Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # C11090

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # C11090

105 reviews
View this product

Late at night, when it is quiet, I can hear the fan noise between trac

David from Newton Center, MA on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Late at night, when it is quiet, I can hear the fan noise between tracks. The point of purchasing a quality receiver is 1. good sound reproduction; 2. no added noise either to the signal or the environment. The way I see it, including a fan in this device is a serious design flaw both sonically and from a reliability perspective as it adds an unnecessary point of failure. This design with a fan for a relatively low-wattage receiver may have saved money in manufacturing by requiring a smaller heat sink. Perhaps an ultra-quiet fan design could have been used, but clearly, an added cost that the designers did not consider worthwhile. Another design flaw is the layout of keys on the remote, not a deal-breaker like a fan, but an indication that Cambridge Audio design is not what it used to be. The remote layout looks like a repurposed CD remote, with small buttons for volume that should be larger and to the side of the remote, like every other audio remote I've used in the past. In addition, the blue text on black buttons is hard to read in dim light. In the end, the result of these design decisions is that Cambridge Audio has now lost a customer who until this encounter admired the product line and looked forward to purchasing a system designed around Cambridge Audio gear. Now that I have made my purchase and spent a week listening to music and fan noise between tracks, I am returning the receiver and looking for something that does not add noise to my listening

Pros: Elegant visual appeal.

Cons: Elegant visual appeal is only skin deep, fan noise, and a poorly designed remote layout.

Crutchfield response on 11/16/2021
David contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, FL on 10/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my purchase. It was easy to set up (which was a blessing for me in my 60's). It is also easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for music-focused system

Samuel from Crandon, WI on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very high-quality product with plenty of power. I appreciate the lack of clutter after upgrading from an old AV receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Kunkletown, PA on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

hooked it up very easy blue tooth is excilent very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 8/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this receiver! Stylish and works great with our Emotiva speakers!

Pros: Easy to set up Looks great Has all the features we're looking for in a receiver

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall good product

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is used for record player and Bluetooth. Looks good (actually has a little retro look) and does a great job. Only complaint is the small read out of source and buttons on the remote. It is hard to see if you are changing to USB or phono....

Pros: Great looks

Cons: Hard to see the source system

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great amplifier for the price

Timothy S from TAMPA, FL on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great amplifier. It was easy to setup and I love that it has dual left and right outputs for bi-wiring to my two tower speakers. My only gripe with this product is the lack of a DAC and digital inputs. I'm not sure why people are complaining about the bluetooth connectivity, because bluetooth signal range isn't an issue for me within 30ft from my iphone even between walls.

Pros: Low price High Amps Bi-amp capable

Cons: No DAC

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Kenneth from Napa, CA on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

first of all this sounds great, powering 2 bookshelf Wharfedale Diamond 12.2 speakers in a 15 / 20 large room playing an eclectic choice of music , but the problem is the Bluetooth that is my main source of music now , the Bluetooth only has a range of around 12 -15 ft direct sight and 7 ft on the sides it suppose to have over 30 ft range according to support - I shouldn't have to spend an additional $150 to for it to work as specified

Pros: sounds great , plenty of power

Cons: Bluetooth range not up to par , and haven't been able to play the FM radio yet , could be user error but I have not figured how to connect the piece of wire supplied to the coaxial input

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Guest from RICHMOND, VA on 7/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been very pleased with this receiver so far. I like the look of it and it has a good phono stage. Radio reception is also pretty good. I feel like there is solid power as well. I don't know that you could do much better for this money unless you got lucky and bought something great used.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Montesano, WA on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A good stereo receiver

Crutchfield customer from West Hartford, CT on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a basic stereo audio amp, without all of the add-ons for a home theater systems. I originally looked at the AXA35, but for just a bit more, I found this. It's 85 watts per channel, vs 35, and it has AM/FM. The phono input is a plus, too. The sound is quite good thru my bookshelf speakers. Good enough that upgrading the speakers is next. Bass/treble and balance use a menu system, which might bother some users. I'm fine with it though. My only complaint is that you can't use banana plugs, even though Crutchfield describes the speaker connections as taking them.

Pros: Plenty of power Nice clean sound Inputs and features

Cons: Speaker connections won't take banana plugs

Crutchfield response on

5 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Saint Marys, GA on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this unit. Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good, but . . . .

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound and construction--no quibbles here. BUT: Very hard to see screen and what is chosen, extremely complicated radio selection and memory usage, AND try and discern the icons on the remote--dark blue on black which you need a searchlight to see and then try and figure out what is going on. Whoever designed the above should try and relate to we simple humans who want it easy. My prior receiver, which finally died (Yamaha) was relatively simple compared to this one.

Pros: Sounds

Cons: See above for details but they are: remote, radio set-up, feature screen.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised. Sounds like my 1976 Kenwood before the pots and caps expired.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Solid Performer, Simple Feature Set.

JD from Ravenna, OH on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice appearance and well defined sound. Lots of heft to this unit as the transformer and chassis weight is substantial. Basic feature set suffices very well for stereo listening of CDs, vinyl or other inputs. Build quality seems to be very good. I haven't used it with bluetooth yet so I cant comment on that aspect. The AXR85 falls sort on remote capabilities, however imho. It's very hard to read even in medium light never mind low light or dim illumination in the room. Print is very small and some is blue. Unlit blue in low light? Remote control access is limited; for example to tailor the EQ one must use the receivers panel menu button , adjust settings and then return to listening position to access the adjustments. It would be nice if the remote was able to control that. It seems to be also used for Cambridge Audio's CD players because it has transport operation buttons. But really, don't let the remote detract from this solid performer of British design; the AXR85 has plenty of clean power for most listening situations and its solid build and heft harken back to home audios golden era. And back then there where no remotes. Just pure sound enjoyment. This does exactly that. Now if I had just not given away all that vinyl ....

Pros: Solid build, Very Good sounding.

Cons: Remote hard to read and doesn't control EQ

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound at a reasonable price!

Crutchfield customer from Ithaca, NY on 4/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommended. Plenty of power and I like the clarity of the sound-perfect for analog audio. I have mine hooked up to my vintage Philips 212 turntable and my Natural Sound Yamaha CD player. The receiver pairs well with my Klipsch bookshelf speakers and subwoofer. Bluetooth works well at short distances. The only negatives would be the remote-which doesn't work all that well unless it's directly pointed at the receiver-and the fan, which runs a tad too much for my liking-not a problem except on quieter classical pieces. Overall, a pretty amazing budget receiver for someone who doesn't want to spend thousands for quality sound. Cheers!

Pros: Clarity/neutrality of sound Power Classic look Bluetooth is an added bonus

Cons: Remote control Fan can be a little distracting

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Simple Amp and Great Quality

JASON from WESTON, FL on 4/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a simple stereo amp, which is what I bought it for. I use the bluetooth feature quite a bit and it's great. I've never had an issue with range as others have stated, but I don't travel too far from my listening area. I primarily use this to listen to CD's and Vinyl. I have the matching Cambridge AXC35, which sounds fantastic. The internal MM phono stage works well, but I now have a MC cart and using a Vincent PHO-701 external phono stage. This amp matches well with my Klipsche speakers. Very nice build quality for the money. It's heavy and looks like a more expensive amp. Music sounds great and detailed. I highly recommend the AXR85 in this price range for a 2 channel stereo system.

Pros: Plenty of Power at 85 watts 4-ohm capability Toroidal Transformer provides dynamic sound Simple and No Fuss

Cons: None at this price point

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Merrill, WI on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple clean design, sound stage is warm and powerful! Love it! Steve

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great quality and performance thus far, with a few annoyances.

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the overall quality and the features. My complaints have been expressed by others: -No printed user manual included. It's online, an inconvenient and impractical approach. -The remote is visually difficult. Blue print on a black background. Really? -I listen to analog radio. A lot. And this receiver is equipped with presets, etc., so that is clearly a feature that is important. But there is no proper FM antenna included.That's not ok.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Granby, MA on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to this receiver from the Sony Dtr 190 for my 2 channel system with Klipsch 610f floor standing speakers and Klipsch 41 bookshelf speakers, also added a Polk Audio subwoofer which adds nice deep end punch!! Room is 12 x 12 with some good acoustic treatment. The Sony was a great bargain for $150 but lacked the sound quality that the CA possesses. The Klipsch speakers have a brightness that the Sony receiver seemed to amplify but not the case with the CA receiver. Something about that British sound that really appeals to me!! I've been testing this system at ridiculous sound levels at times and the clarity is freaking amazing!! Some reviewers talk about fan noise and sub-par remote. When the music is cranked I don't hear any fan noise and the remote is fine after you learn the layout. Some people will bitch about anything. This is a fantastic receiver!!! So happy I upgraded to CA AXR85!! Perfect for my Klipsch speakers!!

Pros: Great sound for Klipsch speakers! I've had this amplifier up to approx 85 % and there is no distortion at all!! I'm just amazed at the sound quality and the subwoofer does influence my hearing,

Cons: I've had this receiver for about a month now and cannot thing of any negative things to post.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Tifton, GA on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is very good, and fun. Really enjoy the depth of the music. The Bluetooth range is not great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Killeen , TX on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a great product, takes time to learn the multi function buttons. Just hooked it up last night 28 March 2021. Hooked them up to some Polk Audio speakers. This unit is in my bedroom. Replaced a 35 yr. old JVC great receiver. Right channel finally went bad. Love this basic receiver, hooked my Technics cd only player, my tv, my Technics turntable, my stereo vcr, yes & my blu ray player. Sound is great, looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The audio listening person's receiver

Crutchfield customer from Bar Harbor, ME on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are considering an audio only receiver that will give you the opportunity to listen to music in all formats-vinyl,FM/AM,CD and Digital files via bluetooth this receiver is an incredible bargain. It has plenty of power to drive 4 speakers. We are 60 miles from the closest FM station antenna and were pleasantly surprised at the clarity /number of FM stations we can receive. The clean aesthetics are timeless. The front panel controls are very intuitive and the remote is not cumbersome.Great bang for the buck. I can not imagine spending $400 on an audio receiver and getting better quality!

Pros: Ease of operation Fm reception Clean power range Understated front panel that has what it needs and nothing else

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Ravena, NY on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I 'be been wanting to replace my 20 year old Yamaha Av receiver. I wanted to get back to a basic receiver with out all the bells an whistles. I have a large vinyl collection and the axr85 fit the bill for my needs.Set up was quick and easy and so far it has more than met my expectations.Plenty of power for my needs. The blue tooth has worked flawlessly. So far I'm very happy with my purchase and with crutch field.

Pros: quality reciever

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Haiku, HI on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. No bells and whistles just like we like it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clear and impressive sound

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first one I ordered had a blown out and distorted right channel. Replacement was easy and Justin did a good job expediting the turn around. It's a good looking unit that is quite loud and clear. It's not complicated to use but the buttons are very small and hard to read on the remote. It's not very intuitive. Buttons on the unit are similar. Pleased with the purchase overall but it took more work to get it settled in than expected.

Pros: Looks, clarity of sound

Cons: remote is not impressive, learning curve to use, build consistency

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Beavercreek, OH on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a 40-year-old plus receiver amplifier it just didn't want to work anymore the old switches would rattle and crackle. I wish I would've got a new one long time ago I'm here in sounds on music that I didn't know existed very clear and very happy with it I would recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Dedicated stereo

Crutchfield customer from Carrabelle, FL on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my Cambridge Audio amp. I replaced an Onkyo home theatre amp that died on me and do not regret it. I am using this amp strictly for Lps, cassettes (yes I still have hundreds), cds and the great tuner that is integrated into this amp. I'm driving 2 sets of B&W floor standing speakers and I'm enjoying music the way I remember it from the 60's and 70's. Although it's only 85 watts that is more than enough for my 20 x 25 living/listening room. Highly recommended! I did have to replace my home theatre amp also - thank goodness for the stimulus $.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Hands down the best receiver at this price I've ever seen.

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had questions about specifics for using unbalanced speakers (4 & 8 ohm). I called Cambridge USA, they answered the phone on the 2nd ring, switched me immediately to their techie. Minus the details, the techie didn't know the answer. An hour later the engineer (in England) that designed the AXR85 contacted me with the answer. (WOW!!!), that's customer support not seen in decades. And a really nice feature - The amplifier has dampening circuitry, something many home grade amplifiers lack. Dampener circuitry detects speaker activity that is not part of the music and then generates an 180 inverse phase to eliminate that activity - results in sound that is insanely clear. This feature is usually only on studio grade amplifiers, or top end home audio. I am surprised they don't brag about this?

Pros: Excellent FM radios reception The styling is top shelf. Easy to navigate around the controls Outstanding sound quality

Cons: The volume control requires too many revolutions to raise and lower the volume - if you want to call that a flaw?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

The Cambridge Audio AXR85 receiver

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Audio AXR85 receiver seems like a quality product. It is stylish and has great sound. It matches up well with my Wharfedale Diamond 225 speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Mystic, CT on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver and amplifier is everything I had hoped for and it provided all the functions that were on the previous component it was replacing - and it has bluetooth capability. It was installed and operating within a few hours of taking it out of the box and had the power and clarity I was looking for. The shipping container had foam blocks that provided shock isolation for the component and UPS delivered the box without any noticeable marks. A very good value for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Joel from Johnstown, PA on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice unit with great looks. I purchased it to replace a Yahama AV receiver because I wanted an amp with sound quality more like the tube amp I recently purchased for my other listening room. The idea of "British Sound" appealed to me, so I pulled the trigger. I really like the sound from the AXR85. Paired with my Klipsch R-51Ms and JBL subwoofer, the AXR85 gives me a really sweet listening experience. Some folks have raised concerns about the built-in cooling fan. I listened for hours at a moderate level last night, and not only did the fan never come on, but also the top of the case was only slightly warm. It appears that the fan only operates when the receiver is played at high volume levels for extended periods of time. And if I were to do that, the music would mask the fan's noise - in other words, for me it's a non-issue. I highly recommend this product.

Pros: Low noise floor, clean front panel, built-in phono stage and Bluetooth

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Lynn S from Bandera, TX on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was leery of a British made receiver, but it has proven to be very well made. Rear connections are clear and well laid out. It sounds great, and can really crank out the power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from La Habra, CA on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is exactly what I wanted. but like other reviewers - I wish the bluetooth had a little bit more range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AXR85 - A Great FM Rx/Amp

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After several hours of using my new AXR85, I can honestly say the product didn't disappoint me! From the first simple hookup procedures to the final 'tryout' of all its features it performed beyond my expectations. The receiver tuned to all my local/near local FM stations without 'fallout'. The attached phonograph and CD player both performed as I expected them to be. Furthermore, my Bluetooth MP3 player 'hooked' up and provided a clear audio stream of all my digital albums. What more could one want? My only 'con' would be I should have purchased the AXR100. I say this because my speakers are 'high performance' and the added power would be welcome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Solid Unit, Very Quiet

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. Signal to noise ratio is unbelievable. So quiet, you can't hear a thing unless there is a signal. Easy to use and set up is not complicated.

Pros: Great Signal to Noise. Ease of use and setup.

Cons: Could use a little more tone control. The Treble or Bass range could be wider.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs

Crutchfield customer from Towson, MD on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a vintage audio sound system with component 8-Track, Cassette and Turntable. This receiver sounds great and blends in visually. Also, the Bluetooth works like a charm so I've been also listening to my iTunes playlists. Exactly what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Show Low, AZ on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and ease of use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, especially for the price. Replaced a relatively ancient NAD 7150 receiver in my basement system, which also consists of a Marantz cd5005, Denon dp37F turntable, and NHT 2.1 speakers. Plenty of power and an equalization that is able to tame the overly bassy/middy speakers with a bit of adjustment. The separation and soundstage with the Marantz CD player is excellent, and also gives good slam and punch. The tuner section works well at capturing my local stations and sounds great too. Bluetooth is good, as is the phono input, although the latter might have somewhat less channel separation and gain than it could. Overall, a super deal and handsome looking to boot.

Pros: Great sound all around, especially for the price. Plenty of power.

Cons: The phono section sounds good, but I wonder if it could be improved with an external phono preamp.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great dynamics!

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! We upgraded from an older Sherwood amp and I can already hear a massive improvement in the dynamics of our vinyl records. Drums leap out of the mix, and the low end is defined and clear. Plus, the whole unit feels very high quality in its buttons, knob and screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great addition to my signal chain.

Crutchfield customer from Hales Corners, WI on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition and upgrade to my signal chain which includes Project Debut Carbon, Kef Q100 pair, and Klipsch r-12sw sub. Well-recorded music on vinyl sounds utterly amazing. The bluetooth works perfect and connects to my iPhone's library with ease. Highly recommend!

Pros: Sound, sound, sound. Bluetooth. Ease of use. Looks great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Winter Springs, FL on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice receiver. Everything works as it should. It has plenty of power and sounds great driving my Focal Chorus 615's. The only downside was the remote control, which arrived D.O.A.

Pros: Robust power output, clean phono pre amp, reliable Bluetooth connectivity, excellent tuner, attractive looks

Cons: Remote control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Genoa, NV on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product to re-invigorate my nearly antique sound system! Exactly as advertised. Even added a new feature (Blue Tooth). We live in a remote area so AM/FM receiver access is a bit lacking using the provided antenna but that's not a fault of the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, easy to connect, woks w/ analog equipment

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So wonderful to find a receiver that connects with all my chorded equipment :) the sound is clean and crisp - and it has all the adjustment you need. I have it connected w/ 3 pieces of equipment and 4 speakers. The person I chatted with helped me find exactly what I was looking for. Great service and received in a couple of days!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

quality made easy

Crutchfield customer from Watsonville, CA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Quality product so far. Connected instantly to my phone to play music. Also appreciate the service at Crutchfield and speed of delivery.Quality all round.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Appleton, WI on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent equipment, delivered a day earlier than estimated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Larry from St Louis, MO on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this equipment. Quality build, great output and performance. I would make the same decision again.

Pros: Quality of construction outstanding. Performance wonderful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Happy

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My brother bought this receiver for me for Christmas. I'm no audio file, but it sounds great, is easy to use, and has lots of cool features. I really like it and am glad to have it. It's also very sturdy and I'm guessing will last a long time.

Pros: Great Sound Easy to use Lots of cool features Looks good Sturdy

Cons: Turns off after being left not playing for a while Needs a lot of space between it and whatever sits on top of it (my CD player) to vent

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We've been delighted with this receiver. Purchased in part because of the analog turntable input, it pushes out strong clean sound from all of our equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jorge F Robles

Crutchfield customer from El Centro, CA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality, I really think is the best choice for me. We were able to provide very good sound to 2 different areas in our Office.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Rio Grande, PR on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Problem with blue boot

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/5/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, the thing I like the best is you can hook up 4 speakers and a sub woofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. Does what it needs to do and works flawlessly. I dislike some of the issues with pairing bluetooth, but other than that it's good for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent & different.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Receiver

Will from Philadelphia, PA on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a 20 year old integrated amp and this unit does not disappoint. Nice sound at an affordable price. I especially like the blue tooth connectivity so I can connect my phone.

Pros: Great Price. Nice Sounding Receiver. Blue Tooth connectivity is great.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love this reciever!!

Crutchfield customer from BROOKFIELD, WI on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had the axr85 for a little over a week and, so far, I'm very impressed. I have it powering a pair of B&W 607's and, wow, does this amp deliver. I'm not opening this up full throttle for a little bit longer but so far it takes everything I can throw at it: Coultrane, Melodie Gardot, The Verve, Black Keys ... . Everything comes out sounding clear at any level. I did push the system today with a live version of Enter Sandman on TIDAL that caused the axr85 fan to kick on and I think it was the best recorded Metallica I've ever heard out of any system I've ever owned. I was grinning from ear to ear. I absolutely do not regret this purchase and think most people will be very happy with the axr85 when paired with a pair of appropriately matched happiness inducing speakers! For details: I listen to music via TIDAL and Spotify. I also listen to vinyl using an Uturn Orbit with a grado black stylus (acrylic platter ). The built in phono amp of the axr85 produces a clean sound that grabs everything you would want to hear. Enjoy!!!

Pros: Great power. Clean look. Nice phono sound.

Cons: Would be nice if it was able to hook up to wifi.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Close to excellent

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice receiver, although the bluetooth connection gets dropped or briefly interrupted (very briefly) at times, especially from my laptop when I'm doing something unrelated with the laptop. In addition, the receiver's fan can be a bit annoying, although it's not really evident when music is playing, only between or after songs. I'll live with it because it's an upgrade from my old receiver, but I have not yet decided whether it's excellent or merely pretty good.

Pros: Good power, clear sound, easy connectivity.

Cons: Fan can seem too loud, and bluetooth signal clicks on and off at times if source is being used for something else.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver is everything I had hoped it would be! Compatible with my old components, easy to hook them to receiver, sound quality great. Nice features. Haven't tried the Bluetooth feature yet, but plan to. Very satisfied with the unit. Crutchfield customer service was excellent, delivery time was amazingly fast, product very well packaged. Very happy!

Pros: Good quality. Reasonable price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent bang for the buck!

Todd from Olympia, WA on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this with a set of Definitive Technology 9040....efficient speakers...and there is more then enough power to make them sing. Not a lot of bells and whistles so easy to set up and operate. Sound is clean and powerful...haven't heard the fan like others have mentioned. Remote is hard to see in the dark but once you get it down it is fine. Bluetooth paired very fast with my iPad as I use pandora and have numerous genres of music I listen to. Does have auto shutoff which I thought was cool....especially after listening to a disc.

Pros: Great power for the size, clean control panel, easy to pair with Bluetooth

Cons: Remote is hard to see

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VT on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my vintage amp and love the clean sound and Bluetooth is handy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chehalis

Tom from Chehalis on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't purchased stereo gear in many moons when I decided to pull the trigger on a comparatively inexpensive receiver and speakers for my family room. I was simply shopping for a 2 channel stereo receiver with good FM reception and Blue Tooth capability. After reading many reviews and contacting Crutchfield, I settled upon the Cambridge AXR85. I live as far away from Crutchfield as possible (in the continental US) and two days after my order was placed, I was hooking up my gear. Upon first inspection, the receiver appeared to be of fine craftsmanship. The sound quality is very good for the money. The more volume, the better it sounds. I am happy with the purchase. I only wish it had a loop for adding an equalizer, which I have left over from an old NAD unit. My only complaint of the Brits is the remote. What's up with the dark blue lettering on small black buttons? I will go blind trying to read the buttons on it. This receiver, paired with the ELAC Debut 20 B6.2 speakers, is a nice set-up for an old guy not wanting to break the bank. Crutchfield is the real deal for audio components.

Pros: Nice sound Simplistic Nice aesthetics

Cons: Remote is hard to read Phone must be fairly close for Blue Tooth input without cutting out.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As I needed a receiver primarily for a turn table I didn't need lots of extras and this Cambridge receiver is doing a great job. I have a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC connected with four vintage tower speakers and it is delivering all the power I need. Although I wasn't looking for anything with Bluetooth I find I use it way more than I thought simply because it keeps connected to my device without annoying disconnects. I do not use the AM/FM tuner much but I have this unit setup in my basement and it has no problem picking up all my local stations clearly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Mason, MI on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, straight forward stereo receiver. I was not interested in the home theater, surround sound experience, so this fit my needs perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Milford Center, OH on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Onkyo receiver lost a channel and I had to replace it. I used it for my work computer and personal entertainment. I wanted high-quality sound that didn't break the bank. The Cambridge didn't disappoint. A perfect companion to my Cerwin Vaga AT 8's. I would highly recommend the receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

New receiver

Crutchfield customer from Reseda, CA on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the simplicity of this powerful unit! Clean crisp amazing sound. I could not be happier with this recommendation from the gang at crutchfield!!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Westover, MD on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Brings in weak and fringe FM & AM stations that I listen to. Controls on the front easy to use. Satisfied. Much better sound than the old Sherwood that had failed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A very successful upgrade.

Neil from Grand Rapids, MI on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AXR85 replaced a late 80s Harmon Kardon that coughed, wheezed, and breathed its last a few months ago. My system is a dedicated two-channel one, for vinyl, CD and streaming music. I focused on this Cambridge unit after going down the rabbit hole of printed reviews and YouTube videos. I had two concerns about it before I pulled the trigger, the quality of the built-in Bluetooth dongle and the phono preamp. The Bluetooth unit is a little disappointing for range and sound, but I already owned an Audioengine B-1 receiver (also purchased from Crutchfield), so problem solved. Using the AB-1, my Qobuz subscription sounds brilliant through the AXR85. The phono preamp turned out to be no concern at all. My LPs sound dynamic, detailed and fully satisfying. My Fluance RT85 turntable has never sounded better. Bottom line, I liked the Harmon Kardon, I love the Cambridge Audio.

Pros: Detailed, dynamic, completely absorbing soundstage. Phone preamp is impressive. Easy to hook up and use and attractive to look at.

Cons: The Bluetooth dongle is only so-so. The remote could be designed better, but I don't use it anyway. The promised cable labels weren't included.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Thompsons Stn, TN on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy set-up. Simple, powerful, easy to use stereo amp. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars, is the bluethooth coverage area, could use a bit of a bump. I use my iPhone for music. Once you move the device more than about 10 feet away, your going to loose connection completely, or get a fair amount of interference.

Pros: Super easy set-up. Enough power for a good set of stereo speakers

Cons: Bluetooth range is a bit limited

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Raeford, NC on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great musical product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Why no owners manual??

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, KY on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for an affordably priced stereo receiver for casual music listening in my living room. Wanted my money to go toward good audio performance and not fancy features. Using it to power a pair of bookshelf speakers (Paradigm Atoms). This unit fits the bill perfectly and my Atoms never sounded better. You would be hard pressed to find a better bang for the buck stereo receiver with this kind of build quality and performance. The only reason I give it four instead of five stars is because there was no owners manual included with the unit.......shame.

Pros: Excellent bang for the buck.

Cons: No owners manual.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Jeffrey from BIXBY, OK on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding receiver. Plenty of power to drive my B&W 607's. I am listening to CD's and a classical radio station I like. Also the Bluetooth feature is quite good. Overall a best by for my den. Great recommendation by the Crutchfield salesperson.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Clean

Crutchfield customer from Berne, IN on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm running some Pioneer bs22lr's in a medium sized b.r. with the Cambridge AXR85.. its great! Momma likes the sound. WAF , I'll add some small-ish full range towers soon. This is a sweet sounding receiver, great reception. Thanks Crutchfield, great service.

Pros: Clean, clean, clean.

Cons: Nope, none yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mixed, some good, some bad, no ugly

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, GA on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a very basic unit, for the price. It seems to be well made, but it is basically 1980's-level technology. No surround, loudness, equilizer, only 4 inputs (including phono). It does have Bluetooth and a 1/8" input on the panel. On the plus side, the layout is clean, the controls are easy to master, the sound is generally good given the limited adjustments, and the FM reception is good. Also the speaker outputs are versatile (wire or banana plugs) and the FM antenna input is 75 Ohm, which matches my system. The negatives are the limitations noted above. Also, the very minimal remote has more than half of its functions dedicated to compatible Cambridge systems (I assume CD player, others?), and the buttons for this unit are miniscule. All in all, it works as advertised, it produces decent sound, and I am learning to live without surround. I suspect it will work well for a long time.

Pros: Decent clarity sound, clean layout, simple controls

Cons: Limited inputs, no surround or equalizer, minimal remote controls

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

Well worth it

Crutchfield customer from Pearl River, NY on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, plenty of power and sounds great with my Polk audio bookshelf speakers. I mostly use it with my turntable, and it sounds great. Was supposed to include some cable labels but they weren't anywhere to be found. Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Man Cave stereo system!

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, IN on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Building my retirement Man cave in the basement of our new home and decided I wanted to rebuild my stereo system and eventually adding a turn table back into the mix. The Cambridge AXR85 has all the power I need and plus the phono input, but it also has blue tooth so I can listen/stream Pandora when I like!! Eventually will add a CD player as well since I have kept my many CD's over the years. I combined this receiver with a pair of Polk Audio Si200's...Amazing!!! Crutchfield came through for on all the above as now is not an easy time to find Stereo equipment due to Covid-19. And they do it at a great price!! And their shipping if freaky fast!!

Pros: Clean and fresh look and simple to operate. Phono input and preamp. Quality features like 5-way connection posts for speakers! Blue tooth is a huge plus!!

Cons: 85 watts of power might not be quite enough for some folks, but it is perfect for my application!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great unit with remote issues

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the sound and the styling of this receiver. Installation was easy and I like the direct single cable hookup to my subwoofer. I gave it a 4 because I am having some issues with the remote not working properly. It can take up to 4 or 5 presses of the on/off button to turn unit on but only once to turn it off. Am also having a similar problem with the volume level adjustment buttons.

Pros: Styling, sound quality, choosing inputs

Cons: Remote Control unit issues

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't be happier.Great value for money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Salem, IN on 8/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has more than enough power for my Goldenear Triton 7's. Be aware, however, there is a fan inside. If you listen at low levels it shouldn't be an issue. The fan probably won't kick on. At higher listening levels it will kick on and possibly annoy some people. Overall I like my AXR85 and would recommend it.

Pros: Enough power for most speakers.

Cons: Fan might be annoying for some people.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a receiver for my vintage turntable. The Cambridge Audio AXR85 fit my need perfectly and delivers all the retro and current features that I need. I highly recommend the Crutchfield experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Cookeville, TN on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up with a Pioneer PLX-1000 turntable and Elac B6.2 speakers. Sounds fantastic. Easy to set up and the Bluetooth connects quickly and sounds great. Very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great receiver and CD player

MIke from Waverly Hall, GA on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was going to purchase a Cambridge integrated amp but with the quarantine, they were on back order. I decided to get the AXR85 receiver instead. I have a small listening room and this with my Pioneer SP 22-lr fills the room. I also got the Cambridge CD player. One remote controls both. I especially love the Bluetooth feature. only reason for 4 stars is that the first receiver had a short. Crutchfield sent a replacement right away.

Pros: Great look and plenary of power for my 12X15 room. Love the upside down labels on the back. Phono pre-amp works great with my Turntable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love It.

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great tuner. Auto off feature and Bluetooth really extended the greatness for us. Thank you very much! Love Crutchfield.

Pros: Auto off Sound Simplicity Crutchfield support

Cons: Short Bluetooth range through walls.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from North Pekin, IL on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After doing some research, I decided on this model to replace and older NAD receiver that is pretty potent. I was a bit worried about how well it would match with my speakers, but it seems to pair very well. The sound is very natural and three dimensional, and I can push it hard with no signs of strain. It runs nice and cool, unlike my older NAD, which could almost double as a space heater. The design is classy, although the display is a bit hard to read from a distance. Being a bit old school, I don't need a lot of bells and whistles, I just want good solid performance, which this does deliver. The only real downside is the remote, it feels cheap and isn't really laid out very well. Other than that, a good solid piece.

Pros: Solidly built, good sound, plenty of clean volume.

Cons: Lackluster remote Display could be larger to make it easier to read from a distance.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Receiver from Cambridge

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this receiver as an amplifier for my Dac Majic Plus and the speakers I am using are Polk RTI-A7. The sound is crystal clear and precise. The price is less than 1/2 of what you would pay for a Cambridge amplifier CX81.

Pros: Great Sound, good price

Cons: None since the price is very reasonable

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE ALL OF IT AND DRUMMER WAS A GREAT HELP IN FINDING ME THE RIGHT EQUIPMENT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Silvis, IL on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put the Onkyo receiver just purchased to shame. Had to replace my Fisher due to channel failure but after 35 years cant complain. This receiver has great sound and plenty of power. Pretty straight and simple to use.

Pros: Easy operation and set up. Turn able sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sets a high floor for quality/cost

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Applies to both 85/100 ... This is a pretty good looking unit that does everything you need at a reasonable cost. Decent power, phono pre, and Bluetooth connectivity. None of those are perfect, but it's a great floor to start with.

Pros: Relatively affordable, good quality amplification, decent phono pre, Bluetooth, good looking

Cons: No aptX, but aptX might just be lipstick on a pig considering the low ceiling for Bluetooth quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great performance and blessed simplicity

Ross from Wheaton, IL on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to boost the power driving my new Polk Audion RTI A7 tower speakers without breaking the bank, and loved the distinctive, clean and functional look of this receiver. It does what a stereo receiver should do without excessive bells and whistles, which too often have gone unused in previously owned receivers. This creates incredibly clean sound from my CD player and turntable at all volume levels. The Bluetooth paired easily and works very well with my iPhone.

Pros: Simple and intuitive setup, clean powerful sound

Cons: brushed aluminum color may not match other components

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 9 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy set up. Has all the power I need. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Mandeville, LA on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Had problem with remote not working. Called Crutchfield and send me a replacement.

Pros: Clean sound at low and high volume.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great Modern Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace my beloved 31 year old Yamaha. I was interested in blue tooth capabilities and wanted a good sound stage for vinyl. The Cambridge, though far less powerful than my Yamaha, provides very full sound and my turntable never sounded better. Great purchase, great service, fast shipping and actual people to answer the phone when seeking advice. I have used Crutchfield since the early 80's when tattered catalogs made their way through class in high school as my friends and I ogled over Alpine head units and Alphasonic amps. Good stuff!

Pros: Build quality, sound quality, phono stage

Cons: Could use more power but that's on me.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome true power transfer and resulting sound rendition.

Pros: Very realistic sound reproduction

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Great piece!

Crutchfield customer from Muncie, IN on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the money! Sounds amazing, built in Bluetooth and phono amp. Can't go wrong for the money.

Pros: Amazing sound, simple to hookup Bluetooth.

Cons: No optical inputs.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 6 found this helpful

SUPERB STEREO RECEIVER!

Crutchfield customer from Milton, DE on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommend this receiver and Cambridge Audio equipment. I bought the Cambridge Audio AXR85 Receiver after several days of research to replace my 38-year old Mitsubishi DA-R25, 60 watt/channel, receiver that recently broke. The AXR85 receiver is the heart of my sound system that includes a 1982 Mitsubishi DP-EC8 turntable with Boston Acoustics MC-1 cartridge (2.5 mv output), Sony C69ES CD player, Klipsch Heresy II speakers and MTX PSW101B powered 60 watt subwoofer. The receiver sound quality is outstanding in all modes, has strong FM reception, user-friendly functions and works well with my analog components. Note: The User Manual needs to be downloaded from Crutchfield or Cambridge.

Pros: Sound quality, powerful amplifier, 3.5 mm input jack, and attractive box at a fair price.

Cons: Bluetooth range is weak when transmission device is moving or more than 15 feet away.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

A studio winner!

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, GA on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As Described, perfect for my situation.Fills my 16x20 studio with great vibes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Quality choice

Crutchfield customer from Lindale, TX on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver, especially at this price point. Incredible reproduction of true sound from vinyl and streamed music sources! Highly recommended!

Pros: Easy Bluetooth access, great sound balance and separation even at soft playback levels.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Furlong, PA on 1/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value. Good performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Robert from Amherst on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got the AXR85 to replace a 20 year old NAD receiver. I wanted updated electronics and built-in Bluetooth. Set up was easy (though I needed Crutchfield's excellent phone help to figure out how to attach banana plugs!). The results are amazing. Wonderful clarity and presence through my old Cambridge Soundworks M80 speakers. CDs, FM stations, streaming -- they all sound full and terrific. I listen mostly to classical music on CD and from the Primephonic app; the AXR continues the sound quality that British brands like Cambridge Audio and NAD have long been known for. Highly recommended!

Pros: Excellent clarity and presence Affordable Good looking

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean, crisp and punchy sound. Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had this for a few weeks powering a pair of Elac B6.2 speakers. The amp works effortlessly for hours without heating up, even at near-peak levels. Only downside is the bluetooth struggles a bit when not in the same room.

Pros: Effortless power

Cons: Bluetooth range

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like it so far, great that it has a phono input.

Pros: Phono input

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Greers Ferry, AR on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely happy with the unit. It is replacing a HK AVR130 and the clarity and sharpness of the sound is a huge improvement. Set up was simple . Pairing Bluetooth components was easy. Would have liked the optical digital connections that come with the AXR100.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio AXR85

Crutchfield customer from Boothbay Harbor, ME on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, pairs well with our InfintyQe2 speakers,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent quality and good looks.

Crutchfield customer from Tifton, GA on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a newer model receiver that is great for old school applications as well. I'm running an Audio Technica AT-LP120XUSB running through the Phono jacks with the ground attached and it's very quiet and sounds great. I also have a Sony CD player hooked up and it sounds great too. The Bluetooth works as it should and you can track songs from your phone with the remote which comes in handy. Great value!

Pros: Phone input is very clear sounding. Bluetooth ready

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 17 found this helpful

Outstanding Audio Quality with Power to Match

Don from Sulphur Springs, TX on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being old and hard to please, I hesitated in replacing my receiver with anything made in the last 20 years. Now after a week of adjusting to the Cambridge Audio AXR85, I'm convinced that this is a major audio improvement that brings out the finest in my old Klipsch K-horn loudspeakers and M&K MX-105 sub-woofer. Of course, it's strictly a stereo system, but the audio quality, clarity, and effortless power in all formats (FM, vinyl records, CDs, Blu-rays, and TV audio) convince me that this is a better match to my arrangement than my former 5-channel receiver. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product to anyone wanting a fine home stereo system.

Pros: Great stereo sound at a very fair price.

Cons: Doesn't anyone provide an accompanying owner's manual these days?

Crutchfield response on

30 of 30 found this helpful

TOP