Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Bookshelf speakers (Gloss Black)

MFR # FP38903

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Bookshelf speakers (Gloss Black)

MFR # FP38903

10 reviews
View this product

Good move up!

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to talk myself into spending the bucks to put these in my media room. I used them to replace some Polk LSi9s, that I liked very much. They are broadcasting my vinyl and CDs, run through a NAD preamp/power amp stereo setup. I'm also still using an old Carver Sonic Hologram Generator. Love the detail. Very balanced sound. Not as much bass emphasis as the Polks, but with a decent Definitive subwoofer, there is no lack of bass, and I think the bass spectrum is more even! Its like having the musical artists right here in my media room. More volume=more joy. Note, I did not spring for the Bowers & Wilkins stands. I'm using the same good quality, sand-filled stands I had the Polks on.

Pros: clarity detail

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Guest from Candia, NH on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super wide soundstage. Very detailed. Moved up from the B & W 606 to these and moved the 606 to use as my surrounds. Love the tweeter on these. Bass and mids are great also. Hear things I never heard before in music and movies have great separation and incredible detail. Stands are an added cost and expensive but definitely buy them. They are specifically made for these speakers. I just consider the cost of the stands part of the speakers. They sound great out of the box but after a little break in time they open up even more.

Pros: Awesome. Read review.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Guest from St Paul, MN on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an older version of this speaker. The bookshelves are the best in the lineup in my opinion, especially when paired with a good accurate sub. The tweeters are the highlight, but they also give great accurate low mids with no muddiness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clear clean, surprising bass in a very small footprint. Well worth it.

Pros: Fantastic performance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Dave from ASHBURN, VA on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to these speakers from B&W 600 series bookshelf system. Really great sound for music and movies. Paired with a Polk subwoofer for full range sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 705 S2

Crutchfield customer from Powell, OH on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very clean, balanced sound in the high, mid and bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Truckee, CA on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers really are THAT good. Just what I was looking for. Highly detailed without being harsh in the upper frequencies. I sometimes listen to old TV shows (Turner Classic Movies, Perry Mason, etc.) and the sound and dialogue could become strained, leading to an uncomfortable listening situation. But these B&W handle it well. (The associated center channel HTM71 is excellent also. No chestiness or boxy sound. Highly recommend.)

Pros: Good high frequency presentation, detailed, no harshness.

Cons: Some sibilance but not even close to a deal breaker.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality B&W purchase

Wayne from Decatur, GA on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! Sound is much more impressive and open, that belie its size. Caveat emptor: Quality of these speakers will expose the quality of your recordings, so then you'll need to buy better versions of your old LP's/CD's etc. Bi-amp/Bi-wire recommended to give your speakers just a little bit more headroom/power, as these speakers like to be played loud. The only negative might be getting that lowest bass "thump" (sub-50Hz) but that's not what these speakers were intended for. Pairing with a good sub, creates a compact, high quality 2.1 system for a small/medium sized space (this was used in a home office/den) that blends away into the decor.

Pros: Quality sound, hi-fi across the stated frequency range. High quality fit,finish, and aesthetic.

Cons: None, really. Look to pair with a agile, powerful sub to get that lowest reach, but otherwise, high quality purchase.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Bowers and Wilkins 705 S2

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, CA on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield shipped very fast. I have my 705 S2 speakers mated to a Marantz SR8012 AV receiver. I use the speakers as bookshelf as sound great. Placing them on stands though does open up the sound nicely. My living room is modest sized and I am currently only listing in stereo for music. Speakers are open , clear, and rich. Still a decent amount of bass, though I will add a sub-woofer in the future, to round things out. I plan on buying the B&W stands from Crutchfield in the near future.

Pros: Amazing looking. Sound great.

Cons: Wish they came with stands.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sweet

Crutchfield customer from Rapid City, SD on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a set of bookshelf speakers its hard to believe so much sound can come out. They are clean and clear. I love how open they are with the tweeters on top. Even my wife noticed.

Pros: Great looking. Outstanding vocals.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP