Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
315 131 742 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
315 131 742 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD MDC HDM-2

Add-on HDMI module for select NAD stereo components

MFR # HDM-2

NAD MDC HDM-2

NAD MDC HDM-2

Add-on HDMI module for select NAD stereo components

MFR # HDM-2

12 reviews
View this product

Seamless and effortless, but the price

Mike from New York, NY on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Given the cost of this card and the cost of a NAD pre amp or amp ( mine over to $2K) , my thoughts are that an MDC of your choice should have been included ( really) with a NAD pre amp or amp, especially the higher end models. Some facts : this nifty card allows you to upgrade tech as technology changes. This card supports 4K video pass though but DOES NOT encode surround sound or any kind of video processing . This card is intended for folks with a NAD amp or pre amp running two channel setup and want to use your equipment for better definition/sound and switching. The audio goes though the card, and gets the NAD touch. The video gets passed along, and switched. Though not advertised this card does work with the C658 pre amp, but you need to insert the card and run a software update. The amp / pre amp will detect the card automatically. Instructions on the NAD website. Yes, I am getting better sound, HDMI source switching, and ARC works if you want to use TV speakers instead or TV inputs. Better integration overall, especially if you are running a NAD setup ( pre amp + power amp) . This card lets you use the NAD system for the TV without confusion and better sound quality basically, with a price of course.

Pros: NAD SOUND from your video sources HDMI switching HDMI ARC if you want to use TV inputs Easy to install Better integration with equipment MDC format allows upgrades in the future ( I hope)

Cons: Time to install Cost !

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD MDC HDM-2

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works flawlessly. It simplifies the wiring and brings higher bitrate signals to my C368. Not cheap, but am really loving my setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

HDMI addition to the C series integrated amps

Crutchfield customer from Sharpsburg, GA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Two small screws and insert the card. The C388 instantly recognized it and updated the relevant menus for it. Has 4K pass-through. My only complaint so far is that it doesn't support Dolby Vision.

Pros: Easy to install No software updates Adds flexibility

Cons: No Dolby Vision Only 3 inputs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's an NAD, of course it works

Crutchfield customer from Wayzata, MN on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked exactly as was expected. Was very easy to install and the amp recognized it immediately.

Pros: Build quality, ease of use. Was packaged very well.

Cons: None on the product itself, however some instruction on use and port options would be helpful to those who are not AV experts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

NAD MDC HDM-2

Crutchfield customer from Woodinville, WA on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great service. great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

HDMI 4K added to C658 in two minutes

Lawrence from Palmdale, CA on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always heard of NAD Modular Design Construction ( MDC) available in many of their products for future upgrades but this was my first time taking advantage of this feature. Purchased incredible NAD C658 (5-star review available on Crutchfield) and always planned on adding HDMI. Just installed MDC HDM-2 into C658, powered on and C658 instantly added HDMI 1,2 & 3 to input selection without any software updates. Installation took less than 2-min. Note: No installation instructions are included, common sense needs to be followed. After unplugging power and all connecting cords, 1) Remove MDC plate cover from C658. 2) Remove yellow plastic tape covering MDC card leads, see picture. 3) Align MDC card with guide rails (see picture) and with mounting screw holes. 4) Gently push card into C658 using both thumbs on left and right outer edge of card until fully seated. Card should be flush with C658, see picture. 5) Secure with mounting screws. 6) Reconnect all cords and power, power on and notice input selection has now added three HDMI inputs, enjoy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent addition to my M12

Pete from Leander, TX on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This simple NAD MDC add-in is intended to add basic HDMI switching to someone who has a stereo system based on a NAD product like the M12 stereo preamp (rather than a Home Theater system, for which an M17 gives much more power and convenience - and channels). My audio system is primarily a stereo system, with music coping from a MacMini with Roon, an FM tuner, a CD/DVD player, or a turntable. I chose the NAD M12 because as delivered it could handle all these (analog and digital) sources. But neither it, nor other preamps I've seen, allow the intermixing of HDMI audio, digital audio and analog. The NAD HDM2 fixes the gap in the NAD M12's capability. It's simple to install (it just plugs into any spare module slot from the back of the M12 - but what plugs in is the bare circuit board edge - which is wrapped in sticky protective film that you MUST remove before installing)(luckily, if you forget, it simply doesn't plug is - well, perhaps it would if one exerted way too much force). Once installed and the modules screws tightened down to hold it in place, it just works (as long as you have software version 2.58 or later installed in your M12). So - adds important capability, easy to install, not very expensive, and it just works. Highly recommended.

Pros: Adds very useful functionality Not too expensive Easy to install It just works

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD MDC HDM-2 Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Waukee, IA on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HDM-2 card was very easy to install in to NAD M32. No software to upgrade, just plug and play. Only part I had to watch was ensuring the card was aligned with the slot rail. Easy way to add HDMI inputs to my integrated amp without having to buy a whole new amp. Use it to play SACDs from my blu-ray player. Sounds great!

Pros: Easy to install No software update needed on NAD M32

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD MDC HDM-2

Crutchfield customer from Van Alstyne, TX on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

NAD M12 system. Purchased 4K TV and new card, HDM-2, was needed to pass 4K picture. Updated the software and then was basically plug and play. Better than having to buy a new processor...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD MDC HDM-2

Stephen from Dallas, TX on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the HDMI-2 mdc board for my NAD C368 and new 4K TV. It's not entirely plug and play. I had to update the C368 software before the new card was recognized. Another software install to load the HDMI-2 software. You need a usb thumb drive for the updates. Works well with the ARC HDMI on my Sony TV. Only the board is limited to PCM 2-channel audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD MDC HDM-2

Jonas from Jackson Heights, NY on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this. Was looking for a way to get my projector, Apple TV, Roku and more hooked up to my NAD C368.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

4k video for the M32

Alan from Redmond, WA on 2/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed it in my M32. Not much to say, just plug and play, works well like it a lot , good addition to the system.

Pros: easy to install, no real setup, picture and sound as you would expect from NAD.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP