Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth®

MFR # C11130K

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth®

MFR # C11130K

91 reviews
View this product

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Sayre, PA on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The foundation of the best stereo system I've ever owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Winner

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Loaf, NY on 9/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this amp! Great sound stage. Plenty of volume on my relatively hard to drive speakers. Highs are bright without being harsh.

Pros: Sound quality is excellent

Cons: wish the volume knob has an illuminated dot or indicator so i could see the volume setting from a distance

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb

Crutchfield customer from Independence, MO on 9/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Superb Integrated Amp and Customer Service

Crutchfield customer from Bossier City, LA on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a lover of older rock n' roll and other genres, I truly believe the Cambridge Audio CXA81 integrated amp is a true value. When you pair it with the Cambridge Audio CXC v2 CD transport you get truly clean Hi-Fi sound. If you research the CXA81's awesome DAC and the relatively low cost of the CXC v2 CD transport (no DAC), you'll see what a great bargain this combo provides. I've combined the two with a pair of Wharfedale Evo 4.2 speakers on 22" stands and I get amazing detail and clarity. It would be great to have volume control on the remote, but that's minor. Nemo (Crutchfield rep) did an outstanding job of identifying the Evo 4.2s as a great match for the Cambridge duo and he was spot on. My listening space is about 15' x 14' with the Evo's approximately 6' apart and toeing in about 6' from my ears. This triangle set-up is referenced in the manual. In my opinion, a subwoofer is not necessary with this combination. Of course, depending on your tastes you may feel differently. If your budget can handle this setup, I strongly suggest giving it a test drive! Thanks again Nemo (Crutchfield rep), for a super job coaching me to this purchase!

Pros: Superb detail, clarity and DAC for the money. Clean, no nonsense appearance. Double boxed with zero damage. Great warranty.

Cons: No tone controls (depending on your tastes this can be a Pro or a Con). No volume controls on remote.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great features at this price point.

Crutchfield customer from West Hartford, CT on 8/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for hi-res PC audio. Cool, silent, simple to install, and great sound. Running a pair of B+W 607's. PLENTY of power.

Pros: Connectivity, ease of use.

Cons: No bi-amping at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Hughesville, PA on 8/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. Plenty of power to drive KEF LS50 Metas. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Surpassed Expectations

Crutchfield customer from Santa Monica, CA on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I came from a high end system that finally gave up on me. I knew I wanted something with higher end sound but needed the functions of a dac to use with optical input from TV as well. This hit all the marks and the sound was surprisingly better than I would have expected. Warm but still detailed with a lower sound floor than I would have thought. I am very happy that I went this route. I would give it a strong look if you are shopping around and want good sound and function.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Right on the Money

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MI on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cambridge punches above its weight in this tier of products and the CXA81 continues the tradition. Don't judge it out of the box, and with careful breaking in the depth of the amp begins to unfold. Excellent features for the price and a great match for a host of 2-3K bookshelfs. No surprises other than pleasant ones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Worth the Extra Money

Louis from Mesa, AZ on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried the CX61 and my Klipsch sounded too sharp and I was getting ear fatigue. Tried the CX81 and the extra power made all the difference. Awesome! Thanks again Crutchfield for letting me try both!! You guys ROCK! Don't complain about the lack of features. They gave you pure sonic nirvana!!!

Pros: Power, Build, and Sonic delight.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Matt from New London, NH on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, fun and easy to listen to!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Lake George, NY on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple & smooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good Clean Power

Crutchfield customer from Royal Oak, MI on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to go with a integrated amp to replace the two channel receiver I was using for music. After a lot of research I picked this guy, and I'm glad I did. It blows what I was using out of the water. My records have more life now!

Pros: Good clean power. Amazing dynamics and huge soundstage. Beautiful, warm sound.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Lindale, TX on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This integrated amplifier makes the music come alive. I previously upgraded my speakers and could immediately hear the improved sound quality. When I added the Cambridge CXA81 amplifier upgrade to my system, it took things to a whole new level. I am now hearing sounds & instruments that I never knew were part of the music.

Pros: Excellent sound quality. Plenty of power.

Cons: No turntable input.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great amp

Crutchfield customer from El Granada, CA on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a lot of study and consideration, I finally decided to go with the CXA81. Crutchfield made sure that my purchase arrived quickly. Hooking it up to my system was easy . So glad I went with this model, because I am now enjoying truly great sound - better than the amp I replaces, which was also very good - but on its last leg due to age. I would happily recommend the Cambridge, and if I were to do it all over again, I would snap up one of these amps in a heart beat. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Simplicity of design reproduces great sound, from thumping bass to the highest accents. Sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Dewey, AZ on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read a lot of reviews about this unit that were very positive but I purchased with a lot of skepticism as so many claims are hyped. Low and behold, this unit is really what is claimed. Super clear, smooth sound with great definition and separation. Beautiful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Tim from Ashburn, VA on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of reviews on this one already so probably don't need to add mine but I will anyway, if only to confirm and support the good reviews I read here and elsewhere before purchase. For reference, my previous amp was an old NAD 3020 Series 20, which is a charming and punchy little booger that served well. That said, the rest of my set up is modern (Bluesound Node 2i, Schitt Modi 3, bi-wired Klipsch RP-600M's) and I couldn't help but wonder if a modern (and stronger) amp would deliver noticeable improvement. I wonder no more. It does! Right out of the box, articulation and sound staging are better. The tone is a bit cooler but I recall reading it will warm up with use so we'll see. At first I thought the bass was less punchy than the old NAD's, but now I think it's just more defined and articulate--when it needs to go low, it does. 4 stars because I'm sure there are better amps but I'm perfectly happy with what I have for what I was prepared to spend.

Pros: Quiet, articulate, sound staging, plentiful inputs/outputs

Cons: Puny headphone jack

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

CXA81 delivers what what I wanted

Crutchfield customer from North Port, FL on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, easy to listen to, broad sound state, and very detail audio...Paired with Monitor Audio Silver and a SVS SB 200PB sub wolfer. This combo delivers exactly what I has hoping for.

Pros: I's all good except the volume control

Cons: Volume control is stepped, not linier.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Happy Office Now

Richard from WILLIS, TX on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this unit. It is my office power source for MartinLogan Motion® 2i speakers. Very simple to use, unassuming, easy to move around, and great for smaller spaces (at least in my case). I do wish it had tone controls, but for my specific needs, it has more than enough bells and whistles to accommodate my office needs, and I would happily purchase this again.

Pros: Size Easy to use Bluetooth works great Easy to move around. Unassuming

Cons: No tone controls Seems to get pretty warm, even under light duty use compared to my other audio components.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very solid amp and exceptional value

Michael from ARLINGTON, VA on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What I replaced: A Musical Fidelity M3i integrated amp fed from the analog outs of a Bluesound Node 2i. The MF amp has a deserved reputation for exceptional soundstage and real power or "grunt." The CXA81 offers positive similarities and positive differences. The soundstage is excellent, getting better with break-in (be that actual amp break in or the break in between the listener's ears). The CXA81 offers more precise detail and tighter lows. While it lacks some of the 'grunt' of the MF, the difference isn't great and I didn't miss it. That's not to say that it lacks 'grunt.' It can truly kick it in on rock and pop. For classical and baroque music, those differences make it superior to the MF amp, hands down. One real plus of the CXA81 is the onboard DAC. You've probably already read it, but I'll repeat that it is exceptionally good at this price range, with very satisfying precision, expansiveness, and richness. I stopped looking at stand-alone DACs. Speakers: I have paired three different sets: an older pair of B&W 603 s3s, a pair of Dynaudio Special 40s, and pair of Klipsch Heresy IVs. This is not a speaker review, so I'll limit my comments about them. The CXA81 sounded great with each set and they're all terrific speakers. I don't think matching is too challenging and you can probably rely more on your taste in speakers than the pairing. I've stuck with the Heresy IVs for the very reason that I liked the speakers the best of the th

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 21 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Rch Palos Vrd, CA on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All the reviews are true. Puts out beautiful sound. Considerable upgrade from my previous Yamaha A-S501 which I enjoyed for years. Crutchfield is a great company to buy your gear from.

Pros:

Cons: You'll need a phono preamp. (Had previously bought a Pro-Ject Tube Box S2 from Crutchfield.)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Amp for the Price

Crutchfield customer from Benbrook, TX on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is perfect for my puposes. I tried another less expensive amp. It sounded good, but wanted to try another amp. The CXA81 is great! Perfect for the my set up. Totally amazed by the sound.

Pros: Heart of a good sound system for a more than reasonable price.

Cons: It doesn't have volume control from the remote.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Clear crisp pure sound

Crutchfield customer from Wake Forest, NC on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to dislike this item after I realized it did not have a line out or balance adjustment BUT what a great sounding clear, crisp amplifier. 100% on the quality of the sound. Plenty of analog inputs and Bluetooth works well.

Pros: The sound Didi I mention how good it sounds

Cons: It's just an AMP No line out

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley Hts, NJ on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great. Using with warfdale evo4.2. Good match

Pros: Good, clean sound. Looks good.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The CXA81 is great, except.

John from Tacoma, WA on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CXA81 is a wonderful piece of equipment... as long as you have a perfectly balanced audio environment. I don't. Issue #1: Due to our living room's acoustic properties, the speaker balance is significantly weighted to the right, and, since the CXA81 has no balance control, there is no way to correct the problem without spending $500 - $1,000 for add-on equipment to deal with the speaker balance issue. (and Cambridge Audio doesn't make a unit that does this) Issue #2: The CXA81 has two sets of speaker outlets (A speakers and B speakers). When using both sets of speakers, the audio output is split evenly between the A and B speakers, and they can't be controlled independently. In my setup the A speakers are in the living room and the B speakers are outside by the deck. When the volume is set properly for the A speakers in the living room, the B speakers by the deck are almost inaudible. When the volume is set properly for the B speakers by the deck, the A speaker audio in the living room is unbearably loud, making it impractical and uncomfortable to run both sets of speakers simultaneously. So, if you're hosting an event with guests drifting between the deck and the living room you can't have music playing both places. If the volume could be controlled independently for both sets of speakers the problem would be solved. In a previous life I had an Arcam preamp with independent volume control for 2 sets of speakers, and it was great. Otherwise, I love my CXA81.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 17 found this helpful

Great store, great product

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Audi CXA81 lived up to all the great reviews on first listening and thereafter---the best integrated amp with DAC and bluetooth at this price or more. It is brutally faithful to the sonics in the source, exposing the best and the worst of digital recording, mastering and remastering. The sound stage is magnificent, as is the detailing of voice and instruments. And Crutchfield's service was perfect---the CXA81 arrived as scheduled, beautifully packed. It will now be my go-to source for audio equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A five star winner!

Kenneth from GREEN VALLEY, AZ on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really appreciate this amp for its attention to detail in build and audio performance. I no longer need a subwoofer to coax bass for a rich sound experience and the mid and highs are so detailed. This is a smooth sound with all the detail and power needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Overall, an excellent amp for digital sources

Crutchfield customer from Awendaw, SC on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I came into this process wanting a great integrated stereo amp to process digital music from two predominant sources; a laptop with stored digital music ranging from 16-bit/44.1kHz CDs to 96kHz or 192kHz at 24bit Hi-Res and on-line Hi-Res audio streaming services. This amp meets those needs very well. It also takes a digital audio feed from a television that I run out to a pair of Klipsch floor standers and a sub. There is a downside to this amp in that it does not provide audio controls or balance. I almost didn't pull the trigger on this amp because of that however because I am sending everything through a laptop, I can control frequency settings (and balance if needed) from that source. Speaker placement drives the sweet spot sound in any event. Note that this amp is geared for stereo enthusiasts and not home theater aficionados although it does support two sets of speakers and a sub so you can use it front and rear but no center. One downside for those who want to drive more power to your single set of speakers; it is not bi-amp capable. For those running their music off a laptop, you get around that by backing the volume off the USB output and increase the power from the amp. It accomplishes basically the same thing. Also, the onboard DAC is excellent. Overall I give this 4 stars while noting the price is a bit high unless it is on sale.

Pros: Excellent clean signal, Plenty of power for efficient speakers.

Cons: Lack of tone and balance controls if that is an issue, No bi-amp capability; pricey if not on sale.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge fan now!!

Crutchfield customer from Kenner, LA on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very musical with plenty of punch. Bluetooth feature paired easily with my iPhone and Tidal sounds fantastic! My B & W 601 S3s are singin' beatifully!! Crutchfield was first rate with ordering and delivery process, thank you!!

Pros: Plug and play, easy set up. Remote works well for volume and mute.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

An amazing sound truley !

Crutchfield customer from Columbia Falls, MT on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own class A integrated tube amplifiers Once you have this to compare the sound to other gear it is very useful . This amplifier is truly amazing for the price . I consider it a true sleeper in the audio world that high price manufacturers want to keep very quiet about . I used to be an avid Yamaha fan but I think they should take lessons here. I am a new fan of Cambridge Cox a81 Now to save for the matching network unit ! Well done Crutchfields and Cambridge !

Pros: Easy operation Relay operated to eliminate noise Superb sounding Super duper DAC Super Amazing price

Cons: Wish I had found this company earlier Better late than never

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Roy James from Auburn University, AL on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a much better amplifier than I've owned before. It works very well, except when I try to hook something into the A1 unbalanced RCA input (either turntable with preamp or dvd player), it doesn't work. I tried posting a question about this but so far no answer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Reedville, VA on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp drives my Keffs well and the spaciousness of the sound is amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality, of course

Bill from Bloomington, IN on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit has a very clean design. Lots of heft/weight. Controls and the remote have a solid feel to them. The sound is just what you would expect: detailed, good presence throughout the range of sound. My primary genre is classical. The full range of symphonic sound and the nuance of soloists comes through with great clarity. Very happy with my purchase, and the supporting conversation with Ryan before purchase was quite helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful Clear Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the AXR-85 Cambridge Audio stereo receiver, upgraded to the CXA81 integrated amp. Very clear recording compare to the AXR85.Have it hooked up to the Cambridge Audio AXC35 CD player going through the Metra ethereal Coax digital cable. I only listen to CD's. The high end is very crisp and powerful. Mid-range and bass are very good. I have REL T7i subwoofer. So I have to say on newer Cd recordings I have never heard quality sound that I hear going through my Wharfedale Diamond 11.4 speakers. I wish I could say the same on some of my older CD recordings. It all depends on the recordings, because some are much improved sound. May get another Sub for stereo. Every listening session I hear things I've never heard from any other amp. When you have the subwoofer set up right your speakers are going to disappear. Over all very happy with this amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

New Sound to an older audiophile.

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward, simply for the awesome aural experience. The sound is so crisp and clear. I just upgraded from an old JVC receiver and classic(70's) ESS tower speakers. I paired the CA integrated amplifier with Klipsch RP-280F speakers and I am just blown away. I love to sneak down to my basement and just rock the house! The advisors and tech support at Crutchfield have been great.

Pros: Clean sound. Uncomplicated setup. Bluetooth connectivity using iTunes.

Cons: Too much power!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Valentin from MIAMI, FL on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As someone who's just starting the audiophile journey, I did a lot of research before ordering my first equipment. I decided on the CX series from Cambridge Audio as it seemed to meet the happy spot of good quality, great sound, price, and design. The very first experience could not be worse. Excited to finally enjoy amazing sound, I hooked up this amplifier to its CD transport only to find out that it doesn't work, right off the box. I called customer support and it will get replaced, but now this "great" amplifier seems to be very popular and it's on back order and because of covid19 I won't get the new one at least in a month. So, $3,000 later (including amplifier, cd transport, speakers and cables) I still can't enjoy the amazing sound I was promised. I'll update this review after I finally receive a good amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 60 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Camillus, NY on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth pairing a snap streaming sound quality is remarkable.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Need to do research to understand some of the lingo in the on line owners manual.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CXA81 is truly as advertised. Beautiful full powerful balanced sound. Love love listening to music on this amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from The Colony, TX on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased. Build quality is robust for this price point. Using high efficiency speakers so power is no issue. Purchase the CXA81 over the CXA61 to gain the XLR interconnects to a CXN v2. Black front panel is a design element only, versus a display, and houses the input buttons. Paired with the CXC and CXN v2, I am happy with the purchase. Typical Crutchfield .... service was excellent and shipping was fast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Musical detail is astonishing!

Greg J. from Detroit, MI on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My goodness! This is the absolute best for those of us loving two channel stereo. Replaced a Yamaha R-N803 receiver with a Dac100 connected. This CXA81 is superior in every way. Couldn't be happier with this unit.

Pros: The sound is amazing.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic detail and control

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic amplifier. I own a pair of Thiel TM3's and was looking for an amp to power them. I purchased a Parasound NewClassic 200, Audiolab 6000a, and the Cambridge CXA81 for comparison over a few weeks. The TM3's can be finicky to power, really require an amplifier with plenty of headroom even for low listening levels. Both the 6000a and the NewClassic 200 are comparable in power to the CX81, but just cannot compete with regards to detail and imaging. The CX81 has great depth and clarity, at all listening levels, staying quite linear if you want to push things a bit. It maintains the detail and control of the low and low-mid, a place where other amplifiers can fall short, and you can lose the definition of a finger plucked upright, electric bass, or bowed cello. I am utilizing an analog in for my phono preamp, and two of the digital inputs, one each optical and coaxial. The CX81 shines with all three. There are a couple features I would have liked to have seen in the design. First, an input offset in order to more closely gain match inputs, especially between analog and digital sources. Secondly, a small LCD screen to better indicate volume settings and amplifier status. I do appreciate the power save function where it goes to sleep after 20 minutes, but would be preferred if the time was adjustable. Am very happy with this amp and absolutely enjoy listening to it on a daily basis.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 13 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works exactly as advertised. I have only had it 2 weeks, check back in a year.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Alameda, CA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds wonderful and is a pleasure to use. AptX HD is convenient and sounds good enough that I haven't tried USB Audio yet.

Pros: Sounds great; clean look; good build quality; low- or no- noise; USB Audio and AptX HD.

Cons: Remote needs to point quite accurately; next/previous/play/pause doesn't work for bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Checks most of my needs boxes.

Crutchfield customer from Easton, MD on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great little stereo amp. Pros: a good selection of analog and digital inputs. Sufficient power for bookshelf speakers to very loud volume. 4 Ohm capability. Very low THD. Simple layout and design. Cons: no bass management except RCA sub out port. Would have liked high and low pass filter freq options. No HDMI audio input (for higher res digital audio). Glass window not needed (buttons only would suffice). No Vol control on the remote. Overall, this is pretty close to what I wanted at a fair price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Very good integrated amp.

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good integrated amp. The sound is very clear and the controls and remote are easy to use. I bought this amp to replace a much more expensive Bryston BR 60 amp that I used for 20 years. The Cambridge Audio CXA81 sounds very clear and was a good choice.

Pros: Remote control features.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade from ELAC EA101EQ-G

David from Olathe, KS on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this with older KEF LS-50s and SBS1000 sub. Easy to set up and so far I am impressed. As one reviewer noted, this amp "expands" the sound stage in that in my small office instead of two distinct sound sources the sounds seems to fill the whole end of the room were the speakers are located. I was using an ELAC EA101EQ-G but understood that I should get better performance out of the LS-50s with more power as they are somewhat "inefficient". That is the case with the CXA81. I have it integrated with an OPPO Blu-ray and Apple Mac Pro via cables for audio. Also, I have used Bluetooth paring with an iPad for iTunes and Amazon Music. All of which sound very good. I must confess that I am not an audiophile and do suffer from some hearing loss in the higher ranges but I do like this amp.

Pros: Plenty of power. Easy to set up. More than enough connection options

Cons: Missing Airplay 2 (but this can be overcome via Bluetooth connection).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounds and overall awesome amp, my only picky complaint would be the overall design. Would have rather had two dials or a actually display with tone controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Edwardsville, IL on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver! I had the Cambridge AXR 85 previously and this receiver has so much more detail. It really was night and day difference. My only real complaint is that it can be a bit bright on some songs (reason for 4 stars). My system consists of CXA81, Triangle Bro8's, Pro-ject RPM 1 turntable, and Mac Mini for digital music. I'm really happy :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Awesome integrated amp

Crutchfield customer from Womelsdorf, PA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying another manufacturer's 3x more expensive integrated amp and sending it back because it just didn't have the sound that I was looking for I gave the CXA81 a listen. It was exactly what I was looking for. Lesson learned more expensive doesn't necessarily mean it is better. Plugged in my AudioQuest Monsoon IEC power cable, hooked up my Wharfedale Diamond 225 speakers (sensitivity 87 dB) with AudioQuest Rocket 33 bi-wire speaker cables plugged my MacBook Pro using an AudioQuest carbon usb interconnect, turned on Audirvana and started streaming Tidal MQA tunes. My wife immediately said wow that is so clear and articulate and I said to myself this is exactly what I was looking for in clarity, soundstage and silent background. All I can say is awesome integrated amp. It takes a few days for the amp to open up, each day the soundstage grew wider, deeper, and clearer. Now I can't wait for my backordered Cambridge Audio CXN streamer. I have dealt with Crutchfield for several years now and they are the best in customer service.

Pros: Powerful full sound, full of detail and dynamics. Plenty of reserve power on tap, volume dial at 10 O'Clock is almost too loud.

Cons: None!!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Clarity

Crutchfield customer from Ridgway, CO on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super impressed with the clarity and power of this integrated amp. I did a lot of research at this price point and, well, I am thrilled with my choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sherman

Scott from Sherman on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely terrific unit. Has a very bright sound so if you like treble, this will be a great choice. Tons of power and really drives speakers - I bought the A61 and returned it for the A81 and I can tell the difference with the extra power driving the speakers - even at low volume levels. Wish there were tone controls but since I am a treble person, I am ok with it. Remote is not great - no range at all so have to be within 12 feet or so and the volume control is super sensitive so you have to tap rather than push or volume will be more loud or low than you would probably want. Other negative is if you have your 'B' speakers on in a different room, the sub still plays in the 'A' room. So when we have music on outside with B speakers, the sub plays indoors - not that big of a deal. Lastly, the DAC is great - streaming is terrific. Highly recommends this!

Pros: Sound is amazing

Cons: Remote is terrible

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Exellent sound.

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most importantly: excellent sound! (a worthy upgrade from Onkyo A/V receiver). Looks nice and clean. Good connectivity. I wish there would be: tone controls, second coaxial input, full size headphone jack.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Relieved

Crutchfield customer from Middlebury, VT on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went through two NAD C658's, using them with an ancient Adcom Amp. First, I had extreme digital jitter. Then I had issues with the phono stage with clicks and dropouts. Thanks to Crutchfield's generous return policy I decided to go in an entirely different direction. Picked up this integrated, using my 2019 MacBook Pro as my streamer and a CA Duo phono preamp. I could not be happier. I connected the MBP to the onboard DAC with a nice USB-C to USB-B cable and it sounds great with MQA and HiRes files. With a little help from Audivirna I'm not missing BluOS at all. The Duo sounds as good, if not better, than any Yamaha phono stage, which is not faint praise. Finally, the amp end of things is plenty powerful to run my vintage Vandersteen 2CE's. The only thing I will miss is Dirac Live. That software, albeit extremely finicky, can make your speakers sing if you know what you're doing when tweaking the EQ. But, I have found the CXA-81 presents a less woofy sound to correct than my other setup and really could only use the tiniest of tweaks.

Pros: Plenty of power, clean sound, great DAC

Cons: No room correction

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delighted. Really fine sound, and the functioning is flawless.

Pros: A wonderful amplifier.

Cons: Mone

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly Recommended!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As per most of the previous reviews, a fantastic amp to build your stereo sound system around. Powerful, a plethora of inputs for pretty much any other device and wonderful sound through a pair of B & W 606S2 and a B & W 8" sub. Highly Recommended!

Pros: Well made, beautifully finished and sounds great.

Cons: No phono pre amp but seems like very few amps at this level have one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Haymarket, VA on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've head a set of B&W 683 floorstanders (original model I believe) sitting in the bedroom for many years. Loved them when I demo'ed them but at home my old HK AVR and Pioneer Elite AVR just couldn't wake them up properly. Enter the CXA81! Not only did this 2 channel amp wake them up but brought them roaring to life. Doesn't matter if bluetooth Tidal or Amazon HD, vinyl, or what the source of music is. Fills the room with muscular but smooth music that even my wife can hear. In fact she's been stealing a seat in my listening chair quite frequently since powering this amp up the very first time. The only question to ask is why did I take so long to purchase?

Pros: Looks Simplicity Great powerful but smooth sound

Cons: Nothing I've found yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An exceptional stereo receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound Bad Remote

Rob from Phoenix on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First: I love this receiver and I'm very glad I purchased it. The sound, which is by far the most important thing to me, is outstanding, so I am happy. I also am very happy with the on-board DAC; it sounds smoother and less harsh compared to other DACs I have heard. Bluetooth sounds good. I would purchase this unit again. I am running this with big, vintage Altec Santanna speakers circa 1971, so my experience will be very different from folks with newer speakers. The sound on these speakers really shines on tracks that emphasize powerful but non-complex mid ranges: pop, jazz combos and standards, broadway, chamber music, etc. Vocals are powerful with beautiful, full rich tone. Backing instruments are also clear and really sing out. The sound is a lot muddier but still nice on tracks with complex midranges (e.g., orchestral, hard rock, large scale choral, etc.) Bass is strong enough but not very tight on electronic and hip hop tracks. I'm sure these issues are due to my old speakers, but I honestly had been hoping this amp would work some magic on them. I'm a little disappointed but I knew that was wishful thinking. I will need to invest in some new speakers soon. The range on the remote is really bad. I have to stand no more than 12 feet from the front of the amp for it to work, and even then it is sketchy. Also, you cannot use your phone to adjust volume when using bluetooth; you have to have your phone and remote together, and you have to stand close. That ki

Pros: Rich powerful sound on vintage speakers with beautiful tone Great DAC with awesome sound from USB with Tidal; better than Topping D50 DAC and much better sound than vinyl using my older, mid-range turntable Bluetooth sounds good and works very well

Cons: Remote has very poor range (~12 feet max) Can't adjust volume via bluetooth (you need to use the remote) The unit powers off too soon when not in use (need to use the remote to power back on) Would have liked tone and balance controls, but not a deal killer

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Satisfying unit

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm overall happy with the CXA81 cambridge. It drives my Martin Logan. Motion 60 XT really well but it is a little brighter than I was expecting do to the ribbon tweeter also a little bright. I am getting used to the sound as they are very detailed in the upper frequency and I hesr detailes better than with any other amplifier I have owned. I think it will get better with more break in time It was a choice between this and the NAD C368 and after listening to the NAD 's I wasn't very impressed with them or their operating controls. The main drawback with the Cambridge is the remotes volume control jumps up twice as much as the volume knob control on the unit itself and also does not have a lighted LED telling where the vollume knobs level is displayed. I would have hoped a $1300.00 integrated amp would have that, as my 40 year old Sansui had that feature. I am almost exclusively streaming through a Sonos connect or toslink from my TV. I need to get the Cambridge CD player instead of running through HDMI from my Bluray To the TV then opticsl to the amplifier. Biggest problem is the CD player of the higher priced CD trandport.

Pros: Plenty of power and more inputs than I could ever use.

Cons: A little brighter on the top end than I am used to and don't care for the remotes volume controll.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Weymouth, MA on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from a Pioneer receiver and the difference is huge. The bass handling is significantly better. I previously thought my speakers were just bad at imaging but with this amp the image is much clearer and the soundstaging is much wider. Overall great product and would recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, looks good, sounds great. Glad I bought this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Upgraded to CXA81 and Extremely Happy I Did!!!

Crutchfield customer from Winnetka, IL on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Test drove the Cambridge Audio AXA35 for 30 days (which was really great) but I felt my speakers would sound better with more punch. The CXA81 is night and day more powerful, better separation, more detail - amazing sound. A Crutchfield associate helped me make the decision and the exchange. I am incredibly impressed with the CXA81 and, paired with the CXN v2 - I just made a massive jump in sound quality, power, and access to my digital library. I am also into vinyl. My Technics SL1500C still sounds amazing running through the CXA81. In fact, I'm hearing a lot more detail on my vinyl as well. As always, great experience with Crutchfield and I will be rocking this amp for many years to come.

Pros: Big power, great detail / separation, and amazing sound. Great design - looks amazing especially when paired with other CA products. Had never used balanced XLR cables before. Makes a noticeable difference for optical. My friends are jealous :)

Cons: No phono preamp but I knew that going in and was not an issue for my current setup.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nothing but stereo goodness!

ALan from Morehead City, NC on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all ignore the multiple reviews that say the remote has no volume control. I does, read the manual. I've finally found an amp to bring out the potential of my 16 year old Polk RTi 150's. Increased soundstage and clarity with which I find myself understanding lyrics and hearing individual instruments I've never been able to resolve before on music I'm very familiar with. Combined the Polks with an SVS SP2000 pro subwoofer and a BluSound Node 2i. The Cambridge CXA81 ties everything together beautifully, couldn't be happier.

Pros: Great sound and plenty of power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Superior Sound and quality

Crutchfield customer from Rabun Gap, GA on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good amp. You might notice that it sounds a little edgy for the first day or so, as some reviews have pointed out, but the sound quickly becomes detailed, full, and, above all, musical. I found myself being able to relax and just enjoy the music. Build quality is top-notch. My system consists of a Rega Planet CD player, Polk SDA SRS speakers and a TCL television. Connections are all Toslink. I also tried playing the CDs through an analog input; it was excellent, too, though I prefer the Toslink sound. I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of sound from Spotify and Tune-In through my Google Pixel 3 via Bluetooth. If you are considering this amp, you should buy it. You won't be disappointed. It is a joy to use. The service from Crutchfield was excellent. The package arrived on time and was exactly as described. The Cambridge box was inside a Crutchfield box which was plastic wrapped. I don't think you could protect the merchandise any better.

Pros: -- Excellent build quality -- Beautifully detailed and lively sound -- Nice, clean design

Cons: Nothing I can think of

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

good

Crutchfield customer from Barrigada, GU on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

An outstanding integrated amp, and unbeatable for the money

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An outstanding integrated amp, and unbeatable for the money. I did a ton of research and this unit came with a lot of hype from its many stellar reviews, so my expectations were high. My setup is built around my computer station and vinyl turntable, and I play UltraHD streaming files and quality vinyl (Components are: TEAC TN400 turntable, upgraded AT VMN40 ML cartridge, Pro-Ject Tube Box DS phono stage, & Audioengine P4 speakers with a 12 inch Polk Sub). I upgraded from the Rotel 12 amp and the CXA81 lives up to its reputation. It delivers crisp, yet warm sound across the spectrum, with a clear, spacious 3D soundstage, even with my small desktop speakers just three feet apart. It excels mightily with Electronica, Jazz and Classical, and everything in between. From the sibilance of YoYo Ma's violin strings, to the rafter shaking beats of Daft Punk, to the mellow tones of John Coltrane's sax, to the sung whispers of Diana Krall, it nails them all with a level of detail and clarity the Rotel (a pretty darn good integrated amp), simply could not. At first listen, I thought the highs were harsh, but this disappeared after an hour of listening with burn in. It is a great companion for vinyl, projecting both warmth and great clarity (a tough balance), with no hum in my setup until very high volumes are dialed in. However, you will need a phono pre-amp, as there is there is none built in, and the remote is pretty useless (no volume control), but these are quibbles.

Pros: Terrific detail and clarity, while retaining warmth. Great 3D soundstage. Bluetooth streaming. TOSlink, USB and Ultra HD capable.

Cons: Remote not very helpful (no volume control). No built in phono stage. Minimal customization options (though not really needed).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Randolph, VT on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amplifier to replace a Denon receiver that's over thirty years old. Now my Snell speakers, equally old with replaced woofers, have come into their own. There's music coming out of those wooden boxes that I never heard before now.

Pros: The best hi fi sound that I've heard yet.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replace a reliable, older amp (i.e. 30 yo reliable workhorse) with the CXA81. I noticed an immediate difference in clarity and new enjoyment listening to old favorites. My only complaint is no balance knob but that is small issue that could be easily offset by better speaker placement. Also the need for balance is lessened by the crisper response which enhances the separation between the two speakers. So overall, no complaints about this item, which arrived in 2+ days undamaged despite the 2500 mi travel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wow! Awesome Integrated Amp

Shaun from DURHAM, NC on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am extremely pleased with my CXA-81. I was having problems with my CXA-80 and reached out to Crutchfield to see what could be done. I swapped it out for the. CXA-81 and there's a high difference. The soundstage is better and it handles all different genres with ease. I ordered the CXA-80 because it was cheaper and didn't have any huge differences between the CXA-81...on paper. I thought I needed the tone controls but I truly do not. I think that's something to take note. Cambridge made a product so well that they were like "Nah, you won't be any adjustments" and they're right. The amp doesn't need a phone stage... build your own system. It's fun. If it's that important to you then this isn't the product for you. I'm completely satisfied with this Amp. Thank you Nemo at Crutchfield for helping pick the right product.

Pros: Sabre DAC No phono input Huge Soundstage Bi-wire speaker connection

Cons: At this price point...none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Brambleton, VA on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this with my old sanus faber concertos, rega sp3 with musical fidelity phono amp and the sound is so amazing! Took me a long time to choose it by reviewing several comparable two channel integrated amps. The availability of the XLR audio inputs is what sealed the choice. So glad that I did!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is fantastic! A very lively sound. Tight bass and very clear highs! Does an excellent job driving the LS50s.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the performance of the Cambridge amplifier. It performs as advertised. My only regret is that the controller doesn't provide for volume adjustment. As far as sound reproduction, channel separation, and appearance, i am totally satisified.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Exceptional clarity & detail!

Crutchfield customer from S Burlington, VT on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amp as I needed more power to drive my Wharfedale 10.2 bookshelf speakers. They are quite inefficient, at just 86dB sensitivity and a 6-ohm load. I originally purchased a Marantz PM-8006 (70 WPC@8ohm, 85 WPC@ 6ohm), hoping it would have the juice to bring my Wharfedales to life, but it did not. I'm a big fan of the Marantz sound and build quality, and while it's an excellent amp, and would work with more efficient speakers, it didn't work for me. So after doing a ton of research, I arrived at this Cambridge unit. It's a well-reviewed, award wining amp, and with putting out 80 WPC@8ohms and 100WPC@6ohms, I thought this would surely have the power I need for my Wharfedales. While it was a noticeable improvement over the more laid back sound of the Marantz PM8006, I still felt it didn't have the punch my speakers needed. But, it was very close. The soundstage was incredible- articulate, detailed, a bit forward, but insanely clear. Finally, my Wharfedales were brought to life!!! Imagine and spatialization were remarkable. Just not quite enough low end punch though for my power thirsty speakers. I really loved this unit- and nearly kept it. But in the end, I chose the NAD C388 amp at 150 WPC, as it really brought out my speakers full capability with plenty of power to spare.

Pros: - stunning clarity - highly musical - plenty of power, even for inefficient speakers - easy to use - solid build quality

Cons: - lack of cohesiveness to the music at higher volumes - no phono stage

Crutchfield response on

26 of 27 found this helpful

A Solid Option

Steve from Cambridge, VT on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent amp for the money. It shines in rendering small-to-medium-sized combos playing rock, e.g. Steely Dan, jazz, e.g. Art Pepper, by providing detailed, crisp, clear, dynamic and punchy sound with slam when needed. Vocals, both male and female, carry emotion. The bass is literally visceral. Highs are crystal clear without being fatiguing. However, what is not addressed in most reviews is my impression that it can sound a little smeary when it runs into complex, layered pieces with lots of musicians or arrangements involving the interplay of different sections, such as orchestral or big band music, e.g. Zappa's London Symphony or Yellow Shark recordings. The same holds true for tunes where there is a lot of competition for musical space in the mid-range, e.g. Branford Marsalis' live recording of A Love Supreme. Also it doesn't fully etch out all of the nooks and crannies when it encounters challenging combinations of rhythm and timbre, like up-tempo horn jazz licks like Coltrane's tenor solo on Giant Steps. If you're into music that plays to this amp's strengths you will probably appreciate the headroom (even at 80 wpc), punch, authority in the bass, clear highs and good detail overall. If your tastes go more towards sweeping, sonically diverse, complex, large-group music it might not live up to the expectations created by many of the reviews out there. I'm still giving it 5 stars because, even so, it does deserve them at this price.

Pros: Punchy, dynamic, powerful, clear highs, floor rattling bass

Cons: Better suited to small combo music than to orchestral or big band

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Yuba City, CA on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp, paired it with KEF LS50.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Pittston, PA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I stumbled into a vintage paid of Ohm Walsh speakers that were 4ohm, so I needed something substantial to move them. After doing some research, I found this amp in my price range. After reading reviews and seeing that it had won awards for its improvements, I was sold. In the few weeks that I have had it, I must say, it's a beautiful piece. It is built like a tank. Everything about it feels solid and "expensive", lol. The packaging was like opening a high end piece of jewelry. The inputs and connectors are great and syncing a Bluetooth device was a breeze (although I bought it to listen to vinyl primarily). The sound and responsieness are more than I could have expected and make me want to throw all of my other equipment away. I've been listening wrong for all of these years. Buy this. You won't regret it.

Pros: Build quality. Sound. Response. Ease of setup.

Cons: No tone controls, but I'm reaching here.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Good price, amazing sound.

Crutchfield customer from South Jordan, UT on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This integrated amplifier answered all my expectations for good stereo sound. It is connected with audioquest cables Rocket 11 by single-biwire to a pair of Kef R3 speakers. It produces a clean, clear and richly detailed sound.

Pros: Good number of digital and analog inputs. DAC of great quality. Incredible sound

Cons: Nothing until now

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Smooth

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up with Klipsch Forte ll the sound is crystal clear open and well defined. Using with B&W 602 2 along with a Polk 100w Sub the highs are just ok lows fine. This is an excellent integrated amp which deserves using with very good allied equipment.

Pros: Set up, sound, appearance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Lakes, NJ on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and works perfectly with the CXN streamer.

Pros: Obviously very well built and sounds great.

Cons: The remote is a bit hard to figure out but I've only been controlling it with my phone anyway. Sounds is great. I understand the crossover is at a pretty high frequency ~2500 Hz so you might want to control that lower with the subwoofer. Instructions on things like that are a bit thin.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

sublime sound

Aditya from FREMONT, CA on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this along with some Monitor 100 silver bookshelfs, and a sonos port (Have the sonos turn this on via the 12v trigger) and the power on this amp is effortless - the sound quality just envelopes you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big improvement in sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Hilton Head, SC on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great products that have greatly improved the sound quality of my audio system. Had some problems with set up; Crutchfield Tech Support supplemented by my own reading solved them eventually. Much better than buying from other online vendors, where you're on your own after purchase.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: Set up would be easier if manuals were clearer: better explanations to supplement diagrams.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 2/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a 25-year-old Harmon Kardon receiver before I picked this receiver up. So my perspective may be different than that of an audiophile enthusiast. But this unit is amazing. It has all the power that I wanted to drive my B&W CM5's and CM1's. These speakers can take quite a bit of power. [120 & 100 watts] High Res CD's sound amazing, sharp crisp and very detailed in the delivery of the sound. I have the CM5's in a living room and I can fill the room with excellent sound at all volumes. 15x15. The CM1's are in my kitchen, and they absolutely rock in there. [about a 25-foot run from the receiver.]Spotify sounds so much better than I was anticipating. It's terrific to allow guests to our home to hook up to the Blue tooth to play there own files. This unit was easy to set up. The Crutchfield team offered excellent service. The remote is easy to use, and, It is terrific to adjust the volume from the sofa.

Pros: Sound-power-ease of use.

Cons: Getting use to no base knob.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Day All, this is the first review I've ever written, bear with me....... So I've been using a Hitachi HMA 7500 since 1978, now paired with a NAD 165BEE , JRiver, Tidal, DacMagic, and Paradigm Monitors (2 sets and Sub) that are about 30 years old. I know, a very weird combination but in all to me a decent sounding stereo. Just bought the CXA81 because I have to expand and make two stereos out of the kit. Anyways, totally happy, CXA81 works excellently in every regard. I bought this based on all the reviews I could read and cannot be happier. Works even better than expectation....... Don

Pros: Exceptional, easy to setup and use,

Cons: For the cost, absolutely none. Oh, be careful you don't hold the remote upside down and raise the volume rather than lower it. Easy to do with this remote.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Senoia, GA on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs better than expected. I'm an old school guy, so I'm still learning all that I can do to this unit. Not used to digital inputs and Bluetooth and wi/fi. Hey, it's also fun!!!

Pros: Digital inputs and analog. Powering my new goldenear triton one . Rs. Now you know I have great sound.

Cons: Nothing yet.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Yaphank, NY on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied. I had purchased a Marantz NR1200 and was not happy with it. It sounded shrilly and not much punch. I returned it and sprung for the extra $ and purchased the CXA81. Worth every penny. The rest of my system consists of Q Acoustics Concept 20 mains and dual Cambridge Mind X301 subs.

Pros: Open, punchy, defined bass. Power to spare.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Simplicity defined. Incredible sound.

Crutchfield customer from Brattleboro, VT on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pretty sure that I was missing out with my older amp (which was no slouch) but WOW this CXA81 is astounding. I simplified my system greatly yet improved the overall sound quality dramatically. Very pleased with the result. Great amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXA81

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound/

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Solid, Honest, Presentation of Beautiful Sound

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been over a month of my listening to the CXA81 and I just keep enjoying and appreciating it more and more with every bit of music I flow through it. It just projects an honest, up front sound, with a wide stage and plenty of power and detail. With just two bookshelf speakers, I still feel that the details of the music are dancing all around me. It has all the inputs I could ever need minus a phono stage, but I didn't expect or want one built-in. After going though many high-end HiFi amps over the years, the 81 is a keeper and will keep its place as the center of the family sound system for a very long time to come.

Pros: USB input and the variety of other inputs

Cons: No tone controls, which was irritating at first but oddly enough I like not having them now.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Nice British sound

Crutchfield customer from Diamond Bar, CA on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice British Sound, deliver an open sound stage, punchy and clarity of the vocal is amazing.

Pros: Powerful class AB, built in Bluetooth with aptX® HD is a plus.

Cons: No Phono stage.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Powerful Cambridge AMP

Crutchfield customer from San Marino, CA on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very satisfy Cambridge Audio CXA81, which delivers powerful, crystal clear music to my floor standing REVEL F208.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Absolutely brilliant

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very musical and very punchy too. Definitely recommend a Sub to get the best bass. The built in DAC is surprisingly good when paired with a PC thru USB.

Pros:

Cons: I wish they added an ethernet port to allow web or mobile app control.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

TOP