Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD C 388

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth®

MFR # C388

NAD C 388

NAD C 388

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth®

MFR # C388

43 reviews
View this product

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Huron, SD on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sounding amplifier, very simple to set up. I was impressed with the 2 day delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Galesburg, ND on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best amp ever... never gets warm when i turn it up really really up.. 80% .. so crisp

Pros: best

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Too Bright

Crutchfield customer from Baraboo, WI on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High end is too bright. It hurt the ears after about 45 minutes. It does have good sound besides that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 13 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spectacular! Unlimited power. Love the modularity, especially the BluOS one---the interface works great. Couldn't be happier. Thank you, AG

Pros: Power Modularity Pricing, true audiophile quality at an affordable price

Cons: None identified

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 388 - highly recommended

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, NY on 2/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a Marantz PM 8006 which was unable to drive my power hungry B&W 603s with the NAD C 388. Very pleased! The phono stage, which is very important to me and was the reason for the Marantz purchase in the first place, produces awesome sound. And don't be put off by reviewers complaining about the digital controls. They are easy to set up and navigate for anyone who has moderate experience with digital programming of any device these days. I wasn't too sure about the Bluetooth streaming, but it is very convenient for casual listening while busy with other things around the house. The NAD is a CLass D amplifier, which are often somewhat looked down upon by 'audiophiles', but for this music enthusiast as they say 'checks all the boxes'. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CO on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, lots of power and great features!

Pros: Power, able to select and turn off A and B speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been curious about Hypex-based amplifiers for a while, so I decided to give the C388 a try. It's a great sounding amplifier (and has been on HiFiCritic's Recommended list for a while). This amp will take over driving the front stereo channels for our home theater system. I just wish that it had a few more (analog) inputs available. If my system ever grows, guess I'll be looking for a nice RCA source switch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wonderful

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great with monitor audio 300's. Nice small size. Buttons, knobs and remote seem to work flawlessly .

Pros: Foot print, sound

Cons: I wish it was 200wpc

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy this!

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, TN on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable sound quality. You will not be disappointed with this rig.

Pros: Sound is exceptional.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 8/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp and it integrates seamlessly with my NAD CD transport. Excellent sound, great dynamic range and it's very clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Damascus, OR on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, RI on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Excellent customer support.

Pros: Easy to use remote.Easy setup.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Milford, PA on 5/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

ACWORTH

LEAGUE from ACWORTH on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It gets 4-stars for being a very good amp. It loses a star for advertising itself as a hybrid amp when that description is reserved for tube front end and solid state output. NAD is aware of this and chooses to continue the charade. No matter, I highly recommend it as a very fine solid state amp.

Pros: It's a great amp in every way, and deserves the high rating.

Cons: By American definition of tube preamp, and solid state amplifier this is not a hybrid amp and should be shown as such.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 49 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Dave from Westminster, CO on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to move on from my home theater receiver and all those speakers and wires and get into a clean, powerful stereo set up. I did a ton of research on Crutchfield.com and decided on the NAD C 388. It's perfect for my needs. Powerful enough to drive my speakers to listening volume and not strain. Very easy set up with all the connections I needed. And it's expandable as my needs change which I like.

Pros: Power, Simplicity, Expandable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

If you're deciding between this or the C-368, get this one!

Alex from Fairbanks, AK on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently bought the Nad C-368 80w to replace my nearly 15 year old Nad C-352 80w and tried it out for about a month with a set of Kef bookshelfs. The sound was noticeably more detailed with the newer class D amp, and the digital inputs and a display are both major pros. Due to a recent move, I now have a much larger room to fill with sound and the 80 watts just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I called Crutchfield and asked how difficult it would be to upgrade to the 150w C-388 and it literally could not have been any easier. Got it a few days later and after hooking it up, was amazed at how much more fidelity and volume my speakers were capable of all this time. The extra money is nothing to sneeze at for most people, myself included. It was definitely worth it though. Low volumes sound identical to the C-368, but there is a sense of ease with how much more impact the sound has even in slightly elevated listening volumes. At high volumes it's mind blowing how much better even a set of bookshelf speakers can sound.

Pros: Automatically turns itself on when it senses a signal. Samsung tv remote adjusts volume.

Cons: Massive useless remote. Get the Nad remote app.

Crutchfield response on

26 of 26 found this helpful

Wow!

Crutchfield customer from Big Sur, CA on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C 388 makes my entry level Bowers and Wilkins speakers sing as I assumed it would. Two great surprises. I now have so much musical bass that I don't imagine I need a subwoofer anymore. And second, the amp upped the quality of Spotify streams to near CD quality. Wow!

Pros: Great sound, no distortion at volumn

Cons: Lousy app. awful volumn controls

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

I didn't know my speakers could sound this good!

Paul from Plano, TX on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm amazed at how much better my 27+ year old Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble speakers sound with this integrated amplifier. Switching to this integrated amp meant instead of using analog inputs into a Pioneer VSX-D1S I'm using digital inputs into the NAD. CD's surprised me the most, and I'm guessing the biggest improvement is the NAD's DAC as compared to the DAC in my blu-ray player. Streaming TV shows also sound better, which again is probably the quality of the NAD's DAC this time vs the DAC in the TV. I was nervous when I bought the C 388 because I had read reviews saying things like it "lacked oomf" or "it sounded like something was missing". This amp does not "lack oomf" and I don't hear anything missing from the sound. I think these bad reviews come from you have to turn this amp up higher than you think you should. My speakers are not very sensitive and could be part of the problem. With the VSX-D1S I would turn up the volume to at most 1/3rd of the way up and my speakers would be loud. With the C 388 I always have to turn it up over 50% and have had to go as high as 75%. Part of this is comparing a digital volume control to an old analogue volume control, and part is the wider dynamic range of the better DAC. I have to turn this amp up higher for the average sound levels, and the amp has plenty of power in reserve for even the loudest dynamics from movies and music.

Pros: sounds great silent background able to handle low sensitivity speakers with a difficult range of impedances

Cons: you might have to turn the volume up higher than you think you should have to firmware upgrades were a pain, but finally worked when I used a Windows computer instead of a Mac to write the files

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

NAD C388 with HDMI input

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to power a pair of Klipsch Cornwalls, the music source is an Apple TV which only has HDMI output. I got the optional HDMI card for the C388 and it works transparently in my setup. Finding a stereo integrated amp with HDMI input was hard to do, the NAD C388 is perfect for this need. The C388 really makes the Cornwalls come to life, even though they are very efficient speakers they can handle all the clean power that you want to give them. I would recommend this unit without hesitation.

Pros: Plenty of clean power, HDMI input

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

18 of 20 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Joseph from Palm Coast, FL on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit clean sound very nice power matched it up with a pair of svs prime towers sounds great .

Pros: Clean sound plenty of power very nice unit

Cons: Would like to have at least one more rca input.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A Soul Mate for Totems

Joe from Delano, MN on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed to Replace my NAD C372 to power my Totem Hawks through a Schiit Bifrost Multibit DAC. Tried the Marantz PM8006, but it didn't have the juice to power the Hawks. Replaced it with the C388, and it slapped me in the face for straying. Bass that punches but doesn't linger, a miraculous sound-stage, zero fatigue at any volume, and transcendent vocals. An absolute soul mate for Totem speakers. I could listen to a recording of someone frying pork chops on this combination and be moved to tears.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

41 of 42 found this helpful

At 150 Watts Per Channel, the NAD 388C Makes My 4 Cerwin Vega 12s Sing

J Bruce from Marlborough, MA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD 388 C integrated amplifier is awesome! At 150 watts per channel, it makes my 4 Cerwin Vega 12s sing. I have owned the 388 C and it has worked flawlessly since I purchased it in November of 2017. I don't use the DAC (digital analog converter) but it is there if I ever need it. Make sure you get the Monster QuickLockT MKIII Self-Crimping Banana Connectors, 2 pairs, 24k gold-plated contacts for corrosion resistance, special teeth and ring-lock for a strong grip that stays tight, - no tools required. This will make sure that you don't short out your system when you connect the speakers to the amplifier!

Pros: Excellent quality Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Wow! Whoa! OMG! CHILLS!!!

jay from San Antonio, TX on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp arrived this morning (2 hours early - woot!!). Packaging was incredible. All connections were a snap (speaker banana plugs, bluetooth antennae, optical cables and electrical chord). The setup system was also very easy to use (I'd read the online owners manual a few times before the unit arrived). I elected to pass on the firmware upgrades for the time being (they require a separate storage device which gets plugged into the back of the amplifier after downloading the software on a computer). Now the fun part. This will be used for music (rock, dance, r&b and contemporary jazz) and television. I'm using 2 pairs of Klipsch speakers. 1 pair of Reference 7II's and 1 pair of the Synergy F3's. The RF-7II's handle 250 watts (peak 1250) and the Synergy F3's handle 150 watts (peak 600) continuous. Well, I've heard 2 songs so far. Highs are super crisp, Mids are completely clean and the Bass is super tight after adjusting the tone controls. The speakers are 10 feet from my sofa. At -26 db the sound is amazing and insanely loud without one shred of distortion (wish i could go louder. But I live in an apartment complex and know I'd be fined or worse, evicted- LOL). Oh, I felt tears forming because the music sounded so good!!!! For the money, this is a superb value!!!! This is my first NAD purchase and I'm completely satisfied. Thank you Crutchfield and NAD!!!!

Pros: Easy setup. Clean sound.

Cons: Unit turns on at -20 db, which is LOUD. Make sure you turn the volume down before using it.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Wilfrid from Bonita, CA on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only one statement : Freaking AWESOME ! NAD does it again. In 30 years they've never let me down. REMARKABLE

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Randy from Grawn, MI on 10/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received my order quickly and it sounded great out of the box. The Nad C 388 has plenty of power to feed my Kef Q100's which love the juice and is used primarily for digital music through my computer. I also have the Pre/outs set for Subwoofer to get extra bass. Plenty of controls to dial in to how you like your sound and is easy to configure, I recommend playing with various settings. It's my first Nad product and I'm happy with the build quality and packing.

Pros: Power Ease of use Build Quality

Cons: Wish is had more controls for Subwoofer control instead of just a High Pass filter or Full Range

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

love this little machine!

Daniel from Elmhurst, NY on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my NAD C 375BEE with this amplifier. I like the bluetooth and the digital connections the other didn't have, but I miss the multiple analog ones this unit doesn't have. For my taste, I would've loved to have at least two more analog connections. One annoyance, is the lack of analog knobs which makes it cumbersome just to adjust for, instance, the balance or the treble or the bass. And don't get me started with the firmware updates. This unit is aimed, I guess, for the younger generations. Other than that, this amplifier is a thing of beauty with the crisp musical transients, and its ability to extract deep bass from my floor standing Goldenears like never before.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

great value

Paul from Eugene, OR on 9/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really lovely product. I have it paired with equally-new Paradigm Prestige 75F speakers and after a month I still feel giddy listening. The sound is pristine in the sense the amp allows the music to set the stage rather than setting the stage for the music. I couldn't ask for a better return on my investment.

Pros: Plenty of power and authority. Multiple analogue and digital connections. Easy set up and firmware upgrade. Easy to operate.

Cons: The front power button feels rather less than authoritative unlike most other NAD power buttons. That struck me as odd, but times change. And if you're thinking that's not much of a con you'd be right.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C-388 is a Home Run!!

Crutchfield customer from Townshend, VT on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and power. I am using this for music, and sounds absolutely amazing with my ELAC Uni-fi tower speakers. The detail and sound stage is simply superb. I did not realize what a difference a truly good amplifier would make with the sound of my music. I am very pleased with the purchase of the the NAD C-388. The only thing I found a little challenging was the toggling through all the menu options to get the settings the way I like, but after some patience and practice it became easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Thanks Crutchfield

Wes from Winston Salem, NC on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier gets loud! It sounds great with Elac Unifi floor speakers. The lows are outstanding. While I mostly listen to vinyl, the bluetooth and DAC work really well. The amp also looks beautiful, with a very simple front unencumbered by excessive buttons or controls. Crutchfield also did a great job helping me with my decision. On the downside, the initial set up is a bit clunky, particularly updating the firmware.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Transparent, authoritative, and powerful!

GIANG from Mansfield, TX on 5/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic sounding amp. Don't let its size and weight fool you because it will power any speakers that you can think of. It will do so with authority and finesse. I was in the market for an integrated amp to go with my new pair of Monitor Audio Gold 100 and I have looked at many amps in this price range. I have had some NAD gears in the past and have liked them. Hence, I decided to give this guy a go. I was skeptical at first since it is not built like your "traditional" class A/B amps with big power transformers and capacitors. Since I got it from Crutchfield, I figured I can return it if it doesn't work out. Once everything was hooked up, this little guy just put a smile on my face. The sound quality is phenomenal to say the least! The first thing I noticed with this amp is how transparent music sounded. Secondly, you can just feel the power with this amp. I just love how engaging and interesting this amp sound. It makes your music more alive, unlike many other amps that sound flat and lifeless. Also, I use the preamp output for my SVS SB-4000 subwoofer. For some reason, the subwoofer just sound much better in this setup. The build quality is nicer than your typical home theater receiver, but not over built or anything. The front panel is plastic and I wished it was metal. Front LCD screen is pretty cool and the volume control knob is very smooth and well dampened. I am just glad I bought this amplifier. It works very well for my taste.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from The Woodlands, TX on 4/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Pairs perfectly with my 25 yr old Paradigm speakers. Feel like I am 18 again listening to music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent value!

David from St Petersburg, FL on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp highs, solid lows. Couldn't ask for more in an integrated amp in this price range. Using this with Monitor Silver 5i speakers and a Hsu subwoofer. Audio source is a PC with a LynxStudio E22 sound card. I've used NAD equipment for years and never been disappointed. The C 388 is no exception.

Pros: Excellent sound. Easy to operate. Runs much cooler than older amps & receivers.

Cons: None, so far.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Palestine, TX on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has blown all my musician friends minds and the wharfindale speakers from u I'm in audio nirvana ??????????and I'm a hard sell ... beautiful distortion free sound ????????????????????????????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 15 found this helpful

Great Sound

Cristian Diaz from Bronx, NY on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am actually was looking forward to buying an additional NAD C 375 for my second home. But, I found out that it was discontinued. The C 375 is great. I bought the C 388 thinking that it would be either the same or better. The C 388 exceeds the C 375 in sound purity and versatility. I am very happy that I chose it and will recommend it to someone else.

Pros: Great sound, versatile, bluetooth, easy to operate.

Cons: The red light on the display window.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Crutchfield customer from Alhambra, CA on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this amp, primarily amplifier section to drive restored JBL-100 speakers. The volume control to adjust overall volume with a pair of L-300, being driven with an NAD C275 BEE. Very good blend of sound with the two amps and two pairs of speakers. Clean, typical NAD sound. Well built. I use my old NAD 1600 pre-amp for all the source inputs, so I haven't used the onboard, C275 controls much. Very good amp. Highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Unrivaled delivery of clean power! Stays cool.

Phil from Newnan, GA on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit 2 months ago primarily for listening to music, and have been extremely happy with it so far. As a 2.1 stereo amp, it really delivers! All of my streaming media, including my library of music stored on the computer is accessible using my SONOS Connect, so I didn't need to purchase NAD's optional BluOS module. I also have a large vinyl album collection, and appreciate the fact that the pre-amp has a phono input. When it comes to delivering clean power, this thing is a BEAST! I'm driving a pair of Ascend CMT-340 SE speakers and a Rythmik F15 powered subwoofer with it. In a 20'x20' media room, it produces crystal clear sound at low or high volume. Most of the time I'm running it between 40-60% output, but occasionally "rock the house" at approx 80% output. I cannot imagine needing more power from an amp, and even driving it at that level for several hours, the amp is just barely warm to the touch (unlike most other amps, which can get almost too hot to touch). Somewhat uniquely, the built-in bluetooth feature is bi-directional, so it can be used to stream audio from a phone or laptop to the unit, or stream audio from the C 388 to a bluetooth speaker or BT headphones. At this price point, it would be nice if they included a printed manual, but you can always download and/or print a PDF copy. The user interface is a bit cumbersome and takes some getting used to, but works well enough. Firmware updates are available and installed flawlessly.

Pros: Clean, overwhelming power delivery, runs cool, phono input, Toslink and coax digital inputs, bi-directional BT function, quality, elegant build and form factor.

Cons: No printed manual, less-than-intuitive user interface.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Exceptional Amp but some minor quirks

Edward from Pearl River, NY on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the NAD C388 to replace a Marantz SR4023, which I have been very pleased with but I wanted an integrated amplifier that had digital inputs since I frequently listen to streamed music through Sonos Connect. I have only owned the NAD C388 for about a month and have been very pleased with the improved sound quality versus the very good sound I was getting from the Marantz. In fact I view the listening experience with the NAD to be at a new and very satisfyinglyimproved level. I have Polk RTiA7 floor standing speakers and a Polk DSW Pro550 subwoofer. My set-up is for music listening only and I have a separate system for home theater. I have tried vinyl, cd, Sonos Connect streamed and Bluetooth via the NAD and all are good (BT is okay) but they require tweaking to the tone controls and subwoofer volumes. I expect the sound to further improve over several months as I get use to it and experiment more. So why not a 5 star rating? Here are my reasons none of which reasons not to buy this amp. First, the interface is a bit confusing and the guidance from NAD's web site is lacking (there is no manual included with the amp). The NAD iphone app would not work without a firmware update. It took about an hour worth of back and forth to my PC to download the correct firmware update file before I was successful. Also, my Monster banana plugs do not insert all the way into the binding posts. Not a big deal but annoying.

Pros: Build quality, exceptionally clean sound, good power, does not get hot, great future potential

Cons: Somewhat confusing interface (at least initially), time consuming firmware updates, binding posts not completely compatible with certain plugs. No guidance on bi-wiring.

Crutchfield response on

29 of 30 found this helpful

plenty of power without the heat

Eldon from Green Valley, illinois on 3/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Getting it set up was a pain for me. The "clean" few button design makes the user have to thumb through modes/settings to do the simplest things ie. select speakers, tone control, fade in/out and source enable. I was unable to use all the features listed in the manual. NAD tech advised me that I needed the latest update to get the features that i was missing. The update worked but this system scares me because I'm not very computer savvy and there is a warning that if you happen to restart before update is complete that you could permanently damage the unit! Now that I have the unit set up and going it sounds great! I have pushed it hard through my Klipsch speakers for over two hours and amazingly, there was almost no heat coming off of the unit! One other complaint is that the volume dial takes forever to raise or lower volume and since there is no mute button on the unit, you can't shut the volume down quickly. The remote control does have a mute button and this is the way to go if you have it handy.

Pros: great sound, lots of power with no heat

Cons: set up and lack of buttons

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

NAD C 388

Robert W. from San Pedro, CA on 1/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I still have my Sony PS-2251 Direct Drive Turntable and JBL L100 Studio Monitoring Speakers obtained over 40 years ago and they are still working just fine. To use with these, I just purchased a NAD C 388 150 Watts/Channel Pre-Amplifier and an Onkyo C-7000R Optical CD Player to play my Franklin Mint 100 Greatest Classical Recordings of All Time, also over 40 years old. The sound quality is superb and supersedes that of my previous system producing subtle lows of very rich quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent Integrated Amp

Rich from Green Bay, WI on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned many different integrated amps over the last few years in search of the "right" one for me. The NAD C388 is it. It offers the power that I want for my KEF R300 speakers. It provides the inputs that I need including a dedicated Phono input and multiple digital inputs. I like the idea of Class D amplification and NAD is at the forefront of this technology. It shows. Combined with my speakers, I am in heaven with the sound and ease of use of this integrated amp. The soundstage is wide and the instruments sound like they are in the room with me. I think you would have to spend a lot more $$ to get much of an improvement over the C388. Set up was easy and the menu system is pretty easy to navigate. The background is absolutely silent. I am very happy with the purchase. If it's in your budget, I highly recommend this amp.

Pros: Sound, Inputs, build quality, remote, everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Excellent!!!

Dale from Dallas, PA on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this amp. It's really, really quiet but sounds amazing. Love the minimalist design. Something I never thought of is the volume knob - it is engineered beautifully with really precise control and feel. The remote works so much better than my previous NAD devices as well, which was one of their week points in the past. The Bluetooth feature is one of my favorites on these new NAD hybrid amps - it works flawlessly and has a codec that upgrades the sound to CD quality - very, very nice with great range because of the exterior antenna. Has just the right amount of connections for any setup. It also has a nice feature that recognizes the digital device when it is first powered on and automatically switches to that input on the amp - so when I turn on the TV it comes on automatically. Looking forward the upgrades and expansion options from this unit down the road. Wonderful.

Pros: Sound, looks, Bluetooth, features - everything.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Crystal Clear Sound

Todd from APO AE on 12/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the NAD C 388 to power four Klipsch RB-81 IIs which it does a fantastic job of doing. The power is clean just as advertised just make you sure you have a good source. My system is missing a little kick in the Bass frequencies but that was expected based on the specs on the Klipsch Bookshelf speakers. The Bluetooth worked but I was not impressed with sound quality. I also figured for paying this kind of money for a receiver that it would come with an Owners manual which it did not. I like the ease of use of the controls and overall I am impressed with the unit and will keep NAD in mind for future products. This is a must if you like stereo sound and don't have the budget to purchase much higher end products

Pros: High power clean sound and easy to set up and operate.

Cons: Bluetooth was not impressive and there wasnt an owners manual in the box

Crutchfield response on

12 of 16 found this helpful

Awesome sound and feature rich.

Tom from Los Alamitos, CA on 12/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is awesome. Basically the most robustly featured receiver with the power I need. I have it paired with 2 monitor audio silver 10 towers and the sound is very impressive. Clean and Crystal clear. I play CD's using optical cable. Obviously the origin of the music is key. Streamed music sounds good but the disparaging bit rate is clearly noticeable. I'm planning to enhance my CD library sue to the incredible CD sound quality. It also sounds great from my audio technical at-lp 120 turntable. I use it as my tv viewing receiver by connecting the audio from the tv with an optical cable as well (using standard rca cables had an annoying hum and was the same with an alternative receiver). The sound from that is also terrific. You can rename the inputs to their respective components and the volume control is prominently displayed on the front. Haven't tried the Bluetooth yet so can't comment, but happy it's an option. I love it. Could not be happier. Buy it.

Pros: Great wattage output with clear sound. More inputs and custom features than competitors.

Cons: Could use a usb input for direct connect from my computer. However, I use an rca cable to the headphone jack for that.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

TOP