. The remote is however line of sight so consider this when intalling

Pros: terrific product

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

NICE LITTLE SUB

AUTOTECH0105 from Colorado on 2/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from such a small sub, at first I was skeptical but after listening to this for a few weeks I am more and more impressed.

Pros: small size lets you hide it in plain sight, remote to adjust the level at any time

Cons: a little pricy

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Super Sub

EricH from Ohio on 2/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Owning a SuperCube II, I wanted to upgrade to 2 units for my 2 channel stereo with bookshelf speakers on stands. The DefTech Super Cube was and still is the only model, at any price, that I will ever consider owning. I liked the 6000 so much (thanks to the included IR remote) I bought another; now I have 2 SC6000's and have moved my original SuperCube II into the home theater. Compact, powerful, remote with EQ, LF crossover, volume, and phase all adjustable from my listening chair. DefTech SuperCube remain the best you can buy.

Pros: Everything.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

sc6000 versus prosub 800 versus Bose acoustimass 10

HappyRC from us on 3/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sc6000 is 100 times better than the prosub 800 that I heard at a local retailer. Yes, it's unfair that I listened to a prosub 800 8inch but that's all there was at this retailer for me to try. Whereas the prosub 800 rattled, the sc6000 can shake my 17x15 feet family room with 10 foot ceiling that opens into the 17x10 foot kitchen, without loose rattles. What's impressive is that the bass is not just loud and low for explosions but it also has medium and high bass for doors closing and it can go to completely silent. The sc6000's bass range is phenomenal compared to my old Onkyo 8 inch 150 watts subwoofer. The bass is tight which makes the dialogue on the center speaker clear. Highly recommended ------------- As for BOSE, the tweeters are not clear and too bright. The loose subwoofer sounds like a cheap $100 box that doesn't sound very low because they're tiny dual 5.25 inch speakers.

Pros: Impressive bass range from low explosions to medium door thumps to high male voices

Cons: As great as the sc6000 is for a subwoofer, it doesn't come close to the super tight and clean bass from my real set of drums (with a pillow inside).

Crutchfield response on

11 of 26 found this helpful

Super Sub

VirtualJay from Delaware on 3/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I moved to my new house at the beach I replaced all my audio/visual equipment except (1) my Definitive rear speakers and (2) My huge 15" Velodyne sub from the 1980s. These have served me well for three more years but finally the old Velodyne died. I put a limit on my replacement cost and in time found myself looking at the Definitive SuperCube 6000. I hoped - but was not confident - that this midget sub could replace my giant Velodyne without too much loss in quality bass sound. Wow. It did replace the Velodyne and instead of a loss I gained in quality bass sound. I don't know how they did it, but this is an awesome device. Not only does it put out excellent bass sound - much cleaner and crisper than the big Velodyne and also strong enough to rumble the floor and wake up my dog - but it sits there beautifully and unobtrusively in the corner. An excellent purchase - do not hesitate, just buy it. And again I don't know how Crutchfield does it - I ordered it and received it the next day - and I am located out at the beach. Simply amazing.

Pros: Sweet looking; big clear, crisp bass.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

Nice subwoofer

Rick from Virgin Islands on 2/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really has some deep base.

Pros: Sall size, nice sound,

Cons: Price a little high

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube® 6000

Nick F. from Lakeland FL on 2/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One "BAD TO THE BONE SUB". I have a 25x25 great room and I am 100% satisfied. It is everything you need in a sub and I enjoy all the adjustments that can be made with the remote or manually. p.s. it replaced my 10 inch $3000.00 Velodyne and to me it is a way better sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Highly Recommend

Jim from Arlington Heights, IL on 6/8/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Denon DRA-697CI stereo Receiver with 2 AR-11 speakers. Since the AR-11's have 10 inch speakers and the super cube has 10 inch speakers, I was concerned whether the cube would be able to make much difference. I was amazed - it will add a whole new dimension to your sound. Sound so low you can almost feel it before you hear it. Since this product is so small I was able to position it perfectly in front of my television centered between the 2 AR-11 speakers. The remote control allows you to set the cross over frequency while sitting at your seat. This setting allows the cube to blend seamlessly into your existing speaker sound. I found 50hz worked best with the AR-11's. There are other settings as well that help optimize the sound quality. There are multiple ways to connect the cube. I used the "Line In" method since the DRA-697CI has a "Line Out" for a sub.

Pros: Size, Remote Control, Sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

25 of 29 found this helpful

Amazing Sub

ChadSpeed from St. Joseph, Il on 3/31/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crazy loud, clean, deep, beautiful subwoofer. I have never heard anything this good in home theater systems before. For the price it is ridiculously wonderful. It loves music, I've tested it with Bass Mekanik and it hits everything nicely, feels like I have a butt kicker installed on my sofa. I have had it for a few weeks and it is opening up so much as it gets broke in, I only have the volume of the sub set at 25 out of 40, it seriously loud, and fills my 1800 sqft. house with bass. It is also great looking, only just over a cubic foot, piano black, and you can shut off the display, even put it in night mode to calm it down. My friends can't believe it, the one guy has a 15 inch Velodyne and two Polk Audio 10s and my one Def Tech is louder and hits harder, and is so much cleaner since it is a sealed enclosure. The radiators make a huge difference. Love it and recommend to all in the price range. My Denon even turn the sub level down to -12db when doing my set up with the mic. The Dark Knight on Blu-Ray was making the sub so much louder that I turned the sub down to 20. If you live close to neighbors they will hear you. Good Luck.

Pros: Crazy loud, low, and room filling

Cons: At times can be too loud, over powering the movies, but adjusting the volume is a easy fix. Neighbors within 50ft may hear it.

Crutchfield response on

48 of 51 found this helpful

TOP