Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Duo

Headphone amplifier and phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges

MFR # C11027

Cambridge Duo

Cambridge Duo

Headphone amplifier and phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges

MFR # C11027

26 reviews
View this product

Improved Sound

Crutchfield customer from Portland, CT on 11/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had been using the phono amp on my AT turntable and the duo really opened up the sound. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service, I received it in one day. It is a big step up from my NAD PP1.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Manasquan, NJ on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes my vintage Pioneer 117D sound warmer and brighter. Great addition

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds fantastic!

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds incredible. Replaced an older phono pre with this unit. Sound is much more open and airy. Bass extension goes much lower as well. Very happy and the headphone amp is just a nice little bonus. Drives all my phones easily. Very happy with the purchase. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean and bright. Easy to set up. I'm pleased with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 9/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never put much stock into my phone stage, I used the same Cambridge for the last ten years and it finally went out on me. So naturally I just went with another Cambridge as I had no complaints about the last unit. The Duo is a noticeable step up from my old stage. It is whisper quiet and doesn't color the sound too much, maybe adds a little high end, which I like on my vinyl. I have not used the headphone output but it's a nice feature to have that isn't getting in the way of anything else. My only minor complaint would be that the unit shuts off after non-use, I know that's actually a good thing, but my old unit was just always on so I could drop the needle and get to listening to music. This just adds one more step, and I know it is saving energy and prolonging the life of the unit, so I'll just have to get used to it.

Pros: Whisper quiet, headphone output, looks great for a photo stage

Cons: There is no always on option

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Matthews, NC on 7/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and sounds great. Couldn't be more pleased.

Pros: Enhances the vinyl experience

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The device arrived quickly, as is always the case with Crutchfield. I unboxed it, set it up and had it working in about 5 minutes. Probably too early to detect a noticeable difference between the Duo and the Schiit Mani it's replacing but I can say it's obvious the Duo isn't adding any sound of its own to the process.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alva Duo

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 6/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sounding well rounded phono preamp (PP). I've built several DIY PP but this one sounds the best to date.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the way this sounds with my Denon 103r MC cartridge Could not be happier

Pros: Simple clean and warm

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing for the money

Adam from Royal Oak, MI on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing phono preamp. I am going to return it because it isn't as good of a match as I had hoped for my system. The gain level is a little too low for my specific cartridge which is the Sumiko Moonstone. That being said the soundstage, stereo separation, warmth and dynamics are amazing! If you have a cartridge putting out 5.0mV I think this is the best you can get under $500.00.

Pros: Warmth, dynamics, soundstage.

Cons: No adjustable gain.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Martin from ENCINITAS, CA on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was one of the biggest difference makers in my set up. Finally have the sound I've always wanted out of my vinyl and revived a lot of the records I thought were done. Couldn't be happier with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good phono preamp, mediocre headphone amp

Crutchfield customer from CHICAGO, IL on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially excited, but ultimately disappointed. If you're looking for just a MM/MC phono preamp this might be a decent choice, but if you care about the headphone amp look elsewhere. I replaced it with the Music Hall PA2.2 and am much happier. The phono preamp is dead silent and brings out much more detail than integrated phono sections, so in that respect it's good. The headphone amp is where it falls short. It has clean sound, but is very underpowered. Driving Sennheiser 660S 150 ohm headphones the Cambridge Duo sounds detailed, but a bit flat and distant. The Music Hall PA2.2 creates more dynamic sound with more warmth, punchier bass, and just as much detail. On the Cambridge I sometimes approach max volume on quiet recordings, but rarely go past half on the Music Hall. The biggest flaw with the Cambridge Duo (which is advertised as a benefit) is the left right balance. When the knob is on center I have the sensation with recordings I'm very familiar with that everything is very slightly skewed to the right. When I adjust it the music does not sound as full. This is what drove me to try the Music Hall PA2.2, which immediately sounds better playing some of my favorite albums. It also has an additional line-in to use the headphone amp with other sources besides vinyl.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice and well built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Phono Amp

Raymond from CHULA VISTA, CA on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried the Schiit Mani (too much hiss) the Cambridge Solo (very good Phono but didn't quite win me over) and have happily settled with the Cambridge Duo. The Duo is just a step or two ahead of the Solo in terms of sound space and clarity with low end coming in tight without sounding muddy. The sound is warm and just a pleasure to listen to. I have the Duo paired with Project Evo Carbon Debut, Cambridge CXA 81 and Bower and Wilkins 606 S2 Anniversary. I am just astound by the quality and build of Cambridge. Glad to own these products for many years to come!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Duo Phono Preamp

Crutchfield customer from Wake Forest, NC on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful piece of kit. Works splendidly. Also enjoy the convenience and wonderful sound out of the headphone preamp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Camillus, NY on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, old vinyl never sounded better.

Pros: Easy hook up

Cons: After reading manual

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dead quiet

Crutchfield customer from Concord, MA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this phono state with a rega p6, exact 2 cartridge into a PL EVO 400 and Dynaudio Evoke 50s. Its dead quiet, add no noticeable dynamics color. A no brainer. Only very small nit - wish it would turn on automatically from standby when it sensed a signal. But pushing two buttons instead of one is really a ridiculous thing to call out. Great unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Nampa, ID on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This preamp is pays for it self the first time you hear it such detail great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well design phono preamp for any price point

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Trueful and accurate representation of the stereo field.

Pros: Good dynamics very flat response good stereo field

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Middlebury, VT on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this piece has provided a crystal clear stage for my SL-1200GR. I say "so far" only because I have heard it only gets better with use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perceptible difference in quality of sound owing to an upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Albertson, NY on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Cambridge Duo along with a Cambridge Audio CXA Amplifier. Thus, it is hard to separate the benefit of each. Overall, both provided a noticeable improvement over the Cambridge Audio Topaz SR-20, which it self was a very good entry level receiver. Classical music and jazz with a strong emphasis on guitar music. With the new equipment, I seem to get better stereo separation and and more detail of the instruments. Indeed, I am so pleased with this upgrade, that I am already thinking of my next upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Crutchfield customer from Nevis, MN on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a pre amp for my turntable to tie into my sony stx dn 1080 reciever without breaking the bank yet delivering a great sound.....for me the Cambridge Duo filled that bill .Both a moving magnet or moving coil pre amp this was my choice and a very nice pre amp for the price.

Pros: Very nice pre amp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo

Jim from Zephyrhills, FL on 5/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A wonderful product, I wanted more gain from my turntable and that's what I got. I was running my Technics SL-6 linear TT into the phono input into my loyal Onkyo TX-8511 receiver (the Mother) but wanted better sound. I am happy with the product. Silver, British and sexy.

Pros: Switching on front. 2 inputs

Cons: None, would be killer if it had 2 MM inputs.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Duo Phono Pre-amp

Crutchfield customer from South Elgin, IL on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality and volume is so much better with the Cambridge Duo phono pre-amp than with the cheaper model that I had used previously. I like having the option of switching between MM and MC for when I upgrade my turntable in the future and no noise. The headphone jack is an added benefit which I have used several times already. Worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

High Quality Phono Pre-Amp with Headphone Output

Tom from BETHPAGE, NY on 4/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using the Duo phono pre-amp for several weeks now. It does exactly what I purchased it to do. I needed a high-quality phono pre-amp to connect my turntable to a modern receiver that lacks a phono input. I also wanted headphone capability to use my turntable without disturbing my family. I can now listen to my records through headphones if other family members are using my A/V system to watch TV or play XBox. Prior to my purchase of the Cambridge Duo I also tried out an ART DJ Pre-II and a U-Turn Audio Pluto. They are both perfectly fine starter phono pre-amps but the Cambridge DUO definitely has a more neutral sound quality than the less expensive products I have used. The outputs are silent with no hiss whatsoever. If I were to replace my A/V Receiver in the future I would still likely use the Cambridge Duo as a phono pre-amp as I am unbelievably happy with the sound quality and construction. Note to Crutchfield - I have reached out a few times asking your staff to correct the Product Highlights for the Cambridge Duo. You have it listed as using an external power supply for "reduced noise and interference" when the product photos clearly show it uses an internal power supply. Can you please have this corrected?

Pros: Very quiet RCA outputs. High quality headphone output. Solid construction. MM & MC compatibility.

Cons: Costs more than other phono pre-amps (but worth the expense). A new product so not a lot of real reviews to read. The Crutchfield advisors I chatted with were not familiar with the product at all.

Crutchfield response on 5/16/2018
Thanks for your review and for catching our mistake. We've corrected the caption.

12 of 12 found this helpful

TOP