Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD PP 4

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges with USB output

MFR # PP4

NAD PP 4

NAD PP 4

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges with USB output

MFR # PP4

28 reviews
View this product

NAD PP 4

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well with my Thorens turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

NAD PP 4

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was wowed at first. Great Sound! Everything was great until I hooked it up to make a recording with the USB cable. No software or instructions included in the box. Had to download it from the NAD site. Recorded first album, and kept running into road blocks with software. Could not even save a copy of basic recording without buying the $49 software version. I feel the factory marketing on ease of recording this was deceiving. As a pre-amp, it was great. Returned with great Crutchfield customer service and bought a different NAD preamp, one with no USB out since that feature was useless.

Pros: Amazing sound!

Cons: No instructions or software in the box, had to call and it was discovered a day later (advised through an email from Crutchfield) that it is only available online. Software 'lite' that comes with it via download for USB recording very limited without purchasing $49 full version.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

NAD PP 4

Crutchfield customer from Sunny Isl Bch, FL on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well, thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing sounf

Kristian from Clifton ,NJ on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product! Sound is very crisp and clear, warm and full. Was using it with a NAD C556 turntable and NAD C326bee Amp and i loved it. For 7 years trully a fan of NAD, now im updating the Turntable for C588 with a ortofon 2M black stylus. oh and recording vinyls make much fun with this little devil, i would not exchange it for any other one. If you re looking for some good preamp for effordable price, grab it dont think twice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD PP 4

Crutchfield customer from Bowling Green, OH on 1/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My experience with the PP 4 was not positive. Its sound reproduction is very good, but plugging it in, either from the unit to power or from power to the unit, produces quite a spark. The unit was off when power connections were made. NAD makes good amps, but this phono preamp doesn't stand up well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/28/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

3 of 4 found this helpful

NAD PP 4

Crutchfield customer from Argyle, NY on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

As advertised but unreliable

Beau from Braselton, GA on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised but unreliable. Several reviews, both here and online, noted channel failure and my experience was no different. Failure was intermittent on one channel for a while then both channels failed permanently. Sadly, I'm outside the warranty window. Save yourself the disappointment and find a more reliable preamp.

Pros: Worked as advertised while it was functional.

Cons: History of channel failure.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

NAD PP 4

Crutchfield customer from Frostproof, FL on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great! I have my turntable and cassette player both wired in to my NAD PP 4 then into my equalizer then into my integrated amp.The NAD adds more power and sound to my JBL L100s then i previously could attain!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD or Nothing

Charley from Winterport, ME on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast service, prompt delivery and the unit performs as anticipated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Gregg

Guest from Elmhurst, IL on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After thirteen months the right channel stopped working. Upgraded to a tube preamp and the difference is very noticeably better.

Pros: easy to install

Cons: Did not last.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good product and great sound

Alec from Winchester, VA on 2/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a pretty straight forward pre-amp/USB interface for an amp without a phono stage. Connections are simple, additional line-in is nice. I like the auto-off feature but believe it should have auto-on when the mains are on. I do not use the software supplied and simply connect to my PC via USB cable, set the input to the USB CODEC and fire up Audacity. I have not use other phono pre-amps but this looks and feels like a quality product. There are cheaper ones, but there are also more expensive ones. I already have a NAD amp that I really like, therefore I went with this product. I hear no degradation/noise/hum/etc. when using this pre-amp. I feel the sound stage for my vinyl now sounds 'wider'.

Pros: Quality at a decent price, small footprint, additional line-in.

Cons: Nope

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Doesn't Last

John from OR on 12/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mine is dead after two years use. It was fun while it lasted.

Pros: Easy setup. Good for ripping vinyl or playing records

Cons: Mine is dead after a short low use.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

NAD PP 4

John from Dalton, GA on 9/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't used the USB outlet or MC side yet, but the preamp sounds much better than the integrated one in my Sansui AU-517. I'm using MM cartridges on two separate turntables. It's more crisp and the highs and lows more pronounced.

Pros: Small footprint. Good sound. Flexible.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

NOT SO HAPPY

Douglas W from Delray Beach, FL on 9/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not live up to the Hype ! Recording records through UBS left the left or right channel weak. Changed out the unit for the same results. Used three different turntables with no improvement. I then went directly from the turntable to phono input (if not available use aux) to the analogue input of the computer.No pp4!!!

Pros: NONE you can use audacity-You don't need this unit!!

Cons: A Waste of Money!!

Crutchfield response on

9 of 18 found this helpful

Does what it is advertised to do

Chris from Irving, TX on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quiet, and easy to set up. Really wish they would allow the AC to DC transformer to be separated from the plug, to avoid the electromagnetic interference it can create, however I was able to plug into another outlet.

Pros: Quiet, easy to set up

Cons: Transformer too close to outlet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

i like him

andi553 from belgrade on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this mixer for a couple months and i am very satisfied. It works great without any bugs. I recommend it for everyone if you dont need some pro mixer but you wanna make fun at home. This is a sponsored review

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

NAD PP4

DEW from peoria, IL on 1/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great shipping. Works as advertised. No documentation but very straightforward to connect. I have not used the software or tried to download music files to my laptop, but the unit works fine.

Pros: Works, small, good sound, neutral coloration.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

NAD PP 4

SRC from Florida on 12/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding device and easy to install and use. High quality phono preamp and interface with greatest flexibility and usage. Can't go wrong.

Pros: Quality, Easy to install, good for both MM and MC phono cartridges, great flexibility

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Improved sound quality

Bruce from Washington on 11/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, improved sound quality over built in phone pre amp in my 18 year old Yamaha receiver. Very easy to use software to record albums with the USB interface.

Pros: Sound and build quality, USB port for recording to a computer. Good price for what you get.

Cons: No RCA cables, poor documentation.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD PP$

Richard R from Texas on 7/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use. Works well

Pros: Does what is required. VinylStudio is provided.

Cons: Takes a little time to learn to use VinylStudio, and need upgrade for full capability, but not works well with a little experience.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD PP4 and MC cartridges

DMI from Portland, OR on 2/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this around six months now. I have a moving coil cartridge so it requires a greater voltage step up than a normal cartridge and the PP4 accommodated my cartridge nicely (Audio Technica / Signet). The product is excellent and I thought that Vinyl Studio, that came with it, was very good, in fact, it does a very good job guiding you through the process - setting the file format for saving the LP, splitting tracks, naming tracks using internet sources (very cool), and procuring artwork from internet sources. However, I did have to spring for the pro version, around $30 dollars, to be able to store the LPs in file formats I wanted. The noise of the pre-preamplifier seems very low and the resulting sound excellent. I simply plugged this device between my turntable and receiver then ran a USB cable from the device to my Mac and, voila, I was saving old LPs. As expected, you have to pay attention to setting the recording level and that can be tricky, but this is no fault of the device or software. I would have given this a 5, but it seems to be limited to 16 bit and 48KHz and I know that might not please the most picky audiophiles. For me, I could not be happier.

Pros: * Excellent compatibility with different cartridge types - low noise and good musical quality output. * Build quality is very good. * Software is very capable and easy to use. Automatically updates iTunes. Has filtering for clicks and pops and various waveform editing features.

Cons: * 16-bit and 48KHz is the highest quality recording it can do * A person may want to store music in other file formats that requires the pro version of the software

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

NAD PP4

JeffG from mendon, ma on 2/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this unit. Easy to connect. Using with a line-out from an NAD 304 integrated amp. (Tape 2 output). Recorded vinyl to .wav via USB cable using Vinyl-Lite. This software works quite well and after recording can scan for individual tracks. To save to .wav files to tracks and use all features a full license must be purchased for Vinyl-lite for $30 online. Recording quality converting vinyl to digital is excellent - very hard to tell the difference once converted. Highly recommend this product.

Pros: Full featured software is very good compared to other similar products. Quality recordings.

Cons: For the non-tech savvy user the software may be a little challenging. Needed to download an additional component after upgrading to the full version of Vinyl-lite. Also needed to set input device (codec) to 2 channel - 16 bit - 44K for optimal recording. These are options in Windows. Not terribly difficult but not 'out of the box' either. Basic recording very easy.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

NAD Preamp

Jeff from Dallas Texas on 12/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and worked as intended. The software for analog to digital conversion was included and this seems to be better than the one I had already downloaded so this was an added benefit.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD PP4

GaryD from NH on 11/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great preamp. Connected my old B&O turntable with new cartridge and now enjoying all my old vinyl again. Plus, I am able to connect my old cassette deck to extra inputs on back. And I can now save old tracks to MP3 but need to get full version of vinyl studio software, that's my next step.

Pros: small and compact, auto shut off, extra inputs for cassette or other device. Great sound. USB connect to record vinyl to CDs or mp3's.

Cons: none that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

NAD PP4

Don from Tonopah, NV on 9/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great phono preamp. It's nice to be able to digitize LPs and cassettes. The software isn't that great. If you want to store your music to external drive devices, you'll have to buy the advanced version of their download for $30 extra, so don't be surprised when the message pops up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great phono preamp

leeponton from Chicago on 7/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is exactly what you need to build a compact system to rip vinyl recordings to digital files. With a good turntable, the NAD PP4, and Vinyl Studio software on your MAC, you can build a digital library easily.

Pros: Compact; well-built.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent

Jordan from PA on 3/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Extremely easy to use. High quality. I now listen to all my vinyl records with great pleasure.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

NAD PP4 Preamp

Bob from Hudson, Florida on 1/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used the MM preamp from my SL-1650 Technics turntable/Grado Prestige Red cartridge to an Onkyo Home Theater Receiver and an assortment of speakers and subs and the sound is crisp and clear with no component noises. The turntable is grounded to the preamp. Turn the preamp on with the on button and when input from the turntable stops it automatically turns off after 30 to 35 minutes. I haven't yet used the USB port or the Vinyl Studio Lite software.

Pros: Simple to install, physically small and robust feeling. Audio output signal quality is all you could want

Cons: Instruction sheet is bare-bones minimum. A little more would be nice, e.g. auto-turn-off description.

Crutchfield response on

28 of 30 found this helpful

TOP