Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
385 583 322 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
385 583 322 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Powered subwoofer

MFR # LAVA

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Powered subwoofer

MFR # LAVA

22 reviews
View this product

Very powerfull

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the clarity that this supercube emitts. The cube was a great addition to my sound system.

Pros: Styleish Style

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great subwoofer

Guest from Leesburg Va on 5/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not sure how people are getting this sub up to volume 30? I have a 3800 cubic ft space with 9 ft ceilings and if I turn mine past 15 the house would start to fall down. Maybe try dialing it in a little better. Finding a better placement option. Mine never rattles or vibrates the cloth, the top never rattled either. The sub is strong and powerful. It's excellent for movies and is subtle enough to handle even the finest nuances of jazz and classical music. I think this sub is a great choice fir anyone looking for a sub. It is on the smaller side, it's clean and beautiful and elegantly designed so it will go just about anywhere and if it's seen it won't matter. There's no ugly big metal grilles or blue lights that glow or flash on the from or the back. It's just a great product and the remote is great for getting the sub dialed in while you sit and listen. I am very happy with this and I think Def Tech did a great job with all of the supercube subs for that matter. If you decide to buy this I think you will be happy for a long time.

Pros: Just about everything, small size fantastic output and sound. Nice remote feature and all kinds of configurations on hooking the sub up to your system.

Cons: None that I have come across

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing Sound!

Matt from Asheville, NC on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing sound with excellent quality! Rounds off this collection nicely!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Crutchfield customer from Euclid, OH on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fabric surrounding the cube buzzes to distort the bass at higher volumes, at or above volume 30. No idea how to fix it?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome!

Gray from Spring City, TN on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been a Def Tec owner since 1996 and still have the Powerfield 1500 sub that still rocks great sound. Decided to supplement my home theater with a second sub and chose the 8000 to blend with the 1500. I only had one LEF lead so I hooked up the 8000 with the idea that I'd hook up the 1500 later. WOW! I'm not sure I need to add the 1500! The 8000 rattles the dishes and thumps the room. I'll follow up this review with an update when I connect the 1500.

Pros: Deep Tight Base!

Cons: Extremely poor packaging. Sub arrived with tears and holes in the carton. Thankfully, the damage was just to the carton. Def Tec needs to rethink their packing material to protect such a valuable product.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great for virtual organ 32 foot stops.

Steve from Baton Rouge, LA on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my virtual pipe organ setup since the low bass is now on an independent speaker. The 32' stops with lowest pitch at 16 Hz are clearly present. So while I don't know if this SW reaches 12 Hz as advertised, it definitely reproduces 16 Hz which is the lowest I need. I got this on sale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing Sub!!

Doug from Westfield, IN on 9/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My current system is an Onkyo TR-NX838 AVR, Polk Audio RTi A9 front speakers, Polk Audio CSi A6 center channel and Polk Audio RTi A3 surround and back speakers. I replaced a Polk Audio PSW650 sub. The PSW650 wasn't giving a complimentary blend to my system as it was sounding muddy at the low end. After many months of reading reviews on just about every subwoofer on the market, I chose the SuperCube 8000. Where to purchase was an easy choice. I have purchased all of my audio equipment, since 1993, from Crutchfield and the pre / post support is second to none! The SuperCube arrived in a poorly packaged, damaged, box. There was a six inch hole in the box but after examination there didn't appear to be any damage done to the sub so I accepted it. I was very surprised by the weight vs the size of the sub. It's extremely heavy for it's size. Setup was very easy and only took a few minutes. I started my testing using my favorite test music; Spies - Music of Espionage track 3 - Interlude. The lows on this CD will separate the men from the boys when it comes to subwoofers. When the deep bass hit, I was blown away. I could feel the bass hit my body in a way I've never experienced. That put an instant smile on my face. I moved the sub three feet to the left and it was even tighter. My next adventure was to watch The Dark Knight on Blu-Ray. My entire house shook! It's better than going to the theater. As of right now, I am very happy with my new sub!

Pros: Very tight, deep base. Small form factor. Lots of settings to fine tune to your system and room. Remote makes it easy to tweak settings without having to go back and forth between sub and listening position. Well worth the money!

Cons: Very poor packaging for a Sub of this cost (it comes in manufacturer's box). Detachable top of sub rattles at times but can be remove

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Mark from Festus, Mo on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 10 years of service my sub decided to die. Not having an abundance of extra cash I was hoping to find a good sale on a decent replacement somewhere. I saw this sub for a pretty good sale price that was matched by a very large retail oulet that also wanted to collect nearly $100 in sales tax. No contest, Crutchfield won hands down. The new sub arrived quickly and is performing very well. A problem with the remote was handled quickly by tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Have possibly found the subs to solve my problems.

Brandon from Buffalo, NY on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been trying to solve the annoying "boomyness" problem I have. Tried 2 of the SVS PB 2000 which are completely overrated in my opinion so I went the un-ported route this time and these subs carry notes as if they are ported yet without the annoying "boom" that isn't supposed to be there. The equalizer makes no sense so keep it off. Many have said this, and they are right. I did not think movies would sound as they do with unported subs, but I gotta say... WOW! Pretty impressed with that. Haven't even re-run the Audessey setup on my Denon receiver with these, sound great after changing crossover settings. This is my 4th set of subs in a year after trying thing out and I'm happy to say, I may not be sending these back!

Pros: Relatively small, elegant looking,

Cons: My mailbox vibrates a hundred feet away... good for "loosing bills"!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Definitive Technology Supercube 8000

Mike from Trabuco Canyon, CA on 11/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade from the Definity Supercube II in with the electronics had failed twice and I decided not to invest any more money in repairing it. I like that the Supercube 8000 comes with a remote that allows me to adjust the bass level as the Cube is in a hard space to reach the - + buttons.

Pros: Sounds great!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Ronald k from West Richland, WA on 11/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sub, this is my first definitive sub and I'm impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome sub!!!!!

Crutchfield customer from St. Louis mo on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received this sub and was very pleased on the appearance Very easy to install and waited to review this til it was broke in. Sounds Awsome. Very happy. Can't wait to add more stuff to experience the full sound of my system:)

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

Definitive

Don E from California on 8/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding speaker! Replaced their PF-18 and this one sounds way better, much more responsive. The best thing about this speaker is Definitive's customer service. I want to thank them for restoring my confidence in America. Their customer service was "way" beyond exceptional. Thank you guys, you have earned a customer for life!!! I am truly without words! Don E.

Pros: Couldn't ask for more!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

Excellent!

Michael from Boston on 3/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pound for pound an excellent sub woofer. This supercube is an excellent addition to my home theater. I did a lot of research on this product and this fits my needs perfectly. Definitive really hit a homerun with this one. It enhances every movie that I have pitted it against. In my opinion this beats any movie theater that I've gone to. But not only for movie this subwoofer also enhances my music as well. Thumbs up to Crutchfield and definitive for excellent service. Chalk up another satisfied customer on the board.

Pros: extremely tight clean bass. Technological breakthrough in such a small form factor. Remote control enhances set up and eases control for movie/music applications.

Cons: Nothing at all.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 20 found this helpful

Very Satisfied - LFE you FEAL

Brian from Ohio on 1/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My room size is 14'Wx22'Dx8'H. For home theater use, the SC8000 is just right for my room size in my opinion. I would think it would be sufficient for much larger rooms as well. Passed over the SC6000 because I thought a 9" subwoofer would be worked too hard. I am completely satisfied with the power and output of this 11" subwoofer. I operate with volume at 25 normally. Set crossover in my AV receiver at 60 Hz. Sound integrates perfectly with all of the Definitive Technology DI series speakers in the system. Sounds like the hugely (but not too much) enhanced bass is coming from all 7 speakers around me. LFE sound effects in movies is impressive with this subwoofer. Sounds (feels) like the movie theater has nothing on my basement home theater (except the 150 foot screen). Great binding posts, although I only use the LFE input.

Pros: Great LFE Sound Effects. Relatively small size. Solid, High Quality Construction. Remote Control! 1500W Power supply included! $200 mfg instant rebate. Plenty of input options. Crutchfield's service policy; Thanks Crutchfield!

Cons: A tad pricey. Manufacturer packaging alone is insufficient for the 72lb subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

At it again.

Pete M. from Garrison, New York on 11/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm the proud owner of a PF11500. It's about 20 years old. Not replacing but adding SC8000 to my already awesome home theater. A Month ago the power supply went on my old sub and definitive repaired it. After all this time they still care about their customer. Try that elsewhere. Crutchfield also pays great attention to their customers so it's on again.

Pros: Great performance and quality construction.

Cons: My 20 year old sub has no remote. Doesn't need it anyway. Wait, that's not a con.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 17 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Jay from Idaho on 3/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the sc8000 for less than a month and am very busy so I'm still within the "break in phase" of this amazing sub. I just took my 9yr old to see the lego movie yesterday on the big screen, and for the first time ever, the theater sound reminded me of home. Normally I'm striving to make home remind me of the theater. The deep deep bass is perfect for movie soundracks and deep bass music like rap. Some obvious design flaws are the removable piano glass black top. Its meant to make it pretty but the way it sits causes it to make a squeaky vibrating soundso I removed it. The mesh that surrounds the whole enclosure also vibrates on the enclosure around the active driver due to it moving massive amounts of air. Considering removing it as well but its not that noticeable. Overall I think for my space, which is an open floor plan with living, kitchen, dining rooms all open with 15 foot vaulted ceilings, it does it's job very well.

Pros: Massive deep bass. Great for low volume, late night listening with adjustable volume. It's got so much power the rest of my system doesnt have to be cranked to get good output from the sub. The remote controll is priceless.

Cons: It's very elegant looking but that doesn't help its perfomance. Strip the cosmetic add ons and let this deep voiced mini monster shake not just vibrate you to your core.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 23 found this helpful

supercube8000

joe from madison,fl on 3/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just wasn't what I expected it to be. Maybe it was just the acoustics in my room but, it just couldn't compete with the down firing 12 I have!! I did move it several times but ended up returning it!!

Pros: Nice features strong built cabinet and pretty

Cons: would flash clp when cranking on it and nothing in the book for what it meant. Didn't perform to my expectations

Crutchfield response on

13 of 29 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Brent from Mn on 12/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have tried both HSU and Velodyne. HSU doesn't come on all the time and sounds a little heavy. The Velodyne was junk, stopped working after a couple years with little use. This subwoofer sounds better , and is easier to incorporate into my system without it overpowering everything with too much boomy bass. The remote works great, the different eq settings also actually make a difference. Really like the sub for the money. It is in my great room which is 26x30 with 11 foot ceilings , and the only time I would need more bass is when we are listening to old school hard rock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 21 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

Mike H from Lancaster, CA on 11/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an older and much larger Velodyne with accelerometer control. The SC8000 is a definite step up in responsiveness and much better definition/musicality (subjectively speaking). Objectively, the SC8000 is putting out ~107db at 20hz and a measured +/- 3db down to 22hz in the Grand Room. The SC8000 has proven itself as a formidable home theater sub woofer with extremely satisfying results in a wife-approved compact package!

Pros: Thunderous low-end with incredible responsiveness.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Definitive Technology SuperCube 8000

GaryB from Suffolk, VA on 11/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a malfunction on a competitor's product (downfiring 12 inch) which I also purchased from Crutchfield 20 days earlier. I called Crutchfield and they cheerfully accepted my return and recommended I change to this newer compact passive radiator design. I went one up over their recommendation of the DT 4000 and received the DT 6000 which was impressive. But I just wanted something even more impressive. II upgraded to the DT 8000 and its is quite impressive. Deep solid bass tones on music and the bass on bluray movies is very impressive. I watched Lord of the Rings 3 final battle scene and when the elephants feet hit the ground on screen--my house had an earthquake like movement--made me smile with satisfaction. The next day I discovered every shampoo bottle in the two upstairs bathrooms rattled off their shelves. I'm childishly happy.

Pros: Easy setup, smaller footprint, passive radiator design, remote for custimized listening between music and movies.

Cons: still trying to find one--naw, I give up.

Crutchfield response on

32 of 34 found this helpful

Really good output for its size

Gene from Hilo, HI on 8/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Packaging from Definitive leaves a lot to be desired. The sub weighs a remarkable 72 pounds. This sub is less than 16" on a side. So it comes from the factory in a single walled, thin walled box with only protection on the top and bottom. Unacceptable packaging for an expensive sub. It should be double boxed with protection of the sub on all sides at this price. It's a miracle it arrived without damage. My room is 13x14x9 ( about 1650 cubic feet) and can be sealed off via 2 pocket doors. I listen with the doors closed. So far I watched 3 movies. 2 blu-ray and one Vudu HDX stream. Given my small room size the bass was impressive. The room was well pressurize even to a point of it starting to be uncomfortable (in a good way). This with the volume set at 15 and the AVR at -10 or 15db from reference. Plenty of tactile feel in the body and through the sofa. I have no experience with any other sub in this room so I can't make comparisons. But I will say that it provides plenty of output in my room and room response is surprisingly even across the 4 wide sofa so all of the family get a great bass experience. 5 stars for its size and output in my small room. 4 starts when factoring the price and my opinion that a room larger than 2500 cubic feet might need to have near field placement for adequate response.

Pros: Great output for its size although I have nothing to compare with. Remote is great. Size is a plus.

Cons: Packaging, EQ modes not really useful. The sub sounds best with the EQ off. Not crazy about the pop off top. It comes off too easily and rattles a little. Price is pretty high.

Crutchfield response on

28 of 35 found this helpful

TOP