Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audioengine N22

Desktop audio amplifier

MFR # N22

Audioengine N22

Audioengine N22

Desktop audio amplifier

MFR # N22

40 reviews
View this product

Great little amp!

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. I am using it with Polk S10 speakers and a powered sub as my computer speakers. Build quality is very good and I like the minimalist front. Plenty of power for my needs. Very pleased!

Pros: Size is ideal for a desktop set up. Plent of power for small speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and excellent sound for a small amp. Ripped all my CDs to flac, using the N22 to power JBL Control 5s. Very nice office sound system right out of the PC!

Pros: Fast, easy, inexpensive, nice build quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality sound

Crutchfield customer from Shortsville, NY on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does exactly what it says it will do and has many more options for multiple setups. I'm simply using it for amplification off a turn table but it's a solid piece of equipment with minimal foot print.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound improvement, but possible defect

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really a great piece of equipment, really improved the sound of my old sennheiser hd280pro. Better bass overall, and more detail on certain songs. Results will depend on your headphones or speakers, and your computer. Worked right of the box. Only bad thing so far is the knob feels like it has sand in it when you turn it past a certain level. Strange and I hope it isn't some sort of defect, and wont break something after a while.

Pros: More detailed sound for certain music hd280 Better bass overall for my hd280 Worked out of the box Sound feels neutral High quality feel except for the knob

Cons: Possible defect in knob on the front sandy feel when turned

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pairs well with KVM Switch

Jeffrey L from HILLSBOROUGH, NC on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since both audio inputs (RCA and 3.5 mm Mini-jack) are active, without the need for an input switch, this works well when using a KVM switch to access two computers. The same sound system can be used with both computers, with no switching required.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a noob, I thought 22 watts wasn't enough. Compared to everything else, it's quite a small number. However, these power my Klipsch Reference R-41M to painful levels... Also, the variable output on the line-outs is wonderful. I use it to run a subwoofer.

Pros: Small, powerful, convenient

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Perfect size, wattage and features

Crutchfield customer from Bronxville, NY on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with vintage Small Advent speakers. Perfect size and no unneeded features for computer hookup. The packaging and included cables were a plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

excellent audio and Crutchfield service, 2 problems with the unit

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield sales staff gave me excellent help and this tiny amplifier does exactly what I had wanted. Now I use my computer to drive bookshelf speakers in my study, in place of an old boom-box with CD player and tuner that died. Two secondary problems: the N22 power knob is super-cheap plastic, falls off all the time, won't stay on. And as I was installing the cables on the back, turning the unit around and back, the plastic feet gouged permanent scratches on my desk top, right in front. Belatedly I covered the offending feet with duct tape and you can too, before you scratch yours. But there is no excuse for sloppy manufacturing quality control by Audioengine that allowed sharp points to protrude downward below the bottom of the feet. Crutchfield should raise this with them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

mighty mouse

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellyn, IL on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

headphone amp works great with headphones and with Audioengine P4 speakers

Pros: great little unit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this is a great unit - the size is perfect for my desk and has exponentially improved the sound quality from my iPad, where I use music streaming services to my headphones. Plus I was super pleased with the speed of its arrival, which was more than 5 days quicker than projected at purchase.

Pros: Size, ease of set-up, and options for adding on outputs.

Cons: Just a small one - I wish the light on the front was larger/brighter since it is washed out in the sunlight.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

Crutchfield customer from Nevada City, CA on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised. Works well. Fits on my desk well. Only wish it had Blue tooth capability or the capability of plugging in my blue tooth transmitter on the back. Could have used two USB hubs instead of one. But it is great for my system and as advertised. Chuck

Pros: See above

Cons: See above

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

Michael from Reston, VA on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Audioengine N22 was exactly what I was looking for - a small, simple, relatively inexpensive integrated amp to drive a couple of passive speakers I already had to make up a decent desktop setup. However, right away I noticed a distinct channel imbalance, with the left speaker being noticeably quieter than the right. I tried everything to make sure i was actually hearing it - switched out cables, switched sides with the speakers, tried both inputs, put the previous amp I was using back (NAD 3020), tried out headphones - and all that only reinforced the fact that there is an imbalance. It seems most noticeable at low volume and less noticeable as you turn it up, but unfortunately I can't turn it too loud at the office. Also, at a certain point when turning the volume knob there is a scratchy, grating feel to it. It's a small area and goes away as you keep turning but nonetheless leaves me feeling like something is not as it should be. I plan to try the N22 out for a little while longer (still within the 60 day return period) to see if the imbalance gets any better with time.

Pros: Small form factor Simple interface Two inputs

Cons: Noticeable Imbalance between left and right channels Scratchy patch when turning volume knob

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

David from Indianapolis, IN on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp works great with the Audioengine speakers. Just what I wanted for a small office system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little amp!

Brad from Danbury, CT on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to use in my office and to play music from my computer. Very small, clean and simple. You can only have one source and no controls other than the on/off volume control. The sound is really amazing from this little amp. I have it connected to a pair of Cambridge Audio speakers and the combination sounds incredible. You need to have efficient speakers because it's only 22 watts but it drives the Cambridges with no problem.

Pros: Small, simple, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lot of Bang for The Buck!

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 5/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my vintage Seventies Rotel as I had thought that I had lost both channels. Not; it was the H&K BTA 10, it bellied-up. So I bought the AudioQuest's Black DragonFly. I love this much better than the H&K. I have the DragonFly in my iMAC thus by-passing the sound card, to feed the N22. I do plan to up grade the connecting cables with the AudioQuest EverGreen and my vintage Seventies Optimus bookshelf speakers with MartinLogan 35XT. The N22 has just more than enough power for my uses as I live in a studio apartment. The N22 along with the DragonFly makes my speakers come alive. The soundstage is much improved as one could expect with Seventies speakers. Also, with this combination they make my Grado GH2s jump off my head. The voices are crisp clear. My Gregorian chants are very haunting. I can even hear the brush works in my jazz pieces. Each instrument has its place on the stage were you would expect it to be if you were at a concert. I also stream Acorn TV and CRTV along with my extensive DVD collection; I am able to hear the detail of conversations better (GH2) along with hearing the little things going on in the background. I can not wait until I am done with the planned up-grades! I highly recommend this if you are looking for something better that your computer speakers and want to listen your headphones. Only faults, there is no maker on the dial and that the the blue light needs to be brighter as I have got to bed with the N22 left on.

Pros: Small footprint, cool running, great sound stage along with more than enough power.

Cons: I do wish that Audioengine had put a maker on the volume dial as I had to put black Magic Maker at the twelve o'clock when off. Also a brighter light.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice sound, but issues

K from Fort Collins, CO on 3/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got a N22 but had to return it. It sounded quite nice, but the one I got had issues. The volume on the left speaker channel was higher than the right by a little at all volumes. The power plug was loose-fitting, enough so that at random it would lose power. The headphone amplifier has very nice sound, but the level imbalance was much worse - at low volumes the right channel was completely silent and at louder volumes the right channel became gradually louder than the left. The volume knob and headphone jack were both quite crooked. So, quality control was an issue with the amp I had as well as the channel imbalance issues. I am aware of Audioengine's advice to reduce the volume of the source, but that just wasn't a good solution for me and didn't solve the headphone amplifier issue. In short - nice sounding amp, less than stellar quality control.

Pros: Class AB, sounds nice, headphone amplifier is very nice sounding, looks interesting, runs cool without fans

Cons: speaker channel imbalance, headphone amplifier channel imbalance, poor quality control

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 2/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice small amplifier with good sound. Its simple, nice looking, and does the job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Headphones sound much better!

Gary from Jeffersonville, IN on 2/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amplified the signal from my Galaxy Tab S and made my Sennheiser HD580's sound significantly better. However, for a dedicated amp driving just headphones I thought it would have been more powerful than it is. That being said, I am satisfied with it's performance, just surprised that it isn't more powerful.

Pros: Drives my 300 ohm headphones to a better sound quality.

Cons: Not as powerful as I was expecting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good little amp.

Timur from Owings Mills, MD on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

N22 is a very nice, compact, good and fully sounding amplifier. It might not have much power, but is still able to drive my Polk , Klipsch , Wharfedale and Boston bookshelf and tower speakers to a reasonable volume before starting to produce detectable distortion. Sound quality is excellent.

Pros: Sound quality Simplicity Built-in USB charger Variable line-out

Cons: External power brick Limited volume level No volume level markers on volume knob

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I rarely give 5 stars............

Gary from North Carolina on 11/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my study I have two Alon "Napoleaon" speakers which has a 4 inch woofer and a great tweeter set up. I bought these used years ago and paired them with a nice Subwoofer for a larger room. They were replaced with something better but they are certainly worthy of a home study. I bought nice stands for them and they sounded great for what I need them for. My home has a music server which feeds the house hard wired via analog feed into wall jacks accessible with RCA cables.. In my study I wanted the option of having that piped in but also audio for my Mac Mini. This amp is perfect for two input and I don't have to utilize an A-B switch. The sound: Certainly enough power but the warmth of the sound is what makes this amp very appealing. I thought I might want an external DAC for the Mac Mini but the amp colors the sound wonderfully. I like the 5 way speaker posts and use banana plugs. Why not 5 stars? For the money this is a great deal and the amp sounds great beyond its price. Perhaps after 12 months I can upgrade it when it proves durable. At half the price of the NAD d 3020 I think this is a great deal for someone not in need of Bluetooth. This would be a great amp for a TV set up using a basic DAC $10 as well.

Pros: Runs cool, sounds warm, excellent build quality at this price point for where it counts. The value is in the sound. I mounted it under my desk (Vertical orientation) taking advantage of the diminutive size. Hours of listening enjoyment with no noticeable fatigue!

Cons: If you factor in the price, there are none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Couldn't be happier

Guest from Springfield, MA on 10/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great desktop near field amp. I'm using it with pair of Micca MB42X's and a Dayton Audio SUB-650 powered subwoofer. I couldn't be happier. Those complaining about be lack of indicator on the control knob can solve this issue with a very high tech and complicated application of a black dot of a sharpie

Pros: Feature packed, very clean presence, runs cool, powerful, power indicator is a pleasant low level blue,

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great tabletop sound receiver

Gr from Beaverton, OR on 9/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with ELAC Debut B5, but difficult to tell what is the current volume level, knob is unmarked.

Pros: sound outputs

Cons: no level marks on the volume knob

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just what I needed

Calvin from Jacksonville, FL on 6/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been wanting to get better computer speakers for years but when my daughter told me that she wasn't using my old JBL L100s any more I decided to get an amp instead and use the L100s at least for a while. I'm glad I did. I'll probably get some new speakers to use with the N22 some day.

Pros: Plenty of power Good sound Headphone port

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

PAS from Alabama on 10/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. Can't go wrong with this unit and the Audioengine D1 to make your computer audio a must have listening experience. Just need good speakers. I'm using Klipsch reference series 5-1/4" bookshelf speakers and it sounds fantastic.

Pros: Great clean power. Small footprint. Use good cables.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

audioengine n22

larry from Pennsylvania on 8/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent amp haven't had any problems--want a little more punch? this amp will do it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best!

CHITOWNKICK from Illinois on 7/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great. These speakers, paired with the NAD 7050 and a set of Mediabridge ULTRA Series Speaker Cables yield a great system for a very, very reasonable price, < $1300. I'm very happy with this system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 15 found this helpful

Excellent Headphone Amp for Work

Bearcat86 from Fort Worth, TX on 2/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp does what I intended to use it for. I needed a little more punch to my iPod while listening through headphones at my work, but I have very little space available on my workstation. I toyed with the idea to use a portable amp but just really wanted something that is continually powered and available when I needed it. This design is simplistic and unobtrusive so it is not a distraction for me or anyone around me. I currently listen through ATHM50s, and the music sounds excellent and seems to be presented as it is recorded. I mainly listen to Jazz, Metal/Rock/Pop and Acoustic recordings. As mentioned in some reviews I read, you will hear the inferiority of some recordings, i.e. some crackling and popping, but there is not any noticeable distortion via the amp during quiet passages. I also intend on purchasing higher end headphones which I read can be directly wired to the speaker amps (like the HiFiMan He-6) if I need more power, so I feel I'm covered for any purchase down the road. I also have dual input from my iPod and computer so that I do hear notifications as they come into my computer. I wish I knew about this amp earlier, I would have used it for my home computer and bought the complimentary AE P4 speakers and subwoofer.

Pros: Compact design, simple aesthetics, small footprint, powerful enough for any headphone, reasonable price, vast improvement to iPod/MP3 player amps, dual inputs.

Cons: None for my intended purpose.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Amp for Some Applications

Rob from Fresno on 10/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With all of the inflated specifications prevalent in the home audio industry the sound that 22 watts of honest, well refined power will get you is impressive. For the last few years I've been using this amp to drive a pair of inefficient (83DB) AV123 ELT525M's and it's more than up to the task. I've also used this on a pair of larger Polk RTI-A3's and the amp performed equally well but while approaching it's power ceiling to achieve a comfortable but loud listening level in a medium sized room. The headphone amp is a very useful feature and drives my Grado SR-80i's impeccably. The upright configuration is excellent for a desk and overall it's a good looking amplifier. If you need it, the subwoofer output allows you to pair your bookshelf speakers to a powered subwoofer for a more complete 2.1 listening experience. The volume knob is a bit cheap looking, but not too bad. Overall the N22 is an excellent amp to drive a pair of bookshelf speakers whether for a desk, or if you prefer or are restricted to a more compact stereo system. While solidly built it isn't constructed with the most elegant materials, but for it's price and size it's difficult if not impossible to beat.

Pros: Capable of accurately driving just about any modern bookshelf speakers to a loud volume. Good looking. Upright configuration saves desk space. The integrated headphone amplifier is very capable. Easy to set up and use.

Cons: It looks good, but not great. It would be nice if Audioengine produced a successor or alternate with a more premium design. Bluetooth connectivity would be useful for some applications.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Desktop Amp

gman from Baltimore, MD on 8/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great desktop amp! I have the psb Image B4 speakers with the psb SubSeries 125 subwofer. The B4 speakers are not that efficent. I had the nuForce Icon amp, which was nice but I don't think it had enough power for the B4's. With the Audioengine N22 I am getting the quality I wanted.

Pros: - Sounds great for what it is - Small amp, good for desktops - Drives the psb Image B4 speakers - Has preouts for subwofer - Headphone amp is built in

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

KeithK from Fairbanks, AK on 2/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this amp to drive a pair of NHT SuperOne speakers at my computer desk and it works well. I'm very happy with the sound quality. I have my iphone connected to the RCA inputs and my computer connected to the mini-jack input. I do, however, have a couple of nit-picks. One is that the USB port does not charge either of my iphones. When I plug the phone into the port I get a message on the phone that says "Charging is not supported with this accessory". I don't know if it's a problem with the settings on my phone or if I have a defective amp. But I can live with it. The other nit-pick is that the volume knob does not rotate as smoothly as I am accustom to on my other audio gear. It rubs against the face plate. But this is a made in China budget item and, again, it's something I can live with. Bottom line is the amp sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

daveh239 from Sun City West, AZ on 2/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We needed a small amplifier for headphones because of a hearing problem. Otherwise, we had to turn the tv volume too loud. The Audioengine N22 was the perfect answer. It is small and attractive with clean simple attractive design. We did not find another amplifier that was as simple to use and as attractive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Little Black Box of Goodness

WDH from Frederick, MD on 1/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed an amplifier for my Audioengine P4s that sit on my desk. What drew me to this one was the elegant design (it matches the P4s well in looks and function) and the pre-amp output on the back of it. You see, I don't want to fiddle with two different volume knobs between my mains and my sub (Klipsch SW308). So, the volume knob on this amp controls both such that the ratio between mains and sub is always the same. In general, the back panel is very well adorned, with RCA and 3.5mm inputs, a pre-amp out, and a USB charger there in case you need 'em. I didn't have any of the build quality issues that another reviewer had; everything arrived in perfect condition, and it's all quite sturdy. The volume knob feels good, and that's important since I use it several times a day. I thought I would miss a marker on the knob, but I don't; my ears know where the volume is. The blue LED is dim; good thing too, because I didn't want a reading light. Now, I believe that most good solid state amps will sound good as long as you don't clip them, and this one sounds like a good, solid state amp with my speakers and my headphones - clear and musical. The headphone jack on the front is a nice touch and very accessible. The amp is vented on top, but it never gets hot. 22 watts is not a lot, but it's plenty when the speakers are three feet from me. I haven't needed all 22 watts in the two weeks I've been using it, and I doubt that I ever will. A good buy.

Pros: Tastefully simplistic. The pre-amp out is great for a sub. Real binding posts! Sounds better than my Cambridge Soundworks amp. I didn't pay for frills that I don't use. Handy headphone jack on the front.

Cons: No DAC, but if you've already got a good DAC, you won't care. Would really like to have a low pass filter for the pre-amp out so that I don't bother sending very low frequencies to my mains.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect for My Application

MikeLBC from Long Beach, CA on 1/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a small flat panel TV in my bathroom which is about 7' away from the shower so I couldn't hear it when I was taking a shower. My bathroom is small with very little counter space so I immediately decided on a ceiling speaker. I installed a Polk Audio SC6s speaker which allows for left AND right channel connections and ran the wires into a linen cabinet in the bathroom and hooked it up to the audioengine N22. I hooked up my TV using RCA cables and an old smartphone using a 2.5mm jack which then uses wireless access to Pandora. As for the sound, I am extremely satisfied. The N22 packs a lot of great features in a very small package.

Pros: Small Feature Packed for the Size Plenty of Power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High quality sound; low quality construction

Rich from OH on 11/30/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, the obvious and most important claim: The sound IS all it is praised to be. I purchased the N22 through Crutchfield in March 2012 along with a pair of Infinity 153 bookshelf speakers to drive my computer desktop audio (primarily CD-to-FLAC source), and have since added a pair of Grado headphones to my desktop experience. The N22 provides clean power to both outputs across the entire scale from dead-silence to max volume with no noise or distortion and little perceptible increase in heat output. There is little I can add to the already glowing reviews about the quality of sound from the N22. What I had not read in previous reviews that has caused me to downgrade the N22 is the "Made In China" build quality. On my unit the rubber feet which hold the N22 in its upright position were not molded uniformly, so the amp wobbles when handled. The volume knob assembly is not set correctly to the interior board, so is visably cockeyed to the left. The 1/8" audio jack is similarly cockeyed, only to the right, and the interior spring/bypass for the 1/8 headphone jack seems finicky such that removing the headphones from the jack sometimes does not trigger the bypass for speaker-out, so I have to reinsert my headphone plug about halfway and wiggle it to restore audio signal to the speakers. I don't believe my unit is "defective" in the literal sense, but there is little attention paid to fit/finish in these N22 units which is disappointing at its price-point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 21 found this helpful

Little Engine That Could

David from York, PA on 11/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

so far so good. bought from the outlet website as an open box item. no issues so far, but have only had installed for about a week, have listened for about an hour each day and love what I am hearing. my computer audio system consists of an HP Pavilion Entertainment Laptop, with an AudioEngine D1 DAC. I had M-Audio AV-40 powered speakers, which I still love, but was looking for a little more bass without having to add a subwoofer. decided to use an older set of Polk Monitor 30 Series II speakers along with the AudioEngine N22 . so far it seems to be a very good pairing. the Polk Monitors are a superior speaker to the AV-40's and the N22 has proven to have enough power to drive the Polk's to volume levels that fill my entire town home without distorting. the sound from the Polk's is as good as I remember when running them with an old Adcom 60wpc amp. the N22 does not run hot, has no noise and is great looking on my desk. it is bigger than it looked in pictures, but I love the large volume nob. still not sure if I will need a sub or not, but it will be an easier decision since I can plug one right into the back of the N22 line out jacks. so far I am enjoying Pandora more than ever and my old Polk's all over again thanks to this little engine.

Pros: sound, cost, looks, easy install, ability to run powered sub, large volume knob

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Simple and Powerful

Accuraty from Champaign, IL on 8/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've wanted a way to get real sound out of my PC for years. I sorely missed being able to really feel music with depth and nuance that went beyond crudely amplifying the bass. Added an Asus Xonar DG card, this N22, and put a pair of 20 year old Klipsche KG 2s back in to service. I could not imagine being more satisfied for the small amount of money spent!

Pros: The sound is clean and powerful, just what I wanted and expected.

Cons: Hack: had to use a sharpie to put a small dot on the volume knob. Maybe I am old fashioned in needing such things though.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

Crutchfield customer from Wisconsin on 2/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield, as usual, delivered on time. Product met my expectations for a small package integrated amplifier. Plenty of power to drive ceiling speakers in the kitchen using my iPod.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great Desktop Amplifier

Schlepnik from Fort Wayne, IN on 1/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier might be small in size, but it certainly delivers lots of clean power. The compact design fits nicely on the desktop. It's good looking too.

Pros: Compact size and quality build.

Cons: There is no hash mark on the volume dial.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent clarity and value

NuvoUser from Minneapolis, MN on 8/21/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hooked this up to receive signal from an integrated whole-home audio signal, and it's been just great. Abundant power, very clean sound. It has a very solid, classy look and feel and high-quality haptics on the dial. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine N22

James from Afghanistan on 2/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Aside from having a stylish design, the AudiioEngine N22 Desktop Amplifier has brought out the best out of my Sennheiser PX 360 BT headphones. connected to an Iphone4G, the N22's integrated headphone amp significantly increased sound output, tightened up the bass and smoothed out the midrange and highs over the Iphone's headphone circuitry. I'd best describe this amp's sound as clean, loud, and well detailed. You get plenty of bang for your buck with this quality Desktop amp. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

TOP