Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Ultra-compact powered subwoofer (Black)

MFR # C10982

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Ultra-compact powered subwoofer (Black)

MFR # C10982

65 reviews
View this product

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Tonawanda, NY on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for such a small unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent small subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely perfect for my small space requirements. Exactly what I was looking for. I had originally ordered a larger, very nice sub; but it turned out to simply be too much for the space I have. I just couldn't get it "dialed in" to create a good quality sound I wanted. I exchanged it for this compact Cambridge unit, and I couldn't be happier. The Cambridge Audio Minx X201 is excellent for my home office. Coupling the sub with my existing Definitive bookshelf speakers (also from Crutchfield), I only had to "dial in" the cross-over point and adjust the sub volume, and it made my music come to life, giving a well-rounded, "wow" experience with a very tight low end sound. It's surprising to see such a small sub (a fraction of the size of what I thought I wanted - and originally bought) out-perform the larger sub by a long shot. Sometimes a little is enough. Cliche, but surprisingly true in this case. Thankfully, Crutchfield understands the need for occasional returns, when things don't go as expected. I have bought so many things from Crutchfield, because I knew that if I didn't like it for any reason, I would have a no hassle return. They understand that one sometimes needs to hear and experience audio equipment before making final decisions. In this case, it all turned out well. Crutchfield is a great company representing great products.

Pros: Excellent design with small space requirements Same features as many larger subs Tight bass sound when you find the sweet spot Easy to set up and adjust Peace of mind if support is needed (none expected).

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great home office sub

Andy from Scottsdale, AZ on 4/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty solid addition to vintage KEF bookshelves in the home office. I must admit to me it sounded like garbage at first and I was preparing to have to send it back, but once it warmed up and I got all the settings dialed in, it really rounded out my home office system which really doesn't have room for a big box sub. Size is great and it's good enough to give you what you need for a music system in a small space. I personally would want something bigger and boomier for a bigger room or home theater system but that's just personal taste.

Pros: Size is perfect for small space and sounds good pretty much anywhere I tried it in my office. Sound blends in great to quality bookshelf speakers once dialed in.

Cons: Not the big, boomy sound you may want to hear on certain tracks but c'mon for it's size you shouldn't expect that.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Complete your system...

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired these with a pair of Audio-Engine A+s and could not be happier. The Minx adds solid, rounded noticeable bass that is perfect for music and adds a bit, although, not room pounding subwoofer bass. Think of the Minx as adding bass to your already solid desktop or book shelf speakers. It takes your two way system and makes it three way system, outstanding for Jazz, vocals and rock music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Vincennes, IN on 4/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and fits the space I have very well. Extremely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great base from a small package

Crutchfield customer from Berwyn, PA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great base for such a small package. The Cambridge Audio Minx X201s complement bookshelf speakers very well. We have them in a large room so we purchased a pair. They sound just as good as a much larger sub-woofer. We didn't have much floor space so we ended up with them on a shelf about 8 feet above the floor. This is not the typical placement for sub-woofers but it works fine in our room; possibly because the speakers are also 8 feet above the floor. I would highly recommend the Cambridge Audio Minx X201 to anyone who has space limitations and wants a sub-woofer.

Pros: Great base. Small package. Easy to adjust.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Wilson, WY on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfectly fills in with my Triangle and Warfedale bookshelf two way speakers. Easy hook up. Friendly, helpful folks who really know (or can quickly find out) their product are what keep me coming back. thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Small Footprint Subwoofer

William from PORTLAND, OR on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a subwoofer with a small footprint for my home stereo system so I called Crutchfield to discuss options. They recommended the Cambridge Audio Minx and I couldn't be happier. It has all the bass reinforcement I needed to raise my home stereo to a new level. One punchy active speaker and two passive speakers, a 200 watt amplifier, volume, phase, and frequency range controls, all packaged in an 8x8x10inch cab. I can honestly recommend this subwoofer to anyone who has a home stereo system with bookshelf speakers. Instead of trying to crank more bass through your bookshelf speakers and getting a muddy mess, add a subwoofer and get the bottom end you need while letting your bookshelf speakers shine on the top end.

Pros: Small footprint with big sound Plenty of power for moderate systems Effective, easily accessed controls (volume, phase, frequency)

Cons: You pay a bit more for the compact design (because it performs like a larger unit)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for a small office

Crutchfield customer from Cumberlnd Ctr, ME on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for my very small office. Paired with Klipsch Reference R-51M

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from White Plains, NY on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great size for the much sound output.

Pros: Space efficiency.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect size for a desktop sub

Crutchfield customer from Hurst, TX on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for a desktop sub. The claimed -6dB at 36Hz is optimistic - it node dives starting at 50 Hz, -6dB at about 45, and way down to -30dB at 36 (Dirac measurement from a NAD M10 and UMIK-1). Less 1 star for the misleading specs. Still, for the compact size and low-level music with LS50 Metas (which have anemic bass below 80) it sounds good and can get uncomfortably loud in a small room.

Pros: Tiny size allows unobtrusive placement Fairly flat from 50-120

Cons: Want bass into the 30 or even 40s get something else.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The MINX is Mighty Mite !!!

Merv from Marlton, NJ on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cambridge Audio is really a surprising company. Their products are scream higher end, but their price points are 'attainable'. I needed a small sub to match a Music Hall 15.3 integrated amp and Pioneer (Andrew Jones) BS-22's . Because the LS-22's have an excellent mid-range, but only 4" mid-woofers, the search for a small sub began. I regularly peruse Crutchfield because they publish all the specs and full description of products. Their shipping and customer service is Grade A; this transaction was no exception. Original pristine packaging, fast shipment (less than 2 days) and a follow-up confirming delivery. Perfect. Now to the Minx X201 itself: Great value for smaller amps and speaker kits. The Cambridge needs some adjustment and you should take your time to tune it to your listening pleasure, but once it is properly set, it sounds great. Honestly, this doesn't go deep, but the 55-20khz that the Pioneers have, though smooth (for their price and size) needed the extra bump the Minx gave. My main set up uses an REL sub that goes deep, but if you simply want to enhance a small set up, this is an excellent choice.

Pros: Compact size, excellent piano black gloss finish; infinite adjustments; multiple source inputs/outputs; solid small speaker accompaniment. Excellent price point.

Cons: Best for smaller kits; bass boomy if adjusted too high.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Small but very mighty

Jason from FRANKLIN, WI on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is awesome and is exactly what I was looking for. I have a set of KEF Egg PC speakers in my office (a room I'd put in the small size category) which are great for highs and mids, but the low end is pretty weak. I only use this for music listening and don't watch movies or TV with this setup. I wanted a sub that would do the KEFs justice and integrate into their sound. So something that had quick and tight bass that would be better described as musical versus something that would dominate the room and just be muddy boom. After putting some hours in and tweaking the settings a bit this thing fits perfectly with the KEFs. Listening to rock or metal the kick drum is an actual note with a solid impact and doesn't just run together into the next kick. Fire up something in the EDM camp and this thing picks right up and fills out the gap the KEFs had to provide a rich low end without obnoxious buzz. Pull up some singer-songwriter music on and this folds into the background and allows the vocals and guitars to take front stage.

Pros: small size but no impact on its performance. enough controls to dial in the setup for your needs.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice compact subwoofer that works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from East Hampton, NY on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a small package but this gives out the sound of a much bigger sub. Gives my records clarity and my movies pack a punch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Perry Hall, MD on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing subwoofer. Nice and small but packs a powerful punch! Great low tones for my family room. So glad I found this versus the giant one I purchased that was an eye sore, and took back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great design plus performance.

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When my Polk subwoofer stopped working, I purchased two Cambridge Audio Minx X201s to go with my Orb Audio satellite speakers. My Denon receiver has two sub output jacks, but there is a way illustrated in the quick setup guide to connect 2 Minx X201s if your amp/receiver only has one jack. For a basic TV setup, these small subs have all the extra features you need and sound great.

Pros: Small footprint with plenty of low end. Classy look.

Cons: Best for smaller configs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Little Boom Boom

Glenn from Dallas, TX on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little sub is a gem. It has fantastic bass in a small form factor. In my living room, I didn't want a huge subwoofer that stood out like a sore thumb, and this little sub hides well and delivers the punch I want. You won't go wrong with this baby bass blaster if you care about the esthetics of your room as much as your system.

Pros: Small. Tight Bass. Hides nicely.

Cons: It's not a 20" x 20" ported sub with 1000 watts, and if you want that kind of sub performance, then this is not for you.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Jason from Burbank, CA on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size 9" cube that sits on the rear of my large computer table. This Minx X201 sub backs up my two ADS L300 speakers and a Denon PMA-60 audio amp for a pretty awesome computer audio system. The sub reproduces excellent bottom end to compliment the two 5" drivers in the L300 speaker. The sub is set up to provide natural sounding bass to fill in the main speakers, not over powering or booming. The sub makes the speaker system sound larger than it is. It brings very accurate reproduction to the whole system. The bass is tight and has a good musical quality to it. The over all build workmanship is great. I would highly recommend the Minx X201 to anyone that wants a sub in a small space. Its perfect for a small form factor system in an apartment or where space is tight.

Pros: Excellent performance for a 9" cubed small sub woofer. 200 watts is more than enough power for its size

Cons: Could use a remote power control connector; a switch closure, or pull up to +V or pull down to ground to turn on the X201 sub.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Blacksburg, VA on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a small space!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solid subwoofer. It's not for those who want a booming club-going effect, but it's plenty of boom for a single-level house. It works well with our Aiwa floor speakers, Sony receiver, and LG TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great match for KEF LS 50

Dave from Seattle on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kef's have decent bass by themselves but this little guy rounds out the bottom end perfectly I subscribe to the theory that if you can hear the sub, it's too loud. Set the cross over to 80 and go gentle on the volume and sub disappears leaving a great full sound for music. Sorry, no TV experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Sun Valley, CA on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful for a small size Good quality Very happy to have bought it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfying

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfying sub with a small footprint. Paired with a pair of Klipsch R- 15M in a small room, it puts out tight musical bass. Crutchfield was helpful in suggesting it and then helpful in helping me adjust the settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

recommend

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Power for the size is great.

Pros: Size Power

Cons: Have to turn volume above half to really hear feel base

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Superb product and service!

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley, CA on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service after UPS lost the original. Was sent a replacement within a few days. An amazing subwoofer. Only 8"X 9" but what a difference it makes!

Pros:

Cons: UPS is not reliable at this time!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Great bass woofer for my mini cambridge speakers. Thanks!

Pros: Perfect fit for both, speakers & bookshelf..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best wife-friendly subwoofer at a reasonable price.

Crutchfield customer from Goodyear, AZ on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this little "gem" of a subwoofer along with Minx X22 speakers and stands in white to replace the much larger black speakers and subwoofer in my 12 x 12 Den, that my wife "hated". After a bit of "break in" of all the speakers, the sound is amazing. It can be made quite loud if you desire, and the room physically feels much larger. The sub settings were easy since there are icons that you line up with your Minx speakers for best results, but you can set the crossover wherever you want, should you choose to, or use different speakers. I have a headless Mac mini music server to store and play my uncompressed music tracks. I also use Amarra Luxe software to process the music and find that it helps things sound even better. Since I took the attached picture, I bought a white power cord (this white sub comes with a black one for some reason) and a white subwoofer cable as well to connect to my vintage Technics receiver. I wanted thicker speaker wire than the clear wire you can see along the floor, so I also ran new Belden 12-AWG white speaker wire up inside the stands to the speakers and down the bottom to the receiver. Getting the wire through the bends in the upper part of the stands and out the hole in the back of them can be tricky, but it was worth the effort. Overall, I am very pleased with the setup and the performance of the subwoofer.

Pros: Small size, reasonable price, good bold quality.

Cons: None at this price point and small size.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid

Patrick from ARROYO GRANDE, CA on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect complement for AudioEngine A2 desktop speakers. Small size delivers more than enough bass at half-volume or more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, MN on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really Puts out a lot of low end for such a small sub, I Love it.

Pros: Space Saving

Cons: Powerful for it's size

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

What a Great Sub Woofer!

JIm from Harrisonburg, VA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just like most others, when I opened the box I thought I must have made a terrible mistake. How in the world could such a small box produce good bass? Well, was I ever surprised! Placement was easy as it fit easily on a bookshelf. Cambridge has provided great controls on the rear panel, volume, phase shift and crossover frequency. The 200 watt digital amplifier does a wonderful job. The two passive radiators really make this sound like an 8" or 10" sub in a small 9" square enclosure. Every day I am amazed by the sound they produce. This was a great purchase! Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Very small Great sound Automatically turns on and off Phase, volume and crossover adjustments Beautiful lacquer finish Input for LFE and standard in Voltage adjustment for 110 or 220V Aesthetically pleasing Great with Elac DBR 62

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Punches above its weight!

Seth from Hood River on 4/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Am working from home all the time now, and decided my old KEF bookshelves weren't cutting it in the bass department. Limited space and good reviews made the Minx an easy choice. I installed home made bass blockers on the KEFs to provide more headroom. Definitely a worthwhile upgrade to system, the Minx provides more authority in the bottom two octaves, and doesn't call attention to itself. I can go quite a bit louder now without hearing strain. Recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from San Pedro, CA on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally satisfied! Though, I wish it would have came with a white electrical cord, instead of black.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Cambridge Audio Minx X201 has a big, tight sound that complement my Cambridge Audio Minx Min 22s quite well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great subwoofer in a small box.

Crutchfield customer from East Moline, IL on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer in a small box. -- I need a small subwoofer to go with my small Onkyo receiver/CD player in our living room. The X201 is perfect for this!

Pros: small. powerful. decent price. nice looking.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Chuckey , TN on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little box has a lot of powerful sound.

Pros: Perfect size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rumble rumble rumble

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow what an amazing little sub, it's in a 12x 13 room I'm setting up for my wife, as a sewing and crafting room, 32 inch smart tv, marantz ht receiver, monitor audio bronze 1 bookshelf's , bronze center and this sub. Perfect for this size allocation . Probably won't work in a big living room, but geez it only has a 6 1/2 inch driver . Perfect for smaller areas . I find myself turning it down during explosion scenes on action adventure movies. Don't think just buy it you won't regret it . Very small footprint about an 8 inch cube

Pros: Unbelievable sub for its size, mainly for smaller areas, 12x13 room . Crutchfield as always the best in the business

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Benson, AZ on 11/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

purchased two minx x201 subwoofers.. both subwoofers perform excellient..i have no problems..ideal for smaller rooms..my entertainment center is 35 feet by 35 feet..very good choice...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Little Bad Boy Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Lewis K. from Laurel, MD on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little bad boy replaced my previous Polk Audio PSW111 powered sub. It was purchased from Crutchfield's back in 1/2012. I like the small foot print of the Cambridge Audio Minx X201 and produces decent bass for its size with in our mid sized bed room. Hoping to get longer than 7 years life out of my new CA Minx X201 though. Lewis C Laurel, MD

Pros: Small foot print.

Cons: Good for small to medium spaces, under powered in a larger space.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Terrific Sub

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Consideration for space was the main motivating factor for this choice of a subwoofer. There are many available choices for the audio enthusiast. Having a very specific location which would only accommodate a sub of this size was my motivating factor. Larger subs are certainly out there. However, this one is extremely well constructed; has a very strong amplification (200 watts); has controls for volume and phase; and, has auto on/off when a signal is detected. Comparing the quality and output to my other Polk sub attached to a surround system, I believe this one is certainly equal in sound quality. Of course, so much depends on what type of music or application you have intentions to use it. I have coupled this sub with two Polk S10 speakers for use with a computer and listening to music through a NAD integrated amp. The sound is far superior to the Bose system (two speakers and a subwoofer) attached to another computer system. The base response of this sub is spectacular and very present. It can be adjusted to suit your taste in presence...a lot of subs cannot be tweaked like this one can. The build quality is substantial. Passive radiators enhance the bass...which is not boomy or distorted. As most of us are aware you can hide the unit anywhere--bass needs no direct line of sight. You will not be disappointed by its performance. There are less expensive subs--this unit is worth the increased price if size is a consideration.

Pros: Size and construction--controls to suit your taste

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 5/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Moved to new sound system from old Bose Lifestyle 12. Wanted to have a subwoofer under the media cabinet which has a wood bar connecting legs under the cabinet and it made very limited space for subwoofer. Minx X201 exactly fits my situation as shown in the photo and also it give very good bass with such a small size compared with my beloved Bose.

Pros: Size and sound - stunning size and sound quality from that small form factor

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hard to see, easy to hear.

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a small subwoofer in my living room - my wife didn't want to see it. This was a great option. I discreetly tucked it into a bookshelf and we're both happy. It's got some great features - ability to control crossover and phase, but is reasonably priced. It fills out the sound in the room and gets as loud as I need it to be. That said, if you want to add a lot of thump to a hi-fi system, this probably isn't your speaker. But if you need to fill out the sound and not screw up the aesthetic of your room, this is a great solution.

Pros: Great sound and control. Discreet.

Cons: Still a small subwoofer. Not the answer if you're hosting dance parties.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my home theatre. Same great design and sound as the rest of the minx line.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Stephen from Webster, TX on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a subwoofer with a small footprint. The Minx X201 fit the bill so I gave it a try. It's a perfect pairing with the small bookshelf speakers. It's very tight and musical. While it won't rattle the walls, it is very musical and has just enough punch. Highly recommend.

Pros: Size Performance Price

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent warmth for Bookshelf Speakers

John from Altoona, PA on 2/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have this matched to a pair of Monitor Audio Silver 100 speakers and driven by a Cambridge Topaz SR 20 receiver. The sub is capable of providing low end warmth with a crisp punch. Investing a little set up time on volume, crossover, and appropriate placement can provide amazing results. Well worth the money. Wouldn't recommend it to members of the Head Bangers Ball. It works well for warmth and not vibrating the windows!

Pros: Read the review.

Cons: Not for members of the Head Bangers Ball. It will raddle the windows

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great choice for our medium-size room

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Minx X201 fills our 300 sq. ft. room with a rich bass response and very smooth transition from higher frequencies. I'm completely satisfied!

Pros: Size, price, performance

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridges subwoofer x201

Crutchfield customer from Stanton, CA on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first time have brand name Cambridge , after reading reviews and I get one for my stereo after some songs I love it the subwoofer sounds come out warm and some notice music I can't hear before now I can hear it thank you love it I'll buy one more sooner

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from War, WV on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a compact subwoofer to fit into my 5.1 system. When I saw that it was from Cambridge audio I knew it would produce what was advertised. Between the Cambridge audio name and the Crutchfield name I was in great hands.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from New Milford, CT on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised by how well this tiny little cube produces bass. It won't shake the house but it definitely provides some "thump" that smaller speakers can't produce. I have this paired with 4 in wall speakers and it helps round out the sound. This is a very good looking unit. I have it placed in the corner of the living room and my fiancé has no issues with the look of it. Major WAF on this one ;)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great bass for small size

John from East Freetown, MA on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a Sub-Woofer that would fit in a small space but provide signficant bass. To fit is the right spot I needed a sub woofer that was 10inx10inx10 or less; the Cambridge X201 is the perfect size for my setup and fills my 20ftx20fx room with just enough movie bass.

Pros: Small compact size Huge bass for the size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Tiny, Beautiful Sub, Full Sized Sound. No Regrets!

JP from Homer, AK on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The X201 was for the vanity area at the end of a large master suite, 15 feet wide, 35 feet long with 11 foot high cathedral ceilings. It is so small it sits in the back corner under the vanity seated desk space on the floor without getting in the way. It is paired with two Minx Min 12's on the ceiling above the vanity and an Onkyo stereo receiver under the vanity at about 100W per channel receiving subwoofer preamp out on one RCA phono cable. You may be able to push this sub to the distortion level in a room this big, but you are looking at a very large room, and your neighbors wont' like it that loud. It is nice to have the crossover marked on the back for Min 12's, and also to have the separate volume control. I had to cover the blue standby power light for night time sleep distraction, but that is the only downside to this gutsy tiny speaker, with big clear sound. It is the only solution of it's kind in a package that small, for real quality sound, that I am aware of. I am so glad it comes in white to match decor! It looks good on the white Italian marble style porcelain floor tiles, with a fantastic high gloss finish. Delivery was prompt and FREE TO ALASKA! Thanks Crutchfield, that is such an amazing thing for us to enjoy up here! This sub is not overpriced, it delivers real power and fidelity where you would not think there is space. I have another slated for the guest room, where it will likely fit under the bed, or in a corner of the closet.

Pros: Very nice to look at, something to display, not hide, looks good at eye level on a shelf. Big, tight sound, a bit mind bendingly so for the size, too. Fits about anywhere. Full controls on the back to tune for system needs. Not a toy, even though it is very small for a sub. Great and adjustable for small and medium sized rooms, still adequate for most purposes even in large rooms. Two of these would likely out perform most $700 single subs in a large room, with their superior dispersion.

Cons: You'll need a small square of tape to cover the blue power indicator light on the back for bedrooms at night. One might not be enough for very large rooms if you desire a powerful home theater presence. I wish there were more critical music reviewers writing about the Minx series to compare them, they just sound great to me, but it would be nice to get side by sides with other systems.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great bass from tiny box

Lucas from Southern California on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased some very tiny bookshelf speakers as main computer speakers and I needed something to fill in the lower ranges. I also needed the smallest sub I could find as this was going under my not so large computer desk. I am very happy with the bass from this device. It has a range that is suitable for these smaller speakers and the sound blends great. I definitely recommend this sub for anyone needing something very small.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Mike from Buffalo from Clarence, NY on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a smaller sub for my office to go with a desktop system. This sub is incredible! Perfect compliment to monitor audio radius 90 speakers and Marantz M-CR603!

Pros: small on size; big on performance

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing small subwoofer

Ron from Timonium, MD on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this along with 5 Minx X22 speakers for a new 5.1 configuration in my condo. Had to downsize for this room as it is a 19'x13' and wanted a subwoofer (+ speakers) that would fit into an AV cabinet. The bass response from this subwoofer is amazing, obviously compatible with the X22 speakers, but I am sure would sound great paired with any speakers. Fills the room but not too punchy and doesn't drown out or dominate the sound. I have the volume set at about 40% so there's plenty of power. I was truly skeptical about these speakers at first, but convinced that the sound quality is amazing and glad that I made the purchase.

Pros: Small size, fits in AV cabinet, deep room filling bass but not overpowering.

Cons: None thus far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound From a Small Box

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive sound from a small subwoofer. I have it in a 18x18 living room to use with movies, sports, and music to add base to an in-ceiling speaker surround sound setup. It brings the right amount of base to to bring needed depth to the audio. I dont even have the volume up to high so I know it can get louder if needed. The small size keeps my wife happy because it practically disappears on the built-in shelves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect to fill out TV sound

Brian from Minneapolis, MN on 2/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to compliment the new Sony OLED TV - love the sound from the screen, but really missing below about 150hz. This smaller sub allows adjustment up to 200 and used the mini jack from the TV to allow sub to play with screen speaker. Fantastic TV sound in a 400sq. ft. room without adding a separate sound system. Well built and clean sound. Much more musical than Soundengine S8 sub from my PC that I tried first.

Pros: Clean sound Plenty of punch for TV Well built Attractive finish

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great for the size!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Size Matters

Steve from Bridgeton, NJ on 5/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you don't have the room for a full size subwoofer or you just don't like the looks of a big black box in your room then the Cambridge Audio Minx X201 is the sub for you. Its performance rivals that of the much larger sub, and it looks good doing it.

Pros: Size, Size, and Size along with performance and price compared to a comparable full size sub.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great deep bass, from a little giant!

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am matching the Cambridge x201 with the Audioengine A5+ and the sound is amazing! The depth the sub adds to the speakers makes an already nice set up, sound fuller with the rich lows I had been missing. This sub is very musical, but is also excellent for movies and gaming. Small, but explosive!!

Pros: Easy set up, controls are user friendly, and really adds to an existing 2.0 set with no issues to pair.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

Bradford R from Lagrange, GA on 3/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great second sub. I needed a sub to fit into a tight space and this does the trick. Small, but great sound. The radiant speakers are a nice touch that broadcast the bass sound on three sides. Powerful at 200 watts. This is perfect if you don't want to have a giant speaker to look cool, but still want a speaker that delivers.

Pros: size, radiant speakers

Cons: size can be misleading

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Tiny sub

Crutchfield customer from Zion, IL on 3/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave 4 out of 5 stars because this is not just based on sound. I needed sub to be small out of the way and look decent. I have had a much larger sub that was ridiculous when it came to bass but was also huge and not an attractive piece. This little guy gets it done pretty well, excellent for movies. As a sub for music not so much, I'm ok with that but for anyone thinking they can buy this and get the same sound as a much larger sub it's just not the case.

Pros: Size, looks

Cons: power

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing sound from such a small enclosure!

Peter on 9/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is quite unbelievable when you open the box, you see this small square cube that is going to be your subwoofer, and immediately you begin to have buyer's remorse and questions such as "Why didn't I purchase a larger ported box subwoofer" or "Did I just make an expensive mistake??". I can set your mind at ease right this moment: you have purchased one of the most cleverly designed amplifiers on the market and you will get outstanding bass response even in a reasonably large room. If you want to destroy walls like that time you had a wall of subwoofers behind your head in your car, you will probably need to spend more a d purchase a different type of subwoofer, a ported box. They can make a house shake, at the expense of clean soundingredients bass. This subwoofer is great to add in to existing speakers, due to the size and generic look of the teeny tiny box (9" cube I believe). I have mine paired with three bookshelf speakers and a pair of older Onkyo satellites that were part of an old 2.1 system. The subwoofer blends in successfully putting out an amazing amount of bass, size notwithstanding. You will not be sorry if you purchase this subwoofer.

Pros: Outstanding sound, size of enclosure, array of controls, warranty, overall design.

Cons: The price is a little high.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Minx X201

David from minneapolis, MN on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size and amazing base.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Holy Moley!

Brandon from California on 1/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

How does this small subwoofer make that much sound? Seriously, this thing rivals my old Infinity 12 inch sub, and its about 1/8th the size.

Pros: Easy adjustments, crossover dial has icons that show where to set it to match best with the matching Minx satellites, the sound is BIG

Cons: Can't they have a white power cable to go with the white sub? At this price it shouldn't be too much to ask for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge X201 SUb woofer

Stephen from Texas on 7/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good solid unit for tight spaces.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Not much instruction in the manual

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

TOP