Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Audioengine A2+

Powered desktop stereo speaker system (High-gloss White)

MFR # A2 + white

Audioengine A2+

Audioengine A2+

Powered desktop stereo speaker system (High-gloss White)

MFR # A2 + white

103 reviews
View this product

Great Money/Quality Formula!

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic desktop speakers, and at a killer price. The detail and soundstage are really impressive. From that standpoint, these are as good as any small bookshelf speakers I have listened to. You are likely to hear things you have missed before. You will miss anything approaching a hefty bass without a subwoofer, and if bass is king for you, you might want to look at the A5s anyway. But for the money, these far exceed what I would have expected. Highly recommended!

Pros: Size Detail Accuracy Ease of use

Cons: They are, after all, desktop speakers. You probably want a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible sound. Stopped working after 1 day.

Pros:

Cons: Tiny sound. USB connection failed after 1 day.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound great

Steven from Boulder, CO on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Audioengine A2+ is a very sweet little speaker. These are MUCH better than your ordinary computer desktop speakers while being about the same size. They produce a clear detailed sound with great stereo separation. The bass response is surprisingly good for a small speaker. They get loud enough to fill a small room if needed. They seem very solid and well made. The USB hookup was simple and automatic on my Mac. I am using them with the optional speaker stands and that really helps to project the sound up toward you.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Cosmopolis, WA on 1/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great. I only wish I could turns these up at work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Howey In Hls, FL on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Red Bud, IL on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound terrific for their size. Add a subwoofer for even better sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AWESOME LITTLE SPEAKER!!!!!

Rob from Bensalem, PA on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers. Great sound great build. Love Crutchfield. Had an issue with 1st set. Was my issue not the product or Crutchfield. They handled it on the 1st call! That's customer service. Along with their expert advice and great prices you can't beat them!!! Thank again for the awesome speakers!!!!

Pros: Perfect size for computer speakers. Sweet sound good imagining and stereo separation. Decent mids for its size. A pleasure to listen too.

Cons: Tough to be critical of a speaker this size. If I had to say something mids are not as spacious bit think that's cause they do a good job at producing bass. Not really the speakers fault more a size thing. Great little speaker would buy again

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hi-Fi for your Computer; Surprising Value and Sound

Joseph from Arlington, VA on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected. I had heard good things about these, but was skeptical they'd deliver value at the price point. The Crutchfield advisor told me they were great, I should get them (of course he'd say that but they are usually straight shooters and I've been dealing with them for years so I trust their advice). Considering a terrible sounding pair of Bose computer speakers costs around 100, and considering there are some nice units with satellite/subwoofer combination for $200 - 300, I was thinking these would be comparable to those sub/satellite units costing 2 - 300. I had an old Altec combo that was very good. But these are true high fi, you can tell as soon as you hook them up, the clarity, soundstage, and even bass, all completely unexpected from these small speakers. I think these are just nicely engineered and well made. They also have the benefit of having their own D/A converter, don't have to run through the computer sound card. I've looked at everything at this price point, and listened to most, if you are in the market for computer speakers or just small compact speakers to fit in tight space, GET THEM. 3 Year Limited Warranty is icing on the cake, and a sign they are well made and will last. Just got them and can't stop listening to them, such balance and quality in the sound is hard to believe.

Pros: Relatively Small size, quality build, great sound and clarity, all around just very, very good.

Cons: Volume control is on the back, but don't see how they'd put it on the front without altering a good design; a bit larger than most computer speakers, but still compact in size.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Palm Springs, CA on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love, love, love these speakers, great sound and the are small enough to fit under my counter. The customer service is fabulous -- they found a solution for all my problems, thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Jonathan from Brooklyn, NY on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I grew tired of the internal speakers on my iMac but had limited desktop real estate. These speakers were just the right size and delivered in spades in terms of sound. The high gloss white complements my iMac quite well. It's really a hifi speaker in disguise because the highs and mids are accurate and the soundstage is amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great computer speakers

Pete from Cleveland, OH on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great. I replaced the speaker wire with AudioQuest type 4 speaker wire and the USB cable with a Pangea audio premier SE USB cable which kicked it up a notch. Next step is to buy the PSB Subseries 100 mini subwoofer to give me more lows. Will make a very fun set up when complete.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Could use more lows but for the size can't expect more really.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, great looks

Kibbey from Fredericksbrg, VA on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After years of "blah" pc speakers, I finally sprang for something different. These sound fantastic and make listening to music on my computer great again.

Pros: Perfect size, great sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

audioengineA2

stan from Staten Island, NY on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great service before and after purchase. had a question about a problem i had after i hooked the speakers to my laptop. called them and actually spoke to a person who was able to help me out. delivery was right on time. prices are the same as elsewhere bur for me having someone live to talk to was the clincher. will definitely buy from them again. definitely 5 stars.

Pros: great sound. love the pouches to carry the speakers and accessories.

Cons: none for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect speaker size for my desktop pc. These are by far the best pc speakers I ever owned. With the speakers turned all the way up, and the PC sound turned all the way down to level 2, there still pretty loud. If you hook these up by USB, sound and clarity is amazing. The sound is built into the motherboard Asus z270ar motherboard and I see no need to purchase a DAC at this time

Pros: Size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Lake Geneva, WI on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for the small space I have available. Great sound with just the right bass so you can hear into the music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Angel from Canovanas, PR on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers, excellent constructions and the sound is amazing, I recommend 100%. The sound is clear and punchie bass incredible for the sizes of this little speakers. Thanks Crutchfield for the advice.

Pros: Sizes is perfect for a desk and the constructions and finish is great

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Daryl from Portland, ME on 1/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the size and look of these. I have them hooked up to my laptop. When I set them up on my desk on the Audioengine stands, only 2' from me, I wasn't happy with their sound. I'm not an audiophile, but at that close of distance, they didn't sound as well-rounded as I had hoped, especially for the money. However, when I moved them 8' behind me instead, they sound very good. I'd love to add some bass yet, but the physical size of the Audioengine S8 sub isn't minimalist enough for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Tom from Hillsborough, NJ on 1/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife gave me this pair of speakers for Christmas (ordered from Crutchfield). They were a snap to wire up with my MacBook Air using the USB output. Made a couple of adjustments in System Preferences. [Just select Audioengine 2+ in the Sound/Output menu]. And I was done. Very nice sound. My iTunes music sound good. I began to explore some online "hi-resolution" music stores and listened to some samples - speakers sounded even better! I really recommend this Audioengine speaker system. I only wish the volume control was on the front of the left speaker, but like someone else wrote, not a real deal-breaker. One star off for that. I will, however, explore whether I can move the volume control to the front or the side. This WILL void any warranty, but I'll take that chance.

Pros: A snap to set up. Worked first time. Great sound. Look great on my desk along side my external monitor.

Cons: Volume control is on the back panel. Volume control is on the back panel. and... Volume control is on the back panel.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, NY on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, great sound, probably should have gotten the stands.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just the ticket!

Roz from New York on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little speakers are absolutely terrific! Solid and good looking. Also easy to set up. I listen to Apple Music via my iMac in a small home office and they are perfect for this use. Very clear and absorbing. Also, miles ahead of listening on earbuds to my iphone where I experience significant distortion on some albums. I haven't listened enough to know if I need to add a sub-woofer yet. But probably not since I listen to a lot of jazz and vocal music and my space is too tiny to crank the volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound in a small package. Best money I ever spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MD on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for old CDs to bring out the stereo sounds

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

John from Beverly Hills, FL on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is of high quality. I have a rather small den, and this product fits nicely on my book shelf. My records sound great, including my 45's. I trust Crutchfield, because they stand by their products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 9/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Light years ahead of any speaker I've previously purchased. Worth the investment. Would recommend adding a small sub to round out the low end if you prefer that sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Brian C. from New Bedford, MA on 8/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking and very good sound and easy set-up. Did not expect speakers to produce a deep bass, but was hoping for a stronger bass than I'm hearing. I don't require a heavy base during playback, but more than what I'm getting from the A2+. Overall rate it a B+ Now considering the Audio Engine Sub-Woofer,.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Canal Winchester, OH on 8/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product to go with the computer in my office. easy to set up and sound much better than the old Bose I had. Troy at Crutchfield helped out fantastically.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Chad from Las Vegas, NV on 7/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little speakers have a solid build quality and sound wonderful (do not expect thumping bass). If quality sound is important to you while on your PC and you have the bucks to blow, then these are for you. The built in DAC works great and Windows installed the software automatically. I found it a bit disappointing that the little angled rubber stands are not included, but I do recommend purchasing those as well as they will aim the speakers right to your ears.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spectacular Sound

Keith from Dublin, OH on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After recently moving and reconnecting with my albums that have not seen any use since the mid 80's. I purchased the package combining these speakers with the Music Hall USB1 turntable. I couldn't be happier. Even after moving to an apartment and having to resist the urge to push the volume. The sound on the low end of the volume is spectacular.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from m-audio av30 and noticed a big difference. Great looking speakers too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Muffled sound: WHere

Guest from Boca Raton, FL on 5/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading several positive reviews on the internet I decided to buy a pair of the Audioengine's A2+ speakers. Unfortunately, the moment I turned them on I was disappointed. The sound was muffled and the singing sounded like it was coming through a pillow. My wife came in and listened and used the same word, "muffled", to describe the sound. Just as a comparison I unplugged the speakers and listened through my Lenovo all in one computer. Both of us felt there just wasn't that much difference. Yes, the Audioengine's can produce a LOT more volume but I would much prefer quality over quantity. The Crutchfield representative was very understanding and happily arranged for a return. I decided to just stay with the original sound from my computer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

SWEET SWEET Speakers

William from Amsterdam, NY on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your music lacks stage presence do yourself a favor and buy these pc speakers. The usb DAC is a nice bonus if you want to bypass your soundcard or onboard sound. Very clean, no distortion speakers with incredible highs and mids. Bass is sufficient unless rap is your genre.

Pros: *Crisp sound, accuracy *Separation, can hear every instrument musically

Cons: *Volume control placed on back of speaker

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

High quality product

Charles from Saratoga Springs, NY on 4/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these based on the great reviews they got from several audio publications and reviewers. I have them connected to my PC via USB, about 3' apart on either side of my monitor & 3" from the back wall. I sit about 2.5' away from them. I listen to a wide range of music in FLAC format using foobar2000. To my ears, there is plenty of low end, volume and fullness. What I find lacking is high end clarity. (To be fair, my stereo speakers are Martin Logan ESLs which have a very well-defined treble.) There is plenty of separation and the sound stage is pretty good. However, to me, the music seems veiled-probably due to the lack of treble. On the plus side: these speakers are very well made. I like the design, features and size of the A2+. I would find it helpful if the rear mounted volume knob had a marking that could be seen from above. I am "on the fence" with these speakers (due to my issue concerning the highs) and will continue to listen to them during Crutchfield's generous audition period.

Pros: Bass, build quality, design, components, included accessories, packaging

Cons: Lacking high end clarity, rear volume knob

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great speaker quality

Larissa from Taos, NM on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am completely satisfied with these speakers. I am a new recreational vinyl enthusiast, and I dusted off my Technics SLD2 and am using a Rolls Preamp. With these speakers my listening station is complete! The sound is great, very clear, pretty much the highest quality speakers I have ever bought, worth the money spent. I love the aesthetic in white. Fast shipping too, a positive experience! Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Guest from Claremont, CA on 1/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Oh my, what a wonder to my ears. I have waited too long listening to music from my computer through my small tiny speakers. Just received my A2+'s in the mail. Listening to 801 Live (Roxy Music Super Group) as I type this. Can hear the highs, mids, and lows I remember from when I first bought this album in college listening on a nice stereo system. I'm impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Linda from Arlington, VA on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small and versatile speakers that can be used with an adapter to run my teen's turntable or she can plug her phone in and run her music through them which she loves. Very nice sound and she will definitely be taking these with her to college.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Karl from Andover, MN on 11/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers kick the music on my main computer to another level. Am able to hear so much more details throughout the music spectrum. Makes listening to Pandora really enjoyable. Love em !

Pros: quality of sound size of speaker for a computer Design is sleek DAC

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

John from Santa Barbara, CA on 10/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very nice speakers for my workstation. Many ways to connect and output the speakers. I am using the USB connection. Great clarity and definition. I initially tuned the speakers using windows 10's limited "enhancements" so sound was as I wanted to enhance the low end as much as I could. After a month I did miss not having more low end response (compared to an older Klipsch system w/sub.) so decided to look for a sub to compliment the speakers. This is for my workstation which I edit video as well as listen to music when working I found the Polk Audio PSW108 powered subwoofer works really well to compliment these speakers.

Pros: Attractive, solid, multiple ways to connect and output.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 10/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I took a chance on these from positive reviews and am glad I did. Like the look, the sound, the ease of operation. Volume control is easy to reach and I have other volume control options on my Mac. Have tried listening to CDs old and new and like the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Greg from Richboro, PA on 10/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good sound, very well sized for a desktop. Look good, too, for the most part. I've no issue with the power/volume knob being on the back, as controlling the volume through the computer works great. Very happy with the A2+. The line out plugs are a great feature, too--I look forward to one day adding a subwoofer.

Pros: Fantastic sound. Classic good looks.

Cons: The speakers would benefit from a grill; the matte black finish picks up & shows dampness/oils from hands, and it's hard to wipe off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Rico from Newington, GA on 10/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the sound and the classic styling. These are very heavy, well made, and great sounding speakers. I only regret the volume knob is in the back, but this should not be a deal breaker. You will be happy with these speakers.

Pros: Quality build and great sound.

Cons: Volume knob in back.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small wonders

Barbless from Boise, ID on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was just looking for a decent pair of speakers for my computer. This is one of those rare purchases where the result is so much better than my expectations - and they seem to be getting better over time. believes these sound far better than the NHTs we have on our AV system that we ought to swap 'em. Luckily the NHTs don't have the on-board amp or the built-in DAC that these A2+'s do, so everything is staying right where it is.

Pros: Excellent sound, small size, uncomplicated

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love my A2+ speakers

chris from hillsborough, NC on 3/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I started off with the Audioengine Bluetooth speaker which I really liked but there was something missing in the sound quality. the depth just wasn't there. I am old school and still love good sounding music more than convenience but my pocketbook is limited. The A2s solved the problem especially in combo with a wireless adapter. The sound is really full and getting better. Easy to set up. Some limitations with the range of the W3 adapter . Very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

JimK from hull, MA on 2/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was expecting a marked improvement over the speakers in my laptop but I never anticipated the sound quality of these speakers. The sound is room filling and clear and without distortion. I am not an audiophile but I can't imagine speakers of this size being any better.

Pros: Perfect size for a small desk area and terrific appearance.

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I Wince No More!

Jo Z. from albuquerque, NM on 2/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Before purchasing my Audioengine A2+ speakers, I was using a rather inferior pair of speakers with an external sub-woofer. They weren't all that great and I knew that it wasn't my hearing that made me wince every time I turned them on. Hubby recommended the Audioengine A2+ since he has these speakers and has used them for a while. I'm very happy I purchased these from Crutchfield. They are worth every sent and now I don't wince any longer!

Pros: Attractive, excellent sound for voice and music. Good size for desk use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just buy them

Miguel from kansas city, MO on 1/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I enjoy Hi-Fi Audio quite a bit I do own mostly Dynaudio / Roksan integrated... anyway, the purpose of this review is not to compare the Audioengine A2+ but give you my honest opinion from an audiophile standpoint. These little speakers certainly exceeded my expectations, what surprised the most was the big soundstage these produce. the bottom end is quite good coming from these tiny drivers, but where the sweet spot is perhaps the mids. The vocals and guitar string do shine. The high end is pleasant, but not as transparent and detailed as speakers 10 times this price (like my Dyaudio Xeo 3 for example) but overall, not a bad thing, you can listen for hours without fatigue. I'm glad I bought these, they sound great with any kind of music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounding great, looking good

Robert from Finger Lakes New York on 1/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I delayed buying because of the reviews talking about lack of bass -- very happy I bought them. The bass is quite good. Sure, it's not going to hit you in the chest like big drivers, but you can't expect that from small speakers. What you do get is good, solid bass and clean, clear sound. One suggestion if you use iTunes: Check the equalizer -- it can really affect the sound. I almost went with the less expensive monitors -- I'm sure they sound great, but I didn't want the green circles, and these speakers look great.

Pros: Great sound, great looks, DAC

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very impressive!

Duke from waukesha, WI on 1/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set these up on my desk top and plugged them into my PC's Xonar STX card. The clarity and punch were immediatley obvious! These little guys sound terrific, actually better than my Sennheiser headphones. Although I really didn't have to, I went ahead and purchased the Audioengine sub to fill in the very low end and will hook it up this weekend. To be honest though, the A2+ don't need a sub. They are full and rich the way they are. Highly recommended.

Pros: Great clarity. Mids and highs are superb. A little pricey but well worth it. These are not your typical PC speakers and are great for playing high bitrate flac files and concert DVD's on the pc.

Cons: None whatsoever.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent PC speakers

AB from Virginia on 11/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers, I use them with the DAC via USB to get the best. I have added a spare sub at home to it. They are not great with out the added sub, but with it, these are awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great at higher volume, poor at low volume

Snouter from California on 10/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to listen to music rather quietly in my office (didn't want to disturb anyone else) . At low volumes, they were muddy sounding. Song lyrics didn't even sound as clear as with the little speakers in my iMac; the upper and middle frequencies were just not there. On the other hand, when I turned the volume up on Audioengine A2+'s, they sounded absolutely wonderful, but unfortunately that's not my typical listening environment. If you need to keep the noise down, these are not a good choice. If you can crank it up, you'll love the way they sound. Another concern is that the enclosures do not have any cloth or grills over the speakers. The most delicate parts (cones, surrounds, and dust caps) are fully exposed and at risk. I don't understand why units this expensive don't have better protection from the bumps of daily life.

Pros: Great sound at higher volumes

Cons: Muddy sound at lower volumes, no speaker grills or other protection for cones

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Limited but fine

Mark L from Tallahassee FL on 10/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these to use in an office environment in which a subwoofer was causing a neighbor problems. I'm very pleased with the quality of sound these produce as replacements, minus of course the substantial bass that they are missing. Stereo separation is unbelievable, and I am really pleased with the music quality and fidelity even at the lower volumes I need to maintain in my office space.

Pros: Fidelity Clarity Stereo separation

Cons: Light on bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

As Good As Advertised

Unamused from SLO, CA on 9/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my sixth pair of Audioengine A2's (first pair of A2+). I have them throughout the house mated via Apple Airport Express. If I'm in the kitchen, or office, or garage... I have music playing at a listening level. No part of the house is distortion loud, so that I can hear it elsewhere. These desktop wonders sound better than most bookshelf speakers mated to a good quality receiver. Good, solid low end... warm, engaging midrange...and sizzling, accurate highs. They are nice when entertaining, ambient music at nice levels in every corner of the house. At least 4 friends and family have purchased after listening. It's hard to go wrong with the Crutchfield return policy. Buy a set, connect to your computer, do some critical listening...call and thank Crutchfield.

Pros: Great sound. Well made product. Crutchfield reputation for customer satisfaction. Excellent customer service at Audioengine.

Cons: Perhaps a bit spendy. But definitely a case of getting more than you paid for...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

machinegun81 from Arizona on 9/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable. Bass response is incredible with these small speakers. Great sound and very smooth.

Pros: Comes with all the wires you need. Like the bags they come with too.

Cons: Wish it had a remote control.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

machinegun81 from Mesa, Arizona on 9/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got these speakers just 3 days ago and they sound great. Small size but big sound.

Pros: Sound, design of cabinet, wires provided with it, I also got the stand for them and they really make a differance

Cons: Wish it had a volume control knob on outside or a remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ideal Desktop Speakers

Mark T from Washington DC on 9/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a good stereo system at home, and found the speakers that came with my office computer grating every day. After reading reviews, I ordered the Audioengine A2+. Their great virtue is not that they can be loud (but I bet they can be), but that they produce very satisfying, musical sound at low volumes. I can listen to music while I work, and thoroughly enjoy it, without bothering people who work beyond my open door. It takes a good speaker to play quietly. These are very high quality, musical speakers.

Pros: Superb, hi-fi quality, sound. First-rate construction in every way.

Cons: Like many good speakers, they are sensitive to how they are placed. Having them slightly toed-in on either side of my monitor, they produce perfect sound. If I am not sitting directly in front of them, however, they are a little less convincing. As bookshelf speakers in a small apartment, I would not place them too far apart. Don't let that deter you from buying them! Just watch where you put them.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bittersweet

Lucky13 from Florida on 9/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchasing these speakers without researching them on the internet proved to be a valuable lesson. These were purchased as an anniversary gift and I hated having to send them back, but had I done the research beforehand I would have learned that there are numerous complaints that the A2+ speakers run hot. These ran hot at 80 percent after three minutes, and also at 30 percent for an hour. A rep at AE said they had to be defective and to return them for another pair, but I decided to go one better: I purchased the A5+ and these do not run hot no matter how much I crank up the volume or how long they're used. The A2+ have a smaller footprint than the A5+, and they cost a bit more, but in this case, I got what I paid for: awesome sound and dependable speakers. These A5+ sound almost as good as my pair of Bose 901s. I'm impressed with the customer service I got from both AE and Crutchfield. Everyone at Crutchfield was patient, understanding, and more than willing to help me get the A2+ exchanged for the A5+s. As for the belated anniversary present, the A5+s proved to be worth the wait and every penny that I paid for them.

Pros: Small, compact size. Decent sounding. Easy to install. Excellent customer service!

Cons: Run hot!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Beautiful all around.

ObieK from New Hampshire on 8/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers look great and give amazing sound from a tiny foot print. I love them for gaming.

Pros: Amazing full range sound, very slick cabinets. Feel and are well built.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine 2+ Good but not Great

John K from Manhattan Beach, California on 8/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had Klipsch computer speakers that sounded great but when one of the channels blew again on the second set, I decided to replace it with the Audioengine 2+. The Audioengine speakers sound good but they didn't come with a sub to provide the bass punch of the Klipsch THX. So I connected the systems in parallel, turned off the Klipsch L + R speakers, and balanced the volume. Now the Audioengine 2+ provides the treble and midrange and the Klipsch subwoofer augments the bass. It sounds very good and I hope it lasts a long time.

Pros: Good balanced sound. Easy to hook up.

Cons: Not enough bass punch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect size

JasonR from California on 7/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted great sound but I was limited on space. I didn't want a separate DAC because it would take up too much space on my desk. Having a build in DAC and a relatively compact enclosure was perfect for me. When I took these out of the box they sounded great and the packaging and reeked of high quality. I can't wait to get to work everyday so I can listen. The musical details are more apparent as I continue to listen to these speakers.

Pros: Attractive enclosure Small compact and built-in DAC Great sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2s

GregL from Connecticut on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best speakers of this size I've ever heard. Played out of my audio technica lp120, they deliver quite a punch. Awesome customer service by Crutchfield, as these were received for an exchange.

Pros: Tight bass, active/ included amplification, clear & crisp miss, highs

Cons: Too early to tell...perhaps upgrade 16awg wire to 12awg w/ banana plugs?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Megapixel from Los Angeles, California on 6/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am NOT an audio aficionado but I have had a lot of desktop units through the years and I shoot product photography for a major, larger competitor of Audioengine - so I have heard a lot of very good systems. These speakers are a good buy for the price and you probably won't do much better. I am using them for computer audio and they are replacing my Bose Companion 2 (Series 1) speakers. These are way better! They have ample power and sound very clean. My biggest complaint is that they sound a little too bass-y (if that's a word) and I don't hear much at the very top end. In their defense, I'm just using the computer's sound card and no real mixer so maybe I could get even better sound out of them. That being said, they are a great buy and you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Very well constructed, very good sound.

Cons: Heavy on the bass (which could be a plus for some people).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Why did I wait so long

Sounds alive from Tennessee on 5/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I converted from a PC to an Apple iMac several years ago after a not-unexpected computer crash. I have always been satisfied with the quality of the computer's built in speakers but, now retired, I am able to spend more time enjoying music and podcasts while keeping up with online news. I had in mind to buy supplementary speakers a long time ago but something or other always moved into priority place. FINALLY I decided, it's time. What a wonderful improvement. These small but powerful little speakers are perfectly sized for the bookcase over my computer, and fill my office with full rich sound. I wish I had made this decision years ago, but am delighted to be enjoying them now.

Pros: Perfect size and easy easy setup. I think it took me about 15 minutes from mailbox to listening pleasure.

Cons: If you are someone who loves to feel deep DEEP base vibrations, you might want to consider a sub-woofer - but it really isn't needed.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Highly recommended over amp+speakers for small setup

Ebyan from Miami, FL on 5/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was in the market for an amplifier and speakers to go along with a new TEAC TN-300 turntable setup in a small space (corner table). I was about ready to pull the trigger on an Audioengine N22 amp + Klipsch KB-15 Icon speakers, but chose these Audioengine A2+ powered speakers instead. The pros and cons are within that context:

Pros: - Lower price. - Smaller size. - Amazing sound. Very clear mids and highs, and the lows pack a decent punch for the size. I didn't compare the amp + speakers head-to-head so I am unsure as to whether that setup will sound better, but these little guys leave little to be desired.

Cons: - Even though it was cheaper than the amp + speakers setup, the price still seemed a bit high at first blush. I had only purchased < $100 run-of-the mill speakers before and am entirely new to vinyl so I was unprepared for the investment. No regrets now that I've got them set up! Highly recommended.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Adam D from New York on 5/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was in the market for a good desktop speaker and based off a recommendation I pulled the trigger on these and couldn't be happier. However if you enjoy a little bass hit you will need the S8 subwoofer if you want to keep it in the Audioengine family that is. I have heard the sub on a demo and with some adjustment it is excellent. I also recommend getting the angled stands to go along with these speakers. Installation is easy naturally. I strongly recommend using the USB option and grab a USB hub if all your usb ports are currently used up. Using the USB allows the built in DAC to do it's job the right way and it really cleans up the audio files ESP when using Itunes. World of a difference when you use USB compared to letting the itunes built in EQ control the sound. I am a MAC user so once you hook the speakers up and the USB is all ready to go all you have to do is go into your system preferences and in the sound tab you choose Audioengine A2+ as a device and let the speakers take over from there and you will definitely be pleased. I am not sure how that feature is done on a windows based machine. Getting these from Crutchfield was a pleasure, great advice and fast free shipping

Pros: Overall great speaker for its size

Cons: no grilles over the speakers

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Adam from Hanover, VA on 4/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are really good computer speakers. Very elegant styling and compact. Very nice soundstage and well balanced. These little guys sound about as good as can possibly be expected, given their size and lack of a sub.

Pros: Well balanced sound. Compact size. Attractive. Like the USB attachment and integrated DAC.

Cons: Could use more bass, but that would require a sub and more $$, not to mention more space.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great sound

Stacry from Honolulu hawaii on 4/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were delivered fast, easy to set up and they put out phenomenal sound. Best speakers I own.

Pros: Size, sound output, easy to assemble

Cons: Didn't come with the little wedge stands

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not a full experience

carvermon from South Florida on 3/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I concur with and will echo the lone 2 star reviewer here. These certainly are capable of a certain punch - but only at the top and very bottom, leaving what little middle there is muddled and lost somewhere. No amount of repositioning or fiddling with the equalizer allowed me to fill that important part of the stage and ease the disharmony that I experienced. Perhaps proximity was the problem (sitting at the desktop with them), but that is how I will be listening. Adding to my displeasure was Audioengine's decision to forgo decorative or protective covering for the exposed cones, and the unattractive speaker wire included. The speakers are kinda cute, and were packaged nicely with adorable soft drawstring bags, but I repacked and returned them quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Very Nice

JohnE from Pennsylvania on 3/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't be afraid to buy an Open Box item. I bought these speakers as a Open Box item and they are excellent and I saved about $25. The speakers are very well crafted and sound great.

Pros: Great little speaker, easy to set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bedroom speakers

Chris from Oklahoma on 3/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for some small-ish speakers to put on a dresser in the bedroom. These are the perfect size and they have the amp built in so you don't have an extra piece of gear taking up space. They sound great, and put out a decent amount of bass considering their size. (Don't kid yourself - if you're a bass head, you'll want a sub) They can also get loud - about halfway up on the volume is more than enough for me! I wanted to rig these up to my home wifi. There are lots of ways to do this: You could get a Chromecast + HDMI audio extractor; or get a Raspberry Pi and use the Volumio distribution with the A2+'s USB DAC. I went with the cheap route for the time being: I had my old android phone in a drawer doing nothing, so I set up BubbleUPnP on it - making the phone a DLNA renderer - and connected the headphone jack to these speakers. I can stream music from my NAS over wifi and control it all from my phone - a much better set up than some of the dedicated streaming speakers, in my opinion. Final note: Got these from Crutchfield's Scratch & Dent stock. I can't find a thing wrong with them! Plus it saved about $40 off list price, so you might check that out if you're wanting to save some money.

Pros: Excellent sound quality Visually attractive Compact size Built-in amp and USB DAC Includes all cables/wiring in the box Non-skid padding on bottom

Cons: None really - although I wish it came in wood grain options like some of their other speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pricey but worth it

Lee R from North Carolina on 3/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was reluctant to spend this much on a pair of speakers. After much research and deliberation I pulled the trigger. They sound awesome with my MacBook Pro. I would do it all over again. Rock band drums sound great.

Pros: Great Sound. Cool look. You can hook them up with USB or RCA port.

Cons: Price but this time I got what I paid for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Better than expected

Andy from Virginia on 3/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these to replace the stock speakers that came with my home-office computer (Windows 8.1). Running them through the digital (USB) connection works great. The only problem was the audio equalizer on my PC would not work with the USB speakers. Some Internet research directed me to a great open-source program called "Equalizer APO" and its graphical interface, "Peace". The equalizer made the speakers come alive and sound is fantastic in my home office. I did not try the analog feed from my PC's soundcard, as the speakers built-in DAC is rated better, I was a little concerned about the bass output with these small speakers, but with the help of the equalizer, I now get a very full range of crystal-clear audio. Connecting a subwoofer to these speakers would be simple, but really not needed in my 11x14 room. I've played lost of jazz, blues, classical, and classic rock through these speakers, and it all sounds great.

Pros: Excellent sound from a very small package. The digital connection through the USB works great. Easy to set up.

Cons: Without using an equalizer to adjust the audio, the sound was cloudy and dull. My PC's graphic equalizer would not work with the digital interface of the speakers, but an open-source tool (Equalizer APO) solved that problem quickly and easily. Once I adjusted the audio for my room and my ears, the audio is incredible.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The Right Choice

Frank from Vermont on 2/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers replaced on older Bose Companion 5 system that has been having trouble for a while - I made the right choice. The speakers are clearly high quality, weighing in at nearly 10 lbs, the construction material is and the hardware that came with them has met my expectations. I think they are beautiful, and I really like the clean front with the volume knob on the back (in contrary to most reviews). The quality control, however, is not superb. I returned my first set (Crutchfield was awesome regarding this - I was on phone for 3 minutes and a new set was on its way) due to a minor problem with the volume knob. also bits of glue and scratches can be seen in the seems that the tweeters are pressed into the speaker box - these are minor problems and expected for the price. The sound IS SUPERB. focused on the midtones, music and movies are warm, clear, and fully embrace you into the experience. They needed to break in, and speaker position is crucial - other wise they have a slight under-water sound. In comparison to the Bose Companion 5: The Bose focused on the high tuners and the bass, that gives a good sound stage but cold sound. The A2+ are clearly a higher quality the bring out sounds that you hear on only much nicer systems. The tweeters could have more of a presence, and I absolutely would like to have a subwoofer. With out a doubt, the speakers and a subwoofer would make the Bose system seem cheap.

Pros: Beautiful appearance amazing sound quality high quality components open to options - like subwoofer built in DAC quality for the price heavy at near 10 lbs

Cons: could have better high tones could have better quality control subwoofer is not necessary, although would greatly improve the sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A+

Jennifer from New York on 1/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never write reviews, but these speakers are amazing. I sacrificed the wireless for sound and I am so happy I did. Everything sounds excellent on these speakers. Full, beautiful sound. Also works w headphone apps for phones and iPods and while it doesn't sound as fantastic it still is great. A+. And working with Crutchfield has been a great experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Desktop sound upgrade

Donu from Philadelphia,PA on 1/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to replace my desktop and thought I would also change my sound system as well. I had a pretty good Logictech system with 5 speakers and a subwoofer. I replaced them with these speakers and have to say it is a major upgrade in sound. The speakers don't need a subwoofer and the quality of sound is so crisp and precise that it is a delight to listen to any time I am in the room.

Pros: first quality of sound, second is the small footprint to free up desktop space

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Speakers

Glock3540 from Tennessee on 12/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Speakers! I wanted some speakers for my wife's office/sewing room/study and was looking for something "classy" looking. I have had powered speakers in this room in the past, and although they sounded good, I had multiple issues with the plate amplifiers that the small satellite sub was powered with. I replaced the amplifier but also had other frustrating issues. The speakers themselves also looked like something a man would pick out for his office... THESE speakers are a work of art. They compliment my wife's new MacBook Pro Retina I bought her and are small in size. They also have very high quality components. I purchased the A2+ for the internal DACs it has. As quality of a product the MacBook is, I know the DAC's in these speakers are much better (using a USB). They sound Great! The bass is not quite as powerful as what I had with (Klipsch Promedia 2.1) but the bass is still impressive and is much "tighter" and more natural sounding (not like a boom box). You can tell Audioengine designed these well. Even opening the box is like opening an Apple product. High quality cloth covers and packaged well. I have a Very Expensive system in my personal A/V room. Dolby 11.2 with amplifiers everywhere. I also own EIGHT 18" SEALED Subwoofers. I know what quality bass sounds like and these small speakers are room filling (or at least small room filling). They seem a little pricey until you get them. You won't be disappointed. My Wife Love's Them So All Is Well;)

Pros: For their size it is amazing the quality sound these little guys put out. Very Well designed and constructed. Great Looking Also. If you are looking for stoplight, boomy, unnatural sounding speakers, look elsewhere. If you are looking for Quality, Excellent Sound in a small package, you have come to the right speakers. (If you want/need a little more bass, the A5 may be a better choice but they are Much Larger)

Cons: None Really

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Audioengine A2

BG3 from Dunwoody, GA on 11/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound. nice to have 3 ways to connect to input source. I use these with a projector for audio visual presentations

Pros: ordered in white from the scratch and dent dept. Speakers appeared perfect, can find no blemishes

Cons: heavy for their size

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

YAY!

disneyforlife from California on 11/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for my sister as a early x-mas gift and she loves them. She uses them as her main desktop speakers for a cheap pc i built for her.. She mostly listens to low quality compressed music like Pandora and they still sound amazing using the usb connection. Big sound stage for little speakers. I tested them on my rig with different formats Aiff, Monkey, Flac , Wav etc. with and without a subwoofer (polk psw111) and they sounded even better. Great speakers if you have limited space or are on a tight budget.

Pros: Big sound stage

Cons: none for the price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

DebbieA

Debbie A from New York, New York on 11/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great full sound from such compact speakers. The built in amplifier is incredible. Delivers on what it said it would. I matched these speakers with the turntable recommended and got a great product for about $500.00 loving my vinyl again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compact size - Massive Sound

RDup981 from Baton Rouge, La on 10/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid Speakers. Really, Solid Speakers. The sound these things put out is something special. I've never heard such quality and depth in sound produced from speakers of this size. The USB hookup to bypass the generic computer sound board is extremely noticeable. The look and cosmetics of these is simple, clean, and very stylish. Well worth the $250

Pros: Sound Quality Cosmetics Wire Quality Ease of Setup Packaging

Cons: Wish the volume control was on the front, but that's just being picky.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Mighty Little Speakers

Bob Mc from Belchertown, MA on 9/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Starting with the packaging, it's clear that Audioengine is serious about their products. The speakers and even the cables came wrapped in individual microfiber bags. !6 gauge speaker wire is included - not the flimsy little wire that comes with most computer speakers in this price range. I am using the A2+'s with a laptop in my bedroom. I like to listen to music before going to sleep! It's been four days since they arrived and I can't stop listening to them. Acoustic jazz, R&B, electronica, vocals and classical are all presented with an accurate and wide soundstage. They also play quite loud without any audible distortion. Except for the very low end, these little speakers have decent bass. I can feel the air they push out from three feet away! I had a 10-year old Klipsch subwoofer stashed away in a closet that provides the chest-thumping low end and the result is nothing less than stunning. For the money, the A2+'s can't be beat. This is my first experience with Audioengine, but it won't be my last. In the future, I will be purchasing the A5's for my office desktop computer. Shopping at Crutchfield, as always, is a great experience. Their customer service is bar none!.

Pros: Accurate, near audiophile sound.

Cons: This is a minor comment, but the delicate silk dome tweeters are exposed. I sure there are no grill cloths for reasons of audio quality.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome desktop speakers

IraR from NYC on 8/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable sound quality for playing music on computer! Will also probably serve well as bookshelf speakers in a home entertainment stereo system, at least in a small room. I couldn't match it at anywhere near the price. Very highly recommended.

Pros: Superb music reproduction: clarity, detail, accuracy (especially at mid and high frequencies) for all types of music Very sturdy construction Moderately easy to set up High value (quality/price)

Cons: Moderate sound output (volume), best for smaller rooms Will need to add a sub-woofer for room thumping bass. Audioengine sub-woofer costs more than the A2+ speaker pair.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sounding!!!

Dave from Simi Valley, ca on 6/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were packaged very nicely, came very quickly! Very satisfied with the sound, volume, and clarity of these speakers!

Pros: Small, compact, great sound, clarity, and volume level for a small office!! Great for listening to music and watching movies!! I would highly recommend them!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stunning Clarity

JSD from Vermont on 6/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most of the other reviews are pretty spot on. Still, I was taken aback at the clarity, depth and detail these speakers delivered. Overall, they're an outstanding value. I'm using the speakers' built-in DAC and set up was a breeze. Sure, a little extra bass at higher volumes would be nice, but it's not a drawback at moderate listening levels. I chose these because of the small footprint. If I had more room available I probably would have gone for the A5+. I think the "listening geometry" makes a difference. I have the speakers in a computer/desk setup: 3.5 feet apart (6 inches in front of the back wall), and I sit 2 feet in front of the front plane of the speakers. This seems ideal. I can't help thinking these speakers were engineered specifically for this application and geometry. Changing the positions seems to alter characteristics - your mileage may vary.

Pros: Sound, set up, small footprint and, Oh yeah, More Sound!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SUPER LITTLE SPEAKERS

BK from EAST HARTFORD, CT on 6/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I WAS AMAZED BY THE CLARITY AND DEPTH OF THESE WONDERFUL LITTLE SPEAKERS. THE FACT THEY COME EQUIPPED WITH A BUILT IN QUALITY DAC IS MAKES THIS A VERY EASY SOLUTION FOR SOMEONE WHO WANTS AUDIOPHILE QUALITY SOUND FROM THEIR COMPUTER SPEAKERS.

Pros: SLEEK DESIGN AND HIGH QUALITY CONTRUCTION.

Cons: USB CORD COULD BE JUST A LITTLE LONGER.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well balanced, natural non-tiring sound

Tomek K from Walpole, MA on 6/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got them for Christmas for my son, he uses them with MacBook Pro - connection is USB and we utilize the built-in DAC.The speakers sound very natural and not a bit bright / harsh. We have them on the little stands which help with soundstage imaging and overall sound clarity. Overall we really like the sound, but we've added a subwoofer (also from Crutchfield - 10 inch Polk that was on closeout). With that subwoofer it is a complete system that can fill 200 square feet room with high quality sound. After a few months left speaker started crackling and eventually quit. Crutchfield replaced it quickly. I think we had to pay for shipping - it would be nice if defective product would be replaced for free. Giving 4 stars because of that issue.

Pros: High quality "audiophile" sound (well balanced, not too bright, non-fatiguing). Works perfectly with a subwoofer.

Cons: They broke and had to be replaced. I think they are a little pricey (but that's just me...)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small & Mighty

mmmMatt! from Minneapolis, MN on 5/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the A2+ speakers after doing a lot of research and spending a good deal of time breaking in my A5+ speakers. I won't go into placement considerations on the A5's, but suffice to say the front porting of the A2's make them much easier in this regard; especially helpful given the limited of the real estate on my desktop. Highly recommend the Audioengine speaker wedges for the A2's as they do make a significant difference in the depth ot the mids and clarity of the high end. Speaking of the sound, I've run the A2+ speakers using the built-in 16/44 DAC and also with a Dragonfly 1.0 USB DAC connected with an inexpensive Audioquest mini-stereo-RCA cable. While the Dragonfly definitely has a more "spacious" sound and better overall imaging, the DAC chip included in the A2+ speakers is really pretty good. Mids are it's strong suit to my ears. Bass is well controlled and seems more than you might think possible with this small a speaker. The treble is also quite pleasing and doesn't become strident until you've pushed the volume too high. In fact, these little speakers have no problem filling my office with quality sound (10x10). One thing to note: you will have to be patient as these little speakers do definitely have a break-in period. they sounded a little harsh and flat when I first installed them. Since that point, however, the detail and depth of the sound -- and soundstaging -- have just gotten better and better. Highly recommended!

Pros: Build quality, decent built in DAC, surprising bass -- the little woofers move a lot of air at higher volumes! Sweet sounding treble once broken in

Cons: Wish they had a remote like the A5+ speakers, definitely need speaker stands to angle the treble towards your ears. Otherwise, hard to fault.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

A2+ Desktop Speakers

JaySin from Watsonville Ca on 5/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for laptops and desktop computers! Sound is amazing and only gets better overtime! Whats best is their versatility, connected my a2+ to my old 2.1 system (Logitech X-230) that has a subwoofer and it makes the a2+ sound that much better! Dont expect ground shaking bass, thats what subs are for!!!!! Amazing sound quality...PERIOD!

Pros: Plug and play! Connect usb to computer and the DAC takes over! Sound is unbelievable! connections for subwoofer or previous computer speakers!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent desktop speakers

EP from Florida on 3/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are excellent little speakers. The other reviews you read about these really are true. I honestly love the way these sound, and they sit well on my desk without taking up too much space. I would highly recommend getting the speaker wedges that elevate them to ear level, this improves the sound, and honestly I'm a little disappointed they weren't included with the speakers for the price. I would rate these at 4.5/5 stars because they don't have bluetooth connectivity (like the edifier luna), however they do contain an onboard DAC which does improve the sound over my standard sound card in my mac. I also think the volume control should be on the front of the speaker, and the tweeter and main cone should have an X-bar cover of some sort similar to the edifier that wouldn't hinder the sound but would provide some sort of protection. Other than that, these are fantastic little speakers that produce excellent audio and pretty decent bass for their size.

Pros: Small Size, excellent clarity and sound, on-board DAC, USB connectivity, optional output for a subwoofer, 3.5mm connectivity, bass port on the front of the speaker

Cons: No bluetooth connectivity, cone and tweeter are exposed

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding Computer Speakers

David P. from Richmond, VA on 3/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I set these speakers up in my office and played a few sound files through them I was amazed at the warmth and accuaracy of the sound. I heard very precise, detailed, rich sound with plenty of "oomph". While teaching a music workshop for 12 people I used these with a laptop in a smaller room and everyone was amazed at the quality of the sound. Really worth the money. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Ed G from Washington, DC on 3/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers produce absolutely amazing sound at both bass and treble levels. I could not be more pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A2+

Garry from Frisco, Texas on 2/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The A2+ is an exceptional value. The solid sound quality and ease of installation in my opinion makes the A2+ a computer speaker option that should be in a shoppers short list.

Pros: Terrific sound, especially at this price point.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Really Wonderful Speakers

Happy Dave from Los Angeles, CA on 2/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just bought these for myself as a late Christmas gift and the sound is amazing. I listen to many types of music from BRUCE! to Freddy Hubbard and from Marvin Gaye to Placido Domingo and I have enjoyed every single note pumped though these amazing A2+. The reproduction of the sound of voice, guitar, piano, solo sax, rock bands, R&B and multi-voiced classical music are all great. I didn't just need loud; I needed good, and these beauties have delivered (and they can be loud when necessary!).

Pros: A solid sound for the price. I really can't believe that this level of performance can delivered for this price... Lucky us! Multiple hook-ups too.

Cons: Have not found any cons yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound stage and very accurate

Bruce T from Boston, Ma on 1/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using these purely for music while I work, typically at a fairly low volume level. Their ability to create a sound stage is just amazing. Every so often something comes up in the play list that makes me pause a say to myself "that sounded live" . I'm using the dac connection with Airfoil on a Mac which allows me to just send music to the A2+. I'm also "sharing" the sub from my main system - a 12" Velodyne - interesting combination $250 powered speakers with a $2K sub - best desktop system I've ever had!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Fred from Carson, CA on 1/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Detail, and clarity, but no matter how I positioned the speakers I was unable to created a proper sound stage or imaging. Its sounded like I was listening to a very good system in a large arena or stadium. My cheaper Klipsch computer system created a better sound stage with the vocals clearly identified in the center of the sound stage.

Pros: Great detail

Cons: poor sound stage

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

AWESOME SMALL SPEAKERS

Gary from Chillicothe, Ohio on 1/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these Speakers to play MUSIC from my laptop. My laptop does have the built in BEATS speakers. They sound Good, but these AUDIOENGINE A2+ powered speakers with the built in DAC sound much better. By using a USB cable A B plugs you by pass the computer DAC for great sound. I would recommend these speakers to anyone.

Pros: GREAT SOUND for small speakers, Multiple hook ups

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great set of Speakers

jg from Johns Creek, GA on 1/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great set of speakers. Right from the unpacking you get an Apple kind of vibe.the speakers come with individual cloth bags and the same for accessories. I bought these from my son and he likes the clear stereo image and placement of the instruments. These are definitely high end speakers. They have sufficient bass for their size, but will not shake the desk. I perceive that as a good thing based on my musical taste. We also bought the stands and I think there are a must - looks great too.

Pros: Great sound, compact, great packaging and individual cloth bags for later moves.

Cons: Bass in line with size. Stands cost extra

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great computer speakers!

LG from Austin, TX on 1/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers reproduce the fine details of all types of music. The midrange and high frequency sounds are crystal clear and precise. The upper bass sound is good, with only the lower-end bass lacking. Considering the small size of these speakers, their frequency range is remarkable. If full range computer sound is important, the matching subwoofer can be added.

Pros: Wide, flat, frequency range and detailed sound production from a tiny pair of speakers. A built-in digital-to-analog converter that rivals standard computer sound cards.

Cons: A subwoofer is needed for the lower-bass range. However, considering that it is physically impossible for such a small woofer to produce low-end bass, these speakers are remarkable.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Impressive desktop speakers

EEWdad from Snohomish, WA on 12/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little speakers - replaced an aging dell 5.1 system on our teenager's computer. Internal DAC and USB connection made installation super easy. Great sound and sound stage (couldn't say that about the 5.1 system).

Pros: Small, great sound; easy to install. Nicely constructed.

Cons: No grills.. even optional grills would have been a plus.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sounding and expandable upgrade

Cackalacky from Waxhaw, NC on 12/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for an upgraded sound system for my office to include nice speakers and eventually a turntable. The Crutchfield rep directed me towards networked receivers and bookshelf speakers, but that was quickly getting too pricey for what I wanted to spend. Through more research, I found these speakers with a built-in DAC, bypassing the laptops weak sound card that also allowed for expansion through the RCA inputs. I settled on these and bought them for Christmas. I am very happy with my purchase. I listen mostly to itunes songs on my PC and the detail, clarity, and volume is much improved over the laptop speakers. I am looking to add a turntable next year and maybe add an unused subwoofer from home.

Pros: Great sound, expansion for multiple components through RCA/mini-plug, and USB inputs, built-in DAC

Cons: The instructions failed to explain that under certain circumstances one must go into Control Panel > Sounds to select the A2+ as the default sound output. Upon initial install, the speakers worked through the mini-plug, but not the USB to utilize the DAC. Some research revealed the trick in the settings..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine 2+

JT49 from Salinas,CA on 12/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker at good price, music clear and crisp. Added simple plug in for a little Cambridge sub I had sounds great.

Pros: Sound quality Price Ease of setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Ibrahim B from New Mexico on 12/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these for my daughter but I kept them for about a week to break them in. Out of the box, they sounded a bit boomy in the bass and flat. Actually, not bad but not so good either. After about 50 hours of break in they started to sound more balanced and warm. I have the feeling they will sound even better after more play. Very nice speakers f for the price and size. The only thing I have to compare them with is my Spendor 3/5Rs monitors The Spendors are more refined sounding with greater clarity and depth. They are also much larger and 6x the price. Even so, the Audioengines weren't completely outclassed. My daughter was very happy with them. I may buy a pair of the 5s for myself!

Pros: Nice sound, size and price. Easy to set up.

Cons: Not very portable since there are no speaker grills. Tipped up bass which decreases but doesn't disappear after break in.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A2+

Mark from Philadelphia, PA on 12/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with my Audioengine 2+. A vast upgrade from my computer speakers. My iTunes now come across with better clarity, more authority and a wider soundstage. I would recommend them to anyone looking for an alternative to standard off the shelf PC sound systems.

Pros: Clear and crisp sound, wide sound stage, flexible input choices, ie USB, RCA and mini plug

Cons: Wish they had a headphone connection

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Kevin from Maryland on 11/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are just amazing. They are small and sleek looking and sound great. I did not buy the subwoofer and although some added bass would be welcome they still produce fantastic sound. So clear and crisp and fill my home office with great sound. Even at really high volume, they do not lose any crispness, warmth or clarity. The kevlar cones produce nice mids and bass for something so compact. If I opted for a powered subwoofer, this combo would compete with my Polk towers. I am super impressed and would recommend these speakers to any audiophile looking to maximize their desktop or laptop.

Pros: Amazing sound Great look Good value

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP