Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Bookshelf speakers (Matte Black)

MFR # FP40746

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Bookshelf speakers (Matte Black)

MFR # FP40746

35 reviews
View this product

B&W Never Fails

Crutchfield customer from De Pere, WI on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I am new to home speakers, I have listened to my fair share and can say I am very satisfied with these speakers. They are a tad bit bright, but they image very well.

Pros: Very dynamic, snappy sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound and range

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Regrets

Crutchfield customer from Hackettstown, NJ on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them. The sound is to crisp and full!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Natick, MA on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super sound ! Amazing bass levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers, great service, great price

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, PA on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service and excellent speakers. Good bass for a bookshelf speaker but it could be a little better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome sound replacing Bose 301 What a difference

Pros: clear sound ,small foot print , fit and finish awsome

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the highs and the lows this speakers projects.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Over delivery on value, detail, and power

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These B&W 606's are fantastic. I've got them set up with the B&W STAV24 S2 stands in my living room and they really shine. There are good mid,bass and super crisp highs coming from these speakers. When I first got them, they were rather harsh and incredibly detailed, however, I let them burn in about a week and the hashness has gone away, yet the detail is still there. Worth every penny at this price. They play very detailed at low volumes but I prefer to really crank them up as they really open up at that time. Great soundstage, detail, and openness and amazing value for the price. I've been playing a range of everything apart from Country and these handle it all. Added a sub for more lows, though it wasn't necessary for my room setup. Highly recommend.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Let them burn in for a while before you give a good listen

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Delavan, WI on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers look good and sound great! Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers. Incredible value on sale. Really pleased with white color.

Pros: Ability to bi- amp.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Austell, GA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the 606 after hearing them at a local box store. I have a pair of old school gmi sound pro choice as fronts that wifey said are to big. I said go kick rockz. I have a Yami V595 receiver and a new Samsung Qled. So I purchased a Denon with all the bells and whistles for the upgrade to the Yami. Negative before the donating the Yami I said let me test the sound of both receivers with the 606s. Let just say I will be getting rid of the gmi speakers and I will be getting some orange roses for the Lady. These things KNOCK I may hold off on the powered sub until i break them in. You get what you pay for. The left front is giving a static sound will be calling Crutchfield back to see what it could be. This is in my living 20x12 with 2 in wall speakers. I listened to Chronix live set for 45 min. You won't regret it.

Pros: If it gets better for the price let me know cause I am sold.

Cons: The stands are ugly so I am trying to find something sleek.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, PA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a great set of speakers so far. I upgraded from the Pioneer bs22's (which are awesome as well). These are much bigger, finish is quite unassuming but the sound is good. I powered them with a small reisong a10 (6w per channel) and they sound great. I also tried a with a marantz pm5004 and that had its own sound signature. Not sure if these would be worth the original $900 but for the sale price they are really nice. The vocals sound great. The highs are little more that you might want but I didn't think that as a problem at all in my relatively small room. There is enough bass for my liking. I don't listen to very loud volumes so not sure how that would be. Also, the speakers are getting a little better the more I play them so looks like they do need a little burn in time I suppose? So, all in all a great buy! Also, buying at crutchfield was a great experience as well, had the speakers delivered the next day!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A lucky break on price

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My "system" consists of B&W speakers, 706s2 for the fronts, 607 for the side surrounds, htm 6 center, generic in the back. I've been trying to decide weather to finish with 607 in the back or 606 on the side with my current 607s in the back. Then I get an email, the 606s2 is on sale, new for 624, basically a steal. And the stands at the place I buy them, twenty off. A no brainer really. I put the 606 pair on the side, the back for the 706. I put the 606 in front for awhile for break in. They sound really good, I see where they could be used as mains, but my 706 pair has them beat in the upper range. And the finish on the 706 series is much more refined. However you have to really look to see it. The tweeters are the difference, the mid-bass drivers are basically the same. If the difference between the two series is worth the extra is a personal decision, but at 624 bucks the 606 is the bargain of the century. This speaker is worth every bit of its 899 price tag. The 706 is more refined at the top end, the finish is a much better presentation. It's lucky that the price of the 606 was reduced while I was making this decision. They match my 706 mains much better. The 607 is not bad, but a bit small for anything other than surrounds or desktop. Either way you cant go wrong, if your interest is primarily HT. the 606 will probably be okay for mains, with casual music listening situations. And at great savings. But if you are serious about music you might want the 706.

Pros: Great price for the performance you get, even at full retail

Cons: Compromises on the finish, but nothing major. If an audiophile the carbon coated tweeter on the 700 series is a must. Otherwise a good sounding speaker

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, CT on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very musical speakers with excellent bass and very nice top end! Have them bi-wired and they sound terrific! Also you can't beat the sale price on them!

Pros: Very good bass and top end! Very musical and lively!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sounding speakers

Curtis from Midlothian on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My audition route to the B&W 606 was as follows: Wharfedale Diamond 11.2, Wharfdale Diamond 225, Martin Logan Motion 15, Klipsch RP600M, B&W 606, and B&W 706 S2. The Motion 15 are also 5 star speakers and I actually kept those. The 606 with the larger woofer are an improvement in soundstage and bass over the Motion 15. I first heard them at a local retail store where I was able to do a direct comparison between the Motion 15 and the B&W 606. The improvement in sound was enough that I ordered to 606 to audition in my home. They were defintely keepers even though I had just purchased the Motion 15s and it was too late to return them. I then ordered the 706 S2 thinking if the 606 were this good, the 706 S2 must be world beaters. Not sure if it was because they were open box or if I just didn't give them enough time, but it was pretty evident to me fairly quickly that the increase in sound quality of the 706 S2 was not commenserate with the difference in price (for me). I'm very happy with the 606.

Pros: Nice classic look, fills my 12 x 20 room with no subwoofer, vocals actually sound better than the Martin Logan folded motion tweeter (which is pretty impressive itself)

Cons: I believe I would prefer woodgrain cabinets over the matte black

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Full range sound at an entry level price.

Stan from Portland, OR on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have given these speakers a 5 star rating relative to their price point. I have heard more impressive speakers which have equally impressive price tags. For the money, I am very happy with my purchase of these speakers along with the matching B&W STAV speaker stands. I am using these as the front pair in my Dolby 5.1 home theater system driven by a 75 watt per channel Denon AVR. They replaced a pair of Energy Veritas bookshelf speakers which were accidentally damaged. After an appropriate break-in period and critical listening of music in 2.1 and Blu-Ray movies in 5.1, I am very happy with the performance of these speakers. In a word I would describe them as ¨smooth.¨ While I agree that they have good bass response, I would not use them without a good sub-woofer as that ultra low level octave that you feel in your chest is simply not there (as expected from any bookshelf pair). I am not using the foam port inserts. The bass response in my room is better without them. The upper register is smooth and clear without harshness or unnecessary brassiness. The sound stage is good once the appropriate position and toe-in needed for the room placement is found. I love the musicality of these speakers and would highly recommend them along with the stands which I filled with sand. They are a big improvement over the other entry level B&W speakers I owned in the 90s.

Pros: *Smooth, well-balanced, response. *Good as a stereo pair for music or as a front pair in a surround sound home theater. *Excellent sound stage if tweaked properly with weighted stands and room positioning. *Beautiful and classy looking without the front covers.

Cons: *Good sub-woofer recommended as with all small bookshelf speakers if you want the full range of sound and visceral impact they provide. *Matching STAV speaker stands weight with sand is recommended for optimum sound quality as would be needed for all bookshelf speakers. *These are not cons specific to these speakers as I would recommend them for any small bookshelf pair for best performance. Without these improvements this speaker pair is still well worth the price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Palestine, TX on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Quality/Sound at an Affordable Price

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with these speakers. Very clear treble, wonderful mids and bass that requires no subwoofer in my opinion, the 606 are a great speaker with high end technology from much more expensive B&Ws made available at "entry point" level (if you think $1K is entry level prices). They quality of the materials is first rate and the look is simple and elegant. The Crutchfield support is outstanding, but no surprises there. They (along with about three dozen online reviews) helped me with the decision to go with these. I feel very good about it. There is an excitement and anticipation to listening to music and rediscovering my vinyl collection because of this purchase. I won't need another set of speakers in this lifetime. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Sound, Materials, Design

Cons: At 13.5inches tall, about 3/4 inch too tall to fit in my bookshelf.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

The Bowers and Wilkins 606 speakers became the flagship of the new sys

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After years of streaming music through bottom-end Bose shelf speakers, we realized how thin the music was. Part of the problem was the prevalence of MP3, and another was the limitation of our old sound system. So this became our Covid 19 makeover project. The Bowers and Wilkins 606 speakers became the flagship of the new system. They are driven by a Denon Amp fed by a 21 channel TechPro Equalixer. Now we hear every note, every voice, every instrument with such clarity that it sounds like a live performance. That doesn't happen without exceptional speakers.

Pros: Exceptional clarity, fullness of tone, versatility of installation.

Cons: The grill is fairly easy to knock loose because it is only held on with magnets.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

A steal

Crutchfield customer from Makawao, HI on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned B&W speakers. These almost seem invisible because sound so clean and accurate. I doubt I'll use my sub.

Pros: Good bass, faithful reproduction, great build, look great.

Cons: If you want a lot of "color" in you sound as opposed to flat response, may not be for you

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from White Lake, MI on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers for surround sound or for hooking up to a stereo setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A VERY HAPPY PURCHASE!!

Crutchfield customer from Gilford, NH on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After having the speakers for a little over a week. I've enjoyed them. They are now the front pair of a surround sound system. I've played recordings from the 1950s mono and stereo to present day stereo and SACD. I played recordings that are my favorites, ones I really knew well! I heard details that I missed. The music was diverse: Easy listening, jazz, symphonic, solo and chamber . The SACD that sounded so natural was the RACHEL PODGER with the HOLLAND BAROQUE SOCIETY of VIVALDI's LA CETRA on CHANNEL CLASSICS. Play THAT recording above whatever your normal level is but not too loud and you will be immersed in the church where the recording was made. You will hear every subtle detail! HEAVENLY ! In short , my ears have been very well pleased with whatever music I played! A great Father's Day/ Birthday present combo (they are on 2 different days and a few weeks apart) to myself. I'll be enjoying these speakers for a long time to come! Well worth the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Orland Park, IL on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fidelity for a bookshelf speaker. I purchased them from the Outlet. While there was some expected packaging damage, the speakers were perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Holden, MA on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, clear sound, not flashy. Some people say the cabinets look dated or unexciting but for me, the "look" of a speaker shouldn't be a show piece. Obviously how they sound is what's important. And they sound great!

Pros: Sound quality is amazing, clarity and detail.

Cons: Would be nice it B&W still made the lower tier speakers in the UK like in the old days.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great for Home Theater

FinalBoss from Las Vegas, NV on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a speaker specifically for home theater. I went through a few speakers before I found these. I auditioned these also in a Magnolia theater. Compared them to Def Tech D9, Elacs, Martin Logans and prefer the sound of the B & W. I had the Klipsch rp-600m and the SVS ultra bookshelves paired with matching/equivalent center channel connected to a Denon X4500h. The Klipsch and SVS just lacked the amount of detail when compared to the 606s. There's a few scenes that I play over and over in the movie Transformers and the 606s did not disappoint. The 606 revealed so much intricate detail. The sound was dynamic, crisp, and could handle the congested movie soundtrack with ease. They reveal ALOT of detail. Of course this speaker isnt for everyone, some might find the highs a bit harsh directly on listening axis (still during break-in phase).

Pros: -Very Detail sound -Price point is good, Better when on sale -Build Quality -Dynamic -Wide Sound Stage

Cons: -Highs might be bright/harsh during breakin

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Zachary from Washington, DC on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say about these that hasn't been said by every splashing review of these speakers? They bring music to life in a way that infuriates owners of systems 5 times their price point. Their stereo imaging gives an impressive soundstage reproduction. The placement of sounds is almost headphone like in their specificity. Build quality and design? They're simplistic, sleek, and bigger than I expected. The silver continuum cone draws the eyes as they dance due to their decoupled nature. They're almost hypnotic. But, if you are so inclined, they have magnetic dust covers (leave them off). They're also tanks. I knocked mine off the stand. A-ok. The B&W 606s are the "budget" bookshelves to beat. They're loaded with features and a sound originally reserved for B&W's top tier speakers. However, with one fell swoop, B&W put the entire industry to shame with these puppies. I find the 606s to be an almost irresponsible business choice on B&W's end. They're too good for the price. Much like Sennheiser did with with headphones, B&W is pushing the expectations of "entry level" upper tier bookshelf speakers. This will hopefully force others to follow suit. Clearly, B&W is a company that wants you enjoy their upper tier tech at a fair price. It's almost admirable. In my opinion, if you see a negative review of these speakers regarding the highs, the owner/reviewer did not give them time to break in. TL;DR Buy em. Burn em in. Break your fellow

Pros: - Horns and vocals sing (amazing highs) - Precise stereo imaging - Spacious - Present - Superb & extended low end - Continuum cone technology

Cons: - Demand a decent burn-in (~150 hours) - Highs are a bit hot until worn in - They need a good bit of power - Demand proper positioning. - In my opinion, they need the matching stands

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with my new B&W 606 pair.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfactory

Lawrence Univ Film from Appleton, WI on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With a straight-toed setup, mounted on the front corners of a heavy wood dresser (with a mildly recessed 42" TV between them), the speakers perform well enough. They lack the holographic abilities of the KEF LS50, but they have slightly more sparkle in the treble (though no more depth in the bass). They are not significantly more sensitive, however. So, like the LS50, they need lots of real power, despite their advertised sensitivity. In the end, they satisfy (especially with vocals) but don't gratify. When music gets densely textured, from symphonies to Led Zeppelin, the speakers lose a good measure of their articulacy. The sound recedes and blurs. Some of the richness of the music simply fades, and the speakers sound more like a boom box than hi-fi.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible detail and range! I'm excited to get home and put on tunes.

Pros: sound, size and quality

Cons: the white face doesn't exactly match the box white.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Helotes, TX on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely pleased with the performance of these speakers. Using them as rear speakers with my B&W 683 s2 . Sweet sound... Crutchfield delivered them in 2 days. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Detail

Crutchfield customer from Bremerton, WA on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful with incredible detail and surprisingly decent bass. Get them now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice balanced sound

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered these based on my positive experience with my older set of B&Ws and have not been disappointed. I have them bi-amped and the 606s respond beautifully. I'm using them in a medium size room and they are quite capable. If you want booming bass, you will need a sub, but they have a nice balance as they are.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 30 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Boyd from Plymouth on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound from a small package. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 606

Crutchfield customer from Port Orange, FL on 7/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sweet and balance premium sounding stereo speakers

Pros: excellent sound

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

10 of 14 found this helpful

TOP