Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Cambridge Audio CXN

Stereo digital preamplifier/network player, optional Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # C10785K

Cambridge Audio CXN

Cambridge Audio CXN

Stereo digital preamplifier/network player, optional Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # C10785K

20 reviews
View this product

Will bring your music to life!

Crutchfield customer from Wooster, OH on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this so far. Sound is amazing both streaming on Spotify and streaming from my NAS drive. I have been streaming FLAC files via wifi and it has been working pretty well without delay other than some really large files. I also was not expecting to be able to stream DSD files on the wifi but it seems to be working for me. This is a fantastic music streamer and has helped me enjoy all of my hirez music files that were sitting on my hard drive along with getting even more out of Spotify. I have used a few streaming radio stations also and they are fantastic. Pretty happy overall with the Cambridge app also. I highly recommend if you are looking for a quality music streamer. The sound exceeded my expectations!

Pros: Ease of use Connectivity Sound quality Build quality Size

Cons: Nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Unit

Nick from Boston, MA on 12/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace my office set up which was an older iPhone in a Cambridge iD100 dock to bypass the iPhone dacs. The preamp was good, but had no Bluetooth or streaming capability. I find myself using streaming services like Spotify more than my CD library, so the ability to do that and gain access to internet radio stations (which I'm now discovering) is great. After some research I decided to give CNX a try. Thus far I'm pretty happy with it. For the price it gives me streaming and pre-amp capability, upsampling and the world of internet radio. I use the iPhone app to control it, and it works pretty well. A little clunky but you just need to get used to it. I also bought the Bluetooth module and tried it only once for Pandora. I found it very odd to use. There isn't much control from the app when using Bluetooth. It does work though but I need to figure out if I'm doing it correctly. Overall I'm happy with the limited features I've used thus far. Some things I wish it had - better control when using Bluetooth, and a subwoofer connection. Still great and I am enjoying it.

Pros: Streaming Internet radio Sound Quality Pre-amp Capability

Cons: Add on Bluetooth interface is odd No subwoofer pre-out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN

Crutchfield customer from Blountville, TN on 12/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I? purchased the CXN to replace a Logitech Squeezebox Touch, that was no longer supported by Spotify, though I? could still use it for other streaming purposes through a headphone amp. The CXN has been a real surprising upgrade with flawless Spotify integration and superb sound quality. My only quibble would be with the CA connect app, with is less than impressive, although functional it needs some modernization and better quality UI interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement over streaming with Bluetooth. Easy setup, control your music on any device, control with Spotify. Does support Pandora radio too. if you are thinking about getting one, get it, you will enjoy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth every penny

sm from Rock Hill, SC on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds is excellent easy set up!

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get this unit!

JK from Cleves, OH on 11/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, excellent, EXCELLENT! Outstanding sound and trouble free set-up. Just turn it on and it finds all music on the network, Easy! It sounds incredible . Strong, solid crystal clear sound. I could not be happier with this unit. Why did I put off going digital for so long? The Cambridge Connect app is great too.

Pros: Easy set-up, awesome sound. Tons of radio stations. Control it from phone or tablet.

Cons: Not a darn thing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good addition

jon from Katonah, NY on 10/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using with McIntosh and B & W' diamonds. Found it simple so far and the music has been clean and on par with what I wanted. So far I am very pleased and have had no issues.

Pros: So I needed a way to add streaming to my McIntosh rack in my den and didn't want to sacrifice quality. The CXN so far has fit the bill. I use Sonos connect in other room but didn't measure up to the specs on the Mc system. I am just starting to use it but have found the basics extremely easy and I haven't stumbled yet. I'm sure like most of my stuff I will never fully use it to get full potential. Either way I am totally pleased with my purchase.

Cons: Non yet. Been easy so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN

Crutchfield customer from Wanaque, NJ on 8/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is very good. App works fine, no problem. I try six network players (Yamaha, Marantz, Pioneer, Oppo) they all had problems with sound quality or apps. (network connection). Cambridge is so far the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN

Crutchfield customer from Greensburg, PA on 6/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using the CXN with a CXA 80 amp and aeromax 2 speakers. Good sound from streaming internet radio. I am very pleased with the system. Setting up the streaming can be a bit tricky given wifi, blue tooth, a PC and ethernet options but the systems works well and offers great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN

Crutchfield customer from Marina, CA on 2/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works for what I need , USB to computer, haven't used for anything else, no manual, online only

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

For CDs & music files you've stored anywhere!

John J from Charlotte, NC on 12/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DAC/channel do an amazing job to my ears. CXC - CXN - CXA80 + AT-LP5 tt - Klipsch Heresy IIs make just about sonically pure sound for this sub $5k rebuild. All the cabling now by AudioQuest has to be mentioned in this discussion. New to internet radio, the sound quality is on par with what's coming from the other components. My thirty year refurbish will be complete with an improved cartridge for the tt. Dreaming of Cornwalls now! Pre-amp ability of the CXN is nice paired with the CXA, set it to 20 out of 30 since there's no need to whisper around here. Cambridge Android app hasn't been much help yet without any subscriptions, been using the big remote. Music that I've known has a whole new life to it! Loving this Cambridge "British Sound" system.

Pros: You'll hear it "the way it was meant to be heard." connectivity options

Cons: Would be great to be able to hook the tt directly to it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN

Crutchfield customer from Huntington Beach, CA on 11/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great because of the dual Wolfson WM8740 DACs. CXN box is sometimes not responding smoothly when commanding through the Spotify app in iPhone. The box is very consisting producing crystal sound regardless of the the source - USB, Bluetooth connection from Iphone, or Spotify. It will be great if the CXN box has a dedicated Cortex processor like the Bluesound Node 2. Overall, I really like the CXN built quality, especially the Balance output XLR.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Heart of the Music System!

Eli from Poughkeepsie, NY on 7/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm pretty satisfied with the Cambridge Audio CXN Streamer/DAC. I also have the previous Magic Streamer. I use both around the house. It's important to familiarize ourselves with all the possibilities that the CXN offers. I have my "Classic" iPod connected via the ID 100 iPod dock, the "azur" 640 c, CD player. I listen to Apple Play through WiFi, listen to music and videos via the USB connection using my Mac Pro and also have access to additional music using a NAS hard drive. It's worth the investment. Most of the control can be done using an iPad.

Pros: -Simple intuitive system of operation through direct use, remote control or using an iPad. -Apple Play is available in the system. iTune recognizes the CXN as it was an "Airport Wifi unit -There are four inputs for the DAC -The outputs are RCA and XLR and can be connected two two different music systems at the same time.

Cons: -As a preamplifier, an analog input for a turntable or tuner would have made a big difference. -No AES/EBU XLR input for the DAC (I'm sure it would bring up the cost)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wow!

Matt from Denver, CO on 6/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is the brain of the digital half of my system. I have it paired with the Cambridge CXC and CXA80. Does a great job with Hi-Def audio files (24/192) and also makes compressed AAC files sound better to my ear. I use it primarily to stream audio files from my Synology NAS. It also acts as the DAC for the CXC. Great sound and great connectivity options. Love it.

Pros: Sound quality and connectivity. Dual DACS.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN

Richard from Candler, NC on 5/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this Network Player with my Apple computer to digitize my CD collection. The built in DAC sounds wonderful especially with the computer's built in digital signal processing equalization function. I also enjoy the free radio stations available online via WIFI. I feel that the best performance is achieved with USB direct digital connection, however. This is easily the best digital sound I've ever heard. Used in conjunction with a computer, you can overcome the differences in equalization of various recordings and match your system output to your room's acoustics and to your own preferences without downgrading technical performance. I'm very satisfied with the ease of use of this product.

Pros: Great sound and very easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

CXN Music Player

James from Santa Fe, NM on 5/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, This is really great! If you have a CXA80 or CXA60 AMP and you know about or enjoy Spotify, then definitely buy the CXN player. Spotify is built in to this player. Internet radio connects fast and also sounds great. This player connected to my WIFI quickly using WPS protocol and no password. You can have an enormous amount of music at your fingertips with your computer or your phone controlling the player. The upscaling definitely is working. I listened to my old favorites from the 70's and 80's and was very pleased, it sounded the same as I can remember from the original vinyl records. That was a long time ago, it might even sound better than my recollection. Todays music sounds even better. My WIFI delivers about 6.5 to 7.0 MB which is robust for one. If you have anyone else on your network then you will get downgraded sound or freezes, so you will need more speed. I am getting better than CD quality sound and can control everything with my phone or computer. So just by using the Spotify and the CXN APP on my computer and/or cell phone I am completely thrilled with this technology and ready to retire my CD's. On a technical note I am using XLR cables to connect to my CXA80, this enables me to use the two DAC converters on the CXN. Thanks to ANN at Crutchfield for helping me with this. In addition to my CXA80 and CXN my system consists of two PSB bookshelf speakers and a PSB/NAD subwoofer.

Pros: Excellent sound, easy setup, good apps for controlling the player.

Cons: None, superb design, integration and execution.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge CXN

Michael from Tampa, FL on 4/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This preamp is amazing. I never cared for digital formatted music before purchasing this CXN. I always thought vinyl/ albums were much more warmer and dynamic than CD's. This preamp with FLAC digital files sound better than the Vinyl/albums and CD's. It is much more dynamic and the highs are more pronounced and detailed. The bass is more extended and tighter. The sound all is warmer and the over all sound is punchier and louder giving more head room than before. I have this connected to my Acurus A-250(250RMS Watt) amp with an Acurus R-11 preamp. I have the CXN connected with the analog outs to my Acurus preamp analog inputs. I am leaving the Acurus preamp in the chain because I have a turntable and head phone preamp I use. I am using a pair of Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 speakers. This stereo out performs many stereo costing 4 times the cost of this.

Pros: Sound and Quality. Easy to use and user friendly lay out. Works great with Spotify and the quality is superb!

Cons: ipad amp could use some updates. All the songs/ library do not load complete! Also they should have designed some analog inputs for a Turntable or etc.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Product

Ronnie from asheboro, NC on 3/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this product for about two weeks and I love it. I hooked the CXN up to my Yamaha AX 596 Intergraded Amp and a pair of JBL Studio Series S38BE. Setting up the CXN was a breeze. It connected to my Home network with no problem and I was listening to internet radio stations in minutes after hooking it up. I was really impressed how good the stations sounded compared to regular radio stations. I have been storing all my HD Music files on a 128 GB flash drive so I Inserted it in the front USB port and listened to best music I have heard in years. I couldn't believe how the CXN made these HD files sound. I would recommend this product for any one who loves great sounding music. I also purchased the BT 100 to play my files from my Sony walkman NWZ-A17 and other Bluetooth devices. Works Great.

Pros: Easy to set up and use.

Cons: A bit pricy but well worth every penny.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

A Must Buy for Music Lovers

Tiptx4 from Ohio on 10/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't live without it as I using it almost everyday that I'm home. I love how well this things sounds and is so well built. Looks so good added to my home theater system. Everybody that comes over always seem to make positive comments about how cool it looks and sounds. It's well worth the price I paid for it.

Pros: Easy to set up and Very simple to use. I love how it will display the album cover on screen. I use it with the Cambridge App, Spotify, and all the Bluetooth music I can stream from. I do have the Cambridge BT100 for my Bluetooth streaming. This is one of the best purchases I have ever made. Works flawless with Tablets, Android and iPhone. Not one single complaint as this is a Must Buy for all Music Lovers. I listen to more music than I have ever did before. Cambridge has a winner here

Cons: Not really a Con but I wish the Cambridge App did more of an Artist search as it's limited. It does more of a Genre search/station search. App is good as there are over 10,000 stations to listen too.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

As Described

ChrisS from Kentucky on 7/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm probably not the exact target market for this box. I was having trouble with my Sony 5800ES locking up and generally doing "bad things" with my DLNA streaming solution. I was hoping that this box would fix it. (Turns out the problem was with the android controlling app I was using.) I'm not looking to improve my streamed audio sound, which seems part of the point of this box. Just a few comments: Playing through the CXN with analog connection to the 5800 did sound different than streaming straight to the 5800. So I'm ready to believe that CA has done some work to improve the sound. The display is an interesting choice. It's nice enough when you are sitting right on top of it but it's just too small to be useful across the room. Chances are you are going to use some kind of Android or iOS app to drive data to the CXN and that UI's going to be a lot nicer than the "completely fine, but smaller than your phone and across the room" color display on the front panel. On that note, I did install the Cambridge Connect app. It's functional. I don't think it really shines compared to apps like BubbleUPnP but especially if you had a homogeneous Cambridge system (with cxn and CA receiver) I can imagine it could be pretty helpful. All the rest is as-expected. It's built nicely. The software update happened smoothly and automatically. The product works as described.

Pros: It does exactly what it says it does.

Cons: Much of this functionality is built into many receivers these days.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP