Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Stereo DAC/headphone amp/preamp (Black)

MFR # C10424K

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Stereo DAC/headphone amp/preamp (Black)

MFR # C10424K

91 reviews
View this product

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, GA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. Works great. Tried several other brands DACs, Topping, Fifo, etc. This Cambridge is head and shoulders above them in quality. It's the real thing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Haverford, PA on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this device as a headphone amp connected to my laptop and streaming Amazon HD+ music. Once I installed the Windows 10 driver, I'm listening to 24 bit, 96khz digital music. Sound is great with my AKG Reference Headphones!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Seriousaboutmusic

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you stream your music off of a computer you need a DAC and for the money its hard to beat the DacMagicPlus from Crutchfield.Get one along with a high quality USB cable. you want beleive what you have been missing!

Pros: how it transforms your systems sounds

Cons: none that I can find

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good entry level DAC/preamp

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Least expensive option I knew of to control my Focal Solo6 Be studio monitors. Not DSD file compatible. Tidal recognizes this device and can optimize its settings automatically.

Pros: Very simple to use.

Cons: Not DSD compatible.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great DAC

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome DAC, connected to my Cambridge AXR85 receiver. Has great sound, lot's of inputs for connecting other audio devices such as CD players etc. The only issue I have is that it never shows that it is playing higher resolution than 48Khz even though I am playing Ultra HD from Amazon music. It could be an Amazon issue.

Pros: Good price and great sound

Cons: Could use a remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple Tool for Improving Your Audio Quality

Matthew from Albany, NY on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very impressed with this unit. I am not an audiophile, but I needed to improve the quality of audio out of my computer. So I needed to get something simple and plug and play. I needed a desktop unit to replace my audioquest cobalt that travels around with me all day. So something bigger that wouldn't disappear off my desk. :) I needed to be able to drive headphones and quickly jump to my speakers. And, I needed a simple (non-keyboard) way to adjust volume during presentations. The audio is so much noticeably better than what my Mac alone put out. But most important to me is the ease of use and mechanics of the device. So simple and I am very happy. Met my need and I appreciate Hogan's expert guidance.

Pros: Simple to hook up Simple to use Small footprint Noticeable audio improvement Way more features than I'll ever use or need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Will not disappoint

Norman from Blue Springs, MO on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buy with confidence! Once you get hooked up you will be pleased. If you bypass DAC and listen, then repeat using DAC, you will hear what you have been missing. I use mine as a head/preamp. It is so nice to be able to control volume and source with this unit. I run TV & computer-DAC-amp- speakers. I'm a thrifty fellow who hates overpaying or wasting money, so when I say that I feel this unit was worth every penny! If you listen to music on computer via streaming service, you will be pleasantly surprised by the noticeable improvement. I cannot say enough to express how pleased I am with purchase. I will also say that Crutchfield is a class act.

Pros: Easy setup Solid well constructed Simple intuitive controls on front Well thought out rear- Ability to use as head/preamp Downloads to optimize sound from computer @ Cambridge website

Cons: May need to download and install usb driver and change some settings to optimize sound. This was confusing for me. Everything you need is @ Cambridge website but for computer illiterate (me), this was difficult.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Balance control is included.

Guest from Northern CA on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The user manual fails to mention that a balance control feature is included with the DacMagic Plus. Although it is a bit clunky to use, it does work in Preamp mode. One can download the instructions from Cambridge Audio. https://techsupport.cambridgeaudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/200926882-DacMagic-Plus-Manual then select "DacMagic Plus Addendum.pdf"

Pros: Excellent sound with both my Sennheiser HD650, and my Focal Elex headphones. Use it with my laptop's USB, (with ASIO), and a Roku to a HDMI spliter's coaxial digital audio output.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does What it Says it Does!

Crutchfield customer from Marlborough, MA on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes well produced CDs sound better, makes MP3s sing (assuming they were saved at a high bit rate) Ease of set up and integration of the BT100 was great! Would have given it 5 stars but the power supply seems a bit wimpy, but, more importantly, there is no remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Wynnewood, PA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivers excellent on its digital-to-analog conversion. Very fine sound. Only real drawback is that the volume defaults to silence, and it can be difficult at first to sort out what the proper settings are.

Pros: Fine design; excellent sound

Cons: Documentation (even online) is way too skimpy. More written guidance needed on proper connections and managing relationships to amplifiers and/or receivers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very happy with this DAC, highly recommended.

Crutchfield customer from Avon, CO on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using the Cambridge Audio Dac Magic Plus for a couple of weeks already. So far I'm very happy with this DAC. I'm playing FLAC files from my FIIO X3 2nd gen. portable player via coaxial cable through the DAC into a vintage Kenwood AK 7100 integrated amp. The FIIO X3 has a good DAC and the analog signal coming out of it via the headphones output is very good. But getting the digital signal converted by the Dac Magic Plus instead, I could notice immediately an improvement in clarity, not very substantial but noticeable. Also with the Dac Magic Plus I can have two more digital sources connected (blue ray / dvd / CD player and the computer without going disconnecting and connecting cables), also the output level of the analog signal is higher than the one coming out directly from the FIIO , so I don't need to crank up as much the amp to listen at the same volume. Another advantage for me is that bypassing the FIIO's DAC and sending the digital signal straight to the Magic Plus it extends the playing time of the FIIO's battery from about 6 hrs to at least 18 - 20 hrs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spectacular spacial clarity and depth of sound!

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with the DacMagic Plus. While we are new to the integration of digital sources other than CD's and my grandchildren's MP3 streaming through our WIFI meshnet to our home stereo system, to date we have ripped about a third of our 1500+ CD's into uncompressed FLAC format on an old PC upgraded with a pair of 1 TB RAID 1 drives running Windows 10. Using MediaMonkey, my (very technophobic) spouse has rediscovered music she loves and created playlists with hundreds of songs. The spacial quality, depth and clarity with the upgrade to the DacMagic Plus is hard to describe but truly spectacular. It easily compares to equipement priced two or three times as much and has brought music back into our lives in a spectacular way! Thanks to Crutchfield for patiently answered my questions and for presenting in depth informative articles for us newbies to wade into a new universe of sound.

Pros: Flexible connection options, excellent sound conversion quality, multiple source options and output

Cons: Have not found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product!!!!! The sound that this thing produce is incredible!!!!

Pros: Small and it have SLR terminals

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Stunning sound--way better than $100-dollar dacs

Guest from Richlands, VA on 3/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is excellent--this dac adds the dimensionality and detail to all of my digital sources that I was looking for. Before hooking up the Cambridge, I always thought playing Tidal though my iMac in particular sounded flat and lifeless, to the point that I thought even the hi-res streaming services were inherently bad. Now, when I stream Miles Davis it sounds like he's right in the room with me! And Pink Floyd's "Welcome to the Machine" sounds downright eerie from cd--like I'm hearing it for the first time. I'm very happy with the audio quality through both speakers and headphones. The Cambridge definitely has enough power to drive my Sennheiser HD 650s. My only reservation (hence four stars instead of five) is that when I power up, the dac always starts out at low volume and I have to adjust it. In a way this is good, especially when listening with headphones. Still, it requires an extra step before listening. Also, a remote control would be really nice--especially at this price point.

Pros: Adds noticeable depth and dimension to digital sources--especially upsampled .mp3 files and streaming.

Cons: Volume has to be adjusted at power-up; no remote; setup relatively easy, but may take a little trial and error.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Jim from Zephyrhills, FL on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for two CD changers that only put sound out on one channel thru the analog out. This DAC is really starting to sound wonderful. The rich details in the music are on full display. Mission accomplished!

Pros: Multiple inputs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic is Great

Crutchfield customer from Fairview, NC on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much time spent investigating online and a long conversation with a gentleman from Crutchfield, I settled on the Cambridge Audio DAC to hook my computer to a stereo system (Krell Amplifier and Focal speakers). Sound is phenomenal; as far as I can hear, it's as good as what I get from an SACD player. Frankly, I'm kind of amazed and so pleased that I don't have to keep changing CDs. When I first hooked the system up, I sat for several hours just sampling all different kinds of music from my library. I've now ordered a Cambridge Audio BT100 bluetooth receiver and will be really interested to hear the level of audio I get from it.

Pros: Ease of connection, quality of sound, ready and easy access to my music library.

Cons: None at this point

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

amazing sound

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Bch, VA on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing sound

Pros: quick setup and immediate gratification

Cons: when powering up, you must turn up the volume each time. It would be nice to have it stay wide open. Ive yet to find the owners manual on the website.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, FL on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything superbly. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh

Ian from Mount Prospect on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In really didn't notice much of a difference over my Yamaha YBA11 Bluetooth receiver. iPhone 8>DAC>RCA>Yamaha integrated amp. After comparing for an hour or so over a couple days without a clear difference I thought, "for $500 (including tax and accessories) its going back."

Pros: ?

Cons: Not worth the money

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Summerfield, NC on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It boosts the volume and increases the depth of sound. the only limiting factor is the quality of the streaming. An absolute must if you have good headphones.

Pros: Not terribly expensive

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dac

Crutchfield customer from Garden City, ID on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and sounds great.

Pros: Easy set up, sounds great, allowed me to use xbox and tv to analog 2 channel receivers

Cons: No volume remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Barrigada, GU on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value for the price! Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great audio. Bad ergonomics

Crutchfield customer from Davenport, FL on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Noticeably clean, detailed, and open high end. Effective upsampling.

Pros: Balanced outputs. Upsampling that makes lower bitrate recordings seem to sound better. Output level control. (See below for more comment on the implementation of the level control.)

Cons: Output level control: No displayed information regarding output level. This makes it impossible to preset a known level prior to playing the signal. It reverts to a preset level when powered on; you must then turn the unmarked, freely rotating, non-limited knob an indeterminate number of degrees until you reach the desired level. If you are listening to speakers in a different room, this requires multiple trips back and forth to achieve the desired level. Thus my 4 star rating.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's hard to imagine cleaner more noise free sound - killer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Martinez Ca.

Charles from Martinez Ca. on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Cambridge DacMagic plus works GREAT!!!!!! In my patio audio system I have an Onkyo CD changer. It has a LOUSY Dac. Sounds terrible when I use a regular preamp. I thought I'd give the DacMagic plus a try. Glad I did. What a difference !!!! Now my patio system sounds real good. Another thing. I'm running digital out coax cable to a powered subwoofer. Works GREAT !!!! Don't have to use speaker wire in and out to the sub anymore

Pros: Excellent product. I highly recommend it.

Cons: NONE !!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to make the music on my computer sound as good as a cd. Went to Crutchfield.... they walked me through and made a recommendation. I also purchased the blue tooth adapter for the DACMAGIC Plus. Wow....What a difference it made. Its hard to tell a cd from the music files on my computer. The entire Crutchfield team is on their game.....this electronic thing is in their DNA!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great and Versatile DAC

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had this DAC for a few weeks with a PC setup. Really like the features and functionality. Sound quality was a noticeable improvement!

Pros: Input and Output Options Sound Quality Volume Control Built-in

Cons: Can pay more for better sound No marking on the volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Grant, AL on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A classic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Gloucester Cy, NJ on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're searching for a warmer analogue sound similar to mid 60's radio, Cambridge Audio DACMagic Plus will get you there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great DAC After Setup

Gene from Hackettstown, NJ on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DAC Audio Pro works well after the USB 2.0 download and numerous documents that need to be referenced. Performance is very good. I used it with old computer (USB interface) and Audio Source preamp and amplifier. Only issue is that 4-5 documents needed to be downloaded from the Cambridge website for the user manual, USB setup, and computer interface. Somewhat of an inconvenience - especially for a less technical person.

Pros: Great performance and interface options.

Cons: Initial setup inconvenient due to numerous documents that needed to be downloaded.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Michael from FL on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price you get a digital preamp/DAC/headphone amp. This is my second Cambridge DAC. I have the Dac100 on another PC, and this one works in a smiliar manner. Works well with B&W, Audio Technica, and Sennheiser headphones. Build quality is as good or better than you would expect at this price point. Used with USB connection into powered Presonus nearfield monitors.

Pros: Compact. Attractive. Good value.

Cons: Not really a con, but you have to download the manual and updated Windows driver from the Cambridge Web site. On the other hand, you have to do that with most anything, these days.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DAC Plus

ROY from Franklin TN on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have just returned my third unit for credit. The first unit off/on switch would not operate but was out of warranty. The size was perfect for my desk. I bought another one from Crutchfield and it would not operate. Paid $100 for diagnostic and it was a bad USB port. Returned and sent the same product. Now, the third unit will not operate. I am not spending another $100 to find out why! The unit has good features but as you can see, the quality of the parts lacks consideration. I believe I have tried Cambridge enough to be convinced that quality is not there and I am looking for a different product. Asked for credit to my account.

Pros: Just what I wanted WHEN it works.

Cons: Quality not there.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Rich from Dagsboro, DE on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is amazing how much a good DAC can warm up digital sources. I run my CD player, android tablet, and android phone through this DAC and it sounds great! There is a choice of 3 slopes and each works well depending on the source being played. Money well spent.

Pros: Affordable, Packaged well, Quality

Cons: None that I see yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Tc from Lake Hiawatha, NJ on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good

Pros: Great sounds

Cons: No remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great well made product! Your ears will thank you! Mine do every time!

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 8/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third DAC I have owned and it is by far the best sounding and best made. I knew that was going to be so when I purchased the Cambridge Audio brand. Like me (Crutchfield too) they are serious about audio. The Frequency indicator on the DMag+ has made me appreciate the incredible number of recordings that aren't recorded at 24-192 or even 24/96 that still sound fantastic because of the musicians behind the Mics and in the control rooms. You will enjoy this instrument of music reproduction.

Pros: Well made with great State of the art components.

Cons: I had a little difficulty getting the CPU and my media player to sync properly. I swiched to JRiver Media Player and it was a breeze.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Beatrice, NE on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well-made product. Easy to set up. Greatly improved sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Kris from Albuquerque, NM on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received the Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus today and installed it without a hitch onto my system (iMac, Hafler preamp and power-amp and ELAC UB5) and with some clear instruction in the owner's manual at their web site. The sound reproduction is superb beyond expectation, exactly as advised by Lee of Crutchfield who provided me with excellent and clear details about the product. Thank you so much.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

DacMagic is great for the money

Leonard from Silverdale, WA on 5/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace a sound card in my PC. It was easy to set up and came with everything that you would need to get it running. Make sure you buy good quality cables for your unit. It does make a difference up to a price point. Well worth the money spent for it. It did make a difference to hearing my gaming and music from the loudspeakers I have hooked up to a AV receiver.

Pros: More input and output options than other dacs in the price range. Sounds great and easy to figure out and use without reading a manual.

Cons: can't think of anything that would be a con,

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Three Rivers, CA on 4/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well. Had to get help with activation but they were great. turned out it was my Sony BluRay player was the issue. It was solved in no time.

Pros: Made well, works well so far.Support after sales was great.

Cons: Don't like that I had to download the manual, lucky i had internet connection. Provide it on a CD or Flash drive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Guest from Calabash, NC. on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dac magic plus w/bt100, sounds great ,very very clean,first I thought there was something wrong with it then I put in the Led Zeppelin full volume I heard bass I never heard before, also Hendrix had an acceptable level of distortion as did Neil young. It sounds best with the IPad, cd or I tunes. Microsoft sounded very limited and cut off, all of them through the blue tooth. The stereo separation brought my differential channel (in the rear) back to life. I am running a dual mono pre amp through 2 phase linear series 2, 300 amplifiers (around 200 American watts per side) to my Definitive BP-20 main and BP-2 rear. I replaced an audio works sound card with it. If yo want to thump Do not get this, again it is very clean and smooth

Pros: Every thing

Cons: Lack of remote

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

DAC bettered one costing 7x more!

Guest from CA on 2/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just auditioned/returned a ~$2500 DAC, [not available on this site]. Even after ~350 hours of run in, I preferred the sound of my old CD player's internal DACs, (Cambridge 640C V2, w/Dual Wolfson WM8740 chips). I was able to quickly A/B the two DACs by switching inputs between the CD player and a coaxial input on my NAD integrated amp, using its remote. So ... decided to try the DacMagic Plus, since it uses the same WM8740 chips, but has the ATF2T, the selectable filters, and the balanced XLR outputs, that I plan to use with a new headphone amp. With my HD650 headphones, using the NAD's single ended jack, the DacMagic Plus sounds very close to the internal DACs of my CD player, [think with the minimum phase filter they sound the closest]. Both external DACs sound great over USB2, (using ASIO), but since my CD player doesn't allow for USB input, and I didn't have both external DACs here at the same time, I can't say one is better, but at ~15% of the price, the DacMagic Plus is my pick. As for the DacMagic Plus' SE HP amp, it's clear and drives the HD650s fine. I think I might prefer the NAD integrated amp's SE HP jack, but here again, there's no way to quickly A/B the two. I could actually live with either, so maybe I'll end up putting the HP amp's budget into an additional set of HPs, (like some planars). I plan to have the DacMagic Plus on my night stand, so the lack of a remote isn't an issue for me. Highly recommend. This DAC is definitely amazing.

Pros: The DAC's quality is amazing. Price. Built in headphone amp is decent with HD650s. Balanced line outputs. Excellent instructions on the Cambridge Audio site, for hooking up the DacMagic Plus to utilize ASIO.

Cons: Only single ended HP jack. 4-pin XLR would have been nice. Power cord to the wall wart is a bit short. Had to use an extension cord.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

DacMagic Plus

Randy from Mckinney, TX on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this DAC. Setup was pretty easy but could have used a bit more information enclosed with the unit in the box. Had to go online to download the user manual to get 24 bit/192 kHz. Also enjoying the BT100 Bluetooth receiver. Only concern is the headphone output. Not stellar but might just be my headphones, B&W P3's.

Pros: Fairly easy setup Nice option to use BT100 Bluetooth receiver.

Cons: Headphone output

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The only thing missing is the hiss and pop from vinyl!

Thom from Glen Ellyn, IL on 1/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, I had no idea what I was missing from my music. I will admit that I don't have a "trained ear" but that makes this review even more powerful. I thought running Tidal through my system was 4 times better than the hyper compressed Apple iTunes Files pushed through my system with Apple TV. I decided that there must be better and purchased this system. I started by pushing Tidal files through my Fiio's X5 via the AptX connection using the DacMagic preamp. I was blown away. I thought I would get fancy and plug my laptop directly into the DacMagic Plus with Tidal HiFi and it just amazed me. It is wide open and warm. The only thing missing is the hiss and pops from a a record player!

Pros: Amazing upgrade to any music system. Warms your music up. Opens music so that you hear parts you didn't know were there.

Cons: The Bluetooth Connector is a pain but so is Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 11/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the performance of this unit. Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works!

Ken from Oxford, MS on 11/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works! First time! And sounds great! No more need be said.

Pros: Works! Works first time. Sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceeded my expectations

Don from North Port, FL on 11/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DacMagic Plus brought my CD transport to life. I had read the reviews and didn't believe a DAC at this price point would work for me. I bought it with knowledge that I could return it if it didn't live up to my expectations. I'm blown away with the DacMagic Plus. You don't have to spend over a thousand on a DAC to get great music.

Pros: Low cost Easy set up Looks good

Cons: No remote Hard to read front panel

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

John from Hudson, WI on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to use with my Macbook when away from my home. It's light, compact, and delivers great sound through my Sennheiser headphones, or even through my 25 year old Luxman receiver. I route the digital signal from the Macbook through a OWC USB-C Dock, which while is not the best of arrangements, still provides a rich listening experience. I have no complants!

Pros: Great sound. Easy to transport.

Cons: A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

save your money

sam from Washington, PA on 9/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Despite what I read on many reviews saying that stand alone DAC does not improve sound unless the build in dac in your devices are not working properly. I purchased the Dacmagic Plus anyway because I just have to know. I compare the sound from the headphone out put from the back of my tv to the optical out put of an AppleTV to the dacmagic plus to the same integrated amp. I can not tell the difference in sound improvement from the dacmagic plus. When I contacted Cambridge Audio to let them know, I was told "unfortunately boil down to personal taste and perspective, and there's not much else we can say about it" I recommend listen to a demo before buying the Dacmagic Plus. I can only give it one star rating for the look!

Pros: looks

Cons: any cheap dac will sound just the same.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 42 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good: easy to set up and the upgrade in sound was noticeable off the bat, from hi-rez files to lowly mp3s. Very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Find Another DAC

JS from Hilton Head Island, SC on 6/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this DAC as an upgrade to my home theater system. However, the 13 year old DAC in my Surround processor sounds better. This is a very poor quality DAC fit, finish and sound. I also purchased the Marantz HD-DAC1 for my dedicated music system and it is excellent in facets fit, finish and most importantly sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great DAC for the price

SwamiG from Irvine CA on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding DAC, and drives my HD 600 to its fullest potential. The stereo separation is awesome. The best part of this DAC is the digital bypass, with which iam able to connect to my home theater receiver. Doubles as an pre-amp

Pros: Digital bypass Multiple inputs

Cons: No remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

John from Latrobe, PA on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as promised. Plugged it into my MacBook pro and stereo system with no problems. Improved sound quite a bit.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Top notch Build Quality

Ben W from Norcross, GA on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY Happy with this purchase. Audiophile quality. I've been looking for a GREAT solution for years and this is FINALLY IT!! I use it to pull the audio From my PC / Home Recording Studio and distribute it to 2 Rotel 1066 amplifiers. (left and right channels) I use the This is the Fiber-optic IN on this unit. SUPER CLEAN audio. The audio is better than I could wish for. The headphone amplifier is also A+++ This is my first Cambridge product.. I will be buying more of your products. Build quality is A+++ Top Notch

Pros: Top notch Build Quality Audiophile Audio Small and Sturdy , fit's in studio nicely

Cons: ZERO

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Chandler , AZ on 5/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent DAC for the price. Wish it had a remote control. Sound quality and specifications iare on par with much more expensive products. It can be used as a main control unit and replace a preamplifier (if no analog input is required).

Pros: Excellent specs and sound quality at any price

Cons: Needs a remote

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus-BK

Kenneth from Albuquerque, NM on 4/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Want a kick-butt audio system? Well, add this DAC to a 6V6, push-pull, ultra-linear vacuum tube amp, throw in a JRiver Media Player with ASIO support and you'll have one. At 24/192 I'm hearing sounds I've never heard through an on-board sound card. This thing will blow your mind! Bass is excellent without being over-bearing or thumpy and highs are clear without being tinny. My music seems to be more spatial and alive. ELP's Brain Salad Surgery will really tickle your ears! Installation was easy--just read the manual. I'm very pleased with the build quality and price.

Pros: Everything!

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Stuff, but ...

Philip from Easton, MD on 2/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have just purchased my second DAC Magic Plus. My first was in 1012. I actually use more options than I'll bet most users, including the balanced (analog) output and the feedthru digital output. The first DAC Magic Plus made it almost 5 years before failure. I have had Cambridge Audio equpment failures before. I am a fan of Cambridge Audio equipment , but I would not take a trip to the moon with it. This is good stuff. Give it a try if you want some cutting edge sound.

Pros: Value (sound quality) for the dollar

Cons: May have a limited life

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

worth every penny

Ron from Ft Smith, AR on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been streaming from online services over home WIFI for some time now. Capturing signal in Apple Airport Express and into average receiver. Decided to rip my classical CD collection into lossless format and wanted more than the Express to maximize the sound. The DacMagic Plus fills the bill and then some. I wasn't sure what to expect for this price range, but am delighted with the results. Sound quality is much more nuanced and fuller than before. The enhanced headphone output is also nice but I've noticed the most improvement through speakers.

Pros: nice sound quality for the price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Really Happy with this!

Ken from South Burlington, VT on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving my new DAC. I'm a pseudo audiophile looking for life beyond CDs. I have a modest collection that I ripped to lossless WAV on my Windows laptop. Attached the USB to my new DAC Magic and voila! My Snell speakers never sounded so good! Also I have purchased some other high resolution audio files online. And am having a blast streaming high bit rate internet radio stations just browsing the Web. The DAC Magic is the perfect bridge between the Web and my trusty Yamaha receiver and my good ole Snells. My Widows 7 laptop passes 192k effortlessly over the high speed USB. Really happy with this purchase.

Pros: Great sound, easy set up.

Cons: Headphone jack turns off line out.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A lot of capabilities, great sound and value for the money

William from Long Valley, NJ on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all this little box does a lot for the money. I have my CD player connected by optical cable to the DAC now instead of straight to my pre-amp by RCA cables and also have played Hi Res music files from my MacBook through the USB. CDs sound way better than they used to....they lose most or all of what I tend to think is a harshness I usually hear in many of them. Way less listening fatigue for me with CDs -they sound airy and smooth but still really clean and clear. I will rediscover my CD collection now after avoiding them for years. I haven't listened to much Hi Res through the computer / USB yet but so far this sounds great too.

Pros: Lots of input choices. Great sound. Highly configurable. Balanced XLR outputs. Plug and play with a Mac but be sure to set it to USB 2 Mode for 24/192 processing.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greatly change the quality of my MP3 music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, DE on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to this ...sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

robert from Orlando, FL on 9/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Dac magic works as advertised ! greatly improved sound of my whole system ! plus the addition of the pre amp ! the only thing missing is a remote ! small price to pay for the quality of this product !!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Super

Jester from Douglas, GA on 5/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wish I had bought this 5 years ago. I don't even use my 2K interface anymore. The sound is that much better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge seems to have the best overall system for dad's

John from kaneohe, HI on 3/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Cambridge receiver with an asynchronous usb input before and the sound was amazing. I had never listened to digital music that way before. I decided to go to Marantz separates for my living room and move the receiver to the bedroom. I thought I would use the Marantz dac1 as it looked nice and fit nicely with the other Marantz components in the living room. The new system sounded good but not as good as the Cambridge receiver. I did my A/B testing and determined it was the Dac that didn't sound as good. I then purchased the Dac Magic plus and there it was. The clarity , crispness ,warmth and soundstage. I don't know exactly what Cambridge does with their dac's but it seems to be better than any other sub $1000 dac's and maybe at any price. It isn't pretty like the Marantz but I'll just close my eyes and enjoy the sound!

Pros: Amazing sound!! The best Dac I have heard.

Cons: Looks more like a cable box than the high end piece of audio gear that it is.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pretty good DAC, volume control a plus

Gene from New Jersey on 2/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good sounding DAC: warm, detailed, and tight bass. Highs were average but not on the bright side so listening fatigue was never a problem. The volume control for the preamp outputs is a major plus so I could just plug the unit right into my power amp. Wish it had a remote control and analog input, otherwise the feature set is fairly complete. I've heard a few DACs in this price range such as Peachtree, Arcam, and Musical Fidelity and I preferred the Cambridge.

Pros: Sound quality Volume control Build quality / appearance

Cons: No remote No analog input

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus

David M. from cape elizabeth, ME on 2/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although not an audiophile I like listening to good music from the 50's to today. I was interested in converting my cd's into uncompressed flac files and then playing them from the computer through my whole house system, but I needed to have these in analog so I could play them through the receiver in zones 2,3. So I purchased the Audio Dacmagic Plus from Crutchfield. There is a small amount of work to setting this up, downloading the usb driver,making sure you are on the correct usb setting to play the analog output and setting the Dacmagic to be the default sound devive in the Windows sound settings. Also you may want to turn the volume up if you have many speakers like I do. The volume knob just seems to keep turning so I turned it until the output from my receiver was adequate . It works great.

Pros: Excellent volume and sound.

Cons: Pricey and a little work to set up.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice!

Jim S from Chapel Hill, NC on 1/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really enjoying this "thingamajig," as my wife calls it. It has made streaming music from computer and/or phone (from iTunes, from Spotify) a real joy -- the difference between the DAC and a direction connect to the stereo from my computer's sound card is stunning. It was pretty easy to get it set up initially (more or less plug and play) but CA provides relatively little support on how to best configure things on the PC side or in iTunes to drive the device. You have to install new drivers to use USB2.0, Wasapi, ASIO, etc. and I still don't what settings CA recommends for iTunes. The music sounds great with what I have now (WASAPI, 24 bit/192kHz on both the PC Sound controls and in iTunes), but perhaps there are better choices. The documentation on line was not great and Cambridge Audio tech support was slow and pretty useless.

Pros: Great sound! Lots of connections (USB for computer, CD player, and Wifi hookup for me.)

Cons: Could have used more explicit support for my setup (iTunes on Windows PC).

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great DAC!

ShaneG from Connecticut on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great DAC. Easy to follow instructions had me listening to "Hotel California" in about 15 minutes. I ran it with a the USB for high res files but also purchased the BT100 to play from the ipad/phone. Excellent sound quality and it looks cool sitting there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy on the ears!

Robbyboy from Maine on 9/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cambridge Audio transformed my experience of digital music sources. I paired the DAC Magic Plus with a Cambridge Audio CXC CD Transport via an Audioquest Vodka Toslink interconnect. Still breaking in (?) and sounds better than the CD player they have replaced. Money well spent for non-fatiguing, exceptional sound.

Pros: Balanced XLR output jacks, easy to operate, great sound that does not fatigue. I hear more. It's common to hear new things with a new component or set-up. In this case, it's not because of some unique emphasis - the sound is just very clean and detailed, with excellent separation and imaging.

Cons: As a DAC I have no complaints. If I was using this as a pre-amp I might note the very stiff volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Exceeded Expectations

MattS from Florida on 6/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome piece of gear. I'd tried two other DACs that were built into mixers from Numark. The NS6 had sound quality that was comparable to the DacMagic Plus, but not quite as good. The M6 was nowhere close to either of them. So, since I didn't really need the extra functionality of these devices, I switched to a dedicated DAC. The results are phenomenal. I'm using mine to feed a pair of Dynaudio BM6 MkII's and a 12" 300 watt Polk Audio subwoofer. I really wanted balanced XLR outputs on the DAC instead of trying to adapt in line. Its power output is high enough that I have to use the -10db attenuators on the monitors, which was also a feature I needed. The sub is fed by the RCA line outputs (the unit does feed both sets of outputs simultaneously). With no sound playing, you can turn the DAC up all the way and hear no noise at all. The volume knob is great, somewhat stiff, making it smooth beyond belief, and all other construction is top notch. The phase filters are a nice bonus too, allowing you to fine tune it to your preference. Mine is fed by two sources, a MacBook air via USB and a Toshiba laptop via a usb-to-S/PDIF converter. Both sources perform excellent. This is my first Cambridge Audio product, but I doubt it will be my last. Can't say enough good things about it. The only thing I could even nitpick about... a remote would be nice, but it's no big deal.

Pros: Sound quality, warranty, construction, features, value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Big difference

Xavier from California on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is better than I expected

Pros: Great sound Compact design ,extremely easy to set up

Cons: The Bluetooth is not included , they make it an option so they hit you with another hundred bucks.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pleased with the DacMagic plus

gone03 from Fort Worth, Texas on 3/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 4 DACs/Headphone Amps. First thing to get clear is that no component will produce great sound if the source material is poor or if other external factors interfere. My primary use of the DacMagic Plus is for streaming music from a website that charges a monthly fee. The provider says that they can provide better than CD quality. When the specific album meets a recording bitrate of 320kbps, this DAC will produce a discernible and improved difference without adding any of its own coloration of the music that I can hear. I do, however, have an issue with added line noise caused by the chain of connections from the wall outlet all the way through to my powered monitors and headphones. The power supply is external with the DacMagic Plus and the power cord to the DacMagic Plus is not shielded in any discernible way. I have high quality audio line conditioners as well as all my components and cables are of high quality. I had to go through a number of physical configurations of placement of the power supple and the DacMagic Plus before I could remove the line noise. I have not had this issue with any other of my DACs or audio components. The DacMagic Plus works as advertised but the quality of music that I stream sounds cleaner and more defined with my less expensive Emotiva XDA-2 or my Geek Out 1000 (when I use headphones).

Pros: Good form factor Does what it says it will do Looks nice

Cons: Could have better shielding of the power supply and DACs internal components. Unexceptional quality of D to A conversion given the price

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great DAC

cergun from Dallas, TX on 3/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great DAC. I really enjoy listening to music with the DAC. Currently using with my Laptop only and Beyerdynamic 880 Pro and Sony MDR 7506. With the BDs it is slightly on the bright side at highs but with Sony lows sound much more punchy. I am looking forward to connecting my ipod 7 to that and also connecting it to a proper amp.

Pros: Sound quality, build quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent!

blockhead from California on 2/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great DAC and headphone amp, all in one. Hard to match the value, in my opinion. Running digital output from my iMac to DAC to Sonos Connect Amp, to Pioneer BS21-lr speakers. The sound is spacious, crisp and clear. Very happy with my purchase, and the great Crutchfield service!

Pros: Great value, excellent sound

Cons: Wish volume control was better.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Good DAC

Dunamis from Hawaii on 1/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good DAC, a little confusing to setup if your not a pro, and I'm not. The sound is warm and rich from my A5 speakers.

Pros: Good Sound

Cons: Setup

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wow! Outstanding Quality now on my Sonos Connect.

Keith M from Orlando, FL on 9/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the DacMagic Plus after much research about adding a DAC to improve the sound quality of my Sonos Connect. I have an Onkyo TX-NR-818 amp with Klipsch reference series tower dual 8" speakers. I had been using a pair of Sony CDP-CX355, 300 disc CD players connected to the amp via analog. (Must use analog, Onkyo doesn't support digital connection on Zone 2.) The sound was great. Later added Sonos system to the house. I ripped my CD's into iTunes using lossless setting. I connected a Sonos Connect to my amps digital input. It sounded "muddy". I could never get the clarity that I had when the CD players were connected to the amp. I switched from the digital input on the amp (using the internal Onkyo DAC) to the analog inputs (using the Sonos DAC). No difference, still "muddy". Now I have the DacMagic Plus after the Sonos Connect, using coaxial digital input (Coaxial input handles up to 192k data rate, while the optical input only handles up to 92k.) Of course Sonos can only output a 44k data rate from either port. I understand that the data rate 2x rule says that a 44k rate will still produce a perfect sinewave at 22khz. That is higher than I can hear. I am not using the pre-amp function in the DacMagic. I was told the DacMagic Plus may only make a small difference, if at all. Wow is all I can say. No kidding, it is a night and day difference. Superb clarity and depth to the sound. You can now pick out each instrument. It also spread out the sound stage. Awesome Sound!

Pros: Amazing sound processing. High quality DAC.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

DacMagic Plus

Chavpad from Eugene, Or on 8/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I noticed an immdediate difference in sound quality when playing mp3s through a laptop. Even bigger difference when playing FLAC files. Very satisfied with purchase.

Pros: excellent sound quality when fed a quality signal attractive

Cons: No remote I found the ASIO driver set-up more work than I was hoping for, thought the CA support site provided useful support I wish it would remember the previous sessions volume setting so I wouldn't have to adjust it everytime Would like a complete manual included in the box

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Ok But

Mark S from Pac NW on 6/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is excellent , the ergonomics stink. The one knob being the volume, one reason i bought it, I my add  is hard to turn. in this world of super spinning volume knobs this one is actually hard to turn.

Pros: Great audio

Cons: Knob is difficult to turn

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent product I love it

erniecolorado1 from Aurora, CO on 5/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The purpose of a DAC in the first place is to bypass the sound card or chip on your motherboard and get much higher quality sound. And you should ALWAYS use the optical (Toslink) digital output on the DAC to your motherboard rear optical digital output connection to get the 192 KHz DAC conversion and higher quality sound. The USB connection will only give you 96 KHz maximum. And use a decent cable as well for that connection. I hooked up JBL studio monitors to the preferred XLR connections and was blown away by movies and music even though it is not 5.1 surround sound, It was many times better than what I had with the motherboard sound. To those who say it will not make MP3 files better, that is generally true. First of all, MP3 is the oldest music file compression, and has been beaten by AAC and the WMA formats. Windows Media Audio sound, even on paper, is better than AAC, used by Apple iTunes and Divx, neither of which I ever buy or use. I love Xbox Music and still use the Microsoft Zune as well for the 10 dollar a month unlimited music transfers, although you can also stream the music for free from the cloud as well. Windows 8.1 (64-bit) is a much better operating system than the Apple computer's operating system. And more universal for many things to. You will not be disappointed with this DAC! It is awesome!

Pros: Pure, pristine and robust sound. Good XLR and optical digital connections. High quality!

Cons: Nothing I can see or hear.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 20 found this helpful

Dac magic plus

AlanD from Huntington Beach, Ca on 5/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After working with some engineers recently I was shown the difference between hi-res music and standard MP3 downloads. I was blown away by the difference. That said I have just embarked on a quest to upgrade my audio components to deliver a better listening experience. The first purchase in this endeavor is the Cambridge Audio Dacmagic plus. Out of the box the component has the quality feel and substance that gives one the feeling of joining the audiophile elite. Connecting to my computer was so simple and was working in no time at all. At this stage I am using headphones only, however, the difference is amazing. I am now shopping music sites to build a library of hi-res tracks. Crutchfield is such an impressive company as within a short time of making my purchase online I was called by the digital audio specialist offering any assistance if I needed it. Try finding a knowledgeable assistant at the big box stores much less this level of service.

Pros: Tactile quality, improved audio, Crutchfield service and support (priceless).

Cons: A little pricey-but that's the price of membership!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

New life for digital files

Kevin from Medina, WA on 4/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with a computer,Cambridge Audios' Dac Magic plus will breath new life into formally flat, lifeless audio files. If your looking for a compact, capable unit to convert your digital music, (ones and zeros), into something more "musical", this is it! I am using it as a preamp between my Mac mini,(via usb) and a separate amplifier to power a whole house audio system. With two sets of audio outs, (balanced XLR and RCA, I can even signal a powered sub- sounds sweet!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

It's a class-compliant USB soundcard!

JP from Cincinnati on 3/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm an audio engineer and I have this hooked up to my DAW via USB, no drivers installed. I'm currently using it as a monitor controller, too, while I shop for a new one. It sounds fantastic as a good DAC should. The only thing I'm really leery about is I don't understand how its audio pot works. In short, I'm afraid that it's throwing away bits as I turn the volume down. To mitigate this, I've calibrated the output so it's at normal mixing level when maxed out. If you're going to be using it in conjunction with a separate monitor controller, this won't matter.

Pros: It's a super-high-quality class-compliant (no drivers) USB Sound Card. Sensing headphone jack has separate volume level (set via same volume pot).

Cons: The following prevent it from being truly "professional:" No VU meters, no dim, no stepped knob, no reference points on the volume knob for setting different mixing levels. BUT, this is what a professional monitor controller is for. The only thing I wish it had was separate control for the headphone jack/speaker muting instead of being auto-sensing as I prefer to leave my headphones plugged-in all the time.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Converts bits to pulses

Justin-NYC from Stamford CT on 12/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device is generally highly rated by people who are probably more informed than me. In my experience, it is easy to setup and easy to use. It is a little unclear why certain settings are specified in the manual for setup with a Mac (for example, the MIDI audio settings) and the explanations I received from Cambridge through their Q&A forum were initially thin but eventually were more adequate when I pushed. btw, Cambridge Audio's registration site conveys login credentials (username and password) in-the-clear through email back to the user, which is a big security no-no. While this is not necessarily product related, I thought to include it here because to my knowledge this practice has not been corrected. Anyway, back to the product, overall I am satisfied with the quality of the product. As to the audio, I believe it is superior to both the internal DAC on my Mac and the external DAC inside my Yamaha amplifier which is powering a pair of Martin Logan Electrostatic speakers. I have done very unscientific AB testing and believe I hear a difference. Ken Rockwell (you can google his review), who has done far more scientific comparison, says this DAC is better than the much more expensive studio reference DAC. My Crutchfield advisor said I'm getting a "Ferrari" compared to the still very good quality DAC in my Yamaha. I kept the product and use it whenever I want to listen to music at the best possibly quality.

Pros: good looking, simple and effective; easily sets up with a Mac

Cons: some people done like the digital volume control but I have that disabled so it doesn't matter to me.

Crutchfield response on 12/17/2013
We have passed your concerns about the login credentials to Cambridge.

13 of 20 found this helpful

Great, but needs more bass

West from Knoxville, TN on 12/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In reality it is between 4/5 stars. Really great high range and mid range response. Bass is great, really clean but relative to the mid range response the bass level is low. May require some additional tuning to get a stronger bass response. I use two full range towers in my setup, both have 8 inch woofers which put out plenty of bass on most sources. This DAC is brings the mids and highs alive, the bass is there and very detailed, but should be stronger.

Pros: Awesome flexibility Great detailed sound Can help average speakers and average sources (having digital output) sound their best Output is not dry or sterile; very vibrant overall

Cons: Needs more bass... Is a bit large for a DAC

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

I'm keeping it!

SeanL from Auburn, KY on 6/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess "the chase" is on. This is was next on my list to improve the overall sound quality coming from my HTPC to my system. I was using an internal sound card with DACS, but it seemed like something was not right.. as my Oppo 95 would deliver better sound than the PC. But not anymore... all my digital media (especially 320kps or higher) sounds fantastic. Using the USB connect...all the digital harshness is gone and no choppiness at all. Cambridge recommends that you use a ASIO Driver that overrides the Microsoft sound processing. Don't use the Foobar Asio Driver that Cambridge recommends (loaded with spywear)... but there is a few free ones available. I am using one from Fender (Universal Driver). The DacMagic has met my expectations. Crutchfield has always been courteous... they called me after my online order just to verify my needs and consult me into buying a higher performance USB cable (which I bought, but probably didn't need). Give the unit a try... I doubt you'll send it back.

Pros: Easy install, clean sound,

Cons: iPad/iPod support is NOT standard. Additional accessories are required. Takes time finding ASIO drivers.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Good, if used correctly

Anonymous from Fresno, CA on 5/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I want to start by saying that this review ONLY applies to the use of this DAC with a stand alone internet radio. If you intend to use this DAC with high quality digital music - not Mp3 music - then ignore this review. Most everyone who use this DAC correctly are more then happy with it. I have an internet radio that has 10 presets, one button to push, numbers 1-10. My vision problem makes this a must and everything else is secondary to me. Having said this I will continue by explaining I was hopeful this Cambridge DAC Magic Plus might somewhat improve the quality of the Mp3 music I listen to on my internet radio. But, it did not. And that's ok because I knew this might turn out to be so. I gave the DAC over 60 hours of break in time, tried the different settings, and tried many stations that sound very good even though being Mp3's. Just was no improvement. Not worse, but not better. I then called directly to Cambridge and explained exactly how I was using the DAC and what the results were. And he explained that with Mp3's I would not hear any improvements because the DAC just does not have anything to work with from the lower quality of Mp3's. Case closed, won't work for my needs. But again I have to say that with all this DAC has within it, surely it will work for you. Bottom line, if your trying to improve your internet radio sound, look for better speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 20 found this helpful

Perfect for my application

srr2 from Lehigh Valley, PA on 4/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll eschew the "silky bass", "creamy midrange", and "deep well-placed soundstage" kind of reviewer-drivel. To be honest, far as I'm concerned a cable is a cable, etc. I'm no "audiophile" and proud of it. I own gear to listen to music, not to listen to gear. So okay, what about the DMP, then. For my purposes -- listening to music -- it's perfect. To put it simply, it's just not *there*. What you hear is pretty close to what the audio engineer intended, within the limits of tapes, digitizing, decoding and your amps/speakers. It's not going to make a silk sow out of an ear purse, but then, it's not going to degrade your carefully-ripped flac files either. I should highlight the attributes that steered me to the DMP: 1) it has floating differential (XLR) outputs, 2) optical inputs, and 3) a volume control. Many competing DACs have neither. The reason for #3 is because with WASAPI or ASIO there's no volume control in the computer, and because the output of the DMP goes directly to the amps, there's no preamp either. The reason for #1 is because of the long run (35') between source and destination, and the electrically noisy environment in my home, which #2 further serves to mitigate. Connected properly, the DMP floats optically with respect to the computer, so there's 0 possibility for any circulating noise currents in signal or ground. The upshot -- the entire audio system is DEAD QUIET. You can literally not discern a difference between OFF and ON.

Pros: Two sp/dif optical inputs. Fully floating differential outputs. Volume knob (whose rotation v. output level seems appropriate to me) w/push-to-mute. Reducing volume has no discernible effect on quality of signal. Attractive design. Useful and unobtrusive annunciator lights. Dead silence when not playing anything. Excellent immunity to power line noise.

Cons: 1) That stupid WALL-WART power supply. If CA screwed up one thing, it's this horrible, cheap, likely unreliable power supply, with its exceedingly flaky "universal" plug adapter. I HATE wall warts. At this price point, and for what this equipment costs, it should have had a proper internal power supply and conventional robust line cord. (and no, I do NOT want to spend $2000 on a line cord to connect the wall-wart to deepen the soundstage) 2) Poor sp/dif support compared to USB.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 26 found this helpful

DacMagic Plus

Kenneth K from New York, NY on 4/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use an iPod as my primary input source (Losless). The external DAC made a huge difference

Pros: Sound quality, multiple inputs and outputs, ease of setup

Cons: No remote control. Makes switching inputs a manual task that I cannot program into my universal remote. I

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

It Works Like Magic

Danny B from Detroit, MI on 1/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your a music lover, there is no denying the ease of use that a media player can bring to a music collection, and if your like me, you've made the leap to hooking up your PC to your stereo system. Now there's only one problem with his set up. The audio coming out of your PC isn't quite the fidelity you may be used to. That's what makes a DAC a must. Chances are you already know this, so I'll cut rite to the chase. I was going to replace the sound card in my PC for improved audio when I came across these DAC's. I liked the fact that they were half PC card/half audio component so there's no fooling around with the back of my computer. So I did my research and it came down to this one for two reasons: One, its made by a reputable audio company and two, its exterior is metal and not all plasticky like some of the other DAC's. Having said all that, here's the meat and potatoes of it; this thing ROCKS! Everything now sounds crystal clear. It was expensive, yes, and this being my first DAC I can't coment on how the other, lower cost DAC's sound, but if they're even half as good as this they would be worth it. One thing I should mention, the set up process for the software settings and plug-ins and so forth are a bit tricky. But if enjoy this type of challenge and aren't prone to pulling your hair out over it, it will be a thrilling exercise. Just remember to read everything, try every setting, and restart your computer if something doesn't seem to be working.

Pros: Solid construction.

Cons: Tricky to set up at first. No remote control.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Does't Work with Bluetooth BT100

Brokerbiker from Boerne TX on 3/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus from Crutchfield and have been very pleased with the sound quality output, as it greatly enhances content played through it. I subsequently purchased the Bluetooth BT100 unit from a local dealer in Austin and it was very easy to connect and pair with various Bluetooth enabled devices such as my iPad, iPhone, iMac. The unit did identify a problem with the DacMagic itself, as all content played through the Bluetooth unit, will only output through the headphone port. All content input through USB and Audio, works fine through either output, but the Bluetooth is a problem. When I contacted support at Cambridge, I was not very pleased with their recommendations to disconnect both devices and go to my dealer to further troubleshoot them. Obviously, I cannot come to Crutchfield and Austin is 90 miles away. My Austin dealer (Audio Systems) is a great friend, and he suggested I ship the units to him for testing. I am convinced the problem is with the DacMagic, and feel Cambridge is giving me the run-around, which shouldn't be the case with a unit of this price. I am a Wealth Advisor, and must deliver exceptional customer service, which I do not believe I have received from Cambridge. I am certainly reluctant to recommend this unit, based on this experience.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Very poor Customer Service/relations from Cambridge on a defective unit

Crutchfield response on

20 of 45 found this helpful

Cambridge DAC Magic Plus

Bill S from Pueblo, CO on 2/7/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the original Dac Magic for the past three years. When I got the new product, I hooked it up, right out of the box. Listening to both side by side, I heard a great sound from the old one but was impressed by the greater detail, staging, depth, and crispness of the sound from the new unit. I was very impressed with Cambridge before but I'm blown away with this new unit. Several friends and I have more expensive DAC's but this one will keep up with $2000.00 units easily.

Pros: 24/384 output, headphone amp built in, will take up to 24/192 through usb or spdif. It has three different filters like old unit.

Cons: Would like defeatable upsampling, and filters,

Crutchfield response on

44 of 47 found this helpful

TOP