Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Stereo DAC with asynchronous USB input (Black)

MFR # C10501

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Stereo DAC with asynchronous USB input (Black)

MFR # C10501

84 reviews
View this product

Great little device.

Joel from United States on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little device. Very easy to use. It makes listening to music a pleasure. Streaming music sounds more ,lively and more believable. Although I wish it had an auto on and off switch, but that's being very picky. I would recommend to all audio enthusiast and to music lovers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No more hum

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just what I was looking for to interface my PC to my home stereo. This is the only stand alone product in this price range. The sound that comes from this is excellent, it's clean and hum free. This is a well made and thought out component. My only con is the software because it's very lacking. Some EQ software would be nice with the driver download.

Pros: Great for PC to home stereo

Cons: the bass is a little filtered but a good EQ will take care of that.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great DAC in compact package. Highly Recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ADECUATE

Antonio from San Juan, PR on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no the kind of deluded lunatic who sits down to listen to cables, I'm a Melomaniac,not an Audiophile. Rolls Royce used to quote horsepower ratings on their cars as "adecuate"...like my quite respectable rig on a very well controlled, dedicated listening room, with perfectly located, so-called "High End" speakers. I love my extensive and very eclectic collection of CD's and Vinyl, of course nano on terms of selection compared to top quality streaming. On the Pepsi challenge, this DAC just makes everything sound absolutely better than a direct feed via my laptop's 1/8 in output, which is supposed to be fed by a have a nice, upscale soundcard, by the way. This Cangri, as I call it, definitely delivers on it's maker's promise. Now streaming sounds adecuate, an obvious improvement for a reasonable price. Any sensible music lover will benefit from this fine product. The Cambridge DAC 100 is very ADECUATE.

Pros: Looks nice on an all black rig. Very easy to use. Built like a Brink's truck.

Cons: On my humble opinion, none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

DacMagic 100 and the Windows 10 horse around

Crutchfield customer from Dearborn, MI on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would recommend this Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100. It is the only DAC that I have ever owned so I bring little experience to the table. The difference in sound quality experience was immediate. It did take some trouble shooting to realize the full potential of the DAC in the windows environment but it was worth it. I have a custom built windows 10 workstation with a Z390A prime asus mobo. connected to the DAC via USB. The DAC is connected to a pair of R-41PM's via monster RCA and the 41's are connected to an R-100SW via another monster sub cable. you can email cambridge directly to see your manu date but i dont think its worth it. the file you need is called USB2.0 driver v4.82.0 after you install this you will have a CA control panel icon in your task bar. the DAC ships in USB 1.0 mode. follow the simple instructions to toggle it to 2.0 mode. Next get the ASIO driver and install. finally you will need to go to musicbee or foobar2000 or whatever player you want. these programs allow you to select the ASIO version of playing. this basically eliminates windows from the set up. It does change how your audio works but it is a minor nuisance depending on how you listen. i havent found out how to do this with the amazon player yet. not sure if you have to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, MI on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive

Sean from ALBANY, NY on 1/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great DAC. It's astounding the amount of sound this little box throws through my Onkyo receiver and Polk speakers at 24/192. If you're a fan of playing high resolution audio files, or need a way to go from optical digital to RCA, this is a fine choice. I have very few, if any, cons with this unit. It's quiet, multifunctional and sounds solid. I might get another for my other system, the footprint is definitely small enough!

Pros: Sound, size, 24/192 with proper drivers, optical audio to analog capability, multiple inputs w/ selector.

Cons: Drivers on Windows were a little tough to get going, no optical out.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

True magic

Crutchfield customer from Sneads Ferry, NC on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have found the dacmagic to be as advertised !! the sound is clean and accurate ! I would be hard pressed to find a better dac without spending a lot more money ! I highly recommend it !!!

Pros: As close to analog that i have heard ! easy hook up with several inputs !! enriches the sound in the full spectrum.

Cons: No remote !! A small inconvenience for such quality sound !!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Apex, NC on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this. Lots of input options and it looks nice too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely an improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Bob from Lawrenceville, GA on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first dac I have owned for about 10 months now. I hate to admit how many other manufacturer's dac reviews I've read post purchase and how I thought "Yeah, that $750 dac has got to be the schizzle!". The rabbit hole is deep with several tunnels lined with snake oil on this subject. I am sure spending two to three times more on a dac will make small improvements to the sound quality but there are better places to spend on audio. For my needs the DacMagic does exactly what I need it to do.

Pros:

Cons: The led lights are very small and dim.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Fantastic DAC, no automation

Adam from Johnson City on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great DAC upgrade vs. computer or Receiver. With quality connections, provides stellar sound at a price that is hard to beat. Minus one star for a lack of auto-on or other automation.

Pros: Quality Sound, Easy Setup, Affordable Price

Cons: No auto-on, Limited connections

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

sounds great, flexible on inputs

lewis from Fort Worth, TX on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge DAC sounds great, as you would expect from Cambridge. It is also not as finicky about what you feed it as the converter in my Peachtree Nova amp, which skipped and dropped out when I tried to play music files from my computer, both compressed and lossless. So I use the DacMagic to receive the signals (wirelessly or through a usb wire) and feed them in analogue form to the Peachtree. Very little difference if any between it and the DAC in the Peachtree.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2nd one

Crutchfield customer from Irwin, PA on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice dac, l own a black one also, which was purchased from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Easy add-on

Crutchfield customer from Northville, MI on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Great way to upgrade an older CD player with today's technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Big improvement over my computer's DAC

Jonathan from Pawtucket, RI on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm impressed with the Cambridge Audion DacMagic 100. If you have music in high resolution audio, connecting via USB 1.0 you can get 24/96 Khz sound, and with USB 2.0 you can get 24/192 Khz. Noticeably better sound than you get through the 1/8" jack, which comes through your computer's inferior DAC. The difference between the 24/96 and 24/192 is subtle, but I definitely heard more clarity and definition, less muffling, at the 24/192 Khz setting on the test song use to compare them with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great DAC

Lloyd from Frankfort, KY on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Audio DAC Magic 100 has revived my 15 year old Sony CD player. The improvement is incredible. I, also, plan to run a TV set through this DAC in the near future. Can't wait.

Pros: A variety of digital inputs. Great analog audio coming out.

Cons: No complaints.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Highly recommended

PacNW from Bethesda, MD on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, sounds great. Excellent value. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Hartford, WI on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is great. I would give 5 stars if this unit would work with Dolby Digital.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Night and day difference

Greg from Sacramento, CA on 10/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using the DACs in my A/V receiver and Blu-Ray player. The audio and video from my Roku and Blu-Ray seemed fine. Thought an external DAC was worth a shot. The DacMagic 100 got rid of the bass muddiness and separated the instruments. Streaming audio now has a full soundstage.

Pros: Ease of setup Multiple digital inputs

Cons: No remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dacmagic 100

Gary from Woodinville, WA on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't expecting a night and day difference and didn't get it. What I did get was a cleaner sound and an apparent volume boost from what was output straight from the laptop. By "cleaner" I mean a bit more definition/separation to the sounds being played back.

Pros: cleaned up sound, apparent volume boost

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Dunedin, FL on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received this quickly from Crutchfield. I read the little bit of instructions that came with it. I turned off my Dell OptiPlex small form factor 780, which is running WIndows 7, 32/64-bit. I plugged the Dacmagic100 into one of the Dell's USB outlets, turned on the Dacmagic100, and then turned the Dell back on. The Dacmagic100 went to work right away. I didn't have to do a thing. My Dell must have a pretty system for music, because my music already sounded good, but it sounds a bit cleaner and smoother to me with the Dacmagic100. I am getting older, but my ears can still appreciate the difference. I am happy. 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Gadget

David from Columbus, OH on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an Onkyo av receiver that is almost 14 years old. I have Aon 3 speakers that needed a better digital signal to divide the instruments so they could be heard clearly and apart from one another.After reading alot about dacs i decided on this product and it did the trick.

Pros: Does what they claim..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Mayaguez, PR on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is full with a clear definition of the bass and treble. I am very happy with the DacMagic. Pros: Small footprint and easy to connect and use. Cons: Non so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job with no fuss. Improvement over the computer DAC.

Jyoti from Smithtown, NY on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DAC improves the transparency and soundstage of the music even with MP3 files. Punchier bass.

Pros: Improved soundstage and transparency.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DAC Magic 100 - Basic, but high quality

Jerry from Hanover, MD on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100, a relatively inexpensive, but decent quality Digital to Analog Converter (DAC), for the purpose of sending the audio signal from my newer SUHD 4K TV to my stereo amplifier so the sound would pass through my stereo speakers. The TV, a Samsung model, had only HDMI output to its standard control box, which has hdmi and tos link/optical cable outputs. Using an AudioQuest TOS LINK/OPTICAL OUTPUT cable, also sourced from Crutchfield, I was able to go from the TV control box to the new DAC (has TOS/LINK input) and then using standard RCA type cable, output to my Stereo amplifier. This works well, allowing me to get improved sound using my hifi system. The DAC Magic 100 is very basic, so if you need a connection for headphones, you should look for more expensive, feature-rich models. While TV broadcast sound is only at 44K, the DAC MAGIC 100 does have the capability to go higher, should you buy a surround system for you TV and decide to use the DAC MAGIC to convert digital signals from another source. It's a good compromise that fit my specific need quite well. It's small, attractive, has an ON/Standby button and blue light, and does the job for me. Recommended at the price. As is typical of Crutchfield. the DAC and the Optical cable were packed together in a second box, which helps to ensure that your gear arrives safely.

Pros: Small size, effective for my purpose, relatively inexpensive. Allowed me to send optical output signal from TV to DAC and then RCA signal from DAC to stereo amp.

Cons: No headphone connection, limited inputs and outputs.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nice upgrade for PC soundcard.

Michael from Sylvester, GA on 7/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play--worked first time using aftermarket USB cable (the included USB cable is not very long). The front panel incoming sample rate light does not switch sample rates depending upon the format being played, but stays lit at the maximum (default) rate. Plays native 96K files (highest I own) as well as 16/44 CD. No problems with FLAC encoded files, lower sampled mp3, or regular Internet audio feeds. My hookup configuration is PC --> USB cable --> DACMagic 100 --> Pro-Ject HeadboxS --> Presonus ERIS 4.5 powered speakers. I did not try S/PDIFor Toslink inputs. Build quality seems high for this price point. Over all, I believe this to be good value. UPDATED: 7/16/18: I wrote that the DacMagic was "plug and play". That is only partially correct. For a Windows PC, it will only resolve 96K signals using the standard Win driver. In order to use the device at 192K, and take advantage of unmodified bitstream playback, do the following steps: 1) Download the 4.40 driver from CA Website. 2) Place the DAC in USB Class 2 mode. If the device is not in USB Class 2 mode during the install, the DAC may not recognize the driver. The default is USB Class 1 mode, so make sure and switch modes before driver installation. 3) Install the driver 4) At this point, configure Windows to bypass its internal digital playback software, sending your digits directly to the DAC. This is done (Win 10) by going to the Control Panel and changing your Default Format to 24 bit 192000Hz Studio Quality. Go to the Sound section of Settings, making sure the 'output device' shows USB Audio. Then, click on Device Properties, and go to the Advanced tab. Change the setting to 24 bit 192K. Also, click on the two "exclusive mode" boxes at the bottom. 5) Finally, you must use a media player that supports WASAPI (Windows Audio Session API). Go into your music player settings and configure it to WASAPI, and make sure USB is the output device. Doing this bypasses Windows' system kernel mixer and resampling stages. Then your DAC will accept a pure, unmodified bitstream. It will also show the actual sample rate of whatever signal it is receiving on its front panel (and also in the system tray app). The downside is that moving to another PC audio stream (such as a browser) requires you to shut down your music player, since WASAPI has given exclusive rights to the previous stream. Accordingly, after an Internet session, you may have to shut down your browser and reopen your music player in order to listen to your music files. This is all explained in Web support docs, but the docs are not clear. The problem is not with the DAC, but with the way Windows works. I understand that with a MAC you don't have to go through all this for native 192 signals. My impression is that with the new driver and the direct bitstream into the DAC, the sound is clearer and cleaner than whatever Windows natively sends to the DAC.

Pros: Simple to set up. Very clear sound.

Cons: Front panel incoming sample rate light was a little confusing until I realized how the DAC is programmed to work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 5/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So impressed when first turn on after connect it to the system, every note of sounds so clean and clear, it makes the music more enjoyable and I am loved it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Solution

NIEL from Santa Rosa, CA on 5/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a solution to connect a TV with an optical (only!) audio output, to my NAD preamp. This was the perfect module. That's all I use it for. The sound is much better than I expected. Solid, and a great value. Definitely, don't skimp for anything less!!

Pros: Sound, cost and ease of use. Small and solid.

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Seems to do the job

Robert from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Instructions/manual pretty skimpy and vague. Cable that came with it was useless for iPod Touch, had to order a cable separately and wait for it to come in before was able to hook it up.

Pros: not as expensive as some

Cons: documentation was on the skimpy side

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from North Bergen, NJ on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DacMagic 100 greatly improved the quality of sound when streaming. I have it hooked up to a Cambridge receiver and a MacBook. Music is cleaner, crisper, and more detailed. If you stream music a Dac is a must and at this price you can't do better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Columbiaville, MI on 3/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a CA DACMagic XS several years ago. Took it out of the home, now use it at work. With the price break on the DACMagic 100 it is great deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Newtown Sq, PA on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have one internal DAC inside my Tascam CD recorder and one internal DAC inside my Tascam SD/CFC recorder. The DAC in my Tascam SD/CFC recorder is OK. The DAC in my Tascam CD recorder is good. The external Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 is very good. I connected my two Tascam units to my new Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 and now listen to my music only through my DacMagic 100. My research told me that the price/performance of my new Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 is perfect for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dacmagic 100

Mike from Las Vegas, NV on 1/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slightly bright but overall it's a good dac.

Pros: Small footprint Good inputs Overall good sound

Cons: Slightly bright.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition to my system

Bob from Scottsdale, AZ on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to use an old laptop as a dedicated 2 channel audio player. I burned all of my CDs in lossless format, but still was not satisfied with the sound. After some research, added the Dacmagic 100 to the system. The device was for the most part plug and play. Right out of the box it really improved the sound. Overall much cleaner. However, after some monkeying around with the laptop set-up (due to Microsoft/Win 10 and the fact that the laptop is a little old) I achieved a significantly better sound: much improved mid-range and upper end clarity. Note that I am not a computer geek, just a regular user. I would imagine if you are going this route with a newer laptop or PC it would be pretty easy. A DAC from the manufacturer of my amps I doubt would have provided a much better experience. My system includes: 1550 pre-amp, two 1070 power amps, B&W 705, B&W ASW 400, Denon CD player, various turntables. This is a good system to begin with and the Dacmagic was an improvement.

Pros: Performance Price Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing value.

Crutchfield customer from Hickory, NC on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, this DacMagic 100 is fantastic. Superb separation of instruments and vocals. Perfect for my office rig.

Pros: Price

Cons: Power Supply

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy Setup, good results

Paul from FL on 12/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up. It made a big difference when playing music from my cheap laptop through my Onkyo receiver. The native USB 2.0 worked automatically with no need to download and configure a driver.

Pros: Easy Set up

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Hayden, ID on 11/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's on it's way back! I called to be educated on DACs! Spoke to your rep, told him I wanted to use it with my IPhone, to listen to Pandora. He said it would work great, with that application. It WON'T work that way!!! He should of known that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 31 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DAC Magic 100

Crutchfield customer from Evans, GA on 11/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a dac so I can listen to Pandora radio and listen to I heart radio and also listen to music files without the need to purchase a new preamp. This little dac fits the bill because I didn't need a headphone amp because I have a separate headphone and. Owned it for two weeks now, was giving it time to break in with a new usb cable and I must say it has been a big improvement.

Pros: Easy setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Chip from Avon, CO on 11/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 is just what I was looking for. I'm now able to send a strong signal down a 100" line to my main house speaker system. This helps in hearing how my recording really sounds, going through a pair of Rectilinear III High Boy speakers. I have a set of AWA speakers wired in parallel. I wasn't able to get a good replay on either headphones or with a sound bar. No problem now.

Pros: Sets up pretty easily, after carefully reading directions.

Cons: After installing, there was a bit of work to do, working with the Windows Sound dialog, as there are a lot of choices to make, to get the signal routed correctly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Louis M. from Covington, LA on 6/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice addition to my audio equipment. Can't beat the good sounds and clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, simple DAC

Andrew from Boise, ID on 6/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple DAC, pleasant sound, fixed output, no headphone port, good tonal balance. I purchased this and the Audioengine D1. The DacMagic has a more balanced sound (the D1 is bass heavy) and inspires more involvement with the music. Well worth the extra money.

Pros: Well balanced sound. Simple. Relatively inexpensive.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Strong Value in an Asynchronous DAC

James from Nevada, MO on 6/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my humble opinion, the Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 is one of the best high-value DAC's on the market today. It's solidly built and it sounds great. A front-panel USB input and a basic remote control would have been nice, but maybe that's too much to ask in this price range, without giving up some of the other goodies. After all, it does give you coaxial (2), asynchronous USB, and optical digital inputs. The auto-off function is nice, but it would have been nice if it would come on automatically, too, since as I said, there's no remote. So, while it may not give you everything you want, it just may give you everything you need. It looks nice, too!

Pros: Solid, quality construction with high quality parts Great sound

Cons: no front-panel USB no auto-on or RC

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100-BK

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 5/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this dac to improve the sound of some older disk player, a smart TV and a laptop. I noticed a real improvement in clarity, bringing more information such as, hearing more from the recording, maybe a cymbal, crowd noise if live. Well worth the price, especially with Crutchfield's return policy and free shipping. Very happy! Get one!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Product

JS from Hilton Head Island, SC on 3/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Magic DAC 100 is a good DAC. It was simple to setup and use. However, I decided I wanted to add High Resolution Audio (DSD), so I returned the Magic DAC 100 for another product. I'm glad I made that decision and Crutchfield generous return policy allowed me to do that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, MI on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still evaluating if it is better than DAC in my Yamaha receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

James from Lawrence, KS on 1/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lovely little DAC. No issues with the sound. Two of the LEDs on the face (S/P Diff 1 and 2), however, have burned out. Annoying.

Pros: Terrific sound.

Cons: The LEDs are apparently susceptible to burning out.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

James R. from El Cajon, CA on 6/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent DAC, and a great value at the price. I use it with a Cambridge Audio CXC CD transport, it has absolutely breathed new life into my CD collection. I also use it with a Sonus Connect, which also has analog outputs, compared the analog output with the digital output with the DacMagic, the difference was like night and day! Highly recommend the DacMagic 100 for any level system, including high-end

Pros: Great, works well, sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Dac Magic 100

Paul K from Boise, ID on 6/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install between a PC running Windows 10 and an analogue stereo receiver. No additional driver downloads needed. Greatly improved the quality of sound from digital music files - no kidding!

Pros: Super easy to install. Great improvement in sound quality of digital music files.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Fidelity, Big Difference

Pops from Sarasota, FL on 6/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great device. Usually using headphone out jacks to play audio through a high system is a poor choice as they are not designed for that. This device allows direct access thru USB to the high fidelity of your sound card making a BIG difference! I use it in my recording studio.

Pros: Easy hook up and easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Small but powerful

Steven from Warsaw, IN on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little skeptical about purchasing a DAC, but this is one of the cheaper ones for my amplifier so I decided to pull the trigger. Although I did not have the highest hopes, I noticed that the DAC does make a positive, noticeable difference. It switched from "Aux" to the DAC for an A/B test and the DAC seems to be more smooth and clear. I have a Yamaha A-S2000 amplifier and Klipsch RP-280F Speakers. Even an (inexpensive?) DAC on this high end equipment really makes the music more enjoyable for me. I do not regret my purchase, and I believe that over time this will be worth the money.

Pros: Great sound quality Multiple Inputs for different sources

Cons: Gets a little warm, but shouldn't be a problem

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

All It Should Be

PJR from Valley Stream, NY on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect...All I hoped & wanted it to be...

Pros: Front LEDs to show Output Sample Rate a real plus...

Cons: Proper Driver hard to install but once in no probs...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome!

Anthony from Willis, MI on 1/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this thing! I am using the JRiver media center to play music files on my computer and I couldn't be happier with the sound. Most of my music is ripped from CDs which sounds better than any CD player I have ever heard. The first time I heard high-res music I almost cried! I purchased Tori Amos' latest release, Unrepentent Geraldines from HD Tracks and the sound of the music, her voice it defies belief! My system: Laptop with JRiver media center connected via USB to Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 to a Marantz SR7500 to a pair of Klipsch RB51II's and a big Klipsch sub. Sure you could spend more on a system but this fits my budget and I couldn't be happier.

Pros: Awesome sound, not ridiculously expensive, versatile connectivity

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Crutchfield customer from Minnesota on 12/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first DAC and compliments some vintage Mitsubishi pre/power amps and a set of KEF R500s. Listening to 24-bit FLACs is quite a treat with this setup. While I realize there are better/higher priced DACs, I was blown away by the sound the little Cambridge puts out. Works great as a switching device between my Apple TV for AirPlay and my MacBook via USB.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked as advertised

Rich from Maryland on 11/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cambridge has a good reputation in the audio industry and the DacMagic is a worthy member of that line. I needed a way to monitor audio sample rates (and the audio) coming from a HiFiBerry Digi+ sound card mounted to a Raspberry Pi, and the DacMagic worked perfectly for the task. The sample rate LEDs are a fine confidence indicator showing the decoded sample rates and the DacMagic switched seamlessly between different sampling rates without glitch.

Pros: LED sample rate indicators show the decoded sample rate. Seamless transition between sample rates. Quick and easy to use: Plug in and turn on. Solid and attractive construction.

Cons: The price is steep enough to give a buyer pause before committing to the purchase

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

MRA from Ohio on 10/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound fantastic

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: I had to dig to get instructions to set the mode but once set the latest drive work perfect.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

awesome dac

tracyinvt from Vermont on 9/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

mated the DAC with the Cambridge cd transport and the sound is tremendous

Pros: super easy and sounds fabulous

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

RaLF from Michigan on 9/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Dac...Outstanding little package! An absolute must to simply upgrade any audio system that might need a little pick-me-up. The quality speaks for itself...a very fairly priced price of equipment!!

Pros: Hook is simply a breeze, No technical hurdles to deal with!

Cons: Measure twice purchase once the length of cords that you might require!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good DAC for price

mstu from indiana on 7/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great DAC for someone looking to boost their rig. First dac i have bought and glad that i chose to splurge a bit, because it really brings out the life of the music almost like listening to a well recorded vinyl track.

Pros: Hooks Up Well To Macbook Sounds Great Simple Design Looks Good on Shelf

Cons: Need additional cord for Iphone.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great results

Tom A from New York on 5/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to setup. I plugged it into a laptop running Linux Mint and it just works. The sound quality is magnitudes better than without it.

Pros: Easy setup, looks good, sound is fantastic

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great DAC That Won't Break The Bank

Kyle from Texas on 4/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this DAC to bypass onboard DAC in a Mac Pro - output to Yamaha RX-V1065 and Def Tech ProCinema 1000 (supercube sub and 2000 series center channel). Hi-res audio has a broader "soundstage" experience - audio is warm, crisp, and clear. A great sounding entry level DAC for those looking to upgrade from standard computer hardware/software. The difference is very noticeable, however less with yesteryear's compressed (MP3/4) formats.. obviously. Tested this unit with 16/44.1, 24/96, and 24/192 (AIFF) and all sound great. Highly recommend HDTracks for audio downloads. And as always, Crutchfield is my source for audio.. service goes above and beyond most competing brands.

Pros: Small/compact design; easy setup; Macintosh friendly; great quality for the price

Cons: Switching to USB 2 mode for 24/192 is a bit tricky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh

ProfessorTK from New York on 3/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked it up via USB to my preamp to play HD files (24/96) from iTunes and was immediately disappointed. It took away the sparkle and depth from not only those files but all my digital music and was successful only in muddying the vocals. Called tech support and the tech thought the first unit was defective - he wasn't all that familiar with the product - and sent another yet the results were the same. Finally did a head to head comparison of the iTunes file with a 40 year old LP of the same song and the vinyl won hands down. Disappointing but not terminal; I'll keep looking for a better product. I contacted Cambridge tech support on my own and they weren't of much help either.

Pros: Easy to hook up

Cons: Muddy vocals and very bland overall sound

Crutchfield response on

4 of 19 found this helpful

DAC Magic True to its name.

Jim B from Arizona on 3/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We use this little product on the TV, computer, blue ray and cd player. It is easy to set up and has greatly improved our listening experience. By hooking it up to the digital out put of the cable box movie soundtracks and voices are much fuller and detailed. Even my Cambridge audio CD player sounds better. This is a product that provides real enjoyment for the price. Plus when I upgrade my NAD amp it will work on any amp I choose, analog or digital. Worth the bucks even on entry level equipment!

Pros: Small size and easy to set up. Great sound and multiple inputs for the average user.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DAC 100

Rev11 from Massachusetts on 3/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although the Cambridge Audio DAC 100 has great functionality, I personally use mine exclusively to play my I Tunes collection from my laptop to the home receiver. I hooked up the DAC via optical cable from my external sound card then RCA to the receiver. Once I made a few adjustments within the I Tunes equalizer the sound was remarkably improved. It is well known that I Tunes does not have the highest quality downloads but the Cambridge Audio DAC 100 certainly makes up for this. This DAC was easy to hook up and was working in no time. I can not think of any concerns and would recommend this DAC to anyone wanting to greatly improve their sound at a reasonable price.

Pros: Easy hook up, great functionality and much improved sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is Black DacMagic!

Steve from Bethlehem, Pa. on 1/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My music just came alive! I can't believe I have been missing out all these years. Truly a worthwhile investment for the music lover.

Pros: Compact, Auto off, Quality finish

Cons: Does not "auto on"

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

cambridge Dac magic 100

art from hudson valley NY on 9/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never knew what i was missing. I gave it only 4 stars because i don't have anything else to compare it to.

Pros: easy to set up. makes music sound better

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

dacmagic wow

bob b from boston ma on 5/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great machine does everything you would want and more. make sure if your using a mac to go into system preferences and go to sound and choose the dacmagic as ur soundcard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Superb Sound!

JohnG from Diamondhead, MS on 3/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I loved the sound quality emanating from this DAC so much that I bought a second one for another system. I run it from lossless CD files imported to iTunes library on my iMac. I do prefer the sound I get from the mini-toslink output of the iMac, rather than the USB output, to the DacMagic. For the money, it really doesn't get better than this. I've done a lot of very critical listening and everything from voices to bass and triangles, sax, piano, etc. is very life- like. The sound is going to be limited only by the associated equipment, not this DAC. A true test is whether one still loves a piece of equipment after a year or more. I've had my first for about two years and I wouldn't trade this DAC for any near its price.

Pros: Sound quality Price Minimalist- All I need. I pay nothing for things I really don't need (such as a remote control.)

Cons: Not a thing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

First DAC doubts Blown Away

Chris S from Oklahoma on 2/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Four other Cambridge products have added a tremendous amount of clarity and presence in my music. Made my audio out from my MacBook Pro Retina sound kind of crappy. Using a USB connection from MacBook to DacMagic and then to my amp. Dac does all the work and music truly sounds beautiful. Notice it most on audio with lots of dynamic range - quiet moments to louder. There is literally no noise and the music that comes through is much crisper. Listen to 70s, 80s, bluegrass, classic, electronic and older vinyl rock - kind of all over the place. No regrets in fact kind of irritated as now I am wondering if another DACMagic between my Apple TV and cambridge AZUR 641r would be a good idea.

Pros: All of it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

DacMagic 100

Chuck from Iowa on 1/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, this unit sounds great, I have it feeding a Adcom Preamp going to a Carver M1.5t and connected by USB to a highly modified copy of Windows XP, my computer now sounds like a VERY high end Reel to Reel without any of the background noise, only complaint is the Windows plug and play drivers would not work with this unit "all audio wound play for a few seconds and then freeze" but this could had been due to the modified OS that I run anyhow I just installed the driver they provided on their website and all was well after bypassing the windows driver. Great product PS: go into your bios and disable on board sound

Pros: Great Sound, what more can you ask

Cons: They need to explain how to stop the auto install of windows drivers when you are using the provided driver, the windows driver install will have to be disable before you can install the provided driver

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Bruce from Vancouver, WA on 1/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a great product. The most important item is the improvement in sound to my compressed music files. So my huge iTunes library is now worth listening to on something other than my earbuds.I have a Pioneer Elite CD player that has a decent internal DAC, so the sound improvement is minimal for my CD collection, subtle, and highly dependent on the CD. Ware as the iTunes files every last one of them has improvement, no matter how bad the original recording. And then being able to have a Mac Mini hooked up via the USB for hi resolution downloads is a great added bonus. If it had a remote I would give it a five star rating.

Pros: Flexible setup, quality, makes my iTunes streaming though my iTV sound almost as good as my CD's, better in some ways. Gives the music a more open sound than the CD's and definitely adds some needed warmth to the highly compressed songs. Was blown away with the improvement in bass, tightness of things like the attack of a drumstick on the snare, and airiness of vocals. And that terrible digital sounding MP3 that made me not want to listen to music on my high end system is gone.

Cons: Would be nice to have a remote to turn on and off. As it is now I have it set to always be on. Also changing the inputs via remote would be a nice feature. With it in a cabinet with no lighting it is hard to see which input I'm selecting. So even manual switching of inputs is more of push the button until I hear the sound. :-)

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Reviews for the Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

John B from Green Bay Wisconsin on 1/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Worked right out of the box giving great results on internet music source.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Magic Dac

Teegood from PA on 12/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First piece of audio equipment I have sent back. Replaced a Yamaha CDS300 that played digital files from a thumb drive. Liked the playing of my music right from my laptop. My system has four speakers and a sub (Martin Logan Motion 12's, NHT Classic Two's, NHT Sub, NAD 356BEE Amp) in a large basement barroom. The sound was LOUD (playing this DAC at the same sound level as the Yamaha DAC) was overwhelmingly boomy and, thus, not real tight. Also, the Yamaha had better response in high frequency levels. May just be that this DAC is not system specific for me where it may be for most others. I can see how if you had a smaller room and wanted heavier bass response from bookshelfs and generally play music at softer levels..I can see how this DAC would be a good fit. Honestly, years ago I used an vintage AMP that had a LOUDNESS button and when I replaced it with the NAD (which does not have a loudness button) I kinda missed it! So this DAC sounds good at lower levels albeit void of high imaging or floating of music. I wished it would have worked but you know how LOUDER is ALWAYS better? Not in this DAC's case...or not in a big room with equipment that wants a lot of power. This DAC is a loudness button! You always turned off the loudness button when you turned the music up!

Pros: Great package/size. Liked the blue lights/levels of music playback. Cool looking. Sounds good at low volume levels and can probably make a lower end system sound a lot better by adding bass response.

Cons: Turning it up in a larger room created a lot of boom and limits the power one can provide to speakers that want the power. The real benchmark here in comparison was my pro-ject turntable with pro-ject S phono box. This DAC sounded inferior in all facets of music, highs, mids, lows. But to be fair, vinyl is hard to beat (I only use the entry level Pro-ject stuff). Still, the Yamaha sounded better on my equipment (burr brown) but maybe not at low sound levels.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 15 found this helpful

not bad, software download issues

MZH from Maryland on 12/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

software would not download onto laptop. had to return it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

DAT's Magic!

JohnC from Kensington, MD on 10/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Combined with a sweet pair of Totem speakers and an Outlaw RR2150 Receiver, the Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 gives a totally new life to both my CD's and my audio files. Sounds amazing. Can't recommend it enough!

Pros: Multiple connectivity options (USB, tosslink optical, etc.) Well constructed. Plug it in, connect it up, sit back and enjoy.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

Dave from Philadelphia Pa. on 7/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dac magic is everything i was looking for. i was able to plug in my mac to my old stereo with just a couple connections and instantly have access to all my ripped cd collection. i also think the sound quality is fantastic,it may even be better than when i listen to just cds thru the stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Classical

Crutchfield customer from NY on 6/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the NYTIMES review indicated better for classical than rock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

DanW from San Diego, CA on 5/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It wasnt until Crutchfield rep Shane clued me, a digital to analog audio solution was even available to provide input from different audio sources (dvd, cable box, etc.) to fix my problem of wanting an old school RCA input to my wireless Sennheiser headphones for 'quiet time' in the house, when no one else wants to hear the tv. This fit the bill most excellent, and notwithstanding the pricey solution, the unit is solid, sleek, and does the job perfectly.

Pros: I little expensive what what I needed, but am VERY happy with the quality, and the solution.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Have your digital audio files come alive

rsleve from Charlottesville, VA on 4/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DAC is a little power house! Of course you can spend a lot more money on a more expensive DAC, but if you want to open up the soundstage of your digital audio files, or you're interested in putting those AAC files through a quality amp and speakers, this little DAC does wonders. Great depth and richness of sound from the Wolfson DAC inside. TOSHLINK ensures excellent transfer. Well-made.

Pros: Excellent price point. Great sound for such a little unit.

Cons: Wish it had a real on-off switch instead of just a standby. When there are power-outages, I'd like to be able to really shut it down (without having to turn off the entire power-surge protector).

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Really IMproved My Sound Quality

bubba4369 from New Orleans, LA on 4/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprised when I hooked this up that it made such a significant improvement in the sound quality of my music. I have ripped my cd collection to mp3 and am playing it on a Dell Latitude tablet using J River Media Center. The DAC made a surprising difference, even with the mp3s. I want to really express my thanks to the Crutchfield team. They called me after my order to make sure this was what I needed, and provided advice to rip to Flac instead of mp3, then let J River convert to mp3 for my mobile device. Flac is lossless, where mp3 is lossy. Also said to rip at higher bit rate if disk space is not an issue. Overall the DAC was a good decision, and the service and support from Crutchfield is, as always, fantastic. Recommend this to similarly configured users.

Pros: Better Sound Quality, easy to hook up

Cons: None really, unless it were free!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Lovely Sound, open and fresh

Lokki from Dallas TX on 3/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the DACMagic 100 as a transfer device to move my audio collection from my computer to my home audio system; its sound quality improvement potential was secondary, I thought, as my system -without boring you with a component list- is pretty good. However, I haven't gotten that far yet, and so this review deals with the unexpected improvement in sound quality I've discovered. There's always the danger with hi-end audio of hearing what you want to believe, and I've only been listening thought the DACMagic 100 for a few hours at this point, but so far I'm very impressed. The sound is open and pure, and never harsh, as sometimes happens with digital sound. I'm running my CD player, via the Toslink Optical cable. It's impressive High notes round off smoothly and never 'snap'. Bass response is smooth way down. However the most notable point is how the DAC opens up the sound stage and gives placement to the individual instruments. You'll find that sound quality becomes more 'volume independent - you won't need volume to bring out the detail in the sound. In short, this device's better converter helps digitally recorded music come closer to it's potential. You won't get higher highs or lower lows, per se, If you are just using this to get sound out of your computer and into your Pre-Amp there are probably cheaper solutions that 'will do'. However, if you actually close your eyes and listen to your music, this is worth the money.

Pros: Easy to hook up, and sounds great. Will give me high fidelity access to my hundreds of recordings that are stored on my computer, but actually improves the sound of my CD player.

Cons: It's a small box that won't stack with your audio components and it adds yet another 'wall wart' to your collection of things that run off DC but plug into AC. It apparently turns itself off after some period of activity, which is good I guess, but another button to push every time you want to use it. Doesn't include any cables or connectors, so purchase a TosLink Cable while you're at it.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Review for the Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

ArtMat55 from New York on 12/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave this product 5 starts because it did everything it was said to do. I heard a difference immediately when I plug'd it in. It was easy to install and it gave me multiple options to connect my digital music to it. I used the recent Beatles Re Master loaded in my itunes as ALAC - and the sound was almost as good as my OMR Vinyls. They were 100% better than playing direct without the DAC. I don't know how this DAC compares to the more expensive DAC's, but this seems to work 100% better than without and for the money - it's perfect.

Pros: Price, lightweight and easy to install.

Cons: Doesn't support an Ipod through the old iPOD stand, but I get why it's not PCM.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

DacMagic 100

Val from Pleasant Hill, CA on 9/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! I never new music could sound so good. I've been listening to music for over 40 years and thought CD's and music downloads sounded pretty good. How wrong I was. I listen mostly through my computer using a Bose Companion 5 speaker system which sounds great. I hooked up the DacMagic 100 and boy was I surprised. The volume increased and the highs were phenomenal. I heard pianos, violins and other instruments in the background that I didn't know existed. Great addition to my music library.

Pros: Nice unit and well constructed

Cons: A little pricey but well worth it.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100

DBXSharpe from New Orleans, LA on 6/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 gets my 5-star rating because it exceeds my expectations. It mildly improves the CD sound played by my NAD T557 BluRay player, which already sounds great. But the real thrill is the quality I now hear from my Apple TV 2nd gen and my old Yamaha 5-disc CD changer. The improvement in sound is akin to putting your sunglasses back on after removing smudges from both lenses. Nifty little package, too.

Pros: Dramatically improves audio quality from devices like Apple TV and older CD player with TosLink optical outputs.

Cons: Only one TosLink optical input, but I knew that when I purchased it.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

TOP