Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
806 613 872 3
Connect ID #
806 613 872 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Cambridge Audio 651A

Stereo integrated amplifier with USB input (Black)

MFR # 651A

Cambridge Audio 651A

Cambridge Audio 651A

Stereo integrated amplifier with USB input (Black)

MFR # 651A

12 reviews
View this product

Cambridge 651A

Jude from North Carolina on 6/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After spending a little time with the unit and honing in my studio connections, I am very happy with the purchase. I was going to return the unit and purchase a NAD DAC integrated amp; however, for the price; a no brainer. I am running a pair of vintage Klipsch Heresy II with the amp. Incredible!!

Pros: Easy to use; had more of a problem synchronizing everything with my Presonus software. Once in, it's killer!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AWESOME AMP!!

Will from South Dakota on 5/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was wanting a simple amp with CLEAN POWER. Being OLD school wanted to be able to hook it up with out a lot of problems. Has all the power needed to run four speakers with power left over. Have not had a need to go much over a quarter of the volume to have crisp ,clean music!! Was simple to hook up, and even simpler to use. Want old school ease with new school power, then this is the AMP to have. All the company reps where GREAT to work with. Not sure what your looking for, ask a Rep. They led me to this GREAT AMP. You shouldn't be disappointed with this one.

Pros: Nothing hard to use about it. Hook it up and enjoy great ,clean music.

Cons: NONE......

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Deal Good Experience

MartinR from Philadelphia on 3/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'd been looking for an amp to place in a small to medium space. Didn't want to spend a ton of dough because its not my critical listening area but I wanted quality performance. I looked at a lot of amps and settled on this one. Happy with the choice and the price. Plenty of power for my application (2 bookshelf speakers and a powered sub) . sounds very good when sourced by a computer and an audio engine d-1 dac. I wouldn't bother with the internal DAC unless you're forced to. its just OK. Solidly built and handsome to look at in an understated way. (well I think so). You should consider this one if its in your price range. Also I was very pleased with the purchasing process and quick shipment. kudos to Crutchfield!

Pros: Very Good performance / value at this price Well constructed feels solid Plenty of power

Cons: Internal DAC is meh. Indicator lighting could be better but I really don't spend a lot of time looking at it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best Amp

Antonio from New York on 2/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best amp I've ever owned, The moment I plugged in, I knew that was a special thing, the sound was just unbelievable. It made my speakers sound like heroes.

Pros: Great sound at great price, it is all you need, to have proper audiophile sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

wow!

Matthew from WI on 1/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great amp! I previously had the NAD T758 and that sounded.. ok.. it had amazing hi's and midrange however the bass seemed like it was missing something. Kind of doggy, sliggish, boring. This system out of the box sounds like a real hi-fi system. The simplicity of the design is what makes the difference. The bass is tight and punchy, Hi's are crisp and clean not harsh, and the mids sound mellow with a little bite here and there during rock music all the way to the piano guys and enya. Imaging is clear and thats something the NAD completely missed compaired to this system. Its driving my Monitor Audio Silver 10's without a problem through audioquest oval cables. I couldn't be happier! Very impressed Cambridge very indeed!

Pros: Crisp Hi's clean mids punchy and straight forward bass. plenty of power!! im not biamped yet! The Imaging!

Cons: Non to be found yet. maybe the fact the only way to use the DAC is by usb and not coax or optical. but the sound may be cleaner without those two.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

revelation

kjj from Massachusetts on 12/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this integrated amp for two weeks now and I am very happy with it. I have Polk LSi7 bookshelf speakers with a powered sub and they were hooked up to a Onkyo receiver that I was happy with but wondered if an integrated amp would be an improvement. I have to say I'm amazed at the difference. More detailed highs and more powerful bass, more overall detail and dimension in the sound. I read some reviews that said some amplifiers were "fatiguing" to listen to and didn't understand until I compared this to my old receiver. A volume that I would only listen at for one song with the receiver I listened at for two hours with the 651A. The 651A also places instruments more precisely and made my small den seem much bigger than it is, and the DAC makes streamed music sound great too.

Pros: Terrific clean full sound

Cons: no outlets on the back, not a big deal to me but worth mentioning. the only way to select A or B speakers is with the remote, not sure what happens if the remote quits.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I have no words to express

nprathap from California on 12/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been doing a lot of research for finding a best amplifier which will do justice to my listening choice and sources I have and finally I have my hands on CA Azur 651A. Elegant and it pairs very well with my KEF LS50 speakers and both european brands and what more to say it is an awesome combination which is joyful and musical! its been few days I have them connected and both the AMP and speaker is burning in and I will feel the true and even more sweetest musical treat in coming days. I am so thankful to crutch field team getting my AMP what I was looking for from last 2 years... for an awesome price during the holiday. I got Nancy from crutchfield who helped me to have my faith more stronger in this product. We work, spend time with family and friends and there could be moments where you needs your own time and space, where you might be bound my emotions, feelings and as we say "You enjoy the music when you are happy and you listen to the lyrics when you are sad" and CA 651 can make you happy - the clarity of the sound you get from it is Amazing, and more over the mid and the high frequency signals are very well engineered and you can feel the music as you hear the artist perform live. My setup when I plugged it to the speakers I experienced the true sense of disappearance. It was the most joyous moment which I will ever remember! The support was excellent and I received my order as promised and a safe delivery with great problem free package over all no complaints!

Pros: Crisp and clear. It takes a while to burn in, once you have the right cable, speakers and power supply its phenomenal. More value for money and it is really a premium amplifier. I was lucky that I got the holiday price discount and its worth the buy! I have a monitor headphone and the headphone out on the AMP makes it a treat too, if i have to use it just for myself when there are people around. You will start listening to the musical notes which you might have missed, music is so detaile

Cons: None. I wish the DAC was 24 bit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio 651A

RichardK from Raymond, Ms on 3/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After purchasing a pair of high end floor standing speakers, I wanted an integrated amp that would fully take advantage of the incredible sound capabilities of these speakers. After some helpful, expert advice from Norm, my Crutchfield advisor, I selected this Cambridge unit. I am amazed the diffference this amp makes to truly make these speakers "sing" at their best.

Pros: Ability to create incredible sound from your stereo components.

Cons: Pricy, but worth it if you want high quality sound results. Wish it had a phono input.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge 651a .....My 2nd REVIEW

Franklin O from New kensington ,PA on 3/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It`s been 3 weeks now since i got the 651a it was a little bright when i first hooked it up useing the polk tsi200 bookshelf speaker`s since then it has got better more bass.this is a fantastic amp if you buy this you won`t regret the purchase at 75 watts its enough to drive most speakers fine .I hope this helps the buyer who reads this review

Pros: nothing bad or negative all good for this amp ,sound is superb with all music etc....

Cons: i agree with the other reviewer you hear a thump when other sources are hooked only time i hear it is when the powered subs turn on at start up which all amps do this one day they will get this fiquered out to stop the thump

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Cambridge 651a

Franklin O from New kensington ,PA on 3/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this based on the 2 reviews i sure am happy i did wonderful sound hooked it to my polk tsi200`s and i have to infinity subs it only has 1 sub output so i split the channels it sounds like a $3,000 system thanks CHAD for your advise on getting this amp also thanks crutchfield for putting up with all my questions through chat you all are wonderful and very helping even though i did not buy everything i chatted about with thoughts on purchasing again all my thanks to you all FRANKLIN O-

Pros: it has everything ill ever need for my setup

Cons: none here just a great amp sounds clear and punchy i cannot say enough to express how nice this amp is

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio 651A

JonzDad from Tucson, AZ on 12/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amplifier for home. Delivers clean and clear sound with even power distribution across the entire audio spectrum. No discernable bias to bass, mid-range, or treble results in full audio presence. Result is very satisfying full and natural sound.

Pros: Great sound. Easy installation. Intuitive controls. Connections fool-proof and solid.

Cons: A difficulty that all amplifiers have, and no resolution yet: a very smart electronic control to suppress speaker "thump" when other connected devices are turned on and off. Not doable yet, but I can always hope.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Lovely Integrated Amp

JamesW from Brooklyn, NY on 1/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful component, lush warm crystal clear sounds with paired Cambridge 651CD player, fantastic value, drives my high-end speakers loud and fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 30 found this helpful

TOP