Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Audioengine W3

Wireless audio adapter kit

MFR # W3

Audioengine W3

Audioengine W3

Wireless audio adapter kit

MFR # W3

36 reviews
View this product

no delay wireless

Jonathan from Gorham, ME on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using the W3 to have sound from my laptop go through my aging NAD receiver amp. I'm using this because a wireless Bluetooth connection was not fast enough for video and sound to sync. The W3 uses actual WIFI so there is no sound delay when I'm watching video on my laptop. It was simple to connect. I opened the box plugged in the receiving dongle into the RCA in jack on my NAD and then plugged the USB sender into my computer. Once the sender and receiver were synced I simply changed my output device settings on my computer to go through the W3 rather than internal speakers and I had fantastic sound with no delay.

Pros: small, easy to connect, no wires, no delay between computer and stereo so watching video wirelessly is possible, uses it's own WIFI NOT bluetooth as a connection.

Cons: receiver end needs a power source when not plugged into a USB

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 9/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Hooked up old amp with new amp. Now my shop rocks now. For how small it is it works. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons: Wish it had a another power supply

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super easy install, but be aware of potential

Crutchfield customer from Avon, OH on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install, but be aware of potential interference from both solid objects to wireless (microwave, wifi routers, etc). The signal only has to go 15-18 feet, but through the AV cabinet and outside wall. I used a USB extender to place against the AV wall and 3 feet closer to the source. Works great.

Pros: -Super easy install -No configuration/pairing needed (if using 1 source)

Cons: -Wireless signal seems more prone to interference -Walls/objects shorten effective range

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I LOVE THIS SOUND SYSTEM

MJ from Nicholasville, KY on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am thrilled that this works with my new Onkyo receiver. Moved into a home with separate home downstairs TV surround sound and upstairs in-wall speaker surround sound systems. With the help of the awesome customer service department, I was able to easily utilize the downstairs receiver in the whole house. Yay! Super easy to put together with their help!

Pros: able to use the system built into the home

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

Dan from Maple Grove, MN on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, but didn't really work well with my system.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Didn't work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

chris j from Greenville, SC on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound cuts out constantly. I even removed any routers or potential devices that cause interference.

Pros: sounds good when they work

Cons: sensitive to interference.

Crutchfield response on 4/3/2018
Chris, we're sorry you're having issues with your wireless kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Up and Running in 5 minutes

jerry from Seabeck, WA on 6/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Described to Hogan at Crutchfield exactly what I was trying to accomplish. He spec'd these out and actually put everything I needed in a shopping cart and all I had to do was checkout. When it all arrived, setup was 5 minutes and I was enjoying digital quality music transmitted from my cable tv box to my NAD integrated amp with excellent CD quality.

Pros: Works as advertised, easy setup, excellent sound quality, negated the need for long wires stretched between rooms.

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Hills , CA on 3/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything advertised. Perfect answer for my Bose remote portable speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

E from Mount Juliet, TN on 3/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We use this with headphones for listening privately to TV (so our spouse can sleep). I previous wrote a review that there was a continuous loud hum, but I discovered that the sheath covering the wires was split, exposing the wires. Crutchfield immediately replaced the unit, and now it works perfectly with no interference at all. Thank you, Crutchfield, for your consistent customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3: cuts out a lot, regardless of my tests

Nat from St Petersburg, FL on 2/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work, BUT: I have tried two different sets of Tx & Receivers I have used both the cables that come with them and my own, including transformers. I have tried using multiple sources of sound (TV, Computer, Stereo) I have tried multiple receivers of sound (2xreceivers, 2xhead sets & TV) I did all of this as a test to insure it was not my use of them (I was hoping it was "me" I have tried locating them in different environments within the house, including keeping them 2-3 feet from each other (transmitter & receiver), 20ft, 50 ft and almost 100ft) I did this to test them and no matter what I did: Both sets intermittently cut out and produce silence a lot during all broadcasts. Since I ordered a replacement and got the same results, I have to concur that it is the devices and not my use of them. I called tech support just to make sure there was no secrete I didn't know about and they told me that I have done everything they would have thought of- and no secrete. It one point, there was a buzz/hum that I eliminated by moving the transmitter to a new location/power source, then I discovered this new problem.

Pros: if one can live with the sound intermittently cutting out, then they are good

Cons: even replacement set cuts off sound intermittently, regardless of sound source or detonation Can produce an ever present buzz/hum if in a bad location (transmitter) - takes some testing to find good location from transmitter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3 works great

William from Aiken, SC on 1/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using it to send output from one integrated amp with a network player to the input on a home theater receiver in another part of the house about 60' away. Easy plug and play installation. Much, much easier than running 60' of shielded cable between the 2 amplifiers. Instant, automatic pairing. Frequency range seems to be as good as I can hear (at least 44khz CD quality). No static, interference or drop out. No latency that I can audibly detect. A bit pricey and only come with one power supply. I used an old iPhone power supply with USB cable for the second unit. I worry about life expectancy since they can't be turned off without unplugging them.

Pros: Range, sonic quality, low latency, plug and play.

Cons: Price seems high but quality costs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 1/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

outstanding...allows for best speaker placement...my Audioengine W3's are the best sounding speakers I have ever owed...awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

Crutchfield customer from Hammonton, NJ on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! very easy to install , everything that it should be thanks advisers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great; much better than my old Linksys Music Bridge

JCinFrederick from frederick, MD on 3/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an old Linksys Music Bridge. It worked okay, but the software that came with it wasn't very reliable or easy to troubleshoot. These are great. No software to configure; truly plug and pay. Sound fidelity is excellent. No problems with audio cutting in and out like my Music Bridge.

Pros: -plug and play -good fidelity -no problems with audio cutting in and out

Cons: Audio cables are a little short, so you may need to buy a longer audio cable, depending on the location of you equipment, relative to your electrical outlet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Neat Little Devices

W Ledford from Georgia on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have just completed my install and these neat little devices make it possible for me to extend the Onkyo main unit to have a Zone 3. They are very easy to install, no programing, just plug and play and they seem to work well.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine Rocked It!

Chris G from Illinois on 9/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a couple of issues at first but it turned out to be with my receiver - not the Audioengine. It really works as easy as it says it does. I am using it to play music to the speakers on my patio using music stored on my laptop via the Denon receiver that is connected to my home network. The only problem turned out is that my laptop battery did not last long enough! Support from Crutchfield was awesome. They are very patient and helped me through. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

hy from Staunton, Virginia on 9/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had figured out how to send music (CD, tape, vinyl) from my stereo system to my computer for listening and ripping, but really wanted to send music from my computer to my stereo system. Finally a product came along that promised to do this, and the Audioengine W3 came through. Now I can listen to my computer's digital music through the four speakers connected to my computer AND the four speakers connected to my stereo system. Excellent! The setup wasn't as easy as I had hoped, but with some help from Crutchfield tech support, I figured it out. (See below for the problems I encountered.)

Pros: The Audioengine W3 is a very simple adapter that works as advertised and actually improved the sound of my digital music files.

Cons: The setup guide was confusing as to configuring the computer-to-stereo system link. Whereas the guide said to "Connect an RCA cable (not included) from your stereo receiver's RCA inputs to the RCA "Y" adapter," the included "Y" adapter can actually be plugged directly into the receiver's jacks. Maybe the guide was referring to an extension cable? Second, I had to make Audioengine the default speaker device in Windows; the computer's speakers then became the default communications device.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Convenient and Easy Install

K-DUB from North Carolina on 8/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to get my TV audio output to my surround sound receiver and speakers without having to connect it directly. Just plugged the transmitter into the output on the TV and the receiver into my stereo, pushed a button to connect and bang - great sound.

Pros: Easy Setup, minimal hardware

Cons: Short cables included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

TomD from Michigan on 6/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product. Not disappointed in product or Crutchfield. Always good service. A bit overpriced for this type of hardware.

Pros: Easy install - no brainer. Great 16 bit sound.

Cons: A tad high in price.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy setup and excellent item

carlk from Tinton Falls, NJ on 11/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After the easy installation, connected the sender to a USB port on the CPU and the music sounded great! Had to move the speaker system with the receiver about 40 feet away from the CPU, and the connection is still excellent. One of the easiest setup's that I have ever completed.

Pros: easy installation, excellent product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Magic !

Michael from Charlotte,N.C. 28227 on 8/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the W3 to enable me to freely walk around my wedding venue and still play my music wirelessly. The unit works great for me but I will caution that you pretty much have to be line of sight with the receiver.If you have folks walking in front of you the signal might drop out.I intend to mount my transmitter at the top of a conduit and use a usb extension cable back to my computer to get a little higher as to avoid problems like this.All in all I am at least 60+ ft from my receiver and no problems at all.

Pros: Easy to connect, no interference from cell phones, etc.

Cons: none that I can see

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super simple bluetooth device.

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 7/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit for use with my DJ equipment. No more tripping over cables. After a quick look at the instructions, I was up and running in minutes. I did notice some infrequent audio drop outs. Moved the send and receive units a bit closer and problem solved.

Pros: Ease of use and setup. Very compact.

Cons: Occaisional audio drop out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio engine I am so pleased!

Stevet from Rocky Mount, va on 3/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to setup and does exactly what I expected (wireless interface to a sub woofer)

Pros: Good price point. Could not be easier to set up. Works great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best sleek unit

Winston from Hawaii on 2/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used on my first gig video presentation, never need that long RC cable again.

Pros: We'll engineered, the name says it self.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 12/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be happier with this product! I was afraid there would be a lag when I hooked this system up to my Cambridge subwoofer, but it works flawlessly! No lag and it allows my subwoofer to be concealed and kept out of the way without having to run wires across the room. The setup was easy as well - literally plug it in to the wall, plug it in to the receiver and subwoofer, and it connects itself immediately. Virtually no setup.

Pros: Easy setup, no lag, works flawlessly.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio engine W3

Art from Irving, TX on 10/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works as it claims without any noticeable sound quality loss.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth Every Penny ... If You Can Establish A Clean Signal

Flatpicnut from Morgantown, WV on 10/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading many reviews (on Crutchfield and elsewhere, which seem to universally average 4 out of 5 stars), I decided to give the W3 a try and purchased it "open box." My computer where the sender is located is approximately 35-40 feet from my stereo receiver, separated by a wall and a doorway. The W3 is mindlessly easy to set up. After establishing the connection with the W3 receiver without a problem, I flipped on Pandora on the computer. The sound was definitely redbook CD quality, so my first concern was allayed. However, my second concern - signal strength - was an issue right off the bat. Brief 1 sec. dropouts came at a rate of about 8-10 per minute. I had initially plugged the receiver unit into the "switched" outlet in the back of my AVR (located in a stereo cabinet). To get a better signal path with the sender, I was able to solve the problem by getting the W3 receiver out of the cabinet, dangling it from a couple of "cup hooks" that I put outside and in the back of the cabinet. I used a longer 3.5 mm to RCA patch cord to get the W3 receiver out of the stereo cabinet, and a USB extension cord so that I could get some distance between the W3 receiver and the power adapter. I moved it around until I found the best position (like fiddling with TV "rabbit ears"). I know it sounds like a hassle, but it has worked fine ever since. This gadget was worth the price and for me was a very cost effective alternative to the much more expensive Audioengine D2.

Pros: Redbook CD Sound Quality Flexibility In Sending Any Audio From Computer To Stereo Reciever Cost (versus Audioengine D2)

Cons: Signal Range/Strength

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

returned this product

Tom from Edison, NJ on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I returned it and up graded to a NAD DAC (#745DAC1). This product worked fine, but it did not expand the music as much as I expected. The NAD does what i wanted and it is only $50.00 more.

Pros: easy set up

Cons: does not expand the music enough

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audioengine W3 review

Mike from Sturgeon Bay, WI on 2/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Audioengine W3 is an excellent product. I'm using it to sent audio from my laptop to my main audio system. This takes the place of an i-Pod with a dock. The W3 sounds better than the i-pod setup. It only seems to be limited by the source sound encoding in i-Tunes (lossless versus a lower sampling rate). There was a setting in my laptop that needed to be changed for proper operation and the Crutchfield tech helpline saved the day. Once the setting was changed I have not had an issue since. Use tech support if you experience a problem. I would recommend this unit to a frend.

Pros: Works as advertised.

Cons: None. It seems to be a great unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

Hector MB from Puerto Rico on 1/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Range is limited.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

John M from Babylon,NY on 12/26/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this as a scratch and dent special. Plugged it into a USB port in my Dish box, and into an old receiver in my detatched garage, with outdoor speakers over my hot tub. Works great. Highly reccommend it!

Pros: Super easy installation, works great.

Cons: Can't complain

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

Bob B from Brookline, Ma on 12/7/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased Audio Engine speakers to be able to stream music from the cloud using my tablet. This poorly conceived, badly designed product completely made this totally cumbersome. I understood up front that I would have to plug the receiving unit into ac power. Because this adapter used a proprietary sending devine (rather than bluetooth or wi-fi) I would have had to plug the sending unit in as well. It was just not going to work. Unit was returned for a bluetooth receiver. Much simpler, and the difference in sound was minimal (if any).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 21 found this helpful

Excellent product, easy setup

CurtC from Woodward, OK on 10/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Needed a wireless option to connect a projector and DVD player and laptop and not have wires. This solution is perfect and works great. Sound is amazing and no interference. Used with the Audioengine A5+ speakers. Would buy again in a heartbeat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audioengine W3

BillT from Chattanooga, TN on 9/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Audioengine W3 system is a good little system for connecting your PC to a powered speaker system, and the speaker system must be powered as the signal is certainly not overpowering. I gave it 4 stars because it does as it advertises but falls somewhat short as it seems to be affected by objects in its way more than I would like meaning I had to put the speakers closer to the PC than I would like. And given the fact that it stops the sound from coming through the PC speakers (though I haven't worked with my PC settings yet to see if I can overcome this) it seems as if I just moved my speakers to a different part of the same room rather than to a different room altogether. But again, it is a good system and when you get the issues worked out it does produce a pretty good sound.

Pros: Included in review...

Cons: Included in review...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to set up and it sounds great!

Gary from Citrus Heights, CA on 9/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this wireless adapter kit. Easy to set up and it sounds great too. I enjoy listening to music over the web through my audio system. Highly recommend if you wish to send music wireless to your receiver.

Pros: Easy to set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audioengine W3. Wireless audio adapter kit.

Michael from Daytona, FL on 8/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although i am an Oxford graduate, I am also a technological ignoramus. IPods, Iphones, Blackberries, MP3s are utterly beyond my comprehension. I simply wanted a device that could transmit sound from my computer room to the living room. Had a chat with one of your agents (Rocky) about this. He finally decided that he had the ideal solution to my problem. His advice proved to be correct. It was exactly what I needed. Now I can listen to BBC radio, experiencing the same kind of sound clarity which I would were I living in London. If anything, the sound quality is superior to that of a live radio broadcast.

Pros: Very easy to install. Even a dunderhead like me managed to do so without any hitch whatsoever. When you need to transfer the sound back to the PC speakers, you just extract the adapter from the front of the computer. It is that simple.

Cons: Cannot think of any offhand.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP