Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Happy Thanksgiving
Our Advisors are off today for the Thanksgiving holiday. Back tomorrow with expert advice and great recommendations!
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PSB Imagine XB

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # Imagine XB

PSB Imagine XB

PSB Imagine XB

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # Imagine XB

16 reviews
View this product

Highly Recommended

Crutchfield customer from Jonesborough, TN on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an impressive bookshelf speaker that, in my opinion, excels in musical accuracy. The tone, timbre and timing of instruments and voice are excellent. They also convey spacial information well. Of course, the source matters, as do electronics. I upgraded my electronics from an inexpensive receiver to a Cambridge Audio receiver and CD player. What a difference! I can literally listen to these for hours now and still enjoy each new recording. My HD downloads sound fantastic. They do benefit from some low end reinforcement, so you may want to consider a sub if you buy these. I have a small sub from PSB which is not a wall shaker, but rounds out the bass very well.

Pros: Musical and accurate. Easy to place. No listener fatique.

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beguilling:Can they be that Good!

Louis from Fairfield,Ohio on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the exception of not having a deep three dimensional soundstage, the PSB xB provides spot on symmetry, an all present, beautifully dark background from which music emerges from free space that is ever present. I have to admit the sound of these speakers have a compelling way of 'being all there'. They have a mystique for me. I bought the alpha b1's and alpha p5's and then these. I'm ready to start a PSB fan club. If I win the lottery I'll fill you in on the top of the line Synchrony. I am enthralled with the PSB xb's

Pros: Big speaker performance. Affordable high end quality. Subwoofer unnecessary. Bottom line: audiophile grade.

Cons: Soundstage lacks depth.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Bookshelf Speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great sounding speakers that outperform what you might expect for their price. The definition in the midrange is especially good. The tweeter delivers highs that produce nice detail without crushing your ears with any overbearing sizzle. The bass is relatively full and punchy for bookshelf speakers although I plan to connect a sub woofer I have to extend the range. I drive these with a vintage McIntosh MA5100 integrated amp and this seems to be an excellent match. I listen to lots of classical, jazz, country, old school R&B, and rock but no heavy metal, hip hop, techno, or frankly a lot of music someone younger than me might choose to play. But I think the overall sonic accuracy of these speakers should make devotees of any kind of music happy. Overall I would have to say these are terrific speakers and definitely worth checking out. And thanks to a Crutchfield rep for recommending them to me!

Pros: Smooth, accurate sound that delivers a rewarding listening experience.

Cons: The soundstage of these could be a bit better...but considering how good these are overall this is really a quibble.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Imagine XB

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over the years, I have owned and auditioned many bookshelf speakers, and these are the best that I have heard especially when comparing them with other brands in the $600 (or lower) price range. Bass is solid with no bloat, midrange is clear, and the treble has sparkle without sounding fatiguing. These are the speakers that I would most likely pick if I were in that "speaker room". They are just that good. It's clear that Paul Barton, with aid of the Canadian NRC, knows how to engineer a speaker. My only gripe is that I believe the cabinet QC could have been a little better, especially in this price range. These speakers perform like a 5-star speaker, but I gave it 4 stars only because of the cabinet issues.

Pros: True audiophile sound

Cons: Minor issues with cabinet QC

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio Enthusiast

Crutchfield customer from Helotes, TX on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Guy's these are truly an audiophile speaker. While I don't consider myself one, I do know what one is. Balance seems to be the best word to describe them. They do every type of music, including heavy metal with an authority that belies the fact that this is a bookshelf speaker. If your on the fence, don't be. Just buy them! You won't be dissapointed. I have now bought two pair. Call me impressed.

Pros: Does everything with authority.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound in bookshelf!

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving the PSB book shelf speakers! I purchased these largely based on a recommendation from a friend and several conversations via chat with the folks at Crutchfield. These are perfect for my room and have not disappointed thus far. Great sound and range, I will be added a sub woofer at some point, however these provide a very nice bass response on their own. I have listened to everything from Mozart to Metallica and they have handled the nuances of all the styles with ease. They also work great with my TV setup for movies, concert movies etc. (I watched tThe Matrix for probably the 100th time and heard some things that I have missed out on for the most part, great detail)

Pros: Great sound!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Better than Alpha B1

Mike from Albuquerque, NM on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the PSB Alpha B1 and they are good. After two weeks I wondered if the Imagine XB might be worth the extra $200. Ordered the Imagine XB pair intending to compare them side by side with the Alphas, and return the less impressive of the two. Listening to the Alphas, I unpacked the XBs, put them next to the Alphas, unpluged the Alphas, pluged in Imagine XBs, and listened for about 2 seconds. Packed up Alphas and sent them back to Crutchfield, (TOP NOTCH CUSTOMER SERVICE.) I am not articulate at describing sound, but the first words that came to mind when first hearing these were: "More Authorative." My system= 2.0,(want/need to go 2.1) Yamaha CDC 565, to Pangea SE RCAs, to Jolida 301 BRC (30 watt hybrid amp,(Stage One,) to AudioQuest CV-4 speaker cables, to the PSB Imagine XBs. If you can afford the extra $200 above the Alphas, SPEND IT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound!

Jason from Orlando, FL on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG! That NRC really shows when listening to these speakers. The Mike Jordan of surround sound!

Pros: Great sound! Music and Movies!

Cons: Small sound field if speakers are placed close together.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PSB Imagine XB

jay from Ft Walton Beach, FL on 8/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers pack a lunch for their size. Deep tight bass, and very clear vocals and highs. I replaced a pair of Polk audio S50,s and I'm not sorry. The sound clarity is equal, if not better.

Pros: Accurate bass, clan vocals and mid-range.

Cons: Imaging could be better.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Accuracy

RobO from California on 11/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Usage: 2.0 audio desktop system powered by 105W Yamaha receiver. I found these speakers to be highly accurate and quite enjoyable overall. The soundstage is small for my tastes; perhaps an unfair criticism for a speaker this size... but I was comparing them to the slightly larger Def Tech 55 Studio Monitor, which admittedly, did not sound quite as accurate or balanced.

Pros: Accuracy Uncolored

Cons: Small soundtage

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

First Home theatre

First purchase from Frisco TX on 6/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 21 found this helpful

Great Sounding

Sonny from Ohio on 4/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Purchased Two Pairs Of PSB Image XB Speakers To Complete My Home Theater Sound System.My Existing System Is A 5.2 Set Up Also Using PSB Speakers Which I Purchased From Crutchfield 3 Years Ago.I Installed The New XB Speakers For Front High And Front Wide Sound Which Now Gives Me A 9.2 Set Up. I Tuned The System Using The Audyssey Set Up Program On My Receiver Along With Some Of My Own Finishing Touches.The Addition Of The Four XB Speakers Is Just Incredible.The Sound Is Very Accurate And Precise As Well As Balanced And Natural Sounding.My Sound System Went From Great Sounding To Awesome Sounding.The New XB Speakers Blended Well With My Existing Speakers And The Transition From One Chanel To The Next Is Very Smooth. High End Build Quality On The XB Speakers Is What I Had Expected And What Can Be Expected From Any PSB Products. If You Are In The Market For Bookshelf Speakers I Would Highly Recommend The PSB Image XB Speakers .

Pros: A Precise And Accurate Sounding Speaker As Well As A Quality Built Product For The Money.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

Efficient and Accurate

DS from Lancaster, PA on 2/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to get into some clean sound and venture into the HD sound world. I don't have a pile of cash but like many wannabes had an idea that for $1000 I ought to be able to join the entry level audiophiles. I was almost correct. I think it will end up about ($1300 when said and done). These speakers were suggested by a Crutchfield consultant as a paring with the newish NAD D3020. I liked the modest power requirements (20-120watts) of the PSBs. That integrated AMP has only 30 watts a side. So I took a chance. My room is about 17' x 12' and it transitions into my kitchen through a doorway and a large 3 1/2' x 5 1/2' cut-out in the same wall. I wanted music in the kitchen too. The cool thing about these speakers is that they sound so good at lower volumes. Super accurate and a really nice high end. They deliver all the highs without breaking glass over one's head. It's hard to explain as I always preferred the crisp, nearly overbearing highs. I must have been over compensating for a non-existent mid-range. With the NAD unit and its DAC I hear all sorts of new depth; even if I just use my iPhone with Pandora through the mini jack. Ideally a better streaming service is desirable, like Spotify who offers a month free trial with higher bit rate streaming. These speakers seem balanced and they do very well at window shaking volumes too. If your space is larger, a sub will most likely complete a nice music focused 2:1 system.

Pros: 20-120 watts power handling allows wide choice of AMPs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

PSB Imagine XB

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 1/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these speakers paired with a NAD D3020. The mids on these speakers are phenomenal. Super crisp and clear but overall balanced and slightly warm. At this price, these speakers are going to be very hard to beat. The louder you crank them, the better they sound! These are ideal for a stereo desktop setup or small room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

PSB imagine xb

Crutchfield customer from Fairport, NY on 10/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Music and movies sound crisp and clear. I am hooke on PSB.

Pros: Excellent quality good value.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Amazed!

Tech31 from NY on 10/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First tried the Def Tech Studio Monitor 45s. I was very disappointed. Vocals were muffled and bass was distorted at the low end. So I called and talk to the sales rep, and told I was looking for clear/crisp vocals without distorted deep lows and I would use a sub woofer for me 2.1 Receiver. She suggested Klipsh or PSB. I decided to go with PSB since I have heard Klipsh in the past I don't care for the 'bright' highs (with there horned tweeter). I was Amazed at the clarity and crisp mids (especially vocals). For I listen to many genre's of music and I just can't stop enjoying these amazing bookshelf speakers and have only gotten better after break-in. If your looking for punchy bass, you can hookup a small subwoofer, such as i did. I didn't realize that NAD is there sister company, but I'm not surprised at this with there good reputation. These speakers work for me in listening to the many genre's I enjoy such as, rock, alternative, classic rock, blues, jazz, R&B, and even top 20 pop.

Pros: Amazing clarity, crisp, not too bright high's, no high distortion lows, and even look great.

Cons: Need a small subwooofer for deep low punchy bass.

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

TOP