Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
075 952 862 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
075 952 862 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio Azur 851A

Stereo integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # C10472K

Cambridge Audio Azur 851A

Cambridge Audio Azur 851A

Stereo integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # C10472K

9 reviews
View this product

Worth the money.

Crutchfield customer from Mars Hill, NC on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has incredible power with a amazing sound quality. I replaced an old Rotel tuner with this amazing piece of equipment. The rotel sounded good but this 851A blows it out of the water. I am hearing more from both cds and vinyl. Setup was easy and the ability to name my inputs is a big plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to listen too

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 3/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding Integrated Amp. I compared it to other options in the same price range and enjoy the clarity. The balanced input is a great feature. Its just an easy Amp to listen too.

Pros: Great sound. Looks very clean.

Cons: Overheating does happen. I have had the unit overhead twice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Azur 851A

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The build quality appears to be top notch and I love the way it looks. I believe the sound is better for 2 channel listening than what my Denon X6500 provides. If I tried to put it into words, I'd say it sounds more precise, with more weight to the bass and clarity at higher frequencies. Is it worth the extra cost... only you can answer that. The reasons for the 1 star deduction is because when using it in fixed inpput mode as my left and right front channels for surround sound, it makes strange sounds as the fixed gain increased to max volume. Makes me a little nervous. Also, the bass and treble adjustments knobs seem a little less than high quality in their movement and they can not be adjusted remotely.

Pros: Sound Build quality Looks

Cons: Bass and Treble knobs are less than high quality and not adjustable remotely Fixed input volume makes some strange sounds during volume ramp up

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Azur 851A

Crutchfield customer from Watsonville, CA on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good build easy set up. Using it for separate music room, hooked it into main room sounds as good as my Krell amp and Anthem pre amp pros. Very pleased.

Pros: Good sound and features reasonable priced.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding Well Crafted Integrated Amp

Rich from Poughkeepsie, NY on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Azur851a is an outstanding integrated amp. It has the headroom to drive my power hungry speakers with the clarity and openness of a unit selling for twice the price. I replaced my Bryston 9b and SP2 home theater pieces that I was running as merely a stereo system, without loss of any of the fidelity that I had grown accustomed to. In fact, as the Azur continues to break in, ithink it sounds better. Five Stars.

Pros: Sound quality Headroom Bang for the buck Hi end construction

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

So far it's awesome

William from Long Valley, NJ on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it so far. I've only listened to it for a few hours so it's not "broken in" yet but still sounds incredibly smooth, clean, and detailed through Martin Logan Motion 40 speakers. This is the first amp I have owned that doesn't even begin to give me ear fatigue even at moderately high volume. Music just sounds like it is being produced effortlessly.

Pros: Sound quality, value for the money, feel of the controls and construction

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Wonderful Integrated Amplifier

Sherry A. from Las Cruces, NM on 9/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been planning a gradual upgrade of my audio system and was looking for something that was not on the extreme high-end, but a very nice mid-level, 2-channel amp/receiver. The Cambridge Audio Azur 851a integrated amplifier is perfect for my needs. It has an incredibly nuanced sound stage and I am hearing things in the music that I had been missing. It is, without a doubt, an amp that looks like it will be durable for years - very heavy and appears to be all metal which is comforting. The plentiful number of inputs is another plus as is the ability to custom name them. Initially, it shut off a couple of times, but without giving me an overheating warning message. I called the excellent Crutchfield technical support and discovered that this was, most likely, due to me running 2 sets of speakers - one set of which was only 4 ohms while the other set was 8 ohms. This amp was designed for 8 ohm speakers, so I followed the testing procedure per Crutchfield's technical support who suggested running each set of speakers independently for a few days to see if only one set of speakers running at a time would cause the problem. It was clear after several days that the amp was fine, but in order to run both sets of speakers, due to the 4 ohm speaker set, it was recommended that I purchase a separate impedance-matching speaker selector switch with volume control. I immediately ordered this and plugged both sets of speakers into it and everything was fine and has been since th

Pros: The sound is stunning; it is aesthetically pleasing; very sturdy and well-made; has easily customized input names; provides a plethora of inputs

Cons: This is not really a con, but just be aware that if you want to run both sets of speakers at the same time and one set of speakers is 4 ohms, you may need to purchase a separate speaker selector switch with impedance matching and volume control. Crutchfield carries some excellent switches and once I hooked the two sets of speakers into the switch, the shut-off problem was solved.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Azur 851A

JJM from California on 12/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This UK amp is a powerhouse with cool, crisp power. I'm driving mostly analog components with a Marantz CD player and Kef LS50 speakers. There are few adjustments to do to the display, due to the English setup. Overall, performance excellent, power excellent, clean and heavy, but still very nice looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Azur 851A

td465c from Everett WA on 2/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When you unpack this amp, you realize it's a beast. It being engineered in the UK, the style and some functions are a bit different then amps engineered in other parts of the word. The end result is I have found an amp that I will never part with.

Pros: The name says it all.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

20 of 35 found this helpful

TOP