Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
220 916 172 3
Connect ID #
220 916 172 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD DAC 2

Wireless USB DAC

MFR # DAC2

NAD DAC 2

NAD DAC 2

Wireless USB DAC

MFR # DAC2

19 reviews
View this product

Affordable but has limitations

Crutchfield customer from Shelley, ID on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and comfortable price but has limitations. My setup was desktop computer approximately 50 ft from audio equipment. Was not able to use without static on all 3 channels. Solution was to return and purchase Marantz NA6006 network streamer that worked like a charm.

Pros: Cost. Easy setup.

Cons: Was advised Distance between transmitter and receiver is limited to 30-50 ft depending on walls and materials.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD DAC 2

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked, but only played music from five feet away. Became garbled and static after moving further away than that. Had to return despite being a big fan of NAD's products over the years. Just didn't work as needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD DAC 2

Crutchfield customer from Huddleston, VA on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item worked as expected with no disappointments. Easy to install, minimal space utilization.

Pros: Easy installation. Minimal space consumption. Worked 100% as expected.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD DAC 2

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NH on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple setup out of the box. Sounds amazing. Transmitting through a brick wall between our computer and stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needs work

Chuck from Morro Bay, CA on 7/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to return the DAC 2 because only 1 channel worked and I was not getting clear reception in my living room. Crutchfield was very nice about it. The cable included for the transmit box was way too short. But the device is a great idea that under performed in my application. I look forward to a "DAC 3" with better range, updated DAC, and longer cable.

Pros: Great idea, few other affordable products can do the same things.

Cons: Build quality and range a problem.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent for the $$

C from Houston, TX on 4/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this with a Mac running OS X, playing tracks streamed from iTunes playlists. Quality can be enhanced with Channel D Pure Music although I haven't bought it yet and doubt much improvement. If you want to play uncompressed music, this is a good way to go. Over time I ripped 400 CD's to AIFF and have spent significant time assembling playlists with music categories and ratings for filters. I suspect Pure Music would help organize this better. Before doing this I considered other streamers including the Cambridge. Unfortunately, these don't work with iTunes and I wasn't prepared to sacrifice all the time spent (transferring from AIFF to WAV is easy but you lose the album info). I'd be back at square one. If you are playing compressed music, the bandwidth is overkill but nothing is lost. The playlists enabled me to eliminate the rock tunes I didn't choose to hear (still have the CD's), listening through B&W PM1's in the study. iTunes is not a great vehicle to play classical music albums unless the tracks are unconnected. Recommend this 'toy' to anyone. Please see Con for connectivity.

Pros: - high quality sound from uncompressed audio (AIFF for me, same as WAV with album info)

Cons: - problems if obstructed, more distant line of sight (I have 2 DAC2's for 2 systems with 1 computer, one excellent but the other a problem some 18-20 feet away with wall/furniture obstruction - works intermittently, trying to find the sweet spot, worked fine when I tried it before buying 2d)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crystal Clear

Ed from Goochland, VA on 4/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works exactly as advertised. I ripped my CD's in FLAC format and played them on my laptop via my Marantz 2 channel receiver. It sounds fantastic.

Pros: Just plug in. It works.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD DAC 2

Bob from Mount Vernon, NY on 1/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had problems with this NAD DAC 2 streaming Sirius/XM with Google Chrome, Sirius recommended that I should try using Microsoft's Internet Explorer/Edge browser, and since I switched to IE/Edge - Sirius/XM runs without any hick-ups or buffering. That being said - this is a good sounding DAC & I'm happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound!

William from Columbia, MD on 10/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound easy set-up.

Pros: Easy set up great sound easiest most inexpensive way to enjoy HD sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound investment

al from salt lake city on 6/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product works as advertised puts bluetooth to shame awesome sound transmittal and reproduction.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy it

ds from RI on 6/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds *so* much better than Bluetooth. CD quality sound from Spotify, finally. It may actually sound better than my Denon DVD player, which was top of the line high end when it was purchased. Connects instantly; no fussing with glitchy Bluetooth pairing.

Pros: Outstanding sound; ease of use.

Cons: Mini USB cable that came with it is too short. I'm using it with my laptop. and the unit is at present just dangling. Ordered a longer cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD DAC 2

Ed S from chandler, AZ on 2/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only used the NAD DAC 2 wireless DAC for a couple of weeks and so far I am satisfied. The range and clarity of the signal is best when restricted to 60ft and direct line of sight. More than that and the transition/reception falls off even with the channel selection mode adjusted.I use it mainly to play internet radio over my MacPro and the sound quality through my stereo is very good.

Pros: Easy to set up and good sound quality.

Cons: Restricted to distance and line of sight, so the computer has to be moved around for it to work optimally.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD USB DAC

Mr. G from Florida on 7/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got the the wireless DAC to hook my Mac computer to my stereo witch is on the opposite side of the room. It works very well, the digital to analog converter does give higher quality sound than a direct connection to the Mac. The instructions should have but did not tell you to go to sound preferences and change it to external to make it work. Otherwise Avery good Product.

Pros: Easy to install, good performance for price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Best kept secret, plays any sound App on PC

Ron from Trinity Fl on 6/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Started building new wired stereo with DAC 1. Since then have searched exhaustively for a better solution. This is the easiest and most flexible. Just plug into USB port and play hi quality sound through my 3 Russound amps in a closet. I play from my patio or piano room, no problem. The center of my house is open so not a lot of partitions to block signal. My CD collection is on a NAS USB drive so I don't need a laptop with a lot of memory.

Pros: Easy setup, flexible, quality sound, full control of apps; volume, skip, change station, now playing, etc.

Cons: Need laptop with USB port.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Flat, Even, Wireless, Delivery!

Nizodizo from Ohio on 5/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is cool! If you have a killer sound system, it is like having the entire CD store at your finger tips. I personally prefer vinyl but records are not cheap anymore and digital is catching up ("trust me, it is not there yet."). So why not test out what you like before you buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sound -- Limited WiFi Range

djf from Annapolis, MD on 12/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I loved the rich and nuanced sound of high res music through the DAC 2 when connected to my MacBook. But I wanted to use it primarily with my iMac which was not within line of sight (though less than 50' away). The wireless connection was weak on all 3 channels with multiple drop-outs. So unfortunately I returned it for the Audioengine D2 which has solid wireless connectivity and fine sound.

Pros: Audio quality and easy installation.

Cons: Weak wireless range.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Easy to set up and works well

RZB from Petaluma CA on 6/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros: Easy to set up and use

Cons: Have not found any yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

NAD DAC 2

Jack G. from Clearwater, FL on 1/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Signal faded and sometimes was distorted. Transmitter and receiver were only one room apart. Also,,I noticed no noticeable sound quality improvement versus playing straight digital MP3 format. I returned it without any issues--just as you would expect from Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy to hook up.

Cons: See review. Could use a bit longer USB cable so unit could be placed without almost dangling from my PC.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

NAD DAC2

quebecois20 from Waddell, AZ on 11/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easdily adapted to my laptop and great sound from my sound system Recommend it to everyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

TOP