Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # C11092

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # C11092

128 reviews
View this product

Good value

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ample power, good tuner- fairly sensitive and selective. Nice clean sound into a pair of Andrew Jones bookshelf speakers. Bluetooth works very well! Wish there was a low volume compensation feature that would boost bass and treble.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

We wanted to keep it

Nathaniel from Orlando, FL on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding amp, especially for the money. We loved it so much we almost kept it despite its flaw. It sounded great through all sources and was very forgiving to poorly recorded music. Unfortunately, ours had the noisy fan problem that has plagued others. If you jam out to your music, you'll never hear it until the music stops. The fan noise was ever present, always humming in the background, when we listened to classical, softer jazz, or any music with a wide dynamic range really. Cambridge should work with a company like Noctua to put some deadly silent fans in their products. Even if it raised the price of the AXR100 it would still be one of the best amps under $1000 I'd wager. Cheers to Customer Support for the friendly and awesome service!

Pros: Great sound, features, and value for dollar

Cons: Noisy fan, limited to 1 paired bluetooth device at a time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent purchase . No bells and whistles , just a solid receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 11/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it's supposed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Clean driving record

Crutchfield customer from Braddock, PA on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Drives the wharfedale lintons to a T. Love the phono setup I have right now... driven by the AXR100. Sweet sounding. Love...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent DAC quality

Stu from Brooklyn, NY on 10/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible DAC -- very good quality and value for the price. I had been using a Yamaha integrated amp for almost a decade, but after hooking the same speakers up to the AXR-100 the sound quality improvement was immediately obvious. Warm, crisp and clear. I mostly stream Spotify through a Chromecast HDMI (using a J-Tech Audio Extractor to split the digital audio and connect it via optical to the AXR-100. I also have a Pro-Ject turntable and find the AXR phono input to be better than using the turntable's built-in phono pre-amp. I'm delighted with my purchase, which I made after a detailed discussion about speaker selection and impedance with a Crutchfield support specialist. Overall wonderful experience.. my next hi-fi purchase will certainly be via Crutchfield!

Pros: DAC quality, analog and digital inputs, style, build

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointed

Tim from Moultrie, GA on 10/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me first say this is no way directed at Crutchfield they are awesome I purchased a Cambridge Audio Axr100 after researching for quite sometime I have always owned and loved the performance of my vintage Pioneer and Marantz equipment but figured I'd try some modern equipment what a disappointment the sound stage is good but the bass is very flat and shallow midrange is shallow as well highs are flat as well 100 watts per channel well the bass mids and highs sound it's best with this reciever at 1/4 volume and loses as volume is raised eventually sounding absolutely terrible the modern comfort features are nice if you're looking to drive a pair of bookshelf speakers this reciever may be a good fit driving larger loudspeakers this ain't it by the way I tried four different pairs of speakers I will be hooking my Pioneer SX-3900 back up and use this reciever in my bedroom or regift it for Christmas

Pros: Convenient features

Cons: Sound disappointing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Velva, ND on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing- very happy with purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Milan, MI on 10/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the simplicity. The receiver has excellent sound.

Pros: Excellent price for sound quality. Perfect for a 2.1 setup.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Jeremy from Lexington, KY on 10/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The number of digital inputs, wattage, A+B speakers, and reputation are what sold me on the AXR100. I briefly used it to power my 20+ year old PSB Alphas but after realizing they were having issues of their own, I replaced them with Klipsch RP-160M and am bi-wiring them with the AXR100 Two things kept me from giving this 5 stars: 1) The remote is not great. It's functional. It even controls a CD player I don't have. It's poorly laid out, not backlight, and could be done so much better. 2) The volume resets at every power off. I know this is a protection mechanism, but it's annoying. I contacted Cambridge Audio and they said there is no way around this behavior. It's not horrible behavior -- just annoying. Overall, though, the amp certainly seems capable enough and the sound is so much better than the 24 year Harmon Kardon it replaced. I didn't get enough of a comparison between the PSBs and the Klipsch speakers to feel like I know the amp's character, but I definitely enjoy the Cambridge/Klipsch combination. They've made a great stereo image/soundstage in my office/studio. I didn't realize how much my previous setup had aged and deteriorated until I really sat and listened to this new setup.

Pros: Digital inputs, speaker A+B outs, power and warmth

Cons: Remote design, volume reset at power off

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Lots of good, but fatal flaw (to me)

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Loaf, NY on 9/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of power for the $$. Good quality sound for this price range. The fan noise issue which I was told had been rectified is not. Even at moderate volumes the fan was on constantly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, CA on 9/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my purchase. I paired it with couple of KLH Kendall speakers and it sounds amazing in my large room even with my speakers not yet run in completely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice amp for thise who dont want 5 way AV

Crutchfield customer from Sonoma, CA on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for music only set up. UPDATED 9/25/21: Fan noise developed after 2 weeks bad fan noise developed on the unit. I just turned it on and it was there. Unit wasn't even warm. Very noticeable noise. Not happy with this amp! May return

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful sound but had problems with the fan noise once was warmed up. The noise did not interfere with the sound but annoyed me between LPs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/20/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sound, looks, features, all at a bargain

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 9/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge AXR100 (R100) was purchased as a separated stereo system within my 5.2 surround system. I wanted to use my same front speakers for both systems so I have a passive A/B switch between the R100 and my surround amp. To put the stereo system in perspective, here is the set-up: The speakers are GoldenEar Triton 3+, the subwoofer is GoldenEar Phase 4, DVD/blueray is Oppo UDP 203, turntable is a Raga P6 with Ania MC cartridge, and I stream with the Audioengine b1. All are connected to the R100. I wanted to simplify my setup and find a component with clean, neat design that did not cost a fortune. The R100 has all the features I need, has great reviews, and looks amazing. If you're wondering how Cambridge kept the cost down without cutting all its features, let me introduce you to Cambridge's version of the universal remote: Weighing in at little more than its AAA batteries, the remote, which can operate several Cambridge components, is the antithesis of the Cambridge design. With over 41 buttons (with 23 of them for an entirely different unit) all printed with blue or white on black buttons on a black remote, it looks like it belongs to a totally different company. This is not a remote that can be used in dim light. On the plus side, all features of the R100 (and apparently their CD player as well) can be accessed from the remote. It's too bad they couldn't have added a bit to the cost and made a remote that compliments their design.

Pros: Looks. Sound. Features. Cost

Cons: Remote. Yikes! Where did that come from!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Very Nice Amp

Crutchfield customer from Barrington, RI on 9/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought unit for a bedroom /home office. Speakers: Pair Klispch RP 500M & pair Klipsch RB 61 II and Cambridge Audio Minx X201 sub woofer Yamaha WXC-50 Streamer with Yamaha MusicCast Software app. I have a Schiit Loki equalizer between the Yamaha & the Amp. Need more upper mids to hear voices better. Wanted 4 speakers, Radio, Blue Tooth & digital inputs. Did not need HDMI. Allows for options later. I have a living room system build around an Outlaw receiver. The sound is very good at lower volume. The room is not that big. I use Tidal for music and MusicCast for Internet radio, BBC & classical. Runs cool. Over the air radio is good though I am 15 miles from a city. The remote is OK. Need the eyes of a Peregrine falcon to read the symbols and one section has blue lettering on a black ground which would challenge the aforementioned bird. Odd the there is no specific controls for Bass, Treble and Balance on either the front panel or remote. Need to access the menu. Very happy the the Amp.

Pros: Sounds great. Does what you need for a Stereo system. Add speakers and a Streamer and enjoy

Cons: No discrete Bass, Treble or Balance controls on panel or remote. Need to access menu. Lettering on remote requires super human eye sight.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent Value, Great Sound.

Crutchfield customer from Lindale, TX on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Cambridge sound with plenty of power to drive my speakers. I use this as a secondary amp for listening to music in the bedroom. My main amp in the study is a Cambridge CXA81. The AXR100 is 75 to 80% as capable as the CXR81 at 50% the price. Definitely a keeper.

Pros: Excellent Sound quality. Plenty of Power. Very Well Built. Great Value.

Cons: I don't need the AM / FM receiver. No HDMI input.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 8/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Warm & Rich sounding receiver with a slightly laid back treble (but not rolled off so you get full extension into the higher frequencies). Wonderful synergy with my Klipsch speakers (RP600).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, KY on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, good power and very clear

Pros: Power,clarity and straight forward

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Works Great !!

Crutchfield customer from Colfax, IA on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great !!! Lots of power and easy to use.

Pros: Easy to use. Lots of power. Sounds great in my shop. Looks good.

Cons: does not have lots of options for control of sound

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Paw Paw, MI on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean sound, easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, MS on 8/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased and so far so good. Quality sound.....able to drive my B&Ws 804s.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Universal City, TX on 7/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect piece of audio gear for our general listening needs. It fills our large living room with beautiful music!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BLOWN AWAY

Crutchfield customer from Edison, NJ on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I matched the AXR100 with the AXC35, a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO, and a pair of Monitor Audio Silver 500 speakers. Excellent sound reproduction ! The AXR 100 is a very high quality amp/stereo receiver, Yes, a 100 watt stereo receiver with great reception for good old FM Radio. A clean sounding powerful amp that sounds bigger than a 100 watts, with a very capable phono pre amp, a solid DAC, easy set up, and stunning looks. If true sound reproduction is top on your list, look no further--the AXR 100 is it !

Pros: powerful amp, very nice phono stage preamp, great fm reception, balance, treble and bass adjustments, stunning looks , easy set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Thomas from HENRIETTA, NY on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned my AXR100 for just about a year now and am very happy with my purchase. I was looking for good sound on a budget and the AXR100 really hits that spot. I currently use it with a Bluesound Node connected with RCA cables for streaming music and my tv connected with a toslink cable. Music sounds very natural and detailed. In my opinion, this receiver would fall into the neutral range. The tv sounds great too. Of course it doesn't do surround but I'm ok with that. Plenty of power to drive my speakers. For my listening tastes I'm usually at a little less than half volume. I look forward to eventually upgrading my speakers, which I'm sure will make my system sound even better. I also like that it has a built in phono stage. As my budget permits I would like to take up vinyl as an added hobby or maybe return to CDs with a CD player. I miss the days of going to the record store and looking through the rows of available music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Lots of power

Joel from Seattle on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver to pair with ELAC Uni-Fi BS U5 Slim speakers. I really like the combo. The Elac speakers are rated at 4 ohms and so need a decent amount of power. The thing I like about this receiver is that it is no frills, basic and powerful. I listen to vinyl, CDs and occasionally the radio. My personal collections sound great and I now hear details I had not heard before. The Bluetooth easily connects to my iPhone. And I find it has a very good range, unlike some of the other reviewers. Lastly, it just looks awesome. I also bought Cambridge Audio AXC35 CD player. It has good sound, shares the same remotes as the receiver and the two look great together. Zac was very helpful in my making my decision.

Pros: Powerful Simple Awesome looking

Cons: I wish the speaker connections allowed for banana plugs

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Very happy

Crutchfield customer from Iowa City, IA on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and incredibly easy set up. Both the phono pre and DAC are excellent.

Pros: Phono pre, DAC, tuner all excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a 100 W per channel receiver it sounds like it's delivering 400 W per channel great detail great sound I will tell everybody about this receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

AXR100

Benjamin from Chevy Chase, MD on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Cambridge stereo receiver feels solid, looks good and sounds fabulous with my ELAC bookshelf speakers. Price point is spot on for its quality. Crutchfield shipping was secure and fast, I received the item within 2 days of placing my order. Highly recommended product and vendor!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Ambridge, PA on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great sounding receiver with plenty of power and clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge AXR 100

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 6/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a Sansui 5000A and a Denon AV 1602, I got a Cambridge AXR100..big difference in technology over fifty-one years!. I like my records, CDs', run four speakers and a sub so having power is great and everything is very smooth. I've only had it up and running for a week but so far so good and I'm happy. Big shoutout to advisors Calvin and Mike for their help with my purchase and setup..thanks guys!

Pros: Smooth, powerful sound and off the charts customer service

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Avon, OH on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never knew Cambridge, based on simplicity and sound I am very pleased with the AXR100! Love the Blue Tooth feature!

Pros: Excellent sound quality and simple to operate

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

upgrade/replacement

Crutchfield customer from Bowling Green, OH on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Audio AXR100 replaced a Yamaha Theater type of amplifier of which the sub woofer amp quit. I am really impressed with this new amp and the quality of the FM is much improved

Pros: better FM

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Curwensville, PA on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every thing I need to hook up my old and new equipment!!

Pros:

Cons: Cannot control all equipment with remote!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

hello eatiy after buying some speaker brand jamo or cambridge floorstanding

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Mentor, OH on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this receiver. I'm not an audiophile at all. More of a Neanderthal who likes to crank the hifi. And this cranks.

Pros: Power

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality stereo receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean, honest performance. Sounds so much better than the one I replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2 channels of Cambridge fidelity

Benjamin D. from Charleston, ME on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went into purchasing this receiver from reading a lot of reviews, so with that said, I knew that this is a basic no frills good old fashioned stereo receiver. However, I didn't know how I would like the sound quality or power to deliver. After a couple months of use to make sure everything is broken in, I am very much impressed with both the quality and power. I'm running a pair of Elac Uni-Fi 2.0 UB52's. I've read reviews that the UB52's can be a little power hungry and this receiver is definitely up for the task. I have not pushed this setup very hard, as it is in a smaller bedroom so I have no need to. I find myself sometimes listening to music for hours at a moderate to slightly loud volume level and smiling the whole time. The Elac's are 6 ohms and this receiver is designed to operate with that load. To seal the deal it has a pre-out for a subwoofer. I didn't find many that had that option for this price range. The controls are basic and easy to setup and use. The Bluetooth has a limited range, but I don't hold that against Cambridge; higher quality Bluetooth typically has less range. Personally, i only use Bluetooth when I'm using it for background noise, as dedicated or wired audio devices always sound better. The only issue that i have is after so many minutes with no signal the receiver will turn off to save on power consumption. To me this is a drop in the bucket compared to the sound quality which is exactly what i was hoping for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

Doug from Clyde on 4/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I loved the sound, detail, and presentation of this receiver. The deal breaker is the tone controls adjusting in 2db increments. I ran this with EVO 4.2s and the sound is simply satisfying. But I need more tone control range. This would be perfect with traditional tone controls and a variable loudness, or midrange control. This unit deserves 5 stars. I did return this and kept my integrated with tone and variable loudness controls.

Pros: Everything except the cons I listed

Cons: Tone controls adjust in 2db increments. BT does cut out but does sound great Remote is small hard to see Display is dim and hard to see

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

It Fits My Lifestyle

Crutchfield customer from Mayfield, UT on 4/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought it to replace a 40-year-old Kenwood with all its attachments. Best part is that the Cambridge has compatible connections for the functioning part of the old system. Unlike "smart" stuff that pretends nothing existed before them, thus rendering perfectly functional add-ons totally useless, this Cambridge receiver accepts that I have pre-smart components. WOW!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Second time is a charm

Crutchfield customer from Central Point, OR on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While the first unit had a dead amplifier section, Crutchfield service immediately sent out a replacement and it meets or exceeds expectations. Nice, simple, excellent sounding unit.

Pros: Good sound, nice ergonomics, everything I wanted Crutchfield service

Cons: First unit had a dead amplifier section.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive sound, worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this amplifier. Clear sound and great look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great 2 channel music maker!

Doug from Newark, NY on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was using a Yamaha 501 with a WXC 50 streamer to drive a set of Evo 4.2s. The 501 drove them with detail and authority. Yet there was always a brightness to the sound. I managed it by changing the speaker leads to the bass terminals and replacing the stock jumpers. With the right recording the sound is holographic, and yes the 4.2s are so sensitive you can change the sound by how you wire to them and what jumpers you use. I love the 501s loudness control it helped create soundstage by leveling out the different frequencies to my liking. I went with the AXR 100 for the Cambridge sound, that I have only read about, tone and balance controls, the 100 watts for drive at low listening levels. Hooked up the 100 to the 4.2s and the WXC 50. Initial first impression was well this is not what I am looking for. I tried the tone controls and different jumpers on the 4.2s. Ended up with stock jumpers and speaker wires to the bass terminals. The bass was strong but booming the treble still off and bright. I then tried the BT function to my Sony NWA 45, with some flac files. The BT sounded incredible. The difference was using the DAC in the 100, not the DAC in the WXC50. I then hooked the WXC50 to the 100 via coaxial input. Using the 100s internal DAC the Cambridge gives me that warm and detailed sound I read about. I am listening to Diana Krall while posting this, simply beautiful. ACDCs Touch to Much, not bad, Beating around the bush, Very Good. Bon Jovi Prayer 94 Excellent.

Pros: Tone and balance control FM sound The DAC performs better for the Cambridge Sound than using my ESS Sabre in the WXC 50 hooked to the AXR 100 Volume is satisfying at low levels volume readout at 39 for D. Krall was amazing. ACDC at 30 is good. Digital inputs The difference between the Yamaha and CXR 100 are the Yamahas brightness but it has extreme detail but bass is short. The CXR is warm, and the detail is there with no brightness. CXR excels at separation, soundstage, music

Cons: Small buttons on remote BT drops out

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Alan from Rome, GA on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was wanting a stereo receiver (as opposed to a home theater receiver). I spoke with a Crutchfield advisor (Tim) who took into consideration my speakers of choice (ELAC F6.2s), my budget, and what type of music I listen too. His recommendation was the Cambridge Audio AXR100. The AXR100 ticked all the boxes. It is visually appealing, which is nice, but it delivers the goods as well. Since it has been 27 years since I last bought a receiver it is nice to have the digital inputs and Bluetooth capability. The unit has simple, understated, well marked, intuitive controls. (Ok, well maybe the radio presets are not that intuitive to setup but that's what an owner's manual is for.) It brings ample power to the table and can make my ELAC F6.2s come to life. I have not had enough experience comparing amplifiers and receivers to wax lyrical about the AXR in comparative terms but, the bottom line is this, it sounds great to my ears. I could not be happier!

Pros: Clean sound Good looking unit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MD on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired it with my Klipsch R-51M speakers and my old Polk sub. Audio imaging is extremely accurate, and vocals sound as if the singer is in the room in front of you. High frequencies are a bit subdued but upping the treble helps (though not too much). The Wolfson DAC is really good and I could not hear any difference between the Wolfson and my piece of Schiit DAC, when attached. I experimented with speaker level out to the sub vs. using the dedicated sub out and the latter sounds a lot tighter and distinct. The Klipschs just sing with this receiver. Excellent build quality and performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Smooth and beautiful clarity

Jsoul from Small town, NC on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After the small setup I found this product to be great right off the box. I paired this AXR 100 with my late model 2 vandersteen's which are hard to push if you don't have the right power output Cambridge figured that out. The sound is amazing it has a smooth yet sharp clarity that delivery of nice separation with Jazz, R&B,and Gospel music. Please know l move my Arcam V30 and 2 Arcams P1 amps. Which. I'll use with a pair of Kef Q-Series. 3 digit inputs 3 analog and price It's hard to believe that this is a receiver at this price with such great features as well as the Great sound that it produces. My Arcam system still sounds great but with the three digital outputs and three analogs Bluetooth, and the wonderful sound the AXR 100 produces yeah I'm still good.

Pros: After a host of reviews and YouTube and open box set up comments and more reviews for the AXR100 receiver it was hard not to at least try. Not my normal approach to buying stereo systems I am kind of old school but I could return it if it didn't work for me. I was so wrong just think it's great sounding producers is shockingly wonderful. I Sat in my favorite chair speakers in the exact place they need to be and just loved every moment of it. Hooked up my Music Hall and simple enjoyed.

Cons: I really don't have any cons but I do wish the speakers input were banana. The bass to my sound is cool but there the input for a subwoofer if needed. But to be honest this comes from listening to boom in my car stereo. Also my Arcam that has bass but not the clarity that I see in this AXR100 receiver.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Clarks, NE on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love it. One of my best purchases in my life!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hi-Fi lovers unite!

Crutchfield customer from Caldwell, ID on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a two channel minimum 100w rms receiver mainly for listening to music. I really put much more research and consideration into speakers and I'm running a pair of kef q350s and an SVS sb1000 sub which are really what the sound is all about. Sony and Yamaha offered two channel 100 RMS receivers for a fraction of the price but they were light and "plasticky." I really did not want an AVR, and higher-end 2 channel receivers/amps with less power were double the price and more. So the Cambridge filled that gap with a high quality well built 2 channel 100 watt receiver. I love the appearance, the fit and finish, feel, and weight of this unit. Some reviewers were put off that there is an audible clicking when the power is turned on but I actually like that as it makes me feel like I'm firing up a high-powered machine that's getting ready to do business! lol. I do have it connected to my 65 in M seriess Vizio, again a low mid level TV, with an optical cable no HDMI. The 2.1 music sounds awesome and totally exceeds my needs and enjoyment, and the same with watching movies with great sound effects. The sound to me is excellent, but I don't really know if that's the receiver or the speakers. I do know that I'm getting full enjoyment without an AVR or surround system or HDMI. Also, the BT works perfectly. I was initiallyconcerned about dialogue, having no center channel, but the dialogue imaging is great, sounding like it's coming straight from the center of the TV.

Pros: Looks, feels, performs great!

Cons: Remote buttons are hard to see without plenty of light and glasses!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Let it break in!

Crutchfield customer from NASHVILLE, TN on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first new receiver in many years, and my first Class-D unit. I LOVE the sound of this receiver! But just like the owner's guide says... it will take some time to break in. At first I was not impressed with the sound, but after a couple of weeks of listening (a few hours a day) there was definitely an improvement. Also, let it warm up before asking it to do any 'heavy lifting'. I know it's not an eco-friendly approach, but I typically leave it on at a low volume tuned to a radio station even when I'm not in the room listening. That way it stays warm and will be ready when I ask it for higher volume. Some reviewers have complained about the fan noise. I only ever notice the fan when it runs for a few seconds after shutting down, and I often listen to quieter classical music. I'll admit I do use this receiver in a somewhat noisy environment - the kitchen. Minor complaint: if there is no incoming signal the unit will automatically shut off.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: auto shutoff when there is no incoming signal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Burton, MI on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the CA AXR100 receiver and amplifier. Easy to connect to a Bluetooth source, as well as the several analog and digital music sources that I have. The addition of the cables with banana connectors the order made initial hook-up a breeze.

Pros: Modest cost, high value Variety of supported sound input types Quality of sound reproduction Simplicity of set-up

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Polk City, FL on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, Plenty of power on tap, easy to set up.

Pros: Sounds Great

Cons: Caps on speaker terminals hard to remove.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Port Hadlock, WA on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, warm, rich sound and plenty of power. Love that it is so simple to operate and just stereo instead of surround sound.

Pros: Simple, easy to operate, has everything you need for great sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Centertown, MO on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to pair with an old set of B&W 602's. Typical British "warm" sound. Could use a loudness control, as the sound is a little thin at lower volumes and needs tone correction (which you have to re-correct for at higher volumes). Biggest complaint is the stupid fan. It's loud. Although you don't hear it with the volume up, you notice it between songs. If the Yamaha R-N303 had been in stock, I would have gone that route for a lower price.

Pros: Decent power Good sound

Cons: Fan Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Replacement

Crutchfield customer from Milford, OH on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit, after a lot of research, to replace a home theater receiver that I was not happy with. The improvement in sound quality was immediately evident, and this was with CDs, and I'm still working on the vinyl setup, and plan to try inboard versus outboard phono preamps to see what, if any, difference my old guy ears can discern. Setup was easy, controls are pretty much intuitive, and FM reception is good even in my basement listening area. I love the fact that I can read the rear panel labeling upside down, nice touch. I will add that it is kind of weird with the volume scale going basically backwards of what you would expect it to read........but doesn't take long to become second nature.

Pros: Clear sound, easy setup, not overcomplicated.

Cons: None, so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for me

Rick from Oak Island, NC on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just my opinion. I ordered this item, listened for several days and then returned it. Crutchfield was nice to work with. I read many reviews here and other places and decided to give "British Sound" a try. It wasn't for me. I found this receiver to be very anemic in the bottom end area. Bass was next to non existent. The mids were colored and very muddy with very little definition. Reproduction of male voices was way off. In my 30 years of experience with mid-fi equipment, this has to be the worst sounding receiver I have listened to. My hats off to Crutchfield for allowing me to return it with no problems. Again- this is my opinion, you may see it differently.

Pros: It works

Cons: Sound quality. Lack of bass reproduction. Built with lots of relays.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MI on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I do like the design, but not a fan of how the speakes connect. Would love more info on better ways to connect my speakers.

Pros: Streamlined design, looks super clean.

Cons: Have to rely on the remote to set up. I need to find a tutorial, or cheatsheet for setting things up.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Top Notch

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the AXR100 along with the AXA35 CD player. The AXR100 sounds great. It has a very nice warm, smooth sound and feel to it. I'm using Klipsch RP-100m speakers which match up perfectly with the warm/smooth sound of the AXR100. I love the features of the receiver...the bluetooth works great to stream spotify through. It has a great look and solid feel and has plenty of power on tap. I would have liked to see a USB port integrated...but wasn't a deal breaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Paired with vintage speakers

Flarpswitch from Portland, OR on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a pair of Advent speakers that I bought more than 40 years ago and they just seemed like they just lost their way. They were paired up with all sorts of amps over the years and most recently an Onkyo TX-8522 with an Onkyo C-7030 CD player with my sights on an Onkyo A-9150. Then Onkyo slipped beneath the waves. I could not wait any longer. After much research on what would pair with vintage loudspeakers I ordered the AXR100 and the AXC35. Holy smokes! Right away I can feel the presence of the soundstage was back. But, it was obvious my other suspicion that the Onkyo was not all to blame: the bi-polar electrolytic capacitors in the crossover were causing distortion. I replaced them with polypropylene caps. After playing a wide variety of music genres I am blown away. The sound is clear, open and unaltered. Someone said that the sound is warm; I would agree. I have used all the input functions and they work perfectly. I have a phonograph, cassette deck, an AirPort Express and an HD FM tuner. Some considerations for choosing Cambridge: Toroidal power transformer, excellent implementation of complementary NPN-PNP discrete transistors in a Class A/B amp and a Wolfson 8740 DAC among other. I was able to crank up the volume just below making my ears bleed and the speakers were clean and the amp was not overdriven. I am not one to believe in VooDoo HiFi; I subscribe to the law of diminishing returns. If you have vintage speakers that you believe in, consider the Cambridge.

Pros: Understated appearance. Quality where it counts.

Cons: Remote control is uninspired and awkward. Then again I have yet to find a remote that was logically designed. However, it does control the AXC35 CD player. Instructions packed with the receiver is like IKEA; you just have to be intuitive. Even the downloaded manual does not have much to say.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice pairing with my new speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Saint Clair, MO on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver to pair with new Elac Debut 2.0 6.2 speakers that I also purchased. My old receiver was a vintage Marantz but only put out 20 rms per channel. These speakers needed more power to be properly driven and I decided to get new audio equipment. With the help of the knowledgeable Crutchfield folks I bought this receiver. I can't tell you how grateful I am of their help in pairing this receiver to my speakers. I am enjoying music like never before. I'm hearing nuances in my cd's that my old speakers weren't capable of. Great clarity of sound.

Pros: Great clarity of sound.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Monticello, GA on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nicest receiver I have ever owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Out of Touch?

Crutchfield customer from Weeki Wachee, FL on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

dials (or lack of em) are confusing, and they are still using the old stile speaker hook up, if i had known that i would have bought something else, and the radio (FM) section is terrible, it can't even pull in close stations, not happy with cambridge.

Pros: Looks, power, and sound

Cons: speaker connections, weak tuner section,

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from South Easton, MA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is crystal clear- now I don't miss my old receiver. Easy to set up. Help with selection was great over the phone. Shipped quickly. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You wont regret it.

Crutchfield customer from Holden, MO on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the warm sound that come from this unit. More than enough power. Would definitely buy again. Took a gamble on Cambridge audio. First one of there products I have purchased. It was worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound quality at its best for the price.

Matt from Lehighton, PA on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality of the receiver is excellent . Paired with a set of Polk Audio S60's its fantastic. Bluetooth audio quality is top notch even if the range is a little short, but there are ways around that. I personally listen to a little bit of everything and haven't found anything it can't do well. User interface for setup and tuning is very straight forward. To top off the excellent qualities this receiver has, it look great. Remote is a little finicky but not a deal breaker at all. Highly recommend.

Pros: Clear clean sound, easy to use, plenty of power.

Cons: Finicky remote, Bluetooth range could be better.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Albany

Wendy from Albany on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad receiver, for the price, an outstanding receiver. I love the connectability and flexibilty. I can't honestly say that this is better than my 30 watt a channel hybrid amp, but I can use more than one source, so kudos there. The phono section hasn't been torture tested yet, but the bluetooth seems to have a 30db round down. I am happy with the choice, but I think I may have overbought.

Pros: Ease of set up solid build quality powerful, clean

Cons: One color Screw on cheap binding posts

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The right stuff

Daniel from LA PORTE, IN on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was seeking a simple, minimalist receiver with a quality amplifier, inputs for phono, analog & digital sources and Bluetooth. Considered Yamaha and Onkyo as well as the Outlaw Audio RR2160. In the end, decided to go with the AXR100 based on price, features and past experience with Crutchfield. Have paired with Elac DBR62 bookshelf speakers, a vintage Technics turntable and a Sony Blu Ray connected via an optical input. The Sony provides CD & DVD audio as well as digital media via front panel USB on the Blu Ray. Sound quality from the amp is warm and natural. The Elac's are 6 ohm speakers with relatively low (86 db) sensitivity but the XR100 drives them with authority. The RDS tuner feature is a nice touch and provides the station name along with program information (song and artist) in the display while listening to the radio. A few reviews have noted concerns with Bluetooth range and cooling fan noise. I was advised that the Bluetooth range was approximately 35 ft. This seems fairly accurate. It works fine in the same room or adjacent rooms. The range is shorter than my Onkyo AVR range but adequate for my needs. On the plus side the sound quality is very good from the Bluetooth (5.0) connection and it connects almost instantaneously when Bluetooth is selected - much faster than my Onkyo. Fan noise is not an issue on my unit - virtually silent. If you're searching for a stereo receiver as the basis of a 2 or 2.1 channel system, the AXR100 is well w

Pros: Quality amplifier Good Tuner with RDS Variety of inputs for digital and analog sources Sleek & attractive design Reasonable Price

Cons: Remote is adequate but nothing special

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing bang for buck!

Ian from Minneapolis on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was in the market for a new amp since my vintage nak blew a resistor and almost my speakers. I wanted something that would sound as good. I would have been completely satisfied with a sound close to my old amp. What I got blew me away! I am thoroughly impressed by this amp. It has cleaner, tighter bass. The separation between lower midrange to bass is so much more defined. The highs are beautiful and crisp. The soundstage and imaging are great. This gives amps in the 1500 dollar range a serious run for their money. It punches way above its weight class. I researched everything from Emotive, NAD, Yamaha, Denon, etc. This kept catching my attention so I took a shot. I highly recommend this amp to anyone starting out on the audiophile path. They throw out some modern features in exchange for audio quality. The phono stage is great, the built in DAC is as good as you'll find in this price range, and it has a tuner. Also the bass and treble controls aren't an option on other brands. I am in love with listening to my music collection.

Pros: Sound quality Design, feels high end Phono stage Sub out Plenty of power, 100 wpc

Cons: No option to add second amp. But not really a problem as this sounds fantastic without one.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Broken Arrow, OK on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have only had it for a week but so far so good. Have my CD player hooked up to the digital input to take advantage of the Cambridge dac. Really sounds good. Vinyl also sounds good. BT works flawlessly in my small room. Great sound for a $500 receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Branson, MO on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great rcvr. Nice clean sound. Could not have asked for any better. CRUTCHFIELD always comes through

Pros: Very clean sound. Great construction.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Burlingame, CA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful appliance with solid construction, very easy to use menu and controls. Using with Elac floor standing speakers, Pro-Ject turntable, and basic Apple TV. The phono amp gives great results compared to the phono installed on my turntable. The speaker configuration makes it so that I won't ever need a center channel, so this receiver is perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item arrived on time and in good condition. Used to drive a pair of Q150s, and it does that very well. Tons of inputs for all my needs and it works. What more can you ask for?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Advice made the difference

Crutchfield customer from Walnut Creek, CA on 1/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has 3 analog inputs and 3 digital. Enough to handle my needs for life. The remote is great for the basics, and will handle the Cambridge line of products. I had help from Crutchfield Advisors with this purchase and it became evident after installing that the advice given me was excellent. Plenty of power, Music ID from the local broadcasters, antenna inputs, dual speaker options and more. The receiver locks on the signal and keeps it there. This unit should last me the rest of my life. Thanks Crutchfield !

Pros: Easy connections. 3 analog + 3 digital. Antenna connections for am & fm. A and/or B speaker choices. Remote. Ten preset station options. Music ID info on the display panel. Like anything new, a tad confusing at first, then you get used to it and it just works. The sound is crisp and clear, adjustable base, treble, balance, etc. Plenty of power. The remote will interact with the AXR100 through glass doors. I like this unit !

Cons: Remote buttons small. You can't punch in a radio station directly if not on the presets; you have to scan up or down to get to it. Extra buttons you will never use on the remote unless all your equipment is Cambridge. The buttons on the AXR100 are small, considering the space available on the front panel.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Oolitic, IN on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Intuitive controls. Adequate power to drive Bose 301s

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A Welcome Addition!

Crutchfield customer from Round Hill, VA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clean look on a shelf; compliments any system. Powerful output and reliable quality for sound for the price. CA makes a quality product, and the Customer Service Representatives at Crutchfield are unparalleled. I don't know why anyone would shop anywhere else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great with jazz and singer songwriter. Not as good with rock music (a bit muddy). There's also a very audible fan noise, which just surfaced. Plan to call Crutchfield about possibly returning it as it's very distracting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Golden, CO on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived quickly, and most importantly it sounds great! I also have a Cambridge Audio CD Player and am very happy with the quality and sound of both compnents from Cambridge Audio. Q was very helpful as my advisor in making this purchase. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Muskego, WI on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

spectacular clarity and love the way it looks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

so good

Crutchfield customer from ROSENDALE, NY on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to upgrade my AUDIO system as it was overdue. I spent some time looking at several receivers and I am so happy with this one. I am using this to listen to my music collection, not home theatre. This is a very solid, easy to set up receiver with my turntable and CD player via analog/wires. It also easily connects to my phone for BT connection, which is one reason I chose this one, and has has an AUX output as well, which it reads instantly. It has sensitive Bass/treble sound output that you can change to suit what you are listening to and I think it looks and performs as it should at this price point. Very happy with the quality and would recommend to anyone. This can handle high quality speakers- I have the Martin Logan speakers via high quality wires and it has a beautiful, rich sound.

Pros: easy set up, performs exactly as it should

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is easy to operate and install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Highland, NY on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first purchase at Crutchfield and it was great! Brad was so helpful and knowledgeable, I really appreciated that. The Cmbridge Audio receiver was everything I was hoping for; easy to set up and GREAT sound. I am very happy with my purchase.

Pros: Great sound quality at a great price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp

Crutchfield customer from Thousand Oaks, CA on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp looks good and works great. Didn't expect any less from Cambridge Audio. Using it in a stereo setup without a subwoofer and it sounds spectacular both with turntable and with CDs as source. Have also started listening to radio after a long time, never knew FM radio could sound so good.

Pros: Excellent sound and clarity.

Cons: As folks have mentioned in other reviews, what's with the $2 remote on a $500 amp??

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! For the money ,you can't beat it.

Pros: Sound quality and simple layout

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good but...

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good looking piece of equipment which functions perfectly. I have two gripes which, had I known prior to purchasing, would have changed my decision and I would have gone with a different unit. First, the cooling fan is very loud and truly quiet noticeable at low and normal listening volume levels. Second, the remote is terrible. From both visibility and ergonomic perspectives. It is very difficult to see the button labels in anything but bright light. Neither the size nor layout of the buttons correlates with the frequency of use and it is not intuitive to use.

Pros: Good looking and functions perfectly.

Cons: Load cooling fan. Terrible remote.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Van Nuys, CA on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet sounding hi-fi. Tried Denon first and was sorely disappointed with it. Bluetooth connectivity is surprisingly clean and strong even when leaving the room. Phono input signal is particularly great sounding. Glad I trusted the advisor on this one.

Pros: Great sound. Bluetooth connection, nice phono inputs.

Cons: Not super powerful. Volume controls too gradual.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Haslet, TX on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not set up yet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 13 found this helpful

Great Features...But annoying fan sound

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, NY on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver has some really desirable features! The Bluetooth, optical audio and phono inputs were great options. However, be aware that this receiver has a noticeable FAN sound, that I found to be annoying.

Pros: Bluetooth, optical audio and phono inputs

Cons: Fan sound is annoying - Buttons on remote are very small

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from College Grove, TN on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with sound quality. Increasing the volume doesn't always seem to make the music louder. Instead, you have a sense that your closer to the stage!

Pros: Realism of music being amplified.

Cons: Operators manual is online only. No paper version supplied. I'm old school.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound of this unit. Nice warm tone with plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Music Listening Experience!!!

Crutchfield customer from Fircrest, WA on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to get back to listening to some 70's style music listening experience Clear, Concise, Warm sounding like you would hear from a 70's era Marantz Receivers, so I contacted Crutchfield and spoke with Bear whom was spot on with what I was looking for in a Music only reciever. Bear had recommended the Cambridge Audio AXR 100 Receiver and told me that's what will get me there to hearing the music I want. I have to tell you this receiver is Outstanding it delivers Clear, Concise, Warm, music the way it's supposed to be heard. If you put some Al Stewart the year of the Cat on or Steely Dan Aja oh my your in for an amazing listening experience!!! I have 4 Bose 501'S series 5 speakers and they have never sounded so good, you can hear every detail in the instruments as well as the vocals. Thank You Bear and Crutchfield for supplying excellent Customer Support and Products.

Pros: Great Sound Doesn't break the Bank Highly Recommended

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Brian from Denver, CO on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver, horrible remote. If you don't care about using the remote you can ignore this review. The remote is small/skinny, has no back-lighting or illumination, and with small equal-sized buttons for everything, that have blue text/symbols on black background. I could barely read them in daylight. Perhaps I'm a bit old-school. I've got some nice tower speakers and I like to just sit back and listen to music, and the remote is my primary way of interacting with the receiver. Ideally I could simply feel for and quickly operate the volume buttons and others. In my opinion a good remote should have either glowing or illuminated buttons, be easy to read/see with a quick glance, and have a button spacing and design that fits the hand and is easily operated with simple feel/touch of the thumb. The remote seems like a cheap plastic after-thought to a nice receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Klamath Falls, OR on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver except no USB but it sounds great worth the buy.

Pros: A good starter Receiver

Cons: No USB

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Weak Bluetooth

Crutchfield customer from Marina Dl Rey, CA on 8/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am only on Bluetooth when using this component and my IPhone must be within 5 feet, and your body cannot be between the phone and the component, to avoid dropping the signal. I find this quite disappointing. Otherwise it's great.

Pros: High quality sound

Cons: Exceptionally weak Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Powerful clean amp

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sounding amplifier. Sound quality blows any A/V receiver away!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

The AXR100 is pure music!

Richard from Houston, TX on 8/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I wanted, two channel stereo music reproduction done well. No buzzers, bells or whistles; other than the Bluetooth capabilities which I wanted. Solid build, stealthy good looks, extremely intuitive setup and controls, and sublime sound. Nothing is a waisted add on. It's one of the most purposefully designed pieces I've owned. We have three other receivers in the house (Denon, Integra and Onkyo) all of which are designed for home theater and quit capable but we simply don't use all the built in 'extras'. I was considering the Marantz NR1200 for over a year but asked myself what my true intentions were and the answer was to get back to basics, with a touch of that old school warmth I grew up listening to. I'm loving music again. You will too!

Pros: Musicality and simplicity (not a Frankenstein piece of electronics). Strong AM/FM tuner. Easy Bluetooth connection with my iPhone which can be fussy with other Bluetooth products.

Cons: Some say the remote but I find it refreshing. It works fine and fits the ideal, simplicity. Just sit back and enjoy your music.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Got really tired of crappy music through all the A/V receivers. Nothing beats quality 2 channel audio and believe it or not, great 2 channel television/movies as well. Go back to 2 channel and experience audio the ways it's meant to be listened to. I will never go back to A/V products, you compromise to much with these all in one big black boxes with heavily processed signals paths.

Pros: My turntable and Schiit Mani has never sounded better.

Cons: As with all products, the remote could always be better. It does the job.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Wonderful Sleeper Unit.

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic performance and excellent value - this system punches above its weight. By scraping the video aspects, Cambridge doubled down on the audio and delivered quality product that is tight and focused. Bluetooth is simply to set up and works great, as is the system as a whole. Plug it in, connect it up, listen to whatever you want all day and night without concern or constant fiddling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

I HAVE FOUND THE PROMISED LAND

Crutchfield customer from Edmonds, WA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my magic device - an affordable luxury Swiss Army knife for hifi! I saw a review on YouTube saying this receiver had a warm full sound. My Krell integrated amp is just too cold and thin sounding for analogue media (vinyl and cassette tapes). I was desperate for an appropriate receiver/amp that could make vinyl sing. I wanted to avoid Marantz, Yamaha and Emotiva. I did not expect the Cambridge to be awesome, but when I connected it to my system, my jaw dropped! This thing is freaking amazing! The onboard DAC blew me and my $2000 Sennheiser DAC/headamp away!!! How was this possible? I heard a clarity and details previously unheard on my system! The onboard Bluetooth receiver ALSO blew my external Bluetooth receiver away! WTF!! The onboard phono preamp is mediocre, so I used my external vacuum tube phono pre, and the Cambridge poured out glorious vinyl sweetness and warmth and depth and meat! I had found my elusive solution at last! I was not that familiar with Cambridge Audio, but now I owe them soooooo much gratitude for raising my life enjoyment quotient to several orders of magnitude because of this little device. After work, I rush home just to bathe myself in vinyl Ecstasy. I am now a Cambridge Audio fanboy. If ever I upgrade, I intend to buy their higher end amps. I will DEFINITELY buy their high end streamer as soon as I have the cash! I'm in heaven right now. Have not used onboard radio yet.

Pros: Killer onboard DAC Killer amplifier Killer onboard Bluetooth sound Clarity, detail, depth, punch 100 WPC (8 ohms) Several analogue and digital inputs Low price-performs like $2000 Mini plug input for mobile devices Killer headphone amp onboard Tone controls (bass/treble/balance) Two pairs of speaker Outputs One pair of fixed volume RCA outs Luxury sound performance Love the silver color faceplate Stepped Volume potentiometer Beautiful white LED pilot

Cons: Mediocre phonostage Some online Reputation and user comments for spotty reliability on lower end models Would love even more digital inputs Volume dial made of cheap plastic Speaker binding posts have cheap plastic components Does not have 150 watts per channel or greater power (100 WPC is the bare minimum power rating I will accept for my nit picky audiophile comfort level)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 10 found this helpful

Great receiver

Crutchfield customer from Belfast, ME on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great amp for its looks, ease of use, and sound quality. I was steered toward it by Crutchfield and really appreciate the good advice I received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

False advertising.

Robert from San Antonio, TX on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Binding posts do not accept banana jacks as pictured. Instead you get cheap junk connectors.

Pros:

Cons: Product not as advertised.

Crutchfield response on 6/23/2020
Thanks for the review. Our Product research team has confirmed that these binding posts will indeed accept banana plugs. One note they thought might be helpful: "the plastic dust caps need to be removed from the binding post terminals in order to use banana plugs.
Customer review photo

43 of 62 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So happy with the sound of my lps and cds. Bluetooth is absolutely horrid. Luckily I had a bluetooth receiver.

Pros:

Cons: Bluetooth is awful

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great amp, great price.

Crutchfield customer from Harrison, NJ on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding and great looking receiver. With enough digital and analog inputs to unify your sound system, and enough power to easily drive most speakers, at this price it's a fantastic product. One star deducted for less than awesome Bluetooth (poor range, no aptx). It's a minor point perhaps, but worth mentioning.

Pros: Excellent sound, clean power, lots of connections, attractive, excellent build quality

Cons: No aptx, poor Bluetooth range

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

British Sound Rules!

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, LA on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I wanted, best stereo receiver around.

Pros: Definitely more than 100 watts! Great sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, TN on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great sounds great just needs to be a little more user friendly and needs to come with instructions.

Pros: Great sounds

Cons: Higher price and no instructions

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, GA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a nice unit. Blue tooth distance is under 20 feet also the receiver is surprisingly heavy. Has plenty of power.

Pros: Sound is good. Set up easy

Cons: Bluetooth needs to be improved. I am moving receiver from inside to outside and back. Way to heavy.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Blissfield, MI on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. Simple design with higher quality sound instead of a ton of AV features I'll never use. My advisor Leia was a great help without being pushy at all. So happy that I didn't purchase from another retailer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge makes a good receiver for the serious listener

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is extremely clean and flexible. I listen to music from ambient, world music, folk, chamber music, opera, symphonic, soft rock and hard rock. It performs well at low, moderate and high volumes and drives my speakers cleanly and with smooth response. It is compact and easy to use. I would recommend it to anyone who does not want a separate amplifier, tuner, preamp and DAC.

Pros: Compact Good power Very clean sound plenty of analog connections

Cons: No FM antenna

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Louisville

Bradley from Canton, OH on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver to do one thing only, power my Klipsch RP-8000's and start enjoying my CD collection again; with that being said I haven't used the Bluetooth or the FM radio so I can't comment on those features. This is not a receiver for a home theater system and wasn't designed to be, but if you're looking for a powerful, clean sound from your cd's or lp's this unit does a great job. I've used it on a variety of cd's from classical to heavy metal and haven't had any issues with clipping even at very high volumes. The set up is quick and the operation is intuitive, the only minor issue is I think the cooling fan could be quiter, but to be fair I've never noticed it during playback even during quiet passages I only here it between songs and then only if I've really been driving my speakers. Great value and a great old school appearance. I highly recommend if you are looking for a simple, powerful receiver. The only issue I've had was I experienced drop outs on playback through the optical digital input but I don't know if that was from the receiver or the Denon DCD-600 NE cd player, when I switched to analog input the issue disappeared.

Pros: Powerful, great value, clean sound, sleak appearance, easy setup

Cons: Basic tone controls, not designed for home theater (not really a con but be aware)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge wow factor

Richard from ROCHESTER, NY on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

British, yes British, craftsmanship. Paired with a Cambridge CD player, and matched with Paradigm Monitor tower speakers. Clear bright treble, with no muddiness, or component noise. WOW sound with rich bass, and clear hi notes and vocal harmonies.. Have relegated my ONKYO 8260 to my basement dungeon

Pros: Price, clarity in treble, mid, bass. Pure hi range vocals, smooth, rich jazz vocals, classic rock driving beat reproduced.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Severna Park, MD on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. Replaced an Onkyo 8020. Listening to CDs and lossless files through my Apple TV. Sounds fantastic. Has to be if not the best, one of the best 100 watt receivers out there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo sounds great , a good investment for my bedroom

Pros: Easy hookup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge for Music

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and straightforward-maybe lacking some home theater glitz/options but power and precision for all forms of music; very satisfying device.

Pros: Focus on sound.

Cons: Less "wireless" options - but not my focus in any event.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AXR100 sounds amazing with my Paradigm Monitor speakers. Made me rediscover my CD collection. Features a rare 110/220 voltage switch, great for moving overseas.

Pros: Pure sound, pure design Plenty of power Dual voltage switch

Cons: Volume resets to zero everytime unit is turned off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful

Tremendous receiver! Amazing value for the price

Crutchfield customer from Richland, WA on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give it five stars however the Bluetooth connection is not as strong as I hoped. In all fairness though it could be due to the placement of the receiver in a metal tv stand. Other than that, this rocks. Strong amp with plenty of head room even at louder levels. No distortion. Love it! I wouldn't hesitate to buy one if I were looking for a high value receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Townsend, MA on 1/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean clear sound. Easy to use. Great product!

Pros: Easy to use, easy remote, clean sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Not great for live radio

Crutchfield customer from Oak Ridge, TN on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to so we could listen to the radio and it barely receives any stations. I have an old receiver directly next to it that does a much better job. Even another older receiver in the basement can get more radio stations than this receiver upstairs (we also live on a hill).. If I had known that it wouldn't work for receiving radio stations I wouldn't have purchased it.

Pros: Well made

Cons: Doesn't work well for radio

Crutchfield response on

6 of 17 found this helpful

Not sure about this equipment yet.

Crutchfield customer from Selma, NC on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's very early into the game with this Receiver, I have never owned one from Cambridge. The install was very simple and programming was simple as well, I used new 14 gauge speaker wires as well. It took a few minutes to set up the Bluetooth and I listened through my Klipsch speakers and the sound was awesome, I still haven't used my turntable with this receiver yet. I noticed one thing that concerned me yesterday, I was listening to music using the Bluetooth, and the receiver kept loosing the Bluetooth signal and the receiver readout would display it lost signal. Not once did this happen with my Yamaha receiver during the years I owned it, I am going to keep and eye on this and this is why I gave it only three stars. UPDATED 2/11/20 - Beware- I posted on here on 12/22/2019 on my recent purchase of this receiver. I stated I was having wifi issues with the equipment, well I can say I am very disappointed with the operation when using this equipment with my downloaded music on my I phone, I have around 1000 songs I have loaded and the receiver will loose the signal time after time. My old Yamaha receiver never gave me this issue, the reason I replaced it was it was lacking a way to connect my turntable. This receiver sounds great with my turntable, CD player and the Radio, forget the WIFI it isn't worth the price. Considering going back to a Yamaha, I know it will work !

Pros: Easy set up, pure sound. UPDATED 2/11/20 - Sounds Great

Cons: Keeps loosing Bluetooth connection. UPDATED 2/11/20 - WIFI Connection sucks

Crutchfield response on

14 of 32 found this helpful

Likes to switch inputs by itself

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounded ok, muffled, it kept switching inputs by itself, am returning it for a HT receiver with more capabilities

Pros: British engineering , clean face

Cons: Switches inputs by itself, sounded muffled

Crutchfield response on

7 of 20 found this helpful

Great Qound Quality

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! Needed an amplifier that allowed simultaneous A and B speaker sets at 8 ohms/speaker. This was surprisingly hard to find. Love the product. River, the Crutchfield consultant, was great!. Shipping time was short and the product arrived in perfect condition.

Pros: 100W power, 8 ohm/speaker running both A and B channels simultaneously

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Middleburg, VA on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific receiver. Great sound and better than adequate controls and input/output panel. FM tuner is very sensitive, important to us because we live in a rural area and signal strength on favorite stations can be unstable. Output power is more than adequate to drive my Klipsch Heresy III and sub-woofer speakers, in a fairly large room.

Pros: All good. Love this receiver.

Cons: Not a fan of remote control unit, which limits volume, bass, and treble changes. But, I hardly ever use it, so it's okay.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Four stars. Clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was extremely easy to install, set up and start listening. The connections were simple, the Blue Tooth set up was simple and the sound quality out of the unit is EXCEPTIONAL. Hadn't listened to music using my Klipsch KG4 and Polk Audio speakers since living in an apartment over 30 years. They sound just like they used to - thanks to this great receiver! Highly recommend this product to audiophiles who want great sound at a very good price point. I plan to purchase a CD Player - and likely to buy Cambridge!

Pros: Easy connection and set-up. Great Sound.

Cons: Did not like the cheesy FM antennae that came with the unit. Ended up buying a Trek 75 Ohm, powered antennae as the receiver is located in my basement. For $500, would expect Cambridge to provide a better solution for an FM Antennae.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Sweet Sounds

Crutchfield customer from Inverness, FL on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was just what I was looking for. It has bluetooth connectivity for my iPhone and Kann portable music player. The receiver sounds amazing with my Pioneer HPM 100's speakers. Glad I choose this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

At a sweet spot of build quality, sound quality, features, and price

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great addition to our living room! Solid feel, easy to use, a "tastefully neutral" aesthetic, and a fit and finish that hold their own against $1500-$2500 components. Radio functions as expected, Bluetooth pairing works without a hitch, and the phono stage and general amplification quality are as good or better than you can reasonably expect for the price. While I know the audiophile world has gone mostly the way of integrated amps, having a tuner cooked into the package keeps things simple and fuss-free in the living room.

Pros: Bluetooth (because -- the world...), tuner built-in, photo stage, fit and finish

Cons: None at this price. I do wish they'd added HD Radio to their tuner chipset but this is surprisingly uncommon, and certainly not something I'd complain about for a $500 piece of kit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Fairmont, WV on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is taking a little getting used to but this product seems sound both in design and performance. Took a chance and selected Cambridge Audio due to hearing about their products for many years. Am very pleased with the selection.

Pros: Sounds build and solid controls. Definately delivers beautiful sound for the small area that I use. Very good sensitivity on the FM frequency. Am still getting used to all controls and what it will actually deiver.

Cons: Took a little getting used to the volume control and sound delivery. Once you overcome that I have found no faults.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR100

Crutchfield customer from Raton, NM on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best receiver I ever owned or heard for that matter.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

TOP