Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audioengine A5+

Powered stereo speakers (White)

MFR # A5+W

Audioengine A5+

Audioengine A5+

Powered stereo speakers (White)

MFR # A5+W

95 reviews
View this product

In their class, nothing will beat them, nothing.

Crutchfield customer from SAN JOSE, CA on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceeded my expectations. I combined these with an Audioengine DAC D1, which allowed me to set the audio sampling quality to max. Mind. Blown. I ended up listening to my favorite music in its entirety the first day, for hours and hours. Magical. I've since purchased these for my siblings as gifts, and recently installed them in an art studio with a Chromecast Audio using optical output - heaven. Half a decade now, while trying new speakers here and there, and every time, my A5+s are still the clear winner.

Pros: Everything is of the highest quality.

Cons: I wish they were weatherproof so I could replace my patio and pool speakers with them. Seriously, no cons. These are amazing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loving my A5+

Crutchfield customer from East Rockaway, NY on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds like a much higher price point speaker.

Pros: good sound quality and imaging

Cons: None so far. Cheap interconnect and speaker cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine 5+ Powered Speakers

Robert from Farmingtn Hls, MI on 4/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are using these with the computer in our study and they sound fabulous. When listening to voice presentations or very dynamic music passages these sound natural. Also, at modest sound levels all the way up to very loud they are always clear and precise.

Pros: Clarity and Volume

Cons: These speakers look very nice but do not come with grills. I do like the A5+ appearance but some people may prefer that their speakers are covered for a cleaner look.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Matthew from DELTONA, FL on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very impressed by these speakers. They can get very, very loud and still sound great. They look nice, are well-built, trouble free after six months, and they sound very nice.

Pros: Looks, sound, build quality

Cons: None at this price level.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Short Life Expectancy Due To Apparent Design Flaw

Paul A. from RALEIGH, NC on 1/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

BUYER BEWARE! These speakers have a design flaw and will not last long. Mine lasted 3 1/2 years, 6 months out of the warranty period. I bought the A5+ speakers with the Audioengine S8B subwoofer and a Dragonfly DAC to use with my extensive laptop music collection. The speakers sounded fantastic for 3 years and 4 months, then they began making popping and crackling static sounds. I searched online about this and it is a "thing," complaints about this everywhere, even saw a youtube video documenting the same popping and crackling static noise my speakers. $ down the drain, no apparent fix available. I have several music systems and have other speakers that still work perfectly after 15 - 20 years. These speakers are great-sounding, short-lived, $ disposable trash.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Paid a lot for speakers that lasted just beyond the end of the warranty period.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, FL on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am greatly surprised at how good this system sounds for the price! Clean power and great sound including solid bass and crisp clean highs. Not high end as to be expected, but beyond what I was expecting for the price. Great purchase!

Pros: Great sound for the price.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Glendale

William from Glendale on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bang for the buck. Quick and easy to hook up to my turntable. Great sound but bass does lack. I still gave them 5 stars because I wouldn't expect tremendous bass from speakers that aren't designed for better than normal bass levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Shepherdsville, KY on 8/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound these speakers lay out is outstanding.

Pros: ALL

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Liked them so much, I bought two pair.

James from Amarillo, TX on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a set of Audioengine A5+ speakers in my office at home. They are hooked up to my computer and run through an Audioengine D1 DAC. They have been performing flawlessly for 5 years. They bring out details in music you have listened to before, but not heard. They have a wide soundstage that reveals nuance and subtleties in the music you may have never experienced. In addition they can just plain CRANK. I also listen through my headphones through the DAC and am likewise pleased and surprised. I teach a high school math class and actually had a Denon receiver and vintage Baby Advent II speakers. Too much gear for a classroom. I purchased a second pair of A5+. I have them broke in and they sound phenomenal! I have 170 students and my speakers are "sick" (that's a good thimg). My students have now been exposed to Van Morrison and live J Geils. It is nice to have a "captive" audience. A side note: I stepped on the remote to my first set of A5+'s and broke the volume up. Crutchfield suggested I give Audioengine a call. I did just that and told them what a dedicated customer I am. They sent me a new remote at no charge. There are some less pricey powered speakers. If you buy something else, then hear these, you will wish you held out for the Audioengines. Thanks Crutchfield, Thanks Audioengine, James Eve

Pros: Several options for inputs. Plenty of bass. Sound great at low levels or turned up loud. With DAC, audiophile quality.

Cons: 5 years running and none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good bpurchase

Crutchfield customer from Hilliard, OH on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite impressed with these little guys. The sound is more than expected. The highs are clear and bright without being tinny. The lows are good, tight, with just the right amount of punch for this size speaker. Quality feel.

Pros: Clear highs, full lows (especially for a speaker of this size)

Cons: Volume knob is an infinity knob w/ push to take in/out of standby. Pushes to easy. No grills.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Well worth the price

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great. I was a bit worried, because they have been out for a few years now. The second night I played them was for an impromptu house party. They were loud and kept the party going for hours. Everyone was impressed with the sound from these speakers. These speakers are not small. They have good weight to them as well. I will purchase the Audioengine S8 so that these speakers can focus just on mids and highs.

Pros: Sound, bass without a sub

Cons: More features

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tiny but mighty

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these. They are small, simple, sound fantastic, and are cute. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Pros: Size, ease of use, sound quality, adorableness

Cons: None discovered yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Guest from Juneau, AK on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome for focal clarity when listening to small jazz groups. If I ever get around to hooking up my turntable, this plus a tube dac/equalizer would be my choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best of class speakers

Bill from Kensington, NH on 8/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased a pair of A5+. They totally exceeded my expectations. Amazingly clear, crisp tones and detail with surprising bass without a sub-woofer. Plenty of power for my 10x12' home office. I probably could have gone with a smaller pair, but am very happy. I will wait for the 30 hour break-in period before deciding on a sub. I would recommend these to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from La Jolla, CA on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things are awesome. Though, they make me wonder what the smaller versions are capable of!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, CT on 6/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful speakers- Great sounds right out of the box i bought a scratch and dent version. The outside box was rally beat up, but the speakers are pristine. Saved an absolute bundle of money. Many Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent desktop speakers

Al from Arvada, CO on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace computer speakers. The Audioengine A5+s are excellent speakers in their own right and make a very satisfying and reasonably priced stereo system. They have lots of power, high fidelity to the source material, and extremely low distortion. The bass is excellent for speakers of this size. An Audioengine subwoofer is available if you want more bass.

Pros: Great sound at a great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Morgantown, PA on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the volume range is very limited. The volume knob will turn to the right and keep turning, but the volume on the speaker does not increase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/27/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get his speakers working properly, or help him return them for an exchange or refund.

8 of 8 found this helpful

Fantastic Sound paired with S8 and D1 DAC

Amante from Round Lake, IL on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired these speakers with my AudioEngine D1 DAC and it sounds really amazing. I also hooked up my Nintendo Switch and PS4 by using the Analog connection from the speaker. Overall, I highly recommend these speakers money well spent!

Pros: Loud, crisp sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's Loud, It's Sounds Amazing!!

Matthew from St Louis, MO on 9/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all let me say these things can put out some sound and not distort at high volume levels!! The packaging was beautiful. The product is legit!!

Pros: Everything blew my expectations!! Except the volume knob being sensitive.

Cons: Cons because that list way shorter. The volume knob on the front is a little touchy. When you turn it down a notch it sometimes turns the volume up instead, it's not that big of a deal. I use the remote anyways. For the most part the only thing that upsets me a little is the fact that both inputs will play the audio simultaneously. I've also noticed if I have the Chromecast Audio plugged into the mini jack the other source (RCA from TV) will play a little lower in volume, even though the Chromec

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, va on 9/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound system!! Just ordered he audioengine s8 subwoofer to go with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great performance and looks.

Rick from South Salem, NY on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product has exceeded my expectations. I use the speakers every day and they sound just perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being an Audiophile owning expensive equipment, I am amazed how good this small and powered speaker sounds. I bought it for my friend, a professional opera singer, who is thrilled with the warm and natural sound, when paired with the Marantz 5005 Cd player. Franco Corelli's voice is portrayed in all its glory from this small bookshelf speaker. What an amazing surprise to find that this little powered speaker closely approaches the quality of my $15K stand mounted speakers from Italy. I may get a pair for my own enjoyment, pairing them with a Marantz 8005 SACD player.

Pros: Pleasinly natural sound

Cons: Nothing at this price point

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Awssssssome

Cj from Thousand Oaks CA on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing sound system bought with subwoofer and audio dac couldn't be happier got way more then I thought I was getting...the best part though was Crutchfield products came quickly and in great shape I will be using Crutchfield whenever I need something they provide thanks guys you rock!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Andrew from Savannah, GA on 11/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

How anyone could give these anything less than a 5* review is beyond me. Insane bang for your buck...you truly won't be disappointed. Pair them with the AudioEngine W3, and you have a versatile system (set a laptop on the bar for guests to queue music) to fill a studio apartment type space. I also added a AudioEngine S8 sub for the lows - I really recommend the S8 if you can do it (recommended) but not truly necessary if you are penny pinching. My full system is in white and is absolutely beautiful. The beauty is in the simplicity - these things are well constructed and compliment the whole room. Lastly, the AudioEngine DS2 desktop stands are well worth the money. They pair with the A5+'s like a glove and not only help fill the room but also get your speakers out of the beverage danger zone of spilled soda's and brews. PS: After reading my review, I should say that I do not work nor gain any $$$ from AudioEngine but seriously this set up (used nearly entirely for music) will not disappoint you in a roughly a 1000 sq ft space. The W3 makes it especially versatile as you don't have to have the bulky bluetooth enable speakers (still have a clean look) and the S8 balances them out. The stands are perfect and the sub is phenomenal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Small package big sound

Dr K from Knoxville, TN on 9/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound form a small package. Good features, only draw back is no dust cover.

Pros: Great sound, relatively small

Cons: No dust cover, no integrated bluetooth or wifi

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfection

Lance123 from Chicago, IL on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply Perfection!!!! Crystal clear sound and power. Sounds amazing with any genre

Pros: everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Craig from Wisconsin on 3/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great. Coming from a Altec Lansing set up there is no comparison. I couldn't believe all of the range that I have been missing. I'm not an audiophile, but I do like great clear sound. I did read some reviews that these do lack a little in the lows, which they do, so I purchased the S8 woofer at the same time. That was a great decision since it fills in where the A5+'s lack. I'm just wondering now if I would of been able to get away with the A2's since I bought the S8 anyways. I did pair this with a D3 DAC and I can't really tell the difference between using the DAC and connecting straight to my late 2014 5k Imac.

Pros: Awesome range Easy to set up

Cons: Lacking a little in the lows The light on the front is very bright. It's like a nightlight if you have it in your bedroom.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio Engine A5+

Tom H. from Los Alamos, NM on 2/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the speakers for ten days, they are being driven by the audio output of a 27" iMac. My old ears find the sound of the A5+ speakers to be quite good & very well balanced, I appreciate the fact that the bass has not been over-enhanced. I hear no hum with this combination which is also important since the desired output of the speakers is often silence. I sometimes like to listen while moving around the house and am using the Audioengine's variable line out to drive a pair of Sennheiser Model TR-175 wireless headphones. In addition to volume and mute functions the remote control switches the speakers either on or into a sleep mode, there is also a real power switch to save energy when the speakers will not be in use for extended periods.

Pros: Excellent sound, no hum, variable line out, real On/Off switch.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome

Tb from Va on 2/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Best bookshelf speakers for the price

Alex from san diego, CA on 2/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had never heard of Audioengine before doing my research but was pleasantly surprised. They look great, the sound great in my small living room and are the perfect partner for my vinyl collection.

Pros: -Style -Bass

Cons: -Slight clarity issues on certain songs -Heavy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plays with Authority

California Ken from California on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't know much about Audioengine until I started my research into upgrading my computer speakers. The Crutchfield advisor recommended these, so I gave them an audition. It's bigger than most desktop speakers (size does matter), and I didn't mind it taking up more real-estate on my desk. Plays LOUD, with authority, stays relatively clean even when cranking them up. You'd have to pay much more dough to get a (only incrementally) better set than these. My only quibble is a little "thickening" of bass at certain frequencies (think deep male voice). The tweeters are a joy to listen to, I can listen all day at loud settings without ear fatigue. I liked that it could easily hook up to a sub (which I did 30 days later with a SVS sb2000) This combo is Audio heaven. If you don't crank your music, you could get away with the A5's little brother. Oh, and if you want them to disappear, (esp. at work) you might get the white version. If you have the money, buy it!

Pros: Solid build quality, plays louder than just about any desktop setup, can buy a sub later if more lower end ooomph needed. Good imaging. Easy plug and play (to a tv or desktop)

Cons: could be a little cleaner (bass) at certain frequencies

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great performance. great value

Jlong from TN on 12/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared these side-by-side with Paradigm Shift A2s. The A5+s have a better slung--fuller and warmer. The A2s are brighter but tinny by comparison. The A2s are more flexible, but I went with the better sound and saved a bunch because I was buying 4 pair. Great sound for the size and price.

Pros: You can't beat self powered shelf speakers for playing your tunes from a phone or iPod or computer. Great value.

Cons: I'm thinking. I'll have to get back to you.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

jeff1451 from Tennessee on 12/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a set of self powered bookshelf speakers and did a lot of internet research, narrowing it down to the Audioengine 5+ and the Paradigm Shift 2A. Both had good reviews. The Shift 2As were rated better in the one or two head-to-head reviews I could find. I ordered a pair of Audioengine 5+s for myself and 4 Shift 2As for Christmas gifts. They arrived and I compared the sound side-by-side with several different inputs: my iphone 6+, my 55" Pioneer plasma TV, and my cd player. The cd player produced the best sound, however, no matter the source, the Audioengines were better without doubt. The Paradigm Shift 2As are feature loaded and a good product, but they sounded tinny in comparison. The Audioengines produced a warmer, better balanced sound. I wanted to like the Paradigm Shift A2s but just didn't. I returned them to Crutchfield (the easiest return I have every experienced) and ordered 3 more pair of the Audioengines for Christmas gifts and for the vacation home. I use one pair for my home TV. I probably should put a subwoofer with it, but it does a better job than the 35 year old Fisher speakers they replace. The really nice thing about the Audioengines (and the Paradigm Shifts, for that matter) is that they have a built-in amp producing 50 watts per speaker. No need for an amp. And they take input directly from my iphone, TV, or whatever. They can't compete with the Martin Logans that are hooked to my music audio system, but who ever thought they could?

Pros: The best sound I have heard from a speaker that small. Lot's of applications for a good speaker in such a compact size.

Cons: The list of cons could go on and on. Such a small speaker can only do so much. But the cons aren't the point. The thing to remember is that you are getting a very competent speaker that outperforms many more expensive competitors.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Joplin,MO on 11/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing improvement over my BOSE Companion 2.0 speakers. There is so much more to the music that I had been missing. Coupled with the Cambridge DACMagic100 they are perfect.

Pros:

Cons: Maybe a little big to be used as desktop speakers but everything smaller seems to have a MUCH smaller sound. A grille option would be nice. Some visual idea of where the volume is set would help too.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+ As Advertised

fifthswitch from California on 11/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At this point anyone reading a review for the A5+ has a fair idea as to their reputation, and for the most part it lives up to it. These speakers pack a fairly steady punch. They are simple in design, but not in any way a fault, and their sound can handle even the most dynamic film or game soundscape. The A5+ surprised me with its mid-to-lower end ability, and was a welcomed one. My only grip: for my ears I prefer a bit more treble out of my highs, which these speakers do not seem to carry (although I'm still breaking them in), but I feel as monitoring type equipment goes, these will please most audiences. The remote is nice addition, which includes a handy power-save and sleep mode. I have a custom PC hooked up to a 55" Sony TV via HDMI with the A5+ plugged into TV. Mainly using it for Streaming, Blu Rays, and PC Gaming. Upgraded from a very low-end Sub $200 Klipsch 2.1 speaker set from about 2002, so really anything would sound better at this point.

Pros: Simple Design Power Save/Sleep Mode Remote Mid-to-Low End Sound Handles Dynamic Sounds Easily Packs Power Price Extremely Easy Setup

Cons: Not as clear highs as I would have liked, but this is very subjective. Book Shelf (duh) Size, so bigger than I'm use to, but again, subjective.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Product!

John from Pennsylvania on 10/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I truly enjoy these computer speakers. I highly recommend coupling this with the Audioquest Dragonfly DAC. The speakers sound good right out of the box but please give them time to open up as they definitely improve with additional listening.

Pros: Style, size, sound, ease of connectivity, price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Paulia from California on 9/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound amazing. Can really hear bass in music. Sounds loud and clear. Perfect!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Much better than AE2+ speakers!

Lucky13 from Florida on 9/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After having purchased, and then returned, a pair of the AE 2+ speakers, I finally got the best speakers my budget would allow: the AE 5+. Yes, they cost more, and yes they have a bigger footprint than the AE2+ pair, but they don't overheat (which might be a common issue with the AE2+) and we finally got a pair of speakers that deliver consistently clear sound with ample volume. We've been listening to various types of music and also comparing streaming music to CDs, and these just can't be beat. Crutchfield has been totally awesome, and we'll continue to consult and purchase audio/visual equipment from them. Our first rep, Chance, was so helpful as well. Thanks Crutchfield for the excellent selection and customer service. And thanks Audio Engine for responding to our inquiries and being so concerned. This was a win-win for everyone as far as I can see.

Pros: Excellent quality! Clear, crisp sound. Easy to install. Doesn't overheat like AE2+ speakers. Able to turn up plenty of volume when desired. Remote control!!!

Cons: Kinda big, but that's a minor issue for us.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Studio Speaker

AlexV from North Carolina on 8/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding set of speakers. Like other's have said, they have a fairly flat response, but that's what I'm looking for. The only reason a star is lost is that due to the powered nature of these speakers, the left and right can't be switched. So, since I sit with my computer to my right I either need a longer 3.5mm cord or I need a 3.5 to RCA so that I can swap those inputs around.

Pros: Sounds exactly as described by other reviewers...flat response.

Cons: Need a separate adapter to switch left and right channels.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not quite what I expected

Matthew from Wisconsin on 7/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Note I'm comparing to the Paradigm Shift A2 speakers. Both are hooked up by Audioquest cinnamon cables and a schiit audio modi dac. I ordered the Paradigm speakers first and I wondered if I made the correct choice. Looking back I did. Don't get me wrong these speakers are good just not as good at the Paradigm. I did various tests on each to see what ones I liked after breaking BOTH pairs in for 48 hrs. The highs are ok. They are slightly dull almost veiled. Symbols in rock music and picks from a guitar are VERY unnoticeable. The Paradigm's do a much better job for the high end after break in. Mids are decent pretty good sound overall. They lack clarity again due to the tweeter not having as much detail for the voices in the higher end. Low end is decent as well. You can hear it hit but the tonality is missing to me. It drops the sound off very quickly. They also cut out at around 40hz lowest whereas the Paradigm's I have hit down to 35hz very soundly and 30 is breaking point were they really drop off. To me the Paradigms have much better bass. More accurate, better tone, just beautiful sound. So in final the soundstage. Yes there is some soundstage. Ive angled them 10 degrees in all the way to straight and many other positions, but again compared to the Paradigms they just dont compare. Good for the money but if you can swing the extra you really have to try the Paradigms they beat this speaker out. Ps there is a small hiss from the Paradigms that is very minor.

Pros: Remote that the Paradigms are missing, subtle front light, multiple hook ups, volume knob on front instead of back like Paradigm.

Cons: No grill, an almost muddy sound, lack of detail for audiophile ears, Bass is not as described in many reviews with or without enhancements, Price doesn't reflect quality.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Great Powered Speakers

FloydFanatic from Berkeley, CA on 6/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little speakers pack quite a punch! I was looking at options for speakers for a small listening room and was trying to decide between a powered speaker option or stand-alone speakers paired with a dedicated amplifier. Since I already had a DAC which I would be pumping all of my digital music through, the Crutchfield associate I was speaking with suggested I try the A5+'s. I have really enjoyed these speakers in all of my listening, and they have definitely gotten better the more that I listened to them (I'd say somewhere along the 30-40 hour mark). I ended up pairing them with the Audioengine S7 sub for a little more punch in the low-end, but as a stand-alone option these were well worth the price.

Pros: Great sound, solid build quality, no issues with overheating yet.

Cons: Lacking a little in the low-low end, to be expected in a speaker this size though. Easily fixed by adding a sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bookshelf speakers for vinyl

Kris from California on 6/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these as a part of a minimalist vinyl setup (along with my denon dp300f TT and Audiotechnica at440mla cartridge). Still in the break-in period but these speakers are perfect for the application. Great sound, fully analog amplification, and I don't think I could do better without spending a good deal more on a tube amp + speakers (and adding more clutter). Was initially a bit scared off by the fact that these are really monitored as computer speakers, but they really do the job. Recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Rory from Citrus Heights, California on 4/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you looking for a great sounding set of speakers for your computer or other application, then look no further. These speakers sound amazing and I am very satisfied with the Audioengine A5+ speakers. I also bought the Pinpoint AM-41 mounting brackets and mounted the A5's on the wall. These speakers not only fill my computer room with great sound, but I can enjoy the music wherever I go in my house. I Just ordered the Audioengine S8 powered subwoofer to complete the set. The A5+ do provide decent bass and will probably be enough for most folks, but I like lots of rich deep bass so the S8 is a must have for me personally. I also bought the Audioengine D1 DAC converter as I enjoy listening to High Definition Audio FLAC files. In my opinion, there is such a big difference in sound quality when listening to an FLAC vs. MP3 file.

Pros: Great looking, sound amazing, quality construction, built in amplifier, and easy set up.

Cons: I honestly can't think of any Cons...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

F4LENS from California on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is taller than I thought. It can sound very loud. I thought it is for desktop computer but end up in my bedroom. I use it with Onkyo C-7030 Compact Disc Player and the sound quality is good. Since I do not have $5000 equipments to compare against so I don't know how much I have to spend to up another notch. But for the price I paid it is a good deal for such sound quality. I test it with Classical, Jazz, and pop music.

Pros: sound quality for a small room

Cons: It shows what CD with not-so-good recording quality. I used to love those 70' pop music CDs. I cannot play them with this A5+. Have to use my cheap speakers instead.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exelentes speakers

Manuel from Florida on 3/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

El sonido es exelente. No distorcionan y tienen muy buen balance entre las señalea de Baja, media y altas frecuencias. Son versatiles, pueden ser usados en la computadora directamente a la conexion de la tarjeta de sonido o a traves de un DAC. En ambos casos tiene un exelente sonido. El amplificador incorporado es de muy buena calidad y tiene suficiente potencia . Ademas pueden ser usado como Boxshell speakers conectandolos a un wireless adapater. Yo, personalmente, los uso en mi computadora conectado a traves de un DAC HiRes y escucho con ellos files Flac 24/192 y DSD con Buena calidad.Solo les sugiero a los diseñadores de la compañia Audioengine, que a los futuros diseños les coloquen el switcher de encendido en la parte frontal de la caja. Es realmente muy incomodo apagarlo y encenderlos cuando el interruptor se encuentra en la parte de atras. The sound is excellent. It doesn't distort and has a good balance between the high, mid and low frequencies. They are versatile; they can be used directly with the computer's sound card or via the DAC. It has excellent sound in both instances. The incorporated amplifier is of high quality and has enough power. Also, they can be used as Boxshell speakers with a wireless adapter. I, personally use them connected to my computer by way of a Hi Res DAC and listen to FLAC 24/192 files with really good quality. One suggestion I have for Audioengine's design team for future designs is to place the power switch on the front part of the box. It is really uncomfortable to turn the speakers on and off when the switch is located in the back.

Pros: Exelente sonido. Versalitildad para distintos usos. Excellent sound. Versatility for different uses.

Cons: Interruptor en la parte de atras de la caja. Power switch in the back of the box.

Crutchfield response on 3/24/2015
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

mark from Maryland on 3/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never heard of Audioengine before. I was going to buy a set of Klipsch and after reading some of the reviews became a little reluctant to invest in the brand names. One of the reviews mentioned Audioengine Speakers. The more I read about them the more confident I felt in giving them a try. Boy was I surprised. These speakers are great. I like to listen to not only quality sound but I like it load as well. These Audioengine A5+ speakers have both. If you like great realistic sound loud or soft you should buy these speakers. No hiss, No distortion hands down the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

art from hudson valley NY on 9/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own or have owned several high end brands of stereo speakers as well as speakers for my computers. I was looking for yet another level of quality and found it in the A5+. Hands down the best speakers for my computer and even better than some of my stereo speakers. I ordered the sub woofer which may be overkill for sitting at a desk, but i am glad to have it for when i want to fill the entire room with deep rich sound. I also added the cambridge Dac Magic 100 which also adds to the quality of sound. I am extremely happy with all three products. The Crutchfield support team has been excellent as well.

Pros: everything was easy to set up and the sound is great. The energy saving standby is easily used from the remote.

Cons: On off switch in the back of left speaker.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great pair of powered speakers

Gene from New Jersey on 8/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to replace my preamp, power amp, and speakers in a compact, remote volume control package. They don't sound quite as good, but I find them enjoyable and convenient enough to keep them. I have them on 24" stands which is a good height. They have warm punchy bass that make music fun, the highs are smooth and crisp. Only in the midrange does it fall short, not quite portraying "you are there" vocals. My room reinforces bass very well and I could live without a subwoofer but will probably get one at some time. Connect these to a great DAC (I am using the Centrance DacMini) and in a small space you are set.

Pros: Warm punchy bass Compact and convenient Easy setup Remote control Excellent value

Cons: No grilles / covers Won't play at very loud levels without sound quality deteriorating More cable clutter than a typical speaker

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound!!

Jared B from Woodway, TX on 8/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading through good review after good review, I had to give them a try. They look good and they sound even better. I was surprised how much low end these sized speakers put out no matter the level. I listen to audio with a flat EQ for the most part, but you can really make them shine with a little tweaking. With the flat EQ, I use a Schiit Modi DAC, which also makes audio come to life. So it's pc->DAC-> A5+. I did purchase a Polk PSW108 sub or round out the low end. I don't have them far enough apart since they are on my desk, but they sound great to me. Very great product!

Pros: Clear sound Good low end for the size Multiple inputs and outputs Looks good (got the black ones)

Cons: Need a tiny bit more room. I have them about 3-4 ft apart on my desk.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+ Speakers

Mike from Bryan, TX on 6/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had a pair of these speakers for my computer for a very short time (a little over a week) but so far I really like them. The sound is clear and clean and the base is good enough so that a sub woofer is not necessary. But I like the idea of being able to attach a sub woofer later if I decide I want to. I have only run them at low volume so I am not aware of any high volume issues; good or bad. I purchased these, having never seen them or heard them, because of the research I did. I wanted better speakers than the average computer speaker especially for listening to music. Also, the helpful people at Crutchfield from whom I bought these spoke highly of them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great product and great customer service

kindleboy from Nashville, TN on 6/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of Audioengine A5 speakers from Crutchfield in May of 2011. Shorty after the 3 year warranty expired, I noticed that the amplifier for the right speaker had gone bad. I contacted Audioengine and they asked me to ship them the speakers - I did this and they promptly replaced the old A5 speakers with a new pair of A5+ speakers. I was very impressed with the fact that the replaced the speakers even after the 3 year warranty had expired by about 3 weeks. Additionally, they shipped me the new speakers very quickly - I had the new A5+ speakers in about a week. I cannot speak to the quality of the A5+ speakers just yet, but the A5 speakers were amazing and I loved them. Based on the reviews I have read, I trust the A5+ speakers will be just a good, if not better, than the A5s. Bottom line, Audioengine makes a great product and their customer service is just as great. I highly recommend Audioengine.

Pros: Great sound for active speakers. Perfect for use with computers and/or Airplay via an Airport Express Great customer service from Audioengine

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from QUEENS, NY on 6/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audioengine A5+ is a pair of very good desktop speakers. It may lack some high-frequency detail and delicacy, but offered outstanding bass control and transparency.

Pros: - overall sound qualities are very good. - has a built in 50Wpc dual class-AB monolithic amplifier. - price is reasonable.

Cons: - none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AWESOME

Dunamis from Hawaii on 6/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are incredible, the sound clarity is amazing. I truly love these speakers, my neighbors probably don't share my opinion. Oh well...

Pros: Easy set up, great sound, just the right size, looks great and affordable...

Cons: I have neighbors...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio Engine A5+ Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Evanston IL on 5/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audio Engine A5+ speakers are my most recommended speakers for folks who need a space saving, awesome sounding speaker for any mid-size room. I have purchased four pairs of A5+ and they never fail to impress.

Pros: Compact Size, Crisp, clear highs and wonderful rich lows. Ample power. Extremely easy set up! plug & play!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Scott from Fredericksburg, va. on 4/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I sent an email asking, what would be the best speaker to pair with my Dragonfly DAC? Kyle suggested the AudioEngine 5+. I had done my own research on them before, but thought they were little pricey. But taking Kyle's advice I went for it and was that ever the right choice. These speakers are AMAZING. The booklet that accompanies the pair says to give the speakers 30-50 hrs before any critical listening, that being said, It's hard to believe it only gets better. I can't wait until then and I will be sure to add to this review at that time. Thanks to Kyle and Crutchfield, my Desktop has never sounded better.....

Pros: Excellent sound reproduction out of the box. Great looking speakers. Easy to connect.

Cons: I used to think price, but it is honestly worth it!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

artief from pennsylvania on 3/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love the sound quality and the construction is sound and strong

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

JD from estes park colorado on 3/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We just got the speakers and love them. there is less than 40 hours on them so we are just getting used to having great sound. (compared to basic computer speakers). living in the Rockies we get poor reception fro FM rradio and can't listen to local radio. Now we can get wireless content from our computer and listen to radio from around the world.

Pros: wonderful sound

Cons: they are pretty big for a desktop. We will hang them up off the desk...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

awesome product

steven j from baltimore on 3/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could not be happier with this product. excellent quality for a great price. these are some of the best sounding speakers I've ever owned.

Pros: great quality. solidly built. excellent sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding speakers

Tim E. from Houston TX on 1/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of the Audioengine A5+ after having looked closely at the Bowers & Wilkins MM1. I am convinced that I made the right choice. I have a set of B&W CM speakers on my entertainment system, which I am also very happy with. But, I also believe that the A5+ was the better (and cheaper) choice for computer speakers. Note: these speakers are large.

Pros: Sound quality, clean appearance with simple lines

Cons: Might be too large for some desk tops.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!

Km from Maine on 1/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are excellent for the money and will not disappoint.

Pros: Crisp highs and great mids, brings your music alive!

Cons: Not for super low "bass"

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome monitors

OT from Sault Sainte Marie, MI on 1/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile, but the music I listen too is very different then any general listener, I listen to a lot of Jazz, Hindi, Pakistani, Pop, Rock, and Tech music, therefore any reviews out there for me becomes a bigger question as most of Hindi and Pakistani music have a very different beat and instrumental presentation, but A5+ being so true to what you want to hear made it very simple and nice for me, at loud volume they tend to distort a bit but I never listen that loud no matter what, I also added a S8 sub to it and tuned it to 65hz so the blend is very nice, also im using DACMagic 100 which I think is also an amazing DAC to purchase, so I don't know what you are trying to achieve from your stereo setup but A5+ will not let you down I can assure that. Also I want to thank Crutchfield staff as the monitors I got on the first place had a bit of buzz in it, but the tech guys immediately sent me the replacement.

Pros: looks, quality, packaging

Cons: only if they can have high pass filter so if you want to set them according to your needs you can.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Big Quality small $

Ralph from Athens on 1/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money it's top of the line for a powered desktop. Really I think they're more shelf speakers then computer bookends. I returned the white for bamboo because they have ended up in the den. Our primary source is off an iPhone and i pad air. I gave them 5 stars because of the sound and quality for the price but I have listed a couple cons for lacking features.

Pros: We'll built, heavy, sounds great even streaming online music. Beefy enough for shelf speakers in my opinion. Comparing the white to the bamboo I feel a richer warmer sound comes from the wood.

Cons: USB plug is strictly for charging it should be for audio as well a quality DAC. Also you get a humming or buzz when you are charging off the speaker (USB) plug and playing that same device, that's silly and I should probably remove a star but I won't.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Office Spkrs

Duditude from DE on 12/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put these in the home office, nice set, no need for an amp, plenty of power for an office.

Pros: Small, plenty of power, w/o separate amp, look nice on office bookshelf.

Cons: Expensive, esp when paired w/D1 DAC. Probably a less expensive comparable solution out there but I didn't look too hard.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio Engine

JimD from Wash DC on 12/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Satisfied with purchase. Great clear sound and soundstage. Replaced Klipsch THX speakers, compared head to head and a night and day improvement in sound quality. I haven't found the need for a sub woofer at all. I've been running an Iphone 5 and Ipod plugged in directly and sound is great. I'm sure my dac would improve the sound, but haven't felt the need.

Pros: Sounds quality, ease of setup, charging plug

Cons: little large for a desktop

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

carlton w from Dennisport.Ma on 11/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still testing but I am sure this is going to turn out fine....Will check in a couple months.

Pros: all is well

Cons: Would like switch on frount of speaker

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

BEST SPEAKERS MONEY CAN BUY

Kale from Evanston Illinois on 10/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would pay double what I paid for these!!!! Best money I've ever spent in my entire life. They get better and better as you use them, deeper bass, better clarity. Pair them with the audioengine DAC and its pretty much heaven for your ears. Just buy them, quit thinking.

Pros: EVERYTHING

Cons: They are too cheap

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A5+

tony f from Long Island NY on 10/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made and easy to use. Good tone and solid bass. The reason I didn't give five stars is the mids mainly vocals are the only weak point of these speakers.

Pros: Superb fit & finish, surprising good tone. Remote

Cons: Don't like the rolling volume knob as you don't know what level the gain is. Only sound flaw I hear is in the vocals if there's a loud bass part playing at the same time it seems the bass compromises the clarity of the vocal onlt on certain songs though like Steve Stills " Johnny's Garden" .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply Awesome for WMC!

JohnB from Fort Mitchell, AL on 9/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should have gotten these a long time ago for my expensive self custom built desktop computer! I enjoy running Windows Media Center (WMC) going to sleep now (love playing my RUSH collection!). Being able to play MY music at the volume I want. For years I was using Creative Labs GigaWorks T20 Series II 2.0 Multimedia Speaker System (or lower)...ya, they're okay speakers. Being okay, I used WMC...sometimes. With Audioengine A5+ speakers now...all the time! I really enjoy the bass these produce; no need for a subwoofer. Some say they produce too much bass, but not me. I can crank up the volume and really enjoy (not at night of course)! For a sound card, I'm using a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional purchased in 2011...works just fine on Windows 8 64-bit. I placed these on 16" speaker stands behind two large LCD monitors, as to not block direct sound. They simply look great and sound great!! Highly recommended!

Pros: Self-powered; awesome sound at high levels; perfect bass (no subwoofer needed); remote control; ship very well protected (packaged - two boxes); I love my RUSH ripped CD collection again!

Cons: Absolutely none for me...but for some maybe: No protective grills (may be an issue if kids have finger access), but this is not for me; cost may be for some, but you really get what you pay for IMO so not a con for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very happy

Crutchfield customer from sf, bay area, ca on 9/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was between the a5+ and the bose companion 5s. Im glad I chose the a5+, with one exception, get a powered subwoofer for the a5+ if you want full range.

Pros: best sound, solid design.

Cons: needs better low range sub 60hz

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

vinyl resurrectors

leslie71 from San Juan on 7/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a pair to build a simple system for my old records. Paired them with a Project Debut Carbon USB and I don't thing I'm ever going back to a passive speaker / amp combo. The simplicity and clarity of the sound was exactly what I was looking for. I recommend you buy a pair of good stands and upgrade the speaker cable if you are planing on using as main speakers. Overall this speakers deliver on everything they promise and for the price is next to impossible to build an amp / speaker system that sounds as good as the Audioengines do.

Pros: Great soundstage and clarity, remote, design

Cons: No grilles. No input selector.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Mark from Connecticut on 7/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These areexcelent sounding, quite powerful, and quite accurate, if not a bit bass heavy. (I like the bass. My wife not so much.) I use them for parties on a screened in porch. The whole yard gets plenty of sound. When I play them through a Squeezebox radio, in a12x13 foot kitchen, The can bow you out of the room. Otherwiise are great in that room. Completely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best computer speakers, period.

MarkM from Indianapolis, IN on 7/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for powered speakers for my home office that would come close to my higher end tube amp and Klipsch KG4 speaker system. I found the the amp/speaker combination in the A5+ equal to the task. I have them hooked up to my iMac through a midrange DAC. The audio was superb. What really stands out is the smooth balance between bass, midrange and treble. The speakers project a realistic sound stage right at my working area and have lots of output . A best buy.

Pros: Fantastic, rich sound across the entire frequency range. Efficient sound stage. Audiophile sound quality w high bit rate music.

Cons: I haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2.0 and the bass

DaveD from Richmond, VA on 5/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired the A5+ with the AD-1 DAC from Audioengine. Great sound throughout the spectrum, solid punchy bass, nice soundstage and good clarity up top. Really wanted to get away from the sub at my feet and the A5's really provide all the bass I could ask for, sometimes requiring a little equalization to dial back bass a touch when playing loud (and they will) though I am waiting to really dial them in until broken in. Still outstanding sound, right out of the box.

Pros: Great sound top to bottom, plenty of bass no sub, great soundstage, easy install with the AD-1DAC

Cons: Be nice if they were smaller, but not the sound!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surprisingly good

Chuck from Belmont, MA on 5/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have had stereo speakers in three rooms of our house for many years. I was never satisfied with the speakers in one room, and I bought these to replace the speakers in that room. Before setting up these speakers in that room, I set them up next to my best speakers, in another room, for comparison. This other room is where I do most of my listening, so naturally it has the best speakers. I was pleasantly surprised to find that these Audioengine A5+ speakers are much better than my previously-best speakers. So now the Audioengine self-powered speakers occupy my primary listening room; the pair of stereo speakers plus the big subwoofer plus the big amplifier that drives them all have been moved from my primary room to my number-two room; my previously number-two speakers have been moved from my number-two room to my number-three room; and my previously third-ranked speakers are gone. Thus, every room has gotten better speakers. Such a deal!

Pros: Surprisingly good for a pair of bookshelf-size speakers without a subwoofer. I expected to need a subwoofer with these but found that I do not. The angular dispersion of the tweeters is also surprisingly good. My room is 24 ft square, and these speakers fill it quite well. Distortion is quite low throughout the audio spectrum.

Cons: I'm thinking.... It's hard to find fault with these speakers.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Bladensburg, OH on 4/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have more than met my expectations! Absolutely love them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 4/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great speakers. I have them hooked up to my iMac and they sound great. Bass is clean, which makes me reconsider whether I need to get the subwoofer, but I will probably end up buying that as well. My music is crisp and clear. Overall, I recommend buying these speakers if you have the money.

Pros: Great sound and very powerful!

Cons: Price, but I'm a firm believer that generally you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audio engine 5+

Dw from Isanti mn on 4/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received these speakers a few weeks ago, I can say that I am very pleased. They have the ability to get very loud when asked without distortion, they do sound best when they are a bit loud, if I gave it one knock it would be at lower volume sit would be nice if you could get a bit more bass out of them, I think I can add a sub and get that.

Pros: Great at higher volumes

Cons: Need more bass at lower volumes, if you were watching a movie, it would be nice to get the thump with out having the volume so high.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

SOUND FANTASTIC

DMIKE5249 from Boynton Beach Fl. on 4/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great. I have them hooked up to the Audioengine D1 dac I have them to use on my Computer to play all kind's of music. The sound through these speakers are AMAZING they sound like you were at a a concert.I did not want to spend a lot of money on speakers but im glad I did they are worth every penny,Now I can enjoy my favorite song's.

Pros: NONE

Cons: WISH ON/OFF SWITCH WAS EASY TO GET TO.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding sound and money well spent!

AriD from Dallas, Texas on 4/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Out of the box, these speakers impress with their weight and quality of construction. Extremely easy to set up and I was listening to music in 10 minutes. I spaced them about 5 feet apart and toed in to the listening position. These speakers offer so many ways to listen to your music. I used line inputs, connected to the out of my Carver pre-amp. The sound is warm well defined and the speakers could resolve even the most complex choral works, that I auditioned. With rock and jazz, these speakers rock and groove. I did not miss the low -end that a sub would provide. They definitely offer more than the price one paid for them

Pros: Great connectivity options, clear defined and musical sounding, great build and quality is noticeable. Great sound stage!!. All music styles tend to sparkle with these speakers

Cons: I did not like the volume control, I would have preferred one with limits, not one that keeps turning. No headphone jack on the front of these speakers

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing!

PaysonDuck from Payson, AZ on 4/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Is it possible to rate these more that 5 stars? I just received these (bamboo) audioengine 5+ speakers this afternoon and have them connected to my computer, replacing a set of Swans that, in their day, were impeccable but have been generating a lot of noise of late. After listening to a couple hours of Lisa Stansfield I am now mid-way through '50 Words for Snow' by Kate Bush and I already love these speakers. Clear. Clean. Natural. I can't think of anything I would change. The 'setup guide' states to expect a 30 to 50 hour break-in period and I can't imagine these sounding any better. I am very happy I made this purchase!

Pros: Everything!

Cons: Nothing!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

PC Use Problem

Ron from PA on 4/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I connected the A5 with Autoengine D1 DAC to my PC. Works fine when playing only CDs in my PC. However if I use PC programs at the same time it causes an interruption in the music like a skip or noise when I click on the mouse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

great value and excellent sound

Mike from New Jersey on 2/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have these in my office running off my Dell computer listening to satellite radio. i have the computer set to studio quality sound and these speakers sound great at any\ volume. cant beat them for the money.

Pros: compact and high power

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Sue from OIB, NC on 1/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too much bass.

Pros: Appearance, size, looks all good. When you raise the volume, it's not bad.

Cons: No way to to adjust the bass.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 24 found this helpful

Nice!

Kurt W. from Los Lunas, NM on 12/26/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading all the reviews and associated materials on this product, I decided to purchase. Well packed and promptly shipped. This was a gift, so we had to wait to hear them. We were impressed. The crisp clean sound quality is awesome. The frequency response with the also purchased DAC is very nice. Tried multiple styles of music and was impressed on every level. Highs are crisp and clean, Mid range sharp but not overpowering, Bass is good and has enough power without becoming distorted (I hate bass that falls apart). .

Pros: Everything they are advertised to be..Nice! To be honest, Typical Crutchfield ~

Cons: A little pricey for a gift. After purchase, you realize that you made the right choice.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

marc from Denver on 12/12/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great pair of speakers! Amazing sound! Worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great buy!

David from VA on 9/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers to connect to my television and to have something to connect my iPod to in my main listening room. They ROCK! The sound imaging is impeccable, the mids and highs are on point and they provide great depth in bass response WITHOUT A SUB!! Whether watching a movie or listening to my favorite tunes, the A5+ go above and beyond in performace. I would highly recommend them to any interested customer. Only negative is the lack of optical digital input

Pros: great sound, easy installation, aesthetically pleasing in size/shape/design

Cons: wish it had opticial digital in for higher quality sound.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

bb from San Francisco, CA on 7/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very happy with the speakers. saved some money by buying the opened box/ blemish deal and they look perfect.

Pros: great full sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Little Audioengine that could!

David from NYC on 7/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pair these little beasts to a DAC and turn your computer system into a symphony! I also added a subwoofer for the thrill and the music just blows me away. If you really want to appreciate what they can do to your jams, go to HDtracks.com and download some lovely 24 bit, uncompressed music...a little FLAC action and really HEAR what music should sound like. I no regrets for a second buy. They are GREAT GREAT GREAT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers

Kerry from Anchorage, AK on 6/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these for the master bedroom. They sound AMAZING. I was initially worried that I would have to get a sub to help these speakers out. They go plenty low enough for music enjoyment. Great quality and finish. I would recommend these speakers to anyone.

Pros: amazing sound quality. great build. excellent price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it!

Dave from Queens, ny on 5/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these speakers for about 6 months now and they are great! I live in a small apartment and have them connected to my TV, as well as have them connected to my laptop via the W3 wireless adapter. Watching movies and listening music stream from my laptop sounds great. Sound is clear, crisp, and balanced. Bass isn't too heavy, but for the size of the speakers, it is remarkable the mids & lows that are produced. What really impressed me was how they preformed at a backyard bbq yesterday. I brought one speaker (one with the amp) out to the backyard and connected my ipod. It was the first time that I really got to crank it up and that one speaker performed well. As the evening progressed and more "special beverages" were consumed the volume knob was progressively turned to the right. Each time it was, the speaker was produced clear and crisp music. With the absence of the heavy bass, it was as if we had a much larger system, which was evident when the cops finally came to request us to turn it down...hehe ...sorry neighbors.

Pros: Great sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Audioengine A5 +

mhouglum from Radford, VA on 3/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome. They really capture all of the music that you are listening to. I decided to get them as an upgrade to a set of Bose 2.1 speakers that were stolen when my house was broken into earlier this year. I read reviews and was excited about these speakers. Let me just say that I have been blown away by the sound quality that these speaker put out. I am a music lover but would not call myself an audiophile so take this review with a grain of salt. From what I have observed these speakers sound better than the Bose that I had before. The only thing that I wish they had was a little more bass at lower volume. These speakers put out a great sound at all volume. However, I was used to a little more boom. The a5 + have bass but it is a natural bass that you can hear but you wont feel unless you have them turned up in a small/medium sized room. At some point I will add the S8 sub to my system. But honestly if you love great sounding music and enjoy hearing all of the details in your recorded music you should give these speakers a chance. I have no regrets, they really do sound awesome. I can sit in front of them for hours in awe of the sound that they produce.

Pros: Sound great and perform as described. Great sound quality!

Cons: Wish there was a little more bass, if price isn't an issue I would get a sub with these speakers to help out at lower volume.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Audioengine 5A+

JeffK from Dallas, TX on 2/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased a pair of Audioengine A5+ speakers for my iMac. I have them running through a DAC, then into my Mac. I am a professional musician, so I do a lot of listening at my computer. I know there is a break in period of 30-50 hours, but right now I am very impressed. I listen to all genres of music, but mostly jazz and classical, since I teach band during the day. I have found the clarity and definition to be excellent. Woodwinds, brass, strings/piano and voices sound very true.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Maine on 2/6/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the A5+ to support my family members being able to play the music stored on their iPhones in the kitchen. First, because this is a review of the speakers: they sound great. I can hear things in my music I haven't heard yet. Plenty loud. Quality, thoughtful construction. I called the Audio Engine tech support to get some advice, and the guy was very knowledgeable and gave me some great advice. We hooked the A5+ speakers up to an AirPort Express, all positioned on top of the kitchen cabinets. Accoustically maybe not the best place, but very convenient and the sound is just fine. The playback path is: IPhone --> AirPlay --> AirPort Express --> A5+. We can stream tracks and playlists stored on iTunes, Pandora, NPR, etc -- any app that works with AirPlay. The great thing about this solution is its simplicity. No extra apps, no additional synchronization. My wife and kids already know how to use their iPhones...zero tech incremental support for me, which is how I like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Speakers for my Computer

Jobby from Los Angeles on 1/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound clear, sharp and handle anything I play on my computer excellently. Every thing from my iTunes collection, sons educational videos (Slang Man World) to wives Hulu shows. I added the sub-woofer that is sold for these speakers and what a fantastic sound.

Pros: Great sound for your computer

Cons: The price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP