Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Furman SS-6B

Surge protector

MFR # SS-6B

Furman SS-6B

Furman SS-6B

Surge protector

MFR # SS-6B

55 reviews
View this product

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Forestville, CA on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built and does what its supposed to. Also fast shippng

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 2nd one I've bought. Excellent quality and a solid build.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Erie, PA on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great power strip. I bought a 1961/62 era Motorola Stereo console and this strip has eliminated the noise!

Pros: Sturdy, well built, long cord

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jimmy D

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 6B is very well constructed works flawlessly in the two weeks that I've had it I liked it so well I ordered a second one. I would recommend this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Castaic, CA on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent piece of kit. Sturdy, Well built and noise free. Does what it's supposed to

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Problem Solver!

christopher from ELIOT, ME on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a humming sound emanating from my integrated amplifier. I plugged the system into the Furman SS-6B and the humming went silent! The speaker sound is more crisp and clear as well. Thank you Furman and Crutchfiled!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Ravenna, OH on 8/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, would not use anything else. fast shipping from Crutchfield, very good company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

high quality

Crutchfield customer from TOLEDO, OH on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very well made product. i am using the Furman SS-6B to get power to my 2020 Sony X 90 H 55inch television. the Furman unit has noticeably improved the picture quality! Crutchfield shipping is outstanding as well. my order was received in 2 days in perfect condition. i highly recommend the Furman product and Crutchfield company as well. always on time always in great condition and packaged correctly. this is a high quality set up.

Pros: high quality. great price. awesome shipping. Crutchfield.

Cons: none at all....really none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Delaware, OH on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Apparently does what is expected. But in these times, as far as I'm concerned, a surge suppressor should include Ethernet protection capability, not just CAT 4 (old phone line) protection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Maxton, NC on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They r great proped with there deliver's

Pros: None

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice unit. 15 ft cord a must. double rows make it easier to plug into. Im using it for stereo hook up.

Pros: does what its suppose to do.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Power station

Crutchfield customer from Malden, MA on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice ! Lots of space to plug in your gear. Cuts the unwanted noise. Also a good way to keep your gear safe from surges. Love it.

Pros: Long cord. Black so it blends in. Lots of space between plugs.

Cons: The only thing i found was it could use some rubber or felt feet on bottom to save your floors from scratches.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a pair of speakers and a receiver. Real good bargain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

It's ideal for me.

Crutchfield customer from Somerville, MA on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I trust this brand. Really happy that Furman made this product. It's just what I needed. Living in an old New England home, the long extension cord allows me to be flexible in placing my audio equipment.

Pros: Long cable, assured safety of high end audio equipment.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Burkesville, KY on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Edgewood, MD on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good for such a small accessory. It does give an audio component some clarity. I have this unit plugged with a subwoofer, and it provides a clean line of electricity.

Pros: None

Cons: Good for small audio components

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Long cord

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, MI on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the long cord. So far so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Furman Ss-6B

Crutchfield customer from Fishkill, NY on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this product for my extra power outlets to secure my two turntables and a phono preamp. Nice and secured and ready to protect.

Pros: Price and performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wired

Crutchfield customer from Broadway, VA on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thank you crutchfield ??

Pros: Heavy-duty construction

Cons: None right now

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Surge Protector

Crutchfield customer from Central, SC on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent surge protector. I have two Furman products including this one and both are great. I am using this one for my computer. It replaced a Belkin which was affecting my computer causing it to turn off. Since I installed the Furman no problems.

Pros: Price was in my budget and the cord is long enough to insert into another outlet in the same room. Very good quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Interference

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good construction and eliminated interference in the AC line power that affected my receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Seneca Falls, NY on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The surge protector is exactly what my system needed to help keep a cleaner, more organized appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

John from National City, CA on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality you would expect. It didn't disappoint me. Solid as a rock!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B Pro

Mark from Redding, CA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was recommended by an advisor and works perfect like it should. Thank you Crutchfield

Pros: Well made and name stands alone. Great surge protector

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Myerstown, PA on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Heavy duty body and cord. It will probably last longer than you. The cord is long too so, it can reach far from the outlet.

Pros: Long cord. Heavy duty construction

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

DenzPen from SouthCentral PA on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built solid; it should hold up to most abrasive use. However, for my lighter applications it may be more than needed.

Pros: Lengthy cord.

Cons: Cord too thick for tight places!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A tank of a power strip

Dennis from Flemington, NJ on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power strip for Audio use. Used the Furman SS 6B Pro strip for my newly acquired stereo separates. This thing is a tank! Built extremely well, and allows you to connect up to 6 devices to help prevent a ground loop. I find my integrated tube amp runs very quiet now, and all noise and interference seems to be non-existent compared to the cheap-o unit I had previously. The unit comes with a substantial length of power cord, which make locating and connecting very easy. I mounted this unit on my wall near the floor, and it made for an easy and quick installation of all my equipment. As others stated, it is a large unit, and may not be acceptable for tight space applications. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to upgrade your power strip, and help cut down on any interference.

Pros: extremely well built, heavy duty case. Feels like something costing twice as much. EMI and RFI conditioner a plus for audio as well. More than adequate length of power cord for versatile installations.....

Cons: None than I found to date. Do not expect any problems from this product.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Parker, CO on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks like great quality and so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good choice.

John from Las Vegas, NV on 10/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality surge protector. Much better than what the home improvement stores offer.

Pros: quality construction

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made. TV and other devices function with clear and smooth images and sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Tony from Savage, MN on 4/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is built extremely well. It's solid with good weight. The outlets are nicely spaced to allow for easy plug attachment. Outlets seem to hold tightly to the plug and everything has a quality feel to it. It may be a bit large depending on the application and space you have available behind your system. I have about 8"-10" behind mine which is plenty of space. The main power cord is nice and long with a good plug.

Pros: Quality build Power cord length Good outlets Heft

Cons: Size my not fit behind some systems without moving component rack further from the back wall.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Works well, easy to use but a bit large.

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 3/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Just plug it in and turn it on. Looks like a quality product. Tough and durable metal construction. The price was right too. There are tons of less durable protectors out there for the same money. Only con was that it was a bit larger for the area I was putting it in but still worked great. It just barley fit right in the corner behind my TV stand and left floor speaker.

Pros: Metal body. Durable. Very easy to use. Long cord.

Cons: Slightly large for small areas.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 3/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these for several years the be best ever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality peace of mind

Robert from Boise, ID on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bomb proof construction. Solid metal surge protector. Circuit breaker. Great price.

Pros: metal. circuit breaker.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid

Steve from Sudbury on 2/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently got the Furman SS-6B Pro to plug in my Musical Fidelity M3Si amplifier and a Maranz 8005 CD Player along with a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit turntable so needless to say i wanted to make sure i was using a quality surge protector, avoiding power spikes and fluctuations - and i wasn't disappointed! I opted for 6 socket which is plenty and i must say the Furman is well built and looks professional. I can't vouch yet for it blocking out any radio frequency or electromagnetic interference but time will tell.

Pros: Solidly built, plug and play (literally) and don't ever worry about electrical issues again

Cons: nothing to note so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great power surge

Dude from USA on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a old generic surge protector piled with dust that was about 10 years old. I used it to connect my computer, amplifier, speakers, charger and other things. I knew i was doing something wrong when i turned on my amplifier and heard a small spike through my headphone, followed by no sound transfer from the computer.... Luckily i was able to turn off/on the power and get sound through. Something like that is scary if thousands of dollars is gone down the drain from a preventable mistake.... Like proper power management. A small or large investment for Hi-RES entertainment and conduction. I was so happy i had reward points from my previous purchases at Crutchfield, that i ordered this Furman power surge protector. The picture on my computer got a lot brighter. My amplifier sound got a about 5 db louder as well. I was depriving my components of power, interrupted with excess noise and unprotected from voltage/current spikes. So much difference with this simple RFI/EMI plug. I was so intrigued by this improvement, i invested in a separate power conditioner for my amplifier. Now I'm pretty much noise free and protected. Anyway, great quality and results. The cord is about 15-20ft long. Highly recommend.

Pros: inexpensive, Immediate results, long cord

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great spacing for battery chargers

Zak from Charlottesville, VA on 10/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great power strip, built like a tank, and with proper spacing between outlets if you plan to charge a bunch of camera batteries on it. The spacing lets the various battery chargers fit on there with no problem.

Pros: Outlet spacing Built super tough Noise filter Long cord Peace of mind

Cons: None - get these to replace all your cheap power strips

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Mary Jo from Hays, KS on 9/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made product. Seems to have enhanced my component performance. Like it having a longer cord.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Casey from CA on 9/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the cheapo big box store power-strips let my subwoofer amp burn out when we had a slight power fluctuation. An additional pair of outlets would have been handy, I was able to connect all but one component of my home theater system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great power supply! Get one!

Carter from Berkeley, CA on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power supply! Helped cut out a lot of speaker hum by supplying cleaner sound and cutting out EMI. Highly recommended

Pros: Cut my speaker hum in half by supplying cleaner power! I can crank it up now without hearing all the EMI

Cons: 15' Extension cord is a bit longer than I needed. Wish there was an option with a shorter cord.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solidly built -inexpensive protection for your electronics / way better than the cheap stuff sold in big box retail stores

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the price!

Joe from Putnam, CT on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sure it just looks like another power strip, but the fact that it also filters out EM and RF power line interference makes it worth the price. Why run your equipment with "dirty" power when it's designed to run on clean current. The added price over a store bought power strip is worth it. I only wish they would state the joule rating and the speed of disconnect should a severe over current condition occur.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Decent Surge protector

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good little surge protector box. Using it for home theater but working great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good build quality

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This seems well-built, so I'm hoping it will last longer than the cheap-o power strips I've owned before. I feel like the price premium (over a generic brand) is for the build quality more so than any additional functionality it provides.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B

Crutchfield customer from Bow, WA on 11/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Essential to any stereo set up. This is the peace of mind you need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Okay Surge Protector

Donald from Tonopah, NV on 11/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's okay. Seems to be doing what it's supposed to do. After all, with a surge protector you won't really know how well it works unless it fails and your gear fries, right?

Pros: Seems to be doing what it's supposed to do.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Furman 15A surge strip

Michael S from Montgomery Village, MD on 10/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love These!!

TRW from SW Mo on 9/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the Furman SS6B. Built like a tank they provide clean quiet power. I use them in my recording studios as well as in my home audio and stereo rigs. Definite home run!!!

Pros: All pros!!!

Cons: No cons!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

outstanding

ndotym from Los Angeles, CA on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have four of these to power my all of my stereo equipment and in my garage equipment, no failures, I used to have a hum all disappeared with these, I would highly recommend these to anyone using high performance equipment.

Pros: High performance surge protector built to last.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

forman ss-6b surge protector

jeffrey69 from Erie, PA on 9/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the surge protector is very strong and easy to use,keeps all your audio euipment safe

Pros: good surge protector for keeping your stereo to stay safe

Cons: not really anything

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Furman SS-6B Pro

SuZQ from Dallas, TX on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This heavy duty surge protector is my insurance against audio/video system blowout due to lightning srikes and worth every nickel. When I ordered equipment from Crutchfield, I mentally inventoried the surge protectors in my home. Some were hand-me-downs years ago; some were bought in clearance bin of a big box electronics store with not enough info on label. Yikes! So here comes Furman SS-6B Pro to protect my investments for years to come. Thank you, Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing Performance!

ricknmonument from Colorado on 4/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this unit for powering my vintage Pioneer SX-980 receiver (circa 1978-79). Before using this unit, I used al MonsterPower Center which is designed for home theater use, and before that, an ordinary power strip. The speakers that are being driven by this receiver are Pioneer HPM-150s, which need a high amount of current from the amp. My receiver's left and right channels were off balance (right channel stronger than the left channel), also there was distortion coming from the left channel, especially with higher volume levels. When I switched to the MonsterPower unit, I plugged this receiver into the outlet labeled "receiver". The distortion produced by my receiver was horrendous with severe clipping, in both channels. When I reached out to Crutchfield for advice for power management, the representative recommended this unit, so I ordered it. Oh...my...gosh!!!! What a difference it makes!! My receiver is now producing clean sound with NO distortion and NO balance issue between both channels. Even the super-tweeters on top of each speaker are more pronounced. Also the 15 3/4" woofers produce clean heavy bass when the recording produces it.

Pros: Excellent advice by Crutchfield Unit has a relatively small footprint without an abundance of distracting LEDs. Clean power with surge, as well as RFI protection Inexpensive price point for such a good power conditioner Designed for stage use. Thus the extra long power cord

Cons: Since this is for my home use, a right-angled plug would be more convenient.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

TOP