Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

Wireless powered speaker system with Apple AirPlay® 2 and Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # FP39772

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

Wireless powered speaker system with Apple AirPlay® 2 and Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # FP39772

25 reviews
View this product

Its no Zeppelin

Daniel from Raleigh, NC on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We're big bowers and Wilkins fans in our house. We have the older cms2 set up in a listening room with musical fidelity and the newer 702s2 7.1.4 in our media room with marantz 8805. I purchased this for the kitchen/living room to replace our very old zeppelin from 2008. After a week of listening and moving it around I can say we are absolutely not impressed. Feeding it lossless music via airplay with Apple Music it is extremely fatiguing to listen to. The zeppelin is a touch less detailed but you can listen all day. They seem to have put more emphasis on the treble with this model which really over powers the warm midrange that the previous models had. Really a shame as I didn't have any connection problems that others mention. That being said it's completely rediculius that they eliminated all wired connections like the old zeppelin. I loved taking it outside when we had people over. Needless to say I'm returning it today.

Pros: Connection via WiFi is reliable Build quality and looks

Cons: Very fatiguing sound compared with older zeppelin and other bowers traditional speakers. No wires connections make it impossible to use outside away from WiFi (which I do a lot with the zeppelin).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 10/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice well-rounded sound, with enough bass to complement my formation system (bar plus 2x flex) in a large open space. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wifi Required. (Always)

Crutchfield customer from Camdenton, MO on 6/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slightly disappointed by this speaker. We purchased two speakers. The sound quality is good but I had expected better. Also, these absolutely require a wireless network in your home which we do not have. We were deceived to believe they were Bluetooth capable, which they are able to connect via Bluetooth only after you set it up via the WiFi network and the speaker must maintain a constant WiFi connection for your phone to connect. We were able to use a hotspot on our phone. Connect the speaker to that and then connect via Bluetooth. Total chaos. We would not have purchased this speaker if it was clear you must have a home network. One is still sitting in the box debating a return...

Pros: Looks great, sounds above average

Cons: Must maintain a constant WiFi connection and doesn't live up to typical B&W sound reputation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nervous

Dave from Shippensburg, PA on 6/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am admittedly extremely nervous about a recent purchase of a wedge. It appears as though Bowers and Wilkins is really screwing up the app according to most making the speaker unusable I would have expected better from this provider. If I can't directly Bluetooth I can't take the speaker to a party and play music if I need to always go through Wi-Fi it renders the speaker nearly worthless for travel. People buy small speakers for their mobile ability I am going to evaluate the speaker honestly just as I have my bang and olafson beolit 17 I was looking for a speaker with a little bit more bass reach but could still be portable my home speakers are paradigm tributes with seismic 12 subwoofers. I suggest R&d make fixing the app a huge priority because you are losing credibility as a provider.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Wireless Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Chappaqua, NY on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The imaging from this small speaker is pretty amazing. B&Ws can be a little on the "bright" side, but knocking a few BDs off the treble with the included app does the trick. I'm using this in a medium-sized office (12x18) with lots of bookcases and the Formation Wedge can fill the space comfortably. It may not be made in Merry Olde England, but it's still a fine B&W speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Visual/Sound is appealing, Wireless disappoints

Crutchfield customer from BRADENTON, FL on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a "value"purchase obviously given $$. The size and visual appeal for my application (small condo) was key, as was my preference for vocal/acoustic music--so this unit delivers quite well on both. The wireless connection is NOT strong using airplay--it easily disconnects--and reconnection can be difficult, sometimes requiring a full Wedge reboot.

Pros: Aesthetic appeal Sound for vocals & acoustic

Cons: Wireless connection

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Device

Crutchfield customer from Sedona, AZ on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little device. Connects almost immediately to my Roon server. Sounds good as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful sound and design

Crutchfield customer from Woodway, TX on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Of all the speakers I have heard, this is the best all around. Excellent range, highs and mids are especially well preserved. If you really want the exceptional sound, add the Formation Bass. The sub unit truly completes this sound project! The pieces are beautiful as well.

Pros: Excellent sound with highs and mids well preserved. B&W has history of superb performance.

Cons: Expensive (but worth every bit of it) For best sound out there, great improvement with the Formation Bass...costly investment, but again worth every bit of it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A high quality product with full, rich sound. Easy to set up using the Formation App. The bluetooth and AirPlay connections are much more stable than those on the B&W Zeppelin.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

David from BROOMFIELD, CO on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's painful to give this 3 stars because it is the most beautiful single speaker I've seen. The sound quality is a 4/5, better than most other wireless speakers as it has a dedicated sub that produces good low end. The highs are little bright for me. In some songs the drummer's high hat was actually distracting and caused fatigue. But the main problem, it's too expensive for what you get. I suppose if the money doesn't matter to you, then this is a great looking addition to an end table, but I just can't see how this single speaker is worth the price, without bringing voice activation or other features to the table.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pines, FL on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these are fantastic speakers!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Need to find the right spot for it, since it a wedge design

Crutchfield customer from Grand Prairie, TX on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You have to be patient and break this speaker in before you can experience the true sound it produces. I had to place it around a few different areas in my office until I got the bass and clear highs that I was looking for. Thought my wife would be upset because of its size but said the design looks very sleek and modern. 5 stars.

Pros: looks nice, sounds good, streaming is super easy, can easily switch from iPhone to iMac.

Cons: a little pricy, heavy, not a standard shape

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Sound, silver grill

Crutchfield customer from Lake Stevens, WA on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker brought a huge smile to my face. I previously bought more affordable speakers by other large brands but was disappointed with music not sounding right. The B&W wedge is fantastic. I love the hearing the true nuances again that were intended by my favorite artists. After a few minutes I started wishing for a little more base but then I found app setting to bump it up and it's practically perfect. App paired easy for Apple Airplay and reacquiring is as easy is swiping down on phone then selecting AirPlay icon. I suppose my only caution would be that the white version is silver for the cool wavy speaker cover and back corner part is actual white. Even still it blends great with house and I would love more for other rooms.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Experience with Roon

Steve from Guthrie on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These should not have the Roon Ready badge. When they wake up from stand-by they are never in sync with the rest of the endpoints in the group until you pause and resume the music again. For a Roon Ready device this is a horrible experience and Roon says they can't do anything about it. Well for starters they should remove the Roon Ready certification so others aren't spending almost a grand on an endpoint that doesn't provide a perfect experience. Buyer beware on all the B&W Formation products if the main reason for purchasing them is to use them with Roon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Small footprint, room-filling and immersive sound.

Matthew from Albany, NY on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bottom line is I love the Wedge. Small footprint. Room-filling sound. Simple set-up. Roon aligned (meaning I send the music using Roon). The Wedge is an A7 replacement. And, as much as I loved the A7, the Wedge is so obviously better. Connection is quick. Super reliable months later and just a wonderful speaker. For me the bass is good. But, if I listened to more bass heavy stuff, a sub might be nicely additive. But for jazz and classical, I am thrilled with the sounds.

Pros: Small Deep and resonant Simple setup Reliable

Cons: Potentially might want more bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful but With Planned and Very Near Obsolesce

Omar from LOS ANGELES, CA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is beautiful but seems engineered for planned obsolesce with no auxiliary input, no power button, no physical buttons, and no screen. I concur with a prior review that states that this missing auxiliary input is just plain bad; my T7 has one and that thing is tiny. With advancing technologies, the app will likely become abandoned, who knows what will replace bluetooth and airplay in the future; without the auxiliary input and a hidden screen or physical buttons this speaker will likely become obsolete in some years, unlike traditional speakers. It is not as intuitive as Bower and Wilkins makes it seem, the iPhone application is clunky, it seems to want to control your music but does not, it disconnects when away from the app and takes several seconds to reconnect and the bass and treble adjustments are unnoticeable; the app needs an update. Bowers and Wilkins needs to start a replacement program for all these new wireless devices, where repeat buyers get major discounts on replacement wireless speakers when the previous ones become obsolete. This, just like all Bowers and Wilkins products is best suited for classical music; the reason I love it is because Arvo Pärt sounds as beautiful as this speaker looks.

Pros: Beautiful; great for classical music

Cons: Expensive; No AUX input, no real buttons or hidden screen for setup without a smart phone; likely to be obsolete within a decade

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sounding speaker

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the wedge and duos. Although this is a considerable step down from the duos, I decided to keep and put in my bedroom. The sound is that good. This line, as well as everything else from B&W, is overpriced, but it's difficult to find a better sounding speaker. If you are content with the price, you will be highly satisfied with the sound.

Pros: Sound, look and setup ease

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

An audition of the Wedge--initial reactions

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IN on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a former musician, I like to listen to music with good fidelity without breaking the bank. My living room system includes B&W 804 D2 mains (that I bought used). I'm trying the B&W Formation Wedge as a potential replacement for my A7 (that I've had for 6+ years) for audio on the screen porch, and for listening mostly in my office. My playback throughout the house is via Airplay 2 from a mac mini downstairs running the Music (formerly iTunes) app which streams through my existing mesh wi-fi network. The Wedge right out of the box was very easy to setup, and I was playing ALAC music over wi-fi within minutes. I'm still in the middle of break-in, and learning which room placements work better for listening and existing room acoustics. The Wedge sounds amazingly good. Not as good as my living room system, but a fraction of the cost with no cables except for the power cord. It beats the A7 hands down, both in terms of stability of streaming over wi-fi and quality of sound. The dynamic EQ in the Wedge works quite well at different volume levels, once I found the sweet spot for placement in the room. So far so good!

Pros: Easy to setup, good fidelity for the cost, works with Airplay 2 and ALAC music without wi-fi dropouts.

Cons: Pricey.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid performer. Works great with Roon. Add a Formation Bass.

Richard from AUSTIN, TX on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, B&W app is a bit weird, but you don't need it after setup. For years we had a first generation Zeppelin in our kitchen, then we bought a Naim Mu-so QB. The Wedge when combined with the Bass is a step up. I use Roon to stream music throughout my home. And the Formation products integrate beautifully in the Roon setup.

Pros: Best tabletop speaker that I have heard when combined with the Formation Bass

Cons: A bit pricey when you add the Formation Bass, or a bit bass shy without it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound

Phil from Chicago, IL on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first thing I noticed about the B&W Formation Wedge was the great sound: open and full with tuneful, melodic bass and decent stereo separation for a player of its size. I also own their Zeppelin Wireless, which I got from Crutchfield a few years ago. The Wedge beats it for fuller sound and deeper bass. I mostly listen to a range of music that I send to the Wedge from an iPod via Wi-Fi (AirPlay 2). So far everything works perfectly. Setup was quick and easy. I think the Wedge sounds best using AirPlay 2; while I liked Bluetooth for playing the Zeppelin. With the Wedge I'm really enjoying all of my music and playlists. Every time it's on I'm amazed.

Pros: Open, full sound with deep bass and good separation of instruments and vocals

Cons: Nothing to date

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Audiophile Quality Sound

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a great speaker. I have B&W 800 's so I'm a fan of the companies sound and build quality. I also have a bluesound pulse speaker that I stream hi Rez audio to and the sound is not even in the same category as the Formation Wedge. A much richer tonality and great sound stage. I don't understand the purpose of the B&W app, I used it to set up speaker and haven't opened it since. The trial Roon subscription makes this speaker great. It also works seem less with Spotify and AirPlay.

Pros: Great sound, easy to setup and use. Works great with Roon, AirPlay & Spotify

Cons: Bowers & Wilkens App

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bowers & Wilkins Formation Wedge

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was initially ambivalent about the looks but it has kind of grown on me. Love the sound. More open sounding then other Bluetooth speakers I listened to but still not the same as separate speakers. Airplay has worked flawlessly. Bluetooth has worked well but has cut out twice. It was easy to set up. I live in a condo and really like that this speaker sounds good at modest listening levels.

Pros: Sound Build quality

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Beautifully designed speaker

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful speaker with beautiful sound but mine sometimes has lagging connection issues with playing music outside of Spotify and the formation app is a joke. It often can't "find" my speaker, even if it's currently playing music, so I never really use the app. I'll be honest I'm no audiophile and I chose the formation wedge over others because of the design of the product and fitting into my interior design aesthetic, but it really does sound better than any other wireless speaker I've heard that is similar size and even my dog sometimes barks at the speaker because some songs really do sound like a live concert is going on. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because it still has to be kept plugged in so it's not truly wireless, the bad app, and because I can't get airplay to work with music outside of Spotify, although Bluetooth works.

Pros: The design and it sounds great.

Cons: The app and connections need to be updated.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Wireless speaker with no inputs

Tim from Bellevue, WA on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have no clue why B&W designed this product. The speaker has only eth and wireless inputs.. While other products in this class has tons more? Did B&W think this class of speaker going to be only for audio and not AV use too? In addition.. there is no Amazon Music support and other music services . How the dam do i used this as part of my AV system... B&W sorry to say.. the speaker looks great , sounds great but it is limited in connectivity. I hope the updates continue or this speaker is the most expensive joke in wireless speakers.

Pros: Looks good and sounds great if u can afford it.

Cons: Who invented this??? I would like to know I am IT expert and into the lastest trends but seriously.. not even USB connectivity? Only wired and wireless inputs? No support other music services.. now only Spotify? No Amazon? No google chromecast? How do u use this with TV audio?? no other inputs. No HDMI, No digital, No analog? No USB? Maybe in 2025 this product is viable not 2019 B&W name not justify this kind of product for this price. only reason to buy this is if u

Crutchfield response on 11/26/2019
Tim, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker system. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent Wireless Speaker

John A. from Valparaiso, IN on 8/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First; let's manage expectations...the Formation Wedge pales by comparison to my B+W 802's powered by a Mark Levinson 500w power amp. Ok, now that we have that out of the way...this is an absolutely GREAT wireless speaker. It looks great, it sounds wonderful, and it's a joy to own. Set up was not quite as simple as advertised, but I'm no tech giant. But once I got my hands around that it was simple. I've fed signal from my desktop, a CD player and Apple Music with excellent results. It seems not be location sensitive with excellent balance and sound regardless of placement. Bass is good but I'm thinking about adding the sub to fill out its range. Or, I could just realize that it's an excellent product in its niche and buy another one (or two) for other rooms! It is light years ahead of any other wireless speaker I've heard. The build quality is typical for B + W - excellent. Give it a listen...you'll be very happy with what you hear.

Pros: Sound quality. Build quality. Looks.

Cons: It's a bit pricy...but good "don't come cheap".

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP