Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Audioengine HD6

Wireless speaker system with aptX-HD Bluetooth® 5.0 (Walnut)

MFR # HD6WAL

Audioengine HD6

Audioengine HD6

Wireless speaker system with aptX-HD Bluetooth® 5.0 (Walnut)

MFR # HD6WAL

27 reviews
View this product

Audioengine HD6

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 11/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with these speakers. Highly recommend pairing with the S8 subwoofer for a very full sound.

Pros: Set-up/Install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Send this request to recipient please :)

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First and foremost, love you guys!! ..This was a product i sent to my friend, Chadde. His site is 1st508th Airborne...a vet that posts walks along Ole Miss with his wife and dogs. I sent these to help him with his Yub Tub account, and for his love for music. PLEASE send a review 'reminder' to them. I know this is an automated post, but the address on the speakers are to them. Please take heed.

Pros: He says he likes them, PLEASE send this review request to the recipent please. THANKS

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I fell in love with these speakers

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are the best bookshelves speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Sound!

James from Tucson on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After looking for various solutions (AV Receiver, Integrated Power Amp, etc.) I came upon these stunning speakers by Audioengine. The choice made perfect sense as I was basically upgrading some powered "studio" speakers anyway. I'm very impressed with the build quality and the sound is way more than I expected. The stereo spread is amazing and great for classical & smooth jazz CD's to Pandora. Very punchy and tight bass and for TV they enhance the dialogue and it sounds like I have a center channel speaker now. If you want a simple and elegant solution for playing CD's, DVD's streaming and TV, you can't go wrong with the Audioengine HD6. I love them!!

Pros: -Compact but punchy bass and clear midrange -Beautiful build quality and wood cabinets -Plenty of inputs to hook up your gear -Excellent soundstage and clarity

Cons: Some may want a sub for bass heavy oriented music

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 4/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers honestly make me cry. If you're on the fence about these being a little spendy, don't be. It really is a small price to pay for the quality sound you are getting.

Pros: Quality Built, Crisp, Clean Sound.

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Crutchfield customer from Nixa, MO on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful Build and Sound! Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Dan from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could not be more pleased with these speakers. Even in a large room they are very pleasant sounding, but when they are in their permanent home, a 47' boat they will be very dramatic. I will recommend these speakers to all my friends and anyone else who asks about them and I think they are the very best investment I have ever made in stereo equipment. My thanks to all involved in my purchase of my Audioengine HD6's.

Pros: Many

Cons: Very few

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

HD6 delivers the classics but will also handle the Allman Brothers!

Mike from Cartersville, GA on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a pair of Audioengine HD6 speakers with the complementary S8 subwoofer about 2-3 years ago from Crutchfield. This combination provides a quite credible audio experience. The HD6 in my listening room reaches the manufacturers specs of about 50 Hz, and after adding the S8 subwoofer, a nearly full range bass to about 35-38 Hz is achieved. There are adjustments on the S8 which allow you to blend the bass to match the HD6 drop-off. The S8 rounds out the bass of this small system to provide a tight, controlled lower range which I find very pleasing. The silk tweeter is masterful in its delivery of precise, sweet (but not syrupy), highs. I don't hear any phase problems between tweeter/woofer interaction, which usually means an excellent active crossover was provided along with proper driver design. All in all, an impressive accomplishment given the price range. WOULD RECOMMEND!

Pros: 1-Controlled, tight bass even with Rock 2-Freakish highs that allow a piccolo to place you in heaven before your time 3-Sound stage in which you can almost see that piccolo and the drums to his right!

Cons: After nearly 3 years I don't think I'm gonna find any!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound!

Joshua from Ambler, PA on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are sick! Great upgrade from the A5+! Amazingly rich and accurate sound. So easy to set up (5 min). Highly recommended. And somehow Crutchfield delivered these puppies less than 24 hours after ordering them!

Pros: Price, sound quality, ease of setup.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great quality

Archie from Portland, OR on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The build quality is fantastic. Out of the box they sound good, after a break in period, they sound phenomenal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great high end and low end once broken in

Guest from Everett, WA on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is true what they say about these speakers taking time to break-in. Out of the box they sounded muffled and quite disappointing. The high end was simply not there and the bass felt too deep, almost as if I was listening to my speakers with a sweatshirt put over them. Quickly though these speakers broke in. I live in an apartment building so I couldn't play these extremely loud, but I was surprised how quick they broke in just playing music at a medium to soft level. In terms of construction these speakers are beautiful simply put. The wood veneer looks like actual wood, you could never tell the difference. They are also the perfect size for mounting onto the wall. They are big but not a monstrosity. Overall I am very satisfied with them. If you buy them, do give them a chance to break in they are amazing speakers. At least 10-20 hours.

Pros: Quality construction, good sound, perfect size

Cons: Take time to break in (like any quality speaker)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Crutchfield customer from Wake Forest, NC on 3/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just connected to my tv and wireless music and very happy with how speakers fill large bonus room. Will update after listening for several weeks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, WV on 1/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and product looks beautiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

High end speakers

Jeff from New York, NY on 11/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers. High end. Nice sound quality. One of the big factors for me on these speakers was that I needed some small speakers to fit into a specific space. Crutchfield was very helpful with this. Ziggy was extremely helpful in finding these speakers for me and sending me everything that I needed for hooking them up to the Marantz receiver that I also bought and also the existing speakers that I had. The service was 5 stars, and the equipment is very good.

Pros: Warm, rich sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Larry from Chapel Hill, NC on 9/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My expectations of the Audioengine H6 speakers was high on anticipation of receiving them and they have surpassed my expectations. They deliver a warm, rich sound and I love their versatility. I use them for both my analog/vinyl collection and my digital collection. I would love to have another pair. Gotta save my pennies.

Pros: Warm rich sound Versatility Workmanship

Cons: I only have 2.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Crutchfield customer from Bonney Lake, WA on 6/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. I'm glad I added the S8 sub. Without the sub, you aren't getting much low end from these alone. I expected that, so I'm not disappointed. Excellent fit and finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

EVEN BETTER THAN 5+

Crutchfield customer from NY, NY on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I OWNED AUDIOENGINE 5+'S AND REAGRDED THEM AS THE BEST BOOKSHELF SPEAKER I EVER OWNED UNTIL I BOUGHT THE HD6,

Pros: GREAT SOUND

Cons: A LITTLE EXPENSIVE. BUT, QUALITY COST MONEY

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Crutchfield customer from Port Chester, NY on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

John from La Crosse, WI on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound from a small enclosure. Quality product. Craftsmanship is evident.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audio engine HD6 speakers

Steven from Lakeland, FL on 7/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best little speakers i have owned. sound wise they are very spacious and full sounding for there size. clear and loud with no distortion running mine with a powered sub but they sound great without it too.i can access all my files wirelessly from my computer. very nice.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: none i can this of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice upgrade from A5 speakers

John from Poway, CA on 7/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The HD6 speakers replaced my original A5 (not A5+) speakers. I loved the A5, but the volume stopped going up past about a 2 and I'd already had them repaired for something else once, so I decided to get some new ones. These are great. I love the bluetooth and the sound is a noticeable improvement. I always had the A5s combined with a separate powered Sub Woofer and suggest that one do the same with these as well as the bass still needs to be rounded out in my opinion (but I'm no audiophile). So it's 4 stars for me. If the bass was sufficient in itself, if there was a balance control for L/R volume and if there was a Bass/Treble adjustment feature, then it would be a 5. Overall though... I'm very happy with the HD6 speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6 Speakers

Matt from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 6/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are glorified, overpriced bookshelf speakers. The music is too projected, not well diffused. They are nicely built, very connectable and have a very clean sound but they remain bookshelf speakers.

Pros: Clean sound. Nicely built. Very connectable.

Cons: Are just bookshelf speakers. Sound is overly projected forward, not diffused. Do not produce a " full " sound. Do not fill the room with music.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 27 found this helpful

Big Sound; Small Sight

Cormac from Kemah,Texas on 5/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing our failing Bose system with an Audio Engines system is a great success. The compact, good looking system sounds great, while looking good and only loses the unwanted wires and bulk. We installed it in our open space kitchen/family room on the top of kitchen cabinets, so it effectively merges in, avoiding the sound system boiler room effect the Bose system created. Both my wife and I keep our large music collections on iTuned and now use Apple Music via our iPhones. We retained out Apple Play system to distribute music to other rooms, which works very well. And we connect to the system wirelessly mostly using Bluetooth, which has a great range. Audio Engines for us is a major evolutionary step in home music - as big as CDs, iTunes and surround sound.

Pros: Great sound Small footprint - no ugly equipment and cabling Great connectivity Leverages Apple Music Easy to install

Cons: It's not our much loved dying Bose system, but it a great replacement and leverages Apple music. And esthetically it's a massive improvement.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Audioengine HD6

Pat M. from Williamsburg, VA on 5/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are the best bang for the buck that I have ever purchased. Great at low volumes and high as well. Will fill the entire room with quality sound if you wish. Don't think, just buy them!!

Pros: Excellent from soft to loud.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 18 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

John from waltham, MA on 3/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for Bluetooth speakers with line and sub out, something uncomplicated, easy to setup and good quality. These fit the bill perfectly and come with everything needed for multiple setups. The build quality is exceptional, these things are built like tanks. They sound great and can get loud without breaking up. They sound natural without emphasis on any particular frequency. The packaging is unbelievable, each speaker and the cables come in their own felt bag. They are expensive, but were exactly what I was looking for.

Pros: Great sound and build quality.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good speakers

Ajk from McLean, VA on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers sound amazing, Bluetooth works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Incredible

David from North Carolina on 12/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had several pairs of Audioengine speakers including the A5+ which are excellent but the new HD6's are outstanding! The HD6 have a very dynamic range and quite a bit more low end over the A5+'s. Very easy to set up and pair and the walnut finish is beautiful as well. Way to go Audioengine!

Pros: Fantastic sound, banana plug speaker wires, beautiful steel remote

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

TOP