Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PSB Alpha T20

Floor standing speakers (Black Ash)

MFR # Alpha T20BLKASH

PSB Alpha T20

PSB Alpha T20

Floor standing speakers (Black Ash)

MFR # Alpha T20BLKASH

9 reviews
View this product

Wow!

Ryan from Richmond, VA on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. Previously had a pair of PSB Alpha B bookshelf speakers, driven by a NAD C 325BEE integrated amp, and a PSB mini sub. I hooked these Alpha towers up and the subwoofer is headed to the attic. These speakers kick a**. With the volume on my NAD at 11 o'clock my wife is considering a hotel room. All jokes aside, these speakers are gorgeously accurate, especially with Apple Music lossless running through a DAC. Highly recommend these speakers as you will not get better fidelity for the price.

Pros: Incredible accuracy.

Cons: A little boomy if too close to the wall.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20 is a good choice

Crutchfield customer from Ravenna, OH on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build quality and clear crisp sound with a smooth bass response. Small footprint and diminutive stance ad a classy elegance to my audio set up. The walnut grain version goes nicely with bamboo flooring and wood tone furniture. I returned a pair tower speakers at similar price point from another brand ( begins with K and has in 'sh' in its name ) and a different online vendor because the build/ materials quality was an issue. Shopping for a replacement I found these on Crutchfield's website. After doing some research I decided to give them a try. Very glad I did. Miles Davis sounds great today.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surprising Sound

Vincent from North Miami, FL on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TLDR: Good clarity, 33hz to 20khz in my room, good balance and detail/texture, middle ground on sensitivity. Good looking for the price. Only downside would be if you sit on high chairs like bar stools, since they are on the short side. And the actual rear port tube seems cheap material. Review: For the 2 years I have been deep into audio, so yes I am a fairly new "audiophile". But these are the 5th pair of speakers I've had in my listening room now and have to say the ones I like most. I went thru jbl bookshelves to PSB Stratus Mini bookshelves, polk t50, klipsch heresy 1.5 and now the PSB T20s. I received them missing the feet, but Crutchfield was quick to ship out the missing pieces at no charge of course. VS Stratus mini The tweeter is very similar to the bookshelves but more full range and require less power. Bookshelves were also a couple thousand when released. So a fraction of the price you get similar sound with more extension. Build was better on the bookshelves. The T20 are little more forward and detailed than the polk, but the polk radiated sound differently. Guessing passive radiators vs ported enclosure. The t20 do go a little lower though and are a little harder to drive. VS the Heresy 1.5, huge difference. Heresy is more sensitive, dynamic, forward, and larger. BUT the PSB have better dispersion so they sound steady in different parts of the room, easier to position. Bass extends lower, has more quantity. Better balance lows,mids,highs.

Pros: Good Full range sound. Good looking for cost. Doesn't take up much space

Cons: Needs some space from wall for best sound.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Value

Manni from Somerville, MA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace my 18-ish-year-old psb Image 5Ts, because one of the 5T's tweeters died. The psb Imagine X1T is probably the most direct replacement for the Image 5T. But at $1000/pair, they cost about twice as much as I paid for my Image 5Ts (I know, 18 years ago, but still). I also use my speakers for TV/movies way more than music, so do I need to spend a lot on speakers so that I can hear dialogue / things go boom? Finally, the Alphas just underwent a redesign, so maybe today's Alpha is close enough to what the Image could be 18 years ago. I am perfectly happy with and maybe even pleasantly surprised by my Alpha T20s. I'm not entirely sure the bass is there that I was getting out of my Image 5Ts, but playing the movie Tron Legacy certainly impressed! The lower strings (cello? bass?) on The Shawshank Redemption (the part near the start where the prison is introduced in a flyover) weren't as prominent/foreboding as I'd remembered from my 5Ts. Although I also recall there's supposed to be a break-in period for speakers, and this was definitely early on. The thing that really turned me around was listening to Rachael Price's rendition of "Whisper Not". Her voice was clear, the piano was clear, and the bass was clear. Now I find myself wanting to listen to these speakers all the time. In fact, I'm listening to music on my Alpha T20s as I type this review! Other notes: nothing-special Denon receiver; Blue Jeans speaker cable; tiny 8' x 9' li

Pros: Cute! Smaller than the Image 5Ts they replace; great for space-constrained apartments. psb speakers have a reputation for being neutral and musical. I'm no audiophile, but I think it's true.

Cons: Maybe not the deepest/fullest bass response (the laws of physics and all) but points for being clear and not muddy.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent value.

scott from GOSHEN, CT on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this is a fine set of speakers for the money. Frankly I was willing to spend double or triple what this pair cost, as that would be a figure more in line with what I spent on my amp. However I spend a lot of time using headphones so decided to temper my speaker budget a bit since the speakers quite often just sit there unused. Fit and finish are superb. Sound quality seems natural with pleasing all around response. At significantly less than $1000 I can't see what more anyone might expect from a set of floor speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sounding Towers

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I retired an old set of Realistic Optimus T-110 speakers and wanted to upgrade my 2 channel sound experience. I listened to several different types of book shelves, towers, sealed, ported, etc. After purchasing the Cambridge AXR85 and understanding its tonal characteristics I decided to land on the PSB T20 due to their laid back presentation and smooth characteristics. I have been using the dragon fly red with my Iphone11 and have been absolutely impressed by the way these speakers sound. I am one of those listeners who can easily be annoyed by a strong in your face presentation. These speakers just simply sound good even at low levels. Bass is actually quite strong so don't cram them in a corner or up against the wall. They need to breath. Vocals are smooth and highs are crisp, but not overwhelming. I am very happy for the choice and recommend them as a great choice for 2 channel listening.

Pros: Very nice sound stage. Great tonal characteristics.... not overly warm or bright. Nice low end punch, but be sure not to place them too close to the wall or a corner... They will become a little boomy.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for organic, natural-sounding speakers, these are the speakers for you. The high frequencies are crisp. The mids are full, warm, and well-balanced, and when paired with a subwoofer, the lows are punchy, but not overpowering. I'm a very old-fashioned, analogue kind of guy. I don't stream music or listen to spotify/pandora/itunes, etc. My music collection is strictly limited to c.d.s and vinyl. When I called Crutchfield and explained to Drew what I was looking for in a speaker system, he directed me toward these, and I'm sure glad he did. If you're the kind of person that wants a more natural, uncompressed listening experience, I don't think you can go wrong with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Clear and precise sound!

Ryan from Dublin, OH on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal speakers for the price and size. Currently, mine are hooked up to an integrated amplifier (Yamaha A-S701) with a Dragonfly Red preamp. The bass is strong out of these two. The speakers are perfect for a 2 channel system in a medium or small sized room (or I'm sure they'd work great as front speakers in a surround sound setup). Garrett was super helpful to work with and I will continue to come back to Crutchfield for their customer service, expertise, and quality products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

PSB Alpha T20

Crutchfield customer from Markesan, WI on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good towers for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

TOP