Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PSB Alpha AM3

Powered speakers with Bluetooth® (White)

MFR # Alpha AM3WHT

PSB Alpha AM3

PSB Alpha AM3

Powered speakers with Bluetooth® (White)

MFR # Alpha AM3WHT

8 reviews
View this product

Pure happiness

Mateo from Laguna Niguel, CA on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love these. They've made me totally re-think powered speakers (the DSP is magical on these - no need for a sub)! It's true, as other reviewers note, that these strain at louder volumes. But I'm very pleased using them in a living room setting. They look great and are easy to use, too.

Pros: - good clarity and amazing tonality - not fussy AT ALL about placement - DSP settings make for excellent bass w/o subwoofer - packed with features (even has a quality NAD phono preamp); has everything you need except internet streaming/ Airplay

Cons: - strain at loud volumes

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Alpha AM3

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using these AM3's for near field listening connected directly to my Mac. They look good, construction is solid, were easy to set up...and of course, they sound great. Great for movies as well as most of the music in my collection. For me, they could use a little more base so I'm going to add a small subwoofer. My only ding is for volume. I tend to like things a little louder and wish they had just a little more power. Overall though, they are working out really well and I love the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Alpha AM3

Crutchfield customer from Coral Springs, FL on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with sound quality of these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pound for pound and value champions

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the perfect size for desktop nearfield listening. Don't expect them to fill a large room. But do expect to be blown away by the detail, soundstage and imaging that these babies put out. Also be prepared to call tech support because there is little to no documentation included in the packaging. I thought about docking a star for that, but honestly it would be really nit picky. There's not much to learn and once you do it's very easy to navigate. It's also a little annoying that there isn't any indication of what volume level you're on, but the volume level is saved on an a per input basis, so if you go from the optical input to Bluetooth it will remember the last volume level for each individually. If you're thinking of buying a sound bar for a small theater room forget that and buy these instead and if you need more bass the included sub out allows you to add one of your choice later. I can't recommend these high enough.

Pros: Sound quality Great size for a small theater room or desktop

Cons: Limited documentation No Volume display

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent, except when they shut off

Crutchfield customer from Northport, NY on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They look and sound fantastic. Connectivity is great, as well. Would've given them 5 stars, but there's an issue with the auto power-off function. If I'm listening to low volume audio via the USB input (as I often am late in the evening) the speakers will think there's no audio and power off. I reached out to PSB support and haven't heard anything back. Too bad, these are great speakers and just what I was hoping for sound quality wise (I'm a long-time PSB bookshelf speaker owner).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/7/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

PSB Alpha AM3

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

PSB's headphones have given me years of fine music listening. So when it came to powered bookshelf speakers for use with my MacBook Pro, the PSB Alpha AM3s were a logical choice. They were a breeze to set up. The music reproduction is balanced and detailed. I thought that due to their smaller size I might need to add a subwoofer, but the bass response is fine without one. The wide stage setting enhances the details of the music without coloring it. I'm very happy with these speakers.

Pros: Small size Easy setup Detailed, natural sound Full bass response

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Almost ...

Doug from AUSTIN, TX on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really nice product - more of a system than just a pair of speakers. Sonically, they are based on the PSB Alpha P3 speakers, which have been well reviewed. The design of these speakers is what sets them apart from other PC/powered speakers. First, they have proper input switching - you can select between the analog input, SPDIF optical, USB and blue tooth inputs. Input switching can be done with the remote control or by pressing the volume control on the left speaker. A (way too bright) LED indicates which input is selected. Secondly, they have audio processing for surround effects and voice emphasis, and both of these work reasonably well. But you can only select the audio processing mode with their remote. The surround/voice processing is similar to that done by soundbase TV speakers but has the advantage that you can completely disable it to get unprocessed stereo. They also include a phono preamp and a separate, volume controlled subwoofer output which can be switched on or off - in the off mode, the bass response is extended or at least emphasized. So why almost? ** They arrived with a defective power supply, which made an odd trilling noise, and the power supply connector didn't seem sturdy ** I wish they played a bit louder - the 35W amp power rating is probably peak, not RMS ** Not all their remote control codes are learnable by other remotes (according to their documents) ** At this price point, a 24b/96k DAC would have bee

Pros: Sound quality, cabinet fit and finish with magnetic grills, separate input and mode selection.

Cons: Fully operable only with their remote, a bit under powered, maybe build quality.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big sound

Crutchfield customer from Clive, IA on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really spectacular sound through stuck small speakers. Build quality excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP