Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sound Ordnance™ P-40B

4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # P-40B

Sound Ordnance™ P-40B

Sound Ordnance™ P-40B

4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # P-40B

41 reviews
View this product

Great price!

Crutchfield customer from Glasgow, KY on 7/31/2020

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speakers for the price! they don't handle bass very well which I didn't really expect them to. They will pop pretty loud if you push them. Other than that they are very clear and provide a great high range sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Nicholasville,%20KY on 6/23/2020

2007 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price and good product will use again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Elon, NC on 6/17/2020

1997 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was very impressed with the sound these put out. They fit perfect with the adapters. The only thing negative was shipping. It was supposed to be 2 day shipping and it arrived and sat 3 days at the delivery warehouse before it was brought to my house

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 5/31/2020

2000 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good buy

Crutchfield customer from Teaneck, NJ on 5/24/2020

1996 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great buy. I love these for the price. Perfect for the project car !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Miller Place, NY on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbeatable for the price. Fits perfectly in my 1989 560SL.

Pros: Perfect economic solution to upgrade my old mercedes.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 4/29/2020

2002 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds quality is not the best but does the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Boaz, AL on 4/16/2020

1997 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, good value, but I would not recommend these for behind the seat. They're just not built for that level. I have an alpine head unit, these only sounded good through a wide range of volume at a flat equalizer setting. 2 days after install, one started popping. A larger size would be better for behind the seat.

Pros: installation instructions, wiring, mounting gear came with. Great price.

Cons: Didn't handle a head unit's whole volume range

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/13/2020

1990 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good, we had to modify the mount holes on the speaker, fit like a glove.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

S/O 4" speaker

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers were direct fit speakers they serve the purpose but they are not it's top quality speaker

Pros: Direct fit easy to install

Cons: you can't expect anything more out of a 4" speaker I think it has the best it can for the size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Thomasville, GA on 2/26/2020

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for the money!

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AP on 10/18/2019

2000 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mids and treble sounds. Dont expect a lot of bass from these speakers but they do an amazing job for upgrading old, factory door speakers!

Pros: Supurb factory replacement

Cons: Dont expect much bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, OH on 5/10/2019

1991 Buick Regal

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound Great!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Schaumburg, IL on 5/8/2019

1996 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Second rate speakers. I replaced the 23 year old OEM speakers in my Toyota because the paper cones had dried out and completely torn at the perimeter. These speakers are not disintegrating like my old ones, so the sound is a bit cleaner. But, they distort the audio in their own way. The low end is just not quite there, and the rest of the audible range is just so inconsistent that nothing sounds quite right. They are not so bad that I will go through the trouble to put the old ones back, but I do regret putting these in.

Pros: Cones are polypropylene so I certainly hope they will out-live my car.

Cons: I needed to drill holes in parts of my car (which I don't like one bit) to put in worse speakers than were already there.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 4/22/2019

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good sound for low price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Scottsville, VA on 1/11/2019

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers fit perfect. The best part was the instructions that came with the product. They told me how to remove and replace the speakers. I had both done within 15 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

ROBERT from San Jose, CA on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these are even better than they sounded on the computer speakers, really nice clarity

Pros: fits alot of different ways and works in her 2014 chevy spark

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Saint Inigoes, MD on 7/6/2018

1991 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are not an exact fit for the 91 TOYOTA pickup. The bolt pattern was to small, requiring filing to extend them to match the vehicle's.

Pros: Sound is good

Cons: Requires modifications

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Guanica, PR on 6/19/2018

1995 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Estoy muy contento con las bocinas el sonido es espestacular, y la fidelidad ecelente me encantan

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Jeff from Saint Peters, MO on 5/11/2018

2003 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little Speaker for the price and is way better than the factory speakers they replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Pukalani, HI on 4/24/2018

2001 Isuzu Rodeo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounds in the back of my car surround sound. Awesome, spend more time in my car then the house.can't wait to upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Paul from Fairhope, AL on 4/16/2018

1994 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers replaced the original speakers in my 1994 Toyota Corolla. I was looking for an economical replacement that would sound well. I am more than satisfied with the way they sound. I have always been satisfied with the selection and service from Crutchfield.

Pros: Cost and sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Quad Cities, IL on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For reasonably/cheaper priced speakers, Sound Ordnance speakers sound great. These little speakers have very clear acoustics and even have a little thump. Will be ordering more Sound Ordnance products in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Angelo from Port Chester, NY on 12/17/2017

1996 Toyota Tercel

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value for the money, Good sound, easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

4" speaker, Big time Sound!

JT from Long Beach, CA on 12/8/2017

1987 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear Highs and mid range frequencies are abundant from this set of speakers. When used with high pass/low filters this speaker really shines! Outstanding performance for it's price!!!

Pros: Brilliant high and mid range frequency producing speaker!

Cons: Due to small cone size, it cannot produce low frequencies.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Fernando from California on 10/23/2017

2004 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install, great sound

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/9/2017

1998 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect and sound great. I had original factory speakers in my '98 Toyota Avalon, and they were blown out. So, of course I noticed a HUGE difference. Installation took just a couple of tools, and the instructions made it super easy. Hint to those installing - If you have to splice and use the new wire connections to the speaker like I did make sure you mark the factory wires going to your speaker. Mine were both black, and after cutting off both connectors I couldn't tell the two wires apart.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Latrobe PA. on 9/10/2017

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great fit was good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet sounds

Jim from Nevada on 8/26/2017

2004 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok I keep saying this, but once again these are a huge bang for the buck. Outstanding quality. Extremely smooth top end, liquid mids and for 4"speaker great snap and bass. Loved them so much, I purchased another set. Photos coming soon.

Pros: Sweet highs, liquid mids.

Cons: Only a 4"speaker so bass must be augmented by a sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 8/21/2017

1989 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fitted in perfectly to my truck. came with a bunch of mounting gear and some dog tags(?!) massive improvement from the 30 year old speakers in there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound for low price....

Samuel from Redford, MI on 8/9/2017

1987 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean clear sound. Economical -- good performance at a low price, which is what I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Dylan M from Fairview, OK on 8/6/2017

2001 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Okay speaker for the price. My stock headunit is bottoms them out when I have most of the power going to from door speakers. Expected them to be louder and have more voice coil travel.

Pros: Look good

Cons: Cant handle much power

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Brandon from Buffalo, ny on 6/24/2017

2006 Subaru Impreza 2.5i

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible blew within a hour of play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 4/26/2017

2010 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these to replace the factory speakers in my 2006 Impreza. Sound is amazing, mids and highs are impressive. Sound is so good I am now noticing riffs in songs I never heard before. Defiantly not used for high bass, I would recommend buying a sub and amp if you're looking for bass. Installation was pretty straight forward, I had to drill new mounting holes, but Crutchfield supplied me with GREAT directions and all the hardware I needed. Overall, if you are looking to upgrade / replace your factory speakers these are your best bet, for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Saugus, MA on 4/23/2017

1989 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Barry from La Plata, MD on 4/23/2017

1996 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Your staff was so helpful

Pros: Very easy fit. Good sound

Cons: Had to drill holes to fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Ordnance P-40B

Crutchfield customer from Ash NC on 2/28/2017

2000 Isuzu Rodeo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement speakers. Impressed with the sound quality. Can't go wrong with crutchfield. Harness plugged right in with no modification.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome sound

Joe from Downey, CA on 1/23/2017

1990 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great quality product and affordable price. speakers are durable and well made, plus the sound is crisp and clear.

Pros: durable, good quality, fashionable looking, great price and perfect fit.

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound for Great Value!!!

Dan from Glendale, AZ on 8/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fitment guide said that the 4" speakers were the largest that would fit in the rear doors. After disassembling the door panel, I think the 5-1/4" or 6" speakers would have fit easily. I decided to install them anyway, and if I didn't like them I would swap them out later. To my surprise these speakers sounded great! They compliment the Sound Ordance P-65CB speakers up front really well, filling the rear stage with highs, mid-range, and even some bass! Well done Sound Ordance!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

little speakers that do the job

jj from Culver City, CA on 6/12/2016

1993 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i replaced the 4" speakers in the front dash of my 1993 4Runner with these and they sound great (for 4" speakers).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not what I expected!

Ezequiel from Bayamon, PR on 2/12/2016

1999 Toyota Tercel

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers whenever I turned the volume to half, not full power of my Pioneer (50w x 4) (14w rms) stereo head unit started to make a loud cracking noise, like if the speakers were blown or something like that, unlike the Awesome "Sound Ordnance 6x9 2-way speakers" I bought from here, these 4 inch Sound Ordnance speakers failed to meet my expectations, maybe they weren't made to handle the kind of power my stereo has, or maybe I got a defective pair, who knows? Anyways I didn't liked how they sounded and returned to Crutchfield for a full refund that I got with no problems at all, so many thanks to Crutchfield and team for a hassle free return & refund.

Pros: Of the speakers, None that I can think of... Of the Crutchfield customer service, well a hassle free return & refund.

Cons: These speakers lacks a lot on the high notes, they don't sound crisp & clear.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

TOP