Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

NAD C 558

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # C558

NAD C 558

NAD C 558

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # C558

9 reviews
View this product

Expensive turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Turntable dispatched by UPS on time and no significant damage. Most expensive turntable invested thus far!

Pros: Excellent weight distribution. Good turntables cost at a premium. Stylish and modern.

Cons: Nothing at note.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great Turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable with a lot of bang for the buck. It comes loaded with an Ortofon OM-10 cartridge. Setting the VTF using the supplied plastic balance gauges is tricky-save yourself the frustration and buy a digital tracking force gauge from Amazon. It's $12 well spent. This unit sounds fantastic paired with my Onkyo receiver and Polk speakers. The glass platter looks cool too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Daly City

Richard from Daly City on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable is all around excellent, but the spindle feels rather cheap like plastic instead of the solid stainless steel!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Crutchfield customer from Uxbridge, MA on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice turntable. Adjusting the tone arm weight is tricky. if the end of the arm has a fine screw thread with a matching one on the weight, adjustments would be trivial rather than painful.

Pros: Simple in design and use, clearly effort went into the important things

Cons: adjusting the tonearm force is tricky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

C558 excellent.

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High-quality build, beautiful design, simple operation and great sound. Matches vintage NAD equipment. Excellent.

Pros: See review comments.

Cons: None encountered.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Fine Turntable

Chad from Traverse City, MI on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking turntable: sleek/minimalist, with solid, rugged construction--and you cant beat that glass platter. From what I understand, these are actually made by Planar, hence the glass. Set-up is fairly easy, providing you pay close attention to the directions. In my case, tone-arm balance/'counterweight' tweaks were necessary, as was fiddling with the set screws for optimal tone-arm levelling. You'll note (on the quick reference guide--the only set of directions included in the shipping box) that you're referred to the NAD 'site for details re: advanced set-up. Not sure why NAD doesn't just throw those into the box, but hey. The sound is superb, although I wasn't able to do a true 'apples-to-apples' comparison, since I'd replaced my old amp with an NAD 3020 AND my old speakers with new Wharfedales. Suffice it to say that I am hearing details in my records that I'd never really noticed before. The only possible drawback: missing the convenience of an automatic turntable. When the album side is finished, you will have to walk over, lift up the tone-arm, and return it to its cradle. Not a big deal at all, though, and should not deter anyone from buying this thing. Who is into vinyl strictly for convenience, after all?

Pros: Minimalist aesthetic; great sound

Cons: Fully manual operation may dissuade some

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The NAD C558 turntable, exceptional performance

Stephen Foundling from Verona, WI on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C558 HiFidelity turntable is an extremely well manufactured turntable, the heavy glass platter comes to speed quickly and reproduction of the rich analog sound from my aging vinyl albums with the Ortofon OM10 diamond stylus stereo cartridge is superb. The quality of the aluminum tracking arm is very good. I can highly recommend the NAD C558 turntable to a HiFi enthusiast. Setting the style and cartridge tracking force is always important for any turntable. Sound reproduction depends greatly on setting the correct cartridge mass. NAD supplies some tools for this, however they could improve on the published instruction set for balancing the counter weight for the tracking arm. Instructions are a little sparse. The beam balance tool is a little imprecise for its intended purpose. I own a Shure balance tool, which h I used to confirm that the tracking arm was indeed set a little light using the NAD tool supplied. Ortofon sells a superior tool to set the cartridge mass required for optimum performance. The performance of the NAD C558 turntable with the Yahama R-N303 receiver and Klipsch RP-400OF speakers is really breathtaking. To quote a lyric from a timeless album, "I will ease your mind". Thank you Crutchfield and all your associates. "When you need a friend", reach out, Crutchfield is only a phone call away.

Pros: Superb turntable stability and linearity, the pre-mounted cartridge delivers exceptionally clear sound with a richness that I thought was lost for the past two decades. Welcome back to the richness of analog vinyl with the NAD C558 manual turntable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good turntable, good price

Paul from Eugene, OR on 9/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The turntable is easy to set up - including setting the counterweight and vertical tracking force. It pairs well with my NAD integrated amp and I'm quite impressed with the sound that comes out of them.

Pros: Easy to set up and operate, good price-to-quality ratio, and the RCA connection cord that ships with it is very nice rather than a cheap afterthought.

Cons: It wasn't on sale.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth TX on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable replaces a Rega planar 1 that I recently purchased. It came with a rapid ticking noise on the right channel. However, just ran through a couple of my favorite albums and I'm very satisfied with the sound and performance of my first NAD product. This cost a little more than the planar 1 but you get so much more. You get much better quality detachable leads with a ground wire. Adjustable tone arm weight for cartridge flexibility. ( The set screw is at the bottom of the threads. So don't call CS and complain like this guy I know. ) Has tone arm height adjustment and anti-skating adjustment via a dial. Took me about 30 minutes to get it set-up. I love the glass platter which could serve as a flywheel on a tractor when you're not playing records. Comes with every tool and gauge you need to set it up. Only con I have is that it only came with a Quick set-up card. Had to go online to get the complete set up instructions. It's totally worth the extra dollars and the 30 minutes you'll spend getting it playable. Excuse me, I have to disturb the neighbors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

29 of 30 found this helpful

TOP