Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD T 778

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, BluOS™, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Dolby Atmos®

MFR # NAD T778

NAD T 778

NAD T 778

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, BluOS™, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Dolby Atmos®

MFR # NAD T778

24 reviews
View this product

Incredible sound quality - A bit of work to figure out NAD logic

Crutchfield customer from Lewisville, NC on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an AMAZING AV-Amp. I'd give it 5 starts if was not so difficult to understand. However after living with it for a little while I think I've sorted through most of the tech and have everything working as it should. The only disappointment is the lack of a true OSD - so don't expect to see volume or any other settings show up on your TV, they don't. The OSD is only used for settings. On the up side, this means that all video is honestly passed through and images are much sharper now than when I was passing video through my old Denon AVR. There is a free app that does provide OSD-like info so I'm using that and not missing the TV display now. The Touch Screen is very nice, not something I see often as the 778 is in a cabinet, but it is great for setting changes and the album artwork, and meta-data are nicely displayed. Dirac Live, while a bit complex made a huge difference, more so than Denon AVR ever did. I'd strongly recommend, just be aware that you will need to spend some time with the set up and with understanding the Dirac Live software

Pros: Amazing sound, incredibly powerful, room never sounded this good. Dirac love works wonders

Cons: Settings are a bit complex , no true OSD

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Almost Perfect!

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased T778 with high expectations after reading the multitude of positive reviews by admirers of the device. Then reality set it! Powerful A/V receiver loaded with features but setup turned out to be incredibly confusing and not intuitive for even the more technically experienced customer. Needed to reach back to Crutchfield customer support for help and currently still using trial and error method to figure out even the most basic configurations. in addition to a complicated setup with little guidance from NAD included in the box, I found the remote control to be equally difficult and worthless in navigating through the complicated mapping required to reach my desired settings. Also not a fan of needing to use a dongle for BLUOS which is extremely out of place at this price point. ON the other side, T778 touch screen is easy to use and provides a great view of the source and album covers when playing music. found DIRAC live equally confusing and complicated to set up and not made for the average user. I still recommend this divide but warn buyer to go into this marriage with your eyes open and prepare for a difficult setup.

Pros: Powerful unit with attractive touch screen

Cons: extremely difficult setup, complicated remote, and uses a clunky dongle to connect BlueOS. Dirac sound correction adds to the difficulty of setup

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing AV amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Acton, MA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is not a simple AV system to set up, however the rewards are so worthwhile. On setup, you need to connect to your Wifi via BlueOS, update BlueOS, update main system firmware, run DIRAC room acoustics optimization from a computer, tweak response curves and then you have the most amazing sounding and flexible AV system. Sound stage and clarity for both music and HT are significant improvements to the big box names. It also allows you to assign presets (speaker configurations, sound processing) for multiple scenarios (HT, music, ATV4,...). You are limited to the number of HDMI ports but the amount works for me. I also am running two zones with the primary being a 5.1 set up, but you can do more if your would like. Front panel display is novel, allows for touch panel (or remote) control, and displays music album covers, volume meters, or can be turned off. I also find BlueOS to be an excellent streaming app with emphasis on high fidelity sources. Yes, I am betting that NAD will offer upgrade MDC modules for HDMI 2.1 once the chip issues are resolved. Online reviews are mixed but the unit I received recently from Crutchfield seems to be free of bugs stated by others, plus I received the best-in-class support as part of the purchasing process.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD T 778

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited a while before buying this new receiver to allow time for NAD to correct initial issues with the unit which have been reported in numerous posts. My unit works great. Its sound is superior and configuration adjustments are intuitive and easy to make with the on screen display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD T778: Lots to Like

Crutchfield customer from Joplin, MO on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the onscreen setup/options menu with its clean, logical design. Clarity of movie dialogue is quite appreciated, too. Crutchfield bills the NAD T778 as a "Home Theater Receiver," but the box, in large lettering, says "AV Surround Amplifier." This clears up my confusion about the missing FM tuner. Older audio equipment consumers think of receivers as "receiving" AM and/or FM radio signals. However, I can always add an outboard tuner to correct this. Looking forward to tweaking my speakers with the sophisticated Dirac Live software, too. My new toy has more to play with!

Pros: Onscreen menu & vocal clarity.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Not fully baked

Ronald from FAIR LAWN, NJ on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to like this, I really wanted to believe that the negative reviews on here were just a small percentage of people venting on isolated bad experiences. I wanted to believe that this was a solid reliable piece of gear with great sound and great looks. Well, I'm sad to report that the NAD T778 is the former and not the latter. After having it for just 3 days it was riddled with issues. First off the screen would randomly boot up and not boot up. I'd often have to restart the receiver to get the display to work. Then there is Dirac which would not find the receiver if I had it hard wired to the internet so I had to do it wirelessly, but the Dirac program would not even get past the initial volume equalization before giving me a recurring error message, so that didn't work. Then the HDMI input module began to fail one by one. As I was watching Netflix on my Roku the receiver lost the signal, and then the input for my blu ray player stopped working and then the EArc output for the tv would only display green. I did a factory refresh but that only fixed it for a few minutes. Suffice it to say that the modular design this offers needs more work, a lot more work. This made me sour on NAD and the new direction they are going in with the modular design. I think it's a great idea but poorly implemented. I've seen modular designs in the past on old B&K gear and they eventually abandoned it, I guess the same will happen to this. Don't buy this, look at something else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/3/2021
Ronald contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

10 of 13 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from College Point, NY on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice clean sound felt disappointed for the price my Anthem 720 was better sound in music and movies and it was cheaper. Liked the touch screen.

Pros: Clean power and touch screen & 9 channels

Cons: Blue os issues and for price overall experience had no wow to it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth The Money and Small Issues

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I returned my Denon X8500 for this for a couple of reasons: - Denon was way more than I needed, i.e. amplified channels and inputs (analog, HDMI, etc.) - Reviewers were saying the T778 has some of the best sound they had heard from an AVR for 2 channel music listening - Cost, i.e. 1K less - Looks great I had them both for an evening and used the same speakers and volume level (used meter to check), with 2 channel music. In my opinion, the T778 sounded better, it had a wider sound stage and better bass. This was before I setup Dirac live and with Audyssey turned off on the Denon. I tried to make the Denon sound as good, but I could not. Using the equalizer, turning Audyssey on and off, etc. The T778 does have some small issues, namely a popping sound when it first turns on. I don't experience the popping when switching inputs like others have reported. I contacted their support and they are aware and working on a solution. The remote feels super cheap, but I use Harmony so, I don't care. Setting it up is not as straight forward as the Denon, but I think it's worth it in the end. Dirac live seemed to make the bass better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sound at its finest

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For starters this is the best sounding (non-separate) I've ever heard. Performs clean accurate sound beautifully. However, it is far from perfect as the initial set up is quite a pain and this is coming from an 18 year tech. Dirac at times is glitchy and non responsive. The front panel is as nice as one can find in a high end piece in 2020 but does leave some info to be desired. Why not display the current surround mode? As with any device there are pros and cons, the flat out performance of this unit outweighs any negatives so if it's on your radar, pull the trigger, you won't regret.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

NAD T 778

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is a beast. Outstanding sound quality, high current stereo amp + multi-channel AV receiver all in one, with TIDAL MQA support, BluOS connectivity - and actually surprisingly easy to use once set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NAD T 778

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Coming from several different avrs (H/K, Sony, Integra, Marantz and Pioneer Elite) I can say for sure the hype around NAD is real. This is by far the best sounding avr I have owned. It executes cinema soundtracks really well and makes speakers disappear. Sound wise, I have no complaints. However, for a flagship avr, it lacks a few things. The level of control and fine tuning is lacking, front display doesn't show channel configuration but instead only displays text noting the number of channels detected from source. it has plenty of real estate to show gfx/icons for things like: DD, DTS, THX, 4k, HD, speakers, etc. Hopefully, future firmware update would include these features.

Pros: - Looks modern - Sounds amazing - Lots of power in a small form factor

Cons: - Front display shows details in text only that are difficult to read from listening position - No graphical representation of details in the front display - No Dirac bass management

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Glitchy Audio Mute Issue

Mike from Austin, TX on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I returned this unit due to power save feature causing audio issues with menus used in user interfaces like Apple TV and Nintendo Switch. For example, on Apple TV if you pause for a few seconds on home screen menu icon and then move again, the audio engine has to wake up and you don't hear the beep the same for the first move to icon as the next one. I filed support request with NAD and they said they do not intend to fix the issue. In other cases it could cause a pop instead. For $3000 I expect more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Sweet!

Crutchfield customer from Camino, CA on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Man I love this thing. It replaced an old Yammy and it sounds like I got brand new speakers. This is one awesome piece of equipment. Neutral, powerful, detailed sound. Very musical. Cleared up the muddy dialogue issue I had with the Yammy. This might be the best thing I ever bought. Expensive but worth it for me. I like the convenience of a single box solution that sounds frickin' awesome with the possibility for easy upgrades in the future. Less complexity = less things to go wrong. The only fly in the ointment is it still isn't Roon certified. NAD says it's been submitted for certification but I still can't enable it in Roon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Honest Review

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent AV Receiver, the sound quality is exceptional. If you are at this price point for an AV Receiver, then you shouldn't pass this one up. Even if it doesn't have all the bells and whistles, that money is used instead on the things that are actually important.

Pros: Dirac Live sets this apart from other AV Receivers at this price point. Being a class D amplifier section it runs extremely efficient. Build quality is what an Audiophile expects. Modular design allows for future upgrades.

Cons: In order to take advantage of setting up 7.2.4 configuration you have to run an external amplifier for the height 2 section. It would have been nice had the front main stage of the amplifier been assignable so you can just have a really nice amplifier for your front speakers. Also it does have two subwoofer outputs, it would have been nice if they were not summed but individual instead.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hearing my speakers for the first time.

Greg from DANVILLE, CA on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the first time I'm really hearing my speakers! The NAD T 778 is the reason, I'm very happy. I've had a 7.1 array of B&W and KEF speakers driven by a Pioneer Elite AV Receiver for 15 years. I knew it was excellent for the time but something always seemed missing. I just wasn't getting the sound quality and depth those speakers ought to have provided. Wow! the NAD T778 is a night and day difference. Setup was very easy and I love the touchscreen. One wrinkle is that the remote doesn't use the select or back keys for the on screen menus. Not a good choice, out of habit I often pressed the wrong key which was frustrating. But everything else about this receiver makes it worthy of 5 stars. The Dirac-Live software that comes with the NAD is touted as the best available. I'm convinced! After downloading it to my computer it took about an hour to complete for a 7.1 system but it was easy to use with great results. I'll point out that the instructions and videos available for Dirac are a little confusing for someone not fully familiar with this depth of audio balancing but I got there and the program worked flawlessly. I do wish there was a little more easily available guidance for a novice about how to adjust target curves relative to measured values but I certainly can't argue with the unadjusted results. Crutchfield's ordering and shipping process is phenomenal. Click, click, click and two days later it was on my doorstep in perfect condition. Unbelievably excellent service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD T 778

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clara, CA on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is great. NAD needs to address popping sound when switching sources. Works with Roon, but need certification update for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Outstanding replacement for Marantz Combo.

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MD on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced a Marantz AV7703 and MM7705 combination and I couldn't be more pleased. I'm a big fan of Bruno Putzeys and the inclusion of the 9 channels of Hypex amplication has resulted, to my ears, in a much more coherent and powerful sound. The included DIRAC live facility is truly excellent and much more comprehensive than the Audyssey of the Marantz, being really simple to set up and tune. I'd buy again just for that feature alone. I really like that the front panel display can time out and the unit can disappear in my light controlled room, making it perfect for distraction-free viewing. The included Roon end-point (although not currently certified) has performed flawlessly. I've experience none of the quality control issues referred to in some other reviews and assume that NAD have now got there act together in that regard

Pros: Sound Quality. Dirac Live. Roon Endpoint

Cons: Gloss black remote auto illumination times out too quickly ( but maybe there is a setting for that!)

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Outstanding high-current audio performance, ease-of-use

Robert from Sedona, AZ on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding audio performance and excellent ease-of-use has been our experience with the NAD T778. The T778 drives all of our KEF R-series speakers effortlessly, especially at low listening volumes. It's a great match with KEF speakers where impedance to drive some frequencies can get down to 3.2 ohms. We were drawn to the T778 because all 9 amplifier channels are driven with more than ample high-current power into this low speaker impedance, simultaneously and equally. Competitive receivers do not. The screen display on the front of the T778 makes initial setup and configuration easier because you can see what you are doing. The display tells you what type of audio signal is being received and sent, your speaker setup, and even details about the video signal being passed through the receiver. The free version of Dirac Live LE that NAD provides does not generate a full-frequency room correction for the speakers, so we set up and used the full version of Dirac Live 3 with no issues. We found easy-to-use guides with step-by-step instructions on the AVS Forum in the Official Dirac Live thread here: https://www.avsforum.com/threads/the-official-dirac-live-thread.3137722/ It was actually fun to use! We purchased all new Certified Premium High Speed HDMI cables with 28 awg wire to guarantee that the full 18 Gbps bandwidth is delivered to and from the T788 with each connected device. This is critical for viewing Dolby Vision video as well as for many g

Pros: High-current amplifier, designed to handle 4 ohm speaker impedance on all 9 channels simultaneously with equal power, excellent Dirac Live room correction, touch screen display, outstanding multichannel sonic impact for video, smooth and detailed audio for music

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Buy if you want to be frustrated for hours

Quito from Las Vegas on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty bad experience so far. With the price point of this receiver, you'd think they'd nail it... but they don't. It sounds great, but the set up instructions are vague at best, it doesn't seem to work with Amazon Echo at all, and the BluOS app is complete and utter junk. I thought Yamaha MusicCast was bad, this seems to be made by the same company, but somehow worse. It connects maybe when it feels like it, and troubleshooting is about as painful as it gets. HIGHLY likely that I'll be returning this, which is extremely disappointing. I can only fathom that all the great Youtube reviewers were paid to love this or only told to listen to the audio output. Dirac Live is a real pain to set up, but it does sound good. However there are loads of receivers that sound good but won't leave you frustrated for hours because NAD doesn't know the first thing about user experience. Well... not true, they really know how to create a poor user experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/3/2020
Quito, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

24 of 42 found this helpful

NAD T778

Ethan from San Jose, CA on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the T778. I love the sound quality & ease of use. I did install the latest firmware update. Super simple to do using the BluOS app through my phone. I have not had any issues in my system. It drives 4 & 8 ohm speakers (5.1) with major power & there is no distortion. The Dirac Live Full version is worth the money to completely fine-tune the room correction. It is on par with Anthem ARC if not better(I used Anthem ARC with my old MRX700). The UI is more modern & very powerful. Plus, you can load a new custom Dirac profile over Wifi or network. No cables required & it only takes a few seconds. Spotify streaming is flawless. SACD's sound perfect. This is definitely the best receiver I have ever heard. The next step would have been separates, but would have more than doubled the price & size of my system. For the price & features, this is the best single solution available that I could find.

Pros: Latest audio & video format support, powerful clean & natural sound, very user friendly, compact, efficient, looks awesome, well thought out design, made for music, touch screen is nice & easy to navigate

Cons: Parallel Subwoofer outputs

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Really Disappointing

Guest from Dallas, TX on 7/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited 6 months and finally got a unit. It made a popping noise through my speakers. Crutchfield was super accommodating and sent me a replacement unit. The second unit made the same noise. I contacted NAD Support. NAD Support said that the issue may be able to be solved with a firmware update, but they had no idea when that update would ever happen. Once again, Crutchfield was super accommodating. I sent the unit back. It is disappointing that NAD, a company with such heritage and a loyal following, would allow unit(s) in this state to ship.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

36 of 48 found this helpful

NAD T 778

Guest from Miami, FL on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi I want to give five star For this powerful amplifier I replace avr987 for this nad t778 I did star used then and I take the measurement speaker distand and I did the volume speaker calibration and just with that it sound amazing but after I did Dirac correction is sound even better I'm very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 17 found this helpful

DoA

Christopher from Louisville, KY on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TLDR: Never worked, waiting for replacement. Will revise rating if new unit works. Great support. Bad outcome. Unboxed the unit, plugged in power cable and ethernet cable, turned it on. "Error Amplifier Too Hot. Please Wait." Called Crutchfield, they said: send it back. I said: OK, want me to call NAD? They said "sure, can't hurt." Gave me the number. Gave me the code to get straight to support. (Nice job folks!) Called NAD, they said: Do this. I did this. They said: Do that. I did that. They said: Install the Android app. I installed the android app. They said: see if the unit can be found in the app. It could not. I said: the ethernet lights come on if I turn the unit on. They said: OK, see if you can find it in the app. I could. They said: update the firmware. I did. They said plug in a cable to the TV. I did. Same error. They said: Is there anything on the TV? No. They said, is the light on the power button red or blue. Red. They said, it's in protect mode. They said: There's no hard reset. They said: contact Crutchfield to return. Here's the thing. The Dirac room correction software gets great reviews but I'm having a hard time finding a reliable piece of gear that actually has it. :) I'm waiting for another unit I suppose, even though the replacement is back ordered. Here's hoping that NAD gets the quality control sorted on this unit. At the time of this review, the only other review states: "stopped working, waiting for replacement."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

40 of 45 found this helpful

Working for one day

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received mine on a Saturday and was nice sounding out of the box. On Sunday I turned it on and had no screen, no OSD, Ethernet port was dead, all USB ports dead. NAD support has no idea or empathy and Crutchfield, which does care, is "out of stock" until mid-May (I am writing this in March 2020) for a replacement. Of course, NAD could help Crutchfield get a replacement unit to me but...see the beginning of the previous sentence.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

92 of 130 found this helpful

TOP