Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
362 201 813 3
Connect ID #
362 201 813 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD C 338

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC, Wi-Fi®, and Bluetooth®

MFR # C338

NAD C 338

NAD C 338

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC, Wi-Fi®, and Bluetooth®

MFR # C338

26 reviews
View this product

OK.

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, this works fine. I have a soft spot for NAD because of the design and history of the brand. That being said, I would probably be happier with a cheaper receiver that had Apple AirPlay. The manual for this unit is pretty skimpy. I have a REL subwoofer connected to this, and I had to learn from REL material that I should ground the high-level cable to the ground terminal rather than the positive speaker terminal due to the design of the NAD amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good integrated for $$$

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice integrated. Slightly warm very involving

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

STAY AWAY FROM THE C338!

Guest from Los Angeles, CA on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received this as a Christmas present last year after about 4 months it gave me a C2 error which meant the power supply was broken so I was reffered by NAD to the local service center. They had it for more than a month before it was determined a replacement would be send out, 3 months later the replacement spikes in volume after being on for about an hour. NAD support has been giving me the run around very politely so the issue is still not fixed and the unit is unusable unless I want to risk it blowing some very expensive monitors. Aside from the overall bad experience with the quality of the unit and the NAD support process the C338 as another reviewer mentioned is anemic in sound, it is not "clear" just thin sounding and although it claims to have 50watts per channel it's weaker than my old die hard Sony garage unit that is rated at 25watts. I would never usually EQ but this amp would benefit from one but the only option is a crappy "Bass EQ" button that just further muddies the sound. Finally the bluetooth / streaming options are glitchy and inconsistent. If I could get a refund at this point I would, STAY AWAY.

Pros: None

Cons: Slow to repair at NAD 2 Broken units so far Anemic Sound No EQ to compensate for Anemic Sound Glitchy Streaming

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

NAD C 338

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good: Great integration with Google Home - very seamless when you command Google to play a song, and it initiates the system to switch on. Bad: I wish the display was a little bigger or it was easier to tell which channel the audio was on so that I didn't have to stand from my couch every time I switched. Also, the remote isn't very pretty.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great simple amplifier, made complicated

Crutchfield customer from Round Hill, VA on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great simple amplifier, made complicated. The basic of the amp is great. great sound, driving Klipsch RP-160M. I like the simplicity of no tone controls. The 'connected' part of the amp is a down fall. The instructions do not mention the iOS App, but instead sends you to Google Home. Still not clear if you need to use Google Home to set the SSID then switch to the NAD App to control? The NAD app, does the basic of switching input and most if not all of the IR Remote does. The NAD app works over WiFi Bluetooth connection works well on an iPhone, But do not set the 'auto switch input' as the amp will switch to the iphone continuously.

Pros: Simple, Clean look

Cons: APP connectivity is limited

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Not meant for high end sound reproduction

Vince from Seattle, WA on 1/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C338 just didn't perform well with a variety of floorstanding speakers I own. The sound was thin, anemic, lacking life, punch or breadth. This amp was perhaps meant for bookshelf or computer speakers, because it sure ain't up to providing the musical excitement through high end floor standing speakers I spend good money to experience at home. If you are looking for high end sound and lifelike sonic presence and drive, avoid this amp. BUT if you want a BASIC appliance to provide ordinary/AVERAGE BASIC quality audio music playing with digital and Bluetooth operability and don't have to have high end sonic vividness, AND you can afford this price point, then by all means buy this amp with all abandon. I will never spend another dime on any future NAD devices after my disappointed experience with the C 338.

Pros: 1. Bluetooth reception 2. Digital and phono stage inputs 3. Quality feeling chassis 4. Modern looking case/design 5. O.K. Headphone amp built in.

Cons: Unacceptable sound quality for the price. There are high end sounding amps at this price point that stir your soul, while the C 338 sounds like a computer speaker amplifier. Maybe the price reflects all the digital and wireless wizardry, but not much else. No direct access button to each individual input source-instead you have to cycle through the source menu just to change a source.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 19 found this helpful

NAD C 338

Ray from Madison, MS on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amplifier sounds very good. Works well. Small footprint. Easy to set up. Sounds great and looks great with the matching NAD CD player. This amplifier has a very clean sound. Not too sterile, but just uncolored for the most part. I would give it 5 stars except for a few nits: I have lots of vintage stereo gear; Pioneer, McIntosh, Adcom, etc., bass and treble used to be pretty standard fare. I am in my mid 50s. I wish the amplifier had bass and treble controls to help boost frequencies that I don't hear well. It also could use an extra set of speaker terminals. Even in a low power integrated amp,, these are basic features that should come standard for the price. The remote is pretty basic. Also, the display can't be read from more than a few feet away. Overall, I love this amplifier. Even with nits, a good value overall. I AM impressed with the sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

NAD C 338

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 6/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be great if NAD included tone controls and USB.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Incredibly irritating flashing blue light

Jim from Austin, TX on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, compact size, and runs cool... but the interface is a constant nightmare. When it loses the Wi-Fi settings, which happens all the time, a bright blue light on the front of the unit will flash forever, and it is unbelievably distracting and irritating. It will do this until you set up the Wi-Fi again. This procedure, requiring a cell phone and multiple passwords, is exasperating and buggy. Why do I care if the Wi-Fi is set up when I'm just trying to listen to music? Leave me alone! When I need the Wi-Fi, I'll set it up. I don't need a blindingly bright light pestering me incessantly. What kind of moron designed this? Why can't I turn it off? Oh yeah, when it decides it needs a firmware update, it doesn't care if you're in the middle of a great movie or classic album. It will, without warning, switch to the Wi-Fi input and take as long as it feels like to update the software. No, you can't stop it. If you turn it off and on again to prevent this, it'll just keep trying until you give up. Why am I at the mercy of my stereo? It should NEVER interrupt my listening. I have kids and pets for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

42 of 49 found this helpful

Great amp! Easy streaming music

Dave from Northport, NY on 1/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp! Set it up with a new turntable and old set of Cambridge Soundworks New Ensemble II speakers. Now i'm listening to my old vinyl, but I can also stream Spotify to the system right from my phone. Really easy to set up and use. Sounds great!

Pros: Easy set up, great sound, slim compact design, bluetooth streaming

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 338

Crutchfield customer from Westport, CT on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my daughters Christmas gift, its something she will be able to use for many years, outstanding quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome little amp

Herman from Sammamish, WA on 11/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did receive a defective unit, but the folks at Crutchfield were great to help resolve the issue and I have enjoyed this amplifier so much, that I now own two and am considering purchasing a third. This NAD amp has put a breath of new life into my old speakers and sounds amazing. I love the built-in Chromecast Audio and the ability to create groups to play music in parts or all of the house is fantastic.

Pros: Love the features, great sound and no issues driving less than efficient speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C 338

Crutchfield customer from Kannapolis, NC on 9/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed an integrated amplifier for my phonograph and this gave me additional flexibility to stream as well as connect a couple of optical digital connections. Audio is very clean. Interaction with the computer could be a little better. It would be nice if there were options to prevent unwanted devices/neighbors pairing with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 338

DAVID from New York, NY on 7/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds as good a s it looks! Very clean lines, smart design and solid construction. Fast delivery, showed up a day sooner than expected!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy it! Best blend of new and old school technology.

Geoff from Simpsonville, SC on 7/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! It took me a little while to wrap my head around the Chromecast Audio, but it really works! It also supports Spotify Connect which seems similar to Chromecast Audio. It of course also supports bluetooth. Both Chromecast Audio and Spotify connect have better audio quality then bluetooth due to higher bandwidth. Also has a great phono preamp, opt and coaxial connections plus analog RCA's. What more do you need? Sound is amazing. I bought the NAD c 516BEE CD player it it sounds great. I'm running this with an old school Yamaha DP-211 Turntable and B&W DM303 bookshelf speakers. I've blown away a few of my friends already. This is really the best blend of old school and new technology.

Pros: Built in digital connections, phono, and analog. Built-in Bluetooth, Spotify Connect, and Chromecast audio. Super clean and quiet sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

C338 - Great Feature Set - Ideal for Streamers

Bill from Oakland, CA on 7/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Usable infrared remote with only the useful buttons, but a little small/cheezy Amp can be programed to respond to other remotes. I programmed it to respond to the TIVO remote volume buttons, for use with TV. Produces little heat Bluetooth on your phone is required for the one-time initial configuration of the amp's Wi-Fi. Not required thereafter. All control of the amp is then done by phone via Wi-fi from anywhere in the house, or from the amp's front panel or remote. Music streaming over Wi-Fi works well; I used the 5gz band. Music streaming relies on built-in Google Chromecast Audio software. That built-in Chromecast can be grouped with another Chromecast Audio to play music simultaneously on both. If the unit is off, you can turn it on automatically by turning on a digital source (e.g. your TV) that sends it a signal. This means if you turn on your TV, the amp will come on. Also, if the unit is off, you can turn it on automatically just by "casting" music to it from your phone. This is true even if the amp was previously set for TV input; it will turn on and switch to Wi-Fi input. It will turn itself off automatically after 20 minutes of no use. You can also "cast" music from your computer using the Chrome browser's "casting" capability. The NAD amp's Chromecast is subject to same limitations as a stand-alone Chromecast Audio.

Pros: Once you start "casting" music (I've been using Google Play Music), you can close the app on your phone, put your phone to sleep, use other apps, leave the house with the phone in your pocket, or even turn the phone off; the music will continue to stream from the internet to the NAD amp and be listenable until you turn the NAD amp off. At that point, you can still control the playback volume from the remote or amp knob.

Cons: Unexciting appearance with tiny display. While you are casting music from your phone, you can control its volume using the phone's volume buttons, but look out! The volume control is not linear. As the volume slider exceeds the 75% point, it becomes quickly really loud, perhaps potentially damaging.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 20 found this helpful

Ideal for a Smaller Modern Audiophile System

Pat from Stinson Beach, CA on 6/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb integrated amp. The option to stream from wifi, bluetooth, and chromecast streaming, as well as connect via cables allow this amp to be the heart and soul of a small home theater set up. I paired it with some Klipsch RP-150m

Pros: Connections, connections, connections...

Cons: New system isn't available on some smart/universal remotes yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 338

Terence from New York, NY on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this little unit has performed at expectations. The app control is a plus, as is auto-detect source (great for auto turn on). The unit puts out good power for its size and I think produces a great soundscape. Speakers I use are wharfedale 10.1 (though I would prefer to match this unit with something a little bigger like an ELAC unifi B6). Where i'm not entirely convinced is the internal chromecast. I assume due to the software, spotify over chromecast seems to be streaming at 128kbps, a relatively low quality. This results in the sound coming through somewhat flat and lifeless. Bluetooth sounds about the same. When fed a good quality audio source, the unit shines. Testing with a digital connection and FLAC files this has great depth and great punch. What I'd like to see is airplay/airplay 2 support, which should be able to be done given the wifi chipset inside, but no guarantee of this, I can live without a USB input. I considered this unit against the ELAC integrated amplified and do not regret my choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C338

John from Sterling, IL on 5/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is a big step forward from my old Kenwood KA-8300. Minimalist by comparison in appearance, but loaded with modern features. I use this amp with a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon turntable and a pair of JBL Studio 230 "bookshelf" speakers. The thing that immediately grabbed my attention at first listen was the outstanding level of transparency and detail in the music. It picks up on the little things that the Kenwood just couldn't summon. The highs and mid-range seem to be the NAD's strong suit, and I'll admit the bass response is slightly weak compared to the older amp, but the NAD is a smaller amp, and the bass hits when it counts. There is also a subwoofer output in case I feel the need to add one at some point. The Bluetooth function works great and sounds amazing compared to the adapter that I had been using. I have yet to connect a CD player although I'm looking forward to it having read great things about the DAC. My only disappointment about this amp is its headphone amp. I've read several reviews recently harping on this and they seem to be right, unfortunately. I was really looking forward to not having to buy an outboard set-up for my headphones but it's quite alright. Overall I'm very pleased with the sound quality that this amp brings out of my JBL's, and the connectivity that it offers. It also brings life to my vinyl records and keeps them honest. It's been fun hearing what I've been missing this whole time.

Pros: Outstanding sound quality and impressive phono stage. The Bluetooth function works and sounds great through my iphone. I use it for music as well as podcasts and my Sirius on-demand downloads. Appearance is sleek and stealth, and matches my turntable and speakers perfectly.

Cons: Headphone amp could be/should be better given that NAD advertises it as a separate headphone amp. The blue power indicator light flashes, which is quite annoying. I would actually like the blue light if it wasn't flashing at me.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

NAD C 338

William from Rocky River, OH on 4/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C 338 amplifier is one amazing device. While I initially purchased this with the primary purpose of connecting the record player to it (and maybe a TV), I quickly found myself really enjoying the bluetooth, wifi, and Spotify Connect capabilities. Being able to put music on through your phone, when you don't have hands or time free to enjoy a physical record, comes in very handy. And the setup of the amplifier is about as easy as it gets.

Pros: Dedicated phono input. Bluetooth, wifi, and Spotify Connect capabilities. Can be controlled via NAD's "NAD Remote" app on a phone or tablet.

Cons: Really none that come to mind.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 338

william g from Arcadia, CA on 4/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality outstanding, footprint very convenient for small places, a very attractive piece, very user friendly. One issue; volume indicator silly (decibels instead of simple numbers to indicate volume level). Other than that I'm completely happy with it.

Pros: Outstanding sound reproduction

Cons: Silly volume indicator gives decibels instead of simple numbers

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Stunning audio clarity, but lacks AirPlay support

Scot from El Cerrito, CA on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've gone "all digital" with lossless streaming audio - no more CDs or LPs. So I wanted an amp that could do native Wifi and Bluetooth so I wouldn't need adapters. The audio of the C338 is stunning - a huge improvement over the Airport Express -> Rotel solution I replace. Love the audio. The downside is that while the amp supports native Wifi, by this they mean Chromecast ONLY - AirPlay is not supported. Since iTunes is AirPlay only, this was a huge disappointment to me. So I've switched to Bluetooth, which sounds great but has two huge downsides: 1) Now my source has to be in line of sight from the amp (can no longer send audio to the Living Room from the office), and 2) My old AirPlay stayed connected at all times - it was always ready. But now every time I want to play audio I have to fiddle with the Bluetooth selector on the Mac - a bit of a hassle. I'm hoping they can add AirPlay support in a future update.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 20 found this helpful

You cannot go wrong with this one.

Simen from Hallandale Beach, FL on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent piece of equipment. Really cutting edge.

Pros: 50 watts stable to 4 ohm All possible streaming possibilities Spotify incorporated if I am not mistaken.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound, easy to install

AHe from Silicon Valley, CA on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first NAD and I love it. Clear and precise sound, I am listening to rock and classic and I am amazed about the sound quality. I run the amplifier with Monitor Audio Radius 90 and the 360 Subwoofer. Installation was easy, the system needed a few attempts to connect to the Wi-Fi and Google home seem to be a bit the problem here. however, it was installed fast, speakers connected and the sound from CD or from MP3 is just fantastic. I have connected the subwoofer with a RCA subwoofer cable and could not find the crossover frequency. While NAD did not respond to my e-mail, the Crutchfield team responded very fast and informed me that the NAD C 338 has a fixed 80Hz crossover - which in my case works perfectly fine. other with I would have switched to the other connection method and could have used the speakers cross over adjustment. I am very happy with the NAD and the service.

Pros: Great Sound Easy to install and easy to operate Looks fantastic

Cons: Basic functions Fix cross overt frequency to subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Well connected, Great Sounding, Killer value!

Brandon from Irvine, CA on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally got a chance to demo this amp!! I heard it on a pair of Monitor Silver 10 peakers, then a pair of PSB Bookshelf Speakers w/ Sunfire sub (my personal setup is an old pair of B&W DM602 S2's, and an SVS NSD 12" sealed sub). The50W per Channel rating is very conservative, as this amp had plenty of power to drive these speakers. Sound was rich, lush, and brilliant, playing some instrumental ensembles. I wanted to hear my own music, so I paired my AptX enabled Android Phone (I didn't try the Wif stream yeti) and played familiar songs from Pantera, Metallica, At The Gates, Unearth, Shadows Fall, and Kreator. The Bluetooth streaming quality was astoundingly better than that of my HK BTA10 adapter; crystal clear, and didn't get that bloated and grainy degredation. Side note: IMO the PSB speakers were a little too pronounced in the low mids around 500-700 Hz. The C 338 produces a very honest, warm, and balanced sound across the spectrum. The presence was smooth, but ever flat, even on songs with less treble in the mix; the top end had an excellent shimmering brilliance without ever being harsh or excessive. Articulate, bass. (IMO 6db Bass Boost was too much ~100hz, but might be beneficial for mix/masters lacking lows). Stereo separation was excellent! Dual rhythm guitars, and drum fills had a huge soundstage, vocals came out of the wall in front of me. My only con was that no matter how loud, it left me wanting just a little more forward, punchy oompf.

Pros: Connectivity, Chromecast, Bluetooth AptX, Wifi, Coax, Optical, DAC, Build Quality, Price Value, Form Factor, Subwoofer Output, Phono Stage

Cons: Slightly laid-back for rock/metal music.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Great amplifier

Will from Wyoming, NY on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this new NAD C338. I was looking for a new amplifier that would allow both phono connectivity for my record player and 21st century connectivity with Internet, Bluetooth... And here it is! Great amplifier, really love the sound and easy set up. Everything work great and without a glitch. The Bluetooth range is good. Only thing is the remote, it feels really cheap and looks like an old remote.

Pros: Connectivity Sound Quality Easy set up

Cons: Remote isn't great.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

TOP