Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

NAD C 516BEE

Single-disc CD player

MFR # C516BEE

NAD C 516BEE

NAD C 516BEE

Single-disc CD player

MFR # C516BEE

153 reviews
View this product
Discontinued item

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Los Altos, CA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick and easy to set up, and easy to use. Great sound quality. This replaced an old NAD CD player which had stopped working. The NAD C 516BEE was less expensive than the old one, and the interface is more intuitive to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

OK machine

Scott from RICO, CO on 4/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Problems: The drawer has failed to open a couple of times, which has me concerned. The player takes a full ten seconds to begin playing a standard compact disc, once inserted into the tray and closed. This irritates me but nothing beyond that. The player does not do a particularly good job of reading discs which are marred. I'm not particularly fond of the button layout on the front of the machine. It's easy to mistake the open/close button with the stop button in terms of how they are located. Positives: It does what it's supposed to do, which is to play CD's. I didn't pay for anything too special here.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Hopewell, NJ on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received the NAD516BEE about a month ago and purchased it based on review's from other clutchfield customers. It replaced an old audio dynamics cd player and I didn't really expect to hear the great sound quality reviewers raved about through my old kenwood receiver but I'm hearing highs and lows and crispness I never heard before. Yes initial disc scan is a little slow, but so what. It's built well and is delivering really great sound for the money. Now I need to start upgrading the rest of my worn out 80's vintage system. I listen to classical, jazz, blues and rock regularly and can enthusiastically recommend the NAD516BEE.

Pros: Sound quality, Solid mechanicals and build.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great unit!

Bruce from Rockford, IL on 3/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade, long over do for me, quality built inside and out. Sounds great,

Pros: Quality, Price, and design.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice sound

John from Stratford, CT on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matched NAD amp . Replaced old Carver CD player. Sounds very nice and can use just amp remote for both.

Pros: Uses NAD amp remote,sounds great.dimmable display.like blue light when it's on.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

sounds BEEautiful

Bill from Melbourne, FL on 2/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I matched this with my nad amp and realized I should have pulled the trigger earlier. I am very pleased with the sound and accuracy that I'm getting. everything works perfectly.

Pros: Natural sound and great channel separation

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 30 year old ADCOM player and couldn't be more pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Lindstrom, MN on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Well-built, performs well, with a clean, pristine sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 12/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade to Technics 5-disc player I've has since 1993. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extreme Accuracy!

Don from Tampa, FL on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD player is for sound lovers and exceeds all expectations! It exhibits great overall response, clear, crisp, and not shy about reproducing very high and low frequencies. Excellent stereo imaging and an accurate flat response makes this CD player a great choice for serious listening.

Pros: The sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Ronald from Fresno, CA on 11/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really big step up in looks, build, an sound quality over the Sony $30 DVD player I was using as my CD player. I've always liked the build, sound qualit, simplistic, an soft look NAD audio equipment has. The only dissapointment is the labeling for the buttons on the remote body.

Pros: Famous NAD styling, build, an sound quality , an bang for the buck.

Cons: Labeling on the remote control body.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

High Quality CD Player that is affordable

Chuck from Lewisville, TX on 11/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like to try electronics out for a month or two before passing on my evaluation. THE NAD C516BEE is a high quality, well built unit. It accurately pulls every note out of a CD, tracks flawlessly and performs hour after hour without fail. I have it connected to a Onkyo A-9150 Integrated Amp and Polk Audio RTiA7 tower speakers, also from Crutchfield. The end result is extremely high quality sound for around $1500. I have been a Crutchfield customer for many years and keep going back because of the high quality products offered, the trusted guidance and the return policy.

Pros: Well built, easy to use, high quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, CT on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, we love this CD player. Good build quality and it sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD and Crutchfield rock!

Mark from Canandaigua, NY on 10/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace my Sony CD player from 1988. I wanted a simple, high quality, hifi unit. I bought a NAD amplifier about 5 years ago and was eying the complementary NAD CD player at the time. So as soon as the SONY died, I knew what I wanted. I couldn't be happier with my two NAD units. Simple to use, classic look, and great sound with my KEF speakers.

Pros: Great sound and quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A great sonic experience

Tony from Norman, AR on 9/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm quite happy with my NAD C 516BEE CD player. The sound is nice, tight and clean. So far, it reads all of my CD's, something my CD player purchased in 1984 would no longer do. I listen to classical music and jazz. I do not want a home theater sound. I want to replicate the sound of a live concert or recital. As a former musician I prefer an "on stage" sonic experience. My new NAD comes very close.

Pros: It does what I want it to and does it quite well.

Cons: It is a bit slow to read a CD but this is not a big deal for me.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

bruce from Phoenix, AZ on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to complete my audio system. It works well with a yamaha 801 integrated amp and older psb t55 speakers.the sound is excellent. This cd player does everything I want, easy to use and set up and I haven't had any cds that it won't play. I would highly recommend this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Peter from Austin, TX on 9/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and sounds great. The remote feels kinda cheap, but the CD player itself is very well built. My first unit was defective, but Crutchfield quickly sent out a replacement. Nice job guys!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Exceptional for the Price - same quality as high end units

Lena from Pomona, NY on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So Far so good... Have had the unit since April 2017. Perfect and replacing an old California Audio with a Sony in the interim 1 year. This is a nice NAD on the low end of their price point. I had to replace some of my CDs due to the player only accepted unmarred/unscratched CDs. Once I replaced the scratched CDs I have had no problems whatsoever. Sound quality is exceptional and well matched to my Bryston amp and Hafler Signature pre-amp with NHT tower speakers.

Pros: Excellent sound quality when paired with appropriate high-end equipment.

Cons: The power on button is not differentiated and the other buttons ar a little on the small side - seems a lot easier to just use the remote for all command actions - but none a deal breaker.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Springs, CO on 8/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its simple to use and may have extra functions if you read the cd manual. I like its simplicity and it fits into my basic stereo system nicely and it sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C 516BEE replaced a NAKAMICHI high end CD player that I bought in 1988. I like this NAD CD player for its simplicity. Sound reproduction is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

simple and works

Bruce from Coeur D Alene, ID on 7/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple, works great, good fidelity and hopefully more reliable than the TEAC it replaced I do not like carousel models as you can never find a particular disk easily

Pros: simple, nice display, good fidelity

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, FL on 7/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality and sound. Vey happy with this CD player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Davis, CA on 7/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am delighted with the sound quality . The solid construction and simple design appeal to me. By the way, my first audio cd player, purchased about 30 years ago, was also a very satisfactory NAD. It had a feature which I miss very much.: A compression circuit which made playback at low levels more listenable . (One could reduce the dynamic range of the output.) I would love to have that on this one too. Olaf

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to match my NAD amplifier. Easy to hook up. Simple uncluttered design. Vast improvement in sound quality over my previous CD player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't go wrong.

Geoff from Simpsonville, SC on 7/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this with the new C338 - perfect pairing. Super clean sound. No complaints.

Pros: Best bang for buck and super clean sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Charles from Idaho Falls, ID on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great single-disc player at a good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 6/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service. Great quality for a reasonable price. Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fine performer

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to get the most out of listening to CDs without spending the audiophile dream fortune. It has delivered on that promise. Unit easy to install and use.

Pros:

Cons: none found as yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Single play - CD

Richard from Janesville, WI on 5/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, clean, uncluttered, built solid, sounds great; who could ask for more......

Pros: Solid machine, did all as expected

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Gus from Bascom, OH on 5/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good help from Crutchfield sales rep. Promptly delivered. Sound quality excellent and working well with a 20 year old NAD receiver /amp.Only had it for 1 month but so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clear sound with easy hook up and use. No issue with CDRs

Fran from Gwinn, MI on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took minutes to hook up. Very easy. Remote works well and door seems to be a non-issue. Excellent product.

Pros: Worked exactly as expected

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from South Burlington, VT on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Running through vintage MAC integrated amp and new Dynaudio Emit 10 speakers. Sound is wonderful, and I am rediscovered my CD collection that has laid idle for close to 10 years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid CD Player

John from Dallas, TX on 4/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't done close listening to compare with other players but it sounds good. The drawer mechanism has a solid feel and the remote works well. I like the options for time remaining, etc. Prompt delivery from Crutchfield, as well. I believe this is a good value.

Pros: Excellent value, solid player

Cons: No real cons, unless you want a multi-disc changer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the NAD C 516BEE to replace a Sony CDP-C265 5disc 1996 vintage CD player. I bought it based on the reviews and ratings that I read on-line. Although the Sony still worked well, I wanted a player that had a "up-to-date" DAC. At first I was hesitant to go from a 5 disc player to a single disc player since it's easier to load up 5 discs for extended play versus changing a single disc after each play. I have to say that now that I've used the single disc player, it's not big deal to change after listening to a single CD. The NAD doesn't disappoint. I bought it from Crutchfield as I found their website to be easy to navigate and their customer support and return policy was very favorable. This was my first purchase from them, and probably won't be my last. The sound from my NHT bookshelf speakers with the NAD is much improved. Now I have to decide whether or not to replace the 16 year old speakers with a pair of ELAC Debut B6s. Won't know, I guess, unless I buy and try.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Nad c 616 bee

Bob from Taunton, MA on 3/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm mating this with adcom gsp 500ll preamp tuner (stereo only, don't care about surround) rotel 200wpc amp and just completely rebuilt Klipsch Forte speaks yep old mid 80s speakers. On to the nad well ease of operation Aesthetics and basic operation buttons built into the front of the unit I am very pleased with it. I can't claim to be one of the golden ear listeners but I know what a musical piece of equipment does it's not harsh but it is music or musical adds nothing takes nothing away. It's my first piece of NAD equipment but I will be sure to look at others. Thank you Bob

Pros: Very good to look at excellent remote basic controls on front panel

Cons: CD owners manual! I prefer a paper book all of my equipment I have my paperwork to.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am moving from a Cambridge Audio CD player to this one. Running it through some small Dynaudio speakers and an Asty amp. I listen to a lot of jazz and classical among other things. This CD player sounds beautiful. Very present. Not as punchy as the Cambridge Audio, but really velvety in the mid range. It is just really pleasant. I also tried to save money on a cheap Onkyo unit before ordering this one and sent it back. I am actually shocked how much better the NAD sounds. If there is any draw back to the NAD, the drawer and actual reading of the disc is on the slow side, but who cares? It sounds fantastic, and to me that is the most important.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Christopher from St Augustine, FL on 2/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player. I set it up and was rocking in 5 minutes. Didn't even have to read the manual. Crutchfield got the item to me in a flash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CA on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, what a fantastic unit. Absolutely love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, CT on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid CD player......great complement to my NAD C720BEE receiver......my CD's sound much fuller and richer....especially my self-made discs of my live playing. Only had a short time, but everything good so far.....only thing I miss is a headphone plug-in, but not such a big deal. Thanks, Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent sound quality

Lukas from Clemson, SC on 1/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic CD player when it comes to music reproduction - offers a very high fidelity sound - I guess this is partly due to a very high quality digital to analog converter. Overall I am very happy with the purchase - the difference in sound quality compared to less expensive CD or DVD players is incredible. The major negative thing I can tell about this unit is that it has no headphone output with the volume control. Also, I found occasionally that some CD's with a visible scratch would not play a song (skip etc) while other, cheaper CD players would play it fine - seems like this unit is more sensitive to scratches on CDs.

Pros: Superior sound quality

Cons: A lack of headphone amp. Sensitive to scratched CD's. Tiny buttons with difficult to see labels.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Johnston, RI on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CD player is great, but I want to also comment on Crutchfield. Beautiful, cleanly designed website, excellent service, ecological corn starch packing material--smart and thoughtful at every step. The opposite of what might be other online websites-stupid where flawed products are shoved into inappropriately-sized boxes with indestructible styrofoam static-charged pellets. Thanks for a positive experience all around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Dan from Peosta IA on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 2nd time purchasing this player. The 1st one lasted around 30 years. Very happy with its performance !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound, great value.

Dennis from Columbus, OH on 12/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems pretty sturdy. Takes a while to load and play, a very minor inconvenience. Sound quality is outstanding. Razor-sharp imaging, extremely detailed mid and high, solid bass, wide soundstage, but only so-so depth. A major improvement over a ten or twelve year old Yamaha. Only complaint is with tiny buttons and barely legible labels for them (we have to keep a flashlight next to the equipment rack).

Pros: Stellar sound, with great detail and great imaging.

Cons: Loads a little slow (minor issue). Tiny buttons.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR REALISTIC, WARM SOUNDS

Bob from Thousand Oaks, CA on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD Player works well. I have it paired with the NAD C368 integrated amp and very much like the results. I recommend it!

Pros: Works well with my NAD amp; well built; a good value.

Cons: I have nothing negative to report; my experience is 100% positive.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Wonderful warm sounds...great price!

Rob from Bethel, CT on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

NAD always makes a wonderful sounding CD player! Love this unit's warm sound.

Pros: Wonderful warm sounds...great price!

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from South Pasadena, Ca on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll skip the compliments to Crutchfield, unparalleled when it comes to customer care. The unit I received was manufactured in June 2016. Perhaps they have made it more solid now, I have no problems with the tray, it's smooth and quiet. What I love about this product: 1) Stays cool after playing many discs. 2) Dynamics and transients are impressive 3) The sound is non-digital, natural. It accurately reproduces what's on the disc, especially instrumental timber. 4) It gets out of the way and let's me concentrate on the music for hours on end without tiring me. My system: SS Conrad-Johnson amplifier , tube C-J preamp, bookshelf Pioneer SP-BS22-LR speakers with SW-BMK2 subwoofer. Blissful sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Single disc CD player

Jeff from Nesconset, New York on 11/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is simple to use, looks and sounds great!

Pros: Sturdy , compact and great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

High value, low price........

William from Reno, NV on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a NAD fan. My first CD player (30? years ago) was an NAD and am currently running a NAD preamp for my primary system. So when I wanted a CD player for a secondary system in the bedroom the first place I looked was at NAD products. Looked at other brands as well, but decided on the 516BEE based on reviews here and other places, and so far I am very pleased with my selection. This is my first CD player purchase in about 10 years and it seems NAD has advanced the ball significantly. Works smoothly, and most importantly, my CD's sound great with fuller dynamic sound than I recall when played on my other players. I may actually have to swap out my primary system CD deck for this player. I play mostly folk rock and jazz and the recordings a jumping out of the speakers. While i sort of understand why folks are enamored with turntables, and vinyl, nostalgia being a significant factor, I for one will not go back, and why would I, when I get the convenience of CD's and great sound out of a relatively modest priced component. Cheers all, this one is a keeper.

Pros: Smooth operation Great sound Full dynamic range Nice simple remote Diminutive in terms of height

Cons: None so far and not expecting any.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Rocklin, CA on 10/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CD player has exceeded my expectations!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Ed from Stockton, Cal on 10/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality for the price. Exceeds my expectations. Very good quality overall

Pros: Sound quality super

Cons: Cannot think of a negative

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Tokyo_Jonny from San Antonio, TX on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Utterly fantastic CD player which makes your shrill digital discs sounds vinyl warm, but without the snaps, crackles, and pops.

Pros: Simple and refined layout and appearance, beautiful classic matte black finish, and a first class internal DAC.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great budget CD player

Stanley from New York, NY on 8/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD c516BEE is a no frill device with outstanding music reproduction. It was a great addition to my stereo system and made my CD collection come to life. The buttons on the remote are a bit small and difficult to read in a low light situation but this is a minor problem. Overall a lot of bang for the buck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Wonderful CD player

Lee from Hendersonville, NC on 7/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great Cd player. I have used it just about every day for 2 months and it has done everything I expected of it. I was impressed by the quality of the transport mechanism and tray. There is a nice feel and sound when the tray opens or closes. It gives the impression of quality. As to the sound; it is much clearer and cleaner than the DVD player I was using previously. I now hear instruments and sounds I had not heard before. The highs are cleaner and the bass is punchier. I am using RCA cables to connect to my receiver in order to use the internal Digital to Audio (DAC) converter instead of the coax or optical outputs which then use the inferior DAC of the receiver. Overall this is exactly what I wanted and expected of NAD products. A great CD player.

Pros: Good clean sound. Nice transport mechanism

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great service from Crutchfield

Charles C from Albuquerque, NM on 6/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mine also developed a tray issue and became noisy while the disc was spinning. The Crutchfield team was very helpful suggesting that they replace it with a new unit. I opted to upgrade to the higher level NAD in hopes of getting a bit better build quality. Crutchfield is great.

Pros: Great sound. Better than my Modi 2 Uber.

Cons: Build quality is questionable. A lot of the units with tray problems seem to have been sold at around the same time so maybe it's a bad batch.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Clicking noise

Gaston from Spokane, WA on 6/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only owned this for less than three months and it has already developed an annoying rhythmic clicking sound in the disc drive when playing CDs. That works out to over $100 per month for a brief period of trouble-free ownership. Beware!

Pros: sounds good while it lasts

Cons: developed a clicking sound in just three months

Crutchfield response on 6/14/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our customer service or tech support teams right away. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

18 of 21 found this helpful

Falls Short of Other Budget Players

James from Las Vegas, NV on 6/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I know that this is NAD's entry level player, and I was only interested in a reliable basic cd player. Unfortunately, reliability is not one of this model's feature. From it's initial operation, the cd tray seemed to be a bit temperamental, and after only a few uses, it completely stopped working with my disc stuck inside the unit. This player saw very little use as I kept it in my spare room. Fortunately, it was still under warranty, but then I had to deal with the aggravation of packing it and then with pricey shipping costs since the NAD service center only accepted either UPS or FedEx. I own other budget cd brands that are still going strong after 10 years of use. NAD apparently has some homework to do regarding the issues with this model's cd tray as I have read a similar review from another owner.

Pros: Attractive unit

Cons: Problems with cd tray

Crutchfield response on

15 of 19 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Kip G from Raleigh, NC on 5/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding unit, simple and easy to use, compact and stylish. Exactly what you would expect from NAD. Recommended!

Pros: Sounds great, simple layout, easy to use remote, very clean and compact looking

Cons: would be nice if it had a USB port in the front like some units in the price range.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

So far, so good.

REBECCA from Susanville, CA on 5/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I have been pleased with the performance of the NAD C516BEE. It manages to play my CD's without skipping, which was the main problem with my old player. I like the simplicity, but it may be too simple. Wish the button indicators and LED indicators were larger for easier reading. The remote is fine. I hope it lasts a long, long time. My last player was purchased in 1999 - a shocking 17 years ago.

Pros: It performs and functions as designed - a CD Player.

Cons: You must select "repeat" and "repeat all" with every CD. I would like it to save the selection until I change it otherwise.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

nadc516bee

tk from Billings, MT on 5/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product I think would be good, if I could play a full cd without bad flutter. Maybe there's a way to correct, but no instructions, as the dvd won't play on my dvd player. I afraid if I can't get this resolved soon, I'll have to return it! Any suggestions?

Pros: Good sound!

Cons: Can't play a full cd without bad flutter.

Crutchfield response on 5/4/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get the CD player working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Wouldn't you know it?

Thierry from Berkeley, CA on 4/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These product sucks! I have enjoyed this CD player for the past 3 years. Sounds great, affordable and then one day...oh the cd tray won't open... Planned obsolescence? You bet. Cost of fixing the problem more than 2/3 of the original cost of the machine. Which means I will likely dump it and buy another. I am so disappointed in NAD. Thought they would have more pride in their products but in the end it is the same crap as everyone else.

Pros: Sounds good while it works

Cons: Fails way before it should

Crutchfield response on

15 of 19 found this helpful

5 Stars!

Perry from Gallatin, TN on 4/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean. Clean. Clean. And I have never heard such bass response from a CD player; rivaling the best vinyl setup. Totally impressed. 5 ***** Stars.

Pros: Well made. Easy to use. Great looks. Great bass response.

Cons: No front panel track programming (remote only).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

pleasantly surprised

Golden Ear from Glen Ellyn, IL on 4/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprised that the player lived up to its hype. It replaced a Sony ES 770 which at the time purchased was top of the line. With the NAD the music, mostly classical, has greater clarity and punch and a transendance which I have not experienced before. With so many choices available, I feel confident that I make the right decision.

Pros: Makes your music system sound better than you thought possible

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solid, No Frills

Jac D Sol from buffalo, NY on 3/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Low price, reliable CD player with necessary programming functions will play your discs reliably. Sound quality gets better with high quality cables.

Pros: Inexpensive, reliable, good remote

Cons: Only one disc at a time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD CD Player

gg from Hays,KS on 3/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have over 400 cd's and with retirement coming am anxious to relive all that music. So far the few cd's that I've listened to sound great. Very simple install and love the optical setup which I used.

Pros: Ease of setup and solid construction

Cons: Would love for it have been cheaper but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Absolutely amazing

Gregory B from Severna Park, MD on 2/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Both my commercial CDs and burned CDs from iTunes have come alive. Playing through a vintage NAD 3020 amplifier to 301's in the front and refurbished vintage 501's to the rear. Amazingly clear, bright, and dynamic sound. If you are looking for a single tray CD player, look no further.

Pros: Beautiful to the the ear and eye. Received next day, plus shipping was free. This is my first but not my last purchase from Crutchfield.

Cons: Nothing I can find.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Kevin R from Marietta on 2/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

CD player performed as advertised. No complaints

Pros: Easy to set up. No frills CD player that sounds wonderful. I replaced a CD player that was 10 years old. Sounds wonderful with new speakers. Definitely worth the price. Folks at Crutchfield were wonderful to work with. Free shipping was a nice plus

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE single CD plater

Will from Princeton , Id on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a drummer and guitar player and practice to CDs played through a PA system. I custom record CDs with the specific songs i learn. The old Denon CD player i had been using wasn't able to reliably play those home recorded CDs. So i researched contemporary CD players. This NAD model got my attention due to its strong product reviews. Back in the mid 80s while serving in the Navy, I purchased an NAD 2200 power amp and 1130 pre amp. I had read a review of the 2200 power amp by Julian Hirsch. He gave the amp a stellar review saying that while it was rated at 100 watts power, it in fact was one of the most powerful amplifiers he ever tested due to its ability to produce short burst power signals 10 times the 100 watt rating thus avoiding clipping. The amp is still running strong after more than 30 years. Needless to say, i thought highly of the NAD products i owned. So i decided to go with the NAD CD player. Have only had it about two weeks. But it plays those home recorded CDs without missing a beat.

Pros: I like minimalist equipment with high quality no nonsense engineering. The NAD C 116BEE single play CD component delivers in spades. And the remote control is very useful when i'm at the drum set and want to control the CD player. Very pleased with my investment in this unit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value CD Player

brian from Las Vegas, Nv on 1/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this to match my NAD T748 receiver and was not disappointed in the player. It sound fantastic through the NAD T748 with Martin Logan Motion 15 fronts And Martion Logan LX16 rears. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a quality CD player. Great service from Crutchfield also

Pros: Great sound and build quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid CD Player

DLH from Nebraska on 1/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a CD player for a mini high-end stereo system I was putting together. Didn't want a low-end player, but didn't want to spend a lot either. This NAD fits the bill perfectly. A no-nonsense unit without many gadgets and gimmicks. Seems to be a quality unit and it sounds great, albeit I don't know how it'd compare to a low-end unit. Simple, functional good looks. $300 here at Crutchfield and I couldn't find it anywhere else for less. Shipping was free and super-fast!

Pros: Simple High quality Functional, good looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

DonM from Colorado on 1/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was shipped and received by me in 3 days, a timely delivery. The CD player performed flawlessly out of the box and is a good upgrade to my system.

Pros: Great service and I love my new CD player. This unit was not available from other sources, which triggered my order to Crutchfield.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

DAVID D. from New York on 1/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EXCELLENT PLAYER, EASY TO OPERATE

Pros: WELL BUILT

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

excellent choice

mark from California on 12/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchase this to replace an over 20 year old Addcom CD player so I would assume it would sound better and I was not disappointed. the highs and lows are reproduced at a range and clarity that I have not heard in other units at this price point. minimalist design is appropriate.

Pros: excellent sound minimalist design

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD 516BEE

BrianMcN from California on 12/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality, strait forward controls. Great value for the price. Nice. replacement for my old Yamaha changer. Made me enjoy my cd library all over again.

Pros: Great sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 516 CD Player

371 Olds from California on 12/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a simple, straightforward CD player and I don't think I could have done better. This unit replaces a brand X that had several problems. I'm kind of fussy about sound quality and this player exceeds my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

JeffK from WS, NC on 10/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this with a vintage Sansui AU-919 integrated amplifier playing through stacked pairs of Cerwin Vega AT-15 & D5 speakers. Amazing and excellent little player.

Pros: Quality components, simple operation and a decent price.

Cons: Not a looker, kind of plain.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Value

Son House from California on 10/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little player has an amazingly rich sound for the price. I run it through my Peachtree integrated amp and the sound is remarkable. I don't think there is a better value on the market.

Pros: Rich sound. Relatively inexpensive.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Joe from PR on 8/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A player full of fineness. Very musical and natural with well controlled bass. The not too big ergonomic remote is a pleasure to use. Very responsive buttons. Elegant flowing lines allow easy gripping. Only about 2.4 oz. including batteries.

Pros: Punchy output level. Very good DAC. Simple to use.

Cons: Data on VFD display look very readable on marketing stock photos (C 516) but actual information size is far smaller than that.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Well built.

Greg N. from Illinois on 8/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When comparing this player to my old Sony DVP-S7700 player, the NAD sounds just as good. The remote control is small and lightweight but seems to function just fine. Like another review I read here, there is really no WOW factor. What I like about this player is that it sounds clean and and has punchy bass. It is lightweight and is simple to operate. If you are looking for bells and whistles, you won't find them here. Overall, the NAD C 516BEE is a good value.

Pros: Good.sound. Lightweight and compact. Quality drive mechanism. Easy to use.

Cons: Remote control is too small.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best CD Player

Nate from Utah on 8/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you were in the market for a CD player I highly recommend this product. The first time I played a CD I could tell the difference immediately. The sound was amazing and I can't think of a better way to listen to my music.

Pros: The sound.

Cons: It is a little pricey, but that is OK considering how good of a product it is.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE Review

Papa D from Fenton, MI on 8/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this CD player based on other reviews. I was looking for a simple, but reliable CD player. The NAD C 516BEE seems to fit the requirements. I like the simplistic, non-complicated function of the system. I hope that this particular unit remains reliable for many years, as most CD players seem to have a limited life of 2-5 years. I suppose time will tell if this particular unit will perform longer than 5 years.

Pros: Simplistic controls, easy set up, CD player. Playback is very good.

Cons: None noted

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Back in the Swing

Allan from New York, NY on 7/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For some time I'd been looking for a quality CD player then I discovered this one. Amazing sound reproduction and quality from such a simply unit. Easy to set-up and use. No complicated instructions or learning curve. Now I'm back to listening to big band swing and loving it. This CD player has to be heard to be believed. Great value for the price.

Pros: Simplicity and ease of use. Great sound reproduction for the price.

Cons: None worth mentioning.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

John from Maryland on 7/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice CD player with a great design. Reasonably priced. Just what I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High-End Audio at a Bargain Price

Gordon from San Diego, California on 7/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having owned and enjoyed an NAD 514 CD player since 1996, I was already familiar with the quality of the NAD line. When that player sputtered and died after 19 years of faithful service (outrageous for a CD player!), I turned to the C 516BEE model. As far as my memory can discern, these two players sound very similar: a smooth, natural sound that I find utterly non-fatiguing after hours of use, especially compared to other brands. (For reference purposes: it's connected to a Kenwood Basic C1 control amp and M1 power amp; the speakers comprise a three-piece satellite/subwoofer system, and were custom-built from Becker, Dynaudio and SEAS drivers.) The C 516BEE is even prettier than the 514, and has fewer controls on its fascia (seven, as opposed to 14). I share the reservations of other reviewers about having the Open/Close and Play controls rather far-removed from the disc drawer. It's clear that NAD resorted to just one set of controls rather than two on the 514, in order to cut costs. That's not a deal-breaker for me; at a measly price including shipping, the sound quality makes it all worthwhile, and I'd rather lay out the bucks for sound than for a glut of switches. Much like other products in the NAD line, this one bespeaks a quiet elegance that eschews excessive switching, displays, and other gimmicks and gimcrackery. While I cannot comment as to this player's durability over the long term, I still recommend it very highly. Get it while you can. Sayeth I.

Pros: Clean, natural, non-fatiguing sound, even after hours of listening; simple, uncluttered control collection on the fascia; quietly tasteful, minimalist design overall; a price that is simply a steal given its sound quality.

Cons: Minor quibbles as to the following: Dog-slow disc-reading and cuing (that seems true of all NAD CD players, as it was on my old 514); Open/Close and Play controls are rather far-removed from the disc drawer on the fascia. A cost-cutting gesture that I actually appreciate. Nothing serious that would break the deal for me.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Rob T from Brainerd, Mn on 5/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well packaged, fast shipping, good product, recommended A+

Pros: sounds and works great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple, Solid CD Player

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nicely crafted, basic CD player that keeps quiet to focus on outputting a clean audio signal. In comparison with the ESS Sabre HyperStream DAC on my amp, I found this player's DAC very, very slightly less sonically spacious, but not unacceptably so. You wouldn't notice any difference without an A/B comparison. And it may not be equally so across all recordings and genres. Overall, a very handsome addition to a stereo system with good performance and a clean, legible display. From a design perspective, I would have preferred the eject and play buttons to be equally discoverable as the power button. They are a little lost in the button cluster on the right hand side. But I still recommend this deck.

Pros: Build quality Looks Simplicity Compactness Remote 2-year warranty Display

Cons: Placement of play and eject buttons DAC could perhaps be better No substantial discounts despite being around since 2013

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

NAD

Joe from Maryland on 5/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced an old Pioneer jukebox that finally went a few weekends ago. I have had my eye on this for quite some time as I never really owned a quality CD Player. I finally had the chance to break it in over the weekend. Wow ! Very satisfied. I cannot believe the difference. Sometimes you scratch your head looking at the prices of HIFI and wonder if it's a scam, but this is a real treat. I have it going through a Yamaha integrated amp and Bower/Wikins S2s. For the price, you cannot go wrong.

Pros: Great sound ! Detailed, and easy to set up.

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great replacement

Mike from New Jersey on 5/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A 14 year old NAD dvd/cd player finally went belly up and the NAD C516BEE came to the rescue with flying colors. It works very well with the NAD C 372 Integrated Amplifier. I've long been a fan of NAD products because of the consistent value in terms of engineering and quality versus price, and this cd player continues that tradition. This is the first time I've dealt with Crutchfield (I like to see and listen in a store, but they are getting to be rare) and they were very efficient and even sent a follow up thank you note.

Pros: Excellent sound, easy to use, it's an NAD

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD 516 bee

Michael S from Washington on 5/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being someone who has owned, vinyl, eight track, cassettes, (yes I am older) I determined that CD's might not last forever. I was using my castoff Panasonic dvd/cd TV player. I am very pleased with the upgrade and quality of the NAD player. Even my old ears can hear the difference. Thanks for the friendly and very informative assistance during the purchase from Crutchfield employees.

Pros: Easy operation, excellent quality sound.

Cons: Not at this time.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great sound and ease of use

ron m from middleport,new york on 4/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sonics from this player,1st cd was dire straits' brothers in arms ' made a cd masterpiece sound better than I ever heard it

Pros: sound , sturdy design, ease of use,very solid

Cons: none that I can hear or see

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C516BEE

Brad60 from Oklahoma on 3/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works great on my Pioneer SX-1250 along with Polk RTI10's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very decent and stylish

mikeA from Austin Tx on 2/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hesitant to spend this much for a simple CD player but decided to splurge, and I ended up liking it and appreciating the quality behind it very much. After reading various articles from Nad and others, I'm convinced now there is a quality difference. (As an electrical/computer engineer, I understand the data streaming and error correction arguments in the various articles, and I did want audiophile type quality here. I have a good size CD collection.) I use it with the Nad D3020 integrated amp. The little amp is in stand-up style right next to it, and it's a very stylish combination too! The CD player is very quiet too. Although when I first got it, it was making a clicking sound as the disk turned. Shaking it a little solved it! I opened it up to check out where the sound was coming from, and it's very good quality inside, but they could have done a little better in how the CD sort of floats and potentially clicks. But that problem hasn't come back. So overall, I'm very pleased with this unit. I've decided it is an integral link in my whole music system, and that's what I wanted.

Pros: very stylish and audiohile'ish!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C516BEE

Steve from Florida on 2/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Flawless, great sound, CD's sound clean and detailed through B&W 685's, load and scan time is fine, 3 seconds maybe, could have spent more, but why? Crutchfield ordering and delivery was breeze. Would definitely use in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great cd player... when it will play a disc

Scott M from Minneapolis, MN on 2/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is, without a doubt, the best sounding cd player I've found in this price range. Unfortunately, it refuses to play about 5% of my discs. My other players have no problem with these discs.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Disc read errors

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

A Quality CD Player!

Chiaki from Menlo Park, CA on 1/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pulling the trigger on the NAD C 516BEE Single-disc CD player was my first step into high fidelity. Just by handling the player out of the secure packaging, I can tell that the build quality was excellent. The layout is as simple as it gets, the buttons feel secure when you press them and give a satisfying click. The display can be dimmed or turned off if you don't care to know how far you are into the music track or what music track you're on. No matter where this player stands in your audio set-up, you can always count on it! I am most impressed with the transport mechanism. It's extremely smooth, stable, and very quiet! Thank you NAD for not abandoning music lovers and audiophiles with an affinity for compact discs and huge CD collections!

Pros: Impressive transport mechanism, excellent build quality, and simple button layout.

Cons: I am not sure how good the DAC is on this CD player. In any case, you should always opt for an external DAC!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Minimalist approach

MarkM from Seattle on 1/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player meets the need for the post-CD era with a minimalist, no frill, solid build and clean line approach. BTW, thanks Crutchfield for the super fast shipping and excellent packaging.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple Yet Solid!

Ramin D. from Alexandria, Virginia on 1/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 2nd NAD CD player (and 3rd NAD product overall) dating back some 20 years. I'm glad to see they haven't changed the streamlined simplicity that guides their continuing engineering philosophy. Not only are there less things that'll go wrong, but you can count on what's there to be of top-notch quality for its affordable price range. Yes, you can believe the consensus of the glorious reviews on this site!

Pros: Simple yet sturdy mechanics and elegant design. Super easy to install and use. Crisp balanced sound without any sound element being too masked or overpowering.

Cons: No ability to skip backward from track 1 to the last track and no display of remaining time on tracks/CD without remote, as was previously available on NAD decks. Also, as another reviewer mentioned, the unit is a bit slow to load the CD in the first place and to skip tracks. These are, however, petty complaints when it comes to the great overall value you get!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Accuracy First and for a Song

Steve T. from Pasadena, California on 12/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Music is a blend of emotion and execution that only a product simply and skillfully designed can convey. This is the soul of the NAD C-516BEE and at a bargain price. The tight bass, neutrality and fluidity make this piece an audio value for those who really know and appreciate well recorded music. I have played in a band and done recording in the past and commend the engineers at NAD for this achievement, complimented by an easy to follow user manual disc, As the young folks say: "It's all good!"

Pros: Great design, expansive image depth and honest sound, with a sleek easy to display appearance

Cons: Just use your amp/receiver headphone input should that option be useful for your listening.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nad 516BEE

HarryA from Puerto Rico on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivers good sound, lightweight, easy to install. Good construction.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CD player static "POPS"

brady from Denver on 11/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried swapping Digital Coaxial cable from "port 1" on back of Peachtree integrated amp "INOVA" ( to eliminate static "POPS"), to "port 2" on back of "INOVA". This worked. Does this mean a fault with "INOVA"? If so, why was there no problem with same "INOVA" and Digital Coaxial and "port 1", using old Marantz 5 disc changer? If you have trouble, try things that don't make sense before sending unit back to Crutchfield. You have 60 days, that is good.

Pros: 1st class procedure for programming tracks of CD. Nice big display, good at 8-10 feet. easy to back up and change programming of 1 track, without changing other tracks. this is my 3rd cd player (#1 a Sony; #2 a Marantz) and this is best for programming. I am very happy so far. NAD has Digital outputs for Optical and Coaxial, (how many ports do you have on back of integrated/pre amp?, 2 each for "INOVA".)

Cons: I know nothing about quality of DAC in NAD player. GO digital, buy a good DAC from Crutchfield, if necessary, DAC should have 2 Optical and 2 Coaxial inputs if possible.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

spartan/quiet

GRIN from COASTAL NC. on 10/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Last updated audio system in 1993 so I was very surprised and pleased with the quietness of operation of the C516BEE cd player. It brings new life to old cds as well as enhancing new recordings

Pros: very quiet and econominal

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Napa, Ca on 10/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect, just what I was looking for to replace an older cheap CD player, this compliments my NAD 7000 series receiver/amp and it's just the perfect compliment to my other NAD component, a very happy camper, love NAD high end products ! Thank you for a great deal and fantastic customer service and fast shipping !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CD player

Dave E from Olympia, WA on 9/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent sound quality. I bought this because it is simple and the money is in the electronics and therefore the sound instead of features like multi disk etc.

Pros: excellent sound quality

Cons: very simple unit. No variable output.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Could not ask for anything more!

Dave M from Newport, RI on 8/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was going to replace my old, broken Sony 5-disc changer with an essentially identical unit. However, after reading reviews, I ultimately switched to this single-disc changer and paid 2x as much. Player arrived and had an obvious defect. Making a very audible, rapid clicking sound. Called Crutchfield and a new player was sent out RIGHT THEN. There was not even a SINGLE bit of resistance from the customer rep. Extremely professional. New one was in place only 2 days later. Could NOT be happier with the service; the defective player was not their fault. Zero problems with the second. Heavy weight and seemingly very sturdy construction. As for the sound - pretty unbelievable! I've always had inexpensive Sony's and can't believe the difference in sound. Truly - you do hear things on CDs that you swear were never there. As for the relatively few features - I could care less. The Sony only had one advantage over this unit - and that was the immediate response whenever you changed tracks; there is definitely a short wait with the NAD. Not a major complaint, whatsoever - it just takes a little getting use to.

Pros: Unbelievable sound. Sturdy construction. Simplistic look.

Cons: Relatively slow when it comes to changing tracks.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic cd player

RobertA from Denver, NC on 8/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cd player is a dream come true for budget minded people looking for no frills fantastic sound. I could not be happier with my selection of this cd player.

Pros: Quality construction, fantastic sound, no frills functionality.

Cons: None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE CD Player

Gary from Troy, NY on 8/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear highs, smooth and silky midrange, impressively bold lows- what can I say? I love this player!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

NAD CD 516 - Good CD Player for Sound Quality

Tom M from Seattle, WA on 8/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I debated for a bit before purchasing this one or one of the many others CD players, both price and brand. I already have another NAD and Nakamichi CD player in other parts of the house and this one was for my music room. That said, when I sampled the Nakamichi I could hear the difference in the sound so I know good players are worth it. This NAD, although a little feature less on the machine does haves the remote to do most functions, has a really really good sound. I run this one through a Marantz amp, and PSB speakers with a pioneer subwoofer. I use it for listening to certain music pieces and specific instruments in those pieces, as well as general music. So far I think it is well worth it.

Pros: Sound quality simple front face Thin does not produce a lot of heat Blue light very quick response with remote moving between songs

Cons: No VU meters like my 1978 Tape Player (really, I love the VU meters still and prefer them over LED meters) Simple front in dashboard (although covered by remote)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Great CD Player

MAF from NC on 7/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to replace a 20-year-old CD player. I reviewed numerous CD players, and the NAD seemed to always come out on top. I now know why. I have been using it about four hours/day, and I could not be happier. I would recommend this CD player without reservation.

Pros: Perfect size; easy setup; very good remote; great price; superb quality.

Cons: I have not found any thus far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Like the NAD

Old Guy from Montgomery AL on 7/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased a NAD C516BEE dedicted CD player and could not be more pleased with the unit considering the price point. This is replacing a 12 year old KLH changer and the difference was instantly noticeable. I played Aja by Steely Dan and Becker's guitar licks were close to a live performance. A huge upgrade from the KLH.

Pros: Crisp clear sound and very simple to operate.

Cons: None at this price point. I would have liked an HDMI output but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Budget oriented high-end

AG from Allentown,PA on 7/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with NAD C316BBE and NHT Super Zero/ Super 8 SUB, sounded fantastic!!! VERY musical and engaging! You can't go worn with this player at this price point!

Pros: Reliable Sony laser drive, small size, quiet and fast operation, brightness display adjustment , remote control with direct tracks access, PRICE!!!!, 2 years NAD warranty, great companion for the C316BBE amplifier - this combination can be easily operated with single remote.

Cons: NOTHING at this price!!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent product

Michael R from Metter, GA on 7/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first NAD CD player - but not my last.

Pros: What a CD player should be; simple to use with optical, co-ax and analog outputs.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Second time is the charmer!

Mikmak from Southern Wisconsin on 7/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to send the first NAD C516Bee back because of a thumping noise that neither NAD nor Crutchfield could solve. But with that excellent customer service exchange plan of Crutchfield I promptly returned it and in a few quick days received the new and improved version. It was worth the wait. Sound is crisp, clear and true, just as the critics had promised. I think I will be set for another 20 years!

Pros: Excellent sound reproduction. Much better than streaming music. Remote allows multiple ways of enjoying music.

Cons: Remote is very limited, but it is the sound quality I wanted and it delivers!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NAD CD player

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 7/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time buyer of NAD product. I have been using my blu-ray dvd player for my music and I was totally ignorant about a dedicated player for CD. After reading a number of audiophile magazines, I became better informed about CD players and selected this NAD 516 player. I like the player's simple and efficient design. The clean sound exceeded my expectation. I heard background instruments I have not heard before. I even borrowed my friends' CD players for comparison and I am glad that I purchased my NAD. I am not knocking the other manufacturers ' product but some have too many bells and whistles to do the same thing. Others were too expensive for my budget. The only gripe I have is that sometimes the player makes a notable spinning noise at the beginning and while playing the CD. I stopped the player, reload and the noise will go away. This issue might be just this player's flaw and I hope it will go away. I am saving my pennies for a NAD integrated amplifier in the near future. I love listening to music and the NAD CD player makes me love my music even more.

Pros: Great sound quality. Simple, easy to use. Modest price for a quality product.

Cons: Periodic notable motor sound

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Easy to use

William R. Townsend from Sarasota, Fla. on 7/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A simple, easy to use, great sounding CD player. It did everything it was advertised to and I really like its small size. Out of the box and playing in 5 minutes. The owners manual was a disk however and to go over some of the other functions I had to stop and use my computer. I prefer a paper copy.

Pros: Good signal to noise ratio. Quality look and feel. Simple and easy to use remote. Low profile. Power on off on the remote..

Cons: None so far other than the maual.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

William from Simi Valley, CA 93065 on 7/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Great sound improvement.

Pros: Looks good with my other NAD equipment.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid component

Dave from Rochester, NY on 6/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the quality build of this unit and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced entry level high end component

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound of simple elegance

larycham from Pensacola, FL on 6/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a great deal of research before selecting the NAD CD player and that research has paid off. The player is a solid, simple and elegant player that immediately made my CDs sound at their best. I guess I was one of those people who believe that a CD player just performs a mechanical function and has little to do with sound quality. This player has proven to me that this is not so. A CD player is an important part of the total system and does indeed contribute to sound quality.

Pros: Simplicity of operation, quality of construction and output.

Cons: I am not aware of any.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD 516B

Dave from Preston CT on 4/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the NAD C 516BEE CD player after my original CD player purchased in 1983 passed on. I already have a 200 CD carousel and was just looking for a replacement single. This CD player is very nice and is noticeably better than my 200 CD player. Even more noticeable was the improvement over the ancient one that died.

Pros: Excellent reproduction of sound. Very nice mechanism, smooth as silk and so far problem free. Simple controls, just a nice player!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Top shelf simplicity

Robert from El Segundo, CA on 4/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first NAD product, I'm not a big audiophile yet i feel like one after my first play on this deck! Simple and too the point to delivery music, that's all I wanted and this player delivered. Great features on remote so as to keep the button clutter down to a minimum on the chassis.

Pros: Super clean finish, smart looking, low profile fit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Steve B from Estacada, OR on 4/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The reviews on this CD player nailed it! I will recommend this product and Crutchfield to all my friends

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

An affordable NAD

JP from Cincinnati on 3/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will be frank. I got this particular CD player for two reasons: 1) it's a NAD and will probably fetch a higher price on the used market should I ever decide to sell it and 2) its signal-to-noise ratio is considerably less than the competitors in the price range. I have it running through an old Rotel receiver from the 70's and it sounds great. No noticeable improvement or diminishment in perceived sound quality from the Sony professional CD player it replaced. It does everything I want it do and is simple to use. If you listen to music for any great deal of time, a dedicated CD player with a simple screen and dedicated buttons to cover the major functions makes the experience ever the more enjoyable. I know that sounds silly in this age of touch screens and features-galore but there really still is a place for single-purpose devices. I only wish it came in silver/stainless steel (to match that old Rotel).

Pros: Elegant look and probably higher resale value than its competitors. Excellent S/N ratio (if you're into that kind of thing). ZERO bells and whistles

Cons: Sluggish initial disc loading; once it's loaded, though, it's a fast as any other CD player Chassis is too light. The force required to push any of the buttons on the front panel and to close the CD tray (sans button, ie the wrong way) is nearly the same amount of force required to move the whole thing. You can get used to it but it's a strange experience when you mean to move to the next track but the whole CD player slides. ZERO bells and whistles

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

NAD CD Player

AlbertM from Philadelphia,Pa on 3/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. awesome sound quality. very clean sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic CD Player

WR from Shamong, NJ on 3/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this CD player. This was a replacement for an old Marantz dvd/cd player and the sound quality is outstanding. Very clear and distinct audio quality as I can hear other instruments in my music I have never noticed before.

Pros: Crystal clear sound at a reasonable price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice gear

ObetMac from Lake county, FL on 2/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what i expected it to do.

Pros: Nice player, simple n clean looks. Sounds great !

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Crutchfield customer from Shady Cove, OR on 2/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent CD player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Satisfied

Lewis from East Greenbush, NY on 2/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good crisp sound. Excellent value for the price. For me a '5' has a special wow factor which this unit does not provide. But it does fall into the next category. Unless you are a pro, I would recommend this product.

Pros: Very good sound, easy to connect, remote has all required functions.

Cons: No wow factor

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

fvd from roseburg, oregon on 2/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars for quality of sound. A significant improvement over the multidisc changer previously used. Compact and able to fit in my homemade stereo cabinet.....a not insignificant plus.

Pros: great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE - Clear, clean sound!

Kev from Dallas, TX on 1/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This single play NAD unit replaced an Onkyo changer that was several years old and displaying signs of its imminent demise. While the Onkyo sounded good, the NAD is so much clearer. It has a very natural sound. It also has a very simple, modern design that looks terrific. Would certainly recommend it!

Pros: Great sound, simple to operate. Two year warranty;of course, I hope to never have to use it!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

WOW !!!???

Steve C from Florida on 12/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After many a night of reading reviews on several cd players at Crutchfield I chose the NAD based on the reviews and the specs most notably the signal to noise ratio of 118. I have a very discerning ear when it comes to music so with that in mind I connected the NAD to a Yamaha RXA 720 using analog to use what I believed to be a superior DAC(192 kHz/24-bit Sigma/Delta) in the NAD vs the Yamaha (Burr Brown DAC). I copied a cd of outstanding sound quality to play simultaneously in the NAD and a DVD player that came out of a home theater in a box from another reputable brand name, Pioneer. The Pioneer DVD player is 10 years old and by simply selecting either player and waiting enough time to enjoy the song and for my ears to pick out each instrument clearly I could not tell any difference at all. So the WOW!!!??? factor is because I already had a great multi-player in the DVD player and disappointed that I can't write as good a review as others have. I am keeping the NAD because I have wanted a dedicated CD player and I believe I purchased a good one and I love the simplicity of this player. I am not experienced in this thing called the(burn in period) but who knows maybe it will work even if it is the placebo affect. If I believe it sounds better maybe it will. For right now I am taking a wait and see approach then I'll perform the same sound test again as before and update this review if I am able to. Update 1/05/2014: After further review of various cds and more time to listen and compare, listening to the NAD I can hear background instruments that I have not heard before and the lead instruments are cleaner, clearer and more to real life. Is this the placebo effect I described in my earlier review? I don't think so. Slide in your favorite cd, get in your sweet spot and prepare to smile and say, that sounds good, REALLY, REALLY GOOD! I am changing my 4 star rating to a 5 star rating only because I can't give it a 6 star rating.

Pros: Well made, simple, very quick response, remote is just right.

Cons: Don't expect to hear as much of a difference as what you might think you'll hear.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Very nice source

Reynolds531 from St. Louis on 12/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD 516 BEE cd player is a step change improvement over playing CDs using a Phillips DVD player like I had been. I have it connected to a NAD 316BEE amp and old JBL L100T speakers. There are way too many 5's in these reviews. For me a 5 means it is in the top 10% of similar products. I do recommend buying one. CDs on a good cd player sound a lot better than mp3s you can get a lot of great used CDs in perfect condition for $5 or less and build up a great library of music

Pros: Clean, crystal clear sound without noticeable coloration. Nice price

Cons: Wish it had an optical input. The loading mechanism is not very refined

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great CD player for a reasonable price

Russ from Cumberland, RI on 12/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD 516 BEE is all it is hyped up to be. I have it with an old NAD 7200 and new Paradigm SE3 speakers and the sound is great. I listen primarily to classical music and this combination gives a good approximation of a concert hall, especially on good CDs.

Pros: Reasonable price, great sound

Cons: None noted yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent high end CD player

JoeDX from Middletown NY on 11/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fist off, as we all must understand, an audio system is only as good as its weakest link. Also in audio, you reach a point of "diminishing returns" at one point or another. Having said that.......... I have a older, great sounding NAD C350 amp and great speakers. However my CD player (from a well known brand that cost 1/3 the C516BEE ) was a weak link in my system . My mp3s tended to sound better, etc. So, I ordered a NAD C516BEE. hoping it was as good as my NAD amp Well, the difference/improvement was/is well worth the money. Everything is clearer and and more natural sounding. All "muddiness" an distortion caused by the former CD player is gone. Of course, no CD player can perform miracles with poorly recorded CDs but, at least it will not add distortion. Should you get one? Do you get returns for you money? A definite yes, if the rest of your system is good enough to reveal the improvements of the C516BEE.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: If I were to fault one thing, it is you do not have the ability to tun the unit completely off. It's always on standby with an amber LED but that only draws1/3 watt .

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Quality CD player

camelbak from Seattle, WA on 10/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C 516BEE delivers excellent performance for a reasonable price point. This replaces my old NAD player purchased in 1986 and the upgrade has to be heard to be believed. An aesthetically pleasing piece of equipment that will undoubtedly live up to past NAD standards and performance. I am so glad I purchased this player.

Pros: Quality audio reproduction at an affordable price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

tcg1122 from Tierra Verde, Fl on 9/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your on a budget and are looking or the best sounding CD player for the price, give the NAD C 516BEE a listen. Typical NAD build quality.

Pros: Sound. give it a listen.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Rick from N.C. on 8/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Somebody stole all my CD's, that's right...stole them , cleaned the muddiness off of them & replaced them in the exact same place in my CD library. That's exactly what you'll be saying when you listen to your CD's when played by the NAD C 516BEE. If your in the market for a new CD player loosen up the wallet & spend a little more for this one, you won't be sorry. You will find yourself spending too much time listening to your CD's all over again because you'll hear them in a way you never did before you owned this machine. The sound is open & very clean & exciting. The Nad C 516BEE operates & plays flawlessly, I own "Older" NAD stereo equipment & the new is that much better, so don't be afraid to step up to this player if your looking for a not real expensive machine but one with excellecent qualities & you won't believe how the old stereo & speakers sound now. The only problem is you'll be wanting to upgrade everything else in your system, but that could be a good thing.

Pros: It's an NAD what more do I need to say!

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

great CD player

Chris from asheville nc on 8/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the NAD Cd player to replace a 17 year old Sony "discman" that I have been using.. I figured that if I got a higher quality Cd player that it would produce a better signal which would give me better sound.. Boy, oh Boy, is the NAD a BIG improvement in sound quality..I have only listened to 2 cds at the time of my writing the review and am amazed at the sound quality difference from a Live cd... I see no reason to list what type of equipment i use, technical specs, or what kind of music I like because we are all different and likely have different equipment and different tastes in music.. some reviews suggest that cd players need up to a week of break in to sound their best, but mine is great right out of the box, so if the sound does get better after break in, ok by me.. I was a little put off after finding out the [player is made in china , but it seems that they were able to accurately translate and meet NAD's specs... I was also a little put of by a mediocre review by another purchaser, but hey, maybe he did get a dud unit and he's entitled to his opinion... i just don't agree with him or his mediocre rating..

Pros: very nice unit, easy to operate, no unnecessary frills, great sound without having to pay $1000 or more

Cons: made in China, owner's "manual is on a Cd rom,, not paper... one more thing I gotta mess with , update my "reader" software that I never use, and figure out instead of just opening up and reading...

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Is it me or does this unit sound so-so?

Capt. Sticky from Joisy on 8/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After all of the glowing reviews, I couldn't wait to receive my brandy new NAD Cd player. I had been listening to a Sony 5 cd player i had picked up about 3 months earlier for 1/3 the price of the NAD unit. I hadn't expected the NAD to sound 3 times as good, But I had hoped I could discern some difference in the sound. Talk about anti-climatic. To my ears sounds pretty much exactly like the Sony. Even though I doubt it makes any difference , I let it burn in for a few days. Still pretty much the same. I have it hooked up to a vintage Marantz 3600 preamp, Marantz Model 240 Amp Putting out a conservative 125 watts per channel, feeding a brand new pair of Polk audio TSI-4 floor standing speakers. It may be my 59 year old ears, but I suspect not. Maybe it's a defective unit? Where's all of the warmth and clarity I had read of.

Pros: Small size and cute spartan design.

Cons: Sounds as good as players costing 1/3 the price.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 23 found this helpful

Money well spent, NAD. C 516BEE

Mark_D from South Elgin, IL on 8/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reasonably priced. Looks good. Very smooth drawer operation. No frills (this is a plus). Most important is the sound quality...could not be better! If you buy it you will be pleased with your decision. Crutchfield had it to my door in two days, great customer service.

Pros: Solid build. Looks good. Sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great cd player; excellent price

JohnD from Oakland, CA on 7/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old (NAD) cd player died after many years of excellent service. I wanted to stay with NAD because I am a little bit picky about sound but I am also a cheapskate. So I focused on the most economical cd player from NAD. The player plays all my computer generated discs without any problem and they sound very good indeed. My only quibble is that this model does not display the full set of track numbers on the front panel, so when I play tracks randomly I cannot keep track of what I have heard and what is still to be played. If I had really wanted this feature I could have read the specs more carefully and paid a little more. But no regrets.

Pros: Excellent sound; has played everything I have thrown at it; good price.

Cons: Does not display tracks played on front panel.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great value CD player

TR from Tempe AZ on 7/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this NAD CD player to complement my NAD receiver. It arrived in perfect shape and has performed flawlessly. Best of all, my NAD receiver remote will operate the much newer NAD CD player.

Pros: Attractive case, quiet drawer mechanism

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

wallace from Charlottesville,VA on 7/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a great cd player for a decent price. This bad boy has a clean sound to my ears.I think you would have to pay a lot more money to get the sound this unit produces.

Pros: very impressive sound plays what the cd has to offer pure sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

richo from Santa Cruz, CA on 6/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with the sound quality of this unit. It goes to prove that a lot of the negative rap that cd sound quality has gotten over the years is due in great part to cheap and inferior DA converters. CDs sound open and smooth with good definition. I do wish that the features for programming that are only accessible via the remote were also accessible via the front panel of the unit itself. The error correction seems rather fussy too as I've had cds with relatively small scratches experience skipping. The unit plays burned mp3 discs just fine. Tray seems a little flimsy and resistant when closing by hand. A good unit for the price point but not perfect. Always a pleasure doing business with Crutchfield.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Lack of programming via the front panel

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

great cd player

Crutchfield customer from san mateo on 6/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player .nice clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CD Player meets expectations

Kopfschlaeger from Clayton. MO 63105 on 6/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The player met all expectations. Given the price, the product is excellent. Of course, sound, etc. depend on more than the CD player! It depends on good electronics, good speakers and good location of speakers in a good space. My space is an ordinary bourgeois living room, stuffed furniture and an area rug. The speakers are of good quality (moderate price) and the amp/preamp is of very good quality. CDs vary in quality and never reach the clarity of LPs except perhaps in solo or small group performances. My criticism refers to string quartets and large orchestras.

Pros: Ease of use and clarity/balance of sound

Cons: nothing to speak of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

Bill C from Bozeman, MT on 6/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great single CD player, works perfectly, good value for the price. Coupled with DiMarzio interconnect cables it sounds top notch.Timely shipping and very well packed.

Pros: Exactly as advertised. It plays all my old scratched CD's without a stutter.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD CD player

Alexandra from Glendale, CA on 5/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this as a birthday present fro my husband, and he cannot stop raving about it. The sound is outstanding, it plays CDs recorded from MP3 without an issue, and it is user friendly in every way. This CD player is in evry way the best you can buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Expensive Sound - Reasonable Price

JT Mann from King Of Prussia, PA on 5/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received this yesterday as a replacement for a Sony CD recorder that I can't.use anymore. I paired this with a set of Audioquest Golden Gate RCA cables and this combination impresses through my Onkyo TX-NR1010. Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells, a staple of any stereo demo room in the 70s, sounds exquisite. All in all an impressive sounding bargain.

Pros: audiophile performance at an extremely reasonable price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great and Reliable CD player

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 5/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little puppy is awesome! CD player this good for less then $300. Can't beat that! Quality sound, great all-in-all features!

Pros: Great sound! Easy to use. Perfect size.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C-516BEE

J S from Pelahatchie MS on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent CD player, never knew what a high end CD player sounded like till I got this in and hooked it up! The details and sounds you hear are amazing, it's like revisiting your CD collection all over again.

Pros: Price, sound quality, ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy - NAD C 516BEE

Lee S. from New York, NY on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced similar single disk NAD that was 20 years old and what a difference.. Great but for the price. You get a great performing player.

Pros: Great sound and looks great. Simple operation. Great sound - clear and crisp through the entire spectrum.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love everything about it

DaveG from Baltimore, MD on 4/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Sony ES-series CD player that bit the dust at the very moment the C-516BEE's predecessor went out of stock. Terrible timing -- I was stuck playing CDs on a mediocre DVD player until this was available! But it was worth the wait. Even compared with the higher-end Sony, guitars sound crunchier on David Bowie's The Next Day, the rhythm section sounds tighter on Jean-Luc Ponty's Imaginary Voyage, Gwyneth Jones' voice sounds more luminous on Bernstein's recording of Der Rosenkavalier. (Alas the distortion and artifacts are magnified on the horrendous Collectors Choice remasters of Dionne Warwick's early Bacharach/David collaborations. Oh well.) All in all, a terrific "budget audiophile" choice.

Pros: Outstanding sound, solid construction

Cons: No downsides!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C 516BEE

GStubbs from Marietta, SC on 4/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD Player! Very smooth and warm sounding! No digital harshness here! Vocals/cymbals are lush and sparkly sounding without excessive "sizzle" that can come with cd players. Great looking player without unecessary bells and whistles. Would love to hear some of NAD's upper end stuff...

Pros: Warm and lush sounding, especially on the high end.

Cons: Not crazy about the remote, but it works. Seems a little cheap for a $300 CD player.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great CD Player for the Money

Brian B. from Chicago, IL on 3/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a reasonably priced CD player but am very picky about sound quality - especially with CDs. I don't always like the sound of digital media and still love listening to quality analog records and tapes, but I have to say this player sounds excellent and better than some friends' players some of which I know cost quite a bit more.

Pros: Sounds great for the price and better more than more expensive players I've listened to, with a very wide dynamic range and natural, open balance. Transport is smooth, quiet and responsive, and seems very solid. Simple and attractive appearance.

Cons: None that I have discovered.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Five Star Rating.....

John T from Charlottesville, VA on 3/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was shopping for a single cd player in this price range and came across the NAD 516BEE. What impressed me the most was the looks of the player, the price and the technical specifications. None of the other brand cd players in this price range have 118db signal to noise ratio or a 2 year warranty. It has to be noted that NAD products are of outstanding quality, I continue to use the first amp NAD produced, it is the NAD 3020

Pros: Pros: Sound quality is excellent. Crisp sound throughout the sound spectrum. I heard sounds in the higher spectrum that I did not hear on my previous player. The slide tray is solid. Opens and closes very smoothly. The remote control is well made and functional. The owner's manual is on a CD. This is a very impressive product and I am a very satisfied customer. NAD good job on this quality product. Great job JC of Crutchfield. Sales person like you is what makes me come back to

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP