Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Audioengine B2

Powered Bluetooth® speaker with 100 feet of wireless range (Walnut)

MFR # B2-WAL

Audioengine B2

Audioengine B2

Powered Bluetooth® speaker with 100 feet of wireless range (Walnut)

MFR # B2-WAL

33 reviews
View this product

Great Price, subpar speaker

Thomas from Greenville, SC on 9/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had my Audioengine B2 for about 6-8 Months, plenty of time for the speakers to break-in. I was initially impressed with the system, as it is a very well built, solid speaker, and it's very attractive. After an appropriate break-in period, the speakers really opened up, and honestly, the high's and mid's are crystal clear. Vocals sound fantastic, guitar solo's really soar, etc. However, as many have pointed out, there is virtually no low end. I've never been the kind of listener who demands a lot of bass from my speakers, but the lack of low end in this speaker really makes a lot of music sound hollow. And there is virtually zero stereo dynamics or stage presence. The system certainly does get loud, and yet the music remains somewhat flat. For the price, this is a very good speaker that is good for a small space. But for any audiophile, I don't think this system delivers a visceral sound experience that can be found in other similar devices.

Pros: Crystal clear mid range and highs. Very well built and attractive.

Cons: There is virtually zero low end in this speaker. Music sounds flat, with no stage presence or stereo separation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome vocals and highs and plenty of volume.

ADRIAN from La Jolla, CA on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding speaker after it has been played enough to break-in the speakers. Amazing highs from this little box and pretty good sound separation with clear vocals. The reason for the 4 stars is due to the fact that this speaker does not have a rechargeable battery and it may be lacking in the low frequencies for some users like myself. However, this speaker will play plenty loud for most users as long as you control your sources and limit the volume in the back to about half the volume. Not a bad system for the price. Definitely louder that the Bose link III that I also have minus the portability of the battery.

Pros: Loud, clear vocals and highs as well as great Bluetooth reach. Look is also a plus.

Cons: Lacking the low frequencies and needs to have battery to become more portable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't wait to listen

Rick from Wallingford, CT on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW what a great sound for the $$$ ??. Liked it so much I bought a 2nd one for my daughter. Great experience all around! Thanks

Pros: Sound quality in a small component

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine B2

Jim from Venice, FL on 6/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the fourth audio engine product I 'be bought. Consistently excellent quality sound and build. The Bluetooth feature works fine, but I generally prefer the direct connection for somewhat better frequency response.

Pros: Even sound across the spectrum. No unnaturally booming bass that you find in other small units to try to overcompensate.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Office speakers, dorm speakers.

J cool from North America on 6/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool little speaker for office or phone setup. Nice quality and easy to link up. I had purchased two B2's for wireless post production listening. I tried pairing two at the same time. Did not work. The iMac would pair them, but would only play one B2. The other B2 was just paired to the iMac with no sound coming out. I guess if you want Audioengine stereo sound, you would have to purchase the A5+ or the HD6. Oh well. Filled out a return request and with in a couple of minutes I received a return RMA confirmation and a shipping label. Cool return service at Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy setup, great for office, nicely built.

Cons: Only one can be paired with an iMac.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound, well built, solid

Terry from Manassas, VA on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best built item seen in decades. Even the packaging is over the top. Sound is quite good; voice and music clear and without discernable distortion. No 'false' base boominess detected. Can be cranked to ear damage level (did so by accident) without distortion. That was surprising, given the modest size of the speakers. Quick, easy and reliable bluetooth connection.

Pros: Handsome, realistic, clearsound, reliable bluetooth.

Cons: No volume normalization when switching sources.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic little speaker for the money

Clayton from Benton, AR on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little speaker may be worthy of 5 stars but since I haven't had a chance to really listen to it extensively I am giving it 4. I got this for my daughter and briefly listened to it when it arrived. I was very impressed with both the sound and the appearance of it. It is beautiful to look at and the sound (in my brief test) was very impressive for a speaker this size. Connection to my phone via bluetooth was instant.

Pros: Great sound, beautiful looks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect Solution for Streaming Audio

Eric from North Branch, MN on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as a gift for my wife. I was looking for something that would stream music from her phone. It needed to be simple to use, sound great and look good as well. She has had it for a week now and loves it! The other Bluetooth speakers I looked at use proprietary apps and I have not had good luck with those. The B2 has no app, it streams whatever your phone sends it. It was extremely easy to pair with her iPhone 6s. When she turns the B2 on, it now automatically syncs to her phone. Perfect! We bought it with the walnut finish and it looks very nice, as well as sounding great. We keep it in the bedroom and honestly it plays loud enough to hear in the entire house. Perfect for when we don't want to fire up the main audio system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine B2

Crutchfield customer from Skaneateles, NY on 10/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A perfect solution for streaming music from my wife's phone. Easy setup, beautiful sound, a handsome piece of equipment. And the "audio advisor" was very helpful and absolutely spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Home stereo away from home.

Marshall from Charlottesville, VA on 10/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this speaker originally to use as my away from home system for a beach vacation hotel room. The highs were crisp, the mids warm and stereo separation on point. I wasn't expecting big, booming bass, but surprised by some of the lows the B2 pulled off anyhow. I've used portable BT speakers in the past and some just didn't have the presence I crave. The B2 is not only pretty to look at but lovely to listen to. Now that vacation time is over it has taken up residence in my home office. Excellent purchase! Couldn't be happier with it.

Pros: Fidelity! No joke about 100 feet transmission. Stereo image. It's purty!

Cons: Heavy, but didn't buy as a portable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best value in a bluetooth speaker

Chris from Charlottesville, VA on 10/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound from a such a small but solid and well made speaker! Outstanding long range Bluetooth reception inside and out. House filling high definition sound without distortion - even at nearly full volume levels. And yes, you'll be surprised how much bass those 60 watt backed little drivers can produce!

Pros: Compact, high quality materials and construction, better sound and definition than larger and more expensive Bluetooth speakers. It also can plugged into a TV for a vastly improved sound experience!

Cons: No battery - but it's too nice to take to the beach anyway!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound and Looks

Michael from Denver, CO on 9/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small unit. The walnut cabinet looks great!

Pros: Bluetooth audio that sounds great!

Cons: No deep bass (but wasn't expected)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine B2

Crutchfield customer from Salina, KS on 9/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected, but it's for up close listening. The audio is very clear and the build quality aesthetics are exceptionally good. Does what I wanted it for, which is listening to talk radio. Therefore, it did not have a strong base output. Midrange is superb!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Lean & clean, well made machine, light on bass

Ken from Thiensville, WI on 8/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I suddenly found myself in the market for a new Bluetooth speaker after letting go of my Sony SRS-BTX300. My room is a small office, about 10 x 8, placing the speaker on a bookshelf across the room. The Sony served its purpose, but it always had an uncomfortable coloration to the sound with a heavy mid-bass bloat that I could never undo despite all the DSP equalization options on my Android system/tablet. The good points of the Sony were a) substantial volume, b) portable with a built-in rechargeable battery, and c) excellent build quality with stainless steel and heavy duty ABS plastic housing. Overall I was satisfied, but nonetheless, I am an audiophile with Magnepans in my main listening room. Thus, I wanted something a little better than average. The AudioEngine B2 does not disappoint! The build quality & fit 'n finish is excellent, especially considering the price. The sound is open, clear, dynamic and detailed. There is little coloration, if any, to the sound, and the cabinet is solid. Set-up was easy and pairing was very simple and fast. The magnetic cover is a great touch, my only complaint being I wish the grill cloth was black instead of gray to match the black ash wood cabinet. Use caution with the various volume physical & digital volume controls as it can get loud. In conclusion, the sound does tend to gravitate toward the lean and bright side of the spectrum, providing good definition without sounding harsh. If you love bass, look elsewhere.

Pros: Build Quality, Detailed Sound, Transparent and well defined highs, magnetic grill cover, substantial volume, lovely packaging

Cons: Gray grill cloth (prefer black), very light on bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh

Dan from Grand Rapids, MI on 8/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was so excited to get this, but once I did I was disappointed. I knew it wasn't going to shake the room based on other reviews, but it just seems flat. Wish I would have bought something else.

Pros: Looks great, professional, substantive.

Cons: I am very underwhelmed with the low end, and the volume. For its size compared to many smaller competitors, it just doesn't compare well.

Crutchfield response on 8/21/2017
Dan, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Wonderful Audio Engeneering B2

Ara from Alamogordo, NM on 8/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all keep in mind this is one sound unit costing under $300. I waited for the break in period to be over, I use Spotify through my Samsung phone [AptX Bluetooth] which I have set on "surround sound" and "concert hall". It is an amazing detailed sound with to me plenty of bass. I am hearing notes [Jesse Cook, Gobi and more...] I had not heard before especially considering this is through Bluetooth. I really thought that for this 15 x 25 room I would send it back to exchange it for the dual HB6 buy it will not be the case [three times the price]. Nothing to dislike about it.

Pros: Sound quality AptX precise Bluetooth Quality enclosure Perfect size

Cons: None that I can think of!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine B2

Tim from Houston, TX on 7/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The B2 provides exceptional well-balanced sound, even at higher volumes. Easily fills a small to mid-size room (have it located in my 12 X 12 foot study.) Sound remains smooth at higher volumes. The build quality is top notch and the natural wood veneer finish is very attractive. Extremely satisfied with the speaker.

Pros: Balanced, high-quality sound. Drivers appear to be well made. Attractive natural wood veneer cabinet.

Cons: Would have liked a simple remote to turn the power on and off and control the volume when I am not streaming from my I-Phone.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Suits my application perfectly, both sound-wise & aesthetically

Joshua from Long Beach, CA on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really great speaker for the size. I was considering some small studio monitors, but was attracted to this product because it's basically two monitors packed into one unit, which makes for cleaner setup. (From my research, this unit is essentially a pair of Audioengine A2 monitors combined into one casing. Unlike having two separate powered speakers, I also really like that the power brick is built into the unit itself, which makes the wiring/hookup less messy). I'm a fan of sound bars, and I see this as a studio monitor version of a sound bar. It is one of the cleanest and sleekest looking speakers on the market. But aside from beautiful aesthetics, the sound is wonderfully well balanced. It has nice warm depth with good clarity. I thought I might need a subwoofer to compliment this, but so far I'm satisfied with the amount of punch that this little system delivers on it's own. Even though this has bluetooth capability, it does not belong in the category of other bluetooth speakers in that the build and sound quality is much higher - this can certainly easily pass as a small studio speaker/monitor (with both left and right channels all in one). I'm using it to connect to my dj/turntable studio setup via 3.5mm cable, and it suits my application perfectly for monitoring during home sessions. BTW, the folks at Crutchfield were super helpful and stand behind their products 100%. This was my first purchase through Crutchfield, and I couldn't be happier all around!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very good sound

Hector from Alexandria, VA on 7/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it is loud, and heavy for the size.

Pros: wireless range sound quality

Cons: low bass level

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good Sound

Da Five from Waipahu, HI on 6/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good. And enjoyed the sale price! The best thing, it's an Audioengine product.

Pros: Nice price. Great Company with a great product.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Superb

Dean from Gilbert, SC on 5/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top notch for its purpose.Better than Bose or Canal that I have.

Pros: Tough

Cons: Portability

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrific!!!!

Scott from Fredericksburg, Va. on 5/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Out of the box this is one of the best sounding speakers for the size and price. I have listened to several different genres with the same result.... fantastic, crisp sound. And this speaker with Tidal is like a match made in heaven.... I strongly recommend purchasing this product, you'll love it.

Pros: Great sound. Easy to use. Stylish. All around great speaker.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just, wow.

Lloyd from Olympia, WA on 5/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. This speaker is fantastic. Much more volume that I had anticipated. Crisp and clear. I haven't heard any distortion. Very clear highs. Lows are better than I expected based on the small size. Well done, Audioengine.

Pros: Sound quality. Great highs. Clear. Gets much louder than anticipated.

Cons: Bass.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Incredible Sound Quality

Jeff from Fresno, CA on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speaker that really brings out the details in the music. I haven't reached the "burn-in" period yet, but I've been very happy testing it with tracks from Pink Floyd, Steely Dan and the Tron: Legacy soundtrack by Daft Punk. I'm using it in my work office (12' X 14') and it is more than adequate for this. At low levels the high's are nice and crisp, and when everyone is gone it can get plenty loud. A few observations . . . I was somewhat disappointed when I first plugged it into my computer (using Spotify and Pandora), until I adjusted the equalizer settings You'll want to take some time making adjustments to find settings that works for you and the music you listen to. I listen with the speaker grill removed. That thin piece of fabric seemed to make a noticeable difference. But I think Audioengine probably intended it to be used without the grill. The magnetic grill design keeps the face clean and is easy to remove and reattach. I may try purchasing a couple of the Audioengine speaker stands. There seems to be a noticeable difference between the speaker sitting flat on the desk pointed at my chest versus aimed up towards my head.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressed

Joe from Buford, GA on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressed with the Detail of the sound from Highs to Lows. I have the black ash version, build quality is excellent. For a Speaker of this size, can't image a cleaner sound. Plenty of volume for any normal sized room. Does what it says. I Recommend it.

Pros: I've found this unit dose what it is described to do, which is play great!

Cons: A heavy speaker if ever used for travel.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Product!

John from Northampton, PA on 9/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprised at how good this unit sounded right out of the box. I contacted Audioengine requesting the amount of break in time they recommended and I was advised 40 to 50 hours. I have allowed this unit to break in for approximately 50 hours and it has definitely opened up. Highly recommended.

Pros: Excellent sound quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine B2

Edward from Guayama PR on 5/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente producto con una construcción de alta calidad, sonido excepcional lo recomiendo. Excellent product with high quality construction, exceptional sound I recommend it.

Pros: High quality sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/31/2016
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Quality product

Tim S from Durango, CO on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product experience from packaging to setup to playback. Sound is better than great - crisp, clear, rich, and fills the room. Couldn't be happier with this beautiful device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Bluetooth Speaker for Adults

William from oakland, CA on 3/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want a bluetooth speaker that is capable of quality music reproduction, this is the one. Over the years, I have grown tired of supposedly quality bluetooth speakers that provide inadequate or overamplified bass, give you nothing in the middle, and lack any high range. The Audioengine B2 is the antidote for these ills. It is a grownup speaker for grownup musical tastes in all music genres and well worth the investment.

Pros: Great, clear and undistorted music reproduction. Very good blue tooth range.

Cons: It only runs on electrical current so must be plugged in to use.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Serious Bluetooth Speaker

Jon E from New York on 12/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not your usual thin sounding Bluetooth speaker. This one rivals bookshelf speakers with layers of detail and amazing clarity plus range. Your friends will be amazed it's not connected to stereo amp but only to a iPhone or android device. The build quality is what you would expect in high end audio speakers. Kevlar woofers, silk dome tweeters, 60 watts output and beautiful real wood veneers. Not to mention the long range Bluetooth apt X receiver probably model after their very sucessful portable receiver that cost 2/3 the price of the speaker alone. Add a great sounding system to a guest room, office or family room for less than $300.

Pros: Audiophile build, quality and sound. Great decor. I have Zebrawood but the walnut will look great too. Long range and stable Bluetooth connection

Cons: It doesn't auto connect after you pair and restart, which just means you have to look for the device and connect to it from your device.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Remarkable

BobP from New York on 12/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Fills up the living room

DB from Colfax,Ca. on 12/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound for the price. Do have to reconnect with bluetooth each time. Have a speaker already that works on Airplay, wanted a Bluetooth unit for a certain radio station that won't stream on Airplay. It is a Christmas gift so havent fully checked all features but initial impression is very positive. Have the zebrawood one and it is quite good looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Audioengine B2

JT from Illinois on 12/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a sub-$300 item, this Bluetooth speaker works and sounds great. Good bass, good range, and easy connectivity. However, lack of AirPlay limits this to 4 stars...

Pros: Nice sound. Good volume. Whole house Bluetooth range. Easy connectivity. Attractive.

Cons: No Apple AirPlay.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 16 found this helpful

TOP