Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Stereo integrated amplifier

MFR # C11083

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Stereo integrated amplifier

MFR # C11083

47 reviews
View this product

Great for the price!!

Christopher from Chicago, IL on 1/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little power amp. Hookedit up to a Music Hall table and vintage Bose 301 series 2. Sounds warm, rich and really good for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. Easy set up with KEF speakers and Pro-Ject turntable. Looks clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Value

Larry from Asheville, NC on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AXA-35 is an amazing value. If you've read any audio publications, you'll have read about the original NAD 3020, and that it was an exceptional value. I actually owned one, and it was pretty amazing for around $100. However, the AXA-35 is orders of magnitudes better. Interestingly, adjusted for inflation, the AXA-35 is priced the same as the 3020, but this is where the similarities end. The Cambridge has a large toroidal transformer, massive cast-aluminum heat sink, and what looks to be a dual-mono power amp design. These are design parameters normally associated with high-end amp designs, not an amp at this price! Cambridge made a couple of smart decisions with this amp. There is a front panel 3.5mm input that has an increased input gain of 10db. This is ideal for overcoming the lower headphone output levels from most smartphones. Most people might not realize the best music streamer you can buy is one your already own, your phone. On the back panel, there is a dedicated USB port designed to provide 5V at .5amp to power a BT receiver, if you don't want to connect via the front panel input. How does the unit sound? Great, especially when the price is taken into consideration. The hallmark of a good-sounding product is that when high-quality speaker wire and interconnects are used a difference can be heard. For associated cables/wire I would use Oxygen Free Copper. I would avoid CCA (Copper Clad Aluminum) wire as it tends to accentuate the bass.

Pros: Construction quality Product design.

Cons: none, especially for this price.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Emmaus, PA on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is exactly what I was looking for- all analog, class AB clean power with nothing in the way to mess up the signal. The only other thing I would like to see on this product is a tone control bypass. Other than that, it's perfect for my needs!

Pros: Sound, build quality

Cons: No tone control bypass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Modern meets Vintage

Crutchfield customer from Grandville, MI on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the sound and power of the AXA35. Ideal for me, to bring together, a Vintage Reel to Reel Tape Deck and Vintage FM Tuner, with a Modern CD player, Computer and iPad via a desktop DAC. More than enough power for the room, (Den), where I am using it to drive a pair of PSB XB Speakers.

Pros: Power, size and analog inputs.

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding Value

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, NJ on 10/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and drives my B&W 601's beautifully. I only use it for playing vinyl on my Project Carbon for now but we'll see what the future holds. My only issue is that I couldn't get it with charcoal or black front but that's just an esthetic issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Pawtucket, RI on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the money. I use focal 906 , sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Vass, NC on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to connect and works ! Too early to have a lot of comments about it. We are using it for outdoor speakers so I'm sure it will be perfect !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Fresno , CA on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very pleasantly surprised. This amp produces a good, clean, balanced sound with a wide variety of musical genres. I am using in a small bedroom with PSB Alpha speakers, Pioneer universal player, and Audioquest cables & interconnects.

Pros:

Cons: Could use better quality speaker connections.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds vintage in the best way

Crutchfield customer from KNOXVILLE, TN on 9/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp replaced a vintage 70's Sansui AU-505, a similar low-watt, minimalist integrated that was finally starting to flake out after 50 years. The old Sansuis were renowned for being beefy, over-built, incredibly sweet sounding, and easy to listen to. This Cambridge is remarkably similar: solid, weighty bass without any bloat, smooth, easy, slightly laid-back mids, and silky, airy highs without a hint of sibilance. It's powering a pair of home-grown bookshelf monitors comprised of Dayton Audio 7 inch esoteric woofers (with notoriously low efficiency: 85 db!) and SB Acoustics Satori 1 inch ring dome tweeters in my 10 X 10 office. They get as loud as I'd ever want them. This amp is a steal.

Pros: Sound is smooth and easy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Thanks Cambridge Audio

Crutchfield customer from Douglas, GA on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

incredible sounds. surprised at my Bose 301's and Polk Audio (550 T) speakers' performance. had driven them with 2 different receivers. This A35 coupled with the C35 is nothing short of the best

Pros: Ease of use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, transparent audio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AXA35

Mark from Columbia, IL on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit for a small listening room. So far the unit been solid. Sounds good for the price. Plenty of power for a small room. I wanted it for the all analog hook up. I have two turntables connected. A Fluance RT85 and a U-Turn orbit. Driving Def Techs BP7004's. Getting a pair of Triangle BRO3's this coming weekend. The cons would be I wish the volume would turn on at zero, not at -50, and the binding post were better quality. The binding post are the real draw back. But overall a great little unit to start out with. I would recommend getting this and buy the better source gear then upgrade this later.

Pros: Sounds good at low medium levels. Perfect Amp to start your audio system with.

Cons: Binding post, worst I have ever seen on any Amp I previously owned.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

A from OWINGS MILLS, MD on 7/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid little amp with plenty of power and a built-in phono stage. Build quality is first rate at this price point. Using this for a second vinyl system in the home office, drives my Monitor Audio Silver 2 speakers nicely. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great low profile integrated amp.

Crutchfield customer from Normal, IL on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The axa35 is a great little integrated amp that pairs well with all neutral to lively speakers. The size of the unit is a major plus as well, it's about half the height of a stereo receiver from one of the big brands like yamaha or denon. Also don't be tricked into thinking 35 watts isn't enough power.

Pros: Smooth easy to live with sound Low profile All analog! 5 way binding posts! Detachable power cable

Cons: No subwoofer out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well Rounded

David from New Providence, NJ on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let's start by saying, this is not what I expected based on the review's that I'd read. The challenge was that as soon as my daughter heard it, the first thing she said, it does not sound as good at the old one that burnt up. I was on a budget and I think that for my home office this will suffice. It's clear, the sound is concise, it does however lack the depth that my old unit had, the sound is uninspiring. I think that the reviews stating that it was a decent entry level unit were accurate. The set up is easy, and the simplicity of the design makes it a good choice. It does power my PSB floor standing speakers very well and does not over power them in any way. Overall, it's a solid unit.

Pros: -Price -Clean and Crisp Sound

Cons: -Lacks depth

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, CA on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced a budget receiver that failed. The improvement in sound quality has been pretty astounding. It powers my Polk bookshelf speakers to a volume which loader tjan I can listen to - and does so cleanly. This is a simple, no-fuss unit that generates no perceptible heat. I bought the amp because I was so impressed with Cambridge Audio's customer service related to my DACMAGIC 100. The three year warranty was also a deciding factor. If you meed a budget amp that sounds and acts like something more expensive then you cannot go wrong with unit.Cambridge Audio AXA35

Pros: 3 year warranty Clean Sound Backed with grat customer service

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great phono stage

David from Saltlakecity on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are always engeening comprises at this price point My dislike is the plasticity volume control feels like it could fail vary easily and the phono ground lug which requires a flathead screwdriver to loosen and tighten rather then the usual thumscrew used on most amplifiers but the chassis is vary solid and nice think aluminum front panel And nice IEC power card Sound is crisp and clean with plenty of drive for most budget speaker that are most likely to be used with an amp in this price range the real surprise is the vary nice phono stage it's very quiet and clear with a touch of warmth it I would rate between 3 and 4 stars

Pros: Vary nice phono stage Crisp punchy sound solid chassis And faceplate

Cons: Cheap plasticy volume control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very good Laid back and warm sound.

Crutchfield customer from Kentwood, LA on 5/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good Laid back and warm sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Except for the Bluetooth...

Chip from New York on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amp looking for a few things. Those things were as follows: 1) High quality, clean amplifier 2) Only the necessary features - sufficient inputs (phono is nice) but not every bell and whistle 3) Known and respected name brand 4) Bluetooth connectivity to other devices 5) Nice enough appearance that it won't offend anyone This product scores high marks on all but the Bluetooth connectivity. If you are looking for no noticeable difference between wired and wireless connectivity (and I really was), this is not the case. There is a very noticeable difference--to the point that I never use it. It is annoying to plug in a wire all the time but not a deal breaker. Still love the amp, it is paired with Klipsh speakers and sub-woofer and has a wonderful sound, but it gets 4 out of 5 stars because the Bluetooth connection in not really usable.

Pros: Quality of the amp Simple but complete feature set Good looks

Cons: Bluetooth sound quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great build and soud w/ no frills at an affordable price

Crutchfield customer from Old Hickory, TN on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feels nice and sturdy, for a less expensive integrated it feels less plastic-y. I use this for 80% vinyl records and 20% streaming (via chromecast audio) and like the sound from the phono preamp. Warm but not overly colored + detailed, goes well with my P2 and Nagoaka 110. All in all well built, sounds great for the price, can't think of anything wrong with it. Are there better integrateds at higher price points - yes. But, this no frills all analog unit is a beast for the price point and is a great choice if you don't need a multitude of inputs and really just want something for vinyl/streaming under $1000.

Pros: Affordable No frills - all analog Not too overly coloring Conservative WPC rating

Cons: None at this price point

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for my needs. Clear and defined sound.

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Geat Sound and good looks

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, IL on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listen exclusively to CD's and LP's so I ditched my surround sound receiver for the Cambridge AXA35 amp. What a difference. The sound quality is outstanding. I'm hearing subtleties in the music which I never heard before. I purchased this amp based on a YouTube review and I am not disappointed as it is everything the reviewer stated. I'm working through my record collection and LP's that I've frequently listened to sound fresh and new. Very pleased. This amp is a great value at this price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect amp, but with a catch.

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a good sounding. High build quality. Very clean look. Definitely an emphasis on asthetics, which is why I bought it. My wife is an architect, and she is very picky about what we put in our house. Unfortunately, I had to return the amp. There is an auto standby feature. It's nice, but it doesn't automatically turn back on when a signal is detected, which I assumed would be the case. I use a smart speaker with my stereo, so I must have an amp that can come out of standby automatically, or at the very least, the ability to turn off auto standby. Unfortunately there is no way to disable the auto standby feature. I really wanted this amp to work out because I really love everything else about it. But unfortunately I had to send it back.

Pros: Build quality, sound quality, aesthetics

Cons: No way to disable auto standby. Does not wake automatically when a signal is present.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Mawah

Willism from Mawah on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

when i first started buying better quality audio gear in 2017, i made novice mistakes. one was, i wanted a good stereo, but never really qualified what that meant. what i failed to realize was that, different higher end audio houses strive for different sounds, and just because you pay more doesn't mean you'll get the sound you want. .some gear is very clear and bright, where i perfer a dark and nuanced sound. i went through a new NAD which was accurate if little cold, a 1970 Harmon kardon and a 1961 hh scott, both of which died. so much for the charms of 50 yeat old gear. i did not want home theater, but good 1960's and 70s stereo imaging to hear rock and jazz. well, when i spoke to a salesmen at Crutchfield, he was able to get me the exact sound i wanted with the Cambridge audio axa-35 . this grey, flat, sleek looking amp runs at 35 watts per channel and costs this much--but the power and sound quality of the cambridge axa-35 far, far, far outshine their respective ratings and price point. the amp delivers clear, detailed stereo sound---the bass is lush and the treble is non-intrusive yet reveals amazing detail. mid range is clear. these sound values become important for me, as i play older--pre-digtal music. Cambridge was founded at the English university in 1968 by two engineering students, and their modern gear is actually a throwback to when stereo listening was a household activity as opposed to a niche market. Cambridge IS made for guys like me, who still enjoy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from South Weber, UT on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this amp it sounds great. The remote is handy. I would have gave it 5 stars if the speaker terminals were of better quality they are cheap plastic.

Pros:

Cons: Speaker terminals

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Gt Barrington, MA on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's fine would like the volume pre set to be where I want it not at zero,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great piece

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Build and sound quality does not suggest a $350 price tag. It actually feels and sounds much more expensive. Would highly recommend for a pair of efficient 2-channel loudspeakers. Still, will think about upgrading in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence Twp, NJ on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The buying process through Crutchfield was simple and effective. The amp is good, providing a detailed sound and I like the build quality. The only reason for not providing 5 stars is that it doesn't have the power I would have expected, the bass sounds a little forced once to raise the volume. I will keep tweaking settings to see if I can improve it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Integrated amplifier

Dennis from ABER PROV GRD, MD on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of the Klipsch RP-600Ms and paired them to an Onkyo A-9010. I never enjoyed the sound. They sounded a little bright and forward. Almost sold them to get something else. I decided to try the Cambridge after hearing about its warmth. Wow...I was really impressed since the minute I paired it to the RP600Ms. It was a night and day change for me. For the first time I was able to listen to these speakers. The extra warmth is nice but the top end its so detailed. Its a perfect match in my opinion. The amplifier sounds very muscular for its 35 watts in a small room and its build is excellent. I just love it.

Pros: The sound and built quality are excellent.

Cons: The remote and buttons are all black. Very hard to see even during day light.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Troy, OH on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

running a set of wharfedale lintons with the axa35 and couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Grove, NJ on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp! It goes great with the musical hall usb-1 turntable that I purchased with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beats anything I've heard even at 35 watts

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, NJ on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased B&W 606 S2s for my living room. These are ear level on a bookshelf flanking a fireplace. Speaker to opposing wall is 13' and the room is 22' wide. I had a Yamaha RX-V681 laying around and used that. Sounded fine but I felt the B&Ws deserved something better. So with the RX-V681 (which sounds very nice BTW) as my reference here is what I tried: - Yamaha R-N303 : The RX-V681 is better. You need to turn this up to 70% to get any good detail. - Sonos Amp (the new one): Extremely disappointed. The musicality was really lacking. I am shocked at any audiophile review giving this good marks. - Marantz PM-7000N: Beautiful component and very competent. It ticked a lot of boxes but one major problem. It was simply too loud for the room. A low volumes it could not bring out the detail across the spectrum and if I wanted to hear the detail I had to turn it up. Anything past 25% was just blasting it. Biggest complaint: missing midrange. - Cambridge AXA35: From the first note, I knew I had a winner. I couldn't believe my ears. At all volumes it sounds the same and anyone who thinks 35 watts is not enough must have a very large space or very inefficient speakers. The base was amazing. Punchy, yes. I feel like I was getting everything out of the B&Ws. I played the same reference material (because I know these songs really well and can tell differences). I heard things I've never heard before in this music. So the AXA35 is the best sounding and cheap

Pros: Well rounded sound Best sound I've heard under $1000 Sounds great a low volumes Price

Cons: No banana plug I really can't say anything bad. This thing sounds better than amps 3 times the price.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Great bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke, MA on 1/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price. Working well with my turntable setup. Everything sounds great.

Pros: Prices and performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Trappe, PA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sounding with an elegant design. Everything about this Integrated amp just makes me want to tell everyone to buy it. For the price this cannot be beat. Let your ears enjoy everything it has to offer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Round Rock

Lee from Round Rock on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sleek look, and great sound. Bought to replace an old Pioneer receiver that had finally given up. I do wish the binding posts were a little further apart, as getting the wires in with my stubby fingers was a absolute pain. But I couldn't be happier with the results, especially for the price.

Pros: Sounds great, looks great, good value.

Cons: Binding posts are a little close together and can make getting the wires in a little frustrating.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from WALLKILL, NY on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amplifier paired with Cambridge Audio SX-50 speakers. Simply awesome and warm sound. Couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Shelburne Falls, MA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Balanced sound, connected to Pre Box S2 DAC and Elac speakers. Listening mostly to Bluesound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacement for 43 year old "stereo amplifier"

Crutchfield customer from Holmen, WI on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AT the outset I got excellent and very helpful advice from your Crutchfield adviser when I found out that a functional replacement for my failed 43 year old "stereo amplifier" is now called an "integrated amplifier". He immediated suggested a Cambridge Audio AXA35 which performs perfectly to suit my external CD player, external AM/FM tuner, and vintage turntable that requires a RIAA compensated input. Thank you so very much.

Pros: A nice feature of the AXA35 has which the 43 year old unit lacked is a "contactless" level control, with the feature of automatic level reduction upon turn-on. No more "blasting" at high initial level, and no more contact corrosion problems!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audiophile quality at a budget price

STEVEN from Arvada on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I debated about giving this review 4 stars instead of 5 stars for the cheap binding terminal screws that came with my amp. They would not take banana plugs and even the photos here on Crutchfield's site show a higher quality binding terminal screw. So had to replace those from the start to connect my speakers. Now on to the high points. The amp really gets a 5 stars for the sound, which is the ultimate test. I am using it with Definitive BP-30 floorstanding speakers (91db into 8 ohms) along with a Definitive subwoofer with speaker level inputs. The overall sound profile is one where the highs are not shrill, the mids are warm and the base being full though when driven at higher volumes (I mean loud) loses tightness and becomes a bit flabby. For my listening levels, which are fairly loud, it performs well, and I have more than enough power. Musical separation and soundstage are really good and there is zero noise coming from the amp when volume turned up without input signal. I also appreciate the removable heavy gauge power cord as power sourcing plays a big role in overall performance. I have only put digital music sources into this amp. Using a Blu-Dento Bluetooth receiver with optical out into a Schit Modi DAC and am pleased with the result. So can't comment on the Phono Stage of this amp. Came from a Yamaha AV Receiver and the difference in musical separation, soundstage and natural musicality is night and day. Highly recommended at this price.

Pros: Class A/B design. Focus on the sound amplification features vs. extras. Enough power to drive quality speakers. Simple design.

Cons: Cheap binding terminal screws. Cheap, but adequate, remote. Check tone controls to ensure set to zero position, my bass and treble were rolled off 10 db (-1) affecting initial listening results.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXA35

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, DE on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read many 5 star reviews I am using this with B&W 607 speakers, Elac Unifi UB5 - both around 86 db efficiency - small room with subwoofer so keep this in mind - this amp drives them easily Martin Logan 600X subwoofer Questyle CMA 400i DAC Audio Technica LP 7 turntable with Audio Technica MM Cartridge Phono stage is good - you will have to spend a lot more for a separate phono preamp to exceed this performance Power output is closer to 50 watts per channel at 8 ohms and 60 watts per channel at 4 ohms As you can see, I am not using this amplifier with cheap speakers and turntables - the speakers and turntable are much more expensive than this integrated amplifier but the sound quality from this amp is able to easily compliment the associated equipment. I don't want/need digital inputs that use a cheap dac. Please don't give any value to reviews that don't provide associated equipment quality or pictures that show yard sale equipment used with this amp. I previously had a marantz PM5005 but did not like the unnatural sound it produced. It is definetly not neutral and/or uncolored. The Cambridge sounds so much better. You don't need a subwoofer output if you have a subwoofer with speaker level inputs - PS Audio and REL both recommend speaker level inputs to your subwoofer.

Pros: Great natural sound much more powerful that the specs suggest - this is a basic integrated amplifier in which all the funds are spent on sound quality and not unnecessary features. Detachable power cord - how many budget integrated amplifiers have this?

Cons: Cheap plastic remote - what do you expect for an amp that excels in sound and not extras that you don't need?

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Pretty to look at, that's were it ends.

Joseph from CRYSTAL LAKE on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AXA35 is an attractive integrated amplifier, capable of building a simple office or bedroom system around. It's easy to use and pairs nicely with the CD player of the range. It's high level inputs reproduce sound well without fatigue. It has a nice enough tone to it, although lacking in bass and upper end clarity. If however you think the included phone stage is worthy of hooking up anything beyond a plasticity entry level Audio Technica LP 60, think again. It is dull, lufeliss and sterile. The kind of flash a RIAA curve on a chip and call it a day phono section. Frankly, I've heard better entry level pieces from Sherwood that blow this away for sound and as is the case of the Sherwood RX4109 available for mere pennies on the dollar, blow this amp away by any measure except cosmetics. Torroidial transformers are great, but do nothing for sound. Discrete phono sections do. In my opinion, avoid anything from Cambridge and buy a used Anything. I'm partial to the Audiolab 8000A which is in the lineage dna of this thing. If you must buy new, direct your attention to Onkyo, Marantz or Denon where the phono stage was more than an afterthought. My turntables included for my audition were a Linn Sondek LP12, Systemdek IIx and Teach TN200. The Teac's onboard phono stage was light years ahead of the internal Cambridge phono stage.

Pros: Decent sound quality. Liveable. Weak bottom end, meant to drive tiny logo speakers from Audio Engine, Klipsch/Jamo Pioneer.

Cons: Absolutely junk phono stage. It will make your ears bleed. Ideal for the person that wants the kitsch of a turntable but thinks mp3 files are the bomb.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 26 found this helpful

GRIFFITH

Cary from Griffith, IN on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I rated 5 stars as this integrated amp is top notch with decent power. I had the volume knob turned up at 67% and the sound was fairly loud for this 35 watt integrated amp. HOWEVER, I went from my Rotel "pre-amp and amp setup" to this integrated amp. Although the Cambridge integrated amp was a bit clearer, it was no match for my "Rotel separates." Hence, the old school philosophy of having a separate pre-amp and amp is CRITICAL in the game. The "dynamic range" of the separates will be hard to beat (unless you dish out the big bucks for an integrated amp). Notwithstanding, for the price, the Cambridge AXA 35 is awesome!

Pros: Very clear detail in sound quality. Sleek build. Inexpensive with decent power at only 35 watts. Seems like more power in actuality.

Cons: This "integrated amp" (like most integrated amps) is no match for the separates (a pre-amp & amp set-up). Lastly, it is an 8ohm integrated amp. You cannot use 6 or 4 ohm speakers.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Beautiful

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely incredible sound! And plenty loud for a 35 watt amp. It's sleek and beautiful too. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good sound from entry level integrated amp.

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just getting into the hi-fi scene but this entry level integrated seems to do the trick. I have it paired with a set of Klipsch RP280 tower speakers and it seems to drive them just fine. I wish the amp had a dedicated sub out to make things a bit easier, but I just ordered a powered sub to add to the system using the speaker level outputs. Amp is simple to use, has a clean design, and seems to be decent quality. Nice to be listening to quality sound again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great amp

B from Lancaster, PA on 2/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great sounding amp. I was concerned with the power rating but it has more than enough power. I am currently using it with my DCM TF400 speakers. It has a very clean sound. It is full sounding at even low volume levels. The sound remains stable even when pushing the amp harder. Has a great look to it, very minimal and sleek looking. I bought a "scratch and dent" model but it is completely flawless, I am guessing maybe it was an open box? I would highly recommend this amp for someone looking for a good sounding amp that won't break the bank.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect gear for the small apartment.

Joe from Milwaukee, WI on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First heard of this little amp was from Steve Guttenburg of CNET and his own YouTube channel. This is the perfect amp for your apartment, very clean sound . Very easy to hook your CD player, also sounds great with my turntable. Never considered Cambridge Audio before now. The matching AXC CD player is very warm sounding. Perfect sounding gear for the apartment. Friends were very impressed for beginner gear. Also want to thank Quinn and Willie for their help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

TOP