Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

2-pack of wireless mesh modules

MFR # WHW0302

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

2-pack of wireless mesh modules

MFR # WHW0302

15 reviews
View this product

Great system.

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MI on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system transformed the wifi in my house. I messed around with my old router trying to locate it in different areas of the house, but I could never get the coverage I wanted. With this system, I have one node downstairs and one upstairs, and the whole house is covered with a strong signal. The set up process was incredibly simple, and I like the app which shows me what devices are connected to which node. There's no need to manually select 2.4 or 5 GHz signals as the system puts out both under one name. I set all my permanently located devices (Echos, Smart TVs, etc.) to the node that is closest, while my phones and tablets switch back and forth. I also like that the nodes have ports for an ethernet cable so I can connect devices that need to be hard wired. My only complaint is that sometimes my phone will stay connected to the downstairs node while I'm upstairs, which results in a slightly slower connection. But it's still a strong enough signal that I don't really notice a drop in speed, and I can force it to connect to the closer node by switching my wifi off and on again on my phone. This is a great system.

Pros: Easy set up, strong signal, seamless connections between nodes and 2.4/5 GHz networks.

Cons: The app doesn't let you force a device to choose a different node. Minor gripe as simply resetting the wifi on the device usually makes the device pick the closer node.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent But Not Best

Colin from WEIMAR, TX on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I seemed to have minor trouble with setup. It seemed to have a problem with the connection between nodes. Not the best option.

Pros: Sleek Look

Cons: Mobile App Setup Performance

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Linksys is better than ever

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded to Velop from an older linksys router. Velop is easy and fast to setup. The new phone app administrator is a great upgrade from older routers that use a browser interface. Linksys routers have never given me any problems and are very reliable. I tried the dual version velop first, but needed the tri band due to the number of walls in my house between the router and all my devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

Crutchfield customer from Bonita Springs, FL on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor customer service. Not very helpful as they simply read instructions already on website. I had to figure out on my own how to both use wired and wireless nodes. Turns out I used bridge mode to do this. This is found no where on the velop website nor was the rep helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Engineerron

Ronald from Nutley, NJ on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not like the setup! Mine Never showed a Purple Blinking Light! They did show an Orange/red Blinking light, but never went to purple! And now they are an Aqua color! Also they never really worked well as connected through Wi-Fi, so I had to hard wire the second one to get them to work at 100% efficiency.....I gave it 2 stars, and that was generous.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/17/2020
Ronald, we're sorry you're having issues with your Wi-Fi system. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Don't buy if you need reliable parental control functions

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Velop mesh system in 2017 replacing an aging router. Setup was easy and network access and speed consistent for a household with >10 devices. Wifi speed degrades after extended use but goes back to excellent when channels are re-scanned in the app or router rebooted.While the app offers parental control functions I did not attempt to use this function until this month, with the kids getting to the age where youtube / gaming/ web access needs control. I was hugely disappointed by the failure of Linksys to establish consistent and reliable parental controls. Blocking internet access on devices worked only for certain browsers, not apps, and even that was only temporary. In iOS devices Safari access was blocked, but not Chrome, and not the Youtube app When visiting customer support message boards I realized Linksys was aware of this problem since 2017, and still doesn't have a consistent fix in 2019, leaving customers abandoned with a high priced product. Even many firmware / app updates didn't fix this, suggesting that Linksys is technically incapable or not willing to help customers. They offer a paid parental control option, but who wants to pay for this if even the basic function doesn't work. I am looking for an option with consistent parental controls now after sinking money into the Velop system less than 2 years ago.

Pros: Easy setup, high speed.

Cons: Needs rebooting, channel scanning for consistent high Wifi speeds. Parental control function simply doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

Crutchfield customer from Vienna, VA on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up. The 'radios' are very powerful. My coverage with only one is much better than my old D-Link system. Two combined as a mesh system provides seamless coverage throughout the house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

Crutchfield customer from Bel Air, MD on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't able to set this up the way I wanted because I was told there was no way to set a static IP address. Customer support did take that as a suggestion for a future enhancement, but I was left with having to set it up in bridge mode. There were a couple of hitches in the automated setup process but once I got past that the system seems to be working very well. I now have no WiFi weak spots in my house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

Crutchfield customer from Colonia, NJ on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed this to strengthen the wifi in my house for Bluesound. They advertise 1 node can support 2000 sq. ft. - BUT - in the set up they advise adding another if there are 2 walls or more. If your modem is on one side of the house you will need more than advertised. I have 3000 sq. ft. and will need 3. The blue sound streamer shows a signal strength of fair-good. My computers/ipads/phones are incredibly fast now. Music streamers need stronger wifi.

Pros: does the job, very easy set up

Cons: You need more than they advertise. It becomes costly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid coverage but some configuration limitations

Daniel from Alpharetta, GA on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, Velop is a great solution for simple home networks and, with a separate 5GHz backhaul channel, one of the best hardware implementations. Here's why it doesn't get 5 stars: - limited feature set in bridge mode (i.e. parental controls, device prioritization, speed check, etc. do NOT work in bridge mode) - guest mode does not work when using Ethernet backhaul (devices that connect to child nodes cannot obtain an IP address) - app is limited, for example, if you need to have different names for each Wi-Fi band, you have to use the web control panel - web control panel is simplistic, the usual granular settings you might expect on a Linksys router are not available - on boot or reboot, the Velop does not select the least busy channels, you have to run channel finder separately - simple configuration changes require a reboot (e.g. guest mode on/off or unplug child node from Ethernet)

Pros: 1. attractive design 2. hardware seems solid; mesh seems to work well 3. separate 5GHz backhaul channel with the tri-band version 4. auto updates firmware

Cons: 1. feature set limited in bridge mode 2. web control panel is very rudimentary 3. does not auto select the best channels 4. wired backhaul is not supported well

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Performance, Good Price

Chaz K from Smyrna, GA on 2/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Prior to installing the Velop my entertainment room, separated from the main house by a courtyard, had nearly non-existent W-Fi (less than 1 Mbps). Comcast suggested leasing another of their routers and opening a second account. A local big box retailer recommended either a $2,500 Wi-Fi hotspot or a $450 Netgear Orbi System. Thankfully I found the Velop on Crutchfield and I could not be happier with the result. I purchased a pair of Velops, one plugged in to the Comcast gateway located in my main house and the other plugged in the wall in my entertainment room. The units are separated by about 50 feet and two exterior walls. I now have a steady 100+ Mbps download speed and 15+ Mbps upload speed. While these speeds are not quite as high as I get in the main house they are more than adequate for streaming movies and music as well as uploading photos. If you need a mesh router I recommend the Velop.

Pros: Easy Setup Reasonable Price Great Performance Good Warranty Adequate iPhone App

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great WiFi system

Michael from Paramus, NJ on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At last a system that's a breeze to set up and works well

Pros: Easy to set up works well with all devices no more dead zones in the House

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing wifi coverage

Frank from Long Island, NY on 10/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing wifi coverage. I went from having multiple dead spots throughout my home with a cable modem/dualband router, to 100mps upload/download in every inch of my home. I love this product and would recommend it to anyone needing to get good wifi in their home. I have three floors and three kids who are always on and have experienced no slow downs since setting up the Velop system. So easy to install. Took minutes and my 10 year old set it up.

Pros: Easy install, great coverage

Cons: High price, but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

William from Ottawa, IL on 9/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than satisfied. Incredibly easy to set up, I have the 2 nodes covering about 5000 sq ft. Reaches outside in my garage where I couldn't get a signal before. I may add a third in the future because of the lan connections.

Pros: Fast simple set up. LYNKSYS app for your smartphone. Strong flawless WiFi signal throughout the house. LAN connections; I can now connect an Ethernet cable to a smart tv in my living room without running a 100' cable under a crawl space.

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Linksys Velop Wi-Fi 5 Tri-band System (2-pack)

William from Stirling, NJ on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system really works!!! two units and the entire house plus outside patio with wi-fi.... Very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP