Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

NAD C 546BEE

CD player

MFR # C546BEE

NAD C 546BEE

NAD C 546BEE

CD player

MFR # C546BEE

87 reviews
View this product

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Manitou Springs, CO on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is such a vast improvement over my previous cd player. I never realized how much I was missing. Sweet, sweet music! Plus, it arrived ahead of scheduled delivery date. I haven't used the usb input yet, so "no comment" there

Pros: captures all the little nuances from low to high

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely Happy with this purchase!

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 6/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extraordinary and unexpected sound quality. I purchased this to replace my Sony ES 5 disc player. I had always heard that NAD was much hgher end gear, but went with Sony ES for the "deal" and reputation. I am hearing music from my discs that I have never heard before! Thanks Crutchfield for the great recommendation about this CD player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

San Rafael

Robert from San Rafael on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just quit working after about 2 years. Rarely used. Piece of junk. NO service center in northern California. Shipping and repair costs probably about half the cost of the item. Never again will I buy anything from NAD

Pros: None

Cons: Don't waste your money. Stopped reading discs after about 2-3 years minimal use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Look NO Further...

William from Lafayette, IN on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stunning quality. The build, look, and sound is all TOP-NOTCH. You simply can't go wrong here!!

Pros: Build design, looks, features, and sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic sound, classic NAD. Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, OH on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace my NAD 5060 (circa 1992) and pair it up with my old 7100 receiver. Plus some new KEF Q350's purchased from Crutchfield and I love it! I hooked up a cheap old unit as a bandaid and it showed in stark contrast what a difference the CD player makes. I also love the minimalist styling of NAD. She looks right at home with her big brother.

Pros: Clean sound, clean look, solid unit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent player

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this player a little over a month ago to replace a old pioneer pd-f1006 { vintage 1997} cd player. So far i have about 56 hrs of playing time and no mechanical problems. This player lives up to what the manufacturer claims . . It is a excellent piece of equipment . Its simple,sleek ,and fairly heavy . . Reminds me of the quality of material used in earlier in the past. ref. 1960's. Read comment from people about certain audio material heard from surrounding speakers when playing cd's. Yes, i have notice this to !... WOW..... I highly recommend this machine .

Pros: quality,design,

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Dale from Bellaire, MI on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not put a lot of time on the unit yet, but from what I can see (and hear), this unit is a real winner. Smooth operation and great sound. Enough said!

Pros: Great sound, good looks, professional feel.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great little player

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality! Also has digital output for X ternal dac

Pros:

Cons: Great little playerNo downsides

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Joseph from Palm Coast, FL on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a great unit to say the least.i have saved music data on CD disks and to my surprise they played.very nice unit matched it up with the nad 388 just sweet....

Pros: Works well plays all of my music easy to use so nice ..

Cons: No cons works great

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sound comes first

Timothy from Bethel, AK on 9/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm tired of computers constantly 'upgrading' with features and sound changing. My Blu-ray changed its coloration and stopped being gapless. I wanted something made correctly and unchanging. Buttons are simple. I don't know how but the sound now is spread across the front of my room. The sound is clear. I'm using it with Cambridge Azure 751 and old Klipsch Cornwalls

Pros: No internet Great sound Rapid response from NAD website

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

BEWARE

Peter from Wakefield, RI on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did not buy the CD player from Crutchfield as the product was out of stock at the time. BUT, after I purchased elsewhere I used the the CD player TWICE and a CD got stuck inside. So I had to open the unit to retrieve the CD. NAD Customer Service (by email) sent me off to a repair service in another state. BEWARE.

Pros: Does an okay job.

Cons: Quality of the transport is very poor!!.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 24 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Lyle from Atlanta, GA on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The specifications were excellent and the performance did not disappoint. It is a clean, compact design and intuitive interface. I am very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Muskego, WI on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent customer service, decided to replace my 20 year old plus Technics which was still working fine. I've been replacing some components and cables and this player added to the overall tonal quality.

Pros: Excellent player

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Sakari from Greybull, WY on 4/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Match's well with the NAD Amp. that I purchased. Together they put out some clear powerful sounds, and I love the deep richness that I get out of the speakers they were matched up with.

Pros: Easy to connect and simple to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Riverdale, NY on 2/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent CD player. Easy to connect up to my NAD amplifier c368. Together they are producing a high quality sound-actually the best sounding audio I ever had (using the digital optical cable). It's a crisp, clear sound with excellent bass. Sgt Pepper's LHCB sounds incredible and my Steven Wilson cd's have never sounded so good. I highly recommend both NAD products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Douglas from Litchfield Pk, AZ on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent sound.

Pros: price point

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Jerry Rombach from Sterling, AK on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only a few days old, but a perfect complement to our new Klipsch Reference Speakers and Yamaha integrated amp. Simple to set up and operate, and so far, our CDs have never sounded better. A nice looking piece of our overall system.

Pros:

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a NAD integrated amp from you this year after a lot of research and find it to be very good. So when it came time to purchase a new CD player I was comfortable with the NAD product. I've had it for about a month and so far it works very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I heartily reccommend this cd player.

Ronald from Denton, TX on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this NAD C 546BEE cd player to replace an aging NAD C 515BEE. I was going to go with the NAD C 516BEE, but decided to upgrade and I am glad that I did. I have the unit paired with a NAD C 356 BEE integrated amplifier and a Bowers & Wilkins C5 speaker system. The NAD amp produces very efficient clean power and the B&W speakers have great clarity. The new C 546BEE is a terrific match and brings the system to a whole new level. With the "Tone Defeat" (sometimes called direct signal) engaged, the sound from the 546 sounded just a bit to bright on the high end for my taste. But, after turning off the "Tone Defeat" the sound was awesome. Full and rich and clear, I am hearing things on my cds that I've never heard before. I am not a hard-core audiophile, but I have had many stereo components and have been listening to music for a long time, and I heartily recommend this cd player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Disc skips

Igor from Chicago, IL on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

(1) makes rambiling noise (2) random disc skip randomly

Pros: sound good

Cons: disk skips

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 11/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't be fooled by the seemingly simple design as this unit is an absolute beast! You can't beat the price for the sound this player delivers. I am thrilled!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

very clean sound, few gimmicks!

Edward from Boulder, CO on 7/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this NAD C546BEE to replace my old NAD 514, which couldn't be repaired after 20 years of good service. I prefer the 546 over the (less expensive) 516, because the 516 has a switching power supply (usually not as reliable as a transformer). Like most NAD products, their CD players produce a very clean sound, and don't include a lot of gimmicky features that I don't want and would not use. I gave it 4 (rather than 5) stars because the 546 does not include power management: I would prefer a unit which is able to put itself into power standby mode after it has been idle for an hour or so.

Pros: clean sound longevity (likely based on experience with NAD 514) not gimmicky (other than the SOURCE button/USB jack - I won't be playing music via the jack)

Cons: No power management For users who want to play music from a USB thumb drive, the 546 supports only WMA & MP3 formats (AAC/m4a excluded) The CD9 remote control is too large/bulky

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Jonathan from Long Beach, CA on 7/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this CD player last week and boy was I surprisingly impressed with the quality of music this gem produces. The music comes out so crystal clear, it's very close to the quality of sound coming from my Rega RP3 turntable (no kidding). The DAC on this unit is excellent! The face is very streamlined and sleek-- stunning! Even the remote control of this unit is heavy, proof of its quality. For almost $500, it is worth every penny. I highly, highly recommend this CD player. No disappointments here. Levi from Crutchfield was very patient and helpful (thanks Levi!). Keep up the good work in your customer service department. All consumers appreciate this. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Warm, crystal clear sound. Streamline and sleek look.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

The Real Deal

Ted from Honolulu, HI on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want a clean sound that is perfect balanced with excellent separation, get this one. At this price, it cannot be beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Fernandina Beach, FL on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb product at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

New life for old CD's

Charles from WA on 5/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This machine has what I want in a player - good solid construction, excellent sound production, no silly frills, and easy/straight forward controls. It plays nearly any format on disk and does a great job on scratched/damaged disks.. I connected it with the RCA cables that came with it to utilize the Wolfzen 24 bit DAC and it sounds great. I run it through an 9 year old Denon 1708 receiver and 20+ year old KEF Uni-Q speakers.

Pros: solid construction, great sound, east to connect and use.

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Clean and crisp

Doug from Newark, OH on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it! This thing outperforms my old Sony by leaps and bounds. It looks and sounds great. clean and crisp! A long overdue upgrade to my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Peacham, VT on 2/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This NAD player is so much better than my old Sony changer. I can now understand the lyrics to Hamilton without referring to the printed copy. And classical music sounds much clearer and so much more natural.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Bill from Bradenton Fl on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned NAD gear over the years,still have my double cassette deck and it performs great,and have always found it to be a great value,. Good sounding without spending a fortune. The same can be said for this CD player. I replaced an older player,over 10 years,and I notice an immediate improvement,tighter bass and more detail are apparent. The layout is simple and functional,I'm very happy with my pirchase.

Pros: Great sound low price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Greg from The woods near La Grange, MO on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It seems ok in most respects. It's a pain to program a series of songs on a disk on the dumb remote. That function should be faster, easier, less involved, less button pushing.

Pros:

Cons: stupid programing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player. Very simple to use. Sounds quality is very good and the enhanced DAC system on this is clear to us as listeners. Would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best CD player I've ever owned.

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best CD player I have ever owned or, for that matter, ever heard. The sound reproduction quality is superb across all types of music, from classical to jazz to blues to rock to country--just outstanding.

Pros: See above.

Cons: Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Bob from Wappingers Falls, NY on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my vintage gear , sound stage was open and music more forward than my last player

Pros: This player adds so much more sound stage and detail love it

Cons: CD drawer is a little awkward could be a little more forward

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to replace my 5 CD player from Marantz that died after a couple of years use. The NAD C 546BEE has proven to be a great replacement as it is very elegant and simple. The installation was very easy and it played just out of the box. The sound is excellent and driven by a 42 year old Sansui amplifier going to two pairs of 30 year old magnaplan speakers. I expect that the quality of the NAD will match those of the rest of my system. Crutchfield service, promptness and customer oriented made this a great purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just the recording. Nothing else.

Rob from Lincolnton, NC on 10/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking for a source for CD and MP3. This is the best I could get within my budget.

Pros: It reproduces what is on the CD or MP3. Nothing else. Just like it's supposed to do. Has a remote control too.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Jeff from Guthrie, OK on 9/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was just what I was looking for a CD player with usb and quality sound without breaking the bank. This unit really sound great for the money would have to spend a lot more to get anything better.

Pros: Accurate sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sound, nice price!

Mikaele from Waipahu, HI on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, I like NAD products. Have an Intergraded amp over 15 years and works like a charm! The sound from the C546BEE suits my hearing pleasure.

Pros: Nice sound, nice price.

Cons: No headphone input

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic CD Player Value

Jim K from Brooklyn, NY on 7/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My rating is based on sound quality & functionality for the price. I have always appreciated the NAD approach: excellent sound without gimmicks. This player is part of my basic system that includes an NAD integrated amp; I also own a more elaborate audiophile system. The NAD delivers detailed sound that is not harsh, with an excellent soundstage. The layout is simple & a joy to use.

Pros: The NAD approach to sound - accurate. Easy to use due to basic, well thought out layout. Excellent remote control.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good Value

Fred from Willards, MD on 6/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently added a pair of top of the line Polk LSI bookshelf speakers to my stereo only audio system and they sounded so good I concluded that I needed to upgrade my electronics for the speakers to reveal their full potential. Prior to buying the NAD C 546BEE I was using a mid-grade Denon DVD player thru a Denon 100 watt per stereo receiver. The NAD was a subtle improvement. Can't really put my finger on it but the NAD provided a slightly smoother sound w/ a slightly better sound stage. Bass response seemed a bit tighter. I was not able to do an A/B comparison, hence my inability to say exactly how much & where the NAD was a better performer. I only know that, overall, there was a sense of all around better sound reproduction. I suppose for me to hear the full potential of this NAD i will need to upgrade my amplifier. (Parasound seperates is my goal) Ninety nine % of my CD collection is based on MP3 files so I was EXTREMELY limited in my choice of CD platforms. Crutchfield agents were very helpful in discussion of my options and in making my decision.

Pros: Heavy, well-built unit - Solid & smooth tray operation - Easy to use - Very reasonable price for an audiophile grade CD platform - I would highly recommend to anyone needing an MP3 capability...

Cons: None so far - (I actually expect even better sound after an amplification upgrade...)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

An Excellent Unit

Jeff J from Dublin, OH on 5/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the fourth C.D. player (single disc) that I have owned with the others having been of lesser quality than this one. I have heard things with this player that were not evident on my previous players and the sound is balanced, natural, and clear without being harsh or with boosted treble, yet it doesn't sound "filtered". I have become much more aware of the nuances between top quality vs. lesser quality recordings. It will play C.D.'s that 2 of my previous players would not. All the controls and remote work well and are simpler and more logical to operate than other players that I've had. The track selection/play knob on the unit is a great feature for choosing 1 or 2 songs to play immediately or to skip around on a C.D. if you don't want to use the remote. Everything operates more quickly with this unit and it is MUCH heavier than my previous players. I have 2 component systems in separate rooms, but if the C.D. player on my other system quit today, I would be on the phone to order this same NAD unit. I can't speak to long-term reliability, but the build quality seems to excellent. Thanks to Crutchfield for the assistance in finding what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Simple, solid unit

Jmwskipper from Austin, TX on 3/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player that is simple. Using it as transport to external DAC. Used with multiple, large subwoofers with no skipping issues

Pros: 12v trigger input Joystick control VFD display Accepatable analog output Displays track information Clean front panel

Cons: no 12v trigger output Stop button is also eject. 2 pushes needed if CD is playing and you want to change.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE disc reading error

Dave from corning, NY on 3/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received the player on time, in great shape and at a reduced price due to a open box offer. Firstly , the player has a very open, warm and revealing sound played through my Marantz receiver. I especially found the bass to be much tighter and more controlled. I love the way this CD player sounds and operated. However, over the last couple weeks I noticed that when I put a CD in I get a disc reading error 8 times out of 10 The player hasn't been moved and great care is always used while in operation. In my opinion, a CD player in this price range should last more than 2 years. I have a 15 year old Sony DVD/CD player that still works very nice although it doesn't compare to the sound quality of the NAD. 4 stars for sound quality and 1 star for reliability/quality. Maybe this was one in a thousand with this particular problem.

Pros: Wonderful sound reproduction at a reasonable price.

Cons: Disc reading problems shouldn't be an issue with a player this old.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Worth every penny

DMM from Olympia, WA on 1/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C 546BEE is the second CD player I've owned. The first one was an NAD 5000 I bought around 25 years ago; it's a model so old that few people, aside from the NAD company's archivist, have heard of it. These are the only two CD players I've heard directly; the others all were FM broadcast studio equipment or other equipment at second remove from my ears. The C 546BEE feeds a clear, rich, detailed signal to my Linn preamp, thence to my Linn amp and speakers, all 25 years old. The NAD comes with a few functions I'll never use, but the one I care about most, the clean sound, it superbly carries out.

Pros: Exquisite sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

BAD-C 546BEE

Music Child from North Carolina on 1/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

People wouldn't be interested in this product if they didn't genuinely care about the sound. And the sound is amazing. Too many times, even expensive players push the highs up slightly, I guess to make it sound crisper. It registers in the mind. But, listener fatigue quickly sets in. NAD has always provided quality products and this is no exception. I love the neutrality of the music. It isn't trying to push something at you. And the quality is clean and true. For the money, this thing is a great buy. If you don't have good electronics up front, this might persuade you to replace an amplifier if needed to match the this player. it will last for years and ultimately be a good investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

NAD C546BEE

GlennS from Marietta, SC on 1/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome player! Had the 516 which is great also, but stepped up to the 546. Very lush and deep, rich sound! Sounded incredible right out of the box!

Pros: Just sounds great. Simple as that.

Cons: Had to send my original back...had some vibrations issues which NAD said came from being misaligned. Crutchfield is sending the replacement as this is being written.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Don from Sacramento, California on 12/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

See my review of NAD 356DAC that I paired with this via an optical cable. I'm new to the NAD brand and instantly became a loyal follower.

Pros: Great quality all around and excellent value for the money.

Cons: I listen to a lot of music that is on two discs and wish both could be loaded at the same time. A carousel is too much but two slots would be a nice convenience. Not a deal breaker by any means, I would buy the NAD again in an instant.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Worthy replacement

Procrustes from New Jersey on 10/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 80s vintage Kyocera 710 CD player went to its reward recently and I needed a quality replacement. NADs had always interested me because of their conservative approach to unit styling and intent to place the value in the machinery. I searched online and admit I never auditioned any of the decks I considered. The NAD c546 bee is a competent, slick deck that punches above its weight. The rest of my system is equally vintage: a Luxman R 1070 85 wpc receiver powers two AR 9 speakers (120 lbs. per, each with two side firing twelves for bass). The sound was initially too bright for me and I attenuated the high range and upper mid-range by 3db using selector switches on the ARs. That smoothed things out nicely and the system sounds as before, though with some enhancements. The NAD reveals a depth of detail in the music, (mostly jazz and classical) that wasn't available before. The deck's functionality is excellent. Controls are intuitive and response to commands almost immediate.

Pros: Depth and clarity. Simple, responsive switch gear.

Cons: A bit bright, though easily controlled.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great CD player!

RickL from North Carolina on 9/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this CD Player since the Spring of 2015, while trying to replace a great old Nakamichi CDPlayer2. I tried a Marantz 6005 that gets great reviews but sounded bright to me: just a little overbearing in the treble range. The Onkyo C7030, while a great budget machine, didn't sound as musical to me as my old Nak or the Marantz. I tried a Cambridge that was on special elsewhere: OK, OK, I finally took the advice of a Crutchfield staffer and tried the NAD. "Ding: Winner!" This player has greater clarity and weight than I have found elsewhere. It never sounds veiled, or lacking in detail, but the notes also sound real: resonant instruments have the proper timbre and there is a natural quality to the overall sound that you will just have to hear. It might not decode FLAC files or have a built in iPod dock, but it does the most important thing incredibly well: music sounds real. The interface is also very simple and the control "knob", although a bit different, is really well thought out an intuitive. Anyway, NAD usually has home runs with products that eschew extra features but give "next price level" sound. In that sense this player is typical of the best of NAD.

Pros: Sounds the best of anything I could find at or near it's price (and IMHO, it wasn't close).

Cons: None, really. The USB is well designed for use with thumb drives, and the deck can be optimized with a choice of wide (better for Hi Fi) or narrow (generally better for MP3 digital filters, but doesn't work with FLAC files, which could matter to some.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Better than the Marantz cd6005

DavidW from South Carolina on 9/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player produces a much more natural sound as compared to the Marantz cd6005. The Marantz was overly bright, which gives a false impression of detail but is fatiguing. This NAD player is tonally neutral and forgiving of old recordings, but is more detailed than the Marantz player. I can easily hear microphonic detail through my speakers, something I'm only using to hearing through headphones. But the sound is musical, not analytical. I can notice problems with older recordings, and recordings with poor microphone replacement but they are not irritating or unlistenable. The cd player turns on and loads cds fast. Far faster than the Onkyo player (C-7030) that is my backup. Cd text is present but not intrusive. The remote is intuitively laid out. Programming tracks is not as fast as with the Onkyo (you have to take the extra step of hitting enter after selecting each track to confirm your decision) but leads to less mistakes. Something the Marantz player was missing was an eject button on the controller, this controller has an eject button. Playback of mp3 files from a usb device works very well. It is quick and easy to navigate through folders (the buttons to do so are even clearly marked on the remote). In contrast the Marantz player had such counterintuitive controls and such a useless manual that it took me close to 10 minutes to figure out how to change folders. Unfortunately, this NAD player does not support FLAC playback, which for the price it should.

Pros: Intuitive controls Fast loading Exceptional sound quality Tonally accurate Remarkable detail retrieval

Cons: Does not support FLAC

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great NAD cd player!

Bryan from Washington on 9/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted a great sounding CD player but I am a "kiss" kind of guy and have no use for bells, whistles, lights and curb appeal. The NAD 546BEE hits the sweet spot! Incredibly easy to set up and use and blows away my old Sony 400 disc changer. Been collecting CD's since my teens and now that I am much older I finally have time and an excuse to enjoy them all over again and hear what I've been missing-which was a lot actually. This NAD player brings out all kinds of clarity and warmth and finesse. And it does this with all kinds of music genres. I have great Energy CONNOISSEUR towers and now they finally have a great compliment of my new NAD 546BEE cd player. I am no audiophile expert but I really do have some cd's that I hear such a huge difference in or I hear details that make the cd play with depth and beauty that I never heard on the Sony player. And did I mention how simple the NAD 546BEE is to set up and use? I am totally content with a product that puts their money in the sound quality rather than in spending money on buttons and gadgetry or lights and glitter! This is my first NAD product and I am highly satisfied with this cd play and have no regrets or reservations about making this purchase/upgrade. Anyone looking for what I have described really shouldn't hesitate to give the NAD546BEE a try. It seems spot on for the money but even more so for the way it brings new life to a 40 year cd collection. Five stars to NAD!

Pros: Super easy to use, bargain price for the way it sounds, makes all my cd's alive and well again.

Cons: The remote is very simple to use as well, but maybe if it was backlit it might be better since i listen late at night in the dark, so not really a con but more of me nitpicking but the nad546bee is still worthy of the five stars.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound but:

Marty from Michigan on 8/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love that NAD sound, however, why a nonfunctional USB port? Marantz and Yamaha have USB port that iPod and iPhone can use for connection so the DAC is used. I had a Yamaha CD player and loved that function. (the Yamaha sounded too bright)

Pros: Great sounding!

Cons: Worthless USB port

Crutchfield response on

8 of 14 found this helpful

Natural clear sound!

Phil M. from California on 7/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried the Marantz 5005 first. It sounded very exciting, up front and in your face. Great dynamics and clean. It wasn't long before I became very uncomfortable when I realized that it was artificially bright and analytical. It's drama was at the expense of naturalness. Enter the NAD c546bee: Smooth, yet detailed, rich and natural sound that did not produce listener's fatigue. It sounds the way music sounds in a concert hall! I returned the Marantz. Long live NAD!

Pros: Natural sound, smooth, warm and detailed.

Cons: Nothing I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

NAD C546 BEE CD Player

Gary B from Tucson, AZ on 6/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for my 20 year old Rotel. Picked it over the C516 which had good ratings but higher ratings for sound with this and boy was I glad I did.....This unit shines in pure sound, ease of operation and great features. haven't tried the remote yet.

Pros: Great Value for us die-hard CD collection fans

Cons: Non that I can find

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nad CD Player

K C from Nevada on 6/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solidly built and attractively designed unit. It absolutely reproduces accurately whats on the cd. It is a real joy listening to the music coming from it. I would definitely reccommend this player to anyone that may ask.

Pros: Simple,easy to operate. Plays multiple media types.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Significant improvement over basic players

Kelly from Mississippi on 6/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to know if cd could sound better than the 5 disc Sony I have used the last 16 years. Over the last 29 years I have gone through several low to medium level players that included a SACD player. The NAD is superior in construction, thoughtful simplistic controls and has of most desired features. The sound is more musical, and closer to an analogue presence at all volume levels. Most important to me is it is less "brittle" and less 'harsh" on the upper middle and high frequencies. Certain cds including a "U2", most "Oasis" and others I have simply not played because the sound was so harsh. I believe the problem was primarily engineering and unavoidable but this NAD player allows me to play and enjoy them for the first time ever. Still harsh in sections but much less so, and I can at least listen to some music that I like again. The depth, clarity and warmth is there again in some quiet piano passages sounding more like the vinyl version. Maynard Ferguson's "Hollywood" and "Carnival" cd's have the punch from the bass to the crisp, precise trumpet parts as they were intended to sound. I recommend this player as a bargain at this price, sounding equal to players priced at 60% to 100% more. I have an NAD cassette deck from the 1990's which is the best I've owned so I know NAD is quality equipment. I've dealt with Crutchfield since the early 1980's with 100% satisfaction. This is an easy choice.

Pros: Sound, solid construction, features on remote construction, NAD quality.

Cons: The only thing lacking is that it is not a multi disc player.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE - CD Player

BT-SC from South Carolina on 5/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to replace an older Macintosh CD player. Rather than spend over $6000 for a new Mac, I tried this NAD player and was floored at the quality of sound. Simple to use, flawless in its performance.I use it with a Macintosh receiver that really mates well with it. This is an exceptional value.

Pros: Small and compact, solidly built, simple to use

Cons: None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Crutchfield customer from San Mateo , ca on 4/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

NAD CDplayer

FZ from New Jersey on 4/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best sounding CD player I have ever owned.

Pros: Great sound.Great control ergonomics.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

NAD quality!

Giogee from West Coast US on 4/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy purchase of NAD 546BEE CD player & 316BEE amp for a relatively compact 12'x12' office just to play my extensive CD collection. Resurrected my M&K S80 speakers, certainly not the 'best' but not worst either & acoustically acceptable for this particular space. My 'main' setup is Arcam CD / amp & ProAc speakers in a larger area. By no means a fair comparison but trained my ears to superb sound dynamic & quality product design. In this regard NAD product easily compares for sound, product detail / design & price. My volume levels in this area are usually 'noticeable background' to 'almost irritating mid' (it's an office!) & not, unfortunately, 'very loud'. Musically it spans from Brian Eno to Sinatra to Soundgarden & lots in between. The NAD product is delivering exceptionally well on my diverse musical range. Have no doubt it'll be even more improved if / when I upgrade speakers. NAD was an easy product choice for my current requirements. Crutchfield service, delivery & communication was simply excellent (I'm a 1st time customer).

Pros: NAD reputation for consistent / superb product excellence at these price points. Understated, clean visual NAD product design. Positive Crutchfield consumer reviews.

Cons: Only that I should have purchased these earlier.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent quality and sound

Bill L. from Peoria, IL on 3/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a fan of NAD products for many years. They are typically high quality, reasonable cost and very functional. This CD player is no different. The build quality, ease of operation, features and sound are excellent. I replaced an older Sony high end CD player after many years and can't believe how much better this one is. I highly recommend.

Pros: Ease of installation, ease of operation, sound quality

Cons: Front panel USB works well, however there are some compatibility issues with iPhone and iPod.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Wow!

Stove, Bel Air from Maryland on 2/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I considered a slightly more expensive deck, but decided to look over the customer reviews again and decided this would suit my needs and tastes. This deck sounds wonderful! I had no idea CDs could sound like this good. The sound is warm and clear, never sounding cluttered or shrill. If you're upgrading from an old dept store deck like I was, you will be amazed! There may better sounding decks but I doubt you can beat the price. I also like the simplicity of the deck as well.

Pros: Sounds great! Worth every penny!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

solid

chi fan from New York on 1/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything about this machine is solid. cant really find any fault at the moment. but then again ive only had it for a couple of months. it played cds that have minor scratches that my older teac could no longer manage... so thats a plus. sound wise i cant really tell if it is that great. perhaps i need to consider a better receiver?

Pros: build quality. simplicity and clarity of controls.

Cons: none yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Very Impressive Sound

Pete K from Charlottesville, VA on 1/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm happy to find myself in the club of "middle aged men who still listen to CDs" when I have great equipment like the NAD C 546BEE to play them on. Yes, MP3s, streaming and vinyl have their place too, but for my timeless collection of classical, jazz and classic rock the CD player seems so much more satisfying. And when my old Sony ES CD player gave up, it was time to find a new friend. And I knew Crutchfield was the place to do it. Thanks to all you other 5 star reviewers for recommending the NAD. Many times over the last two weeks I've set down my bourbon and sat up straight in the leather armchair to appreciate a musical passage because it sounded so good. Once I had to double check which CD was playing because the mix sounded so fresh and alive. It can be truly head turning. I'm really pleased with the clear accurate sound and convenient but straight forward features of this well engineered player. It makes relaxing in the evenings after work that much more enjoyable.

Pros: Clean, very accurate sound and design. Great audio.

Cons: Can reveal limitations of the source. (now I finally know what that means)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome!

BobbyD from Dallas, TX on 1/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome CD player. I listen only to classical music and the difference in the clarity and presence of strings and woodwinds is astounding. Piano CDs sound as if the instrument is sitting in the room with you and the sonic impact of organ and orchestral CDs is visceral. Worth every penny and more. I hear things in performances that I've never noticed before. Makes my Klipsch Heritage series speakers really sit up and bark.

Pros: Everything is positive. Easy to use, easy to set up, straightforward controls.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Good upgrade

Howard S. from Washington on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old Sony ES players are still working well, but after 20 years I was sure that an upgrade would be a nice surprise. I wasn't disappointed, the NAD C 546BEE delivers a better all around bass, mid range, and treble. The differences are subtle, but noticeable. Bass is a little deeper and cleaner, mid-range is more pronounced, and the treble is a bit more defined without being harsh. Happy overall.

Pros: Nice basic player, simple, clean, good specs, and sounds better than my old stuff. Don't need lots of bells and whistles.

Cons: A variable output would be nice, but the remote volume on the preamp seems to work as well.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great cd player

nad cd player from mt larel nj 08054 on 11/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

have a nad amp and tuner from the early and it is still great the new cd pkayer i bough is so good makes my old one i had like a nine transter radio

Pros: the sound is so mush better than my old one i here sounds that i never herd befir

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Couldn't be more satisfied

NYlumberman from West Danby NY on 10/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had a good experience with CD players for my component stereo. Short life, mediocre sound. After the death of a low end Sony 5 disc player, I went on line to Crutchfield, did some research, disappointed the live chat person with my glacial typing, then called to talk with an adviser. Personally I thought it was the equivalent of my old man finally puling over to ask directions. But boy am glad I did. We quickly honed in on the features I wanted and he recommended NAD C 546BEE. Not cheap, but good value. Best sound I have ever heard from a CD. The front USB slot lets me shuffle songs stored on a drive. I am well satisfied with my purchase and I would recommend Crutchfield anyone who would listen to me.

Pros: Simple set up Great sound

Cons: Unit goes to standby automatically, in USB mode when you wake it up it has to reread the drive you connected before it is ready to play. If you have big drive it takes a while.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great Value

Mike from Pensacola FL on 9/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sounding player. Very detailed, balanced, energetic music is created with a nice open soundstage. This unit sounds better than a few $1000 cd players I listened to. I liked the NAD 516BEE. It had a very balanced and detailed sound, but the 546BEE has stronger fuller base, greater nuance and detail, better sound staging, and more force to the music. The 516BEE is a VERY nice cd player for the price, but if your budget permits, the 546BEE is worth every penny extra that you will pay for it (I'd suggest you save up for it if you have to). Finally, Crutchfield gave me EXTREMELY great service to allow me to upgrade from the 516BEE I had already purchased. Crutchfield always gives the very best service I have ever experienced. They have a lifetime customer, I will buy from nobody else!

Pros: Absolutely fantastic sound, great understated looks, super value for the money

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

NAD Quality Sound Exceeds Expectations

wjs from Raleigh NC on 8/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded my old system with Klipsch Reference Speakers and Subwoofer, then a new Yamaha Net Receiver, but when I played my old CD player it sounded really flat. I got a professional 10 band equalizer that improved things, but it was just a band aid. Time and technology marches on, so it was time to replace the old CD player, I read reviews until I was cross eyed and could not figure out what was the best way to go. I talked with Conrad at Crutchfield and he said digital has to go to analogue somewhere, so pick the best DAC you can afford. NAD C546 seemed to be the price and performance break. I hooked it up with an optical fiber and it sounded much better than my 15 year old CD player, but not as great as the net players. The receiver had a direct sound option, which lets the CD DAC do the converting and the receiver just amplifies to the speaker. So I hooked up the CD player to the analogue inputs and punched the direct sound button and WOW, it was a whole step above anything else. I hear things in music that I have been listening to for 20 years I have not heard before. Classical music really shines, but Dave Brubeck Take Five is amazing, and John Coltrane is incredible. Charlie Byrd floats you away, and when my son comes home from college I can't get him out of the room. The sax in Kingande is as amazing as George Benson's guitar riffs. It was more money that I thought I should have spent, but well worth the price given the amazing performance. Life is good.

Pros: DAC with a direct sound amp

Cons: none, except it is a heavy unit and pricey compared to other models. You get what you pay for, so if you have crappy little old speakers and an antique receiver with dried out capacitors like I did, don't bother. Once you start upgrading however, this is a great investment in good music for the rest of you listening life.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

A great machine!

J. I. from Moline, IL on 8/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first above average CD player I've owned in years. I am quite satisfied with its performance, and a month in, I find no real issues. I would recommend this player to anyone, and I doubt there are any better players at this price range. There are cheaper players out there, but if you want to sink a couple of hundred into a machine that will only last about five years, that is your right. The extra cost does make a difference, especially where it comes to quality of design, and the durability of its parts. This is my fifth player, and I hope it will be my last. If it lasts as long as my original player (a Yamaha Natural Sound, circa early 90's, for about ten years, problem free), I will be happy enough.

Pros: Simple to set up, no crazy bells and whistles. Plus, you can play digital music files from a flash drive, even hi def ones, if you turn on the slow filter.

Cons: None that I see.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Definite upgrade over my old CD player

Fred from Baker City OR on 5/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to upgrade my CD player and choose the NAD C 546BEE CD player. It is noticeably quieter than my Old Sony and seems to have a bit of a higher input into my Yamaha Home Receiver. I am glad I spent the money for it. The front panel looks sleek and clean.

Pros: Remote control is easy to use; the CD player has no background noise

Cons: The NAD is a bit pricey and the instuction manual is on a CD.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding CD player

Davep100 from North, SC on 3/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never knew music could sound this good. After listening to music with older technology it was hard to get used to hearing all the details in the music. But after listening to this NAD cd player.... I find that I have a hard time listing to music played with other products. Love the ease of use. And the sound is unmatched.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

OK but worth the money?

Greg from Indiana on 3/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is simple straight forward, sounds good going through my old NAD amp and Klipsch speakers. The price is a little hefty for the unit but you get what you pay for. Seems to be built really good and solid.

Pros: sound, build quality

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Why pay more for a CD player

Steve M. from Camino, CA on 2/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listened to a number of CD players in stereo stores in the price range of $400 to $2,000 and came to the conclusion that there was no audible improvement in sound with the CD players that cost more than the NAD C545BEE player. In fact, the NAD C545BEE sounded better to me, with a more full and natural sound, than a number of CD players costing more than $1,000. And my extended listening sessions only included very good to very high quality speakers and amplifiers. I expect that there are audiophiles reading this review that disagree strongly with what I have just said, but I seriously question if they could hear a difference in blind A/B testing. I could not, and I really tried. Spend more $$$ if you must.

Pros: Big, full, natural sound with buckets of detail. Controls are simple to use. Reasonable price.

Cons: Somewhat boring to look at. Doesn't have the prestige of the expensive audiophile equipment.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

Mark from Wisconsin on 2/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came as an open box model. No issues. Nice CD Player. When CD Drawer opens, it sounds a little cheap for a $500 CD Player. I suppose the money was put into the sound reproduction electronics. Overall, I am happy with the model I purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

546 BEE

HARLEY S. from SUN PRAIRIE, WI on 1/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well it does sound good but only a notch or two above an old 2001 Sony XE270 -- although I've read somewhere suggesting that model might have been the good one so to speak. The selector knob is sensitive - small and easy movement making a track change forward or back-weak detent, too much coffee and I'm going to skip the next two tracks not just one. Mine had a minor mechanical noise -ticking when the CD is playing (not audio) -was open box so ??? Even with these things I'm ok with it, but, don't have anything in the same price range to compare. Seems sturdy -quality built other than the somewhat flimsy knob

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

NAD does it again

Bob D. from Greensburg, PA on 1/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the NAD C 546BEE CD player to replace an aging Rotel unit that had served me well for nearly 20 years. The NAD brings such realism to even older CDs that I was truly impressed. I usually prefer the sound of vinyl over digital but the NAD has a sound that will rival most analogue set-ups. I also like the addition of the USB input which means I one can load a flash drive with their favorite songs and listen for hours (especially in the shuffle mode). Great product.

Pros: Very good sound that rivals some of the best CD and D/A converter set-ups. USB input on front panel. Digital and analogue outputs.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Completely Satisfied with the NAD C 546BEE

AlanP from Austin TX on 8/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this player to replace my original Magnavox CDB650 which is still operational. I auditioned no gear prior to this purchase but judged this unit to be the most-likely suitable companion to my decades-old but recently refurbished NAD Monitor Series gear based on NAD's continuing reputation for minimalistic design but superb internal engineering and transparency. The sound produced by the C 546BEE is very much more what I always wanted to hear from my speaker system and particularly from my Dynaudio D-28 tweeters. Virtually all the old harshness is gone, strings do actually sing and the imaging and isolation is much improved. That said, you'll not mistake it for vinyl. What of that is due to the player and what is due to the recording I have no way to know. What I do know is that 96 percent of my music library isn't even available in vinyl and the NAD C 546BEE makes those CDs I have compared as well as those I haven't more listenable. Is there another player at some price point that would be better for you? Undoubtably, but good luck with that!

Pros: Design & appearance, simplicity, superb sound. I particularly like to completely black-out the display similar to my other NAD equipment.

Cons: Absolutely none at this time

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

The Usual High Quality from NAD

JohnF from New York, NY on 8/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned NAD products for over twenty years and this CD player is a typical example of NAD's no nonsense design and high quality. I was originally going to purchase the less expensive 516, but decided to treat myself to the higher quality components of this one and its ability to play digital files from a flash drive. I've only had the machine for a couple of weeks, but so far it is all that I expected. The sound is clear and open and it was a cinch to hook up. We've just moved into a new apartment and there are still lots of boxes on the floor. So I can't fully evaluate sound stage, etc yet. But I expect it will be impressive. I still have the first NAD cd player I bought 20 years ago in service at my weekend house and it's still going strong. See me again in 20 years for a further report on this new one.

Pros: Quality, Design

Cons: A Little Expensive Compared To Competition

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sound Amazing

Edson from Bayside, New York on 5/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C 546BEE may be one of the best cd players, I have ever purchased. "Sound So Nice" I can't explain it, I took a lot of thought into writing this review and explaining my experience. I had a modest Sony CD player any high end CD player would sound better! I think the best way to explain it would be to compare it drinks, my old Sony is a whiskey and the NAD a 12 year old Scotch ! If you love music, this is is the CD player for you, your CD's will sound like a DVD-audio. The only trouble I having so far is picking the cd i want to hear next! Amazing sound it is nice and gentle! You get what you pay for this one, it's an excellent product 5 stars

Pros: Everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

outstanding product

jon from Hurley, NY on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player replaced a 25-year-old JVC that was starting to have problems. The improvement was startling and pronounced. I am a professional musician whose interest is mainly classical. A recording of Mahler's Second Symphony revealed a tremendous sound field with pinpoint location of instruments. The depth of sound was enormous with huge, accurate bass, "you are there" midrange and smooth highs. My 45-year-old Altec-Lansing 604E speakers (played via a Marantz amp) have never sounded so good (and I have never heard speakers that I prefer). I opted for AudioQuest cables and they seem to sound fine, although I didn't compare them with the cables that came in the box. I would not hesitate to recommend this player to anyone interested in upgrading.

Pros: Smooth, accurate sound coupled with an almost holographic instrument imaging. No detectable distortion even in complex orchestral music. Piano reproduction sounds as if the piano is in the room. Controls mounted on the chassis are very user friendly and quite intuitive.

Cons: The only way to program tracks is via the remote control. A printed manual is not supplied; users must print it themselves from the included CD-ROM.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

excellent cd player

spp from nyc on 3/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent player-very clear-reads damaged discs !!!

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

A brilliant Successor to the 542

MAR from Putnam Valley, NY on 2/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a fine piece of NAD's next generation of affordable audiophile electronics . I owned thr 542 and thought i very , very good. The c546 is better in every way. the highs, mids and lows are better, much better. And when teamed up with NHT' classic 3's that I recently purchased here at Crutchfield, they cast a large and deep soundfiield. athe difference over the very good 542 is almost astounding. This is an excellent product in all ways .

Pros: all of the segments of the sound spectrum are covered and once gets sense of the depth and power of all types of music. As I mentioned th sound fiel was excellent.

Cons: i see none and thought some professional reviews too harsh and off the mark. It is sophisticated piece of tecnology , but easy to take advantage by one less conversant with some aspects of its features and applications. .

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

NAD C 546 BEE Is the real deal

SC from Sterling VA on 1/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I was skeptical that a CD player could really make that much of a difference in sound quality. A DAC is a DAC right? WRONG!!! The sound difference between my 11 year old Pioneer CD player and the NAD is crazy. The first CD I played was Zepplin's How the West Was Won, and man I was blown away. The highs are crisp and the bass is warm and smooth. The NAD is definitely the best CD player I've ever owned.

Pros: Outstanding sound. Digital/Optical outputs (I use for recording)

Cons: I have to wait a little longer to by a new outboard for my boat.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

NAD C 546BEE

DKeary from Jackson, MS on 12/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perhaps one of the best CD players I've owned - I've owned/used the Adcom 5 disc player and a few sony's. This is a single disc player with a very solid sound and the construction on this and the NAD amp indicates that this is great equipment. There are other aspects I have not used yet, such as running my iPhone/ipod/ipad/macbook pro through it, not sure that's going to be a major need. The main feature that I like is that, to me, this being a single disc adds to the overall excellence of it. That, along with the filters, make this a great product. I listen to a lot of classical, jazz and acoustic music. I also run a ballet school and make recordings for our productions. Hands down the sound is THE best I've had.

Pros: Great sound, construction and options. The filters are really nice.

Cons: None that I have yet discovered...

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Superb CD player

Drummer from Maineville, Oh on 8/12/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned NAD gear for the last 30 years and have never been disappointed. The C546BEE is another example of their outstanding products. NAD spends their money inside the product and not outside with fancy bells, whistles, or extravagant advertising. The result is clearly products that rival the competition costing twice or more as much. This CD player sounds just great. Perfect highs and lows without any compromise. I couldn't happier. Try it, I'm sure you'll like it !. And with Crutchfield as your vendor, you get lightning fast shipping and a support network second to none. They're much more than just a vendor, they're family !

Pros: Overall superb sound. Like the USB and filters for added refinement. Bass is nice but not boomy, and highs are nicely placed. Easily worth twice the price. Display options are just what you need and cleanly displayed.

Cons: None I can think of..Only I would switch the free included cables to an upgrade as most customers would.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

NAD C546BEE

EdgarLB from Orchard Park, NY on 6/29/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall Excellent Quality CD Player Unit. I am able to use both CD's and MP3 thru USB complimenting my NAD Stereo Receiver 7140. Thanks to Crutchfield.They offer quality choices of a fine product line.

Pros: 5 STARS. Easy to use.

Cons: Nothing to complain about.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

TOP