Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio CXC v2

CD transport (no DAC onboard)

MFR # C11134K

Cambridge Audio CXC v2

Cambridge Audio CXC v2

CD transport (no DAC onboard)

MFR # C11134K

9 reviews
View this product

Bit-perfect - including the errors on the disc

Crutchfield customer from Merion Station, PA on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overpriced transport. Exact replica of the bits on the disc - and that means scratches too. No error correction. If the disc has an error, this player will faithfully reproduce that error and deliver it in the bitstream to your receiver. If that level of 'accuracy' is what you're after, then go ahead. Me, I'd rather 'suffer' the 'inaccuracy' of error correction and avoid the screech to the speakers. Wish I'd bought a different unit.

Pros: Bit-perfect accuracy

Cons: Any scratches on your CDs will be faithfully reproduced as well.

Crutchfield response on 12/2/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your CD transport. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Six Of One; Half Dozen Of Another

Floyd from Bayville, NJ on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD Transport is, indeed, superb but is not reliable. I am on my second unit. The first one went haywire, anytime, it was in the Random Mode," stopping in mid-song; not selecting the next track or the disc draw wouldsuddly open. The second unite has definitely been more reliable...but, on occassions the draw will open and immediately close and I must reopen the drawer three times before it will dunction properly or I must reboot it. It does do what Cambridge Audio toutes and it does extract much of what you will not hear from lesser units, but, ultimately, you will, probably, wind up getting a replacement.

Pros: supremely extracting of musical information

Cons: Reliability is not a strong point.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXC v2

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was listening to CDs on my Panasonic Blue Ray player, DP-UB820. This is a definite step up. I am very impressed with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pure digital sound.

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was originally listening to my CDs on a 4K player through an HDMI connection. The first time I listened to a CD on the CXC v2 through a optical cable, I had to turn my subs down about 25%. There is so much more bass information. The treble was also noticeably clearer and more detailed. Since I haven't owned a CD-only player since about 2004, I can't honestly say how much of the improvement is the player and how much is the optical cable but, the combo is awesome. The CXC v2 is a sturdy, well built unit with an uncluttered front panel. The display is a little hard to read because it's extremely dim. You have a choice of dim, super dim and off. The remote seems heavy duty and well built. Unfortunately it's a multi-remote for a Cambridge Audio CXA and CXN so, if you don't own any other Cambridge gear you will only be using the 10 buttons at the extreme bottom of the remote. If they could delete the remote, brighten the display and drop the price $100 it would be perfect. If you have a large CD collection and a high quality DAC or digital preamp, this player is definitely worth getting.

Pros: Superb sound quality, heavy quality construction, good looks.

Cons: Dim display. Large, mostly useless remote unless you have a CXN or CXA components.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

A fine upgrade

Guest from Tuscaloosa, AL on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is for the previous version, which is basically the same, with minor differences. Always wanted a Cambrige CD player, and this one does not disappoint, did not think it would outdo my collection of flac files but the difference is noticable. Now I hardly play them at all unless I lack the CD version. Running this through a Parasound P5 with burr brown DAC, 706s2 speakers, klipsch sub. Not quite as "real" as my Rega PIII, but extremely close, and the difference between flac is remarkable really. When I first got this player it skipped, I could not believe it. But after relocating it that stopped. This player considers sound over error correction. And other than the remote, which is sparse and intended for a system, everything about this player is perfect. I've been buying CD'S, burning them to flac and using them as a backup, but now I take them out and play them, worth the trouble with this player. And the only other spinner in my system, an OPPO 203 that I also bought at Crutchfield, was never a decent CD player. A very nice addition.

Pros: Brings your CD collection to life, great sound, very detailed.

Cons: A dedicated remote, not one for a system, would be nice, but not a deal breaker

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

High Quality CD Transport

Christian from LITTLETON, CO on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After quite a bit of researching CD players and transports over several months for my new stereo system, I ultimately decided on the Cambridge Audio CXC v2. It appeared on multiple top 10 lists and was consistently well reviewed. Since I was already going to have an outboard DAC in my Cambridge Audio Streaming Pre-Amp I wouldn't need a CD player with it's own DAC. Very happy with my choice so far. The CXC v2 seems very smooth in operation, and high quality in terms of build. It consistently reads CDs with light to moderate scuffing that my 20 year old Panasonic wouldn't. The sound is detailed and expressive without any real discernible coloration to my ear. I am not sure how much more you'd have to spend to get a CD transport or player that provides a real perceivable jump in sound quality. About the only downside with the CXC is that it does not do other formats. If you have a high quality DAC already, I would absolutely recommend the CXC v2.

Pros: - Detailed, Clean, Expressive, Dynamic sound without discernible coloration - Looks the part, with modern aesthetic, and nicely built - Smooth, consistent operation

Cons: Single purpose component: CDs only, won't handle SACD, MP3s on CD-R or RW. May not handle Redbook Audio CDs (don't know haven't tried yet)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXC v2

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This transport does not disappoint! I needed to replace an older / failing Sony ES machine and started researching options. The CXC v2 was a great choice to pair with my Vincent 237MK as it already has a built in DAC. Right out of the box it sounds fantastic! My only "negatives", and these are minor to be sure. First, I wish the "bright" display setting was a bit brighter so I could see it easier from across the room. Second is that it comes with a large "universal" remote. I would prefer a smaller dedicated to the CD functions only one. Again, super minor items and they do not inhibit my enjoyment at all. The Crutchfield salesman was fantastic and answered all of my question with very informed and knowledgable detail. Shipping was spot on. Super fast and no damage. I can highly recommend both the CXC v2 and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXC v2

Crutchfield customer from Sparta, MI on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cd player has not disappointed. I am enjoying listening to cd's I had filed away years ago. In combination with my other components and cables, the sound is superb. It is well built and I have not had any issues with its performance. I did intensive research before buying this unit and feel my choice was the right one. I have also enjoyed buying through Cruthchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Didn't know what I was missing

Richard from Brooklyn , NY on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced an old Denon cd player I've had for years. Purchased this on a friend's recommendation and I could not be happier. Connected to my Marantz SR 6014 via digital coax and was blown away. I'm a huge Steely Dan fan and appreciate the band's quality recordings. This transport makes it feel like Donald Fagen and Walter Becker are in the room with me. Clear, detailed sound. I could swear I'm hearing things I've never heard before. This baby really makes my SVS Ultra speakers sing! Even my older CD's sound better. Build quality is great - unit has a nice, sturdy feel to it. Loving the minimalist look of the front panel. Definitely does not feel cheap and the lunar gray color is nice. Now...the included remote is a disappointment. Controls for transport are at bottom of remote. Hard to reach when holding with one hand. I had to hold the remote with two hands to make sure I didn't drop it by accident. Also, No number buttons to allow skipping to tracks you want to play. Thankfully, I programmed my Harmony Elite for the CXC and now have all the buttons I need, including track numbers. Remote went back into the box. Apart from this, I am thrilled with my purchase and Crutchfield got me my new transport in 2 days.

Pros: Fantastic quality for the price. Sounds great.

Cons: Poor remote. What the hec was Cambridge Audio thinking?

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP