Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
368 317 031 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
368 317 031 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # C10653

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # C10653

27 reviews
View this product

Acceptable for small to medium rooms

Mike from Los Angeles, CA on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned them for a month now and I find it works very well with my Denon AVR for movies and video games, even in Direct Sound Mode. For music, they are decent, but needs help from the receiver's digital processor to get a good sound, especially in my oddly shaped room. These speakers also needed a lot of experimentation with placement in conjunction with the AVR's speaker calibration software in my small/medium sized room before I was able to get an acceptable sound for movies. A couple detractors: they are advertised to have a 5.25" woofer, but I measure a 4.5" woofer (outer diameter of the surround material), and the treatment for the woofer cones are not disclosed - it seems to be a type of plastic or vinyl coating. Makes me wonder what else they are omitting or falsely advertising. Overall, I'm happy with them, but will be looking at other brands when the opportunity to upgrade comes along.

Pros: Acceptable sound for small to medium rooms, great build quality, compact size, and Crutchfield's customer service and tech support agents were excellent

Cons: Woofer is smaller than advertised, unknown woofer cone treatment, limited color/finish options, needs receiver's DSP for better sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All in all, "ok."

steven from Glenmont, NY on 5/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the SX-50s for the bedroom. I power the speakers with an entry-level Yamaha integrated receiver with Bluetooth. Music source is Ipad running standard Itunes. The SX-50s are sufficiently loud. Low end is acceptable. The high frequency is a bit muddy. The speakers are about 5 feet apart, and the soundstage is unclear. The SX-50s perform better when driven harder. Unfortunately, for my bedroom use pushing is not what I want to do. All in all, the SX-50's are "ok."

Pros: Sufficiently loud. Low end is acceptable

Cons: High frequency is a bit muddy. The soundstage is unclear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good speakers for a small room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Crutchfield customer from Milford, CT on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service from Crutchfield! They have a great staff to guide you find the product that is right for you. The Cambridge speakers are perfect size for my requirements and the sounds is great.

Pros: Great speakers for the size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Crutchfield customer from Royalston, MA on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Nice Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Brad from Danbury, CT on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound for such an inexpensive and small pair of speakers. I playing from my computer with JRive Media to a Cambidge DAC and an Audioengine N22 to these Cambridge speakers in my office. The sound and volume are just perfect for my room.

Pros: Great sound, small size, afordable. Plenty of base and clean clear sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Dan from Lafayette, CA on 9/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using these as desk top speakers. They sound really great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent bookshelf speakers!

Peter from PA on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little speakers blew me away! I couldn't believe the solid clean sound coming from them! I was hesitant due to their size (concerns with low end), but they have been great. I have them hooked up in my office (10x14) via an Anthem MRX-520.

Pros: Small. Solid build. Not cheap looking.

Cons: None at all!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Gerald from Ballwin, MO on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to find a pair of bookshelf speakers less than 11 inches tall. I selected the Cambridge Audio sx-50 and hoped they would sound well enough to keep. They sound a lot better than what I was expecting, The speakers have a clear and balanced sound throughout their range, and a fullness you wouldn't expect in such a small speaker. For quality and price, I don't believe there is anything better if you need a really small pair of bookshelf speakers,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Crutchfield customer from Freeport, NY on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers sound very good Looks good in living room the right size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX- 50 for rear surround sound

Lucy from Irwin, PA on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thank you for the great customer service! Your staff was very helpful. We will be back.

Pros: sound quality, great price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Springs, CO on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

like the sound that these speaker have and enjoying them already

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice, warm sound

Brian from Richmond, VA on 9/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, warm sounding speakers. Great sound quality at a great price. High-quality music has been important to me since I was a teenager (a long time ago) and these speakers really deliver. I love them so much I bought a second pair for my bedroom.

Pros: Sound quality, price, size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Tracie from Dayton, OH on 8/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect, smooth sound. If you are looking for a thumping bass probably not the speakers to choose. I wanted something more balanced. These fit the bill.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers at low cost

Ken from Forest Hills, NY on 7/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted speakers I could use on my desk.These fit the bill perfectly. Very high end sound. Good soundstage. open and distinct. A real bargain for sure.

Pros: Detailed sound, surprisingly good with bass.

Cons: Need to be closer to speakers than larger speakers.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Clear and open sound

Michael from Athens, GA on 6/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first speakers I chose struck me as having too much bass, covering up the midrange. So I spoke to a Crutchfield tech about what to purchase instead and got these nice sounding speakers. I love the mostly "flat" response, and as the B speakers attached to my stereo amp they closely match the volume and overall sound of my old floor-standing Klipsch speakers in the other room. As the helpful tech said, speaker sound is very subjective - but I now realize it would have been better to describe my preferences and get a recommendation from the start. And I was thankful for Crutchfield's easy and speedy return/exchange process which got me new speakers in less than a week total.

Pros: Sound, price, size, appearance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Lief from Fairfax, VA on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, these are great sounding speakers. Small and full range. The port filters, which reduce bass, can help you match them to a sub. Don't expect a high end looking cabinet. They are fine looking, just very simple. The $$ went into the speakers themselves.

Pros: Sound great Small and compact

Cons: pretty plain looking cabinets.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Little Speakers

ekjustice from Annapolis MD on 9/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These small speakers put out a lot of very high quality sound. A little light on bass, but high fidelity, low distortion and realistic sound. They are great for small rooms or restricted spaces. Add a a small amp and get the best computer sound ever. I added a small sub-woofer and got an amazing sound package.

Pros: Size and sound quality.

Cons: Bass could be better, although it handles the mid range down to upper bass just fine.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Happy with my purchase!

Mario from New Jersey on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these powered by a vintage Marantz amp and sound incredible! Decent bass but sound even better when adding a subwoofer. Small footprint fits nicely in my small apartment. They look good and we'll made too.

Pros: Small Clear sound Classic bookshelf design Punchy for their size Comes in 2 finishes

Cons: No built-in wall hanging option

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great Sounds!

Rock N Ron from Connecticut on 11/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound for a small footprint of a speaker. Good bass and Highs for a book shelve speaker.

Pros: I miss the stereo sound and these speakers brings back the true music sound of long ago for me.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly What I Wanted...

Rob H. from Carlsbad, California on 5/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgraded my digital music listening experience from MP3 to hi resolution FLAC files that i play on a Pono. In order to take advantage of the higher res sound, I wanted speakers that I could use with my retro Technics SA-222 receiver. I found the perfect pair in the Cambridge Audio SX-50 speakers. I needed solid sounding speakers without a huge footprint and without breaking the bank. These speakers serve both requirements perfectly. The sound is amazing, with great separation of highs and lows. They can tend toward the bass, but I can control that with the settings on the receiver. If you are looking for a great set of speakers, that are, from my research, the smallest bookshelf speakers I found on the Crutchfield site, but still provide a nice sound, then the SX-50 are for you.

Pros: Small footprint on the entertainment center where they are used. Amazing sound for the size. Nice looking wood grain cabinets.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Nice speakers

D from Portland, OR on 2/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using these in a home stereo application (Onkyo). They look good! They sound good! Decent bass.

Pros: Comes with foam plugs in case you have to put them right against the wall

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Little box, BIG sound

Klaus from Dallas, TX on 11/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife wanted small and unobtrusive, and I (being a musician as well as a typical dude) wanted a big, pure, and loud-capable sound. Well, I found the perfect speakers. These things create a wonderful, full soundscape, from Bartok's string quartets to AC/DC's rock. I actually hang my speakers (these included) in the upper corners of my living room facing down and towards the opposite wall, basically where the couch is. I'm not a sound engineer, but you don't really have to be if you listen to your ears and experiment a bit. We are both very happy.

Pros: Visually - small and aesthetically pleasing; Sound - big and aesthetically pleasing

Cons: none, for our application

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio SX-50

Daniel from Cordele, GA on 8/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, good bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Just as expected

Michael from Glendale, CA on 8/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers knowing they weren't top of line thousand dollar speakers but would definitely be an upgrade over my 2.5" L/R especially when it came to music and that is exactly what I got. Very few professional reviews out there for them since they are fairly new but read enough to know they would be worth every penny plus more! They sound great and can go down pretty low for the price. Good detail and sound and they stay composed at high volume. They have a very flat sound to them so music sounds beautiful but takes a bit getting used to for movies but in the end I am very satisfied and couldn't ask for much more.

Pros: Look beautiful. Very natural and flat. Good detail. Good bass detail. Good price.

Cons: No magnetic grill covers.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good for the money

Dave from Central NJ on 7/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound in a small package. You can adjust the base response by fiddling with the placement and by using or removing the foam included foam baffles that go in the rear ports. Base can be loud and boomy if you want it, or more subtle, which is what I prefer. Vocals sound fantastic. Highs are a little lacking, but I'm comparing them to my KEF speakers that cost 5 times as much. I turned up the treble and they sound fine. The speakers also come with small plastic feet you can put on them to protect the finish. Mine are placed on the floor.

Pros: Very nice sound for the money. Base can be adjusted by placement.

Cons: Sensitive to placement. I've deliberately listed this as both a pro and a con. High end isn't fantastic, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP