Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
498 980 222 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
498 980 222 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Current Crutchfield time is 1:30 AM ET.

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Network audio streamer with Wi-Fi®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and optional Bluetooth® (Luna Grey)

MFR # C11138K

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Network audio streamer with Wi-Fi®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and optional Bluetooth® (Luna Grey)

MFR # C11138K

31 reviews
View this product

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first streamer. I've had it for about a week. The learning curve for it interfacing with my music has been a little confusing. For me it hasn't been plug and play for sure - definitely need the app and a little practice. Having said that - now that I've gotten more used to it - I'm increasingly excited. Sound quality is amazing.

Pros: Great sound quality. Interfaces with a lot of sources.

Cons: Initial interfacing a little clunky - gets better with practice. ;)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2) Sounds Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Winnetka, IL on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even though I knew the CXN v2 would sound better than the Apple TV into my Neuhaus Labs T1 Tube Amp driving my B&W CM6 S2's - I was still skeptical that the sound would inspire me enough to not return this device. Wow was I wrong. The sound is absolutely amazing. My only advice to those considering is do yourself a favor and subscribe to Room rather than using the Cambridge free app. Truly amazing device, sound, and great service/advice/delivery from Crutchfield. Dropping this much on this is well worth the sideways look you may get from your wife on the investment :)

Pros: Extremely easy to setup, sound is amazing, great looking and well built device. Roon integration is excellent; power it on and Roon saw it immediately.

Cons: This is a big device; make sure you have space for it. Cambridge Audio iOS app is not so good.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I normally don't do reviews. However, given some of the other reviews for this product, I thought I should do this one. The technical folks at Crutchfield were not overly helpful in answering my questions regarding whether I could connect a CXC (CD transport) to the CXN (Network Audio Player) and use the DAC in the CXN (since the CXC doesn't have a DAC). The Crutchfield person didn't think it would work. I wasn't convinced so I emailed Cambridge Audio and asked the same question. They replied that it would work and based on that, I took the plunge. Cambridge Audio was correct and when I connected the CXC to the CXN using a digital audio cable, it worked perfectly. Once I decided to buy, the Crutchfield experience was excellent, and I would buy from Crutchfield again any day. I will not comment on the streaming capabilities or the use of Tidal, Chromecast and other streaming applications. Others have done that. I'm old school and buy CDs, rip them to FLAC files and store the files on a USB drive. If that is what you want to use this unit for, it is an excellent unit and I would highly recommend it. I connected my 1 TB USB drive to the rear USB port. It is about half full and the CXN is able to find every album and plays the songs in the correct order. It handles multiple layers of folders just fine. If you put album art in the same folder as the songs, it will display. The sound quality is excellent and I am hearing details that I never heard before. Grea

Pros: Great unit for the price.

Cons: Need to be careful how you rip CDs if you want the songs to play in the correct order.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Lakes, NJ on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this streamer very easy to use. Even though I didn't expect it to work given what I read, I found I could cast from my Pandora app on my phone without any difficulties at all. This means that the device goes and gets the stream from my internet connection and keeps playing the channel even if I turn my phone off. It's better quality because it doesn't rely on sending the music from the phone over Bluetooth.

Pros: Works with Pandora even though that's not advertised.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Mixed Emotions

Crutchfield customer from Alhambra, CA on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge CXN v2 is a nicely built streamer + DAC with a great looking display. Overall this is a great streamer and performs wonderfully. However, I did not experience the big improvement over the built-in DAC in my integrated amp that I was looking for. It works seamlessly as a streamer but, if you already have a nice sounding DAC, this unit might be an expensive add-on. On the other hand, if one were to use this as a streamer+DAC+digital preamp directly connecting to a power-amp, the CXN v2 is an absolute bargain with great sonic abilities.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Greenwich, CT on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since my purchase of the CXN (V2) I have found myself spending hours listening to my digital tracks again. It's as though my collection has a new lease on life. I am playing the unit through my McIntosh MX121 and an Arcam P1000 power amp. The McIntosh has a wonderful two channel bypass which allows a purely unfiltered listening from the source. The onboard DAC is among the best in the business. In my research, you would need to spend much more to 2 times more to get a unit that is comparable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge cxn v2

Crutchfield customer from Senoia, GA on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool unit. Still learning all about it. At first could not connect to iPhone-chrome cast. Had glitch in iPhone not Cambridge. Now streaming Tidal and Qobuz. I love everything about it so far. Still learning, but it's been fun.

Pros: Can access all kinds of music. Was easy to set up once iPhone worked correctly. I'm 73! If I can, you can!

Cons: All is great so far!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Audio Streamer

Crutchfield customer from San Marino, CA on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2) manages high quality music through so many sources.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Phenomenal

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One word, PHENOMENAL ??????

Pros: Easy to setup and use.

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This network music streamer / pre-amp is easy to use and I connected to my 851W power amplifier. I choose CXN instead of 851N because 851N didn't have Chromecast function. The sound quality is good as expected when I connected it with the rca cable (planned to connected with balance cable later). It goes pretty loud with good sound quality, but it is better if it can go 2 to 4 dbs higher. Since it was for the CX series, I didn't expect it had the bass / treble adjustments. I think it is good enough for me now as it has balance adjustment and easy to use network functions. It is a good product that under 1000 dollars price range.

Pros: Great network music streamer with satisfied preamp functions. Nice sound with my 851W amp and it runs quiet. It is a best choice network music streamer under 1000 dollars.

Cons: Great for CX amplifiers and CD players only as it doesn't have any bass/treble adjustments or filter selections. It should have function to adjust the gain if it can work as preamp. No 12 volt trigger as the control connection only works on CX product (doesn't work on my 851W Powe amplifier). No on board Bluetooth function (the is not a great deal for me).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge CXN (V2) - early observations

Crutchfield customer from Roberts, MT on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Sound quality via XLR output to Yamaha A-S3000 is very clean. Input navigation is a bit unorthadox. I switch between Radio, Spotify (native connection built-in - nice, wish there was Apple Music as well...), USB, and DirecTV. Need to back out of menu tree and down different paths (e.g. USB is under Music Library vs being at the top level input menu such as Spotify and D1/D2).

Pros: Wide variety of inputs, good clean sound from all.

Cons: App is a bit clunky, simplistic. Sometimes auto-connects, other times not.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, IL on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is amazing!

Pros: Easy to use, made my speakers sound in a way, better than I thought they were capable of!

Cons: Needs more digital inputs, and more analog outputs!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to upgrade from Airport Express / Airplay streaming and I'm blown away by the difference in sound quality. Now streaming TIDAL at CD quality and it's a beautiful thing. A few critiques but I'm super happy with this unit.

Pros: Effortless streaming of TIDAL, Spotify at higher quality than Airplay Physically attractive unit with color LCD of album artwork

Cons: Remote control of volume through TIDAL app is buggy Cambridge Audio app is lame Replaced a preamp which had switched AC line out so I could turn on both remotely; this unit doesn't have switched AC line out so can't do that Doesn't support

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

An easy choice for those looking to get into high fidelity streaming

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit for a few weeks now and so far, I don't have any complaints. It was easy to set up and the sound quality is nice. Spotify Connect works seemlessly with it and the Cambridge Audio app is easy to use and works well with Tidal. Might be placebo but it seems that Tidal sounds better though the CA app vs Google Chromecast. I do wish that there was support for MQA but the quality of music is sharp and clear. As my first endeavor into the world of hi fi streaming, this was a good purchase for me. I don't have any regrets with this acquisition.

Pros: Easy to set up and use.

Cons: No support for MQA

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Highly recommend

Thomas from Bellefonte on 4/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using a Steaming Product with Spotify. The sound is amazing, set up was simple. Excellent product. The color screen is really nice. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

weak wifi, but everything else is great

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It isn't very good at keeping out wifi interference. I couldn't use either Airplay or Spotify Connect (or the built in Internet radio capabilities) through wifi as the content kept breaking up. I got a replacement CXN (V2) from Crutchfield (super fast btw, great service!). Neither version worked and my guess is that it is because it is using the 2.4 GHz band and I am in an apartment building with lots of signals. I connected it up with ethernet and now everything works great, and sounds great.

Pros: it does everything it says it does and sounds (and to me looks) good doing it

Cons: weak wifi that may not work in apartment buildings with lots of other signals around. If you cannot use ethernet you might want to look elsewhere.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Buy for only digital streaming

Mark from Crossville, TN on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this on the notion that this would improve the sound of my stereo system. Compared to Peachtree Nova300 and NAD M51, the DAC in this is lacking. It's a tad too harsh. If you're gonna use this as a pure digital streamer, you'll love this thing. For those people, it's a solid four stars. The volume only goes to 30, but anything past 17 is loud enough. The interface is slick and smooth. I love the fact it has balanced outputs, but the absence of trigger outputs has me scratching my head. Overall, this is great product for digital streaming. However, if you're gonna use this as only a preamp/dac with a CD player, there are better options.

Pros: does wi-fi streaming, balanced outputs, smooth interface

Cons: DAC is just okay, no trigger outputs, not enough decibel increments in volume (increments in .25 decibels would have been nice)

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Phenomenal sound

Drew from Houston, TX on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seeing that everything is going digitally, and in searching for the right Network streamer I decided on the Cambridge Audio CXN V2 after reading many stellar reviews. The reviews are accurate, this is an excellent device. Seeing that I was not going to need it as a Pre-amp I chose this over the Cambridge Azur 851N. The 851N does have balanced outs whereas the CXN V2 does not (FYI). I finally have converted all of my physical cd's (2000+) to digital and have a copy on my NAS as well as an external 2GB USB 3.0 Drive. So the unit runs great, quite quicker than I imagined, but is in fact a little on the quiet side output wise (not an issue in my setup, have multiple external powerful amps in my setup) again this is just a FYI, It is quite quick on my NAS AC5400 wireless setup, but I chose to get an external 7200RPM USB 3.0 Hard Drive and it is even faster, I also purchased an Audioquest Carbon Usb 3.0 Cable from that drive to the Cambridge (tried a forest, big difference to Carbon) Since this will be the main way we listen to music (other than online) it was worth the cost. It is hooked from the Cambridge to My Marantz SR7011 using a set of Audioquest Sydney RCA's. I have a Rotel RB-1590 Powering my B&K's and it sounds incredible. I am very tech savvy so it was not much of a learning curve for me, for some it may be. I am 100% thrilled with my purchase and have 0 regrets. Again only downside for me is the Decibel output is lower than I would have expected.

Pros: Great sound, very quick, especially if running of a local USB drive. Supports ALAC, WAV, FLAC, AIFF, DSD (x64), WMA, MP3, AAC, HE AAC, AAC+, and OGG Vorbis. Cambridge upsampling technology called ATF2 which is short for Adaptive Time Filtering. Dual Wolfson WM8740 DACs 1 per channel. Everything run through it is upconverted to a Hi-res 24bit/384kHz sample size!

Cons: Low decibel output compared to other devices, all you have to do is just turn the volume up more provided you have the power. If you had say a Marantz 1500 series or 1600 series at 50w per channel you may need more (I have a 1607 in our bedroom but you can add an external 2 channel amp to the 1600 series) Didn't test it with that but that would be my guess.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great integration with iTunes, new life for my Carver M-500 power amp

John from Montclair, NJ on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased the CXN-V2 to replace my ancient Carver CT-17 preamp paired up to a rebuilt Carver M-500 amp. The old preamp was connected to an Airport express, for Airplay, and also to a MacBook Air to play audio during movie playback. So, when one channel started going on the CT-17, I found the CXN-V2 when looking for Airplay-compatible preamps. The CXN-V2 connected to my M-500 amp sounds absolutely incredible. It's an enormous improvement over the dying CT-17 preamp, that's for sure. Tips: * Faster boot up: Advanced users can manually set the IP address of the device - this cuts the startup time at least in half. * Volume control for an analog power amp: If you want to hook an analog power amp directly to the CXN-V2, you will need to turn on "digital pre-amp mode" under audio settings. This is off by default. It sends full line-level audio over the RCA out jacks, regardless of what you set the volume, if you don't turn on digital pre-amp mode. https://techsupport.cambridgeaudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/202826182-How-do-I-change-the-volume-of-the-CXN- * Remotely power an amp: The CXN-V2 can only send a power-on command to a Cambridge Audio amp, via their proprietary bus. However, I was able to use a SmartStrip SCG-3MVR to turn on the amp.

Pros: * Setup was very easy. Plug in an ethernet cable, and turn it on. It offered to download a firmware update right away (I said yes). Once it was done, iTunes saw the CXN-V2 as an airplay device. * The integration between the CXN-V2 and iTunes is fabulous. The color screen on the CXN-V2 shows the album art of the song playing. When you turn the volume knob, it changes the volume in iTunes.

Cons: I'm using this as a pre-amp, but it's not really a pre-amp. There are very few inputs - just network streaming (airplay, internet radio streams, and others), a digital input, and USB input. This wasn't a big deal for me, since I only needed a pre-amp for airplay input and for my MacBook Air playing movies.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Good Sound

Steve from Rockville, MD on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CXN appears to be a quality component and the sound is very good. I am streaming FLAC files from a relatively cheap ($400) NAS and the sound is great. I have also used Media Monkey to stream directly from the computer and that is fine too. The only minor issues I have, as has been noted, the app leaves something to be desired. A good app would improve the interface and ability to access different sources and directories. Alternately, some better interface on the front of the unit could make it easier to navigate. Maybe if you could add favorite paths it would be beneficial. Or maybe you can and I just haven't figured it out yet.

Pros: Good sound Quality build Good solution for wifi streaming of music No need for CDs anymore

Cons: Interface App

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Robert from Redding, CA on 9/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Functions as desired

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wonderful player

Charley from Manassa, CO on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Actually it's 4 and a half stars. Great sounding gear. Easy to set up and easy to use. My only complaint is the lack of the Cambridge Connect remote app for use on the Kindle tablet. I upgraded from a Bluesound Node 1 and this sounds much better. A lot nicer to look at too.

Pros: Sounds great. Easy to use.

Cons: No remote app for the Kindle tablet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

CXN(V2)

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, NC on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am running this through an old Yamaha avr. Set up was quick and straightforward. I haven't used anything but Apple Airplay yet lol. The sound at listening volume is rich and full. Much more detail. If this is as far as I get it was worth the price I paid!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Digital Bliss!

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds awesome!!! running it to my Yamaha AS1100. Love playing HI Res music from the front in the USB port. Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Quality streaming that works

Joel from St Paul, MN on 7/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little box kept me from having to buy a new receiver. I'm very happy with the sound of my current receiver but the built in streaming functionality is a joke. If I try to access my NAS music collection it just can't handle it (too many files and folders!?) and locks up. Along comes this beauty. Not only does this make files and streaming services sound better, it just doesn't seem to care how many files or folders I've got. If I jump around from NAS streaming to Spotify to Tidal to Internet radio it's virtually seamless, it just does what I want it to do! I can't say enough about the improvement in sound quality either, so much more clarity and detail. Build quality is also excellent. This is a solid piece. You could easily plop your massive AVR on top of this with little worry. The front display is a pleasure to look at with higher resolution than I expected. Yes, it's made outside the U.S. but doesn't seem like it. This is my first Cambridge piece and probably won't be my last.

Pros: -Beautiful sound and build quality -Handles large local libraries -Multiple connectivity options -Responsive

Cons: -App could use a text search feature for local library in addition to browsing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Satisfied user

Crutchfield customer from Orange County, CA on 7/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this. No complaints about the sound. Connects to network quickly after startup. Usability is decent. Like the generous feature set and connection options. If I were to nitpick, I would suggest these improvements to Cambridge: 1) when using an attached USB drive, hide system folders and files from the unit's navigation 2) when using an attached USB drive, quickly scan the drive upon connection to enable searching and navigation via tags rather than having to rely solely on file folder navigation 3) increase number of steps for finder grained volume control 4) improve resolution/colors on album covers display 5) enable display of all the song file's metadata on the screen and app 6) add Last.fm scribbling support 7) fix occasional crashing of app during navigation of file folders 8) fix uncentered balance control display on iPad app.

Pros: Sound, features, functionality

Cons: A few nits (see detailed review)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic Sound, a bit tricky to setup the connection to be able to stream lossless files from my computer, as it requires a UPNP server program to be installed, once this was done, it has been incredible. Cambridge needs to update the Cambridge Connect app, as it is lacking the refinement one would expect from them.

Pros: Amazing sound, beautiful aesthetics,

Cons: Setup a bit tricky Cambridge Connect app lacks refinement.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio CXN (V2)

Guest from Skiatook, OK on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Streaming mp3 files should not sound that good! I had originally looked for a component DAC but thought I might as well add streaming capability while I was at it. I wanted something with high quality sound and this does not disappoint. The channel separation is stellar. I have this running through an old pioneer sx650 amp and Audio Technica m50x headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great choice.

Brad from Danbury, CT on 4/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is fabulous. Setup was simple. Adding music on a hard drive was easy. App for iPad could be a bit better.

Pros: Easy setup Great Sound

Cons: App could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP