Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Soundcast VGtx

Bluetooth® wireless TV/headphone transmitter

MFR # VG-TX

Soundcast VGtx

Soundcast VGtx

Bluetooth® wireless TV/headphone transmitter

MFR # VG-TX

101 reviews
View this product

Nice unit. Noticeable delay. Application specific.

Crutchfield customer from Prineville, OR on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit functions just fine. Was easy to use. Quality construction. However, the delay is noticeable. Not usable for my applications. This unit would be excellent for a stand alone set of speakers or headphones, but unusable when used with other speakers at the same time.

Pros: Works / Looks great. Fair price. Would be great if used alone.

Cons: Noticeable delay with the unit. Will be suitable only when used alone.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Blue tooth for older person

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this so my near 80 year old mother could watch her TV without disturbing others around her. It's very nice that all she has to do is turn on her headset and it's automagically paired, no fiddling with settings. Great suggestion Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Set Up

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VT on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Asked the question at Crutchfield. Got the good answer and order the product. Such and easy set up and works 100%. Thank You

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Highlands Ranch, CO on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to return it. Thought it had volume control in the transmit mode, but apparently it works only in the receive mode.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast

Crutchfield customer from Girard, OH on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was recommended by a member of your team. Unit connected very easily but had a 5 second delay between tv and speakers. Unit was returned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item solved my Bluetooth connection from an old receiver and my wireless headphones; it is used at night in order to not disturb my neighbors.

Pros: Easy to install & use it...

Cons: I will like that the unit include a 1/4" male adapter to a 1/8" (female).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product and easy installation

Crutchfield customer from Bloomsburg, PA on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and easy installation. I used it to pair my TV to a set of headphones. It worked great, with no fuss or problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Granite, MD on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little device and very easy to setup and use. Works really well with the bluetooth speakers I have and automatically connects after paired.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Michael from Naples, FL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

its transmits through the whole house and outside

Pros: Powerfull

Cons: I couldn't find 4any

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy your own power adapter

Crutchfield customer from Wilmette, IL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this is a great product and a great idea. However it has a design defect the forces you to use your own power adapter. Otherwise I would give it 5 stars without hesitation. The Soundcast VGtx receives its power from a USB (on the Soundcast) to AC (wall unit) adapter. The AC adapter has an otherwise very convenient plug feature that allows the user to insert different wall plugs depending on where they live. US, UK, EU, etc. A great idea,,, EXCEPT there is a tiny plastic nub inside the the female end of the adapter that prevents the wall plug from making a secure fit. I called the guys a Crutchfield and as usual they were very appreciative of the feedback. They asked for photos, which I sent, and promised to look into the situation. I have not heard back, but they seem to be aware of the defect. Once power is established it works great.

Pros: Works well as advertised, except for adapter

Cons: Design flaw in power adapter

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Analog output to Blueray

Crutchfield customer from Pittsfield, MA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it is supposed to, and was easy to set up. What more could one ask for? Oh...a knowledgeable sales rep to guide me to the correct purchase. 3 for 3.

Pros: Easy to set up. Easy to use. Good documentation (though hardly needed).

Cons: None, really.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, MD on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael, CA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I made a cable that connects to the front speakers of my home theater and has a 3.5mm connector that plugs into the Soundcast VGtx. Now I can use my blue tooth headphones to listen whatever is on the home theater from wherever I am in the house or within range outside and people in the house can still hear the sound through the regular speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly Recommended

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. It does exactly what it is designed to do. Paired quickly with the Bose headset and with acceptable sound.

Pros: Reasonable priced Functionality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Dansville, NY on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect. Easily paired with a variety of devices. No major loss in sound quality.

Pros: Small Discrete Fully functional

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! I live in a tall and skinny house (3.5 stories), and the Soundcast doesn't break up when I'm running around the house. The sound is fantastic, and is especially great for late night music sessions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small but Mighty

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's small, it's simple to hook up and pair - what more can you ask for? I have it inside my television cabinet and it has no problems whatsoever - works like a champ. Need a great inexpensive transmitter? This is it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Lorain, OH on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to use. Good range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Hollis, NH on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great - simple to install - neat device

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent quality transmitter

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, this little transmitter is doing everything expected of it. Small, easy to install, quick to set up. Would give 5 stars but I find interfacing and device syncing to be irritating and difficult. I consider that a personal problem, but I'm vindictive when aggravated. Cheers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This bluetooth transmitter worked just as advertised and as expected. The range was my whole basement. I did not try to see if it would transmit from the basement to the main floor. Very pleased with the unit. I use it on both a headphone out jack from an analogue tube amp (McIntosh MA 352) and from an optical out from a network audio player (Cambridge Audio). It paired easily with a pair of Sony bluetooth headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Rolling Mdws, IL on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a very old and very large receiver. Now I can listen to my CDs in any room in the house and have a whole shelve free now that the old bulky equipment is gone. It even broadcasts to my deck and front porch. I am very happy with this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy to set up and synch with my headphones.

Pros: Small, does exactly as advertised, easy to set up, paired easily with my headphones.

Cons: More than I wanted to pay but a fair price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect, for me.

Crutchfield customer from Easton, MD on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used for adding Bluetooth TV sound neither my wife or I have had trouble. However, the delay in the SBC codec is quite noticeable when watching TV. If I use a set of headphones that has the aptX low latency codec, I get great results. My QC 35 headphones connect via SBC and lip sync is irritating. My Shure AONIC 50 headphones connect via aptX low latency and there is no lip sync issue. This exists in the same room as some other Apple Bluetooth arable devices and it works flawlessly, however, I have had to pair this with my listening device in another room in order to be successful, but once paired, no problem returning to my Apple BT room. I also really appreciate the optical feed through. I would give 5 stars if a few more codecs were supported.

Pros: Solid connection, optical input, optical feed through, good range.

Cons: If your device doesn't support aptX low latency, you may notice lip sync issues.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Bremond, TX on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product & fair price.

Pros: Works as recommended.

Cons: When hooked up to digital, sound was limited to EITHER the TV speaker OR the headphones. My TV thankfully had a Audio Out . With this connection - problem solved .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better Options Available

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Several issues with this device which forced me to ask for a refund. The universal power adapter did not work, so I had to substitute a spare adapter. The range is limited to the room where the device is located. The power button and pairing button are the same button, so while trying to pair with headphones the device frequently powers down. Even trying to power up results in frequent power downs since the power on and power off button are the same button. Eventually I can get the device to stay on and pair with my headphones, but unlike other bluetooth devices which I own, this device requires far too much effort, and seems to be hit or miss for which sequence of steps are actually required to make it work.

Pros: small footprint.

Cons: expensive. requires patience and persistence to turn on and pair with headphones.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Hagerstown, MD on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as Advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Difficult with set-up, but works great

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a bit difficult getting set up, but with the help of Crutchfield support X 2, it got done. It works perfectly, now, and I really enjoy being able to listen to TV/Pandora/Hulu, and whatever else vis my headphones so as not to disturb my partner.

Pros:

Cons: Could use clearer instructions for we who aren't so electronics savvy

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Cazenovia, NY on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was referred by your customer service rep, he was stop on . I can now use the sound bar and head set at the same time and the headset connects thru bluetooth almost as soon as I turn on the so called smart tv. I want to thank Travon for his help in selecting the sound cast transmitter

Pros: Connects quickly to my headphones

Cons: None so far, maybe the price a little bit, but it works and works great!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Athens, AL on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well , connects easily, good value .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Ave Maria, FL on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Works well. Large transmission area

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to connect a bluetooth device to my home theatre system so that I could watch movies using headphones. The customer and sales support person (via chat) quickly identified this product and it's worked out perfectly. The only way to turn off the home theatre speakers is to use the analog headphones jack vs. the digital input option. Pairing to headphones was simple and quick. Sound quality is great. Range is great as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Boxford, MA on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. I needed more cable to move the unit

Pros:

Cons: The connectors are really tight. You have to make sure they are seated all the way. And they appear to be sensitive to small moves. Could use an adaptor for 1/4" earphone jack at the amp.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy Customer

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this for a few weeks now with no issues. Was very easy to install ( I'm using the digital audio cable) and pair to my bluetooth headphones. Headphones automatically connect every time I turned them on. Packaging is excellent storage box for the accessories that came with the unit. Highly recommend if you are in need of a bluetooth broadcaster.

Pros: small size, easy installation, audio cable options

Cons: price is high, but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wouldn't connect to my B&O H4 headphones

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has good features, and look promising. Just couldn't get it to connect to my B&OPlay H4 headphones. I could have received a bad unit or my headphones just wasn't compatible. Crutchfield return policy is great with no hassle, and offered help troubleshooting my unit. Left (2) stars because it didn't work with my headphone model, but may work with others.

Pros: Nice design, good features, small in size.

Cons: May not work with all models of headphones & speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use it to employ my beats Bluetooth earphones when watching TV. Easy to install and does exactly what i needed. Consistent and predictable.

Pros: easy to install

Cons: have to buy it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Lavaca, AR on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After receiving the product I found out that the TV are use when you activate the Wi-Fi or Bluetooth on this device it turns off the TV speakers so we only have the volume from the external device

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Valdosta, GA on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a Bluetooth device to connect my TV to a set of headphones. Crutchfield recommended the Soundcast VGtx and I am happy with this device. This device make it easy to connect both the sound bar and headphones to the TV using the optical connection. Great sound, works as advertised.

Pros: Small device easy to place.

Cons: Can think of a thing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Elkhorn, WI on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am hard of hearing and my wife is not. This makes life a lot easier when watching Tv as i can set my headset at whatever volume i want without changing the sound on the Tv . What a great product.

Pros: +++++++

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, MA on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great! Mom can hear the tv now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Brian from MT PLEASANT, PA on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

use it for my bluethooth headphones works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New meets old!

Crutchfield customer from Deltaville, VA on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow-- new meets old technology & gets me amazing sound in several rooms. Mom can now listen to her CDs in any room she is in. This little device transmits awesome signal to speakers in several rooms. Mom appreciates that she does not have to have volume up in order to hear her music throughout her rambling home. Thanks to Colt & Crutchfield :)

Pros: Easy to set up, worked right out of box.

Cons: None at all!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the process of upgrading my computer I focused on two things I specifically wanted to include: decent headphones and elimination of as many wires as possible. Along with the Soundcast VGtx Bluetooth transmitter the Sennheiser HD 4.50 BTNC helped accomplished both. Over the years someone borrowed my "expensive" Koss headphones I purchased in the late 70's and still haven't returned. I have been using aggravating ear buds (when listening to music on my computer and needing a more concise perspective) ever since they came out. The Soundcast transmitter performs very good. The only problem others may have is a range of 50' to 70' before losing signal. But I am very happy with it. Marketing on the Sennheiser headphones seems to center on use in commercial airplanes. I hope my days of flying are over so I can't speak to that issue. Neither can I speak to the issue of noise cancellation but there are many other reviews that do address this subject. I don't listen to music requiring a huge amount of bass. But I am very satisfied with the frequency range when listening to Pop, Rock, Country, Easy Listening, etc. They were also marked down 33% and I added another 33% of Crutchfield reward points, leaving the purchase price approximately 1/3 of the retail value; or approximately what I paid for my wayward Koss headphones from the 70's. I call that a deal I couldn't be happier with.

Pros: Great fidelity.

Cons: Range may not be acceptable for some uses.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had concerns about placement since I have two wireless routers very close (3 feet and 1 foot) from this transmitter and so far it works well. I did have to re-read the instructions to pair successfully, only because I went too quickly- the instructions were simple, just make sure you read what they actually say. Construction is just what is needed, not poor according to a previous review. I am happy so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get this if your up at night watching tv late t

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is great turn a slightly older TV into blue tooth which is great for watching at night

Pros: Easy Set small compact

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Waikoloa, HI on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very difficult to pair with my AirPods.

Pros: Great when paired.

Cons: Takes a long time to pair

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good Bluetooth Transmission

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit for Bluetooth headphone connection to a new Sony TV. It allows for Optical as well as standard mini plug connections. The set-up is simple and the device works well--with one caveat: be aware that it conflicts with a modem transmitting on a 2.4 network. This may cause intermittent transmissions. The unit should be located as far away from the modem as possible. Also, I have discovered that the Optical sound in has to be reestablished when using Netflix...all other internet stations do not have this problem. The output sound choices cannot be set within the Netflix program. Calling tech support revealed the following: this unit is a stereo unit not a surround sound capable device. Netflix is a surround sound program. When using your TV speakers, automatic stereo is provided and no adjustment is necessary. Using this device means leaving it on and not having the issue...once connected properly you won't have the problem if the unit stays connected. If you have a device accepting a mini plug audio out, you will not have this issue connecting the mini plug-in to the device. The range is far superior to standard Bluetooth devices. In certain circumstances there is a delay of speech...but, it is acceptable. If your desire is to have a Bluetooth headset connect to a device not providing for Bluetooth transmission, this device will solve the issue.

Pros: Easy set-up

Cons: Optical audio connection can be problematic using certain internet stations

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and pair. Very good Bluetooth range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Add Wireless Headphones to your TV easily

Crutchfield customer from Oak Grove, MO on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, easy to hook up and pairing with the Bluetooth was easy. Small size so doesn't take up much room. I previously tried to hook up using the RCA jacks on my TV with another set of headphones and an RCA extension cord-but no luck. This has an optical cable which worked perfectly to use my headphones.

Pros: Small size, can conceal it easily, quick pairing. Easy to hook up to my TV.

Cons: Instructions were a bit vague, would help if it showed more pics on install steps. Cords are short, could be a foot longer for easier install. Can only pair one set of headphones at a time-will not do multiple ones.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Bluetooth Transmitter

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this product! I wanted to sync my Bose QC 35's to the TV in my bedroom so I could watch TV at night in bed ( bad habit ??) and not bother my wife. The Soundcast VGtx was the answer and an easy one to set up as well. I even had to use the bypass option as my optical port was occupied by my Polk sound bar. Still it was a very easy install and the syncing with the QC 35's happened immediately with a great connection and excellent range. I also used the USB cord as the properly supply , plugged into the TV, no AC power outlet necessary! I highly recommend the Soundcast VGtx Bluetooth transmitter, you will be very pleased with it's performance

Pros: Great product, excellent design and component options and built with very high quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluetooth your Stereo Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Ewing, NJ on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit will turn your older receiver into a Bluetooth capable receiver. This unit excepts a digital or analog input. If your like me and your receiver is so old that your headphone jack is your only signal output...... It will still work !

Pros: Comes with (Digital cables) and (Analog) 1/4 inch Stereo Audio Patch Cable, 1/4 Male

Cons: You'll need to buy a 3.5 Mm Stereo To 1/4" Stereo Headphone Audio Adapter if your only signal out is your headphone jack.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, CA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this so I could listen with my Sennheiser PXC 550 Wireless Headphones (also bought here) through my system without a long cord. Took a few tries to sync (more my errors - read the directions carefully!), but once synced it works great. I can listen to all my other music sources (phono, SiriusXM, HD Radio, CD Transport ) without being tied to a long cord. Range is pretty good too. I can go a couple rooms away before the signal drops.

Pros: Has both analog and digital inputs.

Cons: Because it's so small it has a "wall wart" AC adapter, so it takes up space on your surge protector/power line protector.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Bethel Park, PA on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works perfectly---good purchase and great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The TV is in our bedroom. With the Soundcast one of us can watch TV while the other reads or sleeps. Connects easily to our Bose Bluetooth headphones..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing was quick and easy. Connected to my new JBL E45BT fast. Doc was very helpful. Thanks again Doc

Pros: Works as it says

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Marriottsville, MD on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with transmitter. Only problem is that it is sometimes difficult to link my QC35 earphones. Bu overall I highly recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons: Sometimes difficult to link earphones.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Easton, MD on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this device. I had been looking for a device to listen to my tv with my Bluetooth headphones for a long time. And this device works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good choice

Crutchfield customer from Lusby, MD on 3/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item is a bit more expensive than others but is built high quality. It is easy to install and use. The range I've tested so far is into other rooms 20-25 ft away with walls in between and no loss of comms. I have no need to go much further away in my home layout.

Pros: Quality. Easy. Great function.

Cons: A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Look elsewhere

Lyle from Costa Mesa, CA on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work as advertised. Very flimsy and cheaply made. I plan on returning it for refund, what a waste of time and money!

Pros: none

Cons: instructions and Crutchfield review is deceptive, the unit does not work at all. Maybe because I purchased it 'open-box' it was defective to begin with. Shame on Crutchfield for selling junk like this. Wish I could rate it zero stars.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 3/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is going to be a great way to pair our old-school stereo component gear to new wireless Bluetooth speakers. No more nasty, tangled, ugly wires. I would not have known about it if our Crutchfield advisor had not helped me with the selection. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

VGtx excellent bluetooth transmitter

Brian from Wall Township, NJ on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, well made and easy to set up. Only one minor hiccup which was easily overcome by Crutchfield tech support within five minutes. And you guessed right, it was my mistake.

Pros: Easy installation and set up Well made device Awesome sound transfer

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Solution

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had an issue with a small TV that had its speaker in the rear and sound heading the "wrong" direction. Paired the Soundcast VGtx with a Bose Soundtouch and it works great. Easy setup and Bluetooth pairing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburg, CA on 3/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally great experience! Great experience with service rep. I explained what I was looking for and he was a huge help. Product purchased has exceeded expectations. Checkout process was great. Free shipping and was delivered in one day. Overall buying experience was 5 stars +. Made me rethink my buying experiences at other sites. Didn't know a quality buying experience like this existed anymore. Kodos to you for providing a first class experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Larry from Cedar Rapids, IA on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using with a bluetooth speaker when watching tv in bed. Paired without any problem and no noticeable lip-sync problems. Happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better than the Sony

John from Indianapolis, IN on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup, love the fact I can connect any bluetooth headset to it vs. the Sony model which I bought last time. It's small and compact and so far great range and I am happy with the performance.

Pros: Small, light weight, compact and easy to setup

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Powder Spgs, GA on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great -easy-perfect -I have a 1700 square foot ranch house with full basement . 3 equally size rooms in basement . Middle room is stereo/transmitter and I can go end to end in basement and end to end upstairs and never lose signal . I love it and very happy with it.

Pros: Easy to use-great range

Cons: Zero cons

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundcast Works!

Don M from Indialantic, FL on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set up the Soundcast at Crutchfield's recommendation, to eliminate wires from my AMP to my headphones. (Sennheiser PXC 500) The installation, setup and pairing too about 5 minutes! The sound quality is excellent, and the range is great, even though the unit is in a closed cabinet. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Brookings, OR on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WORKS GREAT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Solvang, CA on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not happy. Nuf said

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/17/2018
We're sorry you're disappointed with your bluetooth transmitter. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 12 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Moriches, NY on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works pretty well. I lose signal if the antenna is not visiable. Happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx transmitter

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything exactly as expected, paired nicely with Sennheiser headphones, thanks to assistance from tech support at different times, for both the Soundcast transmitter and the Sennheiser headphones. Thanks to customer support assistance for guidance in choosing these products to begin with! Crutchfield knows how to get the job done, with lots of fun, too.

Pros: 1) easy to select, because it's the only one Crutchfield carries 2) tech support guidance is spot on 3) customer product support was accurate in recommending a transmitter instead of a Bluetooth adapter

Cons: not really a con, but Crutchfield doesn't need to offer other transmitters as options/choices, since this one performs very nicely!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product, low latency!

Rob from Prosper, TX on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked seamlessly with very little latency. Exactly what I needed to broadcast TV on the patio to wireless speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Bill from Salem, VA on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really handy item. It allows me to use cordless headphones (a nice pair of over ear Bose) with old school amps. It's easy to hook up and sounds great. The only reason I am not going 5 stars is the weak signal. If I move a room or two away from it in my house the signal drops. Otherwise I love it. I would buy this again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic Device

Lee from Forest Hills, NY on 10/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and worth the money. I have hearing problem and at times watching TV was an issue. Even with a good sound bar. The Soundcast VGtx used with the Sennheiser HD 4.40BT headphones solved all my problems and provides a fantastic listening experience. The aptX codec makes a huge impact as the headphones have it as well so there are no delays or lip syncing issues with the TV. The range is great and has no problems dropping the signal which was a surprise in a large apartment with solid concrete walls. Hunter the advisor took the time to help me choose the right component for my needs.

Pros: Comprehensive instructions and setup guide, Easy to Pair, aptX Codec , great sound and range

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from League City, TX on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's working! I'm using this w/Sennheiser HD 4.40BT wireless headphones. Sometimes my soundbar comes on. I need to call tech support. Other than that glitch I'm enjoying my new headphones w/the Souncast VGtx thanks to Travis' guidance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Alek from West Jordan, UT on 9/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid and small. First one arrived with malfunctions, immediately replaced by Crutchfield. Sound is very good, practically no lag. I took one star off only because it started breaking through one door at about 40 feet. I guess it is because it is bluetooth.

Pros: Clean and unadulterated sound

Cons: Works great if not obstructed by doors and walls.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from East Windsor, NJ on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, good range, easy set up !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

David from New Orleans, LA on 7/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful item works perfect, I ordered a second unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

OK in my application

Robert from Christiansburg, VA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to use on 10-year-old internet radio to pipe music to a Bluetooth speaker. Pairing was easy. I didn't know much about various Bluetooth flavors, so there is huge lag. That's OK in my application--radio inside, speaker on outside patio table. I am not sure how accurate the range spec's are. Through a couple of walls speaker sound breaks up only thirty feet from the transmitter. Your mileage will vary. I thought it was expensive, so was happy to get scratch-dent unit at a discount.

Pros: Easy-pairing; small size; external antenna.

Cons: Expensive; to avoid lag pay attention to the specs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Should have gotten a long time ago!

Don from Naples, FL on 6/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent range! I use it with the tv so as not to disturb the wife when I get up early and also when we both watch tv and I like a louder volume. Volumes are adjusted independently. I paired it with the JBL on-ear headphones so as not to lock out surrounding sound. Perfect!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from St Augustine, FL on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It seems to work very well. Setup was easy and it paired the device quickly. However i think i should have purchased a two channel device

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Teton Village, WY on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, the tech guy walked me through the pairing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, MI on 5/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has been great! I have hearing loss, and use Bose Bluetooth headphones. There is a minimally perceptible delay in audio from the TV visual, but it is not bothersome. It pairs very well using the Bose App on my android phone. I ordered this after being reassured by Adam that Crutchfield would help if there were any problem pairing. There weren't any problems, but it was nice to know that they would stand behind what they sell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Great Bend, KS on 5/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

THE SOUNDCAST VGTX WORKS AS ADVERTISED.VERY PLEASE WITH THE PRODUCT E

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Will not pair

Norm from Eugene, OR on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried to pair this with several different bluetooth headphones but both the unit and the headphones would just hang in pairing mode (slow blue/red flash) until the headphones timed out. The headphones had no issues pairing with other devices so I can only conclude it's the unit. Thankfully Crutchfield made the return easy (thanks)

Pros: None

Cons: Will not pair with any of the Bluetooth headphones I own

Crutchfield response on 5/30/2018
Thanks for your review. We're sorry for the trouble you had with this Soundcast transmitter. We forwarded your comment to the manufacturer, who gave us these pairing suggestions, in case they're helpful to other folks considering this product:

1) Put your headphones into pairing mode first, before doing the same for the transmitter.

2) Press and hold the Soundcast VGtx's power button for a full six seconds. The unit will flash blue and red signifying it is in pairing mode.

3) During pairing, the transmitter and headphones should be kept in close physical proximity -- within about six feet. After paring, wireless range is about 150 feet.

7 of 7 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

James Munday from Brooklyn, NY on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like its built in no lag works great with live TV And Movies.

Pros: works great and easy to install.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Easy set up

Michael from Cape Coral, FL on 5/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Attached to back of tv. Compact, user friendly, would recommend to friend.

Pros: Easy to set up. Costlier than many, worth the price. Excellent performance.

Cons: None, works as advertised.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Steven from Paso Robles, CA on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works as advertised, easy set-up, optical cable poor quality, advise ordering a replacement cable when purchasing this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Marvin from Hallandle Bch , FL on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job but have to connect by analog and put larger mini plug into the stereo out on my receiver. Only way to control volume.

Pros: Will do the job if used as anaolog.

Cons: Cannot connect to SL and SR from back of receiver, no sound.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect in Every Way!

Bob from Stamford, CT on 4/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is working perfectly. Very pleased. Only issue setting up was it will not work with certain Dolby settings from the source of the audio. We have a TV and a Fire TV both setup as sources. Neither one worked at all. We needed to fiddle with settings on each to get to what appears to be standard Dolby as opposed to super Dolby. Once we got this right the unit came to life. We use Bose Bluetooth headphones and all works perfectly. We leave the Soundcast on all the time. When we want to use the headphones we simply turn them on and10 seconds later the sound comes through crystal clear. Volume on the headphones versus from the TV are independent, so my wife watches TV with TV/amplifier sound, and I use the headphones so I can make it louder. Makes everyone happy!

Pros: Once set up works perfectly. No issues at all.

Cons: Setup needs to have correct Dolby settings on source.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Festus, MO on 4/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Matthew from Ridgefield, CT on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new Bose headphones immediately pair with my Soundcast VGtx transmitter, it was a breeze to set up and for me that's saying a lot! I'll actually be buying 2 more Soundcast transmitters for other TV's. Note that once you are finished using the transmitter, you do need to turn it off, do not leave it running or it won't pair with your headphones. Make sure when turning it off you simply press the power button on the front of the Soundcast unit just once with a very quick tap, do not hold down the button. This a great product and works exactly as designed! Enjoy

Pros: Works as designed, pairs really well with my Bose headphones

Cons: You must remember to turn off the unit when not using it and only press the power button one quick tap, do not hold down the button

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Easy install

Shannon from Seattle, WA on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy instructions and installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised.

Greg from Homosassa, FL on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine with the Bowers and Wilkins BT headphones. According to documentation it will also connect to two matched TWS (True Wireless Stereo) speakers in lieu of headphones. I am using the VGtx optical bypass to feed powered Bose speakers for my TV audio. The bypass remains active whether or not the VGtx is powered on or off. I use the Bose remote to mute the speakers when listening through headphones. There is a noticeable latency between video and sound from the TV but not real annoying. The VGtx and B&W headphones both use the aptX codecs so I expected the latency to be less. The Bluetooth range is amazing. I can be 75 feet away from the antenna, separated by a concrete wall, and no dropouts.

Pros: Small, great range, digital and analog connectivity, audio bypass, can be mounted vertically or horizontally, decent codec, quality cables and connectors.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Disappointed - Won't Pair!

Lee from Clarksburg, MD on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What headphones did the positive reviewers use? I was unable to pair this unit with my Powerbeats 3 headphones, and then to a pair of Bowers & Wilkins PX, which I bought specifically bc they had the AptX (albeit not low latency AptX) codec that was required/supported by the VGtx. I was even more disappointed, and frankly surprised, when I called for customer support. Usually their strongest asset, Crutchfield was unable to tell me if it would work with any of their headphones, essentially just try and see. No field testing by Crutchfield? Similarly, VGTx tech support let me know that they've never done formal testing with any headphones, as the unit is intended to work with their other VGTx products. I was so frustrated that I ended up buying some cheap bluetooth transmitter off another website that works through the TV headphone, rather than optical, output. At least it works.

Pros: Great in theory

Cons: Only a theory....

Crutchfield response on 6/5/2018
We're sorry for the trouble you had with this Soundcast transmitter. We've since received the following setup suggestions from the manufacturer to take care of potential pairing problems:

1) Put your headphones into pairing mode first, before doing the same for the transmitter.

2) Press and hold the Soundcast VGtx's power button for a full six seconds. The unit will flash blue and red signifying it is in pairing mode.

3) During pairing, the transmitter and headphones should be kept in close physical proximity -- within about six feet. After paring, wireless range is about 150 feet

6 of 6 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has solved the problem of connecting my headphones to my TV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

TV sounds sweet through my headphones! Love this product!

Jane from Madison, NJ on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been searching for a product just like this and finally found the perfect tv/headphone transmitter! I can watch tv late at night and my neighbors below me do not hear a sound. I love it so much, I am ordering a second one for my other tv! My connections are solid and the product works just as stated - even better!

Pros: Sound quality, ease of connection, use, transmission is clear and no delay.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundcast VGtx

Crutchfield customer from St Clair Shores, MI on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to add Bluetooth to my Marantz integrated amp. It does everything it says. simple setup and use. Great sound. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cheap, flimsy, wait for another brand

Andy from Charlotte, NC on 2/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very cheaply made (light weight plastics). The supplied cables "fall out" too easily, making you track down why you hear no volume. It works, but as poor as this is, the cost is far too high.

Pros: It works as long as the optical cable isn't falling out (very cheap).

Cons: Cheap plastics. The supplied cables don't stay in the slots (optical). Not easy to hide as you still need to push the "sync" button with each use.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 17 found this helpful

TOP