Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
429 702 672 3
Connect ID #
429 702 672 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD C 427

AM/FM tuner

MFR # C427

NAD C 427

NAD C 427

AM/FM tuner

MFR # C427

36 reviews
View this product

NAD C 427

Kenneth E from SEATTLE, WA on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked fine for 5 years, then......... nothing. A lot of money for 5 years of use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsburg, PA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD matches well with my CXA80 Cambridge amp. Actually I am using it as a preamp connected to a Cambridge Azur 851 power amp. Speakers are Aria 906 Focal bookshelf Sound is great!

Pros: Easy set up. A quality product.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Rural FM reception

Crutchfield customer from Maple Heights, OH on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At the price point of the C 427 I had my reservations to purchase it online without any personal test of its qualities. I must say I was 100% satisfied with its ability to pull in stations from my rural location upon hooking it up . My Pioneer FM receiver even with a powered antenna gave very poor reception at best in my location. The quality of the sound received is exceptional. I do know a thing or two about sound quality as I own DR.Z Amps , we manufacture and sell Vacuum Tube Guitar amps to todays top Guitarist , we create products that create the music you hear. The construction is top notch , and its operation is simple. I was concerned do to the lack of a signal strength meter , but this unit really doesn't need one do to its extreme Sensitivity. I recommend this unit to add to your discrete HiFi component stack.

Pros: Excellent reception and sound quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Awesome product!!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Crystal, MN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was recommended by Adam. I was impressed by the quality of this machine. The sound quality is amazing, clear and so strong. It gives the radio stations more power or punch. It sounds amazing. I have it hooked up to Marantz HD-CD1 and Marantz HD-amp1. Highly recommend!!!!

Pros: Strong and powerful signals. Gets so many FMs with great quality reception. Impressive. Makes you sit and listen to FMs!!!!

Cons: Price?!?!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Crutchfield customer from Leominster, MA on 8/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent tuner for the money, captures the more powerful stations very well even with the antenna that came with the unit, I'm not a huge radio listener but very nice to have when I want to listen to the radio, well constructed product as anybody who has owned NAD products in the past, would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a top notch tuner when you are in the mood to listen to the radio, looks good with my other components also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 6/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love it! It's everything I thought it would be and more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Crutchfield customer from Albrightsville, PA on 3/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful tuner, I live in the mountains so my channels are limited.

Pros: Matches all the other NAD components nicely.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Controllable

Kevin from Elkhart, IN on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased. Cause I needed an RS232 controllable tuner that provides feedback. It fits the bill very well. Sounds great too.

Pros: Value, functionality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice complement to my older NAD components. Well built. Works beautifully. I love NAD's clean look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprisingly nice tuner. Only the look could be more professional but otherwise very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Makes the best of FM

Jim from Medford, NJ on 4/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid well built product. Excellent audio bandwidth and sensitivity. It needs a good FM antenna to sound its best. As with any good audio equipment, the sound is totally limited by the source material which is this case is the broadcast quality. Strong high quality broadcasts sound great.

Pros: Excellent user interface with presets and radio data system display. Very well built. Great sound on strong high quality broadcasts.

Cons: No signal strength meter.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Above Average Component AM/FM Tuner

Crutchfield customer from Cicero, IL on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A rare, reasonably priced home audio component capable of displaying data (RDS) on the FM band as compared to car radios having RDS almost as a standard feature. I have a first generation Sangean HD tuner, it didn't cost much and can tune HD and sub channels, but doesn't have much in the way of features or finese.

Pros: RDS, fine 50K incremenalt tuning on FM, clean sounding FM similar to digital FM broadcasts, decent AM sound and tuning

Cons: Not Hybrid Digiital (HD), no digital broadcasts or sub channels.No signal strength meter.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Jill from Playa Del Rey, CA on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfectly suits my NAD system when I want to hear traditional FM radio. Easy to configure presets and the sound is clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Should have purchased long ago.

Ross from New York, NY on 9/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, solid build, easy setup. Very happy with the sound quality.

Pros: Build, looks, sound.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, PA on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Nad tuner is excellent. Very good audio bandwidth, sensitivity and noise reduction are the best qualities of this unit. Solid build and appearance. If you listen to a lot of Fm radio-- get this unit. You will like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

NAD C427

Frank from Central PA on 2/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tuner and a Marantz PM8005 integrated amplifier replaced an aging NAD receiver. The FM reception with this tuner is definitely an improvement. I live in the country but still manage to get several distant FM stations fairly well during daylight, and a few extremely well in the evenings and onward. Using an outdoor omnidirectional antenna sitting on the top of a hutch in the listening room receives most of these stations from between 20 and 50 miles in one general direction. Several larger stations 25 miles in the opposite direction seem to be totally blocked. Such is a reality of FM and I don't consider it a fault in the receiver. If a station is broadcasting a song with, for example, good stereo channel separation this tuner will play it that way; unfortunately, there seem to be a lot of low quality transmissions from some stations. The Blend feature works very well to reduce and often completely eliminate any hiss in a marginal reception; of course, switching to mono can often clear up what the blend function can't adequately mitigate. I get only two very, very faint AM stations, probably in large part attributable to living in a brick house with a metal roof surrounded by hills. Undoubtedly, mounting the antenna outside would improve reception and that is a to-do. There is very little available today in component tuners; while this NAD seems a bit pricy I am generally quite pleased.

Pros: Great stereo music if the source is good.

Cons: A bit pricy.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Very Good Tuner

M. R. from Germantown, MD on 2/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this tuner to replace a Carver CT-17 tuner/pre-amp. It's a very good tuner with several nice features (e.g., FM blending). As others have noted, it's a bit pricey compared to the competition, and doesn't have a signal strength meter, which it should considering the difference in price. FM in the DC area is fairly strong but it has no trouble pulling in stations from Baltimore with a dipole antenna. The RDS info is displayed when the signals are strong enough (maybe that's the strength meter?). HD would have been a big plus. If it had the signal strength meter, it'd be 5 stars instead of 4. Overall, I think it was worth the extra money...

Pros: Sensitivity; RDS display; Large preset station memory; Blending to reduce noise.

Cons: No signal strength meter

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Great tuner.

Dave from Appleton, WI on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tuner! A little pricey but worth it especially if pairing with an NAD amp.

Pros: Strong reception. Good clarity.

Cons: A little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Ted from Green Valley, AZ on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased the NAD C 427 to replace the tuner that was built in to my Onyko 827. It does the same thing and it cost less than having the Onkyo receiver repaired.

Pros: Big band for the buck. does the job at a good price.

Cons: I used my outside FM antenna. The supplied AM and Fm antennas do not bring in the stations. I'm located to far from the stations.A signal strength meter would help.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

NAD 427

Paul Z from Chicago, IL on 6/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and build quality, nice display, but preset access via rotary encoder isn't intuitive (at least to me), so 4 out of 5.

Pros: Sound, build quality, display

Cons: Rotary encoder /preset access not intuitive

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Good Tuner

Bobby from Laceys Spring, Al. on 3/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice tuner that picks up stations well and sounds good. I rated 4 stars because its lacking any type of signal strength meter. For this price I kinda expect that option. Its a keeper for now.

Pros: Picks up stations well

Cons: No signal strength meter

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

No audiophile but I know what I like

RoiBall from Chatsworth on 2/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a long period with AVRs' I decide to get back to the root for me pure stereo. This unit is well worth the money invested. Reception and clarity are solid. The simple clean look fits well between the amp and CD player. My girlfriend is new to true stero but she immediately appreciated the difference we she heard her favorite station.

Pros: Excellent reception and size.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Gettin' lucky

Fred from Asheboro, NC on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing gets solid reception on distant FM channels.

Pros: Runs cool. Sounds good enough that my wife, who was upset that I bought it, stopped complaining the minute she heard her favorite station coming in better than she had ever heard it before.

Cons: Cost more than a pretty decent receiver.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

the 427 was great

Alan S from Mt learel, NJ on 1/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stuff I had Nad for 35 years and the new stuff is mush better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

One of the Best

Corgidog59 from Washington DC on 1/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently made big changes to my home theater/audio system. I decided to split it into two separate systems sharing the same rack. what this means is that my AVR (Yamaha RX-V1030) is now dedicated to home theater. Then I bought a 2 channel amp, pre-amp, separate L/R front speakers and now a tuner for my 2 channel system. Initially, I bought a tuner which cost nearly 4X that of the NAD 427 (and took nearly 6 weeks to arrive from Europe). I thought given the price that it would be one of the best on the market. I hooked up and attempted to do some critical but highly satisfying listening. Well, not so fast. The reception was extremely spotty. I would get a number of stations without a using antenna. When I tried to hook up a dipole antenna or rabbit ears, I got worse reception . My AVR got much better reception. Crazy I thought. Also, the unit came with no remote. If I wanted a remote, I would have to purchase one for about more $. So, I decided to see if the NAD 427 would perform better at 1/4 of the cost of the other one. The answer is a big YES! The NAD 427 Tuner is head and shoulders better.. The NAD 427 picked up all the stations that I was interested in with great reception/clarity. So, if you are in the market for a tuner (and oh by the way, there are fewer and fewer companies producing them now) by all means consider the NAD 427.

Pros: Great reception. Ease of use. Helpful display

Cons: Plastic remote.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Good product

Dave from Washington on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward tuner with good reception on both AM and FM. Blend feature works! Plenty of presets. Display has a dimming option and is a good design. We are using this tuner where there are few local stations plus we have nearby mountains that can cause issues with stereo reception. Stations from miles away come in clear without a special antenna. Over the years I have accumulated a variety of other tuners from old 1930's radios, tubed Fisher, Harmon Kardon, Sherwood, and Sony receivers, etc. For reception this one rates very high when comparing. It is connected to a Rotel amp and sounds good!

Pros: Good performing off the air tuner. Controls are intuitive. Sound quality is good.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

good tuner

smm from Washington on 12/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tuner is only the second one I've had in my forty years as an amateur audiophile (my first was a Dynaco kit). I run the NAD through a Linn preamp, amp and speakers. The sound is clear, the controls easy to use.

Pros: See above.

Cons: An auxiliary AC outlet would be useful.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 427 Tuner

Dr. Rick from Oregon on 11/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD tuner is a replacement for my old ADCOM GTP-500 ll which I've had for about 30 years (this is a preamp/tuner, it is the preamp that was failing). I was a bit anxious about finding an AM/FM tuner that was at least as good as the ADCOM. The worry was not warranted as the NAD tuner surpasses the ADCOM in every aspect: selectivity, sensitivity, muting between stations and channel separation. The controls are simple and while comprehensive, do not add unwanted and unnecessary functions. I also appreciate the understated overall appearance ( I am not a fan of multi-colored flashing LEDs that are just annoying ). The price is a bit higher than some inferior products, but since I maintain my equipment for years, the extra cost vs. value makes sense. Again, no need for anxiety.

Pros: Nad's known quality, overall tuner functionality and simplicity, clean understated appearance.

Cons: Other than the relatively higher cost, no complaints

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 427 AM/FM tuner

Michael M from New York on 10/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best tuner by far of the six I have owned. The design is attractive and straightforwardly functional; the only thing I miss is some sort of signal strength indicator, though this is not an issue. The signals come in clean and quiet. The wire antenna supplied with the unit is entirely adequate. My local stations come in loud and clear, of course, but even the stations in Toronto are adequately handled. I recommend this product without reservation.

Pros: Excellent reception, fine design.

Cons: None worth mentioning.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

tuner with great reception

Bryan from Washington on 9/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since I have had this tuner now for several weeks, it has grown on me for the way it performs well, locks in on a good multitude of stations, displays radio station data text from stations that enable this, and it is incredibly easy to use in the famous NAD fashion. I really like their uncluttered look on outside, great sound quality on the inside. Very happy with this tuner in my all audio only setup(NAD CD player, NAD pre-amp, NAD amp. I am glad I decided on this brand and would recommend this NAD tuner. It may look simple but it definitely feels well built for what it is, as do the rest of NAD's lineup.

Pros: simple to use, sounds great, has great reception, built solid.

Cons: just the ever disappearing paper manuals, but not a deal breaker for sure.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Solid Unit

Bob from California on 8/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an Adcom that died. The NAD is picking up a stronger signal. Seems like a very good tuner.

Pros:

Cons: There are tuner/preamps out there. This is just a tuner. Just an FYI

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C 427

Phil from Indiana on 6/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I presume 5 being the highest rating. Good quality AM/FM receivers are hard to find. And your receiver I bought fits all of the criteria I set form. Being literally separate from the rest of your equipment means a great deal to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C427 Tuner excellent value!

Robert W. from New Jersey on 4/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 50+ year history with FM tuners, and have owned everything from Mcintosh tube tuners to internet tuners. I was looking for a reasonably priced solid state FM tuner to use with my high quality headphone amp setup (Graham Slee/ Grado GS1000i). This tuner is an exceptional value - good sensitivity, excellent frequency response, quiet background with the Blend feature. I am very pleased!

Pros: Good sensitivity (with a decent antenna), excellent frequency response,quiet background (blend circuit reduces noise yet still retains decent stereo separation)

Cons: None at this price- only slightly lower performance compared to the megabuck tuners

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Tuning In...

Geoff from Washington on 4/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for an AM/FM tuner to compliment the Marantz PM6005 amplifier and CD6005 CD player which I purchased from Crutchfield. Initially, I considered both the Yamaha T-S500 and the NAD C427. Both had 40 presets, more than I will ever need, and both were recommended by those who purchased them. Perhaps the factor, albeit a minor one, which swung me to the NAD C427 was the RDS function. Pretty neat! The tuner is working beautifully.

Pros: Great reception. Tuning and setting up of the presets were simple. RDS function.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Best Tuner in this Price Range

Bret from Chicago on 1/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best tuner I could find without going into the megabuck range. It gives you everything you want in a tuner and nothing you don't. The RDS display is a nice touch. It looks great in my audio rack. I describe the apparance as clean, elegant, and professional.

Pros: Great Sound Quality, Good Looks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

My C 427

Mark H from Idaho Falls on 5/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm excited about this tuner. I like the looks, weight, and of course the way it sounds. I don't like that I have to order the full instructions to be able to use it properly. Other than that, I received it in 3 days from the good folks at Crutchfield. I've ordered and received other equipment from them and I recommend them.

Pros: Sound, and looks.

Cons: No instructions.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 24 found this helpful

TOP