Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Bookshelf speakers (Rosenut)

MFR # FP39403

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Bookshelf speakers (Rosenut)

MFR # FP39403

18 reviews
View this product

good but nothing special

Mick from Stafford, VA on 9/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

B&W used to be something prestige and people would pay more for that badge. But now they are made in China so let just review on their own merits. I played my usual listening test list of songs. These speakers are polite and crisp, but they are not smooth or harsh either. They are ok nothing special and no where resembling the 800s. For the money I don't recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love these!

Eric from Centereach, NY on 1/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG! My advisor Jenny helped me pick these. I needed good speakers to match my Naim Uniti Atom. She mentioned I have purchased B&W in the past and that's the sound I seem to like. Well she was right. These speakers do justice to the Atom and are huge sound for my space

Pros: Small footprint HUGE sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Break-in these speakers before judging them.

Eric from Carson City, NV on 1/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to share a good laugh. After opening the box - delivered promptly, thank you Crutchfield - I setup the 706 S2 speakers and started to play some Christmas music. My wife immediately told me that they sounded like crap and I wasted my money. I told her good speakers require 20-30 hours of break-in time before they sound the way they're supposed to. I'm halfway through the break-in period, and my wife has already changed her tune. I then told her wait another 15-20 hours of break in time and they'll sound even better. I've mostly played just Christmas music and 80s-90s rock so far, and these 706s continue to open up beautifully. Fantastic, smooth bass and mid-range. Very detailed high-frequency. I'm very happy with my purchase. I'll update my review after another 15-20 hours of usage.

Pros: Beautiful, detailed sound for a bookshelf speaker.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

bw 706s2

Crutchfield customer from N Ridgeville, OH on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the BMW you 706 S2 to match my is my 603 S2 towers For Surround speakers They sound almost as good as my towers I would recommend them as stand alone bookshelves

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

B&W Heaven

Crutchfield customer from Grand Ledge, MI on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a fan of Bowers & Wilkins speakers for over 20 years. These speakers are perfect for my home office/music room. The clarity of the tweeters is delightful, while the bass response is impeccable. Truly incredible sound for speakers of this size. Many thanks to Crutchfield for fast delivery and expert shipping. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

much better than those silly Jamo's I returned these are listenable

Pros: nice sound after break in period

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't know how a speaker this size can be any better, for me personally. This price was the top of my price range and I feel like that's what I got, the best speaker pair at that price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2 Bookshelf

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CA on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are confined to true bookshelf space with certain space limits, which Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2 fits these requirements in my case, I think they perform very, very well. There is only one other I am aware of which probably is a better speaker in this situation, but that one is very expensive, for me an impractical cost alternative. It may be that with more use they will improve, but when compared with some really good full size speakers I have heard, I think high frequency music is smeared some with the 706 S2, but as I said, that is critique against a really good full size speaker. Otherwise I think the sound is fine. Just not likely to have everything with bookshelves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. We live the way they look. Perfect speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excelentes *****

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Son el placer y la creatividad con las que habia soñado siempre. Hermosa y al escuchar la tonalidad y frescura de ellas me asombraron. Fuerza y cuerpo en todas sus tonalidades. Siempre estaran conmigo. Mi pasión el buen sonido por mis BOWER & WILKINS 706 S2??????

Pros: Alta y hermosa fidelidad en todo el sentido auditivo.

Cons: Ninguno

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with these speakers. I also purchased a Yamaha receiver 780 returned for several reasons the B&W's sounded really bad with the Yamaha ended up with a Marantz sr5014 that has brought out the ability of the B&W speakers. Planning to buy the B&W M1 for the rear surround and the B&W center channel and a sub soon. I would purchase these again after hearing them with the Marantz at first was ready to return everything and start again but thought I would give the speakers a chance with a different receiver glad that was the route I went with.

Pros: Great for their size.

Cons: I wish the connection were straight or angled down instead of up.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 16 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Bowers & Wilkins model 706-S2 speakers are amazing. They provide a full range of clear, authentic sounds. The enclosures are solid and beautifully made. My Crutchfield Advisor is Sam. He is extremely knowledgeable and is willing and able to answer all my questions about audio and video products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Absolutely incredible!

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers with a new receiver on 05/11/20. I can confidently say now, a month later, that this is the best audiophile decision I've ever made. Here is my setup if you're curious: - B&W 706 S2 (Front) - B&W HTM71 S2 (Center) - B&W 607 (Rear) - Denon AVR-X4500H After watching several YouTube reviews of the 706s, comparing them to the likes of the Klipsche and KEF, I had no doubt that these would sound sublime (and that would come to be an understatement). My only concern was not purchasing another pair of these for the surround channels, like others had done. I figured the 607's would be adequate enough. I can confidently state that yes, the 706's are absolutely perfect as the front speakers, and the 607's are absolutely perfect for the rear speakers-- they both sound incredibly close in frequency response, and it's very hard to discern the differences! The 706's definitely have a greater, fuller sound range than the 607s. However if you want to save a few hundred dollars, don't even think about it: Get the 706's for the front, and the 607's for the rear. If you're debating getting these speakers, don't. Don't even hesitate. I have ZERO buyers remorse and can't recommend these bad boys enough.

Pros:

Cons: - None! They're incredible.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Fantastic sound for the money!

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sounding speakers for the money. I've tried multiple brands to pair with my Yamaha A-S2100 and these are superb! Very tight bass and vocals are some of the most realistic I've experienced regardless of price. Before settling on these I tried speakers from monitor audio, totem, and Dynaudio to name a few. As with all speakers, nothing is "perfect" and there's always going to be some kind of sacrifice as far as sound. These seem to get all the essentials right and makes the whole sound just seem "right". The bass on these is superb and the only bookshelves I can think of that better it are the Dynaudio special 40s which, to me, might do better bass but the vocals on these are much better on my Yamaha and I think I may have found my forever speakers. For the money I haven't heard anything come close to these.

Pros: Detail without being harsh Tonally accurate AMAZING vocals Instruments sound very real

Cons: None at this price point

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Satin white beauties

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old B&W 602'S were dying, needed a replacement so of course I went with B&W again. Thanks to Crutchfield for their service and their 90 day payment plan, got 706's2's in two working days. Satin white, which has a nice sheen, and the sound. Really great out of the box, amazing after a week or so of breaking in. Reccomended

Pros: Great sound, well made.

Cons: Pricey but so is everything else. My last pair lasted 18 years so maybe not that bad.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

B and w and crutchfield great service and product

Crutchfield customer from Brambleton, VA on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fabulous typical b and w equipment. Ordered from crutchfield came 48 hours later love crutchfield

Pros: Unbelievablesou

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins 706 S2

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The output was a little rough in the lower frequencies when I initially plugged them in and I was ready to return them. However, after 3-4 hours they've settled in and sound great. Very nice speakers for their size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Clear and sensitive

Crutchfield customer from Pacifica, CA on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great. When listening to Diana Krall, Live in Paris, I could almost hear her breath as she played the piano. The treble is sensitive, but not in a jarring way. The bass is is strong but balanced if using a subwoofer. BW gives you foam pieces to insert in the speakers if you like less bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound