Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PSB Imagine X2T

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # Imagine X2T

PSB Imagine X2T

PSB Imagine X2T

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # Imagine X2T

52 reviews
View this product

PSB X2T towers

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply amazing.

Perry from Midland, MI on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so pleased with these PSB X2t's. Have owned various KEF speakers for years. Cant say they made their way into a home theatre system very well but for two channel audio they were great. Maybe a bit too polite. On the X2t's , I played 3 minutes of Chic Corea's Electric Band and was in love. Since then I have put 75 hours on them and they are wonderful. Been in high end audio for 3 decades and have owned great tube and solid state gear. Many audiophile speaker systems. These X2t's are the best speakers I have ever owned, including speakers costing considerable more. Two things I can't tolerate: treble that sizzles and bass that wobbles around the room. The PSB's have tight bass and treble that is dead on. Big presentation so home theatre applications are awesome. These are accurate yet have a warm personality. Listening to Diana Krall as I write and have the warm fuzzy. These just sound right. I've listened for 3 hour stints at high volume and zero fatigue. I order the XB bookshelf's for the rear surround. You won't explain these with caveats and things they don't do well. From Rock to jazz to movies these will put a smile on your face!! Kudus to PSB and Crutchfield for executing the sale and delivered perfectly within two days.

Pros: Tight accurate bass. Mids are full and lush. Treble not harsh or annoying. Plays music and home theatre with confidence and warmth.

Cons: May need a tad more power, my amp has it so not a concern. Having to turn these off and go to bed may be a bit disappointing.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had never heard of these speakers before I went to Crutchfield but could immediately tell the difference when I listened to them compared to others. I'm really happy with them, they have amazing sound quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Brunswick, GA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and value for the money!

Pros: The soundstage and bass extension are wonderful! I needed speakers that would not require a subwoofer as floor space was an issue.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound fantastic across all types of music. Seem to be well built. A sales rep recommended them and after doing independent research realized they are a good buy. Not having lots of time with different speakers, I don't know how they compare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Feels so alive and fresh

Crutchfield customer from Lithia, FL on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect match for my NAD C388. I chose those after reading a lot about pairing speakers to my amp, and I could not be happier. The phone support was fantastic. these speakers really deliver, only getting better with continuous use. Vocals are great, melodic, imaging, and it controls the bass well, filling my room but not overwhelming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. I've been very pleased with how balanced and detailed these speakers. They are an excellent value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

howard from York, PA on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the PSBs 9 months ago so I have had a chance to evaluate them with various types of music including opera, rock, classical and some jazz. They are paired with an NAD 80 W 368 amp and an NAD 546 CD player. They stand in a 20 X 20 ft basement area with carpets, cinder block walls, and an 8 ft. high insulated ceiling. Most of what I play is high res tracks from Qobuz. I'm coming from 30 year old Linn Index speakers and a 35 W Creek amp. The soundstage and separation, to me, seem exceptional. You can really hear this in opera and small instrument pieces in classical. Even a May 2, 1970 Grateful Dead concert sounds immediate, like you are there. (I oughta know, I was in the audience!) With opera you can tell that singers are moving all around, even on 60 year old recordings. My CDs sound new. You can detect the difference between very high res tracks and CD level tracks. Sometimes, not always. They handle the volume cranked up without distortion. I'm not sure what more than 80 W would give me with these speakers. I'm a critical listener and not a gear junkie. I couldn't detect a break in period for the speakers. I'm not sure what listener fatigue is. Could I tell the difference between this set up and a $20,000 outfit? Probably. But I'm more than happy with this. Recommended.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Mill Valley, CA on 10/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic! I've never owned tower speakers before, I wanted to significantly upgrade the audio quality for my home theater, but I didn't want to spend many thousands. A bunch of research indicated that PSB makes speakers of great value; excellent quality for the money. I am very pleased with the X2Ts, the mids are super clear, and I feel like I'm sitting with the band when music is playing. In the small room where I have these I have set up a 5.0.4 Atmos system. Yes, zero for the subwoofer channel, because I get all the bass I need from these towers. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second set of PSB speakers. This is an upgrade, due to a larger room, from PSB Alphas. I thought the X2T's would give the most bang for the buck, which is why I went with them, and they have exceeded my expectations. I have them in a 8'x14'x14' room as the front speakers in theater configuration which I switch to stereo when listening to music. They are great in the theater mode but are really spectacular in the stereo mode.

Pros: Sound, quality, price

Cons: only come in black

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Maple Grove, MN on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These towers provide a great sound at a good price, and were easy to set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 7/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to purchase a pair of speakers that wouldn't break the bank for placing in a room measuring 12 X 12. They are powered by a Nova 150 integrated amp. These speakers along with other brands were originally recommended to me by a Nova advisor. After speaking with a very knowledgable Crutchfield advisor and reviewing them through the normal sources on the web, I decided to give them a try. They were easy to set up and begin listening to my music. The first thing I noticed was the sharpness of the voices followed by the clarity and separation of the instrumentation. These features are exactly what I was looking for in a pair of speakers. The base is good, but they are augmented by a subwoofer. Not necessarily because they need it in a room that size, but more for my listening preference. Now I wish I could try the PSB Imagine T3 speakers, but as many audiophiles preach on YouTube, this is proof you don't have to spend a lot of money to have a very enjoyable system to listen to.

Pros: Clarity and sharpness of voices and instrumentation Value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The PSB X2T continue to Wow after break in. The team at Crutchfield confirmed my research and were very knowledgeable at not only selecting a pair of new fronts but recommending I bi-amp them as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great detail, soundstage and imaging

Sonny from Waltham, MA on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers as front L&R for my 30 L x 13 W x 8 H living area which houses my 5.1 setup. Their use is primarily for music (stereo configuration), though I do watch movies I'd say about 30% of the time. I drive them with my Anthem MRX 720. My sources are primarily TIDAL HIFI and bluray. They are about 12 feet from me in my listening position and face the full length of my living area (about 26 feet; the speakers are set about a foot from the wall). When I first set them up, I had them quite close to each other (about 5 and half feet between them) and they sounded OK, but the soundstage was quite lacking. I then moved them apart, to nearly 7 feet between them. Now they sound way better, and the soundstage and imaging are just plain wonderful. However, the sound is always clean and good, and it can be pushed well by a receiver that can provide clean and good power. There is tremendous detail, I think, without sounding bright. I can listen to loud music on these without any fatigue. In fact, I discovered after a week or so of intense listening that I had been listening at very loud levels without even realizing I was! That is definitely a testament to the speakers. It does get quite loud for my living area: I can get it to 85dB with my volume setting between -20dB and -15dB. I am tempted to buy an Anthem MCA 225 to give them a little bit more power, but perhaps that's a purchase for anot

Pros: Detail, soundstage, imaging; very musical and an utter delightful experience!

Cons: None I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speakers are very crisp and have great bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't beat for the price.

Antonio from Sanford, FL on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a much older version of these speakers and the sound is incredible. I can just imagine how much better these should be. You just could not get better sounding speakers for the price. I venture to say, even for twice or 3 times this price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Awesome 3 way speakers

WAYNE L. from Ga on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I invested in what I consider some high end equipment which included a streaming HD component. I had B&W tower speakers that sounded awesome but some vocals and piano keys were just too blown out. I considered the acoustics of the house and even considered a DAC. I researched and I researched and got these PSB X2T's and it resolves my problem. The midrange speaker did all I needed. The B&W' s are better in the highs but I needed the mid to lowers for my hearing prefer. These speakers driven with the right stuff and high grade speaker cables will not disappoint.

Pros: Captures vocals and all around well balanced.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

analog man

Bill from Pueblo, CO on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first priority is listening to music in pure direct mode with zero processing from my AV receiver so I was looking for speakers that would reproduce the sound stage that the artist intended to create when they made the recording. At this price point, I have been blown away with the results. My hat is off to PSB and also to Crutchfield for first listening to me and then recommending the right product to me.

Pros: great speakers for serious music listeners who are looking to update and upgrade older sets. I replaced old Pardigm's (also great speakers) that I paid more for 21 years ago.

Cons: At first I was concerned they would tip or fall over if bumped from sides due to height compared to width but I was able to rearrange furnishings and eliminate this and they look great.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Silverdale, WA on 7/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with my NAD M32, they produce a crystal clear sound, just short of feeling the breath of the artist coming through them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Who needs a sub-woofer when you've got these?

Andrew from Charlottesville, VA on 5/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best floor standing speakers I've had the pleasure of listening to in their size and price category. In fact, I believe they out perform just about everything above them until you get to their step up model. Bi-Amp these, and once again they take another MASSIVE leap forward in quality and output. I couldn't resist buying a second pair so that now my fronts and rears are all X2T towers! :)

Pros: Great on single amp, mind blowing bi-amped! No need for a sub-woofer!

Cons: They aren't more well known - everyone should get a chance to experience these!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sound!

Jason from Orlando, FL on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG! That NRC really shows when listening to these speakers. The Mike Jordan of surround sound!

Pros: Great sound! Music and Movies!

Cons: Small sound field if speakers are placed close together.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A whole lot of mids. A hole in the lows and highs

Mark from Pico Rivera, CA on 4/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the speakers a week and a half. They are heavy in the mids. I don't seem to be getting the highs and lows I was hoping for - even with the bass and treble cranked on the receiver. The speakers could still be breaking in. Vocals, and other instruments in the mid range spectrum, are clear. The speakers produce very little bass and very little highs. So you will not be getting the fullness of the bass and the crispness of the highs. Instruments in the low and high frequencies will sound like they're missing something. I've been listening to all sorts of music genres up and down the radio dial - classical, jazz (or juzz if you're Bart Simpson), rock, and pop. On CD, I've been listening to a lot of Beatles (mono and stereo recordings). I'm not using the speakers for movies, just music. If you're OK with not having deep bass or sparkling highs, then you'll enjoy theses speakers. They do the mid-range stuff really good. If you're looking to play movies through these speakers, then a sub would will solve the missing lows, but not much can be done about the missing highs, which is a bummer. In hindsight, for the same price I should have ordered the Wharfedale Diamond 250. They have two 7-7/8" woofers compared the two 6-1/2" woofers in the PSB. The sound of the PSB is acceptable enough and not worth the hassle of doing an exchange.

Pros: Focused mids Small footprint Sturdy construction

Cons: Lack of low-end fullness Lack of sparkling highs Over priced for the sound they produce

Crutchfield response on

1 of 14 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Jason from Edinboro, PA on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking and great sounding speakers. The price is right and the delivery was quick.

Pros: Good quality and great sound

Cons: Nun

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product, Great Service

Scott from Waterloo, IA on 2/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service from Crutchfield delivering an awesome product. The XT2s as front surround speakers present an incredible sound stage when matched with an Image 80 center channel and XT1 rears. The Bi-amp option is also great, to enhance those hard-hitting lows for true surround sound.

Pros: Great sound at s reasonable price.

Cons: Shipping in factory marked packaging - beware of porch pirates as the packaging says PSB and Tower Speaker all over them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Dylan from Weaverville, CA on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like everything from PSB, past and present, you are getting a lot for your money. These are outstanding speakers at an excellent price. Their sound is full, warm, and detailed with very good imaging. Decent bass response as well. They are a well designed, accurate, transparent speaker. I personally like the way they look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Brooks from Walla Walla, WA on 9/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been a joy listening to my music on these speakers. I'm hearing new nuances vs my original PSB Alphas. The improved midrange is excellent and many albums I bought while we were without a listening area sound so much better.

Pros: Excellent sound without being overwhelmingly large.

Cons: Some music with very low bass still benefits from a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers- love em

James from Mount Pleasant, SC on 7/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers love them I'm not the most knowledgeable audiophile but I'm a fan of great sound ... have as front speakers in a surround sound setup/ Oppo BDP-103 bluray player /NAD T758 receiver (old model pre-4k ugh lol on fence re module) / Klipsch center Klipsch Icon rears and surrounds / Hsu Research VTF-15H MK2 sub. Anyways it ain't perfect but fun system ...definitely can unstraighten all my framed wall art during movies. I bought these PSB's after having NAD stuff for many years and loving NAD/ including an NAD Viso Bluetooth speaker for which apparently PSB had input on helped build or something/ NAD and PSB being related companies / I figured the PSB's would sound great with NAD receiver and they do. I will say to all that in my non expert opinion these speakers need a little break in period ( they sounded way better after a couple days than at unbox )- again that's just my ear I have no empirical data etc. Also I feel that these speakers like it when you pay attention to :toe-in angle ,distance from back wall , distance from each other, orientation relative to rear speaker toe-in etc ... Point being- awesome speakers but due to their flat accurate nature you can't just put them out there like Klipschhorns and expect them to fix your lack of precision. Like better than Klipsch ... you just have to mess around with a bit... (not too long I have crappy patience ha)... Buy these speakers/ have a modicum of patie

Pros: Sound representation Great bass not muddy

Cons: Break in / little too high for width personal opinion

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Eric from Rapid City, SD on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ive had these speakers a little over a month and they have not let me down. I can hear things in songs I didn't know were there.

Pros: Great bang for the buck.

Cons: A little plain looking.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

William from Rocky River, OH on 4/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are absolutely amazing. Great sound all around. I can't believe how smooth the bass is. Sleek and elegant design. You can't go wrong with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Simply the best

Eric from Bloomington, IN on 2/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a PSB fan since the early 90's ,Had a pair of Century 1000's and loved them for 15 years decided to upgrade to X2T,s and the hole X line. What can I say that anyone else here hasn't said? PSB is the best speaker company in the world,period.You can't go wrong with anything PSB makes.

Pros: Bass output,stereo sound,clear clean sound.

Cons: I can't think of a good con but maybe the Depth of the 2T is a little big and takes up too much room.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Sean from Naugatuck, CT on 1/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace a 10 year old pair of Infinity Primus 360s that I wanted to move up to my bedroom, and have been very happy with the result. I always thought the Infinitys were a really good pair of speakers, especially for how cheap they were, but these are definitely better. I've never been to Paris, but after coming home from a long day at work, I can crank Diana Krall's "Live in Paris" and feel like I was there for that concert. Everything is very natural sounding, with very little coloration. They might not sound quite as lifelike as a pair of Martin Logan ESLs (a friend of mine has a pair, and they are indeed mind blowing), but at this price point, I'm very satisfied with them. They are not particularly efficient speakers (nor are they horribly inefficient), so if you have a larger space, I'd very much recommend hooking them up to external amplification (I have them hooked up to an Emotiva XPA-2, and don't have any inclination to even try hooking them up directly to the older Yamaha receiver that is feeding the Emotiva).

Pros: Natural sound, very little coloration, great bass extension

Cons: A little power hungry, neighbors probably don't like me as much as they used to

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound. Very good bass for a speaker without a sub woofer. Perhaps overkill for my small listening room, but very attractive speakers and we are pleased with the sound. Shipping was terrific, well packaged, and easy to assemble. Impressed with Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PSN imagine xt2

Robert from South Carolina on 12/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great sounding speakers with good midrange and excellent sounding tweeters. Looking forward to getting the center channel and also a pair of bookshelf for suround channel.

Pros: Excellent sounding tweeters.

Cons: Midrange can sometimes be over whelming depending on which song playing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speaker

Larry B from Palm Bay, FL on 10/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. After long hours of research and reading reviews of dozens of speakers, I finally pulled the trigger. These towers are fantastic. Sound reproduction is great, I hear things I've never heard before. My vinyl is happy !!...........looking forward to building my system around these guys now.

Pros: Nice looking.......solid beautiful sound at all levels

Cons: None, except now I want to upgrade everything else ! $$$$$ lol

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PSB Imagine X2T

Chuck from Grand Rapids, MI on 9/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile but I can tell the difference between speakers. I originally had the PSB X1T as my primary tower speakers in my main 7.2 entertainment center which is all Imagine level PSB speakers.. When I saw 2 PSB X2T's in "Scratch & Dent" I couldn't resist. I'm glad I didn't because the difference in what I can hear is phenomenal. Also, there isn't a mark on these speakers...look brand new. I can't imagine any speakers in the same price range being better. The clarity in the mid's and high's is incredible. And for me the bass is just right. Overall great speakers and a great addition to my primary entertainment area. By the way the PSB X1T's went into my master bedroom surround sound system and are doing just fine in a smaller room.

Pros: Great bass with excellent mid's and high's. These are a great value for the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Sound at an Excellent Price

Peter from Lombard, IL on 7/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After auditioning a few different speakers from a few different sites (including the X1T) I settled on the PSB X2T. While the average consumer would not consider $1300 for two speakers "budget friendly" or a "value," I can assure you, these speakers truly are entry level in audiophile terms but sound anything but. When properly set up and positioned, these relatively compact tower speakers deliver impressive, taut bass extension, smooth and accurate mid-range, and sharply detailed highs. I found that I never missed my subwoofer during my music sessions (although one would be required for larger rooms) and only needed the sub for that extra oomph when watching movies, PSB does a lot of scientific research we engineering speakers and it shows. This line's new mind-range driver was designed specifically with vocal reproduction in mind and it truly delivers. It was very easy to discern the conditions in which a voice was recorded and live recording definitely had that touch of realism you would expect. All this is not to say that these speakers are flawless. The X2T only comes in black veneer finish (most speakers have at least 2 or 3 options and many these days have custom finishes available for a fee) and while not ugly, they do not have the visual wow factor other speakers do. With the grills on, they are very plain since it covers the only distinct feature, the yellow bass drivers. Still, I highly recommend giving these a try! You won't regret it! I cert

Pros: -Excellent bass extension, accurate mid-range, and detailed highs -Relatively slim footprint and front firing bass ports make it much easier to integrate into an existing room than many other speakers its size. -Great Value -Easy to drive, even with a mid-level AV receiver -Accurate, relatively uncolored sound great for al generes of music and movies as well as day-to-day use. -First rate packaging -As with any Crutchfield product, excellent customer service from start to finis

Cons: -Only has one color option -Relatively plain looking and even boring with the grills on -Some will find the sound stage a bit too forward or even aggressive. I like it personally (most of the time) but it is definitely not a laid-back speaker so those who are long time fans of B&W or something more mainstream like Bose may want to look elsewhere.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

KEN

kEN F. from Warminster, PA on 6/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprise that the speakers were as good as they are. The bass may be little light but the overall production that the speaker emanate are terrific. I did not have a chance to review these speakers before I purchased them. Crutchfield has a 60 days return policy on the speakers and it would cost me the UPS charge to audition the speakers with my 250 amp Acurus. It appears to be very compatible with my large room size and that amp. I would highly recommend the speakers and the price is right. I would also say that they are a 3 way speaker which I would have nothing less.

Pros: That they are not overly large so the ladies like that because they don't take up much space for the volume of music that comes out of them. Nice black cabinets. Easy to move around. Next day delivery, wow ! 60 days to pass my critiquing is more than adequate to truly evaluate their quality.

Cons: Owners manual was not included and finding that no one in the area had these speakers to listen to before I purchased them.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Power Hungry?

John T from youngstown, OH on 3/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these based on the reviews. Right off I noticed I had to turn up the Volume much higher for normal listening than my previous Speakers ( Polk Monitor ll 60s ) My initial Volume had been set at -35 After running YAPO on my Yamaha A1020, it set the mains to around 0 db. That resulted in my normal listening now having to be around -25 I ended up increasing Speaker output with the Setup say +3 db To be fair, I'm older and have hearing issues especially higher Freq. That being said, I can't say these are any better than the much cheaper Polks. ( to me ) They seem to be BASS heavy in 2 Channel Stereo and mid range seems lacking. As most of us do, we keep striving for that perfect sound and I went with these despite my hearing issues hoping there would be some noticeable improvement. So, for me they just don't warrant the cost. I would return them but threw out the Boxes. Again, with so many good reviews, I can't really blame the Speakers.

Pros: Great packaging and perfect finish.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 29 found this helpful

psb tower speakers

Tim W from Winchester,Va on 3/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have excellent sound and clarity. The bass and midrange are very good. I would recommend .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent value

Mike from Ottawa, Canada on 3/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great. Went head-to-head with the B&W 683 and no comparison. The bass on these is clear and detailed, much better than the 683. The balance is a touch bass-forward and they seem to work best from vinyl but sound great on digital sources too. Paired with a Marantz PM5005 amplifier I've been very happy. My music room is 9 x 15 and I don't find them too large. Also I don't find them over-flattering of lower quality recordings - the only flattering is from the frequency response and clarity of the speakers. The imaging is superb - when we had them in the TV room there was no need for a centre speaker even though they were positioned a bit too far apart. They are effectively full-range. I use a touch of subwoofer for the lowest lows (adjusted for musical balance rather than movie watching) but that's just icing on a very sweet cake.

Pros: Close to full range, excellent value, detailed, great imaging, honest reproduction.

Cons: I couldn't go back to regular speakers now.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Plaintive to Elated

Paul A. from Spokane, WA on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ten years ago I listened to some PSB speakers. They were fantastic. Regretfully I did not buy them. I saw a deal on another brand and purchased them without listening to them. Recently, I found myself with a wife approved opportunity to upgrade our audio quality of life. After listening to several brands of speakers in my price range, I repeated my action of buying a pair of speakers without listening to them, however I did my research and bought the Imagine X2Ts. I could not be happier. I believe it is important to respect the work of the artist you are listening to. The X2Ts help me do that. Very pleased with the pre-purchase support and product delivery from Crutchfiled.

Pros: Musical reproduction is astounding. I have had occasion to sit feet away from some of the best acoustical guitarists in the world and listen to them play. The PSBs show appreciation for their work.

Cons: Too large to carry on my shoulder like a "boombox".

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Imagine X2T

Audiophile from Nashville, TN on 1/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are an amazing speakers. Have these for a 5.1 home theater and music setup and are a really great value for this level of performance.

Pros: Crisp, finely detailed sound for use with music or home theater.

Cons: If you play low quality audio it will be all the more noticeable through these.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

High quality sound

Frank from Puerto Rico on 1/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's true everything that is said about these speakers. After opening the boxes, (by the way that the speakers are very well protected), I put them in my room and after making some moves, to couple them well to the room acoustics. I am extremely happy with the performance of these speakers. I am sincerely happy and worth their price. It has a wonderful sound quality.

Pros: good price for quality high quality sound across the spectrum

Cons: nothing to say

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Truly incredible

Shaner from New York on 12/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Honestly, every review you have read (and you should be reading them) and absolutely true. If you have the ability, like I did, stop into a dealer that sells PSB and take a seat...and listen. I'm a newfound audiophile and these are my first major investment and every night I'm glad I did. I have about 60 hours on them, running an NAD D3020. I think they are just about broken in fully. I noticed the first major changes in the first 4 hours. The sound seemed to mold itself out. Like a ball of soft dough slowly flattening into a large pancake. The sound coming out of the speakers is just as soft and delicious as a large pancake. I first played Dark Side of the Moon followed by Wish You Were Here, and believe me Shine on You Crazy Diamond is mesmerizing. I followed with some Glitch Mob and Crystal Method...never realizing exactly how complex their music actually is until played on these speakers. Incredible bass that isn't Earth shattering, it fills the room and the air and makes you want to stand up and dance. Movies are just as alive and clear. Forget surround sound, these speakers seem to project sound around the whole room. At times I swore my television had its volume turned up. The NAD 3020 is a perfect match for these, but definitely the minimum wattage. Look forward to some day connecting some serious power to these. Thank you PSB, truly job well done.

Pros: Beautiful construction, solid, amazing sound with only 30 watts.

Cons: Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

X2T with Rogue Sphinx amp

Crutchfield customer from Spartanburg South Carolina on 9/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have powerful bass plus clean midrange and treble. They passed my black sabbath 13 test playing way loud with no distortion. They also sound great at normal volume with other types of music. I'm completely sattisfied with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Tony from Texas on 6/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned quite a few name brand speakers. Polk audio, Boston acoustics, Klipsch, and Cambridge are the most popular ones. I did enjoy them all. My experience has been that most speakers in this peer group, when adequately powered do sound good. This is my first time owning PSB speakers. After reading the reviews and checking my budget I decided to go with the Imagine X2T towers. I power them with (two) EMOTIVA (small) mono block XPA-1L amps. I play music from my EMOTIVA stealth DC-1 DAC connected to windows media player on my PC. The first thing I noticed about the X2T towers is that the bass timing and response in truly incredible. Bass frequencies consistently hit very hard and tight regardless of musical genre. Next I noticed that the mid frequencies are not lost to the highs or bass. They are all well balanced (I think it is due to the 3 way design and the way these speakers are chambered and ported). Although, I have owned other speakers at this price point, they do not match up to the X2T towers. These towers are excellent, all types of music (even lesser quality recordings) sound really great! If you give these speakers the power they need you will be in for quite a treat.

Pros: Performance exceeds others in this class of speaker

Cons: Large foot print, need plenty of space for these

Crutchfield response on

23 of 24 found this helpful

Excellent sounding speakers

Jim from Arizona on 5/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing clear sound with excellent bass too. Totally fills my large 18'x30' room. Packaging is extremely good. No damage, arrived in perfect condition and quickly too. Highly recommended.

Pros: Great sound, especially considering the fair price. Looks good.

Cons: Wish they came in other wood finishes.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Impressive PSB X2T

Chip from South Carolina on 5/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are an incredible value , they come extremely well packaged and are finished beautifully. As an aspiring audiophile I appreciate their relatively low price point versus the superior sound quality they deliver. The recent audio magazine reviews bear witness to the musicality of the speakers, jazz and acoustic and classical orchestra sound is simply amazing, you'd swear the performance is happening in your living room. Of course bass driven rock is equally authentic sounding and distortion is undetectable. I'd recommend some high quality speaker wire and about 30 hours + of break in. I'm most impressed with the mid-tones and bass - these speakers put out some sound in a mid-sized room! Excellent for Home theater too- I paired with the PSB Imagine C Center Speaker and a pair of PSB Imagine XB bookshelf rear speakers- all timbre matched- the sound quality blows me away. Even my wife and skeptical son have commented on how clear and good these speakers sound- highly recommended.

Pros: Impressive sound delivery of multiple genres of music and home theater. Very well made, high quality, over- deliver for the moderate price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker for a large room

TR from USA on 4/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker. Really amazing sound - highs, mids, and lows usin a NAD356DAC Amp. BUT I would argue you need a room that is at least 24 x 14 feet long to enjoy these speakers. With anything smaller in size you may be sitting too close to these speakers. You want to be at least 10-13 feet away and still have some room behind you. I had to retun these speakers for that very reason. I could not keep them in the spaces in my home that meet those specifications due to children running around. The room I'm setting my soundsystem in is 12 x 15 and I found this space to be way too small for these speakers. They are excellent if you have the room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 23 found this helpful

same as the Image T6

clasvi from New Hampshire on 3/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the PSB Image T6 speakers with a different name. I upgraded to these speakers from the PSB Alpha T1 speakers. A remarkable difference. In fact, I have not heard a better (passive) speaker yet with the exception of the PSB "flagship" towers which used to be the Synchrony series but is now called Imagine T3 & T2 towers. I now power these with a Cambridge Audio AZUR 751 v2 AV receiver (170 watts per) using Audioquest Type 4 speaker cables and a Furman PL-Plus C power conditioner . Previously, I used a Marantz AV 5004 receiver (90 watts or so they say) . The difference in the sound of these speakers with the Cambridge amp vs the Marantz is immense. I was floored by the difference! It turned these speakers into what sounds like a whole different speaker. Bottom line here is this : I do not know of a better sounding speaker for the money anywhere.

Pros: finest quality sound for the money anywhere, gold plated speaker posts

Cons: speaker cabinets are not of the highest quality when examined closely

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

Excellent loudspeakers!

Dave from Apex, NC on 12/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these for three weeks now and I am amazed by them. Great build quality, awesome looks and unreal sound. I could not be happier. Sound great with music of all kinds as well as movies. Very dynamic! Very fast, and image very well.....almost spooky sometimes how they can float instruments in space. I think I'll keep these!

Pros: - Great looks - Very well made - VERY dynamic with my Aragon 2004 amp in a pretty large room - These babies image - Deep musical bass.....not boomy. - Sweet, non-fatiguing treble - I turned my subwoofer off. No need for it unless I want the house to rumble if watching a movie - Very reveling on well recorded music, yet unlike like many audiophile speakers, my hundreds of not so well recorded CD's sound great too - My music tastes are all over the place and these X2T's play everything I

Cons: Can't think of any. For the price, these are a steal.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

PSB speakers- a dream

Marc from Lawrence, kansas on 9/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the privilege of owning these speakers along with the imagine xc for about 3 months now and in that time I have definitely fallen in love. The speakers are heavy and although PSB says the wood is lower grade they still are beautiful. The speakers posses brilliant clarity and really bring anything to life. Whether I'm listening to music, watching a movie or football it all just sounds superb. I have them hooked up to the Marantz SR5008 receiver. My music taste: Pink Floyd, Rush, nine in nails, LCD soundsystem and Daft Punk. I listen to a lot of other things too, but those artists paint a good picture of the spectrum. Every single piece of music that corms through them is just astounding. The Lord of the rings on Blu ray was particularly astounding. I can only imagine how cinematic the sound would be if I had the rear speakers and the sub. Some day. Highly highly reccomend.

Pros: Amazing sound, looks really nice, legs make them very stable

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

29 of 30 found this helpful

TOP