Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio Azur 851W

Stereo power amplifier (Black)

MFR # C10539

Cambridge Audio Azur 851W

Cambridge Audio Azur 851W

Stereo power amplifier (Black)

MFR # C10539

14 reviews
View this product

Very Happy. Still monitioring performance.

Crutchfield customer from New Albany, OH on 11/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got this amp. So far the sound quality is amazing. There is a big difference in my Martin Logan Motion 60 floor speakers. The amp does get hot and once I bit 72 on the volume it cut out and shut down. I will continue to monitor this amp carefully for heat and for shutting down. Otherwise I have been very happy to this point.

Pros: Great looking unit. Well built.

Cons: The instructions are not very good. I had to call support and we needed to get a supervisor to help. But Crutchfield support is amazing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Azur 851W

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have not used it much yet but the standby/power LED is barely visible but the matching 851N is much brighter and it don't seem to change when powered on so it's really hard to tell it is even turned on other than hearing sound at the speakers I have it sitting on top of a azur 851N and to my knowledge there is no rack mount kit

Pros:

Cons: LED status lights are barely visible

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Azur 851W

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

dope piece of equipment and beautiful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound, Bad Quality

BRIAN from Harbor City, CA on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These amps sound Amazing! I bought 2 of them, ran as mono blocks. After about a week the right channel went out on one of them. I set up a return and then reconnected the other amp to run the front speakers while waiting to ship the one back. Then a couple days later the other amp lost the right channel. I just returned them both. They also run extremely hot, but fans can take care of that. The sound is excellent but 2 going bad with the same problem that fast is concerning. I'll try something different.

Pros: Sounds Amazing

Cons: Runs HOT! 2 amps failing a couple days apart with the same problem not even 2 weeks old, quality issues?

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

no complaints

Steve from Raleigh, NC on 4/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After upgrading my CD player and seeing a big improvement I decided to see what other improvements I could make. I sold my Ad*om preamp and got a $1700 hybrid tube preamp. Honestly, there wasn't much difference. Still, I thought I'd try another power amp. I had an Ad*om that was working perfectly well. My initial thought was to try a $2500 well regarded power amp, I'm sure you know the one. I saw a few positive reviews for this power amp and decided to give it a try. I mean an $800 difference between this and the other I was considering isn't anything to sneeze at. I really doubted I could make an improvement, but with Crutchfield's return policy there was no risk in trying. On the first listen I noticed a big improvement. I can't characterize it as anything but cleaner and clearer. It isn't what I'd call sweeter or brighter, just a lot more revealing and transparent. To me it is simply sounds perfect. Like everyone says, it runs very hot, but there is no chance I am returning it. I am completely satisfied and thrilled with this purchase. Try it for yourself. You'll be glad you did.

Pros: Sound and build quality

Cons: Built in China

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I got the bad one...

Salvatore from Wayne, NJ on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I first purchased the Azur 851N which exceeded my expectation but, I felt I wanted more so, I decided to buy the Azur 851W to complete a matching set up. I unpacked the box and had this going and was completely satisfied with the sound, I didn't regret my purchase until the amp began to run exceptionally hot, it seemed to be only the right side. I purchased a couple of cooling fans to see if they would be of any help but it ran so hot I couldn't touch the right side without burning my hand; something must be wrong, One night while watching a movie my wife and I heard a pop, thought it was an effect from the movie. turns out the right channel was dead. I shut everything down and waited till the morning and turned it back on, the right channel was still out! I called Crutchfield and I was considering an exchange but after seeing another review about the same type of problem, I decided not to take a chance again, I purchased amp from a different manufacturer, all seems to be well now. First, I was completely satisfied with Crutchfield's return policy and they had my new amp on its way before the other was received by their returns department. I would have rated this 1 star but when it was working, it was so sweet, I guess this unit was the bad one, oh well

Pros: Sweet sounding amp!

Cons: Ran too hot, only had it a couple of weeks before returning a defective unit

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Azur 851W

Travis from Oklahoma on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been reading a lot of reviews on amplifiers. I keep coming back to the Azur 851 because of the specs. I live in in the middle of nowhere and had heard the McIntosh amps and Classe products. I really wanted a McIntosh because of the look and the sound of course but could not bring myself to that kind of money. After hooking the Cambridge up to my B&W CM10s2 I was very pleased. I had just been running a yamaha 2060 and just felt it did not have the power to push these to there potential. And I was right the Azur 851w brings so much more to the table when listening to very loud music. The midrange is much cleaner at high volume and also moved the crossover to large for a better bass response. Over all very nice amp. It does run hot but that after pushing it hard for an hour or two. Thanks Levi for all your help!

Pros: Built like a tank and very nice looking. Lots of clean power on tap. Would buy again. Cambridge products don't get the love they should.

Cons: None would buy again and recommend to a friend.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Crutchfield Hits a Home Run

Tim from Anchorage, AK on 10/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never heard music this way before! The Azur performs above what I had hoped to accomplish by purchasing a new amp and separate preamp. The base section is as smooth as velvet, but as full as you'd hope to obtain from a home system. No rattling of windows; although I did have to remove some fragile items from a wall shelf directly behind one of my speakers. Also, the unit is beautifully assembled. Soft LED lighting on the front and all the connections you'd expect on the back, even including balanced connectors to the preamp. I'm extremely happy with the help Crutchfield offered, without their full line of products and experts who helped with the decision, I doubt the Azur would be sitting in my music room.

Pros: Lots and lots of power. Great to look at and it didn't really cost an arm and leg. I think 2 grand is quite reasonable.

Cons: None at this time. The unit is easily meeting my expectations.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Azur 851W

Crutchfield customer from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 9/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted this stuff because when you look at it on the rear end of it on the computer screen you cannot tell the difference of the inputs for the uhd player! Here in the U.S. we have what is called universal inputs for this when you buy the main product such as a computer or a TV. you more less have freedom of choice on the type or brand of printer and screen for the computer. And the type and brand of blue player you want to hook to your TV. This thing I had to argue with every one in your there for a day 1/2. about this ! My Blu-Ray Player cost was a over 400.00 and to convert with their input . By the way you had to buy their converter to do this cost add on was another 200.00 to do this would make it close to what they wanted for their player! To me that is like a CON! So I think i going to talk to BBB. about this and see what they say about all this! No one informed me of this ahead of time when I ordered it. And those approved shipping lables say the back shipping will be still charged on me ! If they do i will call American Express and tell them about all this and they will take them Off!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 102 found this helpful

Swwweeeeeet amp, but runs very hot

Joe from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one of the best sounding amps I've ever heard, period! I would hold it's sound quality up agains a McIntosh or NAD any day. The sound is very clear, clean, precise, open, bright, delicate, warm, accurate, and sweet. In my opinion, at the price, this is one of the best deals in amps today. You can use it as a 2 channel 200/500 watt (8/4 ohms respectively) or as a 500/800 watt monobloc (which is the way I used them, until I had to return them). The connection options are awesome, both balanced/unbalanced inputs, 12v triggers, etc. My plan was to by 2 of them, to be used as monoblocs for my B&W 800 D3 speakers, and then eventually buy another 2, to run a pair of these amps for each of my speakers. The reason I ended up abandoning this plan and returning them was that they just go too dang hot, super hot; hot enough to burn your hand if you touched them. They say their topography is ClassXD, but they sound and act just like pure Class A amps, which are known to run VERY VERY hot. I tried cooling solutions I found on Amazon, but because of their honeycomb skin desing, I couldn't get these fans to provide a channeled airflow to keep them cool. One side of both amps eventually failed, and so I had to return them (I couldn't take the chance of them failing after the return period/warranty ended. My heart was devastated, as I REALLY loved these amps. I ended up with a Bryston 4B3. I wish Crutchfield would sell Bryston products.

Pros: Swwweeeeeet sounding amp, one of the very best sounding amps I've ever heard, plenty of power to burn, handles 4-ohm loads with ease, dynamic, clean, crisp yet delicate sounding. VERY flexible options (stereo, mono, bridge, etc.)

Cons: Runs HOT, very HOT. Did I mention that the amp runs HOT, probably hot enough to fry an egg on, but will certainly burn your hand? I tried external cooling fans, but found nothing that could really keep it comfortably cool.

Crutchfield response on

27 of 29 found this helpful

Best in its price range

Linconln from Brazil on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is simply the best power amplifier that I ever had! It has the same impact of Emotiva´s XPA2 for me but with a more pleasant sound. My Monitor Audio Silver 10 were suffering with the Parasound A23 and I simply couldn´t find a position to hear them the way I wanted. Cambridge´s beast unleashed all the qualities of the speakers and the position lost all the matter. It sounds very good even with low volume and gives the urge to raise up the level to feel the impact of bass. Last but not least, it has a beautiful finishing and I spent a lot of time looking at it when I first saw.

Pros: Powerfull Beautiful Noiseless

Cons: It´s hot! 2400 V it´s an unthinkable power consumption value although it is only measured in bridge at 4 ohms for what I´ve read

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

C.A. 851 W

Cristian G from Miami, FL on 11/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amplifier hooked up to a hotel rc 1590 ( i needed two pre out's and two sub out's ) with a pair or Martin Logan 60x and the sound is absolutely clean, practically no distortion at high volume and it makes the speakers open at a low volume. The finishing of the product is outstanding. I highly recommend this product to whoever who's into great sound and performance, worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Cambridge 851W

Cambridge 851W from Florida on 10/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge 851W to me is a great amplifier, punchy , with guts, and will beat any other amplifier costing twice or three time as much. Don't take my word for it, please go and purchase one from the guys at Crutchfield, if you don't like it you could returned and they give you your money back.

Pros: Everything.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

851W Kicks A$$!

Jim R from Florida on 3/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Wow! Wow! This amp brings it all to life! I WILL be adding a second!

Pros: The clarity is amazing! The power is awesome!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

TOP